Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   
Website logo - Click to go to Home page



Norfolk Annals, by Charles Mackie Vol I


The Project Gutenberg eBook, Norfolk Annals, by Charles Mackie


This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with
almost no restrictions whatsoever.  You may copy it, give it away or
re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included
with this eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org





Title: Norfolk Annals
       A Chronological Record of Remarkable Events in the Nineteeth Century, Vol. 1


Author: Charles Mackie



Release Date: November 25, 2010  [eBook #34439]

Language: English

Character set encoding: ISO-646-US (US-ASCII)


***START OF THE PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK NORFOLK ANNALS***

Transcribed from the 1901 edition by David Price, email ccx074@pglaf.org

NORFOLK ANNALS

A CHRONOLOGICAL RECORD OF REMARKABLE EVENTS IN
THE NINETEENTH CENTURY

(Compiled from the files of theNorfolk Chronicle”)

by
CHARLES MACKIE

 

VOLUME I.

1801–1850

 

“It is beyond the capacity of the human intellect to discriminate beforehand between what is valuable and what is valueless in the pursuit of historical research.  What would we give now for newspapers and trade circulars illustrating the social habits of many bygone times and peoples?”—The Times, May 4, 1900.

 

[Entered at Stationers’ Hall]

1901
Printed at the Office of the “Norfolk Chronicle” Market Place Norwich

p. vSUBSCRIBERS.

Lord Amherst of Hackney, Didlington Hall, Brandon, Norfolk.
Major C. W. Archdale, Coltishall, Norwich.

The Rev. Thomas W. B. Bartlett, Beeston Rectory, Swaffham.
Miss Bateman, 1, Hanover Road, Brunswick Road, Norwich.
Sir Reginald P. Beauchamp, Bart., Langley Park.
The Rev. John Hare Beevor, Hevingham Rectory, Norwich (two copies).
W. T. Bensly, LL.D., F.S.A., Eaton, Norwich.
C. A. Bathurst Bignold, Eaton Hall, Norwich.
Edward L. Birkbeck, Lexham.
Henry Birkbeck, Westacre.
T. C. Blofeld, Hoveton House.
Thomas Blomfield, Wellington House, East Dereham.
Edward Boardman, Albemarle Road, Norwich.
E. T. Boardman, Queen Street, Norwich.
H. C. Bolingbroke, Shirehall, Norwich.
T. B. Brittan, Brentwood, City Road, Lakenham, Norwich.
William Cooper Brown, Hartwell, Wroxham.
Henry G. Browne, 84, West Pottergate Street, Norwich.
The Rev. E. Utten Browne, Besthorpe Vicarage, Attleborough.
Sir Harry Bullard, M.P., Hellesdon House, Norwich.
General W. E. G. L. Bulwer, C.B., Quebec House, East Dereham.
Edward Bunnett, Mus. Doc, The Close, Norwich.
C. Louis Buxton, Bolwick, Marsham, Norwich.
G. F. Buxton, Dunston Hall, Norwich.

Edward J. Caley, Chapel Field Works, Norwich.
Thomas Chaplin, Milestone House, Thorpe Road, Norwich.
Henry L. Clark, Maid’s Head Hotel, Norwich.
Stroud L. Cocks, Uplands, Diss.
Russell J. Colman, Bracondale Woods, Norwich.
Ben Cook, Aylsham.

p. viHenry J. Copeman, 2, Town Close Road, Norwich.
S. Cozens-Hardy (Sheriff of Norwich), Bracondale, Norwich.
Thomas Cranmer, Clarence House, East Dereham.
Archdeacon Crosse, Cathedral Precincts, Norwich.
Henry R. Culley, 12, Bank Street, Norwich.

Travers Daveney, Linton, Cambridge.

Sir Peter Eade, St. Giles’ Street, Norwich.
Frederic R. Eaton, Cleveland House, Eaton, Norwich.
M. S. Emerson, Cathedral Close, Norwich.

The Hon. Ailwyn E. Fellowes, M.P., Honingham Hall.
G. B. ffolkes, Manor House, Wolferton, King’s Lynn.
Sir William H. B. ffolkes, Bart., Hillington Hall, King’s Lynn.
P. Berney Ficklin, Tasburgh Hall, Norwich.
Miss Franklin, 58, Unthank Road, Norwich.
Free Library, Norwich.

W. Coke Gee, Branksome, Catton.
W. B. Gerish, Ivy Lodge, Bishop’s Stortford, Herts.
Henry J. Gidney, Aylsham.
George Gilbert, Old Hall, Reedham.
Lieut.-Col. H. H. Gilbert, Cantley, Norfolk.
Sir Charles R. Gilman, Stafford House, Norwich.
The Rev. F. J. W. Girling, Shernborne Vicarage, King’s Lynn.
T. Inglis Goldie, Theatre Street, Norwich.
Agas H. Goose, 17, Prince of Wales Road, Norwich.
Robert Green, Angle Cottage, Sheringham.
Frederick Gregory, Excelsior House, North Walsham, Norfolk.
Guildhall Library, London.

W. H. Hackblock, Coltishall.
H. Rider Haggard, Ditchingham House.
J. B. Tooke Hales, The Close, Norwich.
Peter E. Hansell, Wroxham House, Wroxham, Norfolk.
P. Harbord, Lammas Hall, Norwich.
Bosworth Harcourt, 39, St. Giles’ Street, Norwich.
Thomas Hardie, Tudor House, Lower Clarence Road, Thorpe Hamlet.
W. T. Hartcup, Eastwood, Old Catton.

p. viiCaptain E. Harvey, Holmwood, Thorpe, Norwich.
Lord Hastings, Melton Constable Hall, Norfolk.
Frank P. Hinde, The Fernery, Thorpe Hamlet, Norwich.
Sir Samuel Hoare, Bart., M.P., Sidestrand Hall.
Francis Hornor, Thorpe Mansions, Norwich.
The Rev. J. W. Hoste, Norfolk Club, Norwich.
Charles J. A. Howes, 36, Havelock Road, Earlham Road, Norwich.
The Rev. William Hudson, 15, Hartfield Square, Eastbourne.
John Hurn, 37, Surrey Street, Norwich.

Arthur Edward Jackson, 79, St. Giles’ Street, Norwich.
Sir Alfred Jodrell, Bart., Bayfield, Holt.
Frederick Johnson, 33, Queen’s Road, Great Yarmouth.

The Earl of Leicester, K.G., Holkham, Norfolk.
Thomas Barrett Lennard, Horsford Manor, Norwich.
Hamon le Strange, Hunstanton Hall, Norfolk.
Captain Evans Lombe, 88, Hough Green, Chester.
C. J. Temple Lynes, Blakeney, Norfolk.

A. H. Mann, Mus. Doc., King’s Field, Cambridge.
The Hon. Robert Marsham-Townshend, 5, Chesterfield Street, Mayfair, London, W.
Miss Elizabeth Matthews, The Hollies, Swaffham.
William McQueen, The Cedar, Heigham Grove, Norwich.
John C. Miles, The Denes, Great Yarmouth.
Fred Morgan, Theatre Royal, Norwich.

Norfolk and Norwich Library, Norwich.

The Earl of Orford, Mannington Hall, Aylsham, Norfolk.

J. J. D. Paul (Mayor of Norwich), Eaton Grove, Norwich.
Mrs. Petre (of Westwick), Furze Hill, North Walsham, Norfolk.
R. H. Porter, 7, Prince’s Street, Cavendish Square, London, W.
Arthur W. Preston, Bradestone House, Brundall.
Richard Preston, Tonbridge, Kent.
R. J. W. Purdy, Woodgate House, Aylsham.

John Quinton, Norfolk and Norwich Library, Norwich.

Clare Sewell Read, 91, Kensington Gardens Square, London, W.
Edmund Reeve, Ber House, Norwich.

p. viiiJames Reeve, Castle Museum, Norwich.
F. T. S. Rippingall, Langham, Blakeney, Norfolk.
Walter R. Rudd, The Mount, Thorpe Hamlet, Norwich.
Walter Rye, St. Leonard’s Priory, Norwich.

Alfred C. Self, Arlington, Mount Pleasant, Norwich.
John Shepheard, Cromer Road, North Walsham.
His Highness Prince Frederick Duleep Singh, Old Buckenham Hall, Attleborough.
Henry Smith, Ellingham Hall, Bungay.
Edwin B. Southwell, 60, Bracondale, Norwich.
E. Bowyer Sparke, Gunthorpe Hall, Dereham.
A. W. Spratt, St. Catherine’s College, Cambridge.
F. Primrose Stevenson, F.Z.S., 155, Trinity Road, Upper Tooting, London, S.W.

Francis Taylor, Diss.

W. Gladstone Ulph, The Grange, Martham.

John Walker, Wentworth Villa, Newmarket Road, Norwich.
Lord Walsingham, F.R.S., Merton Hall, Thetford.
John H. Walter, Drayton House, Norwich.
The Rev. G. D. D. Watt, 2, Park Road, Forest Hill, London, S.E.
George White, M.P., The Grange, Eaton, Norwich.
Edward Wild, The Hawthorns, Eaton, Norwich.
Edward R. Woodward, Guardians’ Office, St. Andrew’s Street, Norwich.

p. xiPREFACE.

The “Norfolk and Norwich Remembrancer and Vade Mecum,” upon the plan of which this work is compiled, was published in two editions.  The first (undated) was issued in or about 1801.  It appeared in pamphlet form (f’cap 8vo), and contained (1) a brief topographical description of the city and county; (2) a “Chronological Retrospect of the most remarkable events which have occurred in Norfolk and Norwich during the 18th century, with a list of Bishops, Deans, High Sheriffs, Mayors and Sheriffs of Norwich, and Mayors of Yarmouth and Lynn within that period”; (3) an Index Villaris, “including an accurate account of the population, &c., of every parish in the county, extracted from the official returns taken in 1801, with the measured and computed distance of each market town and village from the city of Norwich; also the returns of the population of Norwich, as taken in 1693, 1752, 1786, and 1801”; (4) a list of direct and cross roads from Yarmouth, Lynn, and Cromer; and (5) an alphabetical list of “noblemen and gentlemen’s seats and villas in the county, with their distance from Norwich.”  The work was printed and sold by Stevenson and Matchett, Market Place, Norwich, and was “to be had of the distributors of the Norfolk Chronicle and of all booksellers.”

The “Remembrancer” consisted of 80 pages, and was published at eighteenpence.  Although the “Chronological Retrospect” extended over the period of one hundred years—from 1701 to 1800 inclusive, it was compressed into 43 pages.  This, the most important section of the work, was reprinted from a local chronology published in the Norfolk Chronicle, compiled partly from old Norwich histories and partly from the early files of the newspaper.  “Omissions or errors which may have occurred in this work,” says a footnote to the “advertisement” to the first edition, “shall be corrected in a future edition, and notice of such will be thankfully received by the Editors.”

p. xiiBut many years elapsed before the publication of a second edition, and it was not until 1822 that the “Remembrancer” again made its appearance.  The modest pamphlet of 1801 had grown to a crown 8vo volume of 274 pages, bound in cloth, and issued at three shillings and sixpence.  It was printed in bolder type, and contained additional information of a miscellaneous character, which, published at a time when few general directories and books of reference were in circulation, and local statistics difficult to obtain, was received with favour as one of the earliest attempts to supply the want now so fully met by local handbooks and year-books.  In this, as in the first edition, the Chronology was by far the most important part of the book.  The 18th century “Retrospect” was revised and amplified, and the record, continued from January, 1801, to December, 1821, occupied 208 pages.  The compiler of this edition, and probably of the former issue, although his name did not appear in connection therewith, was Mr. Jonathan Matchett, the senior proprietor of the Norfolk Chronicle, who states in his preface: “The Chronology of Remarkable Events has been compiled principally from the volumes of the Norfolk Chronicle, of which, with the local occurrences of the last fifty years at least, the Retrospect may be considered an epitome.  Such errors of omission or commission as may be discovered in this humble compilation shall, if pointed out, be corrected in a future edition, if ever a third should be called for.”  As no subsequent issue appeared, it may be assumed that the demand for the work was not such as to justify the expenditure of the time and labour necessary to its production.  Mr. Matchett died November 24th, 1844, and from that time until the present no effort had been made to continue the Chronology.

Little need be written by way of preface to this work.  It was commenced as an index to the Nineteenth Century files of the Norfolk Chronicle, and was not, as originally planned, intended for publication.  The compiler, however, was advised to elaborate his scheme and to prepare, in place of a MS. index designed for private use, a work which would serve the twofold purpose of continuing the excellent Chronology begun by Mr. Matchett, and of supplying a book of reference upon a variety of subjects pertaining to Norfolk and Norwich.  p. xiiiIn Volume I. of “Norfolk Annals” are recorded the events of the two decades included in the second edition of the “Remembrancer,” but the matter has been entirely re-written, and the field of research considerably enlarged.  With the lapse of time many things, too familiar and commonplace to be very fully noticed in the “Remembrancer,”—e.g., the coaching system, sports which are now obsolete, country celebrations and observances, &c.,—have acquired an interest which they did not present to a compiler of eighty or a hundred years ago.  Some of the facts recorded in these pages may not in themselves be considered “remarkable,” but collectively they illustrate the manners and customs, the wisdom and follies, the labours and amusements, of Norfolk people in the century just closed, and, it is hoped, show to what extent the county and city have progressed morally and socially during the last hundred years.  In one respect “Norfolk Annals” is less pretentious than its antecessor—it gives no topographical and statistical information of the kind published in the “Norfolk and Norwich Remembrancer”; in another sense it is more pretentious—it contains an index, which will add to its usefulness as a book of reference.

The writer is indebted to the Chairman (Sir Charles Gilman) and the Directors of the Norfolk Chronicle Co., Limited, for permitting him to make use of the files of that newspaper, from which exclusively the following pages have been compiled.

p. xivCORRIGENDA. [0]

Page 128, last line, for “present” read “presented.”

„ 138, line 9, for “Hawkes” read “Hankes.”

„ 166, line 2, for “Henry” read “Hurry.”

„ 187, line 8, for “Miller” read “Milles.”

„ 216, first line of last paragraph for “Norfolk” read “Norwich.”

p. 1NORFOLK ANNALS.
VOLUME I.
1801–1850.

[Note.—Marginal dates distinguished by an asterisk are dates of publication, not of occurrence.]

1801.

JANUARY.

1.—This day (Thursday) was observed as the first day of the Nineteenth Century.  It was also the day upon which the legislative Union of Great Britain and Ireland was effected.  At Norwich, the 13th Regiment of Light Dragoons and the East Essex Militia fired a feu de joie in the Market Place, and the Union flag was displayed upon the tower of St. Peter Mancroft.  At Yarmouth, there was a ceremonial parade of the Durham Militia, and the vessels in the Roads fired a royal salute and hoisted their new colours in honour of the Union.  Rain fell heavily throughout the day.

3.—The Norwich Theatre was opened with the performance of “the last new comedy, ‘Life,’ and the farce, ‘Curiosity.’”  The manager, Mr. Hindes, delivered an address to a crowded and fashionable audience.  The alterations in the house were executed after designs by Mr. William Wilkins, the patentee, and it was said to be one of the handsomest theatres in the provinces.

5.*—“The Duke of Grafton’s hounds unkenneled a fox at Fakenham Wood, near Euston, and after a chase of upwards of 50 miles in 4 hours 5 minutes, killed him at New Buckenham.”

27.*—“A match for ten guineas (two miles) was trotted on the turnpike road between Setch and Lynn, between Mr. Robson’s pony Filch and Mr. Scarfe’s pony Fidler, which was won with great ease by the former, he having trotted over the ground at the rate of 18 miles an hour.”

Great scarcity prevailed throughout this month.  About £1,500 was subscribed for supplying the poor of Norwich with soup, p. 2and upwards of 247,000 quarts were distributed.  At Norwich market wheat was quoted at the beginning of the month at 146s. per quarter, and rose at the end to 180s.; barley, 84s.; and oats, 50s.  Various expedients were adopted to lessen the consumption of bread.  “The officers of the West Norfolk Militia” it was stated, “have entirely left off the use of bread at their mess, and have forbid the use of puddings and pies, except the crust is made of rice or potatoes, which they eat in a variety of shapes as a substitute for bread.”  Nurses were advised to use linseed meal and water instead of bread and milk in making poultices.

FEBRUARY.

9.—Died at Postwick, aged 21, Edward West, who had served as midshipman under Lord Nelson at the battle of the Nile, and accompanied Capt. Sir Edward Berry in the Foudroyant.  In the action with the Guillaume Tell “he received a most severe wound, which occasioned a decline.”

11.—A General Fast was observed in Norwich.

14.*—“It is much to be regretted that although many large manufactures of hempen cloth are established in Norwich, all the spinning of the hemp is done in Suffolk, and a sufficient quantity is with difficulty obtained from thence.  It is suggested to establish a spinning school for children, under the patronage of benevolent ladies.”

17.—A company was formed at Norwich for the erection of a “public mill to be worked by steam for supplying the bakers and inhabitants with flour.”  A capital of £12,500 was raised in transferable shares of £25, and the mill was erected upon a site near Blackfriars’ Bridge.

24.—Mr. Charles Harvey, Steward of Norwich, elected Recorder, in place of Mr. Henry Partridge, resigned.

28.—The price of wheat at Norwich Market was 168s. per quarter.

MARCH.

6.—The Anacreontic Society, “which for many years has been established in Norwich, and to which the cause of music owes so much,” closed its winter session.  The Hon. Mr. Wodehouse, Sir William Jerningham, Sir Richard Bedingfeld, and Capt. Sir Edward Berry were present.  The Society gave monthly concerts in the Assembly Room from October to March.  In the advertisement announcing the commencement of the next session, it was stated that the first concert would “begin precisely at 6; supper-rooms open at 9, and the President to quit the chair at 12 o’clock.”

7.—Arrived in Yarmouth Roads, the St. George, of 98 guns, bearing the flag of Lord Nelson.  The grand fleet of 47 ships of war (with 3,000 marines), sailed on the 12th, under the command of Admiral Sir Hyde Parker, in the London, of 98 guns, with Nelson as his Vice-Admiral.  The fleet first “rendezvoused” in Leith Roods, where it was joined by seven sail of the line, and afterwards proceeded to Copenhagen.

p. 310.—A mob assembled at Lynn and grossly assaulted several millers and farmers by throwing at them stones and dirt.  In the evening they broke the windows in the dining-room of the Duke’s Head Inn.  “One of the ringleaders was taken to gaol, and by the active exertions of the Rutland Militia tranquillity was restored without bloodshed.”

11.*—“Mr. Kett, butcher, of Norwich, undertook to ride his horse 50 miles in four hours.  He started from St. Stephen’s Gates at 12 o’clock, reached the 25th milestone on the Thetford road in about 2½ hours, and returned to the place whence he had set out one and a half minutes before the time allowed.  Six to four was laid that the horse did not perform the journey.”

14.*—[Advt.]  “The Yarmouth and Norwich mail coach will set out from the King’s Head, Market Place, Norwich, and the Star Tavern, Quay, Yarmouth, every day, at 12 o’clock.”

16.—The Invincible, of 74 guns (built in 1766), Rear-Admiral Totty, on her way to join the grand fleet, got on the Ridge, near Happisburgh Sand, and remained there till daybreak next morning, when she floated off.  On entering deep water she went down immediately, with several officers and 300 men.  Daniel Grigson, master of the Nancy cod-smack, saved seven officers and about 190 of the crew.  At a Court Martial held at Sheerness, on March 31st, on Admiral Totty and the surviving officers and crew, it was proved that the disaster occurred through the ignorance of the pilot, and a verdict of honourable acquittal was returned.

19.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Grose, the action, the King v. Augustus Beevor, clerk, was tried.  The information was filed against the defendant by leave of the Court of King’s Bench, for sending a challenge to Major Edward Payne, in consequence of a dispute that had taken place between the Major and the defendant’s father.  Defendant, referring to this dispute, wrote to Major Payne, demanding an apology, “or he should be under the necessity of compelling it by a mode generally used among gentlemen.”  No notice was taken of the letter, and the defendant meeting Major Payne in the Market Place at Norwich told him publicly that “the contempt he had for his character protected his person.”  The defendant was found guilty, and at the next term of the Court of King’s Bench (May 7) was sentenced to three weeks’ imprisonment in the King’s Bench Prison, and ordered to enter into his own recognisances of £500, to find two sureties of £250 each, and to be of good behaviour for three years.

20.*—“The remains of Miss Sophia Goddard, of the Theatre Royal, Norwich, were interred at St. Peter Mancroft.  Mr. Hindes, the manager, and the principal actors attended on the melancholy occasion.  This young lady had obtained considerable reputation on the Norwich boards, and was making rapid advance to eminence in her profession when death prematurely deprived the theatrical world of an actress whose talents would have ensured her success on any stage.  She supported with great fortitude and resignation a long and painful illness, brought on by exertions that her constitution was unequal to, and died on Sunday last (March 15), in her 26th year, sincerely beloved and lamented by her family and friends.”

Wheat this month rose to 180s. per quarter.

p. 4APRIL.

3.—Died at the Cavalry Barracks, Norwich, Lieut. Robert Scully, 13th Light Dragoons.  His remains were interred on Sunday, April 4th, with military honours, at St. Peter Mancroft.

4.—Died at Cambridge, Mrs. Lloyd, widow of Dean Lloyd, aged 79.  “Her performances in needlework were so exquisitely wrought that they may justly be compared with the paintings of the most celebrated artists.  The Transfiguration and other figures represented in the eastern windows of Norwich Cathedral have displayed the superior skill of her personal attainments.”

—Mousehold Heath, Norwich, was enclosed and cultivated.  Plots of land were afterwards let at 25s. per acre.

—John Allen (23) and John Day (26), for burglary at the house of the Rev. Isaac Horsley, at North Walsham; Richard Grafton, for stealing a cow and three heifers; and James Chettleburgh (36), for stealing six sheep at Saxlingham, were executed at Thetford.  “Day confessed to having committed four burglaries previous to that for which he suffered, and to having deserted thirteen times from different regiments.”

—In consequence of objections being made to the elections of Messrs. Staff and Proctor in the Wymer Ward, and of Messrs. Brittan and Scott in the Northern Ward, Norwich, on the ground of their being ineligible under the Corporation Act, having omitted to receive the Sacrament within a year previous to the election of Common Council, the Mayor did not make the returns till several days after the usual time.  At a Court held on this day, the Recorder (Mr. Harvey), after the objections had been fully argued by counsel, declared that the persons objected to, who had the majority of votes, having omitted to come into Court according to summons, were not duly elected; but, as no regular notice had been given previous to the election, the candidates in the minority could not be returned.  On May 2nd a rule was moved for in the Court of King’s Bench, to show cause why a mandamus should not be directed to the Mayor of Norwich to admit Mr. George Wymer into the office of Common Councilman of the city.  Similar motions were made on behalf of Messrs. Bacon, Cooke, Fiske, and Webster, the other defeated candidates.  “Lord Kenyon desired counsel to take rule to show cause, and to serve the rule not only on the Mayor, but also on those persons who were elected in fact, but not de jure.”  On May 13th, Lord Kenyon confirmed the decision of the Recorder that “neither the candidates who had the majority of votes, from their not having taken the Sacrament, nor those in the minority were duly elected.”  Another election for the wards took place on May 25th and 26th.

11.*—(Advt.)  “To be seen alive in a genteel room at Mr. Peck’s Coffee-house, Church Stile, Market-place, Norwich, the largest Rattlesnake ever seen in England, 42 years old, near nine feet long, in full health and vigour.  He is well secured, so that Ladies and Gentlemen may view him without the least danger.  He has not taken any sustenance for the last 11 months.  Admittance, Ladies and Gentlemen, 1s.; working people and children, 6d.”

14.—Intelligence received at Yarmouth of the destruction of the Danish fleet in Copenhagen Bay, by the British fleet, under the p. 5immediate command of Lord Nelson, on April 2nd, after a battle of four hours.  Seventeen sail of the Danish navy were taken or destroyed.  The news was conveyed to Norwich by the coach, which entered the city with colours flying; the Volunteer corps paraded in the Market Place and fired a feu de joie, and the bells of St. Peter Mancroft and of other churches were rung.

18.*—“By the latest returns of the Secret Committee the County of Norfolk is reported amongst the most loyal counties in the kingdom.”

20.—A performance took place at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, “towards raising a fund for the benefit of those who through age or infirmity are obliged to retire from the Stage.”

23.—Died at Norwich, Mr. John Bonsell, aged 75 years, “an eminent leather cutter, who for upwards of 20 years lived an abstemious life, refraining from animal food and fermented liquors.  He rendered himself very conspicuous in the religious world, as he professed opinions, in a great measure peculiar to himself, which bordered upon fanaticism.  He wrote several religious controversial pamphlets, as ‘The Ram’s Horn,’ &c.”

25.—Comparative returns of the population of Norwich, “as taken in 1801, 1786, 1752, and 1693,” were published.  In 1801, the population was 36,832; in 1786, 40,051; in 1752, 36,169; in 1693, 28,881.  “The decrease of the population of this city since 1786 is 3,219, but it is to be observed that 1786 was a year of peace, and that in the returns of 1801 those serving in the Navy, Army, and Militia are not included.  Norwich, during the present war, has furnished at least 4,000 recruits for the Army and Navy, and these will account for the decrease, and also for the great excess of females, which appears by the returns to be above one-fourth.  Of the present population, 408 are chiefly employed in agriculture, and 12,267 in trade, manufactures, and handicrafts.”

MAY.

1.—“There being again this year no alderman below the chair who had served the office of Sheriff, the following aldermen were put in nomination for the office of Mayor:—James Crowe, Sir Roger Kerrison, John Morse, and Jeremiah Ives, jun.  At the close the numbers were Ives, 668; Crowe, 638; Kerrison, 375; Morse, 37.”  At a court of Mayoralty, held on Sunday, May 3rd, it was ruled that Mr. Crowe was ineligible, in consequence of having served the office three years previously to the date of the election.  Sir Roger Kerrison, who stood next on the poll, retired in favour of Mr. Ives, who was thereupon declared elected, and was duly sworn on June 16th.

9.—Died, at Easton House, Sir Lambert Blackwell, Bart., aged 69.  The title (conferred on his grandfather in 1718) became extinct.  He bequeathed all his estates, with his valuable paintings, books, coins, &c., to Mr. William Foster, jun., of Norwich, subject to certain annuities.

16.—A reduction of from 15s. to 20s. per quarter in the price of bread corn was announced.  There was also a decrease in the price p. 6of live cattle of all kinds.  “A sixpenny standard wheaten loaf, which about six weeks ago weighed only 1 lb. 4 ozs. 6 drs., now weighs 2 lbs. 10 ozs. 6 drs.”

23.*—“Another capital prize in the lottery has come down to Norwich.  The whole ticket, number 24,350, a prize of £15,000 in the July Irish Lottery, is the sole property of Charles Weston, Esq., banker and brewer of this city.  The ticket was purchased twelve months ago, and not being registered, the fortunate holder remained unconscious of his wealth until last week, when, on examining the public lists, he discovered that his ticket was a prize of the amount above stated.”

JUNE.

2.—Mr. Henry Harmer elected Speaker of the Common Council of Norwich, in place of his father, Mr. Samuel Harmer, who held the office upwards of 20 years.

4.—The King’s Birthday was celebrated at Norwich with great demonstrations of joy.  The Corporation attended service at the Cathedral, the Loyal Military Association and the several parochial associations paraded in the Market Place and fired a feu de joie, and the members of the Norwich Light Horse, after a like ceremony, dined at the Maid’s Head.  Major Patteson’s corps adjourned to Neeche’s Gardens, Capt. Blake’s corps to the Rose Inn, St Augustine’s, and the other corps to different taverns.  The Mayor gave a dinner to the Aldermen.

8.*—“A quartermaster of the 13th Light Dragoons rode a certain distance up Thorpe Road in a given time, with his face to the horse’s tail, and afterwards up the sand hill near Kett’s Castle in the same position, and won both wagers.”

18.—The body of William Suffolk, who was executed in March, 1797, for the murder of Mary Beck, of North Walsham, was taken down by authority of the magistrates and interred on the spot where the gibbet was erected.  “About ten days back a starling’s nest, with young ones, was taken out of the breast of Watson, who hangs on a gibbet on Bradenham Common, near Swaffham, for the murder of his wife, which was witnessed by hundreds of people as something very singular and extraordinary.”

20.—The ensign of the Généreux having been presented to the city by Capt. Sir Edward Berry, the Corporation caused it to be displayed in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, with a suitable inscription.

22.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced and lasted until the 26th.  Among those present were the Duke of Bedford, the Duke of Manchester, and other distinguished visitors.  The new implements exhibited included a machine for drilling turnips, invented by the Rev. T. C. Munnings.  It was described as “nothing more than a perforated tin box, affixed to and vertical with the axis of a wheelbarrow.”  A thrashing machine “was much approved of.”  At this meeting Mr. Coke announced his intention to give premiums for promoting the improvement of live stock and for encouraging experimental husbandry.

p. 725.—A fire broke out on the roof of Norwich Cathedral, and occasioned damage to the amount of £500.  Bishop Manners Sutton personally distributed refreshments to the soldiers and others who assisted in extinguishing the flames.  About 45 feet of the roof were destroyed.  The fire originated from the carelessness of plumbers at work upon the building.

27.*—“At the ordinary visitation of the clergy and general confirmation held during this month, Bishop Manners Sutton confirmed at Newmarket 1,150 persons of both sexes; at Bury St. Edmund’s, 4,500; at Stowmarket, 1,150; at Ipswich, 1,300; at Woodbridge, 1,150; at Framlingham, 960; at Beccles, 660; and at Norwich, 1,100.”

29.—Vice-Admiral Lord Nelson arrived at Yarmouth in the Kite sloop, Capt. Domett, from Copenhagen.  He immediately proceeded on foot from the jetty to the Hospital, and visited the sick and wounded seamen.  After a stay of about three hours, his lordship left Yarmouth for London, under escort of a troop of Yeomanry Cavalry.

The price of wheat at the end of this month fell to 120s. per quarter.

JULY.

11.*—“The duty on port wine expected at Lynn alone will, it is said, amount to £80,000.”

—*“The Postmasters General have permitted the mail coach to be established from Lynn to unite with that from Norwich and Yarmouth at Barton Mills.”

17.—Wroxham Regatta took place.  “The novelty of a sailing match attracted a great deal of company.”  It was won by the Union, the property of the Rev. Mr. Preston.

18.—The population of Norfolk was returned as 274,221, of whom 130,249 were males and 143,972 females.

28.—At a general meeting of the Deputy-Lieutenants and magistrates, presided over by the Lord Lieutenant (the Marquis Townshend), it was resolved to adopt measures for the effectual defence of the county and the preservation of property.

AUGUST.

1.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Lord Chief Baron Macdonald, was tried the action, Stracey v. Davy.  The plaintiff was lord of the Manor of Rackheath, and the defendant a tenant of Mr. John Morse, jun.  The action, which was for trespass, was brought for the purpose of ascertaining certain rights set up by the defendant.  Davy sought to establish the privilege of sheep walk over that part of Mousehold Heath then belonging to the parish of Rackheath.  He claimed severally the right of feeding 500, 400, and 300 sheep, and also the right of depasturing his sheep levant and couchant, and in various other modes.  The special jury found a verdict for the p. 8defendant, and confirmed his right of feeding 500 sheep at six score to the hundred.

3.—The annual Venison Feast was held at the Red Lion, Fakenham, to celebrate Lord Nelson’s victory of the Nile.

4.—The Norwich parochial Volunteer Associations assembled at St. Andrew’s Hall, and afterwards marched to the Market Place, where Capt. William Herring, the commanding officer for the day, read a letter from the Lord Lieutenant, requesting the men to be prepared in case of invasion.

—“This day, from five in the morning till ten at night, heavy cannonading was distinctly heard by the Rev. Mr. Burton and several of his parishioners at Horsford, which was at the time supposed to be the cannonading from Lord Nelson’s fleet before Boulogne.”

15.—Henry Lawn, aged 41, executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, for horse stealing.  “He denied to the last that he was guilty.  He left a wife and six children.  He would have enjoyed a considerable property, which the present possessor has entailed upon his children.”

24.—The Supplementary Militia was re-embodied.  During this month meetings were held in different parishes in city and county to discuss the means to be adopted in case of invasion.  The clergy in country parishes took account of the live and dead stock that could be removed, and of the number of waggons and carts to be made use of.  The drilling of Yeomanry and Volunteer corps became general.

SEPTEMBER.

20.—Died at Brompton, Sir John Gresham, Bart., the last male heir of the family.

26.*—“A person residing in this city has within the last week been convicted in penalties amounting to £166 10s., for having laid a leaden pipe from his dwelling-house to communicate with the pipes belonging to the proprietors of the waterworks, without having obtained their consent or paid the accustomed water rent.  The amount was paid to the company’s solicitor, who immediately returned the money, except 30 guineas, which he has paid to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital for the benefit of that institution.”

The portraits of Lord Nelson, by Sir William Beechey, and of Mr. John Herring, Mayor of Norwich in 1799, by Opie, were this month placed in St. Andrew’s Hall.

OCTOBER.

1.—Intelligence was received at Yarmouth, from Constantinople, of the surrender of Alexandria to the British and Turkish armies under General Hutchinson and the Grand Vizier.

3.—The intelligence reached Norwich that the Preliminaries of Peace had been signed in Paris.  There were great rejoicings on the 10th on the ratification of the news.  The horses of the mail coach, by which the intelligence was brought to the city, were so terrified by the demonstration that they became unmanageable, the coach was p. 9overturned, and the coachman, the guard, and some of the passengers injured.

5.—At Yarmouth, during the Peace illuminations, a mob broke the windows of several houses occupied by Quakers.  The ringleaders were committed for trial at the Sessions.

7.—At the Norfolk County Sessions, Elizabeth Manship, of Ormesby, was indicted for committing an outrage upon the Rev. Eli Morgan Price, when in the act of officiating at Divine service at the parish church.  It appeared that while Mr. Price was reading a new form of thanksgiving “for the late plentiful season” the defendant rushed out of her pew and snatched the paper out of his hands, to the very great disturbance and alarm of the congregation.  The jury found the defendant guilty, and she was sentenced to pay a fine of £20.

21.—A general illumination took place in Norwich in celebration of the Peace.  There was a grand display of transparencies, and a huge bonfire was lighted in the Market Place, around which the Mayor and Corporation paraded.  The celebration was general throughout the county.

24.*—“In the spring of this year the Palace Workhouse, Norwich, contained 1,017 paupers.  They are now reduced to 425, a smaller number than has been known for the past 20 years.  The reduction in the other workhouse has been nearly proportionate.”

NOVEMBER.

2.—The Prince of Orange arrived at Yarmouth from London, and on the 6th sailed in the Diana packet for Cuxhaven.

13.—Peter Donahue, a sergeant in the 30th Regiment of Foot, was executed at Lynn, for uttering counterfeit Bank of England notes.  “We are sorry to add that he appeared sensible for many minutes after he was turned off, and a large effusion of blood gushed from his mouth and nose, which rendered the scene most awful, terrible, and distressing.”

20.—Prince William Frederick of Gloucester arrived at the house of Mr. J. Patteson, at Norwich, and in the afternoon stood sponsor for Mr. Patteson’s youngest son, who was christened at St. Stephen’s Church by the name of William Frederick.  The Prince afterwards went to Houghton, where Lord Cholmondeley gave a grand fête in honour of the Peace.  On his return to Norwich, on November 25th, his Royal Highness attended a ball and supper, given by Mrs. Charles Manners Sutton at the Bishop’s Palace.

21.*—“The coursing meeting at Swaffham last week was numerously and respectably attended.  The silver cup was won by Mr. Denton’s bitch Nettle, which beat Mr. Tyssen’s bitch.  The assembly was brilliantly and numerously attended”

DECEMBER.

5.—It was announced that the Duke of Norfolk intended to “pull down the old Palace, now used as a workhouse, and employ the premises for some beneficial and ornamental purpose.”

p. 1016.—The old Hall at Stratton Strawless, belonging to Mr. Robert Marsham, was destroyed by fire.  The family had removed a few weeks before into the new hall.

26.—A serious affray occurred at Horsford between two Excise officers, assisted by two privates of the 3rd Dragoon Guards, and 30 smugglers.  The officers had seized a large quantity of smuggled goods at Cawston, and the smugglers succeeded in retaking only a small part.  One of the soldiers was shot; several of the smugglers were desperately wounded, and two died of their wounds.

—*(Advt.)  “The Lord Nelson new Light Coach, from London to Lynn in 14 hours, through Cambridge and Ely.  Agreeable to the wishes of the Vice-Chancellor and several members of the University, the proprietors mean to relinquish travelling on the Sunday.  The coach will leave the Golden Cross, Charing Cross, on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at half-past five, arrive at Cambridge at one, and Lynn at eight in the evening.  The coach will return from the Globe Inn, Lynn, on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday mornings.  The coach carries four insides.”

—*(Advt.)  “The Lord Nelson Coach, from London to Fakenham.  The coach leaves the Crown, Fakenham, on Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday; sups at Cambridge, and arrives in London about seven in the morning.  From the Golden Cross, same days, at six in the evening.”

Prices of corn at the end of the year: Wheat, 70s. to 76s.  Rye, 36s.  Barley, 40s. to 42s. per quarter.  Oats, 20s. to 24s.  Malt, 32s. per coomb.  Best flour, £3 1s. 8¼d per sack.  Coals, 40s. 4d. per chaldron.

1802.

JANUARY.

2.*—“Mr. W. E. Bulwer, of Heydon, has resolved to divide all his farms into 200 acres, as they come out of lease.  They are worthy the attention of industrious men wanting situations.”

4.—The Duke of Bedford, Lord Paget, and Lord John Thynne, with four other gentlemen, on a visit to Lord Cholmondeley at Houghton, “had the greatest day’s sport ever known in Norfolk.  They killed altogether 165 hares, 42 pheasants, 5 rabbits, 2 woodcock, and 2 partridges, and this notwithstanding that the woods had been beat five times this season.”

9.—A reduction of 3s. 6d. in the pound poor-rates announced.  The mulct was fixed at 7s. in the pound.  “For the last 30 years there have not been so few paupers in the two workhouses, principally owing to the manufacturers of Norwich having such large orders to execute that hands are actually wanted.”

—The non-commissioned officers and privates of the Blofield and South Walsham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry offered to continue their p. 11services to the Government, and “thanked the officers for the unremitting and polite attention paid to them since the establishment in 1794.”  Other troops of Yeomanry in the county made similar offers.

13.*—“Died lately at Bristol Hot Wells, where she had gone for the recovery of her health, the Countess of Leicester.”

—*“Died last week Mr. William Websdale.  This venerable man lived in three centuries, and expired at the advanced age of 102 years.”

—*The following Coach advertisements were published on this date:—

“Royal Lynn Mail Coach sets out daily from the Duke’s Head Inn, Lynn, by way of Brandon, Barton Mills, Newmarket, Bournbridge, and Epping, to the White Horse, in Fetter Lane, whence it returns every day at three o’clock.”

“The Fakenham and Swaffham Light Post Coach sets out daily from the Red Lion, in Fakenham, at two o’clock, and returns from London as above.”

“The Lord Nelson Coach, from Lynn to Norwich in seven hours.  From the Globe, Lynn, to the King’s Head, Norwich, every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, returning Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday at seven o’clock each morning.”

“The Lynn and Norwich Machine, from the Crown Tavern, Lynn, to the White Swan, Norwich.  Runs three times a week.  Insides, 12s.; outsides, 7s.”

14.—Mr. William Earle Bulwer installed Provincial Grand Master of Freemasons at the White Swan, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.

15.—The thermometer “very near to 0 (32 degrees below freezing point).”

16.—A fine grey eagle was taken alive in a trap upon the estate of Lord Montrath, at Weeting.  It measured from the extremity of each wing 7 feet 8 inches, and from the beak to the tail nearly four feet.

FEBRUARY.

15.—The Norwich Court of Guardians considered the question of the erection of a new workhouse.  The average number of poor maintained in the two workhouses during the previous 18 years had been 1,282.  It was recommended that one building be erected to accommodate 1,300, the money to be borrowed on shares of £100 each, bearing interest, and to be paid off by lot, so that the whole debt, with interest thereon, would be discharged in 20 years.  A Bill was brought before Parliament and received the Royal assent on May 24th, and a site for the building was purchased near “the opening to Chapel Field.”  On December 7th, in consequence of observations made by Mr. Alderman Rigby on the subject of outdoor relief, the question was deferred until the committee had informed the Court whether “these allowances may not be so extended without any diminution of the comforts of the poor as to render unnecessary p. 12the building of such a workhouse as has hitherto been proposed.”  The scheme for the erection of the workhouse was ultimately abandoned.

21.—Died, Mr. Henry Skipper, dyer, St. Peter Hungate, Norwich.  “He was in his time a famous pugilist, and fought several pitched battles with Algar, Henry, and others.”

MARCH.

16.—Died, at his house in Greville Street, Hatton Garden, London, in the 28th year of his age, Thomas Archibald Murray, M.D., one of the physicians of the public dispensary in Carey Street, and of the House of Recovery for Infectious Diseases, an institution which, in a great measure, owed its establishment to Dr. Murray’s exertions.  He was the youngest son of Dr. John Murray, founder of the Scots Society in Norwich, who died September 26th, 1792.

20.*—“Died, lately, at Strawberry Hill, near Collumpton, Devonshire, aged 78, the Earl of Montrath, of Weeting Hall.  The Earldom is extinct.  His lordship left a legacy of £2,000 to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.  His invariable dread of small-pox occasioned his lordship to lead absolutely the life of a recluse.  His terror was so great that he had five houses between his seat at Weeting and his house in Devonshire, to prevent the chance of infection, and at these houses small establishments were kept up, as he dared not sleep in an inn.”

24.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, the Grand Jury made a presentment, to the effect that, as hay and corn were considerably reduced in price, publicans and posting-masters might, without injury to themselves, decrease their charges.  It was resolved “That those publicans and posting-masters who have already reduced their charges are deserving approbation and encouragement.”  In an advertisement published on April 24th the post-masters stated that from the heavy duties imposed upon carriages, the first expense of chaises and their repair, the increased price of horses and of smith’s work, they could not, without great injury to themselves and their families, make any abatement in the charge of fifteen pence (which included the payment of a duty of 3d.) per mile, they having been considerable losers during the previous two years.

27.—Died, at Melton Constable, Sir Edward Astley, Bart., who represented Norfolk in four successive Parliaments.  He was succeeded in the title and estates by Sir J. H. Astley, his only surviving son by his first wife, the eldest sister of John Lord Delaval, of Seaton Delaval, Northumberland.

30.—News was received of the Definite Treaty of Peace having been signed at Amiens, on March 27th, by the Marquis Cornwallis and Buonaparte.  The Norwich Loyal Military Associations assembled at St. Andrew’s Hall.  “Instead of field-pieces and ammunition waggons the martial divisions were preceded in their march from the Hall to the Market Place by two brewers’ drays, laden with six barrels of Norwich porter, which were drunk with much joy.”

p. 13APRIL.

10.*—(Advt.)  “To Seafaring Men.  A Double Caule to be sold.  For price and particulars enquire of the Printers.”

—*“Within the last three months nearly 300 paupers have been discharged from the two workhouses, which at the present time do not contain more than 550 persons, the smallest number ever remembered.  The next poor-rate, in consequence, will not exceed 4s. 3d. in the pound in Norwich.”

—*“It appears from the returns of assessment of income that Norfolk and Norwich last year contributed £111,513 17s. 1d., of which sum £18,801 0s. 3¼d. was paid by persons possessing incomes under £200 a year, and £92,712 16s. 9¾d. by persons of superior income.”

17.*—(Advt.)  “Bear Baiting.  Henry Gerrard respectfully informs the public that there will be a Bear Baiting in a meadow belonging to the Ferry Farm House, Great Yarmouth, on Monday next, the 19th inst., in the afternoon.  Admission 1s.; 6d. to be returned in liquor.”  (The baiting was prevented by the action of the county justices.)

—William Dunnett, for horse stealing, and John Saunders, for stealing a cow, were executed at Thetford.

24.—The East and West Regiments of Norfolk Militia disembodied at Yarmouth and Dereham.  The several corps of Yeomanry Cavalry and Volunteer Infantry, on being disbanded, were thanked by the Government for their services.

—*“The whole of the French and Dutch prisoners confined in Yaxley Barracks were last week put on board different vessels in Lynn harbour, from whence they proceeded to their respective countries.”

26.—Died, at Bath, aged 78, the Rev. Edmund Nelson, father of Lord Nelson.  He was rector of Burnham Thorpe, to which he was presented in 1755 by Lord Walpole.

27.—To commemorate the opening of the new organ, “built by the celebrated Mr. England, of London,” the oratorio, “The Messiah,” was performed at St. George Colegate Church, Norwich, which was “lighted up and matted for the occasion.”  The organ was opened by Mr. Beckwith, who also conducted the band.  Three shillings was charged for admission to the church.

MAY.

3.—The Corporation of Norwich voted an address to his Majesty the King on the acquisition of Peace.  The address was presented to his Majesty at a Levée at St. James’s Palace, on May 21st, by Mr. Jeremiah Ives, jun., Mayor; Sir Roger Kerrison, Mayor-Elect; and Mr. William Foster, jun.

4.—Peace was proclaimed by the Mayor and Corporation, who went in procession through the streets of Norwich.  Major Patteson’s corps of Volunteers and the several parochial military associations, after firing volleys in the Market Place, marched to the residence of the p. 14Mayor-Elect, where they deposited their muskets and regimental colours.  Officers and men afterwards repaired to Neeche’s Gardens, where they dined.  In the evening there was a general illumination.  The day was similarly observed at Yarmouth.

10.—A fête was held in Reffley Wood, near Lynn.  A “fine Norfolk sheep” was roasted for the feast, presided over by Sir Martin ffolkes.

13.—Died, aged 85, Mrs. Beaton, of St. John Maddermarket, Norwich.  “She was a native of Wales, and commonly called here ‘The Freemason,’ from the circumstance of her having contrived to conceal herself one evening in the wainscoting of the lodge-room, where she learnt that secret, the knowledge of which thousands of her sex in vain attempted to arrive at.  She was a very singular old woman, and, as a proof of it, the secret died with her.”

14.—A heavy fall of snow, which in many places lay more than an inch thick upon the ground.  On the 15th there was a severe frost, and snow fell for two hours.  At Langley and other places it was between three and four inches in depth.

22.—Between one and two o’clock in the morning the dwelling-house of the Rev. Mr. Sykes, of Guestwick, was burglariously entered by two men.  “They presented themselves at Mr. and Mrs. Sykes’ bedside.  Their faces were blackened, and one of them had on a slip of linen, and the other a woman’s checked bed-gown.  They each had a cudgel and a candle in their hands.  They said, ‘We have pistols; your money or your lives.’  One of them remained by the bedside, while the other plundered the drawers.  Then they departed, carrying away some money and a watch.”

24.—The Duke of Cambridge sailed from Yarmouth in the Amphion frigate for Hanover, of which kingdom he was appointed Regent.

24.—Died, aged 90, Mrs. Ann Fuller, of Raveningham.  “Her remains were interred at the parish of Toft Monks.  The pall was supported by six grandchildren, and the funeral attended by children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren in her own lineal descent to the number of 47.”

29.—At a county meeting an address to his Majesty on the Peace was moved by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, seconded by the Hon. Col. Harbord, and unanimously adopted.  The address was presented to the King by Mr. Robert Wilson, High Sheriff.

31.—A fire occurred at Swanton paper mill, a great part of which was destroyed, with all the paper.  The damage was estimated at £4,000.

JUNE.

1.—This day was ordered to be observed as one of general thanksgiving for the Restoration of Peace.  The Mayor and Corporation of Norwich attended the Cathedral, and the appointed service was performed at all parish churches.  At Lynn, the inhabitants, instead of having an illumination, collected £300, which was distributed amongst the poor.

p. 1521.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  A new thrashing machine was exhibited.  An improved drill for turnip sowing was also shown.  “From the same barrel seed and oilcake manure are delivered into one tube, through which it is deposited in the earth by the same coulters.”

22.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Mayor, Sir Roger Kerrison, went to the Cathedral “in a most elegant new chariot, the colour of royal blue; the coachman and the three footmen behind had handsome new liveries, with gold-laced cocked hats and gold-headed canes.”  His worship “wore a full dress coat and embroidered waistcoat.”  At the Guild feast, in St. Andrew’s Hall, 800 guests were present; and at the ball given in the evening, at Chapel Field House, Mr. T. A. Kerrison and Miss Chad opened the dancing for the 450 guests.

26.*—(Advt.)  “On Wednesday, the 30th inst., a main of cocks will be fought at Aylsham, between the gentlemen of Suffolk and the gentlemen of Norfolk, for ten guineas a battle and twenty the odd.  Feeder for Suffolk, Nath. Rowen; ditto for Norfolk, Henry Seaman.”

JULY.

2.—Dibden gave his entertainment, “Sans Souci,” at the Theatre Royal, Norwich.  The performance was repeated on the succeeding evening.

5.—Parliament having been dissolved on June 29th, the election of members for the city of Norwich took place on this day.  The candidates were the Right Hon. Wm. Windham, of Felbrigg, and Mr. John Frere, of Roydon; Mr. Robert Fellowes, of Shottesham, and Mr. William Smith.  At the close of the poll the numbers were:—Fellowes, 1,532; Smith, 1,439; Windham, 1,356; Frere, 1,328.  There was great rioting.  The chairing took place on the day following the declaration of the poll.

12.—After the lapse of 34 years, a contested election took place for the county of Norfolk.  The poll opened on the 12th, and continued for eight days.  The result was declared as follows:—Mr. Thomas Wm. Coke, 4,317; Sir Jacob Henry Astley, 3,612; the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, 3,517.  A scrutiny was demanded by the friends of the latter and granted.  It commenced on July 30th, and continued till August 28th, when Col. Wodehouse’s counsel retired from the case, and Sir J. H. Astley and Mr. Coke were declared duly elected.  The expenses of the contest were estimated at £35,000, and the amount spent by the successful candidates to bring distant voters to the poll was enormous.

Mr. John Hookham Frere, of Roydon, was this month appointed Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to the Court of Madrid.

AUGUST.

12.—This year’s anniversary service at the Cathedral, in aid of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, realised £165 3s. 4¾d.  With the p. 16proceeds of the dinner at the Maid’s Head Inn, the total amount handed to the institution was £204 17s. 8¾d.

14.*—“We hear from Brussels that a party of gentlemen from Lynn have reached that city in the Hebe pleasure yacht.  This being the first vessel that ever displayed the British flag in Brussels the quay of the port has been crowded with spectators looking at her.”

17.—A duel was fought on Mousehold Heath, Norwich, by Mr. Robert Alderson, a well-known barrister, and Mr. Grigby.  The latter conceived that he had been unfairly treated in cross-examination by Mr. Alderson at the Suffolk Assizes, and, refusing to accept his explanation, sent him a challenge.  “Mr. Alderson was attended to the field by Mr. Mackintosh, and Mr. Grigby by Mr. Turner.  Two shots were exchanged, with no effect than that of Mr. Grigby’s first ball passing through the skirts of Mr. Alderson’s coat.  A cordial reconciliation was afterwards effected.”

28.—William Rix was executed on Castle Hill, Norwich, for sheep stealing.

SEPTEMBER.

5.—The organ of the Octagon Chapel, Norwich, was opened by Mr. Beckwith.  The instrument was built by Crotch.

OCTOBER.

4.—A grand Musical Festival was held in Norwich, under the direction of Messrs. Beckwith and Sharp, and Mr. Ashley, of London, Mrs. Billington, Mr. Bartleman, and Mr. Braham were the principal artistes.  The last performance was given on the 7th.

8.—The Princess of Wales concluded a visit to the Marquis and Marchioness Townshend at Rainham, and returned to Blackheath.

13.—Mr. Alderman Francis Columbine resigned his seat.  Owing to his pecuniary distress, the Corporation of Norwich granted to him and his daughter an annuity of £100.

14.—Races were held at Blickling Park.  Lady Caroline Harbord gave a ball and supper, attended by upwards of 100 guests from Aylsham and the neighbourhood.

18.—Three gentlemen, for a considerable wager, undertook to walk blindfolded from Post Office Court to the great doors of St. Peter Mancroft Church, Norwich, in 15 minutes.  “Two of them performed it in less than the given time, much to the satisfaction of the spectators, but the other unfortunate gentleman bent his course rapidly for the Upper Market, and found himself at the expiration of the time at the great doors of St. Andrew’s Hall.”

21.—Mr. Edward Rigby was elected Alderman of the Great Northern Ward, in room of Mr. Francis Columbine, after a severe contest lasting two days.  His opponent was Mr. Jonathan Davey.

23.—Died, at Vienna, aged 80, General Jerningham, nephew of Sir George Jerningham, Bart., of Costessey.  He was upwards of 50 years p. 17in the Imperial service, and was Chamberlin to the Empress Maria Theresa and to the Emperors Joseph, Leopold, and Francis.

NOVEMBER.

8.—Swaffham coursing meeting commenced.

25.—Mr. Welby, of Blickling, undertook, for a bet of 50 guineas, to ride his mare 90 miles on the Aylsham road in ten hours, all paces.  “She performed the first 80 miles in 8 hours 25 minutes, and had an hour and thirty-five minutes to run the last ten miles, but was unable to accomplish it, to the great disappointment of those who bet three and four to one that the mare performed the journey.”

1803.

FEBRUARY.

8.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, a committee was appointed to prepare a Bill to be laid before a future meeting for the better paving, lighting, watching, and cleansing of the city.  A meeting was held on the 15th, at which resolutions were passed in opposition to the proposal; and in the month of March it was announced that the Paving Committee deemed it advisable in the then state of public affairs to defer going to Parliament with their Bill until the next Session.

—Died, after having lived in three centuries, Mary Helsdon, of East Ruston, widow.  “Her age was 105 years 11 months; she retained her faculties till about a year before her death, and she left a progeny of near 80 persons, including children, grandchildren, great grandchildren, and great-great grandchildren.”

12.*—“Mr. Coke, of Holkham, let out his Southdown tups last season for £1,500.”

—Nearly 100 pairs of shoes, the property of 20 different persons who had been fined for making them contrary to Act of Parliament, were publicly burnt in Norwich Market Place.  One shoemaker, for refusing to allow the searchers to perform their duty, was fined the full penalty of £5.  The tradespeople, after obtaining counsel’s opinion, gave notice that actions for trespass would be taken against searchers and sealers of leather if they entered their premises.  On March 7th two shoemakers were fined for offering resistence.

23.—Died, Mr. Wignell, manager of the Philadelphia Theatre.  He married, a short time before his death, Mrs. Merry, formerly Miss Brunton, of Norwich Theatre.

24.—Died, at Coltishall, Mr. Bartlett Gurney, banker, of Norwich, aged 46.  He left £500 to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

p. 18MARCH.

5.*—“Mr. Stephen Martin, an old gentleman who lately died at Brentwood, bequeathed to the minister and churchwardens of St. Giles’, Norwich, the sum of £1,000 Stock in the three per cent. Consols, to be laid out for the use and benefit of the poor of that parish, of which he was a native.  He was born in 1717, and when an infant was taken to Jamaica, where he amassed a fortune.”

7.—At an assembly of the Corporation of Norwich an address of congratulation was ordered to be presented to his Majesty “on the providential discovery of the late traitorous conspiracy against his Royal person and Government, entered into by Col. Despard and six other persons, who were executed on the top of the new Surrey prison, in Horsemonger Lane, on February 21st.”  The address was presented to the King by the Mayor (Sir Roger Kerrison), accompanied by Mr. Robert Fellowes, M.P., and Alderman John Harvey.  Similar addresses were voted by the Corporations of Yarmouth, Thetford, and Lynn; and by the High Sheriff and Grand Jury of Norfolk at the Assizes at Thetford.  The latter address was presented by Sir J. H. Astley, M.P., and Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., on March 30th.

11.—Died, aged 73, Mr. Thomas Twiddy, “who had been many years trumpet herald to the Norwich Company of Comedians.”

14.—Died, Mrs. Parfrey, aged 80, wife of Mr. R. Parfrey, of Holme Hale, near Swaffham.  “The public will best recollect her, as a doctress, by her former name of Fyson, and for the many cures she made in dropsy and other complaints.”

15.—At a meeting held at St. Andrew’s Hall the late members of the Norwich Loyal Military Association, in consequence of the aspect of public affairs, offered their services to the Government.

19.*—“Two pairs of eagles were lately shot near Yarmouth.  One pair measured and weighed as follows:—Female, length, 3 feet 4 inches; extent of wings, 8 feet; weight, 9¾ lbs.  Male, length, 2 feet 9 inches; extent of wings, 7 feet 1 inch; weight, 9¼ lbs.  Seventeen wild swans have also been shot by one man in the week.”

21.—The Militia Regiments in the county this day assembled at Yarmouth, East Dereham, and Swaffham.

22.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Grose and a special jury, the case, Astley v. Harwood, was tried.  This was an action for defamation.  It was alleged that the defendant, at a ball held on July 6th, 1802, the day after the Norwich election, mounted a table, and, addressing the company, called the plaintiff a liar, a coward, an assassin, a scoundrel, and a murderer, “for he had murdered his father.”  The jury found a verdict for the plaintiff, and assessed the damages at £2,000.  On June 11th the Court of King’s Bench granted a new trial, on the ground that the impression the words made on the hearers was matter for aggravation or mitigation of damages.  The new trial took place at Norwich Assizes in August, 1803, when a special jury confirmed the former verdict, and awarded Sir Jacob Astley £2,000 damages.  On December 3rd, it was announced that the case had been removed to the Court of Exchequer on writ of error.  In June, 1804, the judges in the Exchequer Chamber unanimously confirmed the former verdict, and p. 19gave judgment, with costs, against Col. Harwood.  Finally, on July 19th, 1804, the case was taken to the House of Lords, when the Lord Chancellor delivered his opinion in favour of Sir Jacob Astley, which was confirmed by the Lords, who ordered Col. Harwood to pay Sir Jacob £100 costs, occasioned by the writ of error.

The portrait of Capt. John Harvey, of the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers, painted by Opie at the request of the corps, was this month placed in St. Andrew’s Hall.

APRIL.

9.—Henry Ford was executed at Thetford, for stealing a silver watch, coat, and jacket from the person of Thomas Aylmer, of Pentney.

16.—A county meeting held at the Shirehall, Norwich, when an address of congratulation to his Majesty, on has escape “from the late traitorous conspiracy,” was moved by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, seconded by Sir Roger Kerrison, and unanimously adopted.

26.—A rowing match took place between two crews, manning respectively two well-known Norwich boats, the Lion and the Dove.  It was the only contest of the kind that had been witnessed in Norwich for nearly a quarter of a century.  The course was from Carrow Abbey “to a signal post standing in Whitlingham reach, and return to Carrow, a distance of four miles.”  In consequence of the narrowness of the stream, “the boats started about 300 yards distant from each other, the first having to go to the place whence the last set off.”  The Lion won by about 80 yards in 38 minutes 40 seconds.  (The number of oars not mentioned.)

27.—A public dispensary was established in Norwich.  “The committee propose to recommend to the general meeting an extension of the original plan, and to connect with it inoculation for the cow-pox.”

MAY.

3.—Mr. William Firth was elected Steward of the Corporation of Norwich.

—The Norwich Loyal Military Association was re-established, and 300 men entered to serve therein.

5.—An impressment took place at Yarmouth.

7.*—“Lately, was married at Ranworth, Wm. Brown, aged 80, to Elizabeth Gunton, aged 63.  The bridegroom had had three wives, the bride three husbands, and the bridegroom’s daughter, who attended this wedding, had also had three husbands.”

14.—The friends of the Right Hon. Wm. Windham celebrated his birthday by dining at the White Swan, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.

15.—Found dead in his bed, Edward Baldwin, of Wereham, near Stoke Ferry.  He was a glover, aged 89, “commonly reputed ‘the Almanack’ of that neighbourhood, as he was remarkable for many years past for being a true prognosticator of the weather.”

16.—An embargo was laid on all the shipping in Yarmouth Roads.

p. 2018.—The Mayor of Norwich, attended by the two Sheriffs, the city officers, and citizens, proceeded on horseback, at nine o’clock, with band playing and colours flying, from the Guildhall, to visit the boundaries of the city and county of the city of Norwich.  The cavalcade went from Conesford Gate to Trowse “Eye,” thence to Trowse, Lakenham, Hartford Bridge, Eaton, Earlham, Hellesdon, Mile Cross, Catton Field (“including Sir Edward Berry’s house”), across Mousehold Heath to Thorpe, Trowse Newton Hall, and Bishop’s Bridge.  The company then returned to the Market Place, where three cheers were given and the band played “God Save the King.”  In the evening, the Mayor dined with a large party at the King’s Head.  (A similar perambulation took place in 1793.)

30.—Died, at Hardingham, aged 64, Sir Archibald Dickson, Admiral of the Blue.

31.—Thomas H. Case, of Great Fransham, formerly a private in the East Dereham or Second Troop of Yeomanry Cavalry, was charged before the Rev. Dixon Hoste with “obstinately refusing to deliver up his arms, accoutrements, and clothing,” for which he was fined £10.

—A two days’ race meeting commenced at Tivetshall.  “The poney races afforded excellent sport, and there was some good running between the hunters.”

JUNE.

4.*—“This week the West Norfolk Militia marched from Thetford and Dereham to Colchester Barracks, to which place the East Norfolk have received orders to march next week.”

13.—The Duke of Cambridge and suite arrived in Norwich from Yarmouth.  After changing horses and taking refreshment at the Maid’s Head, they proceeded on their way to London, by Attleborough.  His Royal Highness had come to Yarmouth in the Amethyst frigate, with Prince William of Gloucester, from Cuxhaven, where they narrowly escaped being made prisoners by the advance guard of the French army.  The French general in Holland put an immense number of fishing boats in requisition for the avowed purpose of invading England.

—The Aldermen requested the concurrence of the Common Council of Norwich to a dutiful and loyal address to his Majesty “on the present important crisis,” and a motion was made for the appointment of a committee to draw up such address.  It was opposed by several members of the Common Council, and on a division rejected by 29 votes to 19.

21.—Mr. John Patteson was appointed to be lieutenant-colonel, Mr. Charles Harvey, major, and Messrs. Andrew Sieley, J. H. Cole, R. Partridge, and Hammond Fiske, captains in the battalion of Norwich Volunteers.

This month a ballot took place for the Supplementary Militia.  Under the Army of Reserve Act, Norfolk (including Norwich) raised 927 men.

p. 21JULY.

9.—At a meeting of the deputy-lieutenants and magistrates of the county, presided over by the Marquis Townshend, the plan recommended by the Government, for establishing a system of communication throughout the county and for rendering the body of the people instrumental in the general defence and preservation of property in case of invasion, was approved and adopted.  The county was formed into 13 divisions, consisting of a certain number of hundreds; each division was placed under the charge of lieutenants of divisions, nominated by the Lord Lieutenant; each hundred was under a magistrate, known as an Inspector of the Hundred; and each parish under some gentleman, clergyman, or principal farmer, termed Superintendent of the Parish.

13.—On this day and on the 14th, William Green, bricklayer, undertook at Yarmouth, for a bet of five guineas, to lay 3,800 bricks in a workmanlike manner in 24 hours, and completed his task in 20 hours, on a new building at the Bowling Green House.

23.—Two men, named Denny and Allen, were placed in the pillory at Norwich, in accordance with sentence passed upon them at the Quarter Sessions on July 15th, for conspiracy against Mr. F. Latham.  “Over their heads was the inscription, ‘False Conspirators.’  Allen wept bitterly when he was put in, but Denny, with great effrontery, continued to nod and smile at the numerous spectators, until the people, by a shower of rotten eggs, and, at last, potatoes, convinced him of their detestation and abhorrence of his character and crime.  This continued for about half-an-hour, when Denny, against whom all their violence was directed, appeared to faint, and by the advice of a medical man was taken out of the pillory and conducted to the gaol, where, being examined by several medical men, he was deemed to be in a fit state to be replaced on the pillory, and was carried back for that purpose, but all efforts to reinstate him there proved ineffectual, and he lay thereon till the hour was expired, amidst the execrations of the enraged multitude.  When Denny was taken out the populace clamorously demanded that Allen, whose appearance excited their commiseration rather than their indignation, should be taken down.  Mr. Sheriff Back immediately ascended the scaffold, and with the greatest firmness and severity expressed his determination to enforce obedience to the laws and to carry the sentence fully into execution.  When the hour was expired they were taken down and removed to the Bridewell to undergo two years’ imprisonment.”

23.*—“All persons arrived from France and Holland and witnessed the immense preparations which are now making for the invasion of this country, express astonishment at the apathy and indifference which prevail here.”

24.—This day (Sunday) the Norfolk Rangers (Yeomanry Cavalry) had a field day at Rainham Park, and subscribed £100 towards the fund instituted by the merchants of London for the relief of persons “who may suffer in the general defence of the country.”

30.*—“At a Court of the Commissioners of Sewers, concerning the repairing of sea breaches between Happisburgh and Yarmouth, the jury, after hearing read three several verdicts of former juries given p. 22in 1702, 1715, and 1742, and also, hearing several witnesses, delivered a verdict agreeable to the above, by all of which it was determined that no particular persons were bound to sustain or repair the sea walls adjoining their lands.”

—*“The male part of the Norwich Company (theatrical) have agreed to enroll themselves to learn the use of arms.”

—*“Messrs. Marsh and Sons, Norwich and Cambridge carriers, have within the last few days offered, for the service of the Government in case of invasion, 100 horses, 12 broad-wheel waggons, 24 men as drivers and assistants, 24 boats, amounting altogether to 200 tons burden, 6 watermen, and 9 boys, with blacksmiths, with their apparatus, tools, &c., and 2 wheelwrights, and 2 harness makers, with all necessary tools.”

—Major-General Money published an address on the necessity of immediately associating, subscribing, and arming for the defence of the county in case of invasion.  It resulted in the formation of Volunteer corps in all the seaports and market towns in Norfolk.

Capt. John Harvey was this month promoted to be major of the squadron of Norwich Light Horse Volunteers.

During this month the number of poor in the Norwich Workhouse did not exceed 400, “a circumstance almost unprecedented.”

AUGUST.

6.*—“The Rev. Mr. Beloe, formerly of this city, has been appointed librarian to the British Museum.”

9.—A brig was launched from Cattermoul’s yard at Thorpe, near Norwich, in the presence of many hundreds of spectators.  “She went off the stocks in very fine style, but when she was towing ashore for the company on board to get off her, everyone endeavouring to get ashore first, the weight of such a body of people, added to those on the rigging, overset her.  Nearly one hundred men, women, and children were plunged into the water, and messengers were at once sent to Norwich for medical assistance.”  It is somewhat remarkable that no lives were lost.

20.—The case of Mr. Cony, a ward in Chancery, came before the Court of Chancery.  He was only 17 years of age, and had married Elizabeth Franklin, the daughter of an innkeeper at Downham Market, in which district he possessed a large property.  The marriage took place by licence in London.  The Chancellor annulled the marriage, ordering the cessation of all further intercourse between the parties, at the same time intimating that, if his orders were not strictly complied with, “he should take such steps as would prevent the possibility of their meeting.”

25.—Mr. George Wyer, of Downham Market, “carried a 20 stone sack of flour one mile, leading through the town of Watton, for a wager of 230 guineas, which he performed with great ease in 18 minutes, to the astonishment of a vast number of spectators.”

Active preparations commenced for the defence of the county in view of possible invasion.  On the 8th several officers and non-commissioned officers of the 47th Regiment of Foot arrived in Norwich p. 23to receive the balloted men and substitutes of the Army of Reserve, the training of whom commenced next day in Chapel Field.  A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, on the 10th, when resolutions were passed, assuring his Majesty of the readiness of the county to take defensive measures.  A meeting of the inhabitants of Norwich was held at the Guildhall on the 16th, at which a subscription was opened for raising a regiment of Volunteer Infantry.  Clerks attended in the porch of the Guildhall to enroll the names of the Volunteers, and the city flag was displayed from the window of the Town Clerk’s office.  On the following day 702 men had offered themselves, and by Saturday, the 20th, the number had increased to 1,085, and the public subscription exceeded £3,000, of which £500 was given by the Corporation.  On the 26th the regiment was formed, 800 strong, under Lieut.-Col. Harvey (commanding), Lieut.-Col. Plumptre, and Major Sigismund Trafford.  The public subscription then amounted to £6,400.  A Rifle Corps was also formed, with Mr. R. M. Bacon as captain.  At Yarmouth, 500 persons enrolled themselves, under the command of Lieut.-Col. Wm. Gould.  On the 27th, it was announced that the number of Volunteers in the county enabled the Lord Lieutenant to suspend the compulsory clauses of the Defence Act.  The total number was about 7,300.  The Government purchased some properties in Norwich to be converted into temporary barracks for the reception of 800 infantry.

SEPTEMBER.

1.—The first parade of the Norwich Regiment of Volunteer Infantry took place.  Eight battalion companies, a light infantry company, and a grenadier company were formed, and “from five barrels of British brown stout they drank the King’s health and prosperity to their country and city, and success to the corps.”

7.—The brass ordnance belonging to the city were tested by some of the regular artillery stationed in Norwich.  Four of the guns burst, and appended to the account delivered to the Corporation was the intimation:—“It is customary for the corporal to have the old metal when any of the pieces burst.”  The official reply was to the effect that the Corporation were of opinion that the corporal “did not want brass.”  The iron nine-pounders stood the test.  The brass gun used by Kett in 1549 was preserved as a relic.

22.—The Norwich Volunteers, commanded by Lieut.-Col. Patteson, entered the Market Place, and after marching round the Hall and saluting the Corporation, had their colours presented to them by the Mayor.  The men were afterwards regaled at Neeche’s Gardens, and the officers dined at the King’s Head.

24*—“Telegraphs, signal flags, or tar barrels are being stationed on all the churches and lofty edifices on the coast, in order to give in a chain of communication the earliest intelligence, either by night or day, of the event of the enemy’s landing.”

29.—A trial was made on the Castle ditches, Norwich, of carriages constructed for the conveyance of troops.  A wooden frame, serving as a seat, was affixed to the skeleton of a four-wheel cart.  A board p. 24for the feet was attached to it by ropes.  The vehicle was capable of conveying 17 men.

OCTOBER.

6.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions various resolutions were adopted and transmitted to the Government regarding the defence of the county.  The principal resolution was as follows:—“An object of most essential concern, which this meeting think it incumbent upon them to point out, is the town and port of Yarmouth, the infinite importance of which as the principal and almost only naval station in the North Sea, and the circumstances of which they do not wish to detail, but which, they conceive, require the immediate attention of the Government, in order that they may be rendered as secure against attack likely to be made upon it by land as by the presence of a fleet, it is, they presume, against any attempt by sea.”

15.—At a parade of the Norwich Volunteers this day (Sunday) a letter was read from the Lord Lieutenant, asking if they would undertake to perform permanent duty at Yarmouth.  A unanimous reply was given in the affirmative, and “the officers and gentlemen of the Light Horse Volunteers laid their hands on their breasts, as an appeal to their honour to undertake the duty whenever they should be required.”  Shortly afterwards the commanding officers received instructions to have their corps in a perfect state of military equipment, and be prepared to march at a moment’s notice.

18.—The Artillery, Shropshire Militia, and the Volunteer Corps (horse and foot) took part in a sham fight on Bramerton Common.  General Milner, the inspecting officer, commended all arms for their steadiness on parade.

19.—A general fast was observed.  The Bishop of Norwich preached at the Cathedral, and the military attended service in the evening.

22.—Died, at Norwich, Mr. Elias Norgate, aged 76.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1781, and of Mayor in 1785, and was a surgeon of great local eminence.

26.—The Lord Lieutenant transmitted to the justices of the peace his Majesty’s proclamation for establishing certain regulations under the Act, respecting aliens arriving in the kingdom or resident therein.

The monument to the memory of the Poet Cowper and of his friend, Mrs. Unwin, in the church of St. Nicholas, East Dereham, was erected this month.

NOVEMBER.

5.—Bonfires were prohibited in city and county, “as they might cause a false alarm.”

8.—The battalion of Norwich Volunteers, commanded by Lieut.-Col. Patteson, paraded in the Market Place at seven a.m., and, amid the ringing of St. Peter Mancroft bells, started on their march to Yarmouth for the performance of garrison duty.  The battalion p. 25halted at Acle, and, on resuming their march, reached Yarmouth at four o’clock.  The rank and file numbered 280, out of an establishment of 312, and two officers only were absent.  On the same day two troops of the Norfolk Rangers, headed by the Marquis Townshend and commanded by Capt. Sir M. B. ffolkes, Bart., and Capt. Beauchamp, entered Norwich on their way to Yarmouth.  There were seven officers, two quartermasters, seven sergeants, two trumpeters, and 94 privates.  The officers dined in the evening with Sir Roger Kerrison, and on the following morning the squadron resumed its march.

9.—The Fakenham Volunteers, Capt. P. M. Case, marched into Norwich from Aylsham.  There were four officers, seven sergeants, four drummers, and 80 privates.  This was the first Volunteer corps in Norfolk to volunteer for garrison duty at Yarmouth.

16.—The Norfolk Rangers arrived at Norwich on the termination of their duty at Yarmouth, and on the next day proceeded to their homes.

22.—The Norwich Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, under Lieut.-Col. Harvey, paraded on Tombland and marched to Yarmouth for garrison duly.  On the same day Col. Patteson’s battalion marched in.  They were preceded by the Fakenham corps, whose headquarters were at the White Swan.

30.—The troops stationed at Yarmouth were reviewed upon the Denes by General Milner.

—At the annual meeting of the Society of Universal Good Will, Norwich (formerly the Scots Society), it was reported that since its establishment in 1775 it had relieved 1,813 persons.

—The Lord Lieutenant received a circular letter from the Government, relative to the appointment of such householders to act as special constables who were not enrolled in any Volunteer corps.

—Mr. Thomas Wm. Coke was gazetted captain of the Holkham Yeomanry Cavalry.

—Alderman John Herring, of Norwich, received from the Duke of York a letter, in which his Royal Highness expressed approbation of the readiness with which the Norwich Volunteers had undertaken to do garrison duty at Yarmouth.

DECEMBER.

1.—Died, in Norwich, aged 43, Mr. James Burkin Burroughes, captain of the Blofield and South Walsham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry.  His remains were interred, with military honours, at Burlingham on December 6th.

—The squadron of Norwich Light Horse, Major John Harvey, marched to Yarmouth, to relieve the Tunstead and Happing troop.

6.—Col. Harvey’s battalion returned to Norwich from Yarmouth.  In the Regimental Orders, Col. Harvey referred to the steady and orderly march on the road, to the loyal discharge of duty at Yarmouth, and to the kindness with which the people of that town treated the men while in quarters.

p. 2615.—The Lynn and Freebridge Yeomanry Cavalry, with the artillery and rifle corps, commanded by Major Taylor, marched through Norwich for Yarmouth, to relieve the South Erpingham troop in garrison duty.

20.—The North Walsham Volunteers marched from that town at four o’clock in the morning, and arrived at Yarmouth at one o’clock, “without leaving a single man behind, although the roads were extremely bad, and the distance 26 miles.”

22.—The Dereham and Swaffham troops of Yeomanry Cavalry (Capts. Crisp and Johnson) marched through Norwich to Yarmouth, to relieve the Lynn and Freebridge troops.  The Diss (Capt. Woodward), Wells (Capt. Bloom), and Old Buckenham (Capt. Powell) companies of infantry marched into Yarmouth for a fortnight’s garrison duty.

25.—This day (Sunday) the Norwich Rifle Corps paraded at St. Andrew’s Hall, took the oath of allegiance, and attended service at the church of St. Peter Mancroft.  (The uniform and appointments of this corps consisted of a dark green jacket, with lace of the same colour, pantaloons, and short black gaiters; hussar cap, with green feather and trimmings; a rifle-carbine, sword bayonet attached to the side by a black waist belt, and a ball pouch and powder horn slung from the left shoulder.)

—At a church parade of the Lynn Sea Fencibles, Capt. Bentinck, the commanding officer, presented to the corps “a most elegant banner,” worked by Viscountess Andover, daughter of Mr. Coke, M.P.

30.—The Hingham troop (Capt. Alpe) and the Wymondham troop (Capt. the Hon. Wm. Wodehouse) marched to Yarmouth, to relieve the Dereham and Swaffham troops.

31.—The Dereham troop, which left Yarmouth on the 30th, arrived at Dereham, and was welcomed by a great concourse of the inhabitants.  The church bells were rung, and the officers and many members of the troop dined in the evening at the King’s Arms Inn.

The twenty-two troops of Yeomanry Cavalry in the county were this month formed into three regiments.  The Marquis Townshend was appointed colonel of the Western Regiment; Major-General Money, colonel of the Eastern Regiment; and Col. (afterwards Brigadier-General) Bulwer, colonel of the Midland (or Mid Norfolk) Regiment.

31.—Polito’s wild beasts were exhibited in the yard at the Duke’s Palace, Norwich.

1804.

JANUARY.

3.—The Old Buckenham Volunteers marched into Norwich from Yarmouth, and next day proceeded to their homes.  The corps numbered 5 officers and 125 non-commissioned officers and privates.

p. 27—Capt. Dickens, of the Shropshire Militia, “undertook for a considerable wager to walk from the Angel at Yarmouth to the Angel at Norwich and back again (47 miles) in twelve hours, which he performed with apparent ease in eleven hours and a half.”

7.—Died, at Colchester, aged 65, Sir William Gordon, Bart., captain in the West Norfolk Militia, and for many years a resident in Norwich.

12.—A meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, as to the depressed state of the corn trade.  It was resolved to petition Parliament on the subject.  (The prices quoted at this date were:—Wheat, 14s. to 26s.; barley, 9s. 6d. to 10s.; oats, 9s. 6d. to 10s. 6d. per coomb.)

13.—The Wymondham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry, commanded by Capt. the Hon. Wm. Wodehouse, attended at Kimberley and “thanked Lady Wodehouse for the colours lately presented by her ladyship, when they had the honour of dining with the family.”

14.—The colours of the Norwich Juvenile Regiment of Infantry were presented to them by “a young lady of the city.”  (This was a cadet corps, armed with dummy muskets and tin bayonets.)

14.*—(Advt.)  “The Norwich and Yarmouth Volunteer Coach leaves the Bell Inn, Hog Hill, every morning at eight o’clock, to the Wrestlers Inn, Great Yarmouth, and returns at four o’clock.”

18.—The City of Norwich Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, Lieut.-Col. Harvey, were presented with colours by the Mayor and Corporation.  The colours were consecrated by the Rev. E. S. Thurlow, Prebendary of Norwich, and handed to the colonel by the Mayor (Mr. John Morse); and the King’s and regimental standards were delivered to the ensigns.  The artillery, on Castle Hill, fired salutes, and the regiment discharged three volleys in the Market Place in the presence of an immense crowd.

22.—This day (Sunday) John Baker, a private in the Loddon Volunteers, was dismissed, “with every mark of ignominy at the head of the company, for refusing to take the oath of allegiance to his Majesty.  His arms and accoutrements, together with the Volunteer clothing, were stripped off on parade, much to the satisfaction of the whole corps.”

31.—A baker of Norwich, named Winter, undertook, for a wager of £40, to carry 6s. worth of bread in a basket from Norwich to Yarmouth within six hours.  He accomplished his task in 5 hours 35 minutes.

Mr. T. W. Coke was this month promoted to be lieutenant-colonel of the Western Regiment of Yeomanry Cavalry; Mr. Hammond Alpe to be lieutenant-colonel of the Eastern Regiment; and Mr. John Smyth to be lieutenant-colonel of the Midland Regiment.

The several companies of Norfolk Volunteer Infantry were this month formed into battalions as follow:—1st (Lynn), Lieut.-Col. E. Everard; 2nd (Wells, &c.), Lieut.-Col. Francis Bedingfeld; 3rd (not then appointed); 4th (Cromer, &c.), Lieut.-Col. the Right Hon. Wm. Windham; 5th (Aylsham, &c.), Lieut.-Col. Thomas Hutton (afterwards Sir Thomas Preston, Bart.); 6th (Yarmouth), Lieut.-Col. Wm Gould; 7th (Norwich), Lieut.-Col. Harvey; 8th (Loddon, &c.), Lieut.-Col. p. 28John Kerrich; 9th (Diss, &c.), Lieut.-Col. T. J. Woodward; 10th (Swaffham, &c.), Lieut.-Col. R. W. Ottley; 11th (Freebridge Lynn, &c.), Lieut.-Col. A. Hamond.

300 pikes were sent to Norwich for the use of the special constables, who were called out to receive instruction in the pike exercise.

Flag staffs were placed at Rainham Hall, Holkham Hall, and Houghton Hall.  The red flag was only to be hoisted in case of actual invasion or on the appearance of an enemy on the coast.

The ladies of Lynn inaugurated a movement for making flannel underclothing for the use of the men of the Lynn Volunteers.

FEBRUARY.

4.—The Cromer Sea Fencibles were practising with canister and grape shot upon the beach, when a ball struck Capt. Tremlett, R.N., on the foot, and shattered the leg of Mr. John Smith, so as to render immediate amputation necessary.  A public subscription, amounting to £500, was made for Mr. Smith.

21.—Died, at Long Stratton, Mrs. Everitt, a Quaker, who had attained her one hundredth year.  Lineally descended from her and living at the time were 77 children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren.

27.—Colours were presented to the East Dereham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry by Mrs. Smyth, on behalf of the ladies of the town and neighbourhood.  The troop, accompanied by Capt. Leeder’s corps of infantry, attended service at the parish church, where the colours were “consecrated by prayer,” and the sermon was preached by the Rev. Geo. Preston, curate.  A dinner followed at the King’s Arms Inn.

The Corporation of Norwich this month ordered an iron bridge to be erected at St. Michael’s Coslany.  It was opened on November 15th.

MARCH.

1.—The birthday of the Marquis Townshend was celebrated at Fakenham by a dinner to the Norfolk Rangers.

27.—Lieut.-General Sir James Craig inspected the batteries and works from Holt to Cromer.  Next day he reviewed, near Norwich, the 24th Regiment of Foot (Col. Macdonald); the detachment of Royal Artillery under Capt. Fyers; and two troops of the 1st Dragoons (Capt. Craven).

APRIL.

4.—Arrived at Yarmouth, the Antelope, cruiser brig, Commodore Sir Sidney Smith, and the Prince of Wales cutter, from the Flushing station.  Some boats sent out by Sir Sidney made an unsuccessful attempt to cut out an armed brig near the Scaw.  The boats were p. 29attacked by an armed schooner, and obliged to abandon their enterprise, with the loss of five killed and ten wounded.

10.—Died, aged 12, Lord Viscount Bury, eldest son of the Earl of Albemarle.

11.—Commodore Sir Sidney Smith arrived at Norwich from Yarmouth, proceeded next day on a tour of the county, and returned to Yarmouth on the 13th.

21.—James Airton was publicly whipped in Norwich Market Place for stealing a box coat from the coach-house of Mr. Wm. Harvey.

25.—The Scipio of North Shields, Capt. Robinson, coal laden, was attacked by a sloop-rigged privateer four miles from Cromer.  A sharp action, lasting three quarters of an hour, ensued, when the privateer sheered off.  Capt. Robinson was wounded in the foot by a musket ball, and the vessel, whose sails and rigging were very much cut, was taken by the crew to Yarmouth Roads, where medical assistance was rendered to Capt. Robinson on board the Irresistible.

The portrait, painted by Hoppner, of the Right Hon. William Windham was this month placed in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.  It was afterwards engraved in mezzotinto by Reynolds.

MAY.

2.—The gibbet on which the body of Payne (the pirate) was hung in chains, about 23 years previously, upon Yarmouth North Denes, was taken down by order of the Corporation.  “A ludicrous circumstance happened the night it was erected.  The different tackling being all adjusted previous to putting down the gibbet the day before Payne was hanged, some daring licencious bloods hoisted up a young ass by the hind legs, to the amusement of the spectators next morning, who could not but be surprised to find the gibbet so unexpectedly occupied.  In consequence, however, the tackling became so entangled that until a young sailor undertook to climb the gibbet the prisoner could not be suspended.”

3.—The 2nd Battalion Norfolk Volunteer Infantry marched into Yarmouth for a fortnight’s permanent duty.

—A party of the Shropshire Militia marched into Norwich from Yarmouth with 84 French and Dutch prisoners, including five officers.  The next day they proceeded on their route for Yaxley Barracks, under an escort provided by the 24th Regiment of Foot.

—An assembly of the Corporation of Norwich unanimously requested Mr. Charles Harvey, Recorder of the city, to sit for his portrait.

5.*—(Advt.)  “There will be a regular main of cocks fought between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Norfolk, to show 21 mains for ten guineas the battle, and 50 the odd.  The three turn outs for ten guineas a battle; to fight on the 23rd and 24th days of May at Mrs. Back’s, at the Bowling Green, Chapel Field.  A pair of cocks to be pitted at six o’clock precisely.  Feeders, Lamb for Norwich; Cox for Norfolk.”

7.—Col. Patteson’s Battalion of Volunteers (with the Riffle Corps attached), commanded by Capt. Cole; and the City of Norwich p. 30Regiment of Volunteer Infantry were brigaded under the command of Lieut.-Col. Harvey, and, with the Royal Artillery under Capt. Fyers, were manœuvred at Hellesdon.

13.—Died, aged 76, the Rev. John Bruckner.  He was invited to Norwich in 1750 as minister of the Walloon congregation, and during many years gave public and private lessons in French.

—The 10th Battalion Norfolk Volunteer Infantry marched into Lynn for ten days’ permanent duty.

14.—The birthday of the Right Hon. Wm Windham was celebrated by a numerous party of his friends at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

—The 1st Battalion of Norfolk Volunteer Infantry marched to Yarmouth for 14 days’ permanent duty.

21.—The 3rd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry marched into Norwich for five days’ drill, and on the 24th were inspected by Major-General Milner at Hellesdon.

22.—The Blickling and Gunton Riflemen, commanded by the Hon. Lieut.-Col. Harbord, marched into Norwich, and next day proceeded to Yarmouth for 14 days’ permanent duty.

24.—A tight rope performer, named Richer, appeared at Norwich Theatre, where his performances were “the theme of general admiration.”

25.—A general fast was observed.  At Yarmouth, the Shropshire Militia and Volunteers on permanent duty, to the number of nearly 2,500, attended Divine service.

26.—The Helena war sloop, of 20 guns, Capt. Losack, was launched from Mr. John Preston’s dockyard at Yarmouth.

—The North Walsham Light Infantry marched into Yarmouth for 14 days’ permanent duty.

—The 7th Battalion of the Army of Reserve, to which 500 Norfolk and Suffolk men belonged, volunteered to extend their services and become a regiment of the line.

JUNE.

1.—The City of Norwich Battalion of Volunteer Infantry, under the command of Lieut.-Col. Harvey, began one month’s permanent duty in Norwich.  The battalion mustered 500, exclusive of officers.

4.—The King’s birthday was celebrated in Norwich.  The detachment of Royal Artillery, the 24th Regiment of Foot, and the Norwich and Catton Volunteers, to the total number of 1,700, paraded on the Castle Hill, and fired a feu de joie.  At Cromer, the Sea Fencibles, under Capt. Tremlett, R.N., three companies of the 4th Battalion Norfolk Volunteers, commanded by Lieut.-Col. George Windham, and the Volunteers of the Cromer battery had a sham fight at that place.  Other Volunteer corps in the county held ceremonial parades.

7.—The water mills of Mr. Wm. Partridge, of North Walsham, were destroyed by fire.

11.—A sham fight, in which all the regular and auxiliary troops stationed in Norwich were engaged, took place at Bramerton.  A p. 31pontoon bridge, formed of wherries, was made use of in the course of the operations.

18.—The Corporation of Norwich granted the Blackfriars’ site in St. Andrew’s to the Court of Guardians for 200 years, the latter body having considered plans for improving the workhouse there for the accommodation of 800 persons.

—A motion by the Common Council of Norwich, to confer the freedom of the city upon Mr. R. Fellowes, M.P., and Mr. W. Smith, M.P., was, on a division, rejected by the aldermen by ten votes to eight.

—A motion was made in the Common Council to augment the sum of £100, allowed to the Mayor towards defraying the expenses of the Guild-day festival, but, as the revenue of Norwich did not justify the increase, it was not acceded to by the aldermen.  The allowance of £100 was fixed 80 years previously.

25.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  “Mr. Coke won the sweepstakes, having estimated with more exactness than any of his competitors the weight both of wool and of carcase of the Southdown ewe slain on the occasion.”  A drill for “scattering at the same time turnip seed and the dust of pounded oil cakes, believed to be the best adapted manure,” was exhibited.

30.—Several “battles” were fought on Yarmouth Denes by the soldiers of the Shropshire Regiment.  In an encounter between a private and an officer’s servant, the former received injuries from which he died three hours after, and at the inquest a verdict of manslaughter was returned against his assailant.

Major-General Money was appointed to the staff of the Eastern District.  The command consisted of 32,000 fully equipped and efficient men.

Under Mr. Pitt’s Defence Bill the quota for Norfolk was 1,813 men.

JULY.

1.—The City of Norwich Battalion of Volunteer Infantry terminated its permanent duty of 30 days.  All ranks received the highest commendation of Major-General Milner and Lieut.-Col. Metzner.

3.—The malt kiln, with a granary and dwelling-house, at the new brewery of Messrs. Prentice and Co., King Street, Norwich, was destroyed by fire.  The loss amounted to nearly £1,000.

5.—The East Harling magistrates fined a farmer 20s., for refusing to send his waggon to assist in taking the baggage of the East Suffolk Militia from Thetford to Downham, after having been summoned for that purpose.

6.—Mrs. Bennett, wife of an actor in the Norwich company, gave birth to triplets.

—A foot race was run by Lord Frederick Bentinck and the Hon. Edward Harbord for the sum of 100 guineas, between the second and third milestone on the Edgeware Road, London.  Mr. Harbord won easily.

p. 3212.—Died, aged 82, at Walsingham Abbey, Mr. Henry Lee Warner, “in whom the gentleman and scholar were happily blended.”  His fine estate at Walsingham was devastated by lawless persons, whom, from mistaken leniency, he would not molest.  He rose late in the evening, breakfasted at midnight, and dined at four or five o’clock in the morning.  He wore a gold-laced hat, and waistcoat, with deep slashworked sleeves and richly-embossed buttons, a deep chitterling of rich yellow lace, and curved-toed shoes, with oblong buckles.  Mr. Lee Warner served the office of High Sheriff in 1782, and was lineally descended from John Warner, Bishop of Rochester, whose estates he possessed, as well as those of Sir James Howe, Bart., of Berwick, Wilts., and of Mr. Henry Lee, in Kent.

14.—Messrs. Fisher and Scragg’s Company of Comedians concluded a theatrical season at East Dereham.  Fisher ultimately assumed the sole management of the company, which for many years performed in its own theatres on the Norfolk and Suffolk Circuit.

—At the Norwich Court of Mayoralty, Mr. Edward Manning, citizen and brazier, was elected Sheriff, but was discharged from office on paying the statutory fine of £80.  The letter was afterwards sent to Mr. James Pastons, citizen and grocer, and to Mr. John Howard, citizen and baker, who were also excused from serving on both paying the same fine.  The letter was then sent to Mr. James Watts, citizen and butcher, who received his discharge on payment of the fine.  It was next sent to Mr. Cotton Wright, citizen and coomber, who verbally replied that “he had neither ate nor drank at the expense of the Corporation, and he should neither pay the fine nor serve the office.”  Mr. Wright paid the fine, but denied that he had sent the message above quoted.  Eventually Mr. John Wright, citizen and linen draper, accepted office.

16.—The Yarmouth Volunteer Infantry terminated a fortnight’s garrison duty there.

21.*—“The Norwich and Yarmouth water frolics last week offered the utmost gratification to lovers of aquatic exercises.  Nearly twenty boats proceeded from Sandling’s Ferry to Postwick Grove and the Wood’s End, and, if the day proved unfavourable, mirth and good humour prevailed.”  The Mayor of Yarmouth and several members of the Corporation proceeded in a wherry, “purposely fitted up and plentifully stored,” over Breydon.  Several boats started for a silver cup, which was won by Mr. Lovell’s craft.

—A “farewell dejeune” was given at Cromer by Brigadier-General Sherbrooke, on his removal from the Holt district.  Breakfast was served at the New Inn, and was attended, amongst others, by Col. and Mrs. Macdonald, Sir Jacob and Lady Astley, and Sir Edward and Lady Berry.  Then the company adjourned to a barn, where dancing was kept up till five o’clock in the afternoon.

23.—A silver vase, which cost upwards of £700, was presented by Mr. Dusgate, in the name of the farmers of Norfolk, to Mr. T. W. Coke, “as a token of their esteem, for the liberality of his conduct as a landlord, and of their gratitude for the benefit of his example as a practical farmer and most valuable member of society.”

24.—The Mayor and magistrates of Norwich resolved to present a petition against the Corn Regulation Bill, which, however, was passed p. 33and received the Royal assent.  The Act was framed to govern the export and import of England and Scotland by one general average of each country, taking the aggregate average of the twelve maritime districts of England and four of Scotland as the rule.  Exportation was prohibited when wheat was above 54s. and barley 31s. per quarter.  When wheat was at or under 48s. a five shilling bounty was to be given per quarter on exportation, and when barley was at or under 28s., a bounty of 2s. 6d. a quarter.  A duty of from 6d. to 2s. 6d. was to be imposed on foreign corn imported if the price was as high as 66s. or 63s.

25.—The East and West Regiments of Norfolk Militia marched from Colchester Barracks to Coxheath Camp, in Kent, which was reached on the 27th.

28.—A general meeting of Lieutenancy was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, to carry into execution an Act “for establishing and maintaining a permanent additional force for the defence of the realm, and to provide for augmenting his Majesty’s regular forces, and for the gradual reduction of the Militia of England.”

30.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich, before Lord Chief Justice Mansfield, a prisoner, named John Heath, was charged with an offence committed at Great Melton, “but it being proved that the prisoner was both deaf and dumb by the visitation of God, the prosecution was stopped, but he was ordered to remain till the next Assizes.”  (There is no further record of the case.)

Col. Bulwer, of Heydon, was this month appointed Brigadier-General in the Eastern District.  On August 8th, he fixed his headquarters in Norwich, and reviewed the several corps of Volunteers in the city, and on September 1st it was announced that the general had been ordered to Liverpool, to take command of the Volunteers in that district.

AUGUST.

3.—A violent thunderstorm occurred.  Several horses were killed by lightning in different parts of the county; mills and barns were damaged, and trees torn up by the roots.

4.—At the Norfolk and Norwich Assizes, the action, Palmer v. James and William Bloomfield, was tried.  It was an action for trespass, and the plaintiff, a miller at Elsing, claimed £2,000 damages because the defendants, occupiers of land at Bylaugh, had cut away a large part of the bank of the river Wensum, whereby a great quantity of water escaped from the stream into an old river or drain, and he was deprived of its service for the working of his mill.  The hearing lasted ten hours, and Lord Chief Justice Mansfield, who left the court at eleven p.m., received the jury at his lodgings, when they returned a verdict for the defendants.  In the Court of Common Pleas, on November 12th, rule nisi was taken for a new trial, but there is no further record of the case.

9.—Died, aged 83, the Rev. Robert Potter, M.A., Prebendary of Norwich Cathedral, vicar of Lowestoft, and a translator of Æschylus and other writers of Greek tragedy.

p. 3413.—The troops in the Eastern district received orders to hold themselves in readiness to take the field at the shortest notice.

18.—The death was recorded, at Bungay, of Mr. Thomas Miller, who was born at Norwich on August 14th, 1731.  He was an extensive collector of books and antiquities, and in 1795 issued the “Miller half-penny,” of which only twenty-three pieces were struck off.

22.—A threshing machine on an entirely new principle, invented by a Devonshire engineer, named Ball, was tested at Norwich.  At Hethersett, on December 6th, in competition with another machine, built by John Brown, a Norwich mechanic, it thrashed in 50 minutes 40 seconds about 29½ coombs of barley, Brown’s machine breaking down.  Mutual recriminations and threats of legal proceedings followed, but without result.

Night signals were established along the coast, and special constables sworn in at Yarmouth, Lynn, and elsewhere.

At the suggestion of Major-General Money, two companies of Sharpshooters were raised, and, with a company of Cavalry Pioneers, were attached to the East Norfolk Regiment of Yeomanry Cavalry.

SEPTEMBER.

1.—What was considered to be a big bag of partridges was killed at Stiffkey by Lord James Townshend and Major Loftus, namely, 43 brace.  At Cromer, Major Windham killed 25 brace.

4.—The Musquito brig, of 18 guns, was launched from Mr. John Preston’s yard at Yarmouth.

6.—The Cygnet sloop of war, of 18 guns, was launched from Mr. Nathaniel Palmer’s yard at Yarmouth.

13.—Excessive heat prevailed.  On this day 80 degrees Fahr. was recorded.

15.*—“The Ipswich Mail now goes every day from the King’s Head Inn, Market Place, Norwich, to the Swan with two Necks, Lad Lane; and the Newmarket Mail to the Golden Cross, Charing Cross, daily.  The mails arrive in London every morning at seven o’clock.”

24.—The East Norfolk Regiment of Yeomanry Cavalry, with Capt. C. Brown’s Company of Cavalry Pioneers, and Capt. Pillan’s Company of Sharpshooters, encamped on Hellesdon Field, under the command of Major-General Money.  A sham fight, in which were engaged the Norwich Volunteer Infantry, under Col. Harvey, the Norwich Rifles, and the Artillery detachment, under Capt. Fyers, followed.

Major-General Milner was appointed to the charge of the Volunteer Infantry of Norfolk, which were inspected by him during the month.

OCTOBER.

6.—Died, aged 60, Sir Wm. Kemp, Bart., of Briston.  “He was riding on a hobby, from which he fell and expired immediately.”

13.—A report was published by Messrs. Kent and Crease, suggesting improvements to Wells harbour at the estimated cost of £30,000.

p. 3517.—Died, in St. Augustine’s, Norwich, Mr. John Thompson, aged 70.  “He established himself the heir-at-law of the late John Tilyard, whose property had long been the subject of litigation, by obtaining a verdict in his favour at the summer Assizes for this county in 1792, whereby he became entitled to a valuable estate at Oby.”

20.—A musical farce, entitled “Dash, or who but he?” written by Mr. F. Lathom, of Norwich, was produced at Drury Lane.  It was first performed at Norwich Theatre under the title of “Holiday Time, or the School Boy’s Frolic.”

26.—Died, aged 83, the Rev. John Peele, 38 years Upper Minister of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  He was succeeded by the Rev. C J. Chapman.

—Races were held at Blickling Park.  Events: A subscription purse for horses bred in Norfolk, the best of three one mile, heats; a subscription purse of £50, for the best of three two mile heats.  Silver cup for the best of three two mile heats.  A purse of five guineas for ponies, for the best of three two mile heats.

27.*—(Advt.)  “The public are respectfully informed that the first number of a new weekly newspaper, entitled the ‘Yarmouth Herald, or Norfolk, Suffolk, and Essex Advertiser,’ will be published on Saturday, November 10th, 1804, and sold by James Black, bookseller, Great Yarmouth.”

—*“Mrs. Tuthill, wife of Mr. John Tuthill, of Heigham, is the fortunate holder of a 16th of the £10,000 prize.”

28.—Died, at Ipswich, Lord Viscount Chedworth.  His estate was valued at £500,000, of which sum he bequeathed £180,000 in legacies to various persons, some of whom were unknown to him personally.  Mr. Thomas Penrice, of Yarmouth, received £20,000 legacy, and was also residuary legatee, by which he came into a property of at least £300,000.  His lordship left £40,000 to his solicitor, and large amounts to actors and actresses in Norwich and London.  A caveat was entered by the next of kin, and on July 5th, 1805, an action to contest the validity of the will was tried before Lord Ellenborough in the Court of King’s Bench.  The jury confirmed the will, and gave a verdict accordingly.  An application for a new trial was refused.

31.—At a public meeting at Cromer it was resolved to establish a lifeboat, and upwards of £500 was subscribed for the purpose.

NOVEMBER.

10.—A one hundred yards race took place in Gunton Park between the Hon. Edward Harbord and a well-known runner, named Wade, of Aylsham.  Mr. Harbord won by about four yards.

11.*—“In pulling down the old workhouse in the Lower Close, Norwich, to improve the entrance to the Deanery, some very curious remains of an ancient Saxon Gothic building were discovered.  The arches and capitals had been richly gilt and ornamented.  The style of architecture appeared to be that in use about the reign of King Stephen.”

14.—Died, at Norton, near Lincoln, aged 74, the Right Hon. George, Earl of Buckinghamshire, Baron Hobart, of Blickling, in Norfolk.  He p. 36was succeeded in his title and estates by the Right Hon. Lord Hobart, formerly his Majesty’s Principal Secretary of State for the Department of War and the Colonies.

16.—The Rev. J. Bowman was elected Under Minister at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, in succession to the Rev. C. J. Chapman.

22.—The Romney, of 50 guns, which sailed from Yarmouth Roads on the 18th, with bullocks and vegetables for the blockading fleet off the Texel, was lost in a gale on the South Haak Sand.  All the officers and crew saved themselves on rafts, but were made prisoners by the Dutch.  The officers were liberated on their parole by the Dutch Admiral Kikkert.

24.—The night coach from Norwich to Yarmouth was left near the King’s Arms, Burgh, in charge of a lad, when the horses broke away and galloped in the direction of Yarmouth.  A Norwich tradesman, who was an inside passenger, climbed upon the box, succeeded in reaching the reins, which had become entangled upon the splinter bar, and stopped the animals.

26.—Ninety-eight French prisoners, the crew of a large French privateer, of 18 guns, commanded by the noted Blackman, and captured by Capt. Hancock, of the Cruiser sloop, marched into Norwich, and next morning proceeded, under a guard of Fifeshire Militia, for Norman Cross Barracks.  The Corporation of Yarmouth and the merchants of the port voted their thanks to Capt. Hancock and his officers for their exertions in capturing Blackman, who had committed great depredations.  Blackman himself was shipped to Chatham in the Monmouth.  His vessel, La Contre-Amiral Magon, had sustained but trifling damage, and while she was lying at Mr. Palmer’s dock at Yarmouth, £2,500 was offered for her for privateering purposes.

27.—David Graham was convicted, before the Rev. J. Oldershaw, for driving cattle on Sunday at Harleston, and under the Act of Charles I. paid a penalty of 20s.

30.—It was reported at the annual meeting of the Society of Universal Good Will, at Norwich, that the number of persons relieved by it since its establishment was 1,940.  An appeal was made for public support.

DECEMBER.

3.*—“The inhabitants of Loddon have entered into a subscription for the purpose of defraying the expense of lighting the town.”

4.—Signor Belzoni from Sadler’s Wells, by permission of the Mayor, gave a performance in the assembly room at the Maid’s Head Inn, Norwich.  It was described as “a grand hydraulic exhibition, called Fire and Water, along with his phantasmagoria and wonderful feats of strength performed by the Patagonian Samson, who will carry on his head, arms, and body from five to ten men with the greatest ease.”  This was the famous Belzoni, the traveller and discoverer of Egyptian antiquities, whose book entitled, “Narrative of the Operations and recent Discoveries in the Pyramids, Temples, Tombs, and Cities of Egypt and Nubia,” obtained a wide circulation.

10.—Thetford coursing meeting commenced.  It lasted four days.

p. 371805.

JANUARY.

10.—The Supervisor and officers of Excise belonging to the East Dereham district seized at Melton a horse and cart, with 80 gallons of Geneva and four gallons of brandy.

11.—A murderous poaching affray occurred in Thorpe Wood, near Aylsham, when several game watchers, in the service of Lord Suffield, were severely wounded.  At the Norfolk Assizes at Thetford, in March, six of the poachers, indicted under the Black Act, were found guilty and sentenced to death.  Lord Suffield and the Hon. Edward Harbord pleaded that their lives might be spared, and the sentence was ultimately commuted to transportation.  When the gang were being conveyed by the Expedition night mail coach from Norwich, on their way to Portsmouth, the convicts got free from the chain and made a desperate attempt to escape, but were too heavily ironed.  They attacked the coachman, and one of the guards presented a pistol, which missed fire; Johnson, the gaoler, rushed amongst them with a cutlass, and subdued them.  One prisoner escaped, and the others were lodged in the Surrey New Gaol on the following morning.

17.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, it was resolved to establish a Hospital and School for the Indigent Blind in Norfolk and Norwich; towards the foundation of which Mr. Thomas Tawell contributed a house and 3½ acres of land in Magdalen Street, valued at £1,050.  Mr. Tawell, who was himself blind, made an eloquent and successful appeal, and the institution was opened on October 14th.

28.—The pantomime, “Don Juan,” was produced at Norwich Theatre “in a style which, for the display of beautiful scenery and of appropriate decorations and costumes, is very rarely to be witnessed on provincial boards.”

29.—Died, aged 57, Mr. Thomas Wodehouse, of Sennowe Lodge.  He was one of the gentlemen of his Majesty’s Privy Chamber, in which office he was succeeded by Mr. J. W. Thomlinson, of Cley.

FEBRUARY.

2.—Bishop Manners Sutton, of Norwich, was nominated by the King and chosen, February 12th, Archbishop of Canterbury.  On the 13th, his Grace arrived at the Palace, Norwich, from London; and on the 15th, the Mayor and Court of Aldermen proceeded in state from the Guildhall to the Palace, where the Recorder (Mr. Harvey) read an address of congratulation to the Archbishop.  The clergy of Norwich, on the 16th, waited on his Grace, when the Rev. Prebendary Pretyman addressed the Archbishop in an appropriate speech.  On the 17th, his Grace preached his farewell sermon at the Cathedral, and on the 18th departed for Lambeth.

p. 389.—A woman, who had eloped from her home in Kent with a horse dealer, was found by her husband in a house in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  She refused to return to him.  The dealer offered to buy the woman for £5, and her husband, agreeing, placed a halter round her neck, and surrendered all right and title to her for the sum named.

19.—Died, at his house, the Town Close, Norwich, Mr. Jeremiah Ives, senior alderman of Norwich.  He was 78 years of age, and had served the office of Mayor in 1769-1795.

20.—A solemn fast was observed at Norwich.

21.—Mr. Robert Herring, of Bracondale, elected an alderman, in place of Mr. Jeremiah Ives, deceased.

23.—Experiments were made at Norwich to test the practicability of firing a field-piece from a common waggon without injury to the vehicle.  The idea, which originated with Major-General Money, “succeeded perfectly, and the horses stood steady during the discharge of the field-piece.”

24.—The clergy of Norwich, having intimated that it was their intention to apply to Parliament for an increase of their incomes by assessment, considerable feeling was manifested in opposition.  The Corporation at a quarterly assembly resolved to oppose the application.  Vestry meetings were held throughout the city, and the inhabitants unanimously expressed an opinion adverse to the clergy’s proposal.

—The freedom of the city was conferred on Mr. John Frere, the former, and Mr. Robert Fellowes and Mr. William Smith, the then Parliamentary representatives of Norwich.

—A lease of the Dutch Church was granted to the Corporation for 200 years, for the use of the poor in the workhouse; the Dutch congregation reserving the right to bury their dead in the church, and to hold Divine service therein every forenoon of the first Sunday in the month.

MARCH.

4.—Died, aged 60, Elizabeth Clayton, of Wells-next-the-Sea.  “This woman, from an early propensity for masculine employments, had worked as a ship’s carpenter at the dockyard of the above port upwards of 40 years, and always in man’s apparel.  She used to drink, chew tobacco, and keep company only with workmen, yet would never enter into the matrimonial state.  She was a strong robust woman, and never permitted anyone to insult her with impunity.”

18.—The Rev. Henry Bathurst, D.D., “elected Bishop of this Diocese by the Dean and Chapter.”  His lordship was installed on May 10th.

23.—At a meeting at the Guildhall, Norwich, resolutions were agreed to “condemning the proposed alterations of the course of the mail coach from London to Norwich by way of Bury, from the consequent later delivery of the letters to the post-office here, and from the earlier despatch from thence, to the great inconvenience of the mercantile and trading houses of the city.”  Representations to p. 39this effect were made to the Postmaster-General, but without result.  The coach started from the King’s Head, Norwich, at four o’clock, and passed through Thetford, Bury, and Newmarket.  It ran every day and stopped at the Golden Cross, Charing Cross, London.  Another coach, by Ipswich and Colchester, set up at the Swan with two Necks, Lad Lane.

28.—Miss Aickin, “an actress of superior talents and personal attractions,” made her first appearance at Norwich Theatre in the character of Widow Cheerly in the comedy of “The Soldier’s Daughter,” and as Aura in the farce of “The Farm House.”  She played the part of Hamlet on May 4th.

30.*—“The Rev. William L. Gebbart has been elected minister of the Dutch congregation, and also appointed minister of the French church in Norwich.”

—*“It is in contemplation to establish telegraphic communication between Norwich and Yarmouth for mercantile purposes.”  In October the Norwich Corporation agreed to pay £10 annually for its support.

—*“An earthen pot, containing 500 pieces of antient English silver coin, was ploughed up in a field near Aylsham.  The pieces consisted chiefly of groats of Henry VII. and pennies of the Edwards.  There were two gold angels of Henry VI.”

APRIL.

6.*—“A person in the country has lately been convicted, before Mr. Crowe, Mr. Astley and Mr. Norris, in the legal penalty for working and digging in his garden and openly profaning the Sabbath.  It is to be hoped that his example will operate towards the discontinuance of the practice, which, perhaps, is nowhere so prevalent as in this county.”

—Leeds Mays, for horse stealing, was executed on the “new drop” on the Castle Hill, Norwich.

—Charles Pegg was publicly whipped in Norwich Market Place, for purchasing soldiers’ necessaries.

13.*—(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought on Easter Tuesday and Wednesday, 21 in the main for ten guineas the battle, and 30 guineas the odd; and likewise two turn outs for £20 the battle, and also two byes.  April 16th and 17th, at Hindringham Duke of York.  The first pair of cocks to be pitted at eleven o’clock in the forenoon.  Accommodation for man and horse.  Feeders, Fox for Walsingham; Whisker for Wighton.”

22.—At Swaffham, a man, named Angel, undertook for a trifling wager to run 20 miles in three hours.  He ran it with ease in 2 hours 50 minutes.

27.—Two gun brigs, of 14 guns each, were launched from Mr. John Preston’s dockyard at Yarmouth.

28.—The oil mill at Hellesdon, belonging to Mr. Wm. Parkinson, was destroyed by fire.  The loss amounted to between £2,000 and £3,000.

p. 40MAY.

2.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, when resolutions, expressive of obligations to Earl St. Vincent, for promoting an enquiry into naval abuses, with thanks to Mr. Whitbread for introducing the tenth report of the Commissioners of Naval Enquiry to the notice of the House of Commons; and thanks to Mr. Robert Fellowes, M.P., and Mr. W. Smith, M.P., for supporting Mr. Whitbread’s motion, were unanimously agreed to.

3.—The Common Council of Norwich proposed a vote of thanks to Earl St. Vincent, to the Commissioners of Naval Enquiry, to Mr. Whitbread, and to the members of Parliament for the city.  This was negatived by the aldermen by 12 votes to 4.

6.—An impressment took place at Yarmouth.  “Ships’ parties stopped every person they met without discrimination or respect for appearances.  No less than 300 persons were impressed.  Some were confined in the rendezvous of the town gang, others were marched to the barracks or conveyed to the boats lying in readiness at the jetty, and the whole body were carried during the night on to the Monmouth.  Next morning a regulation took place, and 50 only were detained.”

14.—At a county meeting, held at the Norwich Shirehall, several resolutions, thanking Earl St. Vincent and the Commissioners of Naval Enquiry, and Mr. Whitbread, Sir J. H. Astley, and Mr. T. W. Coke for their patriotic and independent conduct in Parliament, were unanimously agreed to.

18.—An officer of the Shropshire Militia decided in his favour a wager of ten guineas, “to pick up 100 stones laid in Chapel Field, Norwich, at a distance of a yard from each other, and to deposit them in two baskets placed at the extremities of the line, in the space of one hour.”  Another person, a few weeks afterwards, performed the same feat in 44 minutes.

25.—Married, by special licence by the Bishop of Norwich, at his lordship’s house in Manchester-square, London, Mr. Benjamin Bathurst, secretary of legation to the Court of Stockholm, to Miss Call, daughter of Sir John Call, Bart.  (In November, 1809, when travelling to England with important despatches as envoy to the Court of Vienna, Bathurst mysteriously disappeared in the town of Perleberg, and was never more seen or heard of.)

—*“A street, 26 feet wide, is about to be opened, forming an entrance, which has long been most desirable, from Chapel Field directly into Bethel Street, Norwich.”

The several battalions of Volunteer Infantry in the county performed a month’s garrison duty in Yarmouth.  The Norwich Volunteers were on duty in the city.

JUNE.

1.—Lord Frederick Beauclerk and the Hon. Edward Harbord ran a hundred yards race on Lord’s Cricket Ground, London.  Mr. Harbord p. 41was beaten by two yards.  He afterwards ran the same distance against Mr. Lambert, and won easily.

4.—The King’s birthday was celebrated in Norwich by the garrison and Volunteers, who paraded to the number of 1,800 and fired a feu de joie on the Castle Meadow.  The weather was very cold, and at nine o’clock at night the thermometer registered 36 degrees, only four degrees above freezing point.

8.—William Carter, a private in the City of Norwich Battalion of Infantry Volunteers, convicted, before a regimental court martial, of absenting himself from parade on four successive days, was publicly disgraced and dismissed the battalion.

22.*—“Gabriel Swallow, aged 13, son of a gamekeeper to the Hon. Col. Harbord at Hunworth, shot 21 bullets at a target 80 yards distant for a bet of two guineas.  With the exception of three shots, they were all placed within 5½ inches of the centre; three bullets were one inch from the centre; five ditto, two inches; six ditto, three inches; one ditto, four inches; two ditto, five inches; one ditto, 5½ inches.”

24.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  Mr. Ball’s threshing machine was shown at work.  An ingenious model of a dibbling machine, made by a young man in the neighbourhood; a mowing machine, invented by Mr. Burrell, of Thetford; a scuffler, by Mr. Clarke; the model of a threshing machine, by Mr. Cook, of Aylsham; and an improved drill, by Messrs. Wilson and Standish, of Lynn, were also exhibited.  The sweepstake, to estimate the weight of Mr. Coke’s three-shear Leicester wether, was won by Lord Winchilsea, who guessed within half a pound of the actual weight.

JULY.

6.—Mr. Edward Rigby, Mayor of Norwich, in a letter to the Norfolk Chronicle, advocated vaccine inoculation.  He wrote: “I inoculated my twin children when they were eight months old with smallpox ichor, and they resisted the infection.  Since then I have exposed them to patients under smallpox and at that period of the disease when most likely to communicate infection, which, as before, they were insusceptible to.”

9.—Mdlle. Eloise Adelaide de Bourbon, daughter of the Prince of Condé, took the veil at Bodney Hall, the retreat of the nuns of Montargis.

—A “bugle man” of the Norwich Rifle Corps, named Hardingham, was killed by the accidental discharge of a rifle at target practice.  His remains were interred, with military honours, in St. Giles’ churchyard on the 11th.

16.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, presided over by the Mayor of Norwich, resolutions were adopted for taking the best means of stopping the progress of the contagion of smallpox, and of extending vaccine inoculation.  A committee afterwards presented a memorial in favour of vaccination.  On September 14th it was announced that nearly 400 of the poor had been vaccinated.

p. 4224.—A gift of silver plate was presented to Sir Thomas Beevor, Bart., at Hethel, by the Chairman and Committees of Chief Constables in Humbleyard and adjacent Hundreds, as “a testimonial of esteem and respect and approbation of the able and upright manner in which he had discharged the duties of a magistrate for more than half a century.”

27.*—“At Diss, a number of labourers in husbandry refused to work for the customary wages, and being out of employment applied to the magistrates, who advised the parish officers to put them to work, which they accordingly did.  Their business was to carry bricks in a hod from Palgrave to Diss, a distance of two miles.  This medicine had the desired effect, for after two days they returned to their former employment.”

AUGUST.

3.*—(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought at the Sun Inn, Wells, on Tuesday, August 13th, between the gentlemen of Foulsham and the gentlemen of Wells, five guineas the battle and twenty guineas the odd.  There will be two pits.  Feeders, Whisker for Foulsham; Souther for Wells.”

6.—The Norwich Society of Artists opened an exhibition of paintings and drawings in their room in Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.

8.—In consequence of official intelligence of preparations along the enemy’s coast, Major-General Money addressed a letter to the commandants of Yeomanry and Volunteer Cavalry in Norfolk and Suffolk, requesting them to have their corps ready for inspection, and in marching order.  A similar letter was sent by Major-General Milner to the commandants of Norfolk Volunteer Infantry, adding that the requisite number of waggons was ordered for their conveyance in case of necessity.

12.—A cricket match was played at Reepham between the gentlemen of Foulsham and the gentlemen of Reepham, Hackford, Whitwell, and Corpusty “for a considerable sum.”  It was won by the former, “with eight notches to spare.”  The return match, on October 21st, was also won by Foulsham.

26.—A cricket match was played in Blickling Park between elevens of the Blickling and Norwich clubs, and was won by the former.  It was followed by a single wicket match between the same teams, when Blickling again won, with nine wickets to go down.

SEPTEMBER.

3.—The committee of the Court of Guardians, appointed to examine the poor-rates of the city and hamlets of Norwich, and to obtain a more equal assessment, reported that an increase of £16,000 stock and £1,800 rent, calculating on the half-rental only, might be made; and recommended a general survey and new valuation to be taken, in consequence of the great alteration which had taken place p. 43in property, and in the value of land in particular since 1786, when the last survey was made.

7.—A remarkable whirlwind occurred at Rockland St. Mary.  A rowing boat, lying on the bank of the broad, was lifted into the air and blown a distance of 70 yards; and another large boat was raised out of the water and hurled a considerable distance.  A young man was lifted three or four yards in the air and blown several yards.  Much damage was done to the roofs of cottages and to wheat sheafs in the fields.

13.—Mr. Incledon, the famous vocalist, appeared at Norwich Theatre in his entertainment, “The Wandering Melodist.”

21.—At a meeting of the Norwich Corporation the committee appointed to take into consideration the propriety of applying to Parliament for an Act for the better lighting, watching, and paving of the city, reported in favour of the proposal, and a gentleman present offered to subscribe £500 towards the undertaking.  On October 26th, it was reported that the aldermen had adopted the recommendation, but the Commons threw it out by 20 votes against 16.  At a meeting held on October 30th, at which the Bishop, the Mayor, and many of the principal owners and occupiers of estates were present, the petition was unanimously agreed to and signed.

28.*—“A finely preserved Saxon font has been discovered in the church of Great Hautbois, near Coltishall, by Mr. J. A. Repton.  Many curious remains of antient sculpture are obscured by repeated coats of dirt and whitewash in our churches.”

—*“Died, lately, Sir James Tylney Longe, Bart., in the eleventh year of his age.  By his death the Tylney property, amounting to £25,000 per annum and nearly £300,000 in the Funds, devolves on the distant branches of the Longe family.”

During this month Mr. James Neild, of Chelsea, a well-known philanthropist, visited the county gaol, the city gaol and bridewell, the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, and the Duke’s Palace Workhouse.  In his report on the Hospital he wrote: “It does honour to the county, and is one of the best I have seen.”

OCTOBER.

7.—A mysterious outrage was committed at Fakenham.  A man entered the bed-room of two maiden ladies, named Bale, brutally thrashed one, and attempted to cut the throat of the other, after which he decamped.  The Home Office offered his Majesty’s pardon to any accomplice who gave evidence that would lead to a conviction, and Mr. Edward Bale, of Toftrees, offered a reward of £100 for the discovery of the guilty person.  No clue was forthcoming.

12.*—“A few days since the Russian Countess Mengdon arrived at her newly-purchased seat, called New Place, Thetford, late the residence of Mr. James Mingay.”

18.—One of a pair of eagles was shot at Cantley.  The extended wings measured 7 feet 4½ inches, and the bird was 2½ feet in height.

p. 4422.—A two days’ race meeting commenced in Blickling Park.  A ball and supper were given by Lord Suffield.

—The Norwich Battalion of Volunteers, commanded by Lieut.-Col. Patteson, and the City of Norwich Battalion of Volunteer Infantry (Lieut.-Col. Harvey) were inspected by Major-General Milner.  “A portion of the latter corps proceeded from the Castle ditches to Mile End in waggons, fitted up with seats, and provided throughout the county pursuant to general orders.”

Under the Additional Force Act, Norfolk raised this month 248 men to supply vacancies occasioned by those who had enlisted out of the Militia into the regular Army.

NOVEMBER.

2.*—“The Sheriff of Norwich, Mr. J. H. Yallop, is the fortunate holder of a sixteenth share of the ticket drawn for a prize of £3,000.  In the lottery of 1803, Mr. Yallop also shared a prize of £2,000, and in 1804, part of the £20,000 prize.”

7.—Intelligence was received of the battle of Trafalgar, which was fought on October 21st, and of the death of Nelson.  “The bells were rung and fired throughout the day, but all the joy that would have arisen from the victory was wholly absorbed in sorrow and regret for the death of the Hero of the Nile and Trafalgar.”  Great rejoicings afterwards took place, and addresses of congratulation to his Majesty were unanimously voted by the Corporations of Norwich, Yarmouth, Lynn, &c.

30.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, when an address to his Majesty on the victory of Trafalgar was agreed to.  It was also resolved to open a subscription for erecting a memorial to perpetuate the memory of Lord Nelson’s victories.

DECEMBER.

3.—The Duke of Norfolk arrived at Norwich, and visited the Cathedral, St. Andrew’s Hall, and other public buildings.

—Thanksgiving day.  Collections were made in the churches for the relief of the families of those who fell, and for those who were wounded.  At Aylsham, there was a “grand naval procession,” barrels of beer were drunk in the Market Place, and a display of fireworks took place at night.

17.—A grand fête was held at the Norwich Assembly Rooms, in honour of Nelson’s victory.  Upwards of 450 ladies and gentlemen of the county and city were present at the ball and supper, and the rooms were decorated with transparencies and brilliantly illuminated.  The arrangements were carried out by the Norfolk Society, established in 1770.

Among the Acts of Parliament passed this year was one to enable Mr. Daniel Henry Woodward, his sons, and their descendants to use the surname and family arms of Mr. Henry Lee Warner, late of Walsingham.

p. 451806.

JANUARY.

4.*—(Advt.)  “To be sold, a Proprietor’s Share in the Norwich Theatre, with or without transferable ticket, which will admit the holder to the Yarmouth, Ipswich, and Colchester Theatres.”

—*“A man of the name of Baxter, formerly a respectable farmer at Buckenham, who took a rash resolution of refusing any kind of sustenance but water, which he continued to do for 38 days at the White Horse at Kenninghall, was induced to give up the same on Monday last by the offer of a noble lady to settle an allowance upon him.  He some time ago persisted in the same mode of existence for 19 days.”

9.—The church bells in city and county were tolled from twelve o’clock to two o’clock, on the occasion of the funeral of Lord Nelson at St. Paul’s Cathedral.

12.—A subscription was made for the relief of the poor in Germany, who were suffering under the combined miseries of war and famine.  About £300 was collected.

14.—A meeting was held at the Guildhall for the purpose of opposing the Norwich Paving Bill, and a petition against the measure was signed by 1,600 owners and occupiers.  On February 8th, the Mayor (Mr. Rigby) announced that “the respectability of the signatures to the petition in favour of the Bill, and the large sum raised to defray the expenses of the application to Parliament, could not but determine its supporters to persevere firmly in promoting it.”  On February 24th, the aldermen, by ten votes to eight, ordered the city seal to be affixed to the Bill.  Leave was given on March 7th for the insertion of fresh notices in the Bill, in order that it might be carried before Parliament that Session.  The Bill was read a first time on April 21st, and was in due course transmitted to a committee of the House of Commons.  The taking of evidence for and against the Bill concluded on May 21st, and on June 13th it passed both Houses of Parliament and received the Royal assent.  The first election of Commissioners under the Norwich Paving Act took place in July, and the first meeting of Commissioners was held on July 15th, when the Deputy-Mayor (Mr. Rigby) was appointed chairman; Mr. Elisha De Hague, clerk; Messrs. Harvey and Hudson, treasurers; and Mr. John Roots, surveyor.

15.—The vane and spindle of the “antient and beautiful spire” of St. Gregory’s Church, Norwich, were blown off during a severe gale.

FEBRUARY.

3.—On opening a vault at the church of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, a live bat was found therein, of a greyish colour, where it p. 46had probably lain in a torpid state more than 32 years, the distance of time since the vault was before opened.”

8.*—(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought on Wednesday, February 19th, at the Red Lion Inn, Fakenham, between the gentlemen of Fakenham and the gentlemen of Foulsham.  Eleven mains, two byes, and one turn out for five guineas the battle, and ten guineas the odd.  Feeders, George Syder for Fakenham; David Lamb for Foulsham.”

9.—James Coleman, bricklayer, of Swardeston, was tolling the bell at the parish church, “when the crown and cannons broke from the bell, and she came down through both floors, killing him on the spot.”

13.—Married, at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, Henry Robert Bowles, acting-manager at the Theatre Royal, to Miss Aickin, of the same theatre.

16.—Died, at St. George Colegate, Norwich, Thomas Troughton, aged 88.  “He was a member of the corps of Artillery raised for the internal defence during the Revolution of 1745, and is believed to be the last survivor of that loyal corps.”

22.*—“The interior of the Cathedral is about to undergo a thorough cleaning and repair.  It is sixty years since a similar repair was done.”  It was re-opened November 22nd.

24.—At a quarterly assembly of the Corporation of Norwich an address was ordered to be presented to his Majesty, “expressive of their gratitude for the paternal affection he has shown to his subjects by waiving every consideration for the public good in the appointment of men of the first abilities in the country to the high offices of State.”  A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, on March 28th, when a similar resolution was adopted, congratulating his Majesty on the appointment of an administration “in whom the nation feels a well-grounded confidence.”  Like addresses were presented by the Corporations of Yarmouth and King’s Lynn.

27.—Landed at Yarmouth, on their return from the Continent, the 4th, 23rd, and 28th Regiments of Foot, and 300 riflemen, comprising the brigade commanded by General Paget.

MARCH.

1.*—“Lately, died, at the age of 113, Mrs. Roope, of Tharston, near Long Stratton.  She lived to see her fifth generation.”

5.—A troop of the King’s German Legion (heavy cavalry) arrived at Norwich from Yarmouth, and on the following day proceeded on their march to Scotland.

7.—A public concert was given at Chapel Field House, Norwich.  Vocalists: Mr. Vaughan and Mrs. Vaughan (formerly Miss Tennant); leader of the band, Mr. Parnell; at the pianoforte, Mr. Beckwith.

11.—The Board of Agriculture voted their gold medal to Mr. Thomas William Coke, “for his extensive and successful mode of irrigation, by which he has converted a track of unprofitable boggy land in Norfolk into sound and excellent water meadows.”

p. 47—The Marquis Townshend’s 85th birthday was celebrated by a dinner at the Crown Inn, and by a ball and supper at the Red Lion Inn, Fakenham.

15.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Grose, was tried the case, the King v. Anthony.  This was an information filed against the defendant by the Attorney-General for assaulting John Stevenson, an officer of Excise, while in the execution of his duty.  Stevenson called at the White Horse Inn, Edgefield, on December 2nd, 1805, and found smuggled liquor in panniers belonging to the defendant, whose ostensible trade was that of a vendor of oysters.  The officer seized the panniers, but defendant, in regaining them, committed an assault.  He was found guilty, and the case was remitted to the King’s Bench for judgment.  (No further record appears.)

—*(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought at the Maid’s Head Inn, Norwich, on Tuesday, the 25th inst., and two following days between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Yarmouth.  To show 31 mains, and ten bye-cocks, to fight for ten guineas a battle, and 50 guineas the odd battle.  There will be five pits.  Feeders, David Lamb for Norwich; Thomas Cox for Yarmouth.”

16.—Died, at his house in Surrey Street, Norwich, John Manning, M.D., upwards of 30 years physician at the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

17.—Died, at Snettisham Lodge, Mr. Thomas Daniell, Attorney-General of Dominica.

24.—Intelligence was received at Norwich of Vice-Admiral Duckworth’s victory over the French squadron in St. Domingo Bay.  Col. Patteson’s Volunteers fired a feu de joie in the Market Place, and the bells of St. Peter Mancroft rang until midnight.

27.—Mr. Heath caught in Panxworth Broad a pike weighing 31 lbs., and measuring 45 inches in length, and 25 inches in girth.

28.—Died, at Bodney Hall, aged 49, Madame Elizabeth de Mirepoix.  “Descended from one of the most distinguished families in France, she forsook the allurements of the Court for the retirement and austerity of monastic life.  From the storms of the French Revolution the Benedictine Monastery (of which she had been a member 31 years and superior 22 years) sought shelter in England, and found an asylum in this county, where for the last 15 years the nuns have been occupied in the education of Catholic young ladies.”

This month upwards of £800 was subscribed to defray the cost of the erection in Norwich of a monument to the memory of Lord Nelson.  Mr. Browne and Mr. Percy submitted designs and models to the committee, but insufficient support was given to the movement.

APRIL.

5.*—“The King has granted the dignity of Earl to the Right Hon. Horatio Baron Walpole, to be known as the Earl of Orford.”  Mr. Thomas Wm. Coke was offered, but declined a peerage.

p. 4812.—At a meeting of farmers and others at Thetford, it was decided to hold a sheep and lamb fair in that town annually on September 1st.

19.—The Boreas frigate, 28 guns, was launched from the dockyard of Messrs. Stone and Custance, at Yarmouth.  On the same day the Ariel sloop, of 18 guns, was launched from Mr. N. Palmer’s yard.

27.—General Milner inspected the Norwich Rifle Corps this day (Sunday); the Norwich Volunteer Regiment on the 28th; and Col. Patteson’s Battalion on the 29th.

MAY.

6.—Died, in his 82nd year, the Rev. George Thomas, vicar of East Dereham and brother of Dr. Thomas, Bishop of Rochester.  He was succeeded by the Rev. Charles Hyde Wollaston.

14.—The annual meeting of the Dissenters Benevolent Society, presided over by Mr. Geo. Watson, was held at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

16.—A hundred yards foot race took place on Lord’s Cricket Ground between Lord E. Somerset and the Hon. Edward Harbord.  “Lord Edward had the start of Mr. Harbord, and maintained the lead about 60 yards, when Mr. Harbord gained upon and crossed him.  There was a foul, and Lord Edward fell.  Lord Frederick Beauclerk, who was umpire, gave his decision as follows:—That on account of the accident the race was deemed void, but Mr. Harbord is allowed the power of calling upon Lord Edward to run the race over again any time within the next six months upon giving his lordship six weeks’ notice.”

17.—The sword of the Spanish Admiral, Don Xavier Francisco Winthuysen, who died of his wounds at the battle off Cape St. Vincent, February 14th, 1797, presented to the city of Norwich by Lord Nelson, was placed in the mural monument at the Guildhall.

29.—General Milner, in a letter addressed to the commanding officers of Volunteers in Norwich and Norfolk, expressed “the high sense he entertained of the merit of the Volunteer corps in coming forward in such force, when the country, and this district in particular, was threatened with invasion by a powerful enemy.”

30.—Died, at Calabar, East Indies, in his 32nd year, Capt. Smyth, 56th Regiment, son of Mr. James Smyth, attorney-at-law, of Norwich.  He served in all the campaigns in Flanders and Holland under General Coote, in Ireland at the battle of Vinegar Hill, at Gibraltar during the mutiny, and under Sir Ralph Abercromby in Egypt.

JUNE.

9.—Vice-Admiral Russell, accompanied by several officers of the North Sea Fleet, stationed at Yarmouth, visited Norwich.

10.—A rowing match took place between the Lion and the Dove.  The course, five miles, was between Carrow and Whitlingham, and the Lion won by 100 yards in 34 minutes.

p. 4918.—Wrestling matches were contested on Panxworth Green in the presence of a large number of spectators.  “Green, of Beighton, was champion of the green, and came off victorious from all his engagements.”  He was eighteen years old.

19.—Norwich Guild day.  In consequence of the Cathedral undergoing reparation, the Mayor and Corporation attended service at the church of St. Peter Mancroft.  The Mayor, Mr. Thomas Allday Kerrison, entertained 500 guests at dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall; the ball was held at Chapel Field House.

23.—At Holkham Sheep Shearing, Mr. John Herring, jun., of Norwich, exhibited three shawls, manufactured by Messrs. John Herring and Sons entirely from the fleece of Mr. Coke’s Southdowns.

24.—Lord Waldegrave, in command of a detachment of the 7th Light Dragoons, stationed at Norwich, commenced a series of three cricket matches, “with a select number of the men under his command against a party of gentlemen of this city and neighbourhood.”  The soldiers won two out of the three games.  In the following month Lord Waldegrave came of age, and succeeded to a property amounting to £30,000 a year.

28.—Mr. Incledon appeared at Norwich Theatre in his entertainment, consisting of songs and recitations, “Hospitality, or the Harvest Home.”  He reappeared on the 30th.

JULY.

5.—Died, at his house in George Street, Portman Square, London, Arthur Richard Dillon, Archbishop and Duke of Narbonne, Primate of the Gauls, President of the States of Languedoc, and Commander of the Order of the Holy Ghost.  “This venerable prelate was uncle to Lady Jerningham, of Costessey.”

—The Primary Visitation of the Bishop of Norwich (which commenced at Thetford on May 22nd) terminated at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  “Six hundred and ninety-nine young persons from the adjacent parishes, and on the following day nearly 600 persons from the several parishes and hamlets of the city were confirmed.  The total number of persons who had been confirmed throughout the diocese in the course of this visitation is computed at nearly 17,000.”

10.—This day “the thermometer stood at 82, exposed to the north.”  On the 19th of the previous month the heat was so great that many post horses died.

12.—The Royal assent was given to an Act to enable his Majesty “to grant the Castle of Norwich, with the county gaol, Castle Hill, and certain land adjacent thereto, in Norfolk, and for vesting the same in the justices of the peace for the said county, with the use thereof.”

13.—A remarkable suicide took place at Yarmouth.  “Two servant women tied themselves together with ribbon, walked into the sea, and were drowned.”  They were the wives of privates in the Shropshire Militia.  “Their husbands had come to see them the previous day, and, refusing to permit them to return with them, they committed the rash act.”

p. 5014.—A large concourse assembled to witness a camping match on Crostwick Common between the Hundreds of Taverham and of Blofield.  Conditions:—“Play 40 minutes; candidates to be young men under 25 and unmarried.  Prize, a hat of the value of 10s. 6d. for each of the successful combatants.”  The affair ended in a walk over, owing to the absence of the Blofield men.  “It is now 20 years since a regular camp was played at Crostwick, and that one was patronised by one of his Majesty’s present ministers, who is not more celebrated for his political talents, and the accomplishments of a liberal and enlightened mind, than for his attachment to the ancient sports and amusements of his country.”  (Reference is here made to William Windham.)

17.—The annual water frolic and aquatic procession took place at Norwich, “led by Admiral Clarke in full uniform in the Apollo.”

21.—The Corporation of Norwich again granted the use of St. Andrew’s Hall to the corn merchants, as a place of exchange, at the annual rent of 50 guineas.  “A letter from Mr. Opie was read, in which that celebrated artist stated that, if due care was taken to prevent persons from touching the paintings in the hall, they would sustain no injury if the hall was opened ten times a week.”

26.—Arrived, at Yarmouth, the Blanche frigate, Capt. Lavie, with La Guerriere, French frigate of 50 guns, Capt. Hubert, captured on the 18th, after a desperate action of 45 minutes.  La Guerriere had taken eight Greenlandmen and one Yarmouth vessel, all of which she had destroyed.

28.—The Volunteer corps agreed to continue their services under new regulations and at reduced pay.  The regulations were made in accordance with a new Act of Parliament, which provided for the military training of the population by the calling out of 200,000 men in each year.

31.—The Duke’s Palace estate in Norwich, belonging to the Duke of Norfolk, was sold in lots for £5,055, exclusive of the Public Library and house adjoining.

AUGUST.

9.*—(Advt.)  “To be seen alive (from Mr. Kendrick’s menagerie, 42, Piccadilly), in a commodious room at Mr. Peck’s, the Church Stile, in the Market Place, Norwich, a most surprising crocodile from the Nile ever seen in this kingdom.  He is so remarkably tame that any lady or gentleman may touch him with safety.”

13.—The Norwich Society of Artists opened an exhibition in their room in Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.  The exhibitors included A. Brown, W. Browne, and Stone, architectural subjects; Crome, Dixon, Gordon, C. Hodgson, Ladbrooke, Leeds, and Thirtle, landscapes; Cooper, horses and cattle; Mrs. Coppin, Freeman, and Thirtle, portraits; and Sillett, flowers and still life.  “The exhibition is such as to authorise our predicting that the seeds of genius, which have evidently taken deep root in some of the artists, will secure them most respectable places in the roll of fame.”

p. 5114.—The anniversary sermon for the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital was preached by the Bishop of Norwich at St. Peter Mancroft.  The sum collected was £185 16s. 6d., and the proceeds of the dinner at the Swan Inn amounted to £41 9s. 6d.

28.—The Comus frigate, 22 guns, was launched from the dockyard of Messrs. Custance and Co., at Yarmouth.

30.—The Norwich Paving Commissioners advertised that they were “ready to contract with any person or persons for watch boxes, to be made of good and well-seasoned yellow deal, and painted on the outsides of a lead colour three times in oil.  Also to receive proposals for and contract with any person or persons for 36 strong and well-made watchmen’s coats of a dark drab coloured cloth, large double collar, with belt of the same sewed to the coat, and white and strong metal buttons.”

SEPTEMBER.

11.—Died, at the age of 100 years, Mrs. Crisp, of Loddon.

12.—Died, at Brighton, aged 76, the Right Hon. Edward Lord Thurlow, Lord Chancellor 1778 to 1793, except for a few months during the Coalition Administration in 1783, when the seals were put in Commission.  He was the son of the Rev. Mr. Thurlow, rector of Ashfield, Suffolk, and was born at Braconash, Norfolk, December 9th, 1730.  He was succeeded in his title and estates by his nephew, only son of the Bishop of Durham.

—Died, at Breccles, near Watton, aged 107 years and 8 months, John Stubings, husbandman.  “He never occupied more than five acres of land nor received any parochial relief.”

13.*—(Advt.)  “Docking Snettisham, Lynn, and Norwich Telegraph, from Docking to Lynn and Lynn to Norwich.  Leaves Docking at seven o’clock on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, through Snettisham and Castle Rising, to Star Inn, Lynn.  Leaves Lynn at eleven o’clock, to the Woolpack, St. Giles, Norwich, through Gayton, Litcham, Mileham, Brisley, Elmham, Bawdeswell, Lenwade Bridge, Attlebridge, and Drayton, and returns the following morning at seven o’clock.”

25.—A shark, measuring nine feet in length and weighing three cwts., was caught off Yarmouth.

OCTOBER.

3.—The bells of several parish churches in Norwich were tolled at noon, the hour appointed for the interment, in Westminster Abbey, of the remains of the Right Hon. Charles James Fox, who died September 13th.

4.*—(Advt.)  “The Norwich and Yarmouth Machine runs every day from the Black Horse, Tombland, and White Hart, near the Wrestlers, Yarmouth.”

15.—Died suddenly, aged 58, Henry Bowles, the elder, formerly of the Theatre Royal, Norwich.

p. 5221.—Blickling races commenced, and afforded “the greatest sport ever known at this place.”  The principal event, a sweepstake for 50 guineas for horses bred in Norfolk, was won by Col. Harbord’s bay filly Czarina.

—Launched from the dockyard of Mr. J. S. Douglas, Yarmouth, the Lord Nelson packet, 91 tons, intended for the Harwich station.

29.—A trotting match for 50 guineas took place on the turnpike road from Norwich to Watton, between Mr. King’s chestnut hone Doubtful and Mr. Jeary’s brown mare Velocity.  “The horse won by about two lengths.  Owing to a dispute respecting the horse galloping within the last hundred yards the match still remains undetermined.  Fifteen and a half miles were covered in one hour.”

Capt. Sir Edward Berry, R.N., was this month created a baronet, in consideration of his eminent services to the country.

NOVEMBER.

3.—A Parliamentary election took place at Norwich, resulting in the return of Mr. John Patteson, 1,733 votes, and Mr. Robert Fellowes, 1,370 votes.  Mr. Wm. Smith, who polled 1,333 votes, was the unsuccessful candidate.  On the 10th “the Norwich Battalion of Volunteers received Col. Patteson, M.P., with a general salute, and fired three vollies and gave three cheers in token of their satisfaction at his being elected one of the representatives of the city.”

—King’s Lynn election.  Lord Walpole and Sir M. B. ffolkes returned unopposed.

4.—Thetford election.  Lord William Fitzroy, 28 votes; Mr. James Mingay, 17 votes.  Mr. Thomas Creevey, the unsuccessful candidate, polled 14 votes.

—Yarmouth election.  The Hon. Edward Harbord and Mr. S. Lushington returned unopposed.  A petition was lodged against the return, but the committee of the House of Commons declared it to be frivolous and vexatious, and the members retained their seats.

6.—Miss Elizabeth Bidwell, niece of Mr. Bidwell, of Thetford, arrived at Harwich from Berlin.  “She was tutoress to the King of Prussia’s children, and had a narrow escape of falling into the hands of the French, and when she landed was destitute of money and change of raiment.”  Miss Bidwell afterwards had an audience of the Queen at Windsor, to whom she related the details of her escape.

12.—The Sapphire sloop of war, 18 guns, launched from Messrs. Brindley’s yard at King’s Lynn.

13.—County election.  The poll was open for six days.  Mr. T. W. Coke, 4,118 votes; the Right Hon. William Windham, 3,722 votes.  The unsuccessful candidate, the Hon. John Wodehouse, received 3,365 votes.  “On the chairing day, as well as every day during the election, there were excellent dinners provided at the White Swan and Angel, where Mr. Coke and Mr. Windham met large parties of their friends, whose convivial enjoyments were much heightened by the eloquent orations of Mr. Plumptre and the exertions of Mr. Mingay, whose good-humoured sallies and witticisms never failed to set the p. 53tables in a roar.”  A petition against the return of the members was presented by Mr. T. T. Berney and others, and on February 12th, 1807, the committee of the House of Commons declared the election void.  On February 26th, Mr. Coke was returned unopposed for Derby, in place of his brother, Mr. E. Coke, who had accepted the Chiltern Hundreds.  On March 5th, Mr. E. Coke and Sir Jacob Astley, Bart., were returned unopposed for Norfolk, and Mr. Windham took his seat, without opposition, as member for New Romney.

24.—Died, in St. Lawrence’, Norwich, Mrs. Galey, aged 101.

30.—At the meeting of the Society of Universal Good Will, at Norwich, it was reported that 187 persons, besides weekly pensioners, had been relieved during the year, making in all 2,218 since the establishment of the institution.

DECEMBER.

4.—Mr. J. W. Robberds was elected an alderman for the Ward beyond the Water, Norwich, in place of Mr. J. G. Baseley, who died December 1st.

6.—Died, in the 63rd year of his age, Thomas Osborn, bell founder, Downham Market.

13.*—“Died, lately, in the parish of St. Mary, Norwich, Sarah Pickwood, aged 49 years.  This was one of the most enormous cases of dropsy on record.  In the course of about 50 months she was tapped 38 times, and discharged 350 gallons of the fluid, weighing 4,656 lbs. troy.  The greatest quantity discharged at one operation measured 11½ gallons, and weighed 153½ lbs.”

18.—In the course of alterations at Ketteringham Hall, a fire occurred, which destroyed the centre of the building, with all the new work.

20.*—“Whenever a fire occurs in the neighbourhood the large travelling engine, belonging to the Norwich Fire Office, may be obtained by sending a man and two horses and applying to the sexton of St. Peter Mancroft Church, in which place the engine is deposited.”

The following Acts were passed this year:—

An Act to enable his Majesty to grant an annuity to Lady Viscountess Nelson, in consideration of the eminent services performed by the late Vice-Admiral Lord Nelson to his Majesty and the public.

An Act for settling and securing a certain annuity on Earl Nelson and the heirs male of his body and such persons to whom the title of Earl Nelson may descend, and for granting the sum of £100,000 to purchase an estate to accompany the said title; and for granting £10,000 to each of the sisters of the late Lord Nelson (Mrs. Matchem and Mrs. Bolton), in consideration of the eminent and signal services performed by the said Lord Nelson to his Majesty and the public.

An Act for amending, altering, and enlarging the powers of an Act, passed in the 42nd year of his Majesty, for paving and otherwise improving the borough of King’s Lynn.

An Act for repairing the parish Church of Great Yarmouth and rebuilding the tower thereof.

p. 541807.

JANUARY.

10.—J. S. Cotman advertised that he had taken a house in Wymer Street, St. Andrew’s, Norwich, “for the accommodation of those ladies and gentlemen who may favour him by becoming pupils.”  Terms: In the Academy, £2 2s. quarterly.  Four private lessons, £1 1s.

16.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, William Chapman, a coal hawker, appealed against his conviction, under the Hawkers and Pedlars Act, 29th Geo.  III. c. 26, for “carrying coals about the streets of Norwich to sell by retail.”  Mr. Steward Firth ordered the conviction to be quashed, with costs.  This case was considered of great importance to the citizens, and especially to the poor.

17.*—“Orders have been received in Norwich from the East India Company for 16,000 pieces of fine camblets.”

18.—A length of about 40 yards of the city wall at Norwich fell in Ber Street with a tremendous crash.  At the Quarter Sessions on the 16th, the Grand Jury made a presentment, in which attention was called to the dangerous state of the wall.

26.—Died, at Lakenham, Mr. James Crowe, alderman of Norwich, aged 58.  He twice served the office of Mayor, in 1774 and 1797.  Mr. John Steward was elected in his place.

Little Dunham Lodge, near Swaffham, was this month purchased by Mr. St. George Knudson, for £20,000.

FEBRUARY.

7.*—“A sixteenth share of No. 23,815, which has drawn a prize of £10,000, was sold to J. Turner, servant to Mr. M. F. Rishton, of Lynn.”

—*“The Paving Commissioners have decided to lay the first stone according to the new system of paving in Norwich, in St. Stephen’s Street.”

10.—At Harper’s Pantheon, Norwich, was exhibited a moving panorama, representing the funeral of Lord Nelson.

11.—A heavy fall of snow rendered the roads impassable.  The Ipswich mail arrived at Norwich two hours after its usual time; and the Bury coach reached the city at about the same time, after having been once overturned.  The Newmarket mail and the Expedition coach were unable to get through.  The guard of the mail procured horses, rode across country with the mail bags, and on reaching Bury took a post chaise, arriving in Norwich at four o’clock on the 12th.  The Expedition coach reached the city about eight o’clock the same night, drawn by eight horses.  The Newmarket mail arrived on the 13th at 1.30 p.m.

p. 5511.—Several ships were wrecked during a severe gale on the Norfolk coast.  His Majesty’s gun brig Snipe came ashore on the South Ham, with 30 French prisoners on board, many of whom, with part of the crew and some women, perished.  In all 60 lives were lost in this ship.  Twelve vessels were wrecked between Cromer and Yarmouth.

14.*—“The number of men liable to serve for this county under the Training Act is 18,152.”  On April 6th, 607 persons, between the ages of 18 and 45, were drawn by ballot at Norwich to be trained and exercised for 24 days.  Among those drawn were “several magistrates and other distinguished personages.”

17.—Died, at Windsor, in his 67th year, the Rev. Dr. Lancaster Adkin, rector of Belaugh and minister of St. Andrew, Norwich.  “He was the first founder in Norwich of Sunday Schools, which he constantly attended and instructed for more than 21 years.”

—Orders were given for the enlargement of the courts in the Norwich Shire-house, for the repair of the bridge leading to the Castle, for providing a palisade, and for bringing a supply of river water from the main pipes in Golden Ball Lane to the county gaol.

MARCH.

7.—Sergt. John Parker, 3rd Dragoons, stationed at Norwich on recruiting service, was apprehended on suspicion of having committed a murder at Brighton in 1796.  The extraordinary statement upon which the accused was apprehended was concocted by a man named William Cobb, of St. Martin-at-Oak, who informed the Mayor that Parker, when a private in the Somerset Fencible Cavalry, met him (Cobb), then a private in Col. Villier’s Fencible Light Dragoons, while halting at Dorking, and told him that he had murdered a woman at Brighton and had thrown her body into a well.  An affidavit sent from Collumpton, in Devonshire, to the effect that Parker was there ill at the time of the alleged murder, was sufficient to procure him his discharge from custody.

9.—Died, in his 85th year, Henry Keymer, of East Dereham, “many years a respectable auctioneer and land surveyor, and late sole proprietor of Herring’s valuable antidote for the cure of the bite of a mad dog.”

11.—A bull, the property of Edward Kett, butcher, of Norwich, was baited near “Bishop Gates.”  The baiting “offered very great sport; the bull was a game one, and the dogs equally so.”

24.—Died, in the Close, Norwich, aged 90, the Rev. George Sandby, D.D., 39 years Chancellor of the Diocese.  He was Vice-Chancellor of Merton College, Oxford, in 1760.

28.*—“His Majesty has been pleased to appoint Wm. Firth, Esq., Steward of Norwich, to be attorney-general in the province of Upper Canada.”  On his resignation of the Stewardship on May 3rd, Mr. Firth received the thanks of the Corporation, and Mr. Robert Alderson was appointed in his place.  At about this date, Mr. Thomas Amyot was appointed secretary and registrar of Lower Canada.

p. 56APRIL.

4.—William Carter, aged 35, was executed on the “new drop,” Castle Hill, Norwich, for horse stealing.

5.—The Norwich Court of Guardians resolved to petition the House of Commons against Mr. Whitbread’s Bill for amending the Poor Laws.

9.—Died, at his house in Berners Street, London, in his 46th year, John Opie, R.A.  His remains were interred in St. Paul’s Cathedral on April 20th.

13.—The Rev. James Brown was elected minister of St. Andrew, Norwich, in place of the Rev. Dr. Adkin, deceased.  There were three other candidates.  None but resident parishioners were allowed to vote.

16.—Died, at his house in King Street, Norwich, aged 60, Mr. James Hudson, banker.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1788, was elected alderman for the Mancroft Ward in 1791, and was Mayor in 1794.  Mr. Starling Day, jun., was elected alderman in his place.

MAY.

4.—An election took place at Norwich on the dissolution of Parliament.  Mr. J. Patteson, who polled 1,474 votes, and Mr. W. Smith, 1,156 votes, were returned.  The unsuccessful candidate, Mr. Robert Fellowes, polled 546 votes.

—Lynn election: Lord Walpole and Sir M. B. ffolkes returned unopposed.

8.—Thetford election: Lord Wm. Fitzroy and Mr. T. Creevey returned unopposed.

—Yarmouth election: Mr. S. Lushington, 604 votes; Mr. W. Jacob, 341; Mr. A. Upcher (unsuccessful), 21.

12.—County election: Mr. T. W. Coke and Sir Jacob Astley, Bart., elected unopposed.

—At a county meeting a committee was appointed for the purpose of forming a club for the independent freeholders of Norfolk.  It was a revival of the Norfolk Club, and met three times a year in Norwich, namely, in the Summer Assize week, in the Michaelmas Sessions week, and in the Easter Sessions week.  The first meeting was held at the Angel Inn, on October 6th, when Sir John Lombe, Bart., presided.

14.—The birthday of the Right Hon. Wm. Windham was celebrated by a dinner at the Angel Inn, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. Wm. Smith, M.P.

25.—A rowing match took place, from Carrow Abbey to Whitlingham, between the Victory, four oars, and the Britannia, six oars.  The course was 4½ miles, and the time of the winning boat, the Britannia, 33 mins. 50 secs.

p. 57JUNE.

1.—Died, at Worstead, Mrs. Ann Miller, formerly of Yarmouth, aged 102 years.

4.—His Majesty the King entered upon the 70th year of his age.  There were great rejoicings in Norwich.  The Mayor and Corporation attended service at the Cathedral, the troops—Regular, Militia, and Volunteer—paraded in the Market Place, fired a feu de joie, and marched past.  The Mayor gave a dinner, and the several corps dined at their respective inns.

16.—Mr. Robert Herring was sworn into office as Mayor of Norwich, and gave a dinner to 150 guests at Chapel Field House.  “The Mayor’s wine being of the first flavour and quality, the festivity of the day was kept up till past one o’clock the next morning.”

22.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  The implements exhibited included an improved Norfolk plough, invented by Mr. Balls, of Saxlingham.  Mr. Herring, jun., of Norwich, produced goods of his manufacture, and stated that 117 shawls had that year been made by his firm from 224 lbs. of Mr. Coke’s Southdown wool.  Mr. Paul, of Norwich, showed some beautiful specimens of shawls manufactured by himself, “including a flowered shawl, a very close imitation of India, made wholly of Mr. Coke’s marino wool.”  The best implement shown this year was an ingenious device by Mr. Paul, of Starston, for catching turnip fly.

29.—Mr. Bannister appeared at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in “Bannister’s Budget, or an Actor’s Ways and Means.”  The entertainment was repeated on July 4th.

JULY.

3.—Died, at Ferney Hill, Gloucester, Mrs. Cooper, widow of the Rev. Dr. Cooper, of Yarmouth, and daughter of Mr. James Bransby, of Shotesham.  She was the author of several well-known works, namely, “Fanny Meadows,” “The Daughter,” “The School for Wives,” and “The Exemplary Mother.”

7.—Died, at Heydon House, aged 53, William Earle Bulwer, Colonel in the Army and Brigadier-General of Volunteers.

9.—An action for crim. con. was heard in the Court of King’s Bench, in which Sir G. B. Brograve, of Worstead Hall, Lieut.-Col. of the East Norfolk Militia, was plaintiff, and Capt. Elwin, of the same regiment, defendant.  The jury returned a verdict for the plaintiff, damages, £2,000.  At Doctor’s Commons, on November 21st, 1808, the court granted a divorce a mansâ et thoro, prayed for on the part of Sir Geo. Brograve against Lady Brograve.

8.—Capt. Manby, barrack-master at Yarmouth, made several experiments with his life-saving apparatus in the presence of Admiral Douglas and other officers of the Navy, who expressed satisfaction with the invention.

—A single wicket cricket match was played at Thetford between two gentlemen of that town and two of Newmarket.  The former won, with 37 runs to spare.

p. 5811.—Died, at Lady Fenn’s, East Dereham, aged 67, Mr. John Frere, of Roydon, Norfolk, and of Finningham, Suffolk.  He was member for Norwich from 1799 to 1802.

15.—Mr. Paul, of Starston, exhibited a machine for removing lice from peas.  Two men, in four hours, caught 24 pecks of lice, and in the afternoon took 16 pecks in 2½ hours.

16.—Died, aged 81, Mr. Peter Finch, who for many years held the office of Clerk of the Peace for the county.

23.—A fleet of 24 sail of the line assembled in Yarmouth Roads, under the command of Admiral Gambier, who, with Vice-Admiral Stanhope, sailed on the 26th with 16 sail of the line, 10 frigates, 10 sloops, 9 gun brigs, &c., for the Baltic.  Sir Sidney Smith sailed in the Prince of Wales, of 98 guns, Admiral Gambier’s flagship.  A strict embargo commenced on the 24th.  The remainder of the fleet afterwards sailed.  An expedition, under Lieut.-General Sir David Baird, sailed from Harwich about the same time.  On September 16th, intelligence was received of the surrender on the 7th of Copenhagen, with the arsenal and the whole of the Danish Navy, to the British forces, under the command of Lieut.-General Lord Cathcart and Admiral Gambier.  The British fleet, which sailed from Yarmouth, sustained but comparatively trifling loss.

27.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich, before Mr. Justice Grose, Martha Alden was tried for the murder of her husband, Samuel Alden, at Attleborough, on July 18th.  While the man was asleep in bed his wife, with a bill-hook, inflicted terrible wounds on his head, face, and throat.  With the assistance of a girl, named Mary Orvice, the prisoner on the 19th deposited the body in a dry ditch in the garden; on the 20th, they carried it in a corn sack to the common and “shot” it into a pond, where it was subsequently discovered.  His lordship, in summing up, said that Orvice might have been charged with being accessory to an attempted concealment of murder.  The jury found the prisoner guilty, and the judge “doomed her to death, to be drawn on a hurdle to the place of execution, there to be hanged by the neck, and her body to be dissected.”  The execution took place at Norwich on July 31st.  The populace at Attleborough showed their detestation of the crime by destroying the former dwelling-house of the prisoner.  It was reported that the ghost of Alden “walked” on the Castle Hill, and in the month of December a party of drunken men, who went there to “lay” the spirit, were seized by the jailer and detained in prison for two days, pending an inquiry into their conduct.

—At the same Assizes, before Lord Ellenborough, an action was tried, in which Lord Albemarle claimed for the recovery of penalties, amounting to £700, under the game laws.  The defendant, one Brooke, a poulterer and wholesale dealer in game, at Thetford, was connected with the poachers and gamekeepers in Norfolk, and with the dealers in Leadenhall market.  “The interruption of his commerce,” said counsel, “had created as much alarm in Leadenhall market as the stagnation of trade between this country and the North of Germany had occasioned amongst the merchants at the Royal Exchange.”  A verdict was given for the plaintiff, damages £40, “at the rate of £5 for each head of game which had fallen out of a basket sent by the defendant to the London waggon office at Thetford for transit to the metropolis.”

p. 5929.—At the public breakfasting at Harper’s Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, nearly 1,100 persons assembled, and 3,500 were present at the evening performance.

30.—The sum of £180 3s. was collected at the anniversary service held at the Cathedral on behalf of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, and £50 16s. resulted from the dinner at the White Swan.

AUGUST.

5.—In the House of Commons a petition was presented on behalf of Messrs. Blackburne and Bonner, brewers, of Lynn, and of the inhabitants of the town, who complained of the undue influence and the arbitrary proceedings of the magistrates of that borough in withholding publicans’ licences.

8.—The Norwich Paving Commissioners advertised for tenders for lighting the city.  The number of lamps, it was stated, would not be fewer than 1,200 nor more than 1,400.

10.—Mr. Edmund Reader, of Sisland, near Loddon, undertook, for a bet of five guineas, to cut and tie one acre of wheat in 16 hours in a field belonging to Mr. Burton, at Barford.  In 14 hours he had cut one acre seven roods, and had tied 430 sheaves.

31.—A match at bowls was played at Cley, between three gentlemen of that parish and three of Holt, for 50 guineas a side.  The latter won five games out of seven.

SEPTEMBER.

7.—The City of Norwich Regiment of Volunteers assembled on Tombland at five am., and marched to Yarmouth for garrison duty.  There were on parade 26 officers, 30 sergeants, 25 corporals, and 500 rank and file.

12.—Mr. Philipsthal’s Phantasmagoria was exhibited at the Theatre Royal, Norwich.

14.—Died, at Rainham, in his 84th year, George Marquis Townshend, a Field Marshal, Colonel of the 2nd Regiment of Dragoon Guards, and Lord Lieutenant of Norfolk.  His lordship represented Norfolk from 1747 to 1764, and from 1768 to 1772 was Viceroy of Ireland.  He acted as Brigadier-General, and gained much honour at the taking of Quebec in 1759, when the command of the troops devolved upon him, in consequence of the death of General Wolfe and of the wounding of General Monkton, second in command.  His Majesty granted a pension of £1,000 a year out of the privy purse to the Marchioness Townshend.

19.*—“One day last week a child, playing in the churchyard of St. Michael-at-Plea, Norwich, found concealed behind a gravestone, covered with a tile, a parcel, containing more than £90 in forged Bank of England notes and £14 in counterfeit shillings.”

21.—At a quarterly assembly of the Norwich Corporation the city gates still remaining were ordered to be taken down.

p. 60OCTOBER.

13.—The Duke of Clarence, accompanied by the Earl and Countess Cholmondeley, visited Lynn.  The Corporation presented an address to his Royal Highness, who was afterwards admitted a free burgess.

19.—Blickling races were this year supplemented by wrestling matches.

22.—Died, aged 40, at Brickhill, Buckinghamshire, on his way from Liverpool, where he had arrived from America, Robert Murray, merchant, of New York, fifth son of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.  He had been absent more than 16 years, and had revisited England, in the hope of alleviating the symptoms of a pulmonary complaint.

24.—Died, in Dublin, aged 72, Mr. James Bradfield, of Stoke Ferry, who by his will endowed a school in that village for 25 poor children.

28.—Lord Cathcart, Commander-in-Chief of the Army employed against Copenhagen, arrived in Norwich from Yarmouth, and next day proceeded to London.

29.—Louis XVIII., travelling as Count de Lille, arrived off Yarmouth in a Swedish frigate, and landed on November 2nd.  He was accompanied by the Duke D’Angoulême, the Duke de Berri, and by other representatives of the French nobility.

—A severe storm occurred off the Norfolk coast, and several transports were lost at Yarmouth, where Admiral Gambier arrived with 32 sail of the line, several Dutch prizes, and a great number of frigates.

31.*—“The Militia ballot has commenced.  The quota for Norfolk and Norwich is 907.”

—At the Old Bailey, J. Hopgrave was indicted for an assault, with intent to murder his Majesty’s officers of Excise in a smuggling affray at Cawston.  The ringleader, one Jeremiah Abel, was convicted at the Old Bailey some months previously.  Hopgrave succeeded in proving an alibi, and was acquitted.  On December 8th, Richard Wiseman, of the Three Pigs, at Edgefield, was charged at the Old Bailey with obstructing the Excise officers at the same time.  He also was acquitted on proving an alibi.

At the end of this month a shooting party at Holkham killed in three days 1,457 head of game.  The party included Mr. Coke, the Marquis of Tavistock, Lords Albemarle, Spencer, Althorpe, Anson, and Bradford, Generals Walpole and Keppel, Sir J. Shelly, Col. Keppel, Messrs. W. Smith, Churchill, Collet, Wilbraham, W. Fitzroy, and Smith.  Mr. Coke killed 60 the first day, 66 the second, and 70 the third.

NOVEMBER.

4.—A large barn full of barley in the straw, and a stack of barley, the property of General Money, of Trowse, were destroyed by fire, caused by an incendiary, named Thomas Sutton.  At the Assizes, held at Thetford, on March 21st, 1808, before Mr. Justice Grose, he was found guilty and sentenced to death.  He had eight years p. 61previously been sentenced to seven years’ transportation for stealing a pony belonging to the general, and his father had suffered death for horse stealing.  “At the trial he behaved in a most audacious manner to the judge, and when sentenced requested the Sheriff to let him be taken to Norwich that he might be hanged amongst his friends.”  He was executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, April 9th, 1808.

—An entertainment was given by Lord and Lady Cholmondeley to upwards of 300 persons at Houghton Hall.  The great hall was converted into a theatre for the performance of an opera written by Mr. Panton.  The performers included the author, Miss Wood, Lord Malpas, and the Messrs. Lanyas.  Between the acts Lady Charlotte Cholmondeley and Miss Cholmondeley played a pianoforte duet.  The opera was preceded by an address, spoken by Lord Malpas, and was followed by a dance and supper.

7.*—“Nathaniel Easthaugh, bellman in Norwich, in gratitude for having had possession of the city bell for 27 years (one year only excepted), has liberally subscribed the sum of ten guineas towards the new pavement, he being at times unable, through infirmity, to walk over the old one.”

10.—Died, aged 52, the Rev. John Walker, one of the minor canons of Norwich Cathedral.  His widow afterwards published a volume of his poems.

11.—Seven fishermen were drowned within 50 yards of the shore at Sheringham, through the upsetting of their boats in a sudden gale.

14.—The privateer La Décidé was brought into Yarmouth by L’Amiable frigate, Capt. G. Stuart.  The privateer had long evaded the cruisers and committed great depredations upon commerce.  She was supposed to have captured 30 prizes within three years.

27.—Died, aged 77, John Clarke Snell, of Norwich.  “He was formerly of Bury St. Edmund’s, and remarkable for his eccentricities and for his study of astrology, which rendered him a well-known character.”

28.—John Gulley and Tom Cribb, the famous pugilists, gave an exhibition of sparring in the great room at the King’s Head Inn, Norwich.  Upwards of 200 persons were present, including the Right Hon. William Windham and the Hon. Edward Harbord.

30.—At the annual meeting of the Society of Universal Good Will at Norwich, it was reported that 2,420 persons had been relieved since its establishment.

DECEMBER.

12.—Married, at his lordship’s house, Charles Street, Berkeley Square, London, the Right Hon. the Earl of Craven to Miss Louisa Brunton, of Covent Garden Theatre, and daughter of John Brunton, Esq., formerly of Norwich, who gave the bride away.  “The Earl is in his 37th and the fair bride in her 25th year.”  Mr. Brunton was for many years manager of the Norwich Theatre, and Miss Louisa Brunton was a favourite performer there.

p. 6213.—Died, in St. Simon’s, Norwich, aged 86, Mrs.  Mary Mack.  “She lived several years in the service of the late Mr. W. Tilyard, of Poringland, during which time she constantly travelled the number of 2,920 miles annually, which in ten years amounted to 29,220, the house being fully four miles from Norwich, and her master, who was a very eccentric character, never failed sending her every day (Sunday not excepted) for such things as his whimsical and capricious fancy suggested he stood in need of.”

—Died, at Claxton, Mrs. Eliza Norton, in her 101st year.

19.*—“A telegraph or signal station is on the point of being erected upon the hills leading from Norwich to Thorpe.  It is to be commanded by a naval officer, and the object of it is to open and maintain a prompt communication with Yarmouth on the one side, and with the telegraphs between Norwich and London on the other.”  Messages were afterwards sent from the Admiralty to Yarmouth in 17 minutes.  The chain of communication was by Strumpshaw, Thorpe Hills, Honingham, Carlton, and Harling, and thence by way of Thetford and Bury St. Edmund’s, across Newmarket Heath, to London.

21.—Experiments were made at Norwich, with the view of testing the practicability of General Money’s proposal to Government for mounting cannon on waggons for the protection of vessels on the coast.  The Artillery officers at Woolwich gave General Money credit for his invention, and many ship owners and masters of vessels approved the plan.

An Act was passed this year for enabling Rear-Admiral Bentinck, tenant for life under the will of his late father, Mr. John Albert Bentinck, to charge his estates in the county of Norfolk with the sums therein mentioned, for embanking, improving, and increasing the same estates by the means therein mentioned.

1808.

JANUARY.

9.*—“Capt. Manby’s invention for rescuing persons from vessels stranded on a lee shore has received the approbation of the Lords of the Admiralty.”  On February 12th the apparatus was successfully employed in saving the crew of a vessel named the Elizabeth of Plymouth.  In May, the Society of Arts awarded their gold medal to Capt. Manby for his invention; and Parliament at different times rewarded him with grants amounting to £6,000, and adopted his apparatus at various stations on dangerous parts of the coast.

10.—Lord Hutchinson and Lord L. Gower arrived at Norwich from Yarmouth, where they had landed from the Belette sloop of war, on their return from St. Petersburgh.

p. 6314.—During a heavy gale several vessels were stranded between Blakeney and Sheringham.  Much damage was done by an inundation at Cley-next-the-Sea.

17.—Died, of typhus fever, in his 20th year, Viscount Trafalgar, only son of Earl Nelson.

23.*—“In consequence of the anniversary of King Charles’s martyrdom, the nights of performance at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, next week, will be Monday, the 25th, Wednesday, the 27th, Thursday, 28th, and Friday, 29th.”

FEBRUARY.

11.—A great snow storm.  The coaches which should have arrived on Friday did not reach Norwich until the following Tuesday and Wednesday.  “The mail guards were obliged to traverse the country with the bags on their shoulders, sometimes on foot, up to their breasts in snow, and sometimes on horseback, across the open fields and heaths.  From the Friday till the following Tuesday the bags for London by Newmarket were dispatched hence in post chaises.  Labourers were employed in clearing the highways, and in some places they cut three miles through the snow.”  So complete an obstruction to communication had not occurred since 1797, when the coaches were four days performing the journey from London.

14.—Died, in London, in his 60th year, “that eccentric and truly worthy character,” the Rev. Joshua Larwood, rector of Swanton Morley, and many years chaplain on board the Britannia.  He was the author of “Erratics,” and of several other works.

15.—The constables of Norwich destroyed many dogs which had been found without muzzles in the public streets.  Several cases of rabies and of deaths from hydrophobia were reported at this date.

17.—Died, at the age of 83, at Norwich, Mr. Francis Columbine.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1769, and of Mayor in 1776.

Meetings were held in Norwich and throughout Norfolk this month, at which Mr. Joseph Lancaster lectured on his improved method of education.  Lancasterian schools were established in Norwich, Lynn, and Downham in May, 1809.

MARCH.

2.—The Hon. William Asheton Harbord appointed Lord Lieutenant and Custos Rotulorum of the county of Norfolk, in place of the Marquis Townshend, deceased.  The Corporation of Norwich, on May 3rd, conferred upon Mr. Harbord the honorary freedom of the city.

5.*—“The Dean of Norwich has appointed Dr. Beckwith to be organist of the Cathedral, in the room of Mr. T. Garland, resigned.”  (Mr. Garland died on February 21st, aged 77, having been organist 59 years.)

8.—Died, at Norwich, aged 77, William Love, musician.  “He was formerly leader of the band at the Theatre, a person of great genius p. 64in his profession, of great suavity of manners, and of great improvidence in conduct.”

11.—At a meeting held at the Angel Inn, Norwich, at which Mr. T. W. Coke presided, Mr. Nathaniel Kent, of Ripon Hall, was presented by the agriculturists of the county with a massive silver goblet, in recognition of “his integrity and impartiality between landlord and tenant, in his profession as a surveyor of land, and for his liberal and upright attachment to the interests of agriculture.”

30.—The Racoon sloop of war, 20 guns, was launched from Mr. J. Preston’s dockyard at Yarmouth.

31.—Died, at Wells-next-the-Sea, aged 82, Mr. Charles Boyles, brother of Mrs. Murray, widow of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.

—Died, at Melton House, aged 18, Miss Astley, eldest daughter of Sir Jacob Astley, Bart.  She was in the act of placing coals upon the fire, when her dress became ignited, and she succumbed to her injuries within twenty-four hours.

APRIL.

2.*—“We understand that, in consequence of many burdens lately brought on the city by the birth of illegitimate children, the Corporation of the Guardians have offered a reward of 2s. 6d. to any person who shall give information of the pregnancy or delivery of any unmarried woman in Norwich.”

4.—The week commencing this date, during which the ward elections were held at Norwich, was for the first time referred to as “cleansing week.”  “Many voters, who had been cooped up at farm houses in the country at great expense, were brought in post chaises to the polling places.  For the last four days we have had as much ringing and firing of bells as if we had received a confirmation of the reports of the naval victory in the Mediterranean.”

9.—The performance for the benefit of Mr. Hindes, manager of the Theatre Royal, Norwich, produced the largest receipt ever known at the house on a like occasion, namely, £163.

16.—John Chapman, 34, and William Fuller, 26, for shooting at and wounding a gamekeeper in the service of Lord Cholmondeley, were executed on Castle Hill, Norwich.

28.—A county meeting was held at the Shire-house, Norwich, to take into consideration the measure pending in Parliament for prohibiting the use of grain in distilleries, and for the substitution of sugar.  It was resolved to petition against such prohibition as likely to prove injurious to the owners and occupiers of land in Norfolk.  (Parliament determined, however, in favour of using Colonial produce instead of English barley.)

30.*—(Advt.)  “There will be a match of cocks fought between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Norfolk, to show 25 mains and 8 byes, to fight for two guineas a battle, and 20 guineas the odd.  One turn out for ten guineas; to be fought on the 2nd and 3rd day of May, at the King’s Head, in Magdalen Street, Norwich.  A pair p. 65of cocks to be pitted at twelve o’clock precisely.  Feeders, Lamb for Norwich; Carter for Norfolk.”

Died, this month, aged 100, Mr. John Myhill, of Catfield.

MAY.

2.—A new peal of ten bells was opened at St. Nicholas, Great Yarmouth.

3.—Mr. Robert Alderson was elected Governor of the Norwich Court of Guardians, in the place of Mr. Robert Partridge, resigned.

6.—Mrs. and Miss Robertson, of the Close, Norwich, and the Misses Doune were returning to the city from Hockering, when they were stopped by a highwayman near Cossey Wood.  He was armed with pistols, and, after taking all their valuable articles of jewellery, rode off.

10.—An Expedition, consisting of 150 transports, sailed from Yarmouth for the Baltic, for the protection of Sweden.  The Mars, Admiral Keats, the Audacious, Capt. Lukin, and other warships formed the convoy; and Sir John Moore, with Major-Generals Paget and Murray, had command of the troops.

21.—The coach house, brew house, and offices at Blickling Hall, with 180 stand of arms, were destroyed by fire.

JUNE.

4.—The Society for the Encouragement of Arts and Manufactures awarded their silver medal to Mrs. Coppin, of St. Stephen’s Street, Norwich, for her oil painting, “The Gamesters.”

—An annual ploughing match was inaugurated at Ellingham by the Rev. Wm. Johnson, to encourage the use of oxen in husbandry.

6.—The Norwich Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, Col. Harvey, 500 strong, proceeded to Yarmouth for garrison duly, and returned to Norwich on the 18th.

13.—A cricket match, for 50 guineas a side, was played at Swaffham, between the gentlemen of Swaffham and the gentlemen of Shipdham, and was won by the latter.

16.—Died, at Norwich, in this 68th year, Sir Roger Kerrison, banker, and for many years Receiver-General for Norfolk.  He was an alderman of the Mancroft Ward, served the office of High Sheriff in 1800, and was twice Mayor of Norwich, 1778-1802.

20.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  The sweepstakes of 28 subscribers, at 10s. 6d. each, for naming the weight of Mr. Coke’s three-shear half-bred merino wether, was won by Mr. Thomas More, of Watham, who guessed the exact weight, 132 lbs.  A patent dibbling iron, which deposited the seed at the time the holes were struck, exhibited by the Rev. Mr. Barker, of Woodbridge, was the winning implement.  Mr. F. Smith, of Norwich, exhibited specimens of ladies’ merino dresses, scarves, shawls, stockings, coating, and cassimers, most of which were made from the wool of Mr. Coke’s p. 66sheep.  “A pair of worstead stockings were of so delicate a fabric that the two stockings passed at the same time through a lady’s ring.  A manufacturer had ordered a dozen pair at 18 guineas.”

21.—The Guild feast given at St. Andrew’s Hall by the Mayor of Norwich, Mr. Starling Day, jun., was attended by 580 guests.

JULY.

12.—At the Norwich Quarter Sessions, the Norwich Flour Company appealed against the assessment of their premises in St. Andrew’s.  The company was described as an unprofitable concern.  The assessment was reduced.

—A member of the Swaffham Cricket Club played and beat, with great ease in one innings, “six players of professional celebrity in that town.”

13.—The thermometer registered 97 degrees in the shade at Catton.  Many horses died from the excessive heat.

14.—Sergt.-Major Marshall, of the Thetford Volunteer Corps, and his son were killed by an accidental explosion while sorting damaged cartridges.

18.—A prize fight, for £40 a side, took place on Kirstead Green, between Wm. Underwood, of Seething, and John Chase, of Brooke.  Eighty-five rounds were fought in two hours.  Underwood won.

21.—Thorpe Water Frolic took place.  “The Admiral of the flotilla was placed in a small boat and carried round Thorpe Gardens several times, with guns firing, flags flying, and music playing.  The company sang ‘God Save the King’ and ‘Rule Britannia.’  A young gentleman favoured the company with an excellent hornpipe on the top of the Apollo barge.”

23.—The bankruptcy of Sir R. Kerrison and Sons created much sensation in Norwich.  “The crowd was so great in the King’s Head Inn yard of persons who came to prove their debts that many had to return without proving them.”  The amount proved was considerably over £580,000.  On January 16th, 1809, the creditors agreed to pay the sum of £5,500 to Lady Kerrison, in lieu of dower and of other claims and demands she might have on the estate.  On May 13th, a dividend of 6s. 8d. in the pound was ordered to be paid on the 17th to the 3,600 creditors who had proved their debts.  Dividends amounting to 16s. 4d. in the pound were afterwards paid.

29.—At a special meeting of the Norwich Corporation, an address to his Majesty was unanimously agreed to, “on the subject of the noble struggle of the patriots of Spain and Portugal against the Ruler of France, and of the generous aid given to their endeavours by our Government.”

AUGUST.

1.—Mr. Stephen Springall, farmer, of Wroxham Hall, and his nephew, aged 12, were drowned at Wroxham Water Frolic, through the capsizing of their boat.

p. 678.—A remarkable storm occurred at Norwich.  Streets were inundated and cellars flooded.  “The roaring of the waters in falling from the roof to the lower leads of the Cathedral was so tremendous as literally to drown the noise of the thunder that accompanied it.”

15.—The Norwich Society of Artists opened their fourth exhibition.

20.*—“At the Hospital anniversary at Norwich, the sum collected at the Cathedral was £161 1s., and at the dinner, £53 7s.  Of the church collection, £1 6s. 6d. was base coin.”

—*“Among the many performers who have contributed in the course of the Assize week to the entertainment of the city, may be reckoned the wonderful John Howes, from Eyke, near Woodbridge.  Though bereft of sight and moving in a humble sphere of life, his arrival in Norwich was announced by the ringing of bells, for he carries a complete peal of twelve about with him, which, when he performs, he suspends upon a pole placed horizontally across the backs of two chairs.  A variety of peals, as well as song tunes, country dances, &c., he plays with a degree of accuracy and precision that charm all those who witness his performance.”

28.—Braconash Church was reopened for service by the Bishop of Norwich, after its complete restoration.  Mr. T. T. Berney, of Bracon Hall, entertained many of the neighbouring clergy at dinner.

30.—Died, at the age of 101, Mrs. Mary Moneyment, of St. Faith’s.

Many of the Volunteers transferred their services to the Local Militia, established this month under the Act passed in July.

SEPTEMBER.

2.—Died, in his 49th year, Dr. Richard Lubbock, of Norwich.  He was educated at the Grammar School, under the Rev. G. W. Lemon, author of the “English Derivative Dictionary,” was a pupil of Mr. Rigby, and studied for several years at Edinburgh University.

5.—A cricket match was played at Thetford, between the Thetford and Newmarket clubs.  The former won by 50 “notches.”

17.*—“At the late meeting of the county magistrates, it was agreed that the passage way from the top of the Castle Hill, Norwich, to the north-east side should be filled up, and the iron railing continued from the bridge quite round.  The descent from that part of the hill towards Gurney’s bank will be by a flight of stone steps.”

19.—Great festivities took place at Rainham Hall to celebrate the arrival of the Marquis Townshend.  “A bullock was roasted and four sheep boiled, and a large quantity of that old beverage made from malt and hops contributed to make all heads and hearts glow with gratitude to the noble donor.”

21.—At a quarterly meeting of the Norwich Corporation, the Commons proposed that the representatives of the city be instructed to oppose the Bill for erecting a bridge over the river at Carrow Abbey.  The motion was not agreed to by the aldermen.  On December 15th, a numerous meeting was held at the Guildhall to oppose the erection of the bridge, on the ground that it was unnecessary.  On February 20th, 1809, Mr. Patteson presented a petition to the House p. 68of Commons, praying for leave to bring in a Bill for carrying out the proposal.  On April 21st, Mr. Patteson moved the second reading of the Carrow Bridge Bill, which was opposed by Mr. W. Smith.  Fourteen voted for the motion, and nine against.  These numbers not constituting a House, the further consideration of the Bill was deferred to a future sitting, when the second reading was carried by 48 votes to 26.  Ultimately, the Bill received the Royal assent.  On July 26th, the Commissioners selected Mr. A. Brown’s plan for an iron bridge, and on July 31st, contracts were entered into with Mr. J. G. Aggs for casting the ironwork; with Messrs. Athow and De Carle for the stonework; and with Mr. N. Wyeth for the brickwork and abutments.  On December 18th, a proposition was submitted to the Commissioners in favour of abandoning the Carrow Bridge scheme, in view of the projected erection, near the Foundry, of a bridge over the Wensum.  It was decided, however, to push on with the work as speedily as possible; and the first stone was laid on April 26th, 1810, by the Mayor, Mr. Thomas Back.

25.—Died, the celebrated Greek scholar, Richard Porson.  He was a native of Ruston, in Norfolk.  He left a sister, the wife of Mr. S. Hawes, of Coltishall.  His brother Thomas, who kept a boarding school at Fakenham, died in 1792.

27.—A rowing match, for ten guineas a side, took place at Norwich, between the six-oared boats, the Britannia and the Crown Point.  The latter won.  Distance, 4½ miles; time, 30 minutes 30 seconds.

OCTOBER.

5.—Mr. Shelford Bidwell was elected Mayor of Thetford.  “The usual entertainment was given to the Corporation.  The source from whence it was, as usual, derived is worthy of record.  The roast beef is provided by the Town Clerk; the boiled beef by the tenant of the tolls of the navigation; the geese by the tenant of the bridge tolls; the game and wine by the Mayor-Elect; and the keeper of the tavern adjacent to the Guildhall finds the plumb puddings.  Is this immemorial custom in the above very ancient borough not the origin of the present fashionable Pic Nics?”

10.—About two-thirds of Col. Patteson’s Volunteer Infantry were enrolled as Local Militia.

15.—The Norwich corn merchants demanded of the farmers a month’s credit, instead of paying ready money for their corn as hitherto, but it was resisted by the growers, and ultimately abandoned by the merchants.  In the Court of King’s Bench, on November 25th, Lord Ellenborough, who was applied to for a rule, held that individuals might buy and sell upon terms agreed to, but combining to impose terms upon the growers was calculated to enhance the price of grain in the market, and to lessen the supply in the market, which was another cause for an increased price.

16.—Fundenhall Church was opened, after extensive repair.  The chancel was almost rebuilt by Mr. T. T. Berney, the impropriator.

18.—A rowing match, for five guineas a side, took place between the Revenge, six oars, and the Lion, four oars.  The course was from Carrow to Whitlingham and back.  The Revenge won.

p. 6925.—At Blickling Races a silver cup was for the first time offered for competition by horses ridden in a regiment or troop of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry.

28.—The organ erected at St. Andrew’s Church, Norwich, was opened by Dr. Beckwith.  A grand selection from the works of Handel was played upon the instrument, and upwards of £120 was collected.

31.—At Holkham, from October 31st to November 17th, Mr. Coke and seven other guns killed 1,131 hares, 214 pheasants, 366 partridges, 983 rabbits, 30 woodcock, 12 wood pigeons, and 5 snipe.

NOVEMBER.

9.—A woman, named Mary Hudson, aged 35, escaped from Norwich City Gaol under extraordinary circumstances.  She made a hole through the wall of the room in which she was confined, and crept through it into the street, taking her six months old infant with her.  The wall was two feet in thickness, and she must have been employed some nights in making the aperture.  The bricks were concealed beneath her bed, and the loose rubbish put into the pillowcase.  Another bed served to conceal the hole in the wall.  In the hue and cry advertisement, offering a reward of ten guineas for her recapture, it was stated that a Yarmouth hawker and pedlar, named Thomas Cocks, “who frequently feeds cocks for fighting in Norfolk and Suffolk,” was suspected of having assisted the woman to escape.  There is no record of her recapture.

15.—Swaffham Coursing Meeting took place.  It was described as “the most successful meeting since the renewal of coursing here.”  Two hundred persons attended the ball.

24.—The Wymondham troop of Yeomanry Cavalry presented a valuable sword to the commanding officer, Capt. John Darell.

DECEMBER.

10.*—“The lay clerks of Norwich Cathedral have lately had their salaries augmented £12 each, being only the second advance since the time of Henry VIII.”

17.—From Saturday, the 17th, to Saturday, the 24th, the Newmarket mail coach, owing to the heavy fall of snow, did not arrive in Norwich with the letters until after the departure of the coaches for London.  Great inconvenience was occasioned thereby in commercial circles.

21.—Died, aged 18, Miss Fisher, only daughter of Mr. Fisher, of the Newmarket Theatre, and formerly of Norwich.

24.*—(Advt.)  “A main of cocks will be fought at the Maid’s Head Inn, Norwich, on Tuesday and Wednesday, the 3rd and 4th of January, 1809; to show 31 mains, to fight for ten guineas a battle, and 100 the odd battle.  Likewise to show ten bye cocks for five guineas a battle, and two turn outs.  Feeders, Lamb, Norfolk; Cock, Norwich.”

p. 7031.—John Gulley, Tom Crib, and Tom Belcher gave a boxing exhibition at Norwich before an audience of 800 persons.

Col. Robert Harvey, not being joined by a sufficient number of the Volunteers under his command to permit of its becoming a battalion of Local Militia, he resigned his commission, and was succeeded by Lieut.-Col. De Hague.

1809.

JANUARY.

14.*—“The orders lately come down to Norwich, besides affording constant employment to most of the manufacturing poor for nearly twelve months, will in the different branches of labour diffuse upwards of £40,000 in earnings, exclusive of the amount circulated for combing and spinning.”

15.—The Norwich Volunteer Infantry, commanded by Lieut.-Col. De Hague, was formed into a battalion of five companies of 60 men each.

25.—A “grand operatical romance,” entitled “The Forty Thieves,” was produced for the first time at Norwich Theatre, with scenery specially painted by Dixon.

28.*—(Advt.)  “A card.  Mr. Lambert, from Leicester, respectfully informs the ladies and gentlemen of Norwich and its vicinity that he arrived on Sunday at Mr. Leeche’s, at the King’s Head, where he will see company from 11 to 2, from 3 till 6, and from 7 till 9 each day.  Admission one shilling each.”  Lambert died on Wednesday, June 21st, 1809, at Stamford.  He was in his 40th year, and weighed 52 stones 11 lbs.

28.—In consequence of a rapid thaw, the low lying parts of Norwich were flooded.  “Some of the houses were six or seven feet under water,” and boats were rowed in the street at St. Martin-at-Oak.  The marshes below Norwich were so inundated that the course of the river could not be traced, and the barge proceeding to Yarmouth had to return, in consequence of the men being unable to find the channel.

30.—During a violent gale a stack of chimneys fell on the roof of an old house in Cockey Lane, Norwich.  Mr. and Mrs. Graham were buried in the ruins and killed.  On the same night a large tree in Sprowston Park was blown down.  It was planted the day King Charles was beheaded, January 30th, 1649.

FEBRUARY.

3.—Mr. S. Mitchell (as nominee for the Wymer Ward, Norwich) obtained judgment in the Court of King’s Bench, by which it was ruled that Militiamen out on duty, but having dwellings in the city in which their families lived, had a right to vote at ward elections.

p. 717.—A stage coach, owned by Mr. Wm. Funnell, and known as the Lynn and Norwich Telegraph, commenced running.  It left the Star Inn, Lynn, on Tuesdays and Fridays at eight a.m., and arrived at the Woolpack Inn, Norwich, at eight p.m.  It ran by way of Grimston, Great Massingham, Rougham, Litcham, Mileham, Stanfield, Brisley, Elmham, Billingford, Bawdeswell, Lenwade Bridge, Attlebridge, and Drayton.  The return journey was on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

24.—Died, at his house in Bruton Street, London, aged 85, the Right Hon. the Earl of Orford.  His lordship was the nephew of the famous Sir Robert Walpole, afterwards Earl of Orford.  For many years he sat in the House of Lords as Baron Walpole of Wolterton.  On the death of Horace, Earl of Orford, he succeeded to the Barony of Houghton, the Earldom becoming extinct, but he was afterwards created Earl of Orford.  He was succeeded by his eldest son, Lord Walpole, who was for many years member for Lynn.  General Walpole, who concluded the treaty with the Maroons in Jamaica, who seconded Mr. Tierney in his duel with Mr. Pitt, and who was one of Mr. Fox’s secretaries, was a younger son of the deceased Earl.  The remains were brought from London for interment in the family vault at Wolterton.  The funeral procession passed through Norwich on March 10th in the following order:—“Four horsemen preceding the Earl’s coronet, borne on a cushion of crimson velvet by a person on horseback, bare headed; then the body in a hearse, surmounted with plumes and drawn by six horses, followed by a mourning coach and six; his lordship’s coach and six, with blinds up, and servants on horseback closed the procession.”  The great bell of St. Peter Mancroft, and the bells of other churches tolled as the procession passed through the city.

28.—The Norwich Squadron of Light Horse Volunteers had just concluded their drill on Mulbarton Common, when Capt. Darell’s hounds drove a stag across the parade ground.  The Volunteers at once joined in the chase, “to which it will readily be conceived their numbers and appearance gave a great éclat.”  The stag was taken alive in a shed at Mangreen, after a run of 3 hours 10 minutes.

Died, this month, Mr. John Wagstaffe, of Bawburgh.  He was the author of a poem, entitled “Stonehenge,” dedicated to his friend and neighbour, Mr. Edward Jerningham.

APRIL.

3.—A trotting match took place between Young Adonis, a colt belonging to Mr. James Neeve, of Terrington St. Clement, and an eight year old horse, Hue and Cry, owned by Mr. James Mathew, of the same place.  The stakes were £20 a side, and the distance five miles.  The colt, which carried 13 stones, covered the distance in 19 minutes, and won.

10.—A meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, at which resolutions were passed, thanking Col. Wardle and his supporters for their conduct in Parliament, respecting the charges preferred against the Duke of York.

21.—A new peal of bells was opened at Wiveton.  The tenor, weighing upwards of 11 cwts., was cast and hung by Mr. Wm. Dobson, of Downham Market.

p. 7222.—The postmasters announced that “from the wonderfully high prices of horses, hay, corn, &c.,” they were “under the disagreeable necessity of charging eighteen pence per mile from this date.”

27.—Died, aged 32, in Arras prison, John Rising, sixth son of Mr. Robert Rising, of Somerton Hall.  He commanded the Vanguard letter of marque, which was captured, on her return from Trinidad, off Beachy Head, by the Ambuscade, after a desperate resistance.  The remains of the deceased were followed to the grave by upwards of 200 Englishmen.

MAY.

9.—The six regiments of Norfolk Local Militia assembled for 28 days’ training at Norwich, Yarmouth, Lynn, and Swaffham.

11.—Notice was issued of an intended application to Parliament for an Act for erecting a bridge over the river Wensum, at or near the Foundry, in the parish of St. Peter per Mountergate, Norwich, for making roads for connecting the bridge with the Thorpe turnpike road and the Castle Hill, and for raising money to carry the Act into execution.  A petition for leave to bring in a Bill was presented in the House of Commons in February, 1810, and on March 13th the Bill was read a second time, and committed.  It was announced on April 14th that the measure had passed the House of Commons, and been read a first time in the House of Lords.  On April 18th, the Bill received the Royal assent.  The first stone of the bridge was laid on August 6th by Alderman Jonathan Davey, the projector of the undertaking.  The contractor was Mr. Mendham, of Holt.

12.—On this day the thermometer stood at 80 degrees in Norwich.

13.—The Rev. Charles Millard appointed Chancellor of the Diocese of Norwich, on the resignation of the Rev. Henry Bathurst.

19.—The officers of the Lynn Freebridge Legion presented a sword to their commanding officer, Lieut.-Col. Taylor.

JUNE.

3.—Died, aged 49, John Christmas Beckwith, Mus. Doc., organist of Norwich Cathedral and St. Peter Mancroft.  On the 7th, “the remains of this eminent musician were interred in St. Peter’s Church under the organ, agreeable to his own desire.”  His son, Mr. John Beckwith, succeeded him in both appointments.

7.—Died, in his 68th year, at his house in St. Saviour, Norwich, Mr. Thomas Watson, who served the office of Sheriff in 1789, and of Mayor in 1790.

17.—Mr. Bannister appeared at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in his entertainment, “Bannister’s Second Budget for 1809.”

18.—Miss Booth, a well-known Norwich musician, elected organist at the Octagon Chapel, in the place of Mr. John Beckwith.

19.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  An improved turnip drill, made by Mr. Coke’s blacksmith (Mann), was exhibited.  “By p. 73this drill the oilcake dust and turnip seed are kept separate till they come into the funnels, from which they combine and fall into the drills.”  A manure drill cart, invented by Blyth, of Norwich, was also shown.  “This implement first ploughs the soil, deposits the manure, and sows the seed after it, and both are instantly buried up.”  It was worked by two horses and three men.  Mr. Lester, of Paddington, exhibited a working model of a newly-invented machine for separating the corn and seeds from the straw and chaff.

20.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. Thomas Back was sworn in as Mayor, and entertained 640 guests at the Guild feast in St. Andrew’s Hall.  At the ball at Chapel Field House the dancing was opened by the Mayor and Mrs. William Jerningham.  The prisoners in the city gaol thanked the Mayor “for one guinea on the Guild Day, and for a plentiful basket of meat from the hall, which was equally divided amongst them.”

26.—The Bishop of Norwich confirmed 800 persons at the Cathedral.

27.—Swaffham Races re-established with great success.  Four plates were run for on this and the next day, and several of the horses were from Newmarket.  “Public ordinaries were provided at the different inns; that at the Crown was attended by a select party of 68 ladies and gentlemen.  At seven the former retired to their toilettes, and at about nine o’clock proceeded to the assembly-room, where the company numbered 200 persons.  The ball was opened by Mr. P. Hamond and Miss Upcher.”

Brooke House (with 170 acres of land), formerly the residence of Sir Roger Kerrison, was this month purchased by Mr. Thomas Kett, of Seething, for £16,010.

JULY.

5.—Arrived, at Yarmouth, part of the 40 sail of transports, for the purpose of receiving on board the 2nd Battalions of the 11th and 59th Regiments of Foot, the 1st Battalion of the 79th, and other regiments for the Expedition.

11.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, George Hubbard was indicted for stealing a pair of velveteen breeches.  “The offence being for a grand larceny the prisoner was allowed to plead the benefit of clergy.”  He was sentenced to six months’ solitary confinement and to be publicly whipped.

12.—A curious case was tried at the Norfolk Quarter Sessions.  In the course of the inquiry into the conduct of the Duke of York in September, 1808, it was stated that a Mrs. Sinclair Sutherland had written to his Royal Highness to induce him, “for certain reasons,” not to permit Major Turner, 3rd Dragoon Guards, to sell out in favour of Lieut. Sitwell until the following March.  In consequence of this communication, Major Turner’s resignation was not accepted until some months after it had been sent in.  Major Turner went to reside at Buckenham, in this county.  Owing to the annoyance to which he was subjected by Mrs. Sutherland, who, it was alleged, had been under his protection, he appeared in court and moved to exhibit articles of the peace against her.  The court ordered the defendant to enter into p. 74her own recognisances of £100 and to keep the peace for one year.  At the Quarter Sessions on October 4th, Major Turner exhibited fresh articles against Mrs. Sutherland, and stated that seven days after entering into her recognisances she again appeared at his house and committed a breach of the peace.  The court thereupon ordered Mrs. Sutherland to find two sureties of £100 each, and to keep the peace for twelve months.  Not being prepared with her bond, she was committed to Norwich Castle, but was afterwards released upon two Norwich gentlemen agreeing to be bound for her.

15.—Mr. Incledon appeared at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in his entertainment, in three parts, entitled, “A Voyage to India.”  A recitation was given by Mr. Powell, formerly of Norwich Theatre, and of Drury Lane Theatre.

22.—A duel was fought, “in a grove near Norwich, between Mr. B . . . n and Mr. L . . b . . t, both of Norwich, in consequence, we understand, of their paying their addresses to the same young lady.  The parties fired, but neither received any injury, after which a reconciliation took place, and Mr. L. resigned his pretensions to the fair lady.”

24.—A letter was received by the Commandant of the Norwich Volunteer Infantry, from the Lord Lieutenant of the County, “signifying his Majesty’s intention not to make any further allowance for clothing to Volunteer corps, and desiring to know whether the Norwich Volunteers would consider themselves a corps, or transfer their services to the Local Militia?”  The Colonel replied “that they would continue their services as long as his Majesty would be pleased to accept them and their present clothing held out.”

29.—It was announced that Mr. Henry Aston Barker, “who painted the pictures of London, Paris, Constantinople, Edinburgh, Dublin, Cairo, &c.,” exhibited in Leicester Square, London, had drawn “a panoramic view of Norwich and the surrounding country, as seen from the Castle Hill, accompanied by a perspective view of the Castle, engraved in stroke by Mr. Williams.”

31.—The annual exhibition of the Norwich Society of Artists was opened in Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.

—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich, the case of the King v. Larke, Mileham, and others was tried.  This was a prosecution for rioting in a Dissenting meeting-house at Aylsham, and for an assault upon a preacher, named Joseph King, on Sunday evening, March 13th, 1808.  The defendants behaved in a very disorderly manner in the chapel, and carried off the minister by force to the Dog Inn.  The case was settled by the defendants apologising to the prosecutor in open court, and by paying the costs of the prosecution.

—At the same Assizes, Lord Chief Justice Mansfield had before him the action, Leathes, clerk, v. Baker.  It was brought by the Rector of Reedham, under a statute of Edward VI., to recover treble the value of the tithes of corn grown on the defendant’s farm there, in 1808, and involved in dispute a sum of between £300 and £400.  The two main points which the plaintiff endeavoured to substantiate were, first, that the tenant had not set out the tithes according to law; and, secondly, if set out, it was done fraudulently and unfairly.  It was proved that in one field defendant cut the whole crop, tithed and p. 75carried a part on one day, and the remainder on the following day.  The Judge ruled that this mode of tithing was contrary to law, and said he was sorry to be obliged to direct the special jury to find for the plaintiff.  The jury, after requesting his lordship to inform them what was the lowest sum they could award, so as not to subject the defendant to costs, assessed the amount at £8.  A similar action was brought by the same plaintiff at the Lent Assizes at Thetford, on March 19th, 1810, against a farmer, named Maddison, when the jury found for the defendant.  At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich, on August 13th, 1810, before the Lord Chief Justice, Baker brought an action against Mr. Leathes, to recover damages for inconvenience and loss sustained by him in 1808, by reason of the defendant allowing his tithes to remain and rot on the plaintiff’s land.  A verdict was given for Baker, damages, £150.  At the same Assizes, Mr. Leathes brought an action against a farmer, named Long, for not setting out his tithes according to law.  Verdict for the plaintiff, damages, £12.

31.—The Grand Jury for the County held a meeting, at which renewed efforts were commenced to procure the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich.  It was decided to petition Parliament with that object.  At Norwich Quarter Sessions, on October 3rd, the Grand Jury made a presentment, asking the city magistrates to co-operate with the county justices.  On October 11th, the Norwich Corporation resolved to aid the county in the application to Parliament, and in February, 1810, a petition in favour of the removal was presented in the House of Commons by Mr. Patteson.

AUGUST.

6.—A wedding “of an unusual kind was celebrated at Swaffham.  The bride and bridegroom, young persons, were both quite blind.”

10.—Races took place at Mattishall.  A purse, “given by the town,” was won by a horse, named Lord Paget, owned by Mr. Carter, a well-known leader of sport in the district.

14.—Died, at his seat at Costessey, aged 74, Sir William Jerningham, Bart., (“subject to the decision now pending in the House of Lords”) Baron Stafford, of Stafford Castle.  He was succeeded in his title and estate by his eldest son, Mr. George Jerningham, Haughley Park.

15.—News was received at Norwich of the victory of the British Army in Spain, under Sir Arthur Wellesley.

16.—The first division of the West Norfolk Militia marched into Norwich from Colchester, under the command of Lieut.-Col. Nelthorpe.  The second division, commanded by Capt. Barnham, arrived next day.  The regiment, which had not been stationed in Norwich for nearly 30 years, had the Earl of Orford as its colonel-in-chief.

SEPTEMBER.

4.—One hundred prisoners of war, from Flushing, arrived at the Cavalry Barracks, Norwich, from Yarmouth, and next day proceeded p. 76on their route to Norman Cross.  Among them were several officers, and their wives and families, who were sent to Northampton and Chesterford.  They expressed their gratitude to the Mayor, magistrates, and citizens, for the humane treatment they had received in Norwich.

13.—Overstrand Hall was purchased by Lord Suffield for £16,510.

16.*—“Mr. Laverock Love, a young officer of the Aboukir, only 18 years of age (son of Mr. Love, surgeon, of East Dereham, in this county), had the command of a launch at the bombardment of Flushing, and was the first who fired a shot.  Letters have been received from several of his brother officers, speaking in the highest terms of his intrepid gallantry.”

21.—A plan for the regulation of the Cattle Market was adopted by the Corporation of Norwich.

OCTOBER.

3.—H.R.H. the Duke of York left Buckenham Lodge, the seat of General Sir J. Pulteney, to whom he had been on a visit for the shooting.

7.*—(Advt.)  “This day the ‘Norwich and Yarmouth Courier’ will be published and ready for delivery on the arrival of the mail, at the ‘Courier’ Office, late Post Office, Market Place, Norwich, containing the same news as the London papers delivered on Saturday in Norwich, and, of course, such as cannot appear in any country paper till the following week.  A newspaper, gratis, sent post free to every advertiser.”

11.—The Corporation of Norwich voted a loyal address of congratulation to his Majesty, on his entering, on October 25th, upon the 50th year of his reign.  It was decided by nine votes to eight not to celebrate the Jubilee “by roasting a bullock in the Market Place and giving away 10 barrels of beer”; and the aldermen negatived a proposal to appropriate a sum out of the Corporation revenues to secure the discharge of certain debtors, as a means of commemorating the event.

17.—Three newly-erected paper mills at Elsing “were set to work on an entirely new principle.”

19.—Died, in an obscure apartment in the White Hart Yard, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, Mr. Robert Fenn.  “In the early part of his life his company was sought after and welcomed by persons of high rank in the sporting line.  He possessed great skill as a marksman, and had the best method of training dogs.  As a tavern companion he was jocular, facetious, and replete with anecdote, entertaining the company, and inspiring mirth with his oddities and eccentricities.”  He was in his 75th year.

20.—The worsted and silk and worsted manufacturers of Norwich granted the weavers an increase of wages, involving an additional expenditure of £5,000 per annum.

22.—A new altar-piece, of Gothic design, the work of Mr. Copping, of St. Stephen’s, Norwich, was erected in Braconash Church.

p. 7725.—Celebration of the Jubilee of George III.  The Mayor (Mr. Thos. Back) and the Corporation of Norwich attended service at the Cathedral.  At the conclusion of the service the civic procession returned to the Guildhall, and the garrison and Volunteers fired a feu de joie on the Castle Ditches.  The Mayor entertained 340 guests at dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall.  A baron of beef, weighing 172 lbs., surmounted by the Union flag, was brought in by four grenadiers, who bore it twice round the hall to the air of “The Roast Beef of Old England,” and then placed it upon the head table.  Before the company separated it was resolved “that, as a testimony of respect for the Mayor and particularly for his conduct on this day, he be requested to have his portrait painted.”  Numerous benevolent movements were instituted in celebration of the Jubilee.  One was the relief of about thirty poor citizens, with large families, who were liable to have their persons and effects seized under an execution of the Court of Requests, for various small debts, ranging from 5s. to 40s., and the whole amounting to between £26 and £27.  The day was celebrated at Yarmouth, Lynn, and other towns in the county.

28.*—“A lover of improvements requests us to hint that what has been improperly termed Cockey Lane (Norwich) for a long time, should, in consequence of the recent alterations, assume a new appellation, by terming it Market Street or some other appropriate name.”  (The thoroughfare here referred to is now known as London Street.)

—*“The harriers belonging to Mr. T. Thompson, of Bergh Apton, had last week one of the severest and longest chases they have yet experienced.  Mr. Dyke’s famous horse died in the field long before the death of the hare, and three other capital horses were very badly knocked up at the same time.  Only a few of the most dashing sportsmen could keep within sight of the hounds.”

29.—Died, at Earlham Hall, in his 60th year, Mr. John Gurney.  His remains were interred on November 3rd at the Gildencroft burial ground, Norwich, in the presence of an immense concourse of citizens.

NOVEMBER.

2.—After the interval of seven years, a Musical Festival was held at Norwich.  The opening performance on Thursday, 2nd, consisted of the production of the “Messiah” at the church of St. Peter Mancroft; and in the evening a grand miscellaneous concert was given at the Theatre.  On Friday, 3rd, “Sampson” was performed at the church, where also in the evening were rendered selections from various oratorios.  The Festival concluded on Saturday evening, the 4th, with a miscellaneous concert at the Theatre.  The principal vocal performers were Mr. and Mrs. Vaughan, Miss Booth, Mr. Gross, and Mr. Elliott.  Professor Hague, of Cambridge, led the band, and Mr. Beckwith was conductor.  The admission to the church was:—Middle aisle, 5s.; side aisles, 3s. 6d., but no money was taken at the door.

11.*—“The pleasant town of Diss has lately undergone so much improvement as is scarcely to be conceived, the streets having been p. 78entirely new paved, the roads much improved, and all obstructions by the projection of houses and shops removed.  It will also be shortly lighted in such a manner as to render it as complete a town as any in the county.”

18.*—“Died, lately, at Warham, in his 73rd year, Capt. Isaac Eglis Warren.  He was a volunteer in the siege of Quebec, and it was his solemn task to support on the rock and witness the last moments of the immortal Wolfe.”

20.—Died, Sir Philip Stephens, Bart., of Horsford, in his 80th year.  He was 52 years secretary to the Admiralty Office, and was afterwards one of the Lords of the Admiralty.  He possessed large estates in Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, and Middlesex.

25.*—“Some idea of the extent of Norfolk farms may be formed when it is known that one occupier in the western district last year expended more than £1,100 for only one sort of manure (brought many miles), notwithstanding the immense quantity made at home, and the great number of sheep annually folded on the grounds.  On another farm, 25 acres are consumed in roads crossing the lands.”

DECEMBER.

2.—At the King’s Head Inn, Norwich, an estate near Harleston, consisting of 120 acres of moderate land, was sold by auction for 5,990 guineas.  The purchaser had also to pay a considerable sum for timber growing upon the estate.  A short time previously 22 acres of “unmixed and widely lying land” near Aylsham, and by no means of the best quality, fetched nearly 2,000 guineas; the timber was taken by valuation.

12.—Died, in his 80th year, Mr. John Dalrymple, formerly a merchant in Norwich.  “He was a native of Scotland, and descended of an honourable family, set immediately at Thornhill, in Dumfries.  His manly body was inhabited by a noble soul, for he was a model of probity, constancy, fortitude, and disinterestedness.  To his fellow-citizens he presented, during a long and difficult career, an example of zealous and unshaken adherence to the cause of liberality.”  Mr. Dalrymple was a steward of the Scots Society, founded in Norwich by Dr. John Murray.

19.—Mr. Saunder’s Equestrian Company opened their season’s engagement at the Pantheon, Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, “with a stud of horses, all cream coloured, late the property of his Majesty.”

23.—Accounts were received at Yarmouth of the evacuation of the island of Walcheren by the British troops, 5,000 of whom died of fever after the capture of Flushing.

—Intelligence was received of the successful attack on the enemy’s forts at Cortelasso, between Venice and Trieste, by Capt. Hoste, of the Amphion frigate, who on August 24th captured ten Venetian gun boats and other prizes.

—News reached Norwich of the loss of the Glory, outward bound East Indiaman, Capt. Horatio Beevor, with all the officers, crew, and passengers.

p. 7930.*—“The quantity of turkies sent up to town from Norwich within the last ten days amounted to no less than 30 tons weight, which, averaging each bird at 12 lbs., the number would amount to 6,000.”

1810.

JANUARY.

6.—The estate of Sir R. Kerrison, deceased, at Thorpe, was sold for £38,219.  Carrow Abbey House, with 32½ acres of land, was purchased by Mr. P. M. Martineau for £2,020.

8.—A prize fight took place at Thorpe, between Chapman and Pegg, “noted bruisers.”  It ended in the defeat of Pegg, who sustained a broken jaw.

9.—His Majesty’s ship Nemesis struck on Happisburgh Sand.  On the following day her guns were thrown overboard, and she was floated off.

18.—Died, in his 76th year, Mr. John Mitchell, of New Houghton.  “His favourite mule, over 34 years old, at the request of the deceased, went in procession to the grave, and was to have been shot immediately after his return, but through the humane intercession of his granddaughter, Miss Young, the life of this excellent animal was saved, with the promise never to suffer it to be again used.”  By a singular coincidence, Mr. Reynolds, surgeon, of Massingham, while in the act of attending on Mr. Mitchell, died suddenly of the same complaint to which the patient succumbed.

20.—A reconciliation dinner was held by the corn growers and buyers at the King’s Head Inn, Norwich.  Mr. Crisp Brown presided.  Among the toasts were “May the Buyers and Sellers in future meet together in friendship,” and “May the enemies of reconciliation keep a cold water club by themselves.”  A second dinner was held at the King’s Head on March 3rd, under the presidency of Mr. Fellowes.

—*(Advt.)  “To be seen at the Angel Inn, Market Place, Norwich, where he will arrive this day, that most wonderful and surprising Yorkshire youth, 17 years of age, 7 ft. 6 ins. high, and who weighs upwards of 24 stones, who has had the honour to be introduced to their Majesties and the Royal Family at Windsor, where he was most graciously received and entertained.”

25.—At a meeting of corn and coal merchants, held at the King’s Head Inn, Norwich, it was resolved, in consequence of the numerous depreciations committed on the river between Norwich and Yarmouth, not to employ any vessel after March 1st, the hatches of which were not secured by locks and iron bars.  It was further resolved that every lock be sealed by the merchant before the vessel started upon its voyage.

p. 80FEBRUARY.

1.—Died, the eccentric John Fransham, of Norwich.  He was well versed in Latin, Greek, and mathematics, of which for many years he was a teacher.

—Died, in her 59th year, Mrs. Martineau, wife of Mr. Philip Meadows Martineau.  (Mr. Martineau was re-married on February 18th, 1811, at St. Peter Permountergate Church, Norwich, by the Rev. C. Elwin, to Mrs. Somers Clarke, of Tasburgh.)

3.—Bagshaw’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

4.—Died, at Gunton, in his 77th year, the Right Hon. Lord Suffield, who represented Norwich from 1756 to 1786.

10.—Mr. and Mrs. Bowles terminated their theatrical career at Norwich Theatre, and took their farewell benefit.  There was a crowded audience, and the receipt of the house amounted to £160 15s. 6d.  “Equally respectable in private as in public life,” said the newspaper notice, “their success in the scholastic line will, we trust, be as flattering and substantial as that of the drama.”  On March 10th, Mr. Bowles advertised the academy conducted by himself in Queen Street, Great Yarmouth.  On July 27th, 1811, it was announced: “Mr. Bowles, of Yarmouth and late of the Theatre Royal, Norwich, qualified as a dissenting minister at the last Quarter Sessions.”

14.—The East Dereham Troop of Yeomanry Cavalry presented to Capt. John Crisp a silver cup, “as a mark of respect for his conduct during the twelve years he had commanded them.”

20.—At a general meeting of the Norfolk Agricultural Society, it was resolved to petition Parliament against the Bill for prohibiting distillation from grain.

22.—Died, at his house on Castle Meadow, Norwich, aged 74, Mr. William Foster, attorney.  “He was a promoter of most of the public charities in the city, and the founder of many of them.”

24.*—“A farm near Norwich, belonging to the Corporation, and containing not more than 77 acres of profitable land, was lately hired at the astonishing sum of £263 per annum; and the tithes, being all arable land, have long been 7s. 6d. per acre.”

28.—This day was observed as one of solemn fast and humiliation.  At Norwich, “nearly all the shops were shut up, and Divine service performed at all the churches.  The market was held on Tuesday, instead of Wednesday.”

MARCH.

3.*—“There is now living at Oxburgh, in this county, William Durrant, a gardener, who yearly eats 1,095 red herrings, chews 18 lbs. of tobacco, and, to give his nose pleasure, takes 365 ozs. of snuff.  The total sum of tobacco, snuff, and red herrings is £13 18s. 10d.”

p. 81—*(Advt.)  “A main will be fought at the Fleece Inn, Wells, on Monday and Tuesday, the 19th and 20th inst., between the gentlemen of Norfolk and Wells.  To show 31 cocks and 10 byes, and to fight for 10 gs. the battle and 100 the odd; to make four in goes.  Feeders: Fisher for Norfolk, Lamb for Wells.”

10.*—“During the last eleven months, the period of Miss Harriett Howell’s visits to this city, three schools have been established in Norwich, in which no fewer than 294 children are now educated on the plan advocated by Mr. J. Lancaster.”

—*“A drover, near Norwich, has attended the market at Smithfield for 25 years, in which time he has ridden on those journeys alone 126,000 miles.”

—A court martial was held on his Majesty’s ship Utile on a seaman belonging to the Désirée, “at his own request,” for striking an officer and using mutinous language.  He was sentenced to death.

19.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, Thomas William Middleton, for embezzling money the property of Messrs. Gurney and Co., by whom he was employed as clerk, at Fakenham, was sentenced to 14 years’ transportation.

—The panorama, by Serries, of the town and port of Boulogne “with the flotilla, designed to invade this country, at anchor in the outer road,” was exhibited at Harper’s Pantheon, Norwich.

22.—Died in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, aged 57, Nathaniel Eastaugh, the common crier, and one of the Mayor’s beadles, “who except one year held the bell from 1780 up to the time of his death.”  He was succeeded by Anthony Bailey.

23.—Mr. Joseph Lancaster visited Norwich, and at the Theatre gave lectures on his system of education.  At a meeting at the Guildhall on April 17, a free school for boys, on Mr. Lancaster’s plan, was established by public subscription.

—Died in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, aged 72, David Kinnebrook, for 40 years master of one of the charity schools, “who never till his last illness absented himself from the school for a single day.”

24.—A large meeting of landowners, occupiers, and Scottish drovers was held at the Rampant Horse Inn, to discuss the right of the Corporation of Norwich to levy tolls upon cattle sold or exhibited for sale at the weekly mart on the Castle Hill.  A deputation waited upon the Mayor and the Market Committee, and on April 11th a further meeting, presided over by Sir James Beevor, was held for the purpose of defending any action that might be brought by the Corporation to recover tolls.

APRIL.

3.—For the benefit of the Norwich Theatrical Fund, a performance of “The English Fleet in the year 1342,” and of “the grand seriocomic pantomime, called ‘Don Juan, or the Libertine destroyed,’” was given at the Theatre Royal.

12.—Died, aged 60, Mr. Thomas Barber, attorney, 27 years secretary of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

p. 8219.—Tombland Fair took place.  It was stated to be customary on the occasion of this annual event for military bands to play in the Upper Close, which was used as a fashionable promenade.  The bands of the 5th Dragoon Guards and the Wiltshire Militia were present on this occasion.

23.—The Norwich, Aylsham, and Cromer coach commenced running from 21, Lobster Lane, Norwich, to the Red Lion Inn, Cromer.  It left Norwich on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, and returned on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays.  The proprietor was Mr. W. Spanton.

28.*—(Advt.)  “Cocking.  A main will be fought at the Maid’s Head Inn, Norwich, on the 14th and 15th days of May next, between the gentlemen of Norfolk and the gentlemen of Ipswich, to show 27 mains for six guineas a battle and 100 guineas the odd; likewise six byes and two turn-outs for five guineas a battle, to make four in goes.  A pair of cocks in the pit precisely at 12 o’clock.  Feeders: Lamb for Norfolk, Smith for Ipswich.”

30.—A rare fish called the Opah or King-fish (Chætodes of Linnæus) was found on Mundesley beach.

—Mr. Patteson presented in the House of Commons a petition from the Mayor, Alderman, and Justices of Norwich, against the Bill to alter, explain, and amend the laws in force respecting bread, and for better regulating the mode of setting the price thereof out of London.  The petition stated that the proposed Bill would add 4s. to the then allowance of 12s. for every quarter of wheat, and the baker for his labour, salt, &c., which would tend to raise the price of bread.  The magistrates had consulted the master and wardens of the Norwich Bakers’ Company, who declared that the bakers were perfectly satisfied with the mode of regulating the assize and with the allowance of 12s. per quarter.

MAY.

2.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, a man named Stebbing, of Wymondham, was indicted for using seditious language in the presence of several persons, some of whom were Militia men.  The prisoner was alleged to have asserted that “if Buonaparte would come he would be the first man to join him” and that “Buonaparte was a better man to his country than King George was to this.”  The jury, “to the surprise of the whole court,” returned a verdict of not guilty, “and several gentlemen on the bench expressed their strongest reprobation.”  Sergt. Money, of the Militia, one of the principal witnesses for the prosecution, was afterwards appointed to an ensigncy in the 4th Garrison Battalion.

10.—The Victory, 100 guns, Vice-Admiral Sir J. Saumarez, and seven other sail of the line, sailed from Yarmouth for the Baltic.

16.—The First Eastern Regiment of the Local Militia, commanded by Lord Suffield, assembled at Aylsham and marched thence to Yarmouth for 20 days’ training.  The dates and places of assembly of the other regiments were as follow:—2nd Eastern Regiment, Col. Patteson, Norwich, May 22nd; 1st Western Regiment, Col. Petre, Norwich, May 17th; 2nd Western Regiment, Col. Edmund Wodehouse, Lynn, May 21st; 3rd Western Regiment, Col. Chad, Swaffham, May 10th, p. 83whence they marched to Norwich.  In consequence of insufficiency of accommodation at Norwich, three companies of the 3rd Western Regiment marched to Dereham, where the course of training was completed.

19.*—“One day last week, a young woman, of Dereham, being strongly attached to a soldier in the 24th Regiment of Foot, resolved to follow him to the wars, and habiting herself in man’s attire enlisted by mistake into the 54th Regiment of Foot recruiting in Norwich.  Her sex was discovered and her intentions frustrated.”

20.—Died in London, aged 81, the Right Hon. Charles Lord Bayning, of Honingham Hall, a Privy Councillor, and High Steward of Great Yarmouth.  He was succeeded by his son, the Hon. Charles Frederick Pawlett Townshend.

28.—The birthday of William Pitt was celebrated by the members of the Castle Corporation, Norwich, and other gentlemen to the number of 130, in Mr. Bailey’s great room.

JUNE.

2.*—(Advt. )  “A stage waggon sets out from the warehouse, Tombland, Norwich, every Friday evening, and arrives at Bury every Saturday, returning from Bury every Wednesday, and arrives at Norwich early on Friday morning.  The London waggons through Cambridge every Tuesday and Friday.  The Yorkshire waggons come regularly twice a week.”  (Messrs. Marsh were the proprietors of the Norwich waggons.  A similar service of waggons was also run at about this date by Mack, of Norwich. )

4.—The King’s birthday was observed as usual.  “The prisoners of the city gaol return thanks to the Mayor and Corporation for the excellent dinner of roast beef and plum puddings, with plenty of strong ale.  Likewise to numerous unknown passengers for their gifts to the box which is carried about every Saturday afternoon by a man appointed by the court to attend on them.  And they humbly request the charitably disposed to put their contributions into the box themselves, which is locked up by the governor, and its contents equally distributed by him.  They have also another box outside the gaol which is opened every quarter.”

—Died at his house in Pall Mall, aged 60, the Right Hon. William Windham, of Felbrigg.  Three days before the event he predicted that he would expire on the King’s birthday.  He represented Norwich in three successive Parliaments—from 1784 to 1802.  The remains of the deceased statesman arrived in Norwich on their way to Felbrigg on the 10th.  The body lay in state at the Maid’s Head Inn until the morning of the 11th, when the journey to Felbrigg was resumed, and the funeral took place there in the afternoon.  In the funeral procession at the church was “a man bearing a false coffin.”

5.—A cricket match was played between the Norwich Club and the officers of the Wiltshire Regiment, on the Town Close ground, Norwich.  Norwich, 134; Wiltshire Regiment, 49-43.  The return match was played on the same ground on the 14th.  Norwich, 71-150; Wiltshire Regiment, 57-53.

p. 8410.—At the burial of a woman, named Bumpstead, at Thurlton, “it was not a little singular that the husband and an ass walked to church next the corpse, and also back again to the house, as chief mourners.”

11.—A prize fight took place at Limpenhoe between John Green, of Beighton, and David William Rushmer, of Thurlton.  “In the first seven rounds the latter received seven knock-down blows; but in the eighth he gave the other such a violent blow that he knocked him out of time and won.”

16.*—“Mr. Alderman Yallop, of Norwich, is the fortunate holder of an eighth of the ticket, 1,537, which drew a prize of £1,000 on Friday last.  This is the fourth capital prize Mr. Yallop has had a share of in the different lotteries.”

19.—Guild-day at Norwich.  The Mayor, Mr. John Steward, entertained 750 guests at dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall, and 400 attended the ball at Chapel Field House, where dancing was kept up until two o’clock next morning.  “Several friends of conviviality kept the jovial spirit alive at the hall till after that late or rather early hour.”

25.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  One of the implements exhibited was “a fumigating machine on two wheels which, in turning, worked a pair of bellows that blew into an iron cylinder filled with burning sulphur, and shavings or sawdust, and perforated at the bottom, which, when pushed over the land, suffocated the turnip flies, cankers, &c., or caught them on a tarred cover fixed over the head of the cylinder.”  This remarkable contrivance was exhibited by a Mr. Plenty, of London.

JULY.

16.—A cricket match was played on the Town Close ground, Norwich, between eight of the Norwich Club and thirteen of the Wiltshire Regiment.  Wiltshire Regiment, 72-78; Norwich, 32-69.

20.—A cricket match, for 50 guineas a side, was played at Swaffham, between the Norwich and Swaffham clubs.  Norwich, 42-26; Swaffham, 67.  The return match took place on the Town Close ground, Norwich, on August 20th.  Norwich, 35-51; Swaffham, 55-30.

25.—Mr. Alderson, the City Steward, entertained the Common Council of Norwich at dinner at his house in St. Helen’s.  The Commons returned the compliment by entertaining the Steward at the Maid’s Head Inn the following week.

26.—Died, aged 70, the Rev. William Sheepshanks, rector of Ovington, and Prebendary of Carlisle.  He had been tutor to Lord Ellenborough, Sir S. Lawrence, the Bishop of Lincoln, &c., and was the intimate friend of Dr. Paley.

29.—Died in his 73rd year, Mr. John Crisp, of East Dereham, attorney, clerk to the magistrates, the commissioners, the deputy lieutenants, &c.  He was captain of the Dereham Yeomanry Cavalry, and his remains were interred with military honours, at Shipdham, his native place.

p. 85AUGUST.

2.—Earl Moira and the Countess of Loudon arrived at Cromer for the bathing season, and on the following day witnessed a demonstration of the capabilities of Capt. Manby’s life-saving apparatus.

3.—At a special meeting of the Norwich Corporation it was resolved “that, having taken into consideration a paper called ‘Roope’s Weekly Letters,’ No. 9, and being of opinion that it contains gross libellous matter against Thomas Back, Esq., late Chief Magistrate, this assembly direct a prosecution.”  On August 18th a meeting of freemen was held to take such measures “as will best ensure the election of Mr. Roope as Sheriff for the ensuing year.”  It was announced on August 25th that Mr. Mills, of Thetford, had been “persuaded” to discontinue printing the “Weekly Letters.”  At the election of Sheriff on August 28th, Roope was put in nomination in opposition to Mr. Troughton.  The latter was returned with 625 votes to the former’s 313.  Roope afterwards challenged the City Steward, Mr. Alderson, to fight a duel, in consequence of his having called him a rascal as he was leaving the court after the election.  An information was laid against Roope for endeavouring to incite Alderson to commit a breach of the peace; and at the Quarter Sessions on October 2nd, application was made that his recognisances of £100 in respect of the libel case be estreated on the ground of his having committed a fresh breach of the peace by public comments on Mr. Alderson’s conduct.  He was ordered to enter into fresh recognisances, himself in £200 and to find two sureties of £100 each, and to keep the peace towards Mr. Alderson and the public generally.  At the Quarter Sessions on January 15th, 1811, the defendant, for inciting Mr. Alderson to fight a duel, was fined 40s. and sentenced to one month’s imprisonment.  On June 29th Roope appeared before the Court of King’s Bench for the libel on Mr. Back, and was committed to the custody of the Marshal for three months, and ordered to find sureties for his good behaviour.  Roope died, in his 37th year, on July 4th, 1812.  “He sustained a lingering illness of nearly four months with a resignation and fortitude highly exemplary, and met the approach of his last moments with the utmost composure, leaving a widow and five young children.”

—A trotting match took place between the celebrated horse Shales, the property of Mr. John Chamberlain, of Magdalene, and Driver, owned by Mr. Reuben West, of Gaywood.  They started from the South Gates, Lynn, at six o’clock, and trotted to the ninth milestone on the Swaffham road and back.  At the expiration of an hour Shales had trotted 17 miles, beating the other by about 1½ miles, “with the greatest of ease, notwithstanding that he was the smaller horse and carried two stone more weight than the other.”  The stakes amounted to £200.

6.—At Wroxham Water Frolic about one hundred sail of boats were present.

22.—Mr. Chalmers, a comedian of considerable merit, and formerly a member of the Norwich Company, was found speechless upon the doorstep of a house in Worcester.  He was removed to the infirmary, where he died.

27.—A cricket match was played on Hardingham Common between p. 86the gentlemen of Norwich and Swaffham.  Norwich, 32-72; Swaffham, 143.

29.—Died at Lynn, aged 85, Mrs. Middleton, “who resided 83 years in the house in which she died.”

30.—The Norwich Cricket Club played a match against the Wiltshire Regiment.  Norwich, 88-93; Wiltshire Regiment, 73-92.

SEPTEMBER.

7.—Died at Cambridge, Mr. James Bunn, miniature painter, formerly of the Pantheon and Gardens, Norwich, and for many years a performer in the Norwich Company of Comedians.

15.*—(Advt.)  “Cocking.—To be fought on Thursday and Friday, the 20th and 21st inst., a main of cocks, Yarmouth against Beccles.  Feeders: Danes for Yarmouth, Caisey for Beccles.  Seven battles each night; five guineas a battle and ten guineas the odd.  All cocks to be pitted at seven o’clock precisely each night at Cooper’s bowling-green, North Quay, Yarmouth.”

21.—Died, at Earsham Park, aged 71, Mr. Joseph Windham, distinguished as a scholar and antiquary.

23.—Died, aged 71, Mr. John Herring, of Norwich.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1786, was elected alderman October 20, 1798, and Mayor in the following year.  He introduced a scheme for the employment of workhouse children in spinning wool, by which many hundreds of pounds were annually raised by them.  It was during Mr. Herring’s mayoralty that the British troops returned from the disastrous expedition to Holland, and for his humane treatment of them he received the thanks of Government.

29.—Mr. Francis Morse and Mr. Thomas Troughton were sworn into office as Sheriffs of Norwich.  “Mr. Morse appeared in his shooting dress, namely a short coat, leather breeches, &c., and on the Steward proceeding, as usual, to invest him with the gold chain he refused to put on what he termed ‘a bauble’; nor would he wear the gown, he said, unless it was absolutely necessary.  Mr. Steward Alderson observed that his refusal seemed to convey some little disrespect to the court.  Mr. Morse disavowed any individual disrespect, and said he would perform his office irrespective of outward forms.  He denied having assumed the office.  It was forced upon him in the expectation of obtaining a fine of £80, as he was convinced there was not a gentleman on the Bench who believed when the precept was sent to him that he would serve the office.”

OCTOBER.

5.—Grand musical performances were given at St. Andrew’s Church, Norwich, on this and the following day.  The principal vocal performers were Mr. Phillips, of the Lyceum, Mr. Clouting, and Miss Booth.  Mr. Fish was leader of the band, and Mr. Beckwith was at the organ.  The first part of the programme consisted of selections from “Judas Maccabeus,” part two of the “Messiah,” and part three p. 87of a miscellaneous selection.  On Saturday evening, the 6th, a miscellaneous concert was given at the Theatre.

11.—Died at Fulham, aged 73, Mr. Nathaniel Kent, land agent, and compiler of “The Agricultural Report of Norfolk.”

17.—The first division of the West Norfolk Militia, commanded by Capt. Barnham, and on the following day the second division, commanded by Major Custance, passed through Norwich on their route to Yarmouth after nearly seven months’ duty over the French prisoners at Norman Cross.

18.—Died at Southbergh, near Hingham, Mrs. Ann Smyth, “one of the nominees in the Irish Tontine established by Act of Parliament in 1773.”

25.—The 51st anniversary of his Majesty’s accession was celebrated in Norwich by the ringing of bells and by a military demonstration.

NOVEMBER.

2.—During a severe gale many vessels were lost on the Norfolk coast.  “The beach from Wells to Yarmouth, covered with wrecks and strewed with the bodies of unfortunates washed ashore, presented a scene of calamity not easy to describe.”  Another gale and high tide occurred on the 10th.  Capt. Manby’s life-saving apparatus was instrumental in rescuing 18 seamen.

12.—Gustavus Adolphus, ex-King of Sweden, travelling under the title of Count Gottorp, arrived at Yarmouth from the Baltic on board the Tartarus sloop, Capt. Mainwaring.  He landed under a Royal salute, and at once set out for London with Capt. Mainwaring.  The ex-King sailed from Yarmouth on his return to the Continent on March 28, 1811.

13.—The bells of the Norwich churches were tolled from seven p.m. to nine p.m. on the occasion of the burial of the Princess Amelia at Windsor.

17.*—“In the parish of Pulham Market are now living five men whose united ages amount to 436 years, and what is extraordinary is the five men now go to daily labour.”

—Died, aged 58, Edward Castleton.  “He was the lineal descendant of Sir William Castleton, of Hingham, created a baronet in 1641.  He died a bachelor and never assumed the title.  For many years he followed the very humble employment of breeches maker in Lynn, and latterly lived on a small patrimonial allowance.”

21.—A cause of divorce and separation promoted by Mrs. Beevor against her husband, came on for further hearing in the Court of Arches, Doctors’ Commons, when, Mrs. Beevor having declared that she should proceed no further, the court dismissed the suit.

DECEMBER.

8.—At the Norwich Court of Mayoralty the Rev. Edward Valpy, B.D., second master of Reading School, and rector of Stanford Dingley, p. 88in Berkshire, was elected by the casting vote of the Mayor, headmaster of the Free Grammar School, Norwich.  The other candidate was the Rev. John Clarke, M.A., Ingham.

15.—Died, aged 79, at Mortlake, Mrs. Coke, of Hanover Square, London, mother of Mr. T. W. Coke, of Holkham.

22.—Norwich Market was “glutted” with turkeys.  “The same fowls for which in the morning 14d. per pound was asked, in the afternoon when the last coaches were going away 9d. per pound would have gladly been taken.  At one coach office 800 hampers were received.  Twelve carriages were laden with poultry and game, and each carriage was drawn by six horses, and having 10 stages 60 horses were employed by every coach, which will amount to the astonishing number of 720 horses to draw poultry, sausages, and game sent within three days from this city to the Metropolis.”

25.—The Mayor and Corporation of Norwich attended service at the Cathedral on “the feast of the Nativity, commonly called Christmas Day.”  In the afternoon “most of the churches and chapels were lighted up and decorated with holly and evergreens, according to antient custom.”

This year was passed an Act for the better paving, lighting, cleansing, and watching of Great Yarmouth, for removing nuisances and annoyances therein, and for making other improvements in the town.

1811.

JANUARY.

19.*—“Greatly to the credit of the numerous population of Norwich the Bridewell doors were thrown open several days during the present week, there not being a single person confined for any misdemeanour, a circumstance that has not before happened for a great number of years.”

A piece of plate, value 100 guineas, was this month presented by the principal inhabitants of East and West Flegg Hundreds to the Rev. B. U. Salmon, for his public services as a magistrate, and as a mark of their individual esteem.

FEBRUARY.

2.—A county meeting, presided over by the High Sheriff, was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, when resolutions, stating the injury that would be sustained by a continuation of the prohibition of the use of grain in the distilleries, were agreed to.  A committee of landowners and corn growers was appointed to adopt measures for the protection of the interests of agriculture.  (The Distillery Bill was thrown out by the House of Lords.)

7.—Died, at Norton Place, near Lincoln, in his 78th year, Mr. John Harrison, twice member of Parliament for Thetford.

p. 8910.—Died, at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich, in his 79th year, the Rev. Neville Maskelyne, Astronomer Royal, and rector of North Runcton.

12.—Died, the Rev. Philip Wodehouse, brother of Lord Wodehouse, and a Prebendary of Norwich Cathedral, aged 66.  In digging the grave for the interment of the deceased, beneath the organ loft at the Cathedral, the workmen found, two feet beneath the surface, a stone coffin enclosing a wooden shell containing the body of Dean Croft, who died in 1670.  “His remains were found apparently in a perfect state, excepting the tip of the nose, and the shroud was a little discoloured.”

16.—Robert Waller and John Kerrison, who were in the permanent employment of Mr. Lindley, of Catton, were committed to Aylsham Bridewell for one month’s hard labour, for “illegally combining to alter and lessen the usual time of his labourers going and being at work.”

17.—Died, aged 62, John Thompson, lamp lighter of Norwich.  “His lamp of life being out, and all his oil consumed, he was by his own request buried at St. Martin-at-Palace at night, all his brethren of the ladder and torch attending in the funeral procession with their flambeaux to light him to his long home, in the presence of thousands assembled on the plain.”

MARCH.

14.—Died, at his seat at Euston, in his 76th year, the Duke of Grafton.  His Grace had been Chancellor of the University of Cambridge, and Recorder of Thetford and Coventry.

16.—A complaint was published that the posting masters in Norfolk charged at the rate of 1s. 9d. per mile, when nowhere else was the charge more than 1s. 6d.

17.—A disastrous fire occurred at the warehouse of Messrs. R. and S. Culley, grocers, the Upper Market, Norwich.  The fire engines were inefficient, and the appliances out of repair.  Notwithstanding the exertions of a detachment of the Royal Artillery, under Capt. Cockburn and Lieut. Day, the fire communicated with the adjoining premises of Mr. Freeman, and the two upper storeys of his house were destroyed.  “The Pope’s Head had a wonderful escape, almost surrounded as it was by fire.”  The damage was estimated at upwards of £5,000.

20.—A general fast was observed.  Business was suspended in Norwich, where the churches and chapels were numerously attended, and collections made for the relief of British prisoners in France.

23.—The county magistrates examined plans for the erection of a lunatic asylum, and accepted those of Mr. William Brown, architect, of Ipswich.

25.—At the Norfolk Assizes, which commenced at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Grose, William Charles Fortescue, Lord Viscount Clermont, was charged with an assault on Sarah Lumley, a widow, residing at Saham Toney.  His lordship was ordered to pay a fine of 50 marks to the King.

p. 90—At the same Assizes the tithe case, Royle, clerk, v. Parsley, was heard.  The plaintiff, who was rector of Hilgay and proprietor of the tithes, sought to recover treble the value of the tithes on eight acres of wheat grown on the defendant’s farm.  The defendant was the only occupier in the parish who paid the tithes in kind, and it was alleged that he had not fairly set them out.  The jury returned a verdict for the defendant.

28.—Died, aged 43, Lady Elizabeth, wife of Lieut.-General Loftus, and daughter of the Marquis Townshend.

30.*—“This week a main of 41 battles (of which 31 came in fray) was fought at the King’s Head Inn, Norwich (Norwich against Cambridgeshire) for 10 guineas the battle, and 100 the odd.  Neither, however, were winners, each having won 15 battles, and the odd battle being a draw.”

APRIL.

2.—Miss Greenfield, an actress, made her first appearance at the Theatre Royal, Norwich.

2.—A Lancasterian free school was opened in College Court, St. Martin-at-Palace, Norwich, for 420 boys.

6.—The receipts at Norwich Theatre on the occasion of the benefit of the manager, Mr. Hindes, amounted to £177 15s.

9.—Mr. J. Moreton, formerly of the Norwich Theatre, died at Woolwich, in his 62nd year.

11.—Miss Biffin, born deficient of arms and legs, was exhibited in a booth at Tombland Fair, Norwich.  She had previously displayed her powers in miniature painting and needlework at the Angel Inn.

15.—Died in St. Simon’s, Norwich, aged 86, James Fuller, who was for 51 years clerk of that parish.  His funeral was attended by all the parish clerks in the city.

21.—Interred at St. Saviour’s Church, Norwich, the remains of William Andrews, aged 85, many years sexton of the parish.  The funeral was attended by 22 sextons of the city.

26.—Died, at Buckenham, General Sir James Pulteney, Bart., from the effects of an accidental explosion of a flask of gunpowder six days previously.  He was colonel of the 18th Regiment of Foot, and had distinguished himself in the American War.  He served on the Continent under the Duke of York, and was Commander-in-Chief of the unsuccessful expedition against Ferrol.  He was afterwards appointed Secretary of War.  The interest of the money left him by his wife, the Countess of Bath, amounting to £50,000 per annum, devolved at his death upon the four children of Mrs. Monkham, who had been divorced from her husband, a son of the Archbishop of York.

30.—Died in St. Peter Permountergate, Norwich, aged 63, William Harwin, nearly 40 years superintendent of the Unitarian Free Schools.  “He had published a remarkably concise system of Stenography.”

MAY.

4.*—“Lieut. Richard Brunton, of the 43rd Regiment, son of J. p. 91Brunton, Esq., late manager of our Theatre, is appointed Captain in the 6th Regiment of Portuguese Cacadores.”

21.—Intelligence received of a brilliant achievement in the Adriatic by Capt. William Hoste in the Amphion, who with two frigates and a sloop defeated the combined French and Italian squadrons of five frigates, a corvette, &c.  He captured and destroyed four of the enemy’s frigates.  The action took place on March 13th.

25.—A Royal license was granted to Elizabeth Barber Bulwer, widow of Brigadier-General Bulwer, of Wood Dalling and Heydon, and only child of Richard Warburton Lytton, late of Knebworth Place, Herts., to take and use the surname and arms of Lytton in addition to and with those of Bulwer.

—*“This week the churchwardens and officers, and many of the inhabitants of St. John Maddermarket, St. Stephen’s, St. Augustine’s, and St. John Timberhill, went the bounds of their respective parishes, when the usual ceremonies of bumping and ducking (inside and out) took place amid the ringing of bells, &c.”

A census was taken in Norwich during this month.  The population was returned as 37,256, an increase since 1801 of 424.

JUNE.

8.—A thunderstorm of great severity occurred in Norwich.

15.*—“General Money has made an offer to the Commander-in-Chief to raise 400 rough hussars mounted on Welsh horses, by men below the army standard, to be embarked in four months.  The object of this corps is to relieve the fine regiments of Cavalry in the Peninsula from all the harassing duties of the camp.”

18.—A new Methodist Chapel was opened in Calvert Street, St. George’s Colegate, Norwich, by the Rev. T. Cooke, LL.D., successor to the Rev. John Wesley.

—Guild Day at Norwich.  “St. Giles’ Broad Street was decorated with streamers, garlands, and evergreens, whilst old Snap displayed his glittering wings and gilt tail, and cleared the way for the civic procession to the Cathedral.”  After the service Robert Burrage, senior pupil at the Free Grammar School, and a “plebeian,” delivered the customary Latin oration at the school porch, and Mr. John Hamond Cole, having been sworn in at the Guildhall as Mayor of the city, entertained a company of 650 at the Guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall.

20.—Died, at Athlone, Ireland, aged 38, James Wheeler, formerly of the Norwich Company of Comedians.

24.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.

29.—A cricket match was played on Mulbarton Common between the Ashwelthorpe and Mulbarton teams, “for 22 bottles of cyder and 22 lbs. of cherries.”  The Ashwelthorpe players won.

The East Norfolk Militia, commanded by Col. Wodehouse, volunteered to serve in Ireland.  The Government accepted their services, and the regiment arrived in Cork in the following November.

p. 92JULY.

15.—Died, in his 69th year, at his house at Keswick, Mr. Richard Gurney.  The interment took place at the Gildencroft burial-ground, Norwich.

18.—A cricket match was played on Swaffham race-course between the gentlemen of Swaffham and the gentlemen of Terrington for 50 guineas a aids.  The match lasted two days.  Swaffham, 122-110; Terrington, 100-69.  The return match was played at Terrington on July 22nd.  Swaffham, 44; Terrington, 22-20.  “Even betting on the match.”

22.—A cricket match was played on the Town Close ground, Norwich, between the 2nd and 3rd Norwich clubs.  3rd club, 47; 2nd club, 19-42.

—An inquest was held in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, on the body of Ann Hammont, aged 28.  “She destroyed herself in a manner very uncommon.  She wound a piece of tape three times tight round her neck, and, finding it insufficient to effect her purpose, she resolutely put her head into a tub of water and so completed her suffocation.”

26.—The anniversary meeting of the Norfolk Agricultural Society was held at East Dereham.  In consequence of the increase of the members (nearly 200) new regulations were made for conducting the society.

27.—Died at Richmond, Surrey, the Marquis Townshend, Earl of Leicester, &c., of Rainham.  He was President of the Society of Antiquaries.

AUGUST.

3.—Polito’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Hill, Norwich.

6.—The portrait of Mr. Thomas Back, ex-Mayor of Norwich, was placed in St. Andrew’s Hall.  It was painted by Clover, a native of the city.

8.—After the lapse of half a century Heigham Water Frolic was revived in Norwich.

10.—A prize fight took place at Fakenham between “the noted” Christopher Cox, of Sculthorpe, and J. Withers, “the blind boy,” servant to Mr. E. Holman, of the former place.  “After two rounds in which Cox was confronted by his adversary, the conceit was pretty well taken out of him.  Some little sparring then took place, when Cox was knocked down by a right hand facer, and after several other rounds, which were all in favour of Withers, Cox was completely beat off his legs.”

12.—Between six a.m. and five p.m. two persons caught by angling near Buckenham Ferry 132 lbs. of perch, bream, and roach.

13.—At the Norwich Assizes, before Mr. Justice Heath, William Charles Walker, aged 26, was sentenced to death for a burglary at the shop of Messrs. Dunham and Yallop, silversmiths, the Market Place.

p. 9319.—A cricket match was played on the Town Close ground between the Norwich club and “the two new ones united.”  Norwich club, 128; united clubs, 84-65.

Molineux, Richmond, and Belcher, “the noted pugilists,” visited Norwich this month, and “gave lessons in the science of self-defence.”

SEPTEMBER.

3.—Married at North Elmham, Mr. Frost to Miss Copsey.  “The marriage ceremony suffered a delay of two hours in consequence of the bride not having fully made up her mind, which occasioned a large assembly of the inhabitants at the church, before whom at last the knot was tied.”

5.—A comet appeared and remained visible until October 24th.

11th.—The Norfolk and Norwich Auxiliary Bible Society was instituted at a numerous meeting held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.  The Mayor (Mr. J. H. Cole) presided.  The Bishop of Norwich was appointed president of the Society.

16.—At a meeting held, under the presidency of Lord Suffield, at the King’s Arms Inn, North Walsham, it was resolved that the county members be requested to petition Parliament for a Bill for making a canal from Wayford Bridge to Lingate Common, North Walsham.

23.—Yarmouth Races commenced, and were attended by 20,000 people.

OCTOBER.

8.—A grand Musical Festival commenced in Norwich, when a miscellaneous concert was given at St. Andrew’s Hall.  On the 9th a selection of sacred music was performed in the church of St. Peter Mancroft.  The “Messiah” was produced on the 10th, selections were given from various composers on the 11th, and on both evenings concerts took place in St. Andrew’s Hall.  The principal vocalists were Madame Catalani, Miss Booth, Mrs. Branchi, Mr. Braham, Mr. Goss, and Mr. Bellamy.  The prices of admission were: Single tickets for the church from the orchestra to the altar, 10s. 6d.; side aisles, 7s.  Single tickets for the hall, for the division west of the orchestra, 10s. 6d.; other parts, 7s.  The receipts amounted to £1,800.

Died, this month, Mr. Thomas Cooke, of Pentonville, a native of Norfolk.  He bequeathed £6,600 three per cent. Consols to Doughty’s Hospital, Norwich, expressly to augment the weekly allowance to the inmates; £1,750 to Cook’s Hospital; £1,000 to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital; and a like sum to the Blind School.  He also gave £2,100 three per cents. to Framlingham Hospital; £700 to Valinger’s Hospital; and £2,300 to St. James’s Hospital at Lynn, where the testator resided some years previously.  Mr. Cooke was an eccentric character, and was known as the “Pentonville Miser.”

p. 94NOVEMBER.

9.*—“Died, lately, at Scarborough, Mr. Bramwell, formerly of the Theatre Royal, Norwich.”

16.*—“The Master of the Rolls has appointed Mr. Charles Knight Murray, eldest son of Mr. Charles Murray, and grandson of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich, to be second secretary to his Honour.”

18.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich it was resolved, in consequence of the increased prices of grain, to petition the Prince Regent to cause the distillation of spirits from corn to be suspended until the sense of Parliament could be taken thereon.  Wheat at that time was quoted at 45s. to 63s.; barley at 20s. to 26s.; oats, 13s. to 17s. per coomb; malt, 44s. per coomb; and flour, 95s. per sack.  Prices declined soon afterwards.

27.—In the Court of King’s Bench, before Lord Ellenborough, a rule against Mr. Thomas Hoseason, a magistrate for the county of Norfolk, for having acted in his own cause in committing to the house of correction his servant, General Batterby, there to be kept to hard labour, and publicly whipped, was discharged on payment of costs.

30.*—“Mr. Angerstein has completely wound up his extensive mercantile concerns, and retired from business with an immense fortune, most honourably acquired.  One of the last purchases which he made was a Government annuity of £3,000 on his own life.  Weeting Hall, formerly Lord Montrath’s, was also a recent purchase.”

H.R.H. the Duke of Gloucester this month visited Holkham, as the guest of Mr. T. W. Coke.

DECEMBER.

10.—At a meeting of the Trafalgar Lodge of Oddfellows, held at the Three Tuns, St. Andrew’s, Norwich, the floor of the upper room gave way and precipitated the members into a lower apartment.  “One of the members on finding himself sinking laid hold of the bars of the fire grate, but he soon relinquished his hold and dropped on his companions.”  No one was injured.  The meeting, at the time of the accident, had under discussion the question of the desirability of removing the lodge to other quarters.

28.—An equestrian troupe, under the management of Mr. Moritz, opened for the season at Harper’s Pantheon, Norwich.

—Bullock’s Museum of Natural History and productions of the fine arts was exhibited in the large room at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

Prices were very high this month.  Wheat was quoted at 100s. to 110s.; rye, 46s. to 48s.; barley, 36s. to 47s.; and oats, 28s. to 32s. per quarter.  The average price of wheat was 53s. 4d. per coomb, and the average price of flour £4 11s. 6d. per sack.  Coals were 46s. 4d. per chaldron.

p. 951812.

JANUARY.

2.—A silver vase, of the value of 200 guineas, was presented to Sir Edmund Bacon, premier baronet, of Raveningham, at the Swan Inn, Loddon, by the inhabitants of the Loddon and Clavering Hundred, as a token of their respect for him as a magistrate, and in recognition of his valuable services in the improvement of the roads in the district.

11.*—“The East India Company, on a representation from the manufacturers of camblets in Norwich, have raised their order from 16,000 to 22,000 pieces this season, and the manufacturers have lately advanced the wages of the journeyman weavers.”

20.—A two days’ cocking match commenced between the gentlemen of Yarmouth and the gentlemen of Blofield, for £5 a battle, £20 the odd, and two byes for £10 each.  On the first day Blofield won four battles, and Yarmouth three battles and a bye.  On the second day Yarmouth won four battles, and Blofield three battles and a bye.  “The pit was filled each night, and there was much betting between the parties.”

30.—A deputation of the citizens waited upon the Lighting and Watching Committee of the Norwich Corporation to complain of the inadequate provisions for the public safety.  The committee gave an assurance that the watchmen should be periodically inspected and an inquiry made whether the funds of the committee would enable them to give an increased allowance to watchmen whereby more able men might be appointed, and the time of watching extended to a later hour.

FEBRUARY.

4.—Died, at the age of 104, John Brown, carpenter, of Wymondham.  “He retained his faculties to the last, and till within a week or two of his death frequently walked twenty miles a day.”

5.—A general fast was observed in Norwich.

13.—A Lancastrian school was established on the Denes at Yarmouth.

27.—Died at Worstead, Mr. Thomas Deeker, “and on the same day in Pall Mall, London, his brother, who in 1785 twice ascended in his balloon from Norwich.”

MARCH.

28.*—“The partnership between Messrs. Fisher and Scraggs having expired the theatre at Thetford was opened for the season commencing p. 96with the Assize week, under the direction of Mr. Fisher only, with that success which diligence and long-established integrity merit.”

This month the public lighting of Thetford by voluntary subscription was inaugurated.

APRIL.

6.—The first annual meeting of the Norwich Association against Felonies was held at the Guildhall.

7.—Died from the effects of a wound received in the storming of Badajoz, in his 25th year, Lieut. W. S. Unthank, of the 44th Regiment, eldest son of Mr. William Unthank, of Norwich.

15.—Died at Scoulton, Lieut.-General James Hethersett, in his 77th year.  “He was the last surviving officer who fought by the side of the immortal Wolfe on the day that he fell.”  General Hethersett possessed property of the value of £80,000.

18.*—“A few days since at Corpusty, aged 102, Samuel Mog, one of the last survivors of that British Army which fought under the celebrated General Wolfe at the battle of Quebec.”

MAY.

1.—Election of Mayor at Norwich.  Mr. Starling Day was nominated for the office, but asked to be relieved on account of his advanced age (78).  A poll resulted, and on the 2nd the numbers were declared as follow:—Mr. Day, 761; Mr. R. Harvey, jun., 757; Mr. Alderman Davey, 566; Mr. Alderman Leman, 507.  “Mr. Day sent a message to St. Peter’s ringers ordering them to cease their triumphant peal, on the ground that he had declared his intention not to serve.”  Guild Day was fixed for June 16, and the usual quarterly assembly of the Corporation on the day preceding it had to be abandoned because the attendance was insufficient to form a quorum.  Mr. Day was sworn into office on the 16th, but “there was no church, no dinner.”  Mr. Alderman Davey invited the freemen of the Blue and White interest to dine with him beneath the trees at Eaton Hall.  The guests, 500 in number, “were refreshed on their dusty march by Mr. Alderman Yallop, at his cottage, with a pint of beer each, 600 of which were swallowed in twenty minutes.”

11.—Died, Mr. Johnson, the venerable parish clerk of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, after about 35 years’ service.  He was succeeded by James Twiddy, a hairdresser, who possessed considerable literary ability, and was the author of many poetical productions and pamphlets on various subjects.

JUNE.

22.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  Mr. Mann, of Thornage, was awarded the prize for the best implement of husbandry, namely, an improved drilling machine.

p. 9727.—In the Court of Exchequer, before the Lord Chief Baron, a prosecution was instituted by the Board of Taxes against Daniel Morling, of Yarmouth, for having obstructed Mr. Hunter, the inspector for that district, when surveying the windows of his house.  A penalty of £50 was asked for, and a verdict was given for the Crown for that amount.

JULY.

2.—A wrestling match took place at Blofield Globe between William Benstead, of that parish, and Charles Layton, “the famed wrestler, who, for his invincible skill in that science, had been declared the ‘Reedham Game Chicken’ at the late wrestling match at Lingwood, and who has since challenged all England.”  Benstead succeeded in beating the champion.

9.—Died, at Ashfield, Suffolk, Mr. James Mingay, for many years eminently distinguished as a King’s Counsel, Recorder of Aldborough, and one of the capital burgesses of the borough of Thetford.

14.—Died, aged 71, Simon Watling, “many years master of the Eight Ringers public-house, St. Michael-at-Coslany, Norwich, and one of St. Peter’s ringers.  He was one of the company that rang at St. Peter’s in York in 1772.”

17.—At a meeting held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, at which Lord Viscount Primrose presided, the Norfolk and Norwich Society for the Education of the Poor in the Principles of the Church of England was established.  Upwards of £3,000 was subscribed; and the Bishop of Norwich became Patron, and Lord Suffield, President.

20.—Died, at the age of 101, Mrs. Jane Fair, of St. Mary’s, Norwich.

23.—Died, Mrs. Coppin, wife of Mr. Daniel Coppin, of St. Stephen’s, Norwich.  “She possessed a refined taste for the polite arts, and great skill in imitating the works of the old masters.”

25.—Mr. Scraggs and his company of comedians concluded a theatrical season at Holt.  “There is ground to hope that the patronage which was so liberally conferred by the county on the late Mr. Scraggs, will be continued to his son and family.”  The company was advertised as “The Original Norfolk and Suffolk Company.”

27.—General Viscount Cathcart, Ambassador Extraordinary to the Court of Russia, passed through Norwich and embarked on board the Aquilon frigate at Yarmouth.  Lord Walpole, one of the Lords of the Admiralty, sailed in the Calypso, on his appointment as Secretary of Legation to Lord Cathcart, who proceeded to the headquarters of the Russian Army.

AUGUST.

15.—It was reported that small-pox had broken out in Norwich.  Many children were vaccinated, and by the end of the year the operation had been performed on 1,400 persons.

17.—The mail coaches arrived at Norwich, with colours flying, bringing intelligence of Lord Wellington’s brilliant victory near Salamanca.

p. 9819.—William Flaxman, of Gorleston, was placed in a pillory erected in Yarmouth Market Place, and after standing the usual time was removed to the gaol to complete a term of three months’ imprisonment.

20.—The old custom of a country excursion was revived by the foreman of the Headborough Inquest at Yarmouth.  “A wherry was fitted out for the purpose, and several officers of the Royal South Lincoln Regiment, with other gentlemen, were invited to accompany the inquest.  The wherry was attended by several boats, and went as far as the Beccles river, where a convivial meeting was held, and the party returned at nine o’clock at night.”

SEPTEMBER.

5.*—(Advt.)  “Windham Petty Sessions will be held at the King’s Head Inn on Monday, 28th September, 1812, for hiring and retaining servants.  There will be another Sessions, as usual, on Monday, October 12th.  John Syder, John Cullyer, chief constables.”

6.—Intelligence received of the capture of Madrid by the Marquis Wellington.  The bells of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were rung all day, and at East Dereham on the 22nd a ball was held in celebration of the event.

—Died, at Upper Fitzroy Street, London, aged 68, Major-General Robert Bowles, an officer on the Bombay Establishment.  He served in the East India Company 35 years, and was a native of Norwich.

14.—The first stone of the new chapel in the Black Boys Yard, St. Clement, Norwich, laid by the Rev. Mr. Wilkes and Mr. Alderman Davey.  The chapel was opened for public worship on May 5th, 1814.

21.—Yarmouth Races commenced.  There was an attendance of about 18,000.  Most of the county families were present at the assembly, where the dancing was opened by Sir George Jerningham and Lady Hoste.

22.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 73, Mr. Robert Warmington.  He served the office of Mayor in 1790 and 1808, and was Prussian, Swedish, Danish, Hamburgh, and American Vice-Consul, and Naval Store Keeper at that port.

25.—At the Norwich Court of Trials a motion was made by Mr. Cooper that the attornies, who then held briefs on behalf of clients, be not allowed the privilege of pleading.  It was urged that the actual right of pleading existed in favour of barristers to the exclusion of attornies.  The City Steward (Mr. Alderson) thought that the exclusive right of counsel rested more upon courtesy than upon any positive right, and as no authority had been cited he declined to give any decision upon the point.

OCTOBER.

3.—A correspondent in a letter to the Norfolk Chronicle expressed the hope “that now Parliament is dissolving, the ancient custom of nominating the members in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, previously to the day of election, may be revived.  This used to be done formerly p. 99in order to give the old members an opportunity of explaining and justifying their past conduct as representatives, and of each candidate stating his pretensions to popular support.”  The Mayor refused to grant the use of the hall for the purpose.

6.—Yarmouth Election: Capt. Lacon, 607; General Loftus, 387; Mr. Giffen Willson, 329.  The two first-named were returned.

7.—Norwich Election commenced on this date and concluded on the 8th: Mr. W. Smith, 1,544; Mr. Charles Harvey, 1,349; Mr. John Patteson, 1,221.

—Thetford Election: Lord John Fitzroy and Mr. Creevey returned unopposed.

14.—Norfolk Election: Sir J. H. Astley and Mr. T. W. Coke were re-elected unopposed.

17.—St. Faith’s Fair commenced.  “John Dunn, the clerk of St. John Maddermarket, Norwich, and who for the last 46 years acted as the leader of the men who chaired the Whig members at their election, attended St. Faith’s Fair for the 76th time, without intermission, having been carried to St. Faith’s when he was two years old.”  Dunn died January 20, 1813.

24.*—(Advt.)  “Norwich and Ipswich New Post Coach through Scole, Eye, Debenham, and Helmingham, by W. Norbrook, sets off from the Greyhound, in Norwich, on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday mornings at eight o’clock, arrives at the Old White Hart Inn, Ipswich, the same evening, whence it sets off every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning at eight o’clock, and arrives at Norwich the same evening.”

29.—A branch of the Norfolk and Norwich Auxiliary Bible Society was formed at Yarmouth; branches were established at about this date at Wymondham, Downham Market, and other towns.

31.*—“A few days since the Norwich Expedition Coach was robbed of bank notes to the amount of £500.”  A man, named Silvester, who presented £140 worth of the notes at a London bank, was arrested on suspicion.

NOVEMBER.

1.—James Parsons, a farrier, in the employment of Mr. Richard Watson, veterinary surgeon, Norwich, was buried with “veterinary and masonic” ceremonies at St. Gregory’s Church, in the presence of 2,000 persons.  The procession was headed by two farriers with white aprons, and their implements bound with white ribbons and reversed.  “The corpse was carried by six brethren of a lodge called the Stags Lodge, in their regalia, the sword, middle apron, and collar laid on the pall.  His favourite horse which he rode for many years, covered with black velvet, the boots and spurs across, was led behind.  The head stall and bridle were adorned with white roses and facings, he dying a bachelor.”  At the conclusion of the service “a solemn dirge was sung which much gratified many hundreds of persons.”

5.—Died, Thomas Gill, aged 86, fifty-two years sexton of St. Margaret’s, Norwich.  “He had been five times married, never had any children, and buried all his wives.”

p. 10013.—Whilst the bells of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were ringing on the occasion of the receipt of the intelligence of the defeat of the French by the Russians, and of the recapture of Moscow, the Prince Regent passed through the city from Houghton on his way to Saxmundham.  His Royal Highness changed horses at the Angel Inn, but did not alight.  On the 14th the Duke of Clarence, accompanied by the Earl of Yarmouth, arrived at Norwich, and after dining at the Angel Inn, proceeded to join the Prince Regent at Saxmundham.

15.—The Duke of Cambridge passed through Fakenham, from Houghton, on his way to join a shooting party at Blickling, the seat of Lord Suffield.

17.—Died, at Green Street, Grosvenor Square, London, in his 75th year, Mr. Edward Jerningham.  “Although all his family were of the Roman Catholic religion he very early conformed to the Protestant faith, and remained in it till his death, having received the sacrament according to the rites of the Church of England.  He was a good scholar and an elegant poet.”

21.—A fully-rigged vessel, built for Mr. John Bloom, was launched from the ship-yard of Mr. Parker at Wells-next-the-Sea.  “Seven ships in the harbour belonging to Mr. Bloom, dressed in their colours, fired a royal salute as the ship went off.”

23.—Died at his house, Tombland, Norwich, Mr. Edward Colman, one of the surgeons of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1795.  “Having been for twenty-four years a member of the Friars’ Society the brethren held a special conclave, when appropriate compositions in prose and verse were delivered, and his obituary medal was deposited in the sepulchral urn.”

28.—Died at Cheltenham, in his 74th year, the Rev. George William Lukin, LL.D., Dean of Wells, forty-nine years rector of Felbrigg and Aylmerton, and half-brother to the Right Hon. William Windham.

—Equestrian entertainments commenced at Harper’s Pantheon, Norwich, under the management of Mr. R. Key.

DECEMBER.

3.—Intelligence received at Yarmouth of the defeat of the French Army in Russia.  On the arrival at Norwich of the coaches conveying the news, the bells of St. Peter Mancroft were rung.

17.—Further celebrations took place at Norwich on the receipt of the intelligence of the victories obtained by the Russians over the two divisions of the French Army, commanded by Marshals Daoust and Ney.

20.—Died, aged 101, Thomas Armstrong, of West Dereham, upwards of 40 years clerk of the parish.

25.—On Christmas Day “the Corporation of Thetford assembled, according to custom, at the house of the Mayor (Mr. L. S. Bidwell), and after partaking of an elegant cold collation, attended divine service at St. Peter’s Church.”

26.*—“In the Court of King’s Bench last week an action was brought by Mr. Bignold, banker of Norwich, against Mr. Waterhouse, p. 101one of the coach proprietors, at Lad Lane, for the loss of a parcel containing bills and notes to a considerable amount.  The Solicitor-General, for the defendant, produced a notice in which he stated that he would not hold himself responsible for parcels above the value of £5.  The judge held this to be a good defence, and non-suited the plaintiff.”

In the course of this year upwards of 1,400 persons were vaccinated in Norwich.

1813.

JANUARY.

2.—Polito’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

—*“A smuggling cutter, with 600 casks of Geneva on board, was last week captured off Salthouse by the Sheringham Revenue boat.  The vessel was taken to Blakeney harbour, and her cargo deposited in the King’s warehouse, at Cley.”

13.—A Methodist Chapel, erected in Tower Street, King’s Lynn, and estimated to hold 3,000 persons, was opened.

17.—Upwards of 1,000 persons attended evening service at St. Andrew’s Church, Norwich, when the sermon was preached by the Rev. Robert Walpole.  This was one of a series of services arranged under a scheme of “evening lectures” by clergymen who had “volunteered to officiate alternately at the churches of St. Stephen, St. Andrew, and St. Lawrence.”  The churches were “excellently lighted with lamps,” and the “accommodation of strangers particularly attended to by parish officers and other gentlemen.”

19.—Mr. Steward Alderson, at the Norwich Quarter Sessions, called attention to “a species of nuisance existing in various parts of the town which not only endangered the public peace but also the public health and morals.  He referred to the species of houses commonly called gin shops.  If the magistrates had signed the licenses of such houses, it was wholly through ignorance of the sort of houses to which they were giving their sanction.”

—At the Duke’s Head Inn, Lynn, a committee of barley growers of the county presented to Mr. Wm. Becher, of Docking, a valuable piece of plate in recognition of his exertions in promoting the success of agriculture, and in opposing injurious restrictions on the corn trade.

25.—Died, aged 45, Mr. William Money Hill, of Waterden, an agriculturist of great repute in the breeding and selection of stock, and the winner of many prizes at the Holkham Sheep Shearings.

—The third great main of cocks between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridge commenced at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, and was continued on the 26th and 27th.  The conditions were: to show 41 mains for 10 guineas a battle, and 100 p. 102guineas the odd, and ten byes for five guineas a battle.  The feeders were Dean for Norwich, Flemon for Cambridgeshire.  Cambridge won by five battles.

30.*—“A small farmer, who a few years since resided in the neighbourhood of Norwich, has written from Botany Bay to his former landlord, stating that Cabel, who about 25 years since was sent from Norwich Castle, is now become a very great merchant and the owner of twenty-five ships.”  (In the year 1786 Cabel and a female prisoner were in Norwich Castle under sentence of transportation.  During the two years that elapsed between the trial and the departure of the first batch of convicts, the woman gave birth to a child.  Cabel, the father, was passionately fond of the infant, and appealed to the authorities to allow him to marry the mother.  This was refused.  The female and her infant were sent with the first contingent of convicts, and after a wearisome journey by coach in the depth of winter arrived at Plymouth in charge of Simpson, the turnkey of the prison.  When Simpson handed over his prisoners to the captain of the transport that officer refused to take the child on board, alleging that he had no authority to do so.  The mother was distracted by the separation.  Simpson acted with great humanity.  Taking with him the six weeks old child he proceeded to London by coach, and with much difficulty obtained an interview with the Secretary of State, to whom he related the story.  The result was that not only was an order issued for the restoration of the child to its mother, but Cabel was permitted to sail by the same transport to the land of their exile.)

FEBRUARY.

2.—Mr. Charles Harvey presented to the House of Commons a petition against the claims of the Roman Catholics, which was extensively signed by the clergy of the archdeaconries of Norwich and Norfolk.

—Mr. James Webb, known as the “Benevolent Stranger,” distributed considerable sums of money among the public institutions and the necessitous poor of Norwich.  “For three days the Angel Inn yard was thronged with applicants who seemed unwilling to quit the spot even till some time after the philanthropist had taken his departure.”  Mr. Webb made similar distributions at Yarmouth, Bungay, and other places.

—Died, Major John Bland, aged 77, many years in the 46th Regiment.  “He had been in 42 engagements, among which was the memorable battle of Quebec.”  He gave various bequests to the Norwich charities.

6.—It was reported that small-pox had appeared in St. Stephen’s, Norwich.  Six unvaccinated children died from the effects of the disease.  The Court of Guardians offered a reward of 2s. 6d. to parents for each child vaccinated.  During the month unvaccinated children continued to suffer.  On March 27th it was stated that Letton, Cranworth, West and East Bradenham, and Shipdham, were among the parishes of the county “who had set a most laudable example in vaccination.”

p. 10320.*—“The second cousins of Mr. Henry Kett, late of Norwich, have generously presented the sum of £500 towards the establishment of a Lancasterian school at Dickleburgh, the native place of the deceased.”

26.—A trotting match took place between a mare, the property of Mr. Crisp, of Stow, Downham Market, and a mare belonging to Mr. Brett, of Fordham, on the turnpike road from the Chequers at Downham Market to the toll-bar at Fincham.  The stakes, £20 a side, “were won by the former by a furlong, the latter having broke eleven times during the journey.”  The winner was ridden by Mr. Abraham Spinks, of Magdalen.

27.—“Died, few days since in his 105th year, Mr. Ling, of Woodbastwick.”

MARCH.

4.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, it was resolved to open a subscription for the relief of the inhabitants of the Russian provinces suffering from the invasion of their country by the French.

5.—Died in London, William Noble, formerly a member of the Norwich Company.

6.*—“We hear the Society of the Antient Order of Stagorians is now reviving in this city, and is likely to become a very respectable one.”

7.—Downham Church was re-opened for service after being closed some months for restoration.

10.—A general fast observed at Norwich.  The shops were closed, and services held at the churches and chapels, at which collections were made for the relief of the poor.

12.—Died, aged 69, Mr. Edward Sharpe, for upwards of 22 years keeper of the Norwich city gaol.

24.—In consequence of the establishment of the Local Militia, the Volunteer corps of Infantry in Norwich and Norfolk were disbanded and deposited their arms.  Each corps received the thanks of the Prince Regent for their patriotic services.

27.*—“The Amelia frigate, the Hon. Captain F. P. Irby, has arrived at Portsmouth after a night action with L’Arethuse, French frigate, one of the most desperate that has been fought during the present war.  This excellent officer, who has been severely wounded, has been so actively employed during the last five years that he has not been resident at his seat, Boyland Hall, more than five days during that period.”

31.—Died at Weasenham, aged 74, Mr. Thomas Sanctuary.  “For many years he was an extensive and opulent farmer.  He left his property among his relatives, with a legacy of £2,000 to Miss Coke out of respect and gratitude to his worthy landlord, Mr. T. W. Coke, under whom he acquired his handsome fortune.”

APRIL.

5.—The West Norfolk Militia marched in three divisions from p. 104Berwick-upon-Tweed to Edinburgh Castle, where they entered permanent quarters.

10.—Charles Harper, 26, and Edmond Impeon, 21, were executed on Castle Hill, Norwich, for a burglary at the dwelling-house of Mr. John Butler, of Barney.  “After hanging the usual time their bodies were delivered to their afflicted relatives, and by them conveyed home for interment.”

17.—Mary Turrell, apprehended on suspicion of being the mother of a newly-born child, whose dead body was found in Vipond’s pond at Harleston, committed suicide by poisoning.  The coroner’s jury returned a verdict of felo de se, “and on the same evening about seven o’clock she was buried in the high road with a stake driven through her body in the presence of a vast concourse of people.”

25.—Died, in his 67th year, Mr. James Bullard, many years master of the Bethel Hospital, Norwich.  His death resulted from a wound in the stomach, inflicted with a scythe by a patient named Jonathan Morley, who was engaged in mowing the lawn in the inner court.  The coroner’s jury returned a verdict of wilful murder, and Morley was committed for trial at the Assizes, when he was ordered to be kept in custody, “being insane at the time he committed the act.”  In December, 1816, an order was received from the Secretary of State for the Home Department for the removal of the prisoner from Norwich gaol to the new Criminal Lunatic Asylum in St. George’s Fields, London.

27.—The “light machine” commenced running between Wells and Norwich.  It set out from Wells on Tuesdays and Fridays at nine o’clock in the morning, and travelled through Fakenham and Bawdeswell to the Bell Inn, Orford Hill, Norwich.  The coach returned by the same road on Wednesdays and Saturdays.  Mr. J. Sizeland was the proprietor.

29.—The Duke of Cumberland arrived at Yarmouth, and embarked on board the Nymphen frigate for the Continent.

MAY.

1.*—“The commanding officers of the Norfolk Regiments of Local Militia and the Norfolk and Norwich Volunteers have received orders to send the accoutrements of their respective regiments to the nearest ports for the use of the German levies against the common enemy.  The arms have this week been sent to Yarmouth.”

1.—A contested election took place for the mayoralty of Norwich.  The candidates were Alderman R. Harvey, jun., Alderman J. Harvey, and Alderman Davey.  The freemen demanded a poll for Mr. R. Harvey, sen., and Mr. J. Ives Harvey.  Mr. Harvey, the elder, strongly opposed his nomination in consequence of his infirm state of health.  The polling commenced at once, and continued till six p.m.  The contest was resumed on the 2nd (Sunday) at ten o’clock, and at the close the voting was declared as follows:—Davey, 764; J. Harvey, 730; R. Harvey, jun., 717; R. Harvey sen., 9.  The two first-named were returned to the Court of Aldermen.  At a Court of Mayoralty held on the 3rd, Mr. John Harvey was objected to on the ground that he was not an inhabitant of the city as required by the Charter.  This p. 105objection was upheld by Mr. Serjeant Lens, to whom the case was submitted, and on May 20 it was resolved at a Special Assembly to apply to the Court of King’s Bench for a mandamus to elect a Mayor.  A writ was granted, and the election took place on June 7, when the candidates were Mr. Davey, who polled 801 votes; Mr. Barnabas Leman, 797; and Mr. J. Harvey, 749.  The two first-named were returned to the Court of Aldermen, who elected Mr. Leman, and he was sworn into office on June 22.

6.—A rowing match took place between four 4-oared boats from Carrow Bridge to Whitlingham and back, for a silver cup.  The Zephyr (Mr. Yarrington) won.  Distance, four miles; time, 36 minutes.

15.—A historical drama, entitled “The Siege of Sarragossa, or Spanish Patriots of 1808,” by Mr. Bennett, a member of the company, was produced at Norwich Theatre.

17.—The birthday of the Princess of Wales was observed in Norwich for the first time by the ringing of the church bells.

23.—Died at Bangalore, in his 26th year, Capt. Robert Beauchamp, of the Hon. East India Company’s Horse Artillery, Madras Establishment, third son of Sir Thomas Beauchamp Proctor, Bart., Langley Park.

24.—The Bishop of Norwich commenced his ordinary visitation of the diocese, at Thetford, and on the following day at St. Peter’s Church, confirmed upwards of 700 persons.  At St. James’s Church, Bury St. Edmund’s, his lordship confirmed 2,700 young persons; at Ipswich, 1,300; Woodbridge, 600; Framlingham, 700; Downham Market, 1,000; St. Nicholas’ Chapel, Lynn, 1,000; Redenhall, 662; at Norwich Cathedral, 800; and in the city and hamlets, 1,000.  The Bishop expressed the opinion “that the number confirmed in the diocese, which was much increased since the last confirmation, was decisive of the laudable exertions of the clergy.”

—The bounds of the parish of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were perambulated, “the officiating individuals being saluted at every part of the parochial confines by sprinklings as memorials of the occasion.  The water ordeal being gone through, the gentleman repaired to a good dinner and the cheerful glass.”  On the 26th “the bounds of St. Andrew’s were in like manner ascertained.”

30.—Three African youths taken out of a Portuguese slave ship by Capt. the Hon. P. F. Irby, of the Amelia frigate, and sent by him to Norwich for education, were baptised at St. Peter Mancroft Church.

JUNE.

4.*—“At Gretna Green, Mr. Thomas Bunn, corn merchant, to Miss Sarah Cobb, second daughter of Mr. John Cobb, of Yarmouth.”  The parties were re-married at Gorleston by the Rev. Mr. Forster, on June 4.

7.—Mr. J. Youngs, of St. Peter Hungate, Norwich, was carried in a sedan chair to record his vote at the Mayor’s election.  On his return home he immediately expired.  He was 85 years old.

8.—Died, at the Grotto, Thetford, Mr. John Ellis, “long known as an industrious collector of antiquities, fossils, foreign birds, &c., of which he had a large and very curious cabinet.”

p. 10617.—The first recorded “speech day” at Norwich Grammar School.  It was described as “the first speech day of the kind ever held at Norwich or at this school,” and its inception was due to the fact that “the Latin oration which in former times used to be delivered at the school porch on Guild Day,” had been “for the last two years superseded by the non-observance of that annual festival.”

19.*—“Died, last week in St. Clement’s, the Widow Herring, in her 106th year.”

—The officers of the Norwich Court Leet seized the defective measures of Edward Phillipps, a retail corn dealer, in King Street.  The offender was fined by the court, who ordered the forfeiture of two of the measures.

20.—Mr. Bowles, “formerly a respectable performer in the Norwich Company of Comedians,” preached at the Octagon Chapel to a numerous congregation.

21.—Opening day of Holkham Sheep Shearing.  It was stated in the course of the proceedings, that “a very large quantity of bones is collected in Norfolk and exported from Yarmouth to distant counties, where, after being ground or crushed, they are used as manure by farmers.”  “Why,” it was asked, “should not Norfolk and Suffolk farmers lay their bones in their own counties?”

JULY.

1.—A rowing match for pair-oared boats took place at Whitlingham.  Distance, one and a half miles; the best two heats out of three.  The winner of the silver cup was the Achilles, owned by Mr. Homer.

4.—The Expedition coach entered Norwich, with colours flying, and with the intelligence of the great victory of the Allied Army at Vittoria under Lord Wellington on June 21.  “Mr. Coldwell, the proprietor of the coach, himself brought down from London a copy of the ‘Gazette Extraordinary,’ and read its glorious contents from the coach box to his fellow citizens assembled in the Market Place.”

7.—The Mayor of Lynn (Mr. John Hemington) laid the foundation stone of the new Theatre in that town.

10.*—“Among the officers promoted to be lieutenant-colonels in the army in consequence of the victory at Vittoria is Major Robert John Harvey, assistant Quarter-Master-General of the Portuguese Army, son of Mr. John Harvey, Thorpe Lodge, Norwich.  This gallant young officer had two horses severely wounded under him in the battle.”

13.—Died, in this 70th year, Mr. Edward Barrow, of St. Saviour, Norwich.  “A native of Manchester, and a yarn factor, Mr. Barrow was the first person who undertook the manufacture of cotton in this city; but what in a peculiar manner consecrates his memory is the merit of his having also been the first manufacturer of the shawl in this city, or perhaps in the kingdom.  This brought in a new history in the era of the loom.”

14.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions the Rev. Augustus Beevor appeared to try his traverse for an assault on Daniel Turner on June 4th, 1812.  The Rev. James Carlos had, in consequence of the absence p. 107of the rector (the defendant), gone to officiate at Berghapton, by virtue of the license of the Bishop of Norwich.  Mr. Carlos also farmed the glebe lands, and Turner was one of his tenants.  Turner received a message from the defendant that he was about to clear the premises of stock belonging to Mr. Carlos, and on his going to the parsonage he was met by Mr. Beevor, who “scientifically fibbed him” about the head and face that plaintiff shrieked aloud for assistance, and two men rescued him from the clutches of his assailant.  The defence was that it was “a square stand-up fight.”  The jury returned a verdict of guilty, upon which an arrangement was made between the parties before the court pronounced judgment.  Defendant was then fined one shilling, and discharged.

17.*—“We are happy to hear that the good effects of the victory of Vittoria were immediately felt in Norwich, as several manufacturers received large orders for broad bombazines which are made for the Spanish market, and which were ordered upon the idea of the whole of the Peninsula being now open to our trade.”

—*“Died, lately, in his 59th year, that ingenious artist, Mr. Henry Neale.  He was the inventor of a model of machinery to represent a cotton manufactory.”

19.—A trotting match, attended with much cruelty, took place between two ponies belonging to Mr. Howlett, of Fakenham, and Mr. Burgess, of the same town.  They were matched to trot twice to and from Norwich, a distance of 100 miles, in the least time.  “They both performed the first 50 miles in five and a quarter hours.  Howlett’s pony, however, became quite exhausted when it reached the sixth mile-stone coming to Norwich on the second time and gave in.  Burgess pursued his journey to Norwich, and returned as far as Morton, where the poor beast died almost immediately.  Howlett’s reached Fakenham much injured.”

21.—The annual meeting of the Unitarian Society was held at Norwich.  The Rev. Robert Aspland, of Hackney, preached at the Octagon Chapel, and the members dined at the Swan Inn, under the presidency of Mr. John Taylor.

24.*—“Mr. Powell, of Weeting (familiarly called ‘Pogey Powell’), who shot the late Lord Falkland in a duel, was killed a few days ago by a fall from his horse, near Worwell, Hampshire.”

27.—Died at her house in Pall Mall, in her 79th year, the Hon. Mrs. Keppel, widow of the late Hon. Dr. Keppel, Bishop of Exeter, aunt of his Royal Highness the Duke of Gloucester, and mother of Mr. Frederick Keppel, of Lexham Hall.

31.*—“Died, lately, Susanna, the wife of Thomas Bolton, of Bradenham, eldest daughter of the late Rev. Edmund Nelson, of Burnham Thorpe, and sister of our immortal Nelson, still more happy in her virtues than in her lineage.”

AUGUST.

2.—This day was played “a grand cricket match in a field opposite the Prussia Gardens, Norwich, for 100 guineas, between eleven gentlemen of Norwich and eleven gentlemen of Bungay.”  Norwich, 37-46; Bungay, 74-10, and eight wickets to go down.  “Bungay refused to p. 108allow Messrs. Bredwell, Clabburn, and Pooley, three expert cricketers, to play in this match.”  The return match took place, at Bungay on August 23.  Norwich, 36-30; Bungay, 116.

4.—A piece of plate was presented by the officers of the late City of Norwich Regiment of Volunteers to Mr. Elisha De Hague, their former Lieutenant-Colonel Commandant.

5.—A six-oared rowing match took place from Carrow Bridge to Whitlingham Point and back, distance upwards of four miles, between the Sylph (Mr. J. Harvey, jun.), and the Aurora (Mr. Lowe).  The Sylph won by 50 yards in 34 minutes 8 seconds.

7.—At this date was published the statement “Norfolk grows the finest barley, and makes the worst ale of any county in the kingdom.”

—An official notice was published announcing that it was in contemplation to demolish “the public-house called St. Andrew’s Steps, and the tenements adjoining in London Lane, Norwich, to lay a small part of the site into the street for the better convenience of the public, and to erect new houses thereon.”

9.—A steam packet, intended for traffic between Yarmouth and Norwich, had her trial trip to Breydon.  On her return “the boat went through the bridge amidst the acclamations of thousands of spectators.”  This vessel, which was built near Leeds, plied regularly upon the Yare, leaving Turner’s bowling-green, Yarmouth, at seven o’clock in the morning, and returning from Norwich at three in the afternoon.

17.—News was received at Norwich of the defeat of Marshal Soult by the Marquis of Wellington.

—The High Sheriff, Mr. Thomas Trench Berney, arrived at Norwich from Bracon Hall, “preceded by a numerous cavalcade, his carriage drawn by four beautiful bays richly caparisoned, the attendant pages, one on each side, mounted on grey ponies and decorated with silk scarves and favours in the ancient style.  The High Sheriff, in full court dress, proceeded to the Rampant Horse Inn, where he entertained a large company at dinner.”

18.—At the Norfolk Assizes at Norwich, before Lord Chief Justice Mansfield and a special jury, an indictment was preferred against the keeper of the county gaol for suffering a prisoner to escape.  The indictment had been moved by certiorari from the Court of King’s Bench, and was tried at nisi prius.  The main question was whether or not the magistrates of the borough of Castle Rising had legally the power of commitment to the county gaol.  They had in this case exercised such power, and the gaoler had accepted the delinquent into his custody and given a receipt for him, but afterwards, on the advice of one of the visiting justices, had suffered him to go at large.  The Lord Chief Justice thought it a question for decision in Westminster Hall rather than for an Assize of oyer and terminer.  Prosecuting counsel disclaimed all intention of enforcing the punishment of the gaoler, and the facts were all admitted on the part of the county, whereupon the special jury, pro forma, found the defendant guilty.

Lord Wodehouse, this month, presented to the parish church of Hingham a stained glass window, in which were represented the subjects of the Crucifixion, the Descent from the Cross, the Resurrection, and the Ascension.

p. 109SEPTEMBER.

1.—Killed at the siege of San Sebastian, in his 21st year, whilst gallantly fighting with his regiment, Lieut. George Norris, of the 47th Regiment, eldest son of the Rev. George Norris, of Foulsham.

2.—Died, at the house of her nephew, Mr. C. P. Herbert, at Setch Bridge, near Lynn, in her 85th year, Mrs. Stevens, “widow of Mr. George Alex. Stevens, of facetious memory, well known as the author and performer of the celebrated ‘Lectures upon Heads,’ and other pieces.”

3.—At Yarmouth General Sessions and gaol delivery, before the Mayor and Sub-Steward (Mr. W. Adair), John Boult Hannah, aged 70, was indicted for the wilful murder of his wife by strangling her on April 14th.  “After the murder he washed the woman’s face, laid the corpse out, and was found sitting by the fire smoking his pipe with the body near.”  He was hanged at Yarmouth on the Monday following the trial.

18.*—“The Earl of Kingston one day this week, at Heydon, bagged 56 brace of birds for a wager with the Earl of Yarmouth for a large sum.”

28.—Died, aged 80, Edward Whetstone, 44 years clerk of the parish of Trowse Newton.  He was originally a journeyman weaver, and had acquired some property.  He purchased and presented an organ which was placed in the church in 1803, and his remains were interred beneath the instrument.

29.—A meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, for the purpose of forming an association in aid of the Church Missionary Society.  The Rev. H. J. Hare, of Docking, presided, and it was resolved that such association be formed, and “that it be known as the Norfolk and Norwich Church Missionary Society for Africa and the East.”  Upwards of £800 was subscribed.

OCTOBER.

2.—Died at Yarmouth, Mrs. Martha Biggs, widow, aged 103.

—Bannister’s Equestrian Company, from Astley’s Royal Amphitheatre, commenced a season at the Pantheon, Norwich.

5.—A grand Musical Festival commenced at Norwich, under the direction of Mr. Pettet, with a miscellaneous concert in St. Andrew’s Hall.  On the morning of the 6th, 7th, and 8th, the “Messiah,” the “Creation,” and the “Redemption,” were rendered in St. Peter Mancroft Church, and concerts were given in St. Andrew’s Hall on the evenings of the 7th and 8th.  The principal performers were Mrs. Dickons, Mrs. Bianchi Lacy, Miss Booth, Master Hobbes, Mr. Braham, Mr. Goes, Mr. Hawes, and Mr. Bellamy; leader of the band, Professor Hague; organ and pianoforte, Mr. Pettet.

11.—Seventy of the supporters of Mr. William Smith dined at the Swan Inn, Norwich, to celebrate his return as member for the city.

16.*—“Mrs. Faucit and Mr. Vining, both late of the Norwich Company, have made their appearance on the boards of Covent Garden Theatre, and have been very favourably received.”

p. 11017.—The Duke of York, accompanied by the Earl of Yarmouth, passed through Dereham on his way from Heydon, where has Royal Highness had been shooting with the Earl of Kingston.

23.*—“In consequence of the numerous robberies which have lately been committed in the vicinity of Norwich, it is in contemplation to establish a horse patrol to act in various directions for the protection of property and persons.”

25.—The festival of St. Crispin and Crispianus was revived by the journeymen shoemakers of Norwich, “who paraded the streets with music, and celebrated the day, through the liberality of their masters, at various houses.”

28.—Died, aged 65, Mr. Edward Billingsley, of Hockwold-cum-Wilton.  He served the office of High Sheriff in 1787.

31.—Died at New Buckenham, in her 101st year, Mrs. Mary Gibbs.  “She was born the 5th day of May, 1713, being the day peace was proclaimed with France in the reign of Queen Anne.”

NOVEMBER.

1.—Died, at East Dereham, Dame Eleanor Fenn, widow of Sir John Fenn, knight.  “Under the names of Mrs. Teachwell and Mrs. Lovechild, she wrote several books for the benefit of the rising generation.”  Her remains were interred at Finningham, Suffolk.

4.—News was received at Norwich of the defeat of Buonaparte near Leipsic.  St. Peter Mancroft bells were rung, and a bonfire lighted in the Market Place.  There were further celebrations on the 10th on receipt of the news of the successes in Germany, and of the surrender of the fortress of Pamplona.

14.—A new organ was opened at Holt Church.

15.—This day was fixed for the celebration of the victories gained over France in Spain and Germany.  At Norwich a bullock was roasted whole in the Market Place.  The roasting commenced at nine o’clock the previous evening (Sunday, 14th).  At noon a grand procession started from the Castle Meadow, and, passing through the principal streets, entered the Market Place.  “At one o’clock Mr. Lowden, the butcher, commenced to carve the bullock, but the crowd broke over the barriers, and there was a disgusting waste of good provision.”  Six hundred 2d. loaves and ten barrels of stout were given away.  A public dinner took place at the Angel Inn, and in the evening a huge bonfire was lighted in the Market Place.  Great depredations were committed in obtaining materials for the fire, and several offenders were committed to Bridewell.  There was also a procession of stage coaches, and an effigy of Buonaparte was burned.  A general illumination followed.  Celebrations also took place in nearly every town and village in the county.

16.—Died at Worlingworth, Suffolk, aged 81, Lewis Johnson, 35 years parish clerk of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  He resigned the office in 1812.

23.—Intelligence received in Norwich of a counter Revolution in Holland.

p. 11129.—Capt. Cockburn, commanding Royal Artillery in Norwich, sent to Yarmouth 500,000 ball cartridges for the use of the Orange Patriots in Holland.

30.—A wrestling match took place at Barford between “the noted Game Chicken” and “the East Tuddenham champion.  There was a vast concourse of spectators, and the odds were seven to one on the Game Chicken, who won with the greatest ease, and was offered to be backed for 100 guineas against any 11 stone man in England.”

DECEMBER.

4.*—“Among the officers severely wounded in the late action in Bayonne were Lieut. James Day, of the Royal Horse Artillery, son of Mr. M. S. Day, jun., of Norwich, and Lieut. Charles Eaton, second battalion, 95th Regiment, son of the Rev. Eaton Browne, of Elsing.”

18.—Eight French officers, taken prisoners at Cuxhaven, arrived at Norwich by steam barge from Yarmouth, on parole, and on the 20th left for Chesterfield.  In a letter to the Mayor they acknowledged, in warm terms, the kindness they had received from the citizens of Norwich.

19.—The Expedition coach arrived at Norwich with the intelligence of the defeat of Marshal Soult by the Marquis Wellington.

1814.

JANUARY.

1.—A remarkable funeral took place at Shelfanger.  The body of Mr. Smith, a farmer, was conveyed from Fersfield in a waggon drawn by his own team.  The coffin was covered with a waggon tilt, and sacks of straw served as seats for his children and grandchildren.  Behind the waggon walked his riding horse as chief mourner, and the singers of the congregation chanted a funeral dirge.  “He was a person who in habits, manners, and opinions exhibited a singularity that was not easily paralleled.”

4.—Died at St. Gregory’s, Norwich, aged 61, Mrs. Chesnutt, wife of Mr. John Chesnutt.  For many years she was a favourite dancer on the Norwich stage.

—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich, it was decided to present to the Prince Regent an address, congratulating him upon “the late glorious victories with which the Almighty had been pleased to crown the arms of his Majesty and his Allies.”

5.—Died, of wounds received at Bayonne, Ensign Hardy, 31st Regiment of Foot, son of Mr. James Hardy, of Hethersettt.

p. 1126.—Died, at his house at Catton, Mr. Jeremiah Ives Harvey, Alderman of Conisford Ward, Norwich.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1779, and was Mayor in 1783.  He was in his 69th year.

7.—A curious incident occurred at the funeral of Benjamin Edwards, for 20 years coachman to Lord Suffield at Blickling.  “The corpse was conveyed from the house to the church for interment, followed by thirty servants in their liveries.  After the Rev. Mr. Churchill had retired from the grave an old acquaintance came forward and performed a promise which had been made by each party, which was done as follows:—He enquired his age, and was informed it was 64.  He then took a bottle of rum from his pocket and threw it upon the head of the coffin.  From the fall the bottle broke and the rum was distributed upon the lid of the coffin.  He said ‘God bless him.  I have performed my promise as I am sure he would have done had I gone first.’”

8.*—“A few days since the harriers of Mr. J. Gooch unexpectedly found an outlying deer in Hempnall Wood, which they immediately drove from covert, and it afforded a most capital chase without a break for an hour and forty minutes, through sixteen parishes and a hard run of 28 miles.”

—*“Lieut. Robert Blake, of the 3rd Regiment of Foot, was so severely wounded in the action near Bayonne that he had his leg amputated.”

9.—Very severe weather was experienced this month.  On the 9th at nine p.m. the thermometer fell 20 degrees below freezing point, and the severity of the frost rendered the river impassable between Norwich and Yarmouth.  On the 19th occurred a heavy fall of snow, which blocked the roads and prevented traffic.  The mail bags were brought to Norwich on horseback; the London waggons which should have arrived on the 19th came in on the evening of the 20th, drawn by teams of twelve or fourteen horses.  Carriers who had arrived in the city were unable to return; the Yarmouth coach was preceded by an empty waggon which, drawn by six horses, made a road for it.  A second sharp frost occurred on February 15th, and continued to the 25th, when the thermometer registered 17 degrees below freezing point.

10.—Mr. Crisp Brown was elected an Alderman for Coslany Ward, Norwich, in place of Mr. Jeremiah Ives Harvey, deceased.

13.—A general thanksgiving took place for the late victories.  The Mayor and Corporation of Norwich attended service at the Cathedral, and at the various churches and chapels in the city collections were made for the poor.

—The portrait of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., painted by Sir Thomas Lawrence, was presented to the county magistrates by the subscribers, and placed in the Grand Jury chamber at the Shirehouse, Norwich.

26.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by Mr. Steward Alderson, it was decided to establish a similar society to the Norwich Benevolent Society, but upon a more extensive and permanent plan.  Visitors were appointed for each parish, and £2,400 was raised.

—News was received at Norwich of the conclusion of Peace between this country and Denmark, and St. Peter Mancroft bells were rung in celebration.

p. 11329.—A main of cocks was fought at the Swan Inn, Norwich, between the gentlemen of Cambridgeshire and the gentlemen of Norwich, for 10 guineas a battle and 100 guineas the odd.  Cambridgeshire won with five battles to the good.

FEBRUARY.

5.—Died at Scratby Hall, the Countess Dowager Home, aged 68.

—*“At the last General Quarter Sessions of the peace for the borough of Lynn, before Mr. Robert Bevill, Recorder, Mrs. Ann Clarke received the awful sentence of death for wilfully and maliciously attempting to stab her husband, Mr. W. Clarke, a ship master, with intention to murder him.”  The prisoner was afterwards reprieved, and the sentence commuted to transportation for life.

—Arrived at Yarmouth, Capt. Spencer, of that port, who had escaped from France, where he had for four years been a prisoner of war in the fortress of Bitche.

18.—Died, at Hethel Hall, in his 89th year, Sir Thomas Beevor, Bart.  An active magistrate for more than half a century, he was created baronet during the Whig administration of the Duke of Portland in 1783.

—Died, at Walsham, Suffolk, aged 69, the Very Rev. Coombe Miller, Dean of Chichester and rector of Winfarthing and Snetterton.  He was buried at Eccles, near Attleborough.

22.—The Corporation of Norwich subscribed £100 to the fund for relieving the distresses of the unfortunate sufferers in Germany.

26.—In the Arches Court, Doctors’ Commons, was heard a cause for the restitution of conjugal rights promoted by Mr. (afterwards Sir) Thomas Beevor, of Mangreen Hall, against Ann Beevor.  The parties were married at the parish church, Hargham, on August 24th, 1795, and cohabited together until June 30th, 1802, when Mrs. Beevor left her husband’s house, and some time after promoted a suit of divorce or separation by reason of his cruelty.  In that suit Mr. Beevor was dismissed from the cause.  In this case the court admonished Mrs. Beevor to return again to the society of her husband.

28.—Died at Cardiff, Lieut. W. H. Clifford, husband of Mrs. Clifford, of the Norwich Theatre.

MARCH.

1.—On the information of Joseph Stannard, a Norwich printer, named Stewardson, was fined “for omitting to affix his name to a song printed by him.”  (See July 12th, 1814.)

11.—Died, at his house in Welbeck Street, London, Mr. Henry Jodrell, of Bayfield Hall, who was for many years Recorder and Member of Parliament for Yarmouth, and one of the chairmen of Norfolk Quarter Sessions.

12.*—“Died, last week, at Woodbridge, Mrs. Fisher, wife of Mr. Fisher, manager of the Norfolk and Suffolk Theatrical Company.”

p. 11415.—Died, at Bath, aged 34, Mr. R. Harley Cushing, comedian, a native of Norwich.

18.—The Newmarket mail arrived at Norwich, with the horses decorated with laurel, bringing confirmation of the intelligence in the “Hague Gazette,” of Marshal Blucher’s victory over the French on March 9th.  The bells of St. Peter Mancroft were rung.

21.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Heath, the action Mann v. Carroll and others was tried.  The plaintiff was master of the Red Lion Inn, Thetford, and the defendants executors of the late Mr. James Mingay, Member of Parliament for the borough.  The claim was for £338 15s. 5d., the amount of certain expenses incurred at plaintiff’s house at the General Election of 1806, including a dinner on the polling day, and a ball and supper on the following evening.  Mr. Mingay and Lord William Fitzroy were returned, but the former had been unseated, and several questions arose as to his personal liability: first, whether or not any assumpsit could be fixed upon him at all; second, whether or not he was liable for the whole; third, whether he was or not jointly liable with his colleague; and fourth, whether or not upon the event of his death such liability vested in the survivor, absolving the personal representatives of the deceased.  The defendants endeavoured to show that the expense of the entertainments was incurred by the Corporation of Thetford, and that Mr. Mingay took part as a guest and not as lord of the feast.  The Judge held that Mr. Mingay “was personally liable from having partaken of the entertainments, it having been decided in many cases that in all public feasts the individuals present were jointly and severally liable for the whole expense incurred.”  A verdict was given for the plaintiff for the full amount, subject to a reference as to the items of the bill.

—At the same Assizes Robert Trundle and Rosetta Trundle were criminally indicted for forging a writing purporting to be the will of Mary Inalls, of Great Dunham, and for suborning witnesses to prove the due execution of such writing to affect the disposition of the property of the deceased with intent thereby to defraud the next of kin.  The document had been proved as a will in the Archdeaconry Court of Norwich on July 17th, 1812, and was drawn in favour of the prisoners.  The Judge thought there was not sufficient evidence of forgery, and under his direction the jury acquitted the accused.

24.—The Dutch Regiment, about 600 strong, which had been formed at Yarmouth, embarked in three transports from that port for Holland.

25.—Died, at Barnbougle Castle, his lordship’s seat in Linlithgow, in his 86th year, the Right Hon. Neil Earl of Rosebery, K.T.  He married first, in 1764, Susan, only sister and heiress of Sir Randal Ward, Bart., of Bixley, who died in 1771, without issue, and secondly, in 1775, Mary, daughter of Sir Francis Vincent, Bart., by whom he had two sons and three daughters.

26.*—“Lieut.-Col. Harvey, acting Quarter-Master-General of the column of Lord Wellington’s army which fought in the battle of St. Boes, and had the brunt of the late actions, escaped unhurt.  Lieut.-Col. Kerrison, of the 7th Hussars, greatly distinguished himself in the late actions.  He seized the opportunity of charging the French infantry in disorder and flight, taking a great many of them.  This p. 115regiment took about 600 prisoners.  The whole army was witness of this affair with whom it is a subject of admiration.”

APRIL.

2.*—“Mr. William George Daniel, of Folly House, Kent, and of Foulden Hall, in this county, a captain in the Army, and lord of the manor of Hackney, in the county of Middlesex, takes the surname and arms of Tyssen.”

6.—With colours flying and the passengers decorated with the white cockade, the Newmarket mail brought to Norwich news of the entry of the Allied Army into Paris on March 31st.  The church bells were rung, and a bonfire lighted in the Market Place.  The rejoicings were renewed on the 9th, 10th, and 11th, upon the receipt of the intelligence of the counter Revolution, Buonaparte’s abdication, and the restoration of the Bourbons.  On the last mentioned day the horses were removed from the mail coach, and the people dragged it thrice round the Market Place.  The Chevalier De Bardelin, a French emigrant gentleman, formerly in the service of the King of France, left Norwich, where he had resided 15 years, to accompany Louis XVIII. to Paris.

9.—The Rev. T. C. Munnings, of Gorgate Hall, East Dereham, exhibited at Norwich Market specimens of his “preserved turnips.”  He introduced the plan of earthing up the roots in November and December for consumption in March and April.

11.—Miss Binfield, of the Norwich Theatre, was elected organist of St. Mary-le-Tower Church, Ipswich.

16.*—“Mr. G. G. Lowne, a native of Norwich, who was taken prisoner on board his Majesty’s ship Shannon, when that frigate was wrecked on the rocks of La Hogue in December, 1803, lately arrived here, having made his escape from close confinement at Cambay on the approach of the Allies to that part of the French frontiers.”

19.—A grand fête was held at Yarmouth in honour of the victories.  It commenced with a pageant called “The Triumph of Neptune.”  The “sea god” landed upon the beach and headed a procession round the town.  In the procession was an effigy of Buonaparte in fetters.  “Afterwards 58 tables were laid on the Quay from north to south, each accommodating from 120 to 150 persons, to whom roast beef and plum pudding were served.”  After dinner there was a naval procession to the Denes, where donkey races and other sports took place; a bonfire concluded the day’s rejoicings.  The public subscription to defray the cost of the celebration exceeded £1,000.

23.*—“The Earl of Home takes the surname of Ramey in addition to that of Home, in compliance with a condition contained in the will of his maternal grandfather, Mr. John Ramey, of Yarmouth.”

—*“Died last week, aged 83, Mr. William Cutting, formerly a manufacturer, of Norwich, who served the office of Sheriff in 1790.”

—*“Died last week, at Oakingham, Berks., aged 63, John Waddy, late of Covent Garden, and formerly of Norwich Theatre.”

29.—An organ erected in St. Stephen’s Church, Norwich, by Mr. p. 116England, was opened by Mr. Pettet.  Mrs. Solomon and Mr. C. Smith were the vocalists, who also took part in a concert held in the evening at Noverre’s Room, St. Michael-at-Plea.

MAY.

1.—This day (Sunday), being May Day, “came on agreeably to charter,” the election of Mayor of Norwich.  The polling continued throughout Sunday and Monday.  At seven o’clock on Sunday evening the votes recorded were: Alderman Robberds, 762; Alderman Davey, 616; Alderman Back, 508; Alderman Patteson, 170.  “The majority for Alderman Davey over Alderman Back being 108, the friends of the latter demanded that the books should be opened again next morning.”  The second day’s poll was closed by agreement at 12 o’clock, when the result was declared as follows: Davey, 757; Robberds, 919; Patteson, 180; Back, 763.  A scrutiny was demanded on behalf of Mr. Davey.  It commenced on the 12th and continued till the 19th, when Mr. Davey withdrew.  Mr. Robberds and Mr. Back were then returned to the Court of Aldermen, by whom the former was elected to the office of Mayor.

5.—Mr. Fitzgerald, a favourite actor in the Norwich Company, appeared as Shylock, and delivered a farewell address, on leaving the circuit for the Theatre Royal at Hull and York, of which he was appointed patentee.

7.*—(Advt.)  “Stoke Mills near Norwich.  Jeremiah Colman having taken the stock and trade lately carried on by Mr. Edward Ames, respectfully informs his customers and the public in general that he will continue the manufacturing of mustard, and he takes leave to assure those who may be pleased to favour him with their orders that they shall be supplied in such a manner as cannot fail to secure their approbation.”

17.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich it was resolved to petition Parliament against the proposed alteration in the Corn Laws.

18.—Thorpe Asylum was opened for the reception of forty male pauper lunatics.

19.—The minister, churchwardens, and principal inhabitants of St. Giles’, Norwich, went the bounds of the parish, and afterwards dined at the Woolpack Inn.  “Ale, buns, and bumps were distributed among the attendants, one of whom swam across the basin in Chapel Field to observe the line of demarkation between St. Peter’s parish for which he received half a crown.”

21.*—“The long depending wrestling match between Lock and the Game Chicken was lately decided in favour of the former after a severe contest of a quarter of an hour.”

24.—A fête in celebration of the victories commenced at Thetford.  A procession escorting an effigy of Buonaparte “loaded with irons” went round the town, and a ball took place in the evening.  On the 26th 1,500 persons were entertained at dinner in a paddock.  The Mayor presided, and the Bishop of Norwich witnessed the proceedings.  p. 117Sports were held, and at night a bonfire was lighted, and the effigy of Buonaparte consumed in the flames.

The death took place at Oulton, this month, of Mrs. Margaret Dent, at the age of 100.

JUNE.

1.—Died in London, aged 53, Mr. Robert Herring, of Bracondale, Norwich.  He was alderman for South Conisford Ward, served the office of Sheriff in 1791, and was Mayor in 1807.  Mr. Thomas Thurtell, of Lakenham, was elected to the vacant aldermanship on June 6th.

—A public meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, when resolutions were moved by Mr. E. Taylor in opposition to the Corn Bill.  The resolutions, which were unanimously adopted, represented that the citizens had for twenty years suffered great privations and hardships from the advance in price of all necessaries of life, and particularly of “bread corn,” that they viewed with alarm the measure introduced in Parliament as calculated to raise the price of grain; and that the proposed alterations in the Corn Laws were ill-timed, unwise, and oppressive.—The “Bill for Regulating the Importation Duties” was defeated in the House of Commons by a majority of ten on June 6th, and on the arrival of the intelligence by the Newmarket mail on the 8th, the horses were removed from the coach, which was drawn for three hours through the streets.  Persons with large loaves of bread on their heads were on the box seat, bells were rung, and pistols fired, and at midnight a bonfire was lighted in the Market Place, and many depredations were committed by those who obtained the materials with which to feed the flames.

3.—The Expedition coach arrived at Norwich with news of the definite Treaty of Peace, which was signed in Paris on the 30th ult.  Amid great rejoicings the people dragged the coach four times round the Market Place, and through the principal streets.  On the 15th 500 freemen of the Long Ward were entertained by Mr. S. Mitchell to a dinner of roast beef at Harper’s Gardens; on the 16th the Mayor entertained the parochial poor, and there was a grand illumination in the evening.  Peace was formally proclaimed on the 27th by the Mayor and Corporation walking in procession to various parts of the city.  Before being admitted to the Close the Mayor knocked thrice at the gate, and informed Mr. J. Kitson, the Bishop’s registrar, that admittance was asked by virtue of his Majesty’s writ.  The proclamation was then made in the Cathedral precincts, and on returning to the Guildhall the Corporation partook of refreshments.  Mr. Sheriff Higgins entertained the company to dinner at his house in Pitt Street, and also feasted the poor.  Thanksgiving services were held on July 7th, and 723 charity children were entertained in St. Andrew’s Hall.  On the 20th at a quarterly assembly of the Corporation an address was voted to the Prince Regent congratulating him on “the highly honourable and auspicious Peace concluded with France.”

20.—Mr. Robert Partridge, alderman, presented to the Corporation of Norwich “an elegant tripod in the Grecian style, to support a silver candelabrum of three lights, surmounted with the figures of St. George and the Dragon,” given by him in 1786.

p. 11821.—Guild Day was held in the “old style” at Norwich by Mr. J. W. Robberds on his being sworn in as Mayor.  The feast at St. Andrew’s Hall was attended by upwards of 500 guests, and a ball took place in the evening at Chapel Field House.

22.—A Musical Festival, “in celebration of the Peace,” commenced at the church of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, with a performance of “Judas Maccabaeus.”  The “Messiah” was given on the 23rd, and a selection of sacred music on the 24th.  On each evening a miscellaneous concert took place in St. Andrew’s Hall.  The principal performers were Madame Catalani, Miss Stephens, Miss Booth, Mr. Braham, Mr. Garbett, Mr. Turner, and Mr. Welsh; leader of the band, Dr. Hague; organ and pianoforte, Mr. Beckwith.

JULY.

1.—A meeting, presided over by the Mayor, was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, when resolutions were passed in favour of the abolition of the African slave trade, and it was decided to petition the House of Commons to the same effect.  The opponents of the resolutions moved, as an amendment, that the Prince Regent was the only person to be addressed pending the negociations with France upon the subject.  The resolutions were adopted by large majorities.

2.*—“Capt. Matthias, of Stanhoe Hall, has returned to his family in perfect health after being a prisoner in France ten and a half years.”

4.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced on this date, a fortnight later than usual owing to the Peace celebrations in Norwich and the county.  “None of the implements possessed sufficient merit to entitle the inventor to the handsome premium offered by Mr. Coke.”

6.—Peace was proclaimed at Yarmouth by the Mayor and Corporation going in procession through the town.  At night there was a general illumination.

7.—Peace was proclaimed at King’s Lynn.

12.—At the Norwich Quarter Sessions the case of the King v. Griggs was tried.  This was a prosecution at the suit of Mr. Joseph Stannard, a pork butcher, against the defendant, a dealer, for the publication of a libel in the form of a song, entitled “Soup Meagre Joe.”  The song reflected on the quality of the soup made by Mr. Stannard, at the request of a Mr. Mitchell, for distribution among the poor of the city during the severe weather in February, 1814.  It was stated that the prosecutor neither received nor expected remuneration.  His beneficence was rewarded by gross insults from the mob, by assaults, by placards in the streets, by anonymous letters, and by songs which were sung by “Blind Peter” and another ballad singer.  One of these songs was printed by Mr. Stewardson from MS. furnished by the defendant.  The jury, after four hours’ deliberation, returned a verdict of guilty, and the defendant was fined £10.

13.—The first division of West Norfolk Militia, under the command of Col. Nelthorpe, marched into Norwich, from Yarmouth, where they had landed the previous morning from the Tickler cutter, and four Berwick traders from Leith.  St. Peter’s bells were rung, and the p. 119men received the hearty congratulations of the citizens.  The second division arrived on the 16th, commanded by Major Barnham.  On the 18th the Earl of Orford, colonel of the regiment, entertained the officers and their friends at the Maid’s Head Inn.  The regiment on the 19th received the thanks of the House of Commons for their services.

19.—Died at Long Stratton, aged 60, the Rev. William D’Oyly, for more than 20 years curate of Stratton St. Michael and Flordon with Hapton.  He raised a fund of nearly £500 by small subscriptions for widening and improving Briggs’ Lane, Norwich.

23.—Capt. William Hoste, R.N., was created a Baronet.

28.—Dr. James Edward Smith, of Norwich, founder and President of the Linnean Society, presented to the Prince Regent a set of the Transactions of the Society, and received, on the recommendation of Lord Sidmouth, the honour of knighthood.

30.*—“The four sons of Mr. C. E. Bagge, M.P., late of Quebec House, Dereham, are authorised to take the name and arms of Lee Warner instead of Bagge.”

AUGUST.

8.—The Mayor and Court of Aldermen visited the annual exhibition of the Norwich Society of Artists.

11.—The Hon. John Wodehouse, as foreman of the Grand Jury at the Norfolk Assizes, proposed, and Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., seconded, resolutions recommending that a subscription be opened for the erection of a monument to the memory of Lord Nelson.  At a meeting of the Norwich Corporation on October 22nd it was resolved that the city subscribe £200, and the Speaker was requested to attend the county meeting, and urge that the monument be erected on the Castle Hill “or some other commanding situation in or near the city.”  At the county meeting, held the same week, it was announced that the subscriptions amounted to £5,138.  At a meeting held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, on January 14th, 1815, it was resolved that the monument be erected at Yarmouth.  The committee, at a meeting held during the Norfolk Assizes at Thetford on March 29th, 1815, after inspecting 44 plans and designs, “selected an Athenian Doric column sent by Mr. William Wilkins, architect, of London, a native of Norwich, and author of ‘Magna Græcia.’”  Nearly £7,000 was subscribed.

14.—Died, in Parliament Place, London, aged 85, Mr. E. H. Delaval, of Seaton Delaval, Northumberland, and of Hoddington, Lincolnshire.  “By his death the mansion house of Seaton Delaval, and the family estate of the late Lord Delaval, has devolved upon Sir Jacob Henry Astley, Bart., M.P., for Norfolk, whose mother was his lordship’s eldest sister.”

20.*—“The officers of the 7th Hussars have presented Col. Kerrison with a piece of plate, of the value of 200 guineas, in testimony of their admiration of his gallantry at the battle of Orthes.”

22.—Races were held at Cromer, which at the time was very full of company, and the “new subscription room” and dances a great p. 120attraction to many distinguished visitors.  “From the course being in the immediate neighbourhood of Gunton and Blickling,” it was expected that Cromer races would “soon vie with those of Yarmouth, &c.”

30.—Mr. William Burt and Mr. R. Hawkes were candidates for the office of freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich.  The former was returned with 810 votes as against 726 polled by his opponent.  It was stated that “so severe a contest at the election of Sheriff had not taken place since 1781.”

SEPTEMBER.

11.—Died, at Hoveton House, aged 85, Mr. Anthony Aufrere, for fifty years an active magistrate in the county.

13.—The portrait of Mr. William Smith, M.P. (painted by Thompson), was placed in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.

17.—Capt. Robert D. Patteson, 6th Regiment of Foot, second son of Mr. John Patteson, of Norwich, was killed during the sortie made by the American troops from Fort Erie.

—*“Last week a single wicket match was played at Downham Market for a considerable sum between Mr. William Griggs, of Stow Bardolph, and Mr. James Hall, of Downham.  Griggs, 8-37; Hall, 11-9.”

26.—Died at Hadleigh, aged 34, Henry Reeve, M.D., one of the physicians of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, and of the Bethel Hospital, Norwich.

28.—A peal of six bells, purchased by public subscription in celebration of the Peace, was opened at New Buckenham.  The bells were cast by Dobson, of Downham Market, and the tenor weighed 12 cwt.  “A prize of six hats, value 10s. each, was given to the company who gave proof of their skill in ringing the best peal.”  The Hopton company were declared winners, a distinction which was warmly contested by the Norwich men.

29.—Died, in St. Giles’, Norwich, aged 85, the Rev. Thomas Howes, rector of Morningthorpe, and of Thorndon, Suffolk.  “He was a profound scholar, and a formidable antagonist with Bishop Horsley of Dr. Priestley in the Tractarian controversy in 1781.  He was also the author of several theological works.”

OCTOBER.

17.—Mr. Thomas Coldwell, coach proprietor of Norwich, was presented by the Corporation with the freedom of the city in recognition of his services in forwarding the mails to and from Norwich during the severe weather of the previous winter.

19.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, “the justices having regard of the present high price of hay and oats,” ordered the following additional rates of allowance to be made in the county to persons who provided carriages for the conveyance of his Majesty’s forces in their marches, or for their arms, clothing, or accoutrements: 1s. for p. 121every mile any waggon with four or more horses, or any wain with six oxen, or with four oxen and two horses and their driver; 9d. for every mile any cart with four horses, or carrying not less than 15 cwt.; and 6d. for every mile any cart or carriage with less than four horses, and not carrying 15 cwt.

20.—Mr. Samuel Wesley, the eminent organist, gave a recital at the church of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.

21.—The Castle Corporation at Norwich celebrated its jubilee.  The first meeting was held at the Bell Inn, Orford Hill, in 1764, under the name of the Bell Corporation, and “was governed by a Mayor, Sheriffs, and Aldermen, and the usual officers attached to a Corporation.”  In 1793 the members were “much divided on the politics of the day, and particularly upon the French Revolution.”  The society then separated into two political parties, “when those who viewed with horror the proceedings of the French Convention, and the attempts made by the correspondents to bring about a revolution in this country,” removed to the Castle Inn, assumed the name of the Castle Corporation, and espoused the principles of Pitt.  At this dinner Mr. Charles Harvey, M.P., presented to and invested the “Mayor” (Mr. Crisp Brown) with a medallion containing a cameo likeness of Pitt.

22.—Four troops of the 5th Dragoon Guards marched into Norwich and occupied the Cavalry Barracks, whence the detachment of Royal Artillery was removed to the Infantry Barracks in St. Michael at Coslany.

29.—For an attempted felony, Charles Pegg stood in the city pillory in Norwich Market Place for one hour.  “The hoary-headed culprit was taken back to the City Gaol.”

NOVEMBER.

20.—Died, aged 74, James Church, sexton of St. Peter Permountergate, Norwich.  “He had held the situation near fifty years, and buried upwards of 3,000 persons.”

22.—Died, at Eaton Hall, in his 55th year, Mr. Jonathan Davey, alderman of Norwich.  Mr. Nathaniel Bolingbroke was elected in his place alderman of Colegate Ward.

23.—Died, at Costessey (at the seat of his nephew, Sir George Jerningham), General Jerningham, who was born in 1742, entered the service of France, and became colonel commandant of several of the Irish regiments.  At the Revolution he returned home, where he remained until the Peace of Amiens in 1802, when he again proceeded to France.  Unable to recover his property there, he was, on the renewal of hostilities in 1803, by order of Bonaparte, detained a prisoner with the rest of his countrymen, and it was only on the King’s restoration that he was released.

26.*—“Tower half-pence being refused to be taken in exchange, Mr. Smith, M.P., has written to the Mint, who have agreed to accept them under certain conditions.”

28.—Four troops of the 5th Dragoon Guards marched from Norwich for Ipswich.  A troop of the Duke of Brunswick’s Oels marched in on December 2.

p. 122DECEMBER.

9.—A riot was occasioned at King’s Lynn by sailors who, with a number of other persons, forcibly took a portion of the crew from a vessel about to sail, and demanded a general rise of wages.  The Brunswick Hussars from Norwich and the Freebridge and Lynn Legion speedily put an end to the tumult, and three of the rioters were taken to Norwich Castle under cavalry escort.  At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich in July, 1815, the offenders were sentenced to two months’ imprisonment.

12.—The Duke of Gloucester left Holkham Hall after a week’s visit to Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P.

13.—The new tenor bell for St. Peter Mancroft church, Norwich, was deposited in the tower preparatory to its being hung in place of the old one, which had been taken down and broken up.  The new bell was inscribed, “To the King, Queen, and Royal Family, this harmonious peal of 12 bells is dedicated.  Thomas Mears, London, fecit, 1814.”  The weight was 42 cwt., 2 qrs., or about 28 lbs. heavier than its predecessor.

21.—Gas light was introduced at the shop of Mr. Harrison, the Market Place, Norwich.  “Sixteen brilliant lights were kept burning for five hours at the trifling expense of 9d. in coals.  The gas is conveyed from a small fireplace in the kitchen through tubes into branches.”

31.*—“The Prince Regent has been pleased to grant the dignity of a baronet to Mr. Thomas Preston, of Beeston St. Lawrence.”

1815.

JANUARY.

6.—At Brighton Pavilion the Prince Regent conferred the honour of knighthood on Colonel Kerrison, 7th Hussars.

12.—Mr. Crisp Brown, as “Mayor” of the Castle Corporation, Norwich, presented to Mr. Thomas Back a silver vase in recognition of his “zealous and liberal support of the loyal and constitutional principles of the society.”

13.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by the Mayor, it was unanimously resolved to petition Parliament against the continuance of the Property Tax under any modification whatever.  Both Members for the city supported the resolutions.  A meeting of the owners of estates, and other contributors to the Property Tax, in Norfolk, took place at the Shirehouse under the presidency of the High Sheriff.  Similar resolutions were adopted on the ground that the tax was “unjust, unequal, and inquisitorial.”  At Yarmouth, Lynn, and other towns in the county like protests were made.

p. 12314.—Equestrian performances were given at Norwich Theatre for a short season, commencing on this date.  The “beautiful and surprising troop of horses” appeared in the dramatic spectacles of “Timour, the Tartar,” “Blue Beard,” “The Tiger Horde,” and “Lodorska.”

—*“All those who have witnessed the performance of Mons. du Pain, at the Angel Inn, Norwich, particularly his emersing his hands and feet in boiling lead, express their astonishment at his feats, and the room is crowded every day.”

—*“Died, lately at Lynn, aged 70, Mr. William Munsen, who pursued the employment of a shoeblack.  He was reported to be the illegitimate son of a nobleman, and would never accept offers of pecuniary assistance which were secretly made to him by his unknown parents.  He supported himself for 50 years by his humble employment, and was generally known as “Billy Boots.”  (A detailed account of this individual was compiled by Hone from the notice in the Norfolk Chronicle.)

16.—The fifth great main of cocks between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridgeshire commenced at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, and after a sharp contest, which lasted the two following days, was won by the home representatives by a single battle.  Betting was in favour of Cambridgeshire.

21.*—“The game bull which has been frequently baited near Carrow Abbey is a very gentle animal, but no dog has yet been found that can pin him down.”

24.—A prize fight took place between Pegg, “the noted bruiser,” and Fox, a horse dealer, of Costessey.  “It lasted an hour, when the former received such a ‘pegging’ that he was carried off in a state of insensibility.”

—A sea eagle, measuring seven feet six inches from tip to tip of its expanded wings, and three feet from the crown of its head to the end of its tail, was killed at Rollesby.

FEBRUARY.

4.*—“Messrs. Mackie, of Norwich, in a very handsome and public-spirited manner, have presented the trustees of Carrow Bridge with nearly 500 plants of the Cœrulean willow, and have also been at the whole expense of planting them on each side of the road leading towards Thorpe.”

7.—The new Theatre at Lynn was opened under the management of Mr. John Brunton with “Lovers’ Vows” and “Raising the Wind.”  In addition to the manager, the company included Mr. Foote, of the Theatre Royal, Dublin; Mr. and Mrs. Hall, from the Theatre Royal, York; Mr. Tokeby, Mr. Renaud, Mr. Gomery, and Mrs. Grove, of the Theatre Royal, Haymarket.  On the 9th Mr. C. Kemble appeared as Macbeth; on the 11th, Miss Eliza Brunton made “her first appearance on any stage” as Desdemona to Mr. Kemble’s Othello; and on March 25th Mrs. Jordan appeared as Widow Cheerley in “The Soldier’s Daughter,” and on succeeding evenings as Miss Hoyden in “The Trip to Scarborough,” as Widow Belmour, and as Nell in “The Devil to Pay.”  A brilliant season terminated on April 18th.  It was said that p. 124“in beauty, simplicity, and correctness of style” this house could “hold competition with any theatre out of the Metropolis.”

9.—Fifty thousand persons assembled to witness a balloon ascent by a Mr. Steward from the Prussia Gardens, Norwich.  The balloon rose a short distance and fell in Messrs. Mackie’s nursery grounds, went up again and descended in a garden.  The mob rushed in, tore the balloon to pieces, and would have roughly handled the aeronaut but for General Money taking him into his carriage and conveying him to a place of safety.  A public subscription had been opened for some weeks previously to defray the cost of the ascent; and another list was started to recoup Mr. Steward his loss.

27.—A cocking match took place at the Lobster Inn, St. John Maddermarket, Norwich, between North Walsham and Norwich.  Feeders: Lamb, for North Walsham; Stafford, for Norwich.

MARCH.

1.—The poor freemen of Great Wymer Ward, Norwich, presented a silver cup, of the value of 50 guineas, to Mr. Samuel Mitchell, one of the nominees of the ward.

—A match was decided at Blickling Park between three horses belonging respectively to Mr. Sheppard and Mr. Roper, of Coleby, and Mr. Wright, of Aylsham.  The best of three one mile heats was won by Mr. Sheppard’s horse.  A second race between two horses, the property of Mr. Gay, of Oulton, and Mr. Smith, of Aylsham, was won by the former.

4.—Died, at Drayton, Sarah Codenham, aged 105.  “This poor woman had been so long in poverty and affliction that, according to the overseer’s calculation, she had cost them £500.”

8.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, and presided over by the Mayor, it was resolved to petition the House of Lords against the Corn Bill, which had been passed by the House of Commons by a majority of 119.  (The Bill was passed by the Lords and received the Royal Assent on the 23rd.)

15.—The Expedition coach arrived in Norwich “with the gratifying account displayed in large letters on its panels” of the ratification of the Treaty of Peace with America.  The bells of St. Peter Mancroft were rung, and a bonfire was lighted in the Market Place.

17.—Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., Lord Albemarle, and other gentlemen, while attending a cattle show held on the Castle Ditches, Norwich, by the Norfolk Agricultural Association, were attacked by a mob in consequence of their supposed support of the Corn Bill before the House of Commons.  The mob drove them into the Angel yard, and it was not until the Brunswick Hussars had been called out, and the Riot Act read, that the disturbance was quelled.  By strategy Mr. Coke and his friends escaped through the back gate of the Angel Inn and drove to Quidenham Hall.  Some of the rioters were apprehended, and one of the Brunswickers was wounded by a stone.  The Mayor and magistrates of Norwich received the commendations of Government for their activity and exertions in suppressing the disturbance.  The Grand Jury at the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford on March 29th, resolved p. 125“to enter into a subscription to bring to justice the instigators of the late premeditated attack on Mr. Coke and other gentlemen.”  On May 2nd the Corporation of Norwich accorded their thanks to Col. Von Tempsky and the officers and privates of the Brunswick Hussars for their prompt assistance in quelling the riot.

—A curious race took place in Chapel Field, Norwich.  The competitors were Thomas Jenner and William Palmer, “two men with two wooden legs each.”  The wager of £1 was won by the former.

25.—In the official year, ending this date, Norfolk (including Norwich) raised the sum of £219,238 10s. 1d. for the poor, church rate, highway rates, &c.

27.—At the Norfolk Assizes, which commenced at Thetford on this date, before Mr. Justice Heath, a curious case, the King v. Garratt, was heard.  This was a criminal indictment which had been moved by certiorari into the Court of King’s Bench, and was tried at nisi prius.  “It was for a nuisance complained of by the exposition of a stallion in the public market of East Dereham.”  The Judge was of opinion that the mere fact of leading a stallion to market was not an offence indictable at law, and the defendant was acquitted.

A number of human bones and upwards of 20 urns, containing bones in a calcined state, were this month dug up at a farm at Markshall, adjoining the Roman camp at Caister, near Norwich.

APRIL.

6.—A new farce (“written by an eminent artist resident in the city”), founded upon the story of “John Gilpin,” and interspersed with music, was produced at the Theatre Royal, Norwich.  On the 17th another new production was staged, “an historical operatic drama in two acts, called ‘The Rebellion, or Norwich in 1549,’” by Mr. George P. Bromley, a member of the Norwich Company.

22.—Died, at his son’s house in Weymouth Street, London, aged 67, Mr. William Wilkins, of Newnham, near Cambridge, patentee of the Norwich Theatre Royal.

—The staff of the West Norfolk Militia, stationed in Norwich, received orders to raise men by beat of drum instead of by ballot.  Recruiting parties were sent out for that purpose.  It was announced on May 13th that these parties, under the direction of Capt. Borrow, had been very successful in obtaining men.

24.—A smuggling lugger was captured off Hunstanton by the Tiger revenue cutter with 840 tubs of Geneva on board.

26.—Died, at Norwich, aged 89, Dr. John Beevor, an eminent physician.

MAY.

2.—The Norwich Court of Guardians having employed surveyors at a great expense to make new assessments of property in the several parishes within the walls of the city for the purpose of equalising the poor-rates, St. Saviour’s Vestry meeting passed a resolution protesting p. 126against it on the ground that it would have the effect of increasing both general and local taxes.  The vestries of other parishes passed similar resolutions.  At this time the Norwich Guardians raised about £20,000 annually for the relief of the poor.

11.—Early in the morning a boat’s crew from his Majesty’s ship Cadmus, at Yarmouth, when passing down the river to the harbour’s mouth with impressed seamen, were attacked by a mob on both banks, and several of the sailors were severely wounded with stones.  The mob seized the gig belonging to the Cadmus and destroyed her.  The Admiralty offered a reward of £20 for the conviction of the offenders.  At the Norfolk Assizes held at Norwich on August 14th, 1816, before Lord Chief Justice Gibbs, seven persons were indicted for riotously assembling and rescuing from the press gang, legally authorised, a person who had been impressed.  The defendants, with one exception, were found guilty.  In the following December they were sentenced in the Court of King’s Bench to nine months’ imprisonment each.

13.—Died, in St. Giles’ Street, Norwich, aged 20, Mr. H. Fisher, son of Mr. David Fisher, manager of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians.

18.—At this date a series of disturbances occurred at Norwich Theatre.  Mr. F. A. Vining, a member of the company, in a letter dated May 18th, and addressed to the patrons of the Theatre, referred to the “injustice and cruelty which had been heaped upon him within its walls.”  He had left Norwich to accept an engagement at Covent Garden Theatre and appeared there with success for 90 or 100 nights.  At the end of the London season he accepted a further engagement at Norwich, when, it was alleged, that Mr. Vining, “being found unworthy of a situation in another theatre,” Mr. Jones, a member of the Norwich Company, was “discharged to make room for him.”  Mr. Vining denied any personal knowledge of the matter.  On May 29th several friends of Mr. Jones were committed for trial at the Quarter Sessions for creating disturbances at the Theatre.  At the Quarter Sessions on July 11th the recognisances of the sureties who had been bound over for the accused were discharged, “it being the intention of the prosecution to prefer an indictment at the ensuing Assizes.”  At the Assizes held on July 25th the Grand Jury found true bills against the defendants, when the indictments were traversed and the accused discharged till the next Assizes.  On that occasion the defendants entered into recognisances to appear at the next ensuing Assizes, and no further record is given.

20.*—“The diversion of hawking, a sport antiently much used, has been revived in this country on a considerable scale by Lord Rivers, Major Wilson, of Didlington, and Mr. Downes, of Gunton.  Their subscription hawks, under the management of German falconers, have afforded much amusement to numerous spectators.  Last week they were exhibited at Newmarket after the races, and flown off at some rooks in the Flat, which they speedily brought down.”

25.—A Methodist Missionary Society for the Norwich District was formed at a meeting held at Calvert Street, Norwich.

29.—The prisoners in the City Gaol, Norwich, returned thanks to the Mayor and Corporation “for 10s. worth of beer given them on the anniversary of King Charles Restoration.”

p. 127JUNE.

4.—King George III. attained his 78th year on this day (Sunday).  The Corporation of Norwich attended service at the Cathedral, the Brunswick Hussars fired a feu de joie in the barrack square, and the Light Horse Volunteers, commanded by Major J. Harvey, marched into the Market Place, and after thrice discharging their pistols gave three cheers for the King.  “The children belonging to the Sunday School of the Independent Chapel at Lynn, about 800 in number, were regaled with cake and wine.”  On the 5th a society at Norwich, known as “The Loyal Heroes,” celebrated the Royal birthday by dining at the Pigeons, Charing Cross.

6.—Married at St. Peter Mancroft church, Norwich, Lieut.-Col. Robert John Harvey to Charlotte Mary, only daughter of Mr. Robert Harvey, of Watton.  After the service “the wedding party returned to their carriages, a wedding peal was rung, and the Norwich Light Horse, forming a guard of honour, acted as escort to the bride and bridegroom, and fired a feu de joie in front of their house.”

12.—A grand camping match took place at Ranworth.  “They played 24 a side, but neither party goaled the ball, and it was decided by a bye.”  Between 2,000 and 3,000 persons were present.

—A wrestling match for a subscription purse of £5 took place at the Bird-in-Hand, Kirby.  The prize was won by a Reedham man.  “A grand milling afterwards took place between Chapman and Ellis, the Newmarket Lad.  It was strength and ferocity against science and steady courage, and was won by the latter, who blinded his opponant in 25 minutes.”

17.—The Brunswick Hussars, commanded by Col. von Tempsky, left Norwich on their route to Harwich to embark for the Continent.

23.—News was received at Norwich of the battle of Waterloo, fought on June 18th.  Cannon were fired, and bells rung in celebration of the victory.  The rejoicings were renewed on the 27th, when the Expedition and other coaches brought intelligence of the second abdication of Buonaparte.  The Expedition coach, decorated with laurel and flags, was dragged through the streets to the singing of “God save the King” and “Rule Britannia,” and a bonfire, fed with the stalls from the fish-market, and with other stolen material, was lighted at night.

24.*—“That long and justly complained-of nuisance, St. Stephen’s pit, is about to be removed.  The Corporation of Norwich have ordered a lease of it to be granted to Mr. Edward Bacon, builder, and four houses are to be erected on its scite agreeable to a plan delivered by him for that purpose.”

JULY.

3.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  Among the implements exhibited was a machine for spreading hay.  “It was drawn by one horse, and by means of strong iron rakes affixed to an axle or centre completely spread a number of swathes (three or four according to the length of the rakes) as fast as the horse could walk.”

6.—A “long and scientific battle” took place between Chapman and Ellis on a meadow on the Suffolk side of the Waveney, near St. Olaves p. 128Bridge.  “From the first to the 17th round the superior size and strength of Chapman carried him through, and betting was two and three to one in his favour; but, in the 18th, Ellis went in and gave his opponent three desperate facers, which brought the betting even till the 31st round, when Chapman beginning to show evident marks of severe punishment, had his right eye closed; betting, two to one on Ellis.  In the 54th round the left eye was closed, and his head became truly terrific, and had from its swollen state a giant-like appearance.”  Ellis was the winner after a contest of one hour, 12 minutes, for a subscription purse of £7!

8.—Died at Swaffham, aged 88, Thomas Chesney, gardener.  “What is very remarkable he never was more than four miles from Swaffham.”

—The following names were published as those of local officers present at the battle of Waterloo:—Lieut.-Col. Charles West, 3rd Regiment of Guards; Lieut. the Hon. Horace G. Townshend, 1st Regiment of Guards; Lieut. Sigismund Trafford, 1st Royal Dragoons, eldest son of Mr. S. Trafford Southwell; Ensign Alfred Cooper, 14th Regiment, youngest son of Mr. C. Cooper, Norwich; Col. Sir Edward Kerrison, 7th Dragoons (? Hussars); Lieut.-Col. Archibald Money, 11th Light Dragoons; and Major Sir George Hoste, Royal Engineers.

11.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, John Watson was indicted for conspiring with two other persons unknown to fraudulently obtain a bank note for £10 from Thomas Starling.  The prisoner and two persons, apparently strangers, were boasting at a public-house how much money they possessed, when the accused taking prosecutor aside told him that if he could lend him a £10 note it would enable him to win a wager.  The prosecutor went out, borrowed the money, and placed it in the hands of the prisoner, who with the other conspirators went away, taking the money with them.  The prisoner was sentenced to seven years’ transportation.

13.—Arrived at Yarmouth two transports from Ostend with 300 sick and wounded soldiers of the Duke of Wellington’s army.  They were removed in keels from the ships to the hospital on the Denes.

15.*—“The Postmasters-General have established a penny post six days a week to Stalham, with open letter boxes for the receiving of letters at that place, Neatishead, and Hoveton, near Wroxham Bridge.”

28.—The High Sheriff, in compliance with a requisition signed by the county justices in Quarter Sessions, convened a meeting at the Shirehall, Norwich, when, on the motion of Mr. Robert Fellowes, seconded by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, a subscription was opened for the relief of the wounded survivors, and the widows and children of the soldiers who fell at Waterloo.  This subscription amounted to £7,000.  Collections were also made in the city and county churches.

29.—A balloon ascent was made from the Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, by Mr. Sadler.  “All night long hundreds continued to flock into town, and at daybreak the roads were literally thronged with people.  Some hours before noon the principal avenues to the Market Place were blocked up with vehicles for which accommodation could not be found in the inn yards, and horses were picketed in the streets.  Lodging and accommodation at the inns were very difficult to obtain, and in many instances a guinea was given for a bed.”  Miss Bathurst, daughter of the Bishop of Norwich, presented the aeronaut with a banner p. 129previous to the ascent.  The balloon rose at 3.35 and descended at 4.30 p.m., in a field near Sprowston Hall.  “Among the company present in the Ranelagh Gardens was General Money, who 30 years previously, namely on Saturday, July 23rd, 1785, made a similar ascent, and was blown out to sea, where he was rescued by the Argus Revenue cutter.”

31.—A baker was fined before the Mayor of Norwich for “exposing bread to sell on the Lord’s day before the hour of ten o’clock in the morning.”  Shortly afterwards 15 persons were summoned for like offences, and the Master and Wardens of the Bakers’ Company applied that the fines might be strictly enforced.

AUGUST.

1.—A cricket match was played on Hempton Green between the united parishes of Litcham, Dunham, and Brisley, and of Walsingham and Fakenham.  “The latter team, although unparalleled in the annals of cricketeering, did not get a single notch.”

5.*—“Mr. Bellamy, the favourite comedian of the Norwich Company, is engaged by the managers of Covent Garden Theatre at a liberal salary.”  The London Press criticised his “provincial twang,” and described his performance of the part of Polonius as “somewhat outlandish.”

8.—Died, at Downham Market, Mr. Zachary Clark, “one of the people called Quakers.”  He founded a Lancasterian school in the town, and in 1811 published an account of the different charities belonging to the poor in Norfolk.

13.—A serious fire occurred near the church of St. Lawrence, Norwich.  Six houses were destroyed.  The fire originated at the house of a cabinet maker named Hubbard.

15.—The first division of the West Norfolk Militia marched from Norwich for Ipswich under command of Major Barnham; the second division, under Lieut.-Col. Nelthorpe, marched on the 16th, and the remainder on the 17th.  The strength of the regiment was upwards of 500 rank and file, chiefly raised in three months by beat of drum.  The corps embarked at Harwich, and sailed for Ireland on August 28th.

—A division of the King’s German Legion, under command of Capt. Meyer, marched into Norwich from Harwich, where they had landed from Cuxhaven.

19.*—“Last week a well-contested battle was fought at Cley between John Bell and the noted Matthew Randall, well known for his skill in gymnastic exercises.  Betting was two and three to one in favour of Randall.  After 20 minutes’ hard fighting Bell won.  The known bottom of Bell and the tried science of Randall drew a considerable concourse of people, among whom were noticed many distinguished characters of the neighbourhood.  A handsome subscription was made for the conqueror, who was taken from the ground in a gentleman’s carriage.”

—The Norfolk, Suffolk, and London Accommodation Coach, owned by John Noller, was advertised to leave the Norfolk Hotel, p. 130Norwich, every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning at eight o’clock, and to travel through Scole, Eye, and Debenham.  Fares: Insides, 18s.; outsides, 12s.

19.*—“Died, last week, aged 94, John Minns, worstead weaver, of St. Paul’s, Norwich.  He had anticipated the event 16 years ago, and had then his coffin made, which he had ever since kept in an adjoining room, and actually used as a cupboard.”

22.—The Corporation of Yarmouth elected Mr. Robert Alderson, Steward of Norwich, Recorder of that borough.

SEPTEMBER.

3.—A lad, named Henry Thirkettle, when nutting in Hempnall Wood, touched the wire of a spring gun, and the charge entering his body inflicted terrible injuries.  William Ebbage, in the service of Mr. Henry Usborne, of Heydon Hall, was on October 28th similarly injured.  Mr. Gurney, barrister, was consulted as to the legality of the use of spring guns.  His opinion was that their use was not lawful, and that in case of death a verdict of murder might be returned against the master who authorised the use of, and the servant who set a spring gun.  A contrary opinion was expressed by another barrister.

6.—Died at Ber Street, Norwich, aged 68, Martin Drummee, a noted bird fancier, “by which business he had accumulated considerable property.”

9.*—“According to the Charter of the borough of Yarmouth, the Aldermen and Common Councilmen are annually to assemble and choose before they separate ‘the most discrete’ alderman to be Mayor.  The election of Mr. Cory did not take place until after a strong trial of patience and abstinence on both sides.  The electors assembled on the Tuesday noon, and remained shut up (with only such provisions as they carried in their pockets) until ten o’clock on the Thursday night, when the six whose supplies were first exhausted found themselves obliged to agree with the other six who were better provided, and to surrender their votes to avoid starvation, and a third night’s confinement in the Church Hall.”

16.—Equestrian performances commenced at the Pantheon, Harper’s Gardens, Norwich, under the management of R. Usher, “late clown at Astley’s Royal Amphitheatre, and J. Clarke, the celebrated equestrian of the Royal Circus, London.”

19.—At the Yarmouth Race Assembly on this date “it was the general remark that there was too much display in the ball-room, attributed by some to the ladies in the hurry of setting off having left, what ought to be considered a necessary article of dress, behind them.”

25.—Married, Mr. D. Fisher, manager of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians, to Miss F. B. Bane, niece to Mr. Aldrich, of Pulham.

—Died at Burnham Westgate, Sir Mordaunt Martin, Bart., aged 75.  He passed the last 50 years of his life in retirement at Burnham Thorpe, devoting his time principally to the study and practice of agriculture.

p. 13126.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 50, Mrs. Holland.  “Her death was occasioned by her being frightened by the stories of a Mrs. Spaul, who pretended to tell fortunes.”  Mrs. Spaul was committed to gaol by the Mayor.

29.—Mr. Thomas Thurtell, alderman, and Mr. William Foster were sworn into office as Sheriffs of Norwich, and entertained a large company to dinner at Chapel Field House.

OCTOBER.

1.—Died at his house on Tombland, Norwich, Robert Dixon, aged 35.  He studied at the Royal Academy, settled in Norwich as an artist in 1800, and gave lessons in drawing.  “As a scene painter Mr. Dixon stood proudly pre-eminent, and Norwich Theatre may boast of monuments of his greatness.”  A public exhibition of his works was held in the room of the Norwich Society of Artists, and on January 22nd, 1816, a performance was given at the Theatre, for the benefit of his widow and children.

17.—At the Norwich Quarter Sessions the Grand Jury made a presentment on the defective state of the pavements, and expressed the opinion that, the streets were inadequately cleansed and lighted.

19.—A grand musical performance was given at St. Stephen’s Church, Norwich, in aid of the Blind School.  The principal performers were Miss King, Mr. Barrow, and Mr. French; leader of the band, Mr. Fish; at the organ, Mr. Pettet.

21.—The Norwich, Ipswich, Colchester, and London Post Coach was advertised to start from the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, at eight o’clock every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning.

NOVEMBER.

4.*—“Died lately, aged 101, Mrs. Stockings, of East Harling.”

11.—The Day Norwich and London New Post Coach was advertised to perform the journey between Norwich and the Metropolis in 14 hours.  It started from the Rampant Horse Inn every morning at six o’clock, and arrived the same evening at the Black Bull Inn and Spread Eagle Inn, Gracechurch Street.  It left London at six o’clock on the following morning.  The proprietors were Richard Gurney, Ann Nelson and Sons, T. and J. Boyce, Samuel Bright, and William Jones.

14.—The Duke of York arrived at Quidenham Hall on a visit to the Earl of Albemarle for a week’s pheasant shooting.

16.—In the Court of King’s Bench, Benjamin Branford, Joshua Forby, James Jessup, and William Quant, convicted at the Norfolk Assizes of conspiring to falsely accuse Mr. Henry Goggs, of Whissonsett, of a serious offence, were sentenced, Branford to twelve months’, Forby to six months’, and Jessup and Quant to three months’ imprisonment in Norwich Castle.

24.—Died, at Thursford, Sir George Chad, Bart., aged 84.

p. 13227.—The Marquis Cornwallis, Earl and Lady Chatham, and other notabilities, passed through Norwich on their way from Blickling Hall to Henham Park.

30.—The Duke of Gloucester, the Lord Bishop of Norwich, and the Earl and Countess of Albemarle, visited Mr. T. W. Coke at Holkham.

DECEMBER.

1.—Lord Sydney visited Yarmouth and was presented with the patent of the office of High Steward of the borough.  His lordship invited the Corporation to dinner at the Nelson Hotel, and General Loftus, M.P., by whom he was accompanied, gave a ball at the Town Hall.

7.—A sixteenth share of the lottery prize of £50,000 three per cent. consols was drawn by Mr. C. Davy, farmer, Great Plumstead.

16.—Died at his house in St. James’s Square, London, in his 70th year, Charles Howard, Duke of Norfolk, Earl Marshal and Hereditary Marshal of England.  He was succeeded in his titles, hereditary honours, and principal estates, by Mr. Barnard Edward Howard, of Fornham, near Bury St. Edmund’s.

18.—Colombier’s French Company of Equestrians commenced an engagement at the Pantheon, Norwich.

24.—Died, Mrs. Mary Dye, of Elsing, aged 101.

—Lord and Lady Castlereagh arrived in Norwich, and after dining at the Norfolk Hotel, proceeded on a visit to Lord Suffield, at Blickling Park.

30.*—“A fire engine completed by Mr. Jordan, an ingenious mechanic, of this city (Norwich), and requiring only 18 men to work it, was tried against one of Hadley and Co.’s patent engines in the Market Place yesterday, and proved equal, if not superior, to it in power.  Messrs. Hartley’s engine cost £180 and Mr. Jordan’s only £80.”

1816.

JANUARY.

5.—At a Provincial Grand Lodge of Freemasons held at Norwich, Sir Jacob Henry Astley, M.P., was elected Grand Master.

6.—Mr. Thomas Coldwell was appointed postmaster at Norwich, in place of G. Litchfield.

—*“One day this week a salmon trout measuring one yard four inches, and weighing twenty-one pounds, was caught in Trowse River, near Norwich.”

18.—Thanksgiving day for the restoration of Peace.  The Mayor and Corporation of Norwich attended the Cathedral in state, and services were held at most of the city churches.

p. 13320.—Died, aged 83, Mr. James Clabburn, many years keeper of the Close Jail, at Norwich.

—*“An order has been received at Norwich for upwards of 10,000 pieces of broad whites from the East India Company, and distributed among the different manufacturers much in the same proportions as last year.”

—*“There is now living in Forncett St. Mary a Mrs. Knights, who is 106 years old.”

24.—Mr. Betty, originally known as the Young Roscius, commenced an engagement at Norwich Theatre.  He appeared as Douglas, Sir Edward Mortimer (“The Iron Chest”), and Rolla (“Pizarro”).

25.—At the 51st anniversary meeting of the Castle Corporation, at Norwich, Mr. Thomas Back presented to the society two medals to be worn respectively by the “Recorder” and “Steward.”  They were intended to commemorate the battle of Waterloo.

25.—A memorial was sent to the Postmaster-General by the inhabitants of Norwich, setting forth the great inconvenience occasioned by the late delivery of letters by the mail.  Afterwards the coach arrived at twelve o’clock instead of at one o’clock.

27.*—“Died, at Exeter, aged 63, Mr. John Bennett, formerly of the Norwich Theatre.”

29.—Died, in his 87th year, Mr. Robert Harvey, of Norwich.  He twice served the office of Mayor (1770 and 1800), and at his death was “Father of the City.”  “He enjoyed the gratification of seeing his three surviving sons holding high municipal positions, one of whom received the additional honour of being its representative in Parliament.”

FEBRUARY.

3.—Mr. Dowton commenced an engagement of four nights at Norwich Theatre.  He appeared as Sir Anthony Absolute, Abednego (“The Jew and the Doctor”), Sir Francis Gripe (“The Busybody”), Scout (“The Village Lawyer”), and Old Dorley (“Who’s the Dupe?”).

4.—Died at Hamilton Place, London, Robert, Earl of Buckinghamshire, Baron Hobart, President of the India Board.  He was half brother to John, Earl of Buckinghamshire, who resided at Blickling, and who was father of Lady Suffield and Lady Castlereagh.

5.—Died in St. Stephen’s, Norwich, aged 69, Sir John Odingsells Leake, Bart., formerly of Quebec House, East Dereham.

12.—Mr. Elliston appeared at Lynn Theatre as Duke Aranza (“The Honeymoon”) and Rover (“Wild Oats”).

16.—A high tide at Yarmouth.  The Denes and the west side of the haven were inundated.  A similar occurrence had not been recorded since 1791.  A flood also took place at Lynn.

17.—Mrs. Davison, of Drury Lane, appeared at Norwich Theatre as Letitia Hardy (“Belle’s Stratagem”), and on succeeding evenings as Maria (“Of Age To-morrow”), Peggy (“The Country Girl”), &c.

20.—A meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, when resolutions against the continuance of the Property Tax, and a petition to the p. 134House of Commons, were adopted.  On the 9th a county meeting was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, at which a petition to both Houses of Parliament for repealing some of the taxes affecting agriculture, was unanimously agreed to.  The meeting was held in consequence of a requisition signed by farmers only who confined their objection to the clause in the Property Tax which related to the tenants’ duty, and to the Agricultural Horse Tax.  On the 23rd a second county meeting was held, when resolutions congratulating the county on the rejection of the Property Tax and the relinquishment of the War Duty on malt were passed.  A petition to Parliament was also unanimously agreed to, recommending a reduction of the military establishment, and the adoption of such a system of economy as might render a further continuance of War Taxes unnecessary.

25.—Died at Ranworth, William Browne, in his 104th year.

26.—Mrs. Bartley, of Drury Lane, appeared as Isabella (“The Fatal Marriage”), at Norwich Theatre.

MARCH.

4.—Mr. Incledon, accompanied by Mr. Collyer and Master Taylor, commenced a four nights’ engagement at Norwich Theatre.  He appeared as Capt. Macheath (“Beggars’ Opera”), Hawthorne, Tom Tug, and Steady (“The Quaker”).

9.*—“One day this week some men were opening in St. Peter Mancroft Church, Norwich, a vault which had been closed nine years, when they found three bats entirely covered with mould and dust.  They were in a state of complete torpidity, but one of them immediately took flight.”

13.—A severe thunderstorm, accompanied by rain and hail, occurred at Yarmouth and other places in the neighbourhood.

18.—Miss L. Kelly, of Drury Lane, appeared at Norwich Theatre as Juliet.  She was joined on the 21st by her sister, Miss F. Kelly.

—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, before Mr. Baron Wood, Robert Lord, alias Davies, and William Hardy were indicted for having forged notes in their possession.  A curious circumstance led to the detection of the first-named prisoner.  A parcel was sent from London by the Fakenham coach addressed to “Isaac Davies, Tivetshall Ram, Norfolk.”  The address was so badly written as to be mistaken for “Swetshall Ram,” and, as no such place could be found, the proprietor of the coach opened the parcel and discovered the forged notes.  Lord was found guilty, and sentenced to 14 years’ transportation.  Hardy was acquitted.

19.—Died, Nehemiah Haylett, of Kenninghall, aged 101.

21.—Died, at Lynn, Mr. Thomas Day, in his 87th year.  He was the oldest burgess in that town, and the last of the officers of the West Norfolk Militia, who, in 1759, volunteered their services to the Government.  In 1779, when the Lynn Volunteers were formed, Mr. Day was selected Colonel Commandant.

23.*—“Died lately at Dunham, in his 85th year, Thomas Grounds, and about an hour after, Jane, his wife, in her 83rd year.  They were both buried in one coffin.”

p. 13529.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, it was resolved on the motion of Mr. Robert Fellowes, seconded by the Rev. J. Ives, to establish a Savings Bank.  The bank was opened, with offices in St. Andrew’s Hall, on April 29th, and on the first day £86 3s. 6d. was received from depositors in sums of 1s. and upwards.

30.*—(Advt.)  “By desire of Thomas Thurtell, Esq., and William Foster, Esq., Sheriffs of the City of Norwich, at the Theatre Royal, on Saturday, April 6th, the Comedy of ‘The Road to Ruin,’ the Farce called ‘The Lyar,’ and the Burlesque Opera ‘Bombastes Furioso.’”

31.—Died very suddenly at an advanced age, in the pulpit of Hales Church, the Rev. Valentine Lumley Barnard, rector of Stockton, Norfolk.

APRIL.

3.—A meeting of merchants, manufacturers, &c., was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, when resolutions were passed to instruct the members of Parliament for the city to watch and oppose the intended measure for allowing the exportation of wool free of all restrictions.  The measure was for the time relinquished.

4.—A public meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, at which it was unanimously resolved to petition Parliament for the repeal of the Insolvent Debtors Act, as being in its operation injurious to trade and commerce.

6.*—“A troop of the 1st Royal Dragoons arrived at Norwich from Ipswich last week.  The officers and soldiers were wearing their Waterloo medals.”

—Edward Lea was executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, for uttering forged Bank of England notes.

15.—Sir Simon le Blanc, one of the judges of the Court of King’s Bench, and many years leading counsel on the Norfolk Circuit, died in London, in his 68th year.

—Mr. and Mrs. Bartley, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced playing a round of characters at Norwich Theatre.

16.—The Rev. St. John Priest was instituted to the rectory of Billingford, on the presentation of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., who “acknowledged, in a very handsome manner, the obligation he felt to that gentleman for his exertions in the cause of agriculture, and particularly as secretary to the Norfolk Agricultural Association, which office he had held for 13 years without emolument.”

19.—A main of cocks of 21 battles was fought at the Feathers Inn, Yarmouth, between the gentlemen of Norfolk and the gentlemen of Suffolk, at five guineas the battle and ten guineas the odd.  Feeders: Layton for Norfolk, Kersey for Suffolk.  The match was continued on the 20th.

23.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions John William Smith was charged with stealing a silver spoon from the Waggon and Horses public-house, the property of William Smith, and a coat, the property of Michael Callow, from the Crown Inn, St. Stephen’s.  The prisoner, a farmer, had occupied 300 acres of land, and resided on his own estate at Great Ellingham.  He was sentenced to seven years’ transportation.

p. 13624.—By the alteration introduced by Government in the Local Militia establishment the pay of the permanent staff ceased, the accoutrements were sent into store, and the non-commissioned officers and drummers discharged.  The only officer retained was the adjutant, who was placed on the reduced pay of 4s. per diem.

27.—Died, aged 85, Mr. Henry Thompson, one of the chief burgesses of Thetford.  He had been a member of the Corporation more than half a century, five times served the office of chief magistrate, and in 1806 was appointed one of the assistant justices of the borough.

MAY.

3.—At a quarterly meeting of the Norwich Corporation it was ordered that the Hospital and City Committees be empowered to recommend to the next assembly to make such abatements in the rents of the Corporation farms as they might think necessary in consequence of the reduced price of grain, wheat being from 36s. to 37s.; barley, 11s. 6d. to 13s.; and oats, 9s. 6d. to 10s. 6d. per coomb.

11.—The first division of the West Norfolk Militia, under command of Col. Nelthorpe, marched into Norwich on their return from Ireland; the second division, under Major Barnham, arrived on the 13th.  The regiment was disembodied on June 17th.

—*“Died in September last at Allahabad, in his 32nd year, Richard Turner, jun., Judge of the Provisional Court at Agra, and eldest son of the Rev. Richard Turner, Great Yarmouth.”

16.—A serious riot occurred at Norwich.  A crowd assembled in the Market Place, threw fire balls and broke the windows at the Guildhall.  They then broke into the New Mills, threw a quantity of flour into the river, and carried some away in sacks.  On their return from the Mills they smashed many windows in St. Andrew’s, Bank Street, Tombland, Magdalen Street, and other localities.  Dr. Alderson came out of his house to remonstrate with them and was knocked down.  The Mayor and magistrates assembled at the Guildhall, special constables were sworn in, and the mob dispersed.  A picket of the West Norfolk Militia was stationed all night at the Guildhall, and a party of the 1st Royal Dragoons patrolled the streets.  The disturbances were renewed on the 18th, when the Riot Act was read, and the mob dispersed by the military.

18.—The proprietors of the Norwich Expedition coach to London by Thetford and Newmarket announced a reduction of fares to £1 15s. for inside, and £1 for outside passengers.  From this date the Expedition started at three o’clock in the afternoon and reached London at nine o’clock next morning.

20.—A riot took place at Downham Market.  The magistrates assembled at the Crown Inn were publicly insulted, and so much disorder ensued that the Upwell Yeomanry Cavalry were called out, and the Riot Act read, after which the crowd gradually dispersed.  A demand had been made for wages of 2s. per day to be paid every Monday and Thursday.  In consequence of the farmers having refused to comply, another disturbance took place on the 24th, when two women and several men were apprehended and committed to Norwich Castle.  The prisoners were charged at the Norfolk Assizes, held at p. 137Norwich in August, before Lord Chief Justice Gibbs, when sixteen were found guilty and sentenced to death, but only two, Daniel Harwood and Thomas Thody, were left for execution, which took place on the Castle Hill on August 31st.  “The recollection of his wife and children and the horror of immediate death overcame Thody’s fortitude.  He was nearly sinking down under the agony of grief and terror, which he expressed by convulsive shrieks, and was obliged to be supported by several men.”

22.—At a meeting of owners and occupiers of land, at Diss, a series of resolutions was proposed by the Rev. Mr. Manning, rector, in favour of the commutation of the tithes.  It was decided to petition the House of Commons on the subject.  Similar meetings were held in other parishes in the district.

27.—Mrs. Mardyn, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced an engagement at Norwich Theatre as Albina Mandeville in the comedy of “The Will.”  On succeeding evenings she appeared as Amelia Wildenham (“Lovers’ Vows”), Widow Brady (“The Irish Widow”), Miss Peggy (“The Country Girl”), and Miranda (“The Busybody”).

28.—At a “grand wrestling,” which took place at Kirby, twenty-four “professors” entered the ring, and “a finer display of science was never exhibited.”  A man named Starling was the winner.  “A smart milling took place between Broughton and Ives, the former a regular descendant of the great pugilist of that name.  Ives proved entirely destitute of science and was badly beaten.”

31.—Under the sanction of the Norwich magistrates and the Court of Guardians the defective silver of the labouring poor of the city was exchanged for current coin.

JUNE.

8.*—“Died last week at Reedham, in his 104th year, John Andrews, a labouring brickmaker.  He married in the early part of his life, and had six children, who are now old people.  He was left a widower at 55, and at 64 married his present widow, who was but 22.  Notwithstanding the disparity of years she proved the greatest blessing to him in his old age, for she treated him with the greatest kindness and attention.”

10.—A new theatre was opened at East Dereham by the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians.  “It is fitted up in a style of neatness and elegance scarcely to be met with in any country town.  The painting and decorations of the interior were executed by Mr. D. Fisher, to whose known taste they do ample credit.  Mr. Fisher has brought with him a most respectable company.”

15.—Died, Mrs. Cross, of Swaffham, aged 100.

17.—At a quarterly assembly of the Corporation of Norwich a congratulatory address was ordered to be presented to the Prince Regent on the marriage of the Princess Charlotte of Wales and Prince Leopold of Saxe-Coburg.  A similar address was voted by the Court of Mayoralty on July 10th.

—A three days cocking match between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Norfolk commenced at the White Swan, St. p. 138Peter Mancroft, Norwich, for 10 guineas a battle and 100 guineas the odd.  Norwich won by six battles.

17.—The old people in the Great Hospital, St. Helen’s, Norwich, having been deprived of the dinner of roast goose on Michaelmas Day in consequence of the death of the benefactor who provided it, Mr. Robert Partridge on this date “signified to the Norwich Corporation his intention to give £100 as a benefaction that the Michaelmas dinner of goose may be revived and continued in future.”

18.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Mayor (Mr. W. Hankes) entertained the members of the Corporation at luncheon at the Guildhall; and on the 19th “gave plenty of beer and plumb cake” to the poor of his own and of other parishes.

—The first anniversary of the battle of Waterloo was celebrated at the Cavalry Barracks, Norwich, by a dinner to the non-commissioned officers and privates of the 1st Royal Dragoons, to other soldiers quartered in Norwich, and to pensioners.  The wives and children of the soldiers were also entertained.  The cost was defrayed by public subscription, of which £10 was given by the Corporation.

29.*—“At Whaplode Drove feast last week Mr. John Goodger, aged 104 years, danced a hornpipe, sang a song, and played at four-corners, the latter being his favourite amusement, to the great gratification of the company present.”

JULY.

1.—At Holkham Sheep Shearing, which commenced on this date, improved horse hoes were shown by Mr. Blaikie, Mr. Coke’s farm manager.

10.—George Wilson, the pedestrian, undertook to walk 50 miles in 12 hours at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich.  He commenced at eight o’clock and finished the first mile in 11 minutes 35 seconds.  His pace was afterwards a mile in from 12½ to 13 minutes.  He completed the distance at 7.45 p.m. with 15 minutes to spare.  On the 22nd a man named Skipper, an ostler at the Barley Mow public-house, Norwich, backed himself to walk over the same course in the same time, and completed his task in 11 hours 10 minutes.  On August 27th Wilson commenced a walk of 50 miles per day of 13 hours for five successive days on the bowling-green of the Crown public-house at South Lynn, and accomplished the task.  “What is very remarkable he never perspired.  On the third day he lost his great toe nail off the left foot, which he pulled out by the roots in the presence of numerous spectators.”

17.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions four labourers were indicted for having riotously assembled with 100 other persons at Hockham, on May 19th, and destroyed a thrashing machine, the property of Mr. William Burlingham.  Two of the prisoners were sentenced to twelve months’, and two to three months’ imprisonment, and all were required to find sureties for their future behaviour.  (This was the first machine breaking case recorded in the county.)

18.—After a week’s continuous rain, which greatly impeded the hay harvest, a severe thunderstorm occurred.  On the 31st the crops were beaten down by heavy rains, acres of turnips were washed away, p. 139and in several villages the lanes were full of water.  On August 12th there was another heavy rain, and on August 31st a hurricane blew, wrecking many colliers between Blakeney and Mundesley.  The rains continued to the month of October, when, in consequence of the low lying lands being under water, all hopes were abandoned for the favourable termination of the harvest.  Such wet weather had not been experienced since 1799, in which year there were only 166 fair days.

20.—A public announcement on this date stated that the following coaches started from the Angel Inn, Norwich:—The London Royal Mail, by way of Newmarket, every afternoon at 3.45; the London Royal Mail, viâ Ipswich and Colchester, ditto; the Wells Prince of Orange Post coach (William Sizeland and T. S. Coldwell), Wednesday and Friday at 12.45 p.m., Sunday at 8.15 a.m.; Holt Duke of Wellington Post coach (T. Coldwell and J. Love), viâ Aylsham, every afternoon at 3.45.  From the Rampant Horse Inn: The London Day coach (in 14 hours) every morning at six.  From the Norfolk Hotel: The Telegraph London coach (in 13 hours) every morning at seven o’clock, viâ Newmarket.  The last two were opposition coaches.  The proprietors of the Day coach announced that, although the Telegraph had been started in opposition, they would “not risk the lives of their passengers by racing against time,” but would continue to perform the journey “with steadiness and regularity.”

29.—One of the new steam packets plying between Norwich and Yarmouth got aground on Breydon.  Mrs. Clifford and other members of the Norwich Company of Comedians were on board.  “By their detention the performance at the theatre could not take place, and the expectant audience had their money returned.”

30.—A two days cocking match commenced at Yarmouth, “in the large room adjoining the Feathers Inn,” between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Yarmouth.

AUGUST.

10.—The annual exhibition of “The Norfolk and Norwich Society of Artists” was advertised to open on this date at the “New Room,” Theatre Plain, Norwich.  It was announced that “this Society consists of the principal part of the original artists.”  On the same day was advertised “The 12th annual exhibition of the Norwich Original Society of Artists, established 1803.”  The exhibition was to take place during the Assize week, “in their great room, Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court, Cockey Lane.”  The Norfolk Chronicle makes this comment:—“The schism which has taken place among the exhibiting artists appears to have been productive of increased exertions on the part of the respective members of both societies.  Our sincere wish to promote their fame and prosperity, and to heal rather than to ferment their differences, induces us earnestly to recommend their performances to the attention and patronage of the public which they highly deserve.”

12.—Mr. Kemble appeared in the part of Cato at Norwich Theatre.  On succeeding evenings he took the characters of Penruddock (“Wheel of Fortune”), King Lear, Shylock, Sir Giles Overreach (“A New Way to Pay Old Debts”), and Macbeth.

p. 14018.—The Judges of Assize on leaving Norwich passed through Attleborough, and attended service at the parish church.  The Lord Chief Justice, Sir Vicary Gibbs, in walking through the nave, discovered a stone on which were his own crest and arms; the inscription thereon was to the memory of Capt. John Gibbs, who died October 22, 1695.  “Mr. Le Neve,” says Blomfield, “calls him the famous Capt Gibbs.  He was a celebrated man on the turf in King Charles the Second’s time.  He laid a wager of 500 guineas that he drove his light chaise and four horses up and down the deepest place of the Devil’s Ditch on Newmarket Heath, which he performed by making a very light chaise with a jointed perch, and without any pole, to the surprise of the spectators.”

24.*—“Her Royal Highness Princess Charlotte has graciously expressed her determination not only to wear but to introduce and recommend the coloured bombazins, manufactured in Norwich.”  Mr. William Williment was appointed manufacturer to her Royal Highness.

25.—A woman named Fox, 100 years old, walked from Norwich to Plumstead, a distance of nearly five miles.  “She commenced her journey at eight o’clock in the morning, rested three hours at her friend’s house, and walking home arrived at Norwich at seven o’clock in the evening.”

31.*—“The stupendous undertaking of the tunnel of Tavistock canal, communicating the Tavy and the Tamar, was engineered by Mr. John Taylor, jun., of Norwich.”

—Thomas Moy was executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, for sheep stealing.  “He was 33 years of age, farmed 100 acres of land at Binham, and has left a wife and seven young children.”

SEPTEMBER.

7.—Cromer Theatre was described as a place of entertainment “fashionably attended.”  “The house, or rather, barn, which is neatly fitted up, is under the management of Mr. Eldred.”

11.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, “the situation of children employed in sweeping chimnies” was discussed, “and the means of superseding the necessity for such employment by mechanical means” were taken into consideration.  A committee was appointed to promote the use of the sweeping apparatus, which, however, was but partially adopted.

16.—Intelligence was received at Norwich of the successful attack on Algiers by the British fleet, under the command of Admiral Lord Exmouth, on August 27th.  The bells of St. Peter Mancroft were rung in celebration of the event.

23.—A silver cup and two drinking horns were rowed for by four-oared boats, the best two heats out of three, from Carrow Bridge to Thorpe and back, distance two and a quarter miles.  Five boats competed.  The cup was won by the Cytherea (Mr. Joseph Stannard), and the horns by the Friends (Mr. Garland).

OCTOBER.

4.—The third or “grand victory match” was played on Hempton p. 141Green, Fakenham, between the Holt and Aylsham cricket clubs.  Aylsham won with seven wickets to spare.

14.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, at which it was agreed to petition the Legislature to effect a retrenchment of the public expenditure, and a reform of the House of Commons.

17.—The new Concert Room in St. George’s Bridge Street, Norwich, purchased of the proprietors of the Steam Flour Mill, and fitted up by the members of the Hall Concert (a musical society which had existed 30 years) was opened.  The room was capable of seating 300 persons.

23.—A pigeon shooting match took place on a field near the Town Close, Norwich, between Mr. Nicholas Bacon, and the Rev. Mr. Pitman, of Oulton.  “They fired 21 shots each, but it proved a drawn bet, for they each killed 14 birds.  Mr. Pitman brought down his 15th bird, but as it fell two inches beyond the distance allowed, 100 yards, it could not be reckoned.  There were many bets depending, which, of course, remained undecided.”  (This is the first recorded pigeon match in Norfolk.)

24.—Wheat was standing uncut in several parts of Norfolk, on the same farm where corn was sown for next year’s crop.

28.—A salmon trout, 57 inches in length and weighing 16½ pounds, was caught at the New Mills, Norwich.  On the 31st another of 26 pounds weight was taken at the same place.

29.—At a special meeting of the Norwich Corporation an address was ordered to be presented to the Prince Regent, praying for “the utmost retrenchment of the public expenditure consistent with the welfare of the State.”

NOVEMBER.

2.—Died at Narford Hall, the seat of Mr. Andrew Fountaine, his son-in-law, Mr. Thomas Penrice, of Great Yarmouth, to whom the eccentric Lord Chedworth left the bulk of his large property.

9.*—“The wealth of Mr. Watson Taylor, the purchaser of Houghton Hall, is immense.  For that mansion, and a large track of land around, he gave the Marquis Cholmondeley £350,000.  Mr. Taylor, by the will of an ancestor, is bound to spend £700,000 in landed estates, and besides the income which may arise from them he has £95,000 a year.”

10.—Buxoo, a Bengalese, a native of Calcutta, was publicly baptised at Burnham Market church by the Rev. John Glasse, by the names of John Henry Martin.  He was brought over to this country in a ship commanded by Capt. Glasse.

14.—The Courier steam packet made its passage from Foundry Bridge, Norwich, to Yarmouth in three hours twenty-five minutes.

28.—The Duke of Gloucester made his annual visit to Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., at Holkham Hall.  During the week’s shooting Mr. Coke killed at Warham a female Falco Lagopus, or rough legged falcon, measuring nearly five feet across the wings, and two feet one inch in length.  The male bird was afterwards caught in a trap at Wighton.  Two of these birds were taken the following week at Wighton.

Died this month, Mrs. Tabitha Starling, of Brooke, aged 103.

p. 142DECEMBER.

7.—The Duke of Gloucester concluded his visit to Holkham.  On the last day his Royal Highness proposed the toast, “Prosperity to those Whig principles which placed the House of Hanover on the Throne of Britain.”

14.*—“Died lately, regretted by all who knew him, in the 65th year of his age, Charles Boyles, Esq., Vice-Admiral of the Blue, and a few years since Colonel of the Royal Marines.  This distinguished officer commanded the Windsor Castle man-of-war in the action off Ferrol, between the English fleet, under Sir Richard Calder, and the combined fleets of France and Spain.  During this engagement it fell to the lot of but few ships to be advantageously opposed to the enemy.  The return to Portsmouth of the crippled Windsor Castle with two Spanish 74’s was a triumph exultingly spoken of by Nelson as being principally the achievement of a Norfolk man.  Admiral Boyles was a native of Wells in this county, and eldest son of Charles Boyles, Esq., many years collector of the customs at that port.  He commenced his naval career with Lord Nelson in the Raisonnable, when commanded by Capt. Suckling.”

21.—Wombwell’s “Royal Menagerie of foreign beasts and birds” was exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

31.—A prize fight took place at Wickhampton between Samuel Smith and James Rushmer.  One hundred and eleven rounds were fought in two hours five minutes, when the ring was broken into, and owing to the confusion it was impossible to renew the fight, which was declared drawn.

1817.

JANUARY.

1.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, a subscription was opened for the relief of the labouring and manufacturing poor.  Upwards of £3,050 was contributed, and several works were commenced for the improvement of the city.  At Yarmouth over £1,000 was subscribed, and 460 men were employed in forming roads to the bath-house, jetty, &c.

4.—Several coach advertisements were published this month.  On the 4th it was announced that the Norwich, Ipswich, Colchester, Chelmsford, and London Accommodation coach (J. Noller and Co.) set out every Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday from the Coach and Horses, Bethel Street, Norwich.  The proprietors of the Expedition coach announced that a “single body coach upon a now construction” would start from the White Swan, St. Peter’s, Norwich, every afternoon at three o’clock, and travel by Thetford and Newmarket, to London, where it arrived on the following morning at eight o’clock.  p. 143“For the better accommodation of outside passengers the coach has a car attached to it with an awning and sliding curtain.”

4.*—“Died lately, at an advanced age, Mr. Christopher Jarvis, many years a miller at Wendling, and was wounded at the memorable battle of Minden.”

20.—Mr. Mathews, of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre as Goldfinch (“The Road to Ruin”), Somno (“The Sleep Walker”), and in his sketch entitled “The Humours of the Playhouse.”

—On the bells of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were rung 5,016 changes of Norwich Court Bob Maximus in four hours two minutes, the first length of that intricate peal ever rung in England on twelve bells.  It was conducted by Mr. R. Chesnut.

25.*—“Messrs. Squire, Son, and Hills, of St. Faith’s Lane, Norwich, in addition to the rectifying and vinegar departments have erected extensive works for the purpose of making flour of mustard.”

26.—Died at Grosvenor Place, London, Caroline, Dowager Countess of Buckinghamshire, widow of John, Earl of Buckingham, of Blickling, and mother of Viscountess Castlereagh.  “She requested in her will that none of her family should wear mourning for her.”  The funeral was at Blickling.

—The church of St. Michael Coslany, Norwich, was opened for Sunday evening lectures, in addition to those of St. Andrew and St. Stephen.

27.—Miss Kelly appeared at Norwich Theatre as Peggy (“The Country Girl”), and Annette (“The Maid and the Magpie”).

FEBRUARY.

1.*—“Died lately, aged 87 years, John Hoy, of Hackford, near Reepham.  He was a soldier in the 48th Regiment of Foot under General Wolfe, and saw him fall on the plains of Abram, in North America.  When on saying his noble commander was slain he was knocked down by a Lieut. Clarke with the butt end of a musket.  Hoy was a soldier 18 years, 17 of which he passed without once reposing on a bed.”

4.—A loyal address was voted by the Corporation of Great Yarmouth congratulating the Prince Regent upon his escape from the attack made upon him on his return from the opening of Parliament on January 28th.  The Corporation of Norwich adopted a similar address on the 24th.

6.—The complete peal of 5,040 changes of Grandsire Triples was rung by the ringers of Wells-next-the-Sea on eight bells in three hours seven minutes.

13.—The new silver coinage of crowns, half-crowns, shillings, and sixpences was exchanged for the old at the Guildhall, Norwich, and at the Town Hall, Yarmouth.  The bankers to whom the new coins were sent were:—Gurneys and Co., Norwich, Halesworth, Fakenham, Holt, Harleston, Lynn, Wells, and Yarmouth; Bagge and Bacon, Lynn; Day and Co., Swaffham; Willett and Son, Thetford; Payne, Tuffnell, p. 144and Co., Wells; Kett and Back, Norwich; Harvey and Co., Norwich; and Day and Sons, Norwich.

14.—Died, aged 70, at his house in the Close, Norwich, Mr. Robert Partridge, alderman for the Conisford Ward.  He was Sheriff in 1780 and Mayor in 1781.

15.—Mrs. C. Kemble appeared at King’s Lynn Theatre in the character of Mrs. Oakley (“The Jealous Wife”).  The proceeds of the performance were in aid of a fund for the relief of the poor.

—*“On the secession of Mr. Hindes at the close of the Norwich theatrical season, he will be succeeded by Mr. Smith, and the acting management will devolve upon Mr. Bellamy.”

—Great distress still prevailing among the poor of Norwich, the Relief Committee granted the further sum of £200 to be expended in labour.  It was decided to cut a road through Butter Hills to Carrow Bridge.

—*(Advt.)  “The public are respectfully informed that on February the 18th only Irish, French, and plain silver will be taken at the Theatre Royal, Norwich.”

21.—The Right Hon. George Horatio Cholmondeley, Earl of Rocksavage (eldest son of the Marquis Cholmondeley), was elected Member of Parliament for Castle Rising, in place of the Hon. Cavendish Bradshaw.

22.*—“A Yarmouth correspondent is anxious to know (1) by what authority the communication between the body and aisles of St. George’s Chapel has been cut off; and (2) why the Mayor or Lord Bishop is not applied to to remove the nuisance to the congregation?”

25.—An inquest was held at Norwich on the body of Elizabeth Pope, aged 83, “who on Sunday evening, being alone in her apartment over the portico of St. Lawrence’s church, accidentally set herself on fire, and was burnt in a terrible manner.”

26.—Died, aged 75, at Swaffham, Mr. Francis Blomfield, “the last male branch of the family of Blomfield, the county historian.”

27.—Mrs. C. Kemble appeared at Norwich Theatre as Mrs. Oakley (“The Jealous Wife”).  On subsequent evenings she took the parts of Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”), Caroline (“The Prize”), Lady Teazle, and Myrtelle (“The Broken Sword”).

The Prince Regent this month conferred the honour of knighthood on Lieut.-Col. Robert John Harvey, K.T.S., in recognition of his distinguished services in the Peninsular War.

MARCH.

3.—A single wicket cricket match was played in Chapel Field, Norwich, between “a noted player from Sussex,” named Michan, an ex-officer, and a Hertford man, named Pratt.  The latter won by six wickets, and decided “considerable bets.”

8.*—(Advt.)  “Cocking.  A match for cocks will be fought at Holkham New Inn on the 10th and 11th of March, between the gentlemen of Wells and the gentlemen of Holt.  To fight for £10 a battle p. 145and £50 the odd; and two turn outs for £20 a battle.  To fight in silver spurs.  Feeders: Lamb for Wells, Nash for Holt.”

10.—Miss Davison, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced an engagement at Norwich Theatre, during which she appeared as Rosalind, Juliana (“The Honeymoon”), Margaretta (“No Song, no Supper”), Lady Townley (“The Provoked Husband”), Miss Tomboy (“The Romp”).

14.—A charge of blasphemy was exhibited before the magistrates at East Dereham against one Henry Balls, for publishing a handbill entitled “The Great Assize.”  (There is no further record of the case.)

19.—The Revenue cutter Ranger, Capt. Sayers, of Yarmouth, captured a large lugger with an armed crew of 36 men.  In the action the Ranger lost three killed and seven wounded.  The cargo consisted of 507 ankers and 945 halves of spirits, 27 bales of tobacco, and 47 bales of Bandannas, the whole worth £8,000.

24.—At the Norfolk Assizes, which commenced at Thetford on this date before Sir Robert Graham, one of the Barons of the Exchequer, the crim. con. action, Laton v. Beauchamp, clerk, was tried.  The special jury, without leaving the box, gave a verdict for the defendant.

—Mr. Bartley appeared at Norwich Theatre as Dr. Cantwell (“The Hypocrite”) and the Mock Doctor.  Mrs. Bartley on the 29th played Lady Constance to Mr. Bartley’s King John.  On subsequent evenings he impersonated Capt. Allclack (“The Invisible Girl”), and Sir Adam Contest (“The Wedding Day”).

—Mr. Blanchard, at Lynn Theatre, appeared as Ollapod (“The Poor Gentleman”), and Crack (“The Turnpike Gate”).

26.—Died at Trowse Old Hall, aged 77, General John Money, Colonel of the 3rd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry.  He entered the Army as a volunteer in Elliott’s Light Horse in the Seven Years’ German War, and was with them at the battle of Tillinghausen.  He was afterwards a captain in the 9th (or Norfolk) Regiment of Foot, and in the American War was Deputy-Assistant Quarter-Master General to the army commanded by General Burgoyne.  He was the author of several pamphlets on military and other subjects.  About 40 years before his death he built the mansion known as Crown Point, where for more than 30 years he gave an annual ball.

APRIL.

3.—A grand performance of sacred music was given at St. Andrew’s Church, Norwich.  Mrs. Card, a native of the city, was the principal vocalist, and the choruses were sustained by local amateurs.

—Norwich Infantry Barracks (disused) were sold by auction, without reserve, by Mr. R. Cana, auctioneer.

4.—A terrible explosion occurred on Wright’s Norwich and Yarmouth steam packet at Foundry Bridge, Norwich.  Of the 22 persons on board, five men, three women, and a child were killed; six women with fractured legs and arms were conveyed to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, where one died; and the remaining seven escaped without sustaining material injury.  The sum of £350 was raised for p. 146the relief of the sufferers.  A boat worked by horse power was subsequently placed upon the river.  “The four horses walked as in a thrashing machine or mill.  Each in his path which was 18 feet in diameter.  The horses by walking a distance of two miles propelled the vessel six or seven miles.”

5.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, pursuant to requisition and presided over by the High Sheriff (Mr. H. N. Burroughes), “for the purpose of congratulating the Prince Regent on his escape from the late atrocious attack upon his person, and of praying his Royal Highness to dismiss from his presence and councils those advisers who, by their conduct, had proved themselves to be alike enemies to the Throne and the people.”  The resolutions were moved by the Earl of Albemarle, seconded by Mr. S. T. Southwell, and supported by Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., and the Rev. George Glover.  They were opposed by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, Mr. Serjeant Firth, and Mr. J. Harvey.  The High Sheriff declared the resolutions to be carried “by a most decided majority.”  An address founded on the resolutions was also adopted, and was presented to the Prince Regent by Mr. Coke at the Levée on April 21st.—In consequence of these proceedings a document, known as the “Norfolk Declaration,” was signed by upwards of 900 noblemen, gentlemen, clergy, and freeholders of the county, who considered the Ministers “eminently entitled to the gratitude of their Sovereign and the country.”  The Declaration was presented to the Prince Regent at the Levée at Carlton House on July 1st, by the Lord Lieutenant of the county, accompanied by the Earl of Orford, the Earl of Ancram, Lord C. Townshend, the Hon. Col. Wodehouse, the Hon. Edward Harbord, Mr. Edmund Bacon, Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, M.P., Mr. Charles Harvey, M.P., &c.

7.—Mr. Incledon commenced a five nights’ engagement at Norwich Theatre previous to his departure to America.  He appeared as Hawthorn (“Love in a Village”), and Harry Blunt (“The Turnpike Gate”).

14.—A “three double days’ play of cocks” commenced at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridgeshire, for 10 guineas a battle and 200 guineas the odd.  Feeders: Fisher for Norwich, Thompson for Cambridgeshire.  The match was won by Cambridgeshire.

—A peal of eight bells, including a new tenor cast by Mears, of London, was opened at North Elmham by the St. Peter Mancroft company of ringers, who rang 5,040 changes of Norwich Court Bob in three hours nineteen minutes.

16.—A new tragedy, entitled “Edwin, Heir of Cressingham,” founded on Mrs. Porter’s historical romance, “The Scottish Chiefs,” and written by Mr. Edward Ball, of Norwich, was produced at Norwich Theatre for the first time, and received with much applause.

21.—Mr. A. T. Fayerman, “surgeon professor” to the “Royal Medical Institution,” Red Lion Street, Norwich, presented to the Prince Regent, at the Levée at Carlton House, the first annual report of the proceedings of the institution, with an address from “the Brunswick Knights of Norwich, and the two lodges of the Ancient and Royal Order of Stagorians,” congratulating his Royal Highness on his “escape from the late attack.”  The Knights and Stagorians, with a band of p. 147music and colours, set out from the Rampant Horse Inn to meet their President on his return to Norwich on the 22nd, “but the harmony and conviviality of the meeting were completely outraged by the assembled mob, who broke the windows of Mr. Simmon’s house at Prussia Gardens, tore up the shrubs, threw vollies of stones at the processionists who were on horseback, and broke the windows of Mr. Fayerman’s house in Red Lion Street.”  (The Stagorians were a society founded in 1728.)

28.—Died, at his house in Berners Street, London, aged 61, Sir Jacob Henry Astley, Bart., M.P.  He was succeeded in his title by his eldest son.

—Died in St. Giles’, Norwich, Mrs. E. Layton, aged 100 years.

MAY.

1.—Mr. Crisp Brown and Mr. Thomas Thurtell, the two senior aldermen below the chair, were returned to the Norwich Court of Aldermen without opposition, and on the 3rd Mr. Brown was unanimously elected Mayor.

5.—Mr. A. Guggle, of Wells-next-the-Sea, introduced an “improved double bathing machine, so constructed as to render it perfectly safe at all times, and regulated in a few seconds to any depth of water preferred by the bather.”

8.—The Norwich Court of Guardians ordered a new valuation of property in the city and hamlets.

19.—The election to fill the vacancy caused in the representation of the county by the death of Sir H. J. Astley, commenced at Norwich.  The candidates were Mr. E. R. Pratt, of Ryston, and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, of Sennowe Lodge.  The polling continued for five days and closed on the 23rd, when the result was declared as follows:—Wodehouse, 3,896; Pratt, 3,321.

27.—Died at his seat, Great Melton Hall, aged 86, Sir John Lombe, Bart.  He was succeeded in his title by his great nephew, Mr. Richard Paul Jodrell.  The deceased baronet bequeathed his large estates to Mr. Edward Beevor, of the Middle Temple, barrister-at-law, who by special Act of Parliament, which received the Royal Assent on July 7th, was authorised to assume the surname and bear the arms of Lombe instead of those of Beevor, in compliance with a condition in the will of the deceased.

28.—The birthday of Mr. Pitt was celebrated by a dinner at the Assembly Rooms, Norwich, at which Mr. Charles Harvey, M.P., presided.

—Died at St. George’s Tombland, Norwich, Mrs. Phœbe Crow, aged 77, “who in 40 years’ practice as a midwife brought into the world 9,730 children.”

31.—Mr. Betty appeared as Hamlet at Norwich Theatre on the closing night of the season, when Mr. Smith, the new manager, delivered an address at the conclusion of the performance.

—The Brampton Indianman was launched from Mr. Bottomley’s yard, and the Wodehouse brig from Messrs. Lauker and Spong’s yard, King’s Lynn.

p. 148JUNE.

4.—King George III. entered upon his 80th year.  The event was celebrated in Norwich by the ringing of bells and by a parade of the Light Horse Volunteers and Yeomanry Cavalry.

9.—Two thousand spectators were present at “the 10th annual grand wrestling match for prizes given by a society of amateurs for the encouragement of gymnastic exercises,” held at Kirby Cane.  There were 24 competitors, and the winner was Martin Hingle.

17.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. Crisp Brown, the Mayor elect, observed all the ancient customs, and entertained 300 guests at the guild feast.

18.—A meeting of resident gentry, clergy, yeomanry, and principal householders of North Greenhoe and Brothercross Hundreds, was held at Wells-next-the-Sea, under the presidency of Sir William Bolton, when resolutions were passed expressive of their deep concern at the insults offered to Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., at a meeting held at Norwich on the previous Saturday and during the county election, and an address was ordered to be presented in accordance with the terms of the resolutions.

19.—Mr. Mathews gave his entertainment, “Mail Coach Adventures,” at Norwich Theatre.

22.—Moses Levi, aged 62, “of the Jewish persuasion,” was baptised by the Rev. George Baldero at the parish church of Rainham St. Martin.

25.—A severe hailstorm occurred in West Norfolk.  Some of the hailstones measured six inches in circumference.  Much damage was done.  Many rooks were afterwards found dead.

JULY.

5.—Haddock’s exhibition of automata was opened in the Great Room, Davey Place, Norwich.

7.—At the Holkham Sheep Shearing, which commenced on this date, the address voted at Wells-next-the-Sea on June 18th was presented to Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., who, in reply, said he did not attribute blame to the poorer classes who had been deluded into the belief that he was their enemy, but he did blame the Mayor of Norwich, who, in his official capacity, should have prevented what had taken place.  These remarks led to a very long and acrimonious newspaper correspondence.

9.—The Rev. Charles Nourse Wodehouse was installed a prebendary of Norwich Cathedral, in place of the Rev. John Pretyman, D.D., who died at Lincoln on June 5th.

15.—The salt marshes near Wells-next-the-Sea were inundated by a high tide during a northerly gale, and nearly 300 sheep, the property of Messrs. Tuthill, Moore, and John Blomfield, of Warham, were drowned.

—A meeting of the gentry, clergy, and yeomen of the Hundreds of Guiltcross and Shropham was held at East Harling, under the p. 149presidency of the Earl of Albemarle, when an address was voted to Mr. Coke, M.P., and presented to him at Thetford Wool Fair on July 26th.

19.—Thomas Carter was publicly whipped in Norwich Market Place for stealing a cow.

—At the Norwich Court of Mayoralty, the Mayor stated that complaints had been made to him of offences committed in the city by bakers, foggers, and others, exercising their trades on Sunday.  The Court gave notice that it was not lawful “to make or bake any bread, rolls, or cakes of any sort or kind on the Lord’s Day, commonly called Sunday,” nor to deliver them “at any time after half past one of the clock in the afternoon of that day.”

24.—Skipper, the pedestrian, undertook for a wager of 25 guineas to walk from Norwich to Thetford and back, a distance of 55 miles, in 12 hours.  “He walked 54 miles, but having only four minutes to perform the last mile, gave in.”

AUGUST.

6.—Died at his house in the Lower Close, Norwich, aged 55, Mr. Frank Sayers, M.D., author of “Poems, including Sketches of the Northern Mythology,” and “Disquisitions, Metaphysical and Literary, Antiquarian and Historical.”  A monument, with a Latin inscription by the Rev. F. Howes, was erected in the Cathedral to the memory of the deceased.

7.—Died at Hoveton St. John, Mr. Thomas Blofeld, D.L., for many years one of the chairmen of the Norfolk Quarter Sessions.

11.—Sports were held at Reedham under the patronage of Mr. Layton, of Reedham Hall.  The principal event was a wrestling match, taken part in “by twenty-four as fine athletic young fellows as England can produce.”

12.—A cocking match, “fought in silver,” between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Yarmouth, commenced at the Feathers Inn, Yarmouth, and concluded on the 14th.  Feeders: Lamb for Norwich, Nash for Yarmouth.

15.—The first stone of the Nelson Monument on the South Denes, Yarmouth, was laid by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse (chairman of the sub-committee), in the presence of the Mayors and Corporations of Yarmouth and Norwich.  A civic dinner was given, and in the evening a ball, attended by 350 persons, took place at the Town Hall.

—Mrs. Rigby, wife of Dr. Rigby, gave birth, at Framingham, to three boys and a girl.  One lived 18 days, and the other three from eight to ten weeks.  At a quarterly meeting of the Norwich Corporation on September 12th, the Court of Aldermen resolved that a piece of plate be presented to Alderman and Mrs. Rigby in commemoration of the birth, to which the Commons “cordially acquiesced on the understanding that if the same event should happen in their own body they should put in a claim for a similar complimentary memento.”  A violent personal dispute ensued between two members of the Common Council, “which so alarmed eight of the members for the Ward beyond the Water that they left the room without leave of the Speaker, the p. 150consequence being that the whole proceedings proved abortive.”  Another meeting was held on the 27th, when the presentation was amicably agreed to, and on December 24th Dr. and Mrs. Rigby were given a silver bread basket, “with the names of the children and the arms of the family richly emblazoned thereon.”

16.—The thirteenth annual exhibition of the Norwich Society of Artists was opened in Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.  Mr. W. M. Sharp was president, Mr. J. Freeman vice-president, and Mr. P. Barnes, secretary.  The Norfolk and Norwich Original Society of Artists advertised their thirteenth exhibition to be held at the New Room, Theatre Plain—Mr. R. Ladbrook, president; Mr. J. Sillett, vice-president; Mr. J. Thirtle, secretary.  Both exhibitions were honoured by the presence of the Mayor and Corporation.

—Died at his house, Chapel Field, Norwich, Mr. John Ninham, aged 63, artist and engraver.

23.—Mr. Keen performed at Norwich Theatre in the character of Richard III.  On succeeding nights he appeared as Othello, Bertram, Sir Giles Overreach, Sir Edward Mortimer, Selim (“Barbarossa”), Shylock, Octavian (“The Mountaineers”), and Paul (“Paul and Virginia”).  He afterwards fulfilled an engagement at Yarmouth Theatre.

26.—A contested election took place at Norwich for the office of freemens’ Sheriff.  Mr. John Lovick was returned with 807 votes as against 718 polled by his opponent, Mr. George Harvey.

SEPTEMBER.

6.*—“Last week two troops of the 5th Dragoon Guards, under the command of Major Irwin, marched into Norwich Barracks, and relieved the two troops of the Royal Dragoons, ordered to Scotland.”

10.—The Bishop of Norwich confirmed 800 persons of both sexes at a special service held at Norwich Cathedral.

13.*—“Died lately, at Madrid, at the house of her sister, Lady Whitlingham, Barbara, wife of Mr. Bartholomew Frere, his Majesty’s secretary to the Embassy at the Ottoman Porte.  The marriage had been solemnized by proxy according to the usual forms, but Mr. Frere having been detained at Constantinople, neither had the happiness of seeing each other since their union.”

26.—Skipper, the pedestrian, undertook to walk 60 miles in 12 successive hours on the bowling-green at the King’s Head Inn, East Dereham.  “He was so exhausted in the last two miles that he could not accomplish his task.”

—A meeting was held in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, when an auxiliary association to the London Society for Promoting Christianity among the Jews was established, with the Lord Bishop as president.

27.—Died at Kirby Cane parsonage, from injuries received by the accidental discharge of a gun, the Hon. C. J. Keppel, fifth son of the Earl of Albemarle.

—A party of Indian jugglers gave a performance at Mr. Noverre’s ball-room, “near Messrs. Gurney’s bank,” Norwich.

p. 151OCTOBER.

1.*—(Advt.)  “Christopher Woods has been a prisoner in Norwich Castle during four and a half years, and there must remain for life, unless assisted with £20 to enable him to put in an answer to a bill in Chancery.  The attention of the truly Charitable is earnestly requested in behalf of this unhappy man, his distressed wife, and four children.”

11.—Mr. Robert Baker, glover and breeches maker, of Wells-next-the-Sea, was found murdered in Market Lane, about 200 yards from the town.  His skull was beaten in and his throat cut.  The county magistrates, assembled for other business at the Shirehall, Norwich, ordered the printing of 3,000 handbills giving notice of the murder.  These were taken by the constables to every coach, fish cart, and other conveyance leaving Norwich.  A man named James Johnson, 29 years of age, was apprehended on suspicion at the King’s Head Inn, Hethersett, on October 15th.  The prisoner was tried at the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford on March 19, 1818, when, after a trial lasting seven and a half hours, the jury returned a verdict of guilty, and he was sentenced to death by Mr. Justice Dallas, “his body to be delivered to the surgeons to be anatomised” on the Saturday following.  On the prisoner asking for “a longer period than two days in which to prepare for eternity,” the judge ordered death to be postponed until the following Monday, on which day the execution took place on the Castle Hill, Norwich, in the presence of 5,000 spectators.  “Mr. Wilson, a gentleman from London, and Mr. Austen, a pupil of Mr. Dalrymple’s, performed the dissection and prepared the subject for the lectures which have been daily delivered by Mr. Crosse.”  At the trial an indictment was preferred against an accomplice of the prisoner, one William Hardiment, not in custody.  A third man, Benjamin Neal, was in custody charged with being an accessory before the fact, but the bill was thrown out by the Grand Jury.  (See March 28th, 1822.)

14.—Under the direction of Messrs. Beckwith and Pettet a grand Musical Festival began at Norwich, and was continued until October 19th.  Miscellaneous concerts were given in St. Andrew’s Hall, and selections from oratorios in St. Peter’s church.  The principal performers were Mrs. Salmon, Miss Frith, Mr. Vaughan, Mr. Hawes, and Mr. Bellamy.

22.—A single wicket match was played at Holt by Frost, a member of the Holt Cricket Club, and Pilch, of the Litcham Club, for £10 a side.  Pilch was the winner.

28.—Mr. W. Finch announced that he had acquired Harper’s Gardens, “near St. Stephen’s Gates, Norwich.”  Mr. Harper, the former proprietor, removed to the Falcon Inn, Ditchingham.

30.—Died, in his 85th year, James Vines, for upwards of 60 years a member of the St. Peter Mancroft company of ringers, at Norwich.

NOVEMBER.

5.—A salmon trout, measuring 40 inches in length and weighing 21 pounds, was killed at the New Mills, Norwich.

p. 1527.—An express arrived at Norwich bearing tidings of the death of Princess Charlotte.  “Three post chaises and four followed a few hours after with gentlemen from some of the first London houses, to buy up all the black bombazines that the manufacturers had on hand, some of whom, however, had earlier intelligence of the melancholy event by letter brought by the express messenger, who arrived here on horseback.”  It was subsequently stated: “Notwithstanding the immediate and necessary exertions of all persons employed in the manufacture of bombazines and other articles of sable hue, they have not yet been able to satisfy the demand for goods of this description, whilst the dressmakers, &c., have found it difficult to execute all the orders they have received.  During the last week all the coaches have departed heavily laden with manufactured goods.”  On November 19th, the day of the funeral, black was worn generally, St. Peter’s bell was tolled, and the Mayor and Corporation attended service at the Cathedral.  “The Mayor substituted for the official cloak of justice one of black crape, and he also wore weepers.”

10.—Messrs. Adams’ troupe of equestrians commenced a season at the Pantheon, Norwich.

14.—Died, whilst on a visit to Holkham Hall, Elizabeth, Countess of Albemarle.

15.*—“There have recently been cast at the bell foundry at Downham five clock bells for the new General Post Office, Dublin.  A large bell is now preparing at the same place for erection in the Wabash, Indiana State, North America, by a religious society of Germans who have settled there.”

20.—Several persons “who had long resisted the threats and entreaties of the inhabitants of Old Buckenham” were convicted before a magistrate at Larlingford, and fined for playing cricket on Sunday, October 2nd, on Old Buckenham green.

DECEMBER.

5.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich addresses of condolence were voted to the Prince Regent and to Prince Leopold of Saxe-Coburg, expressive of the deep grief felt by the citizens on the death of the Princess Charlotte.  Similar addresses were presented by the Corporations of Yarmouth, Lynn, and Thetford.

—Died in St. Stephen’s, Norwich, in his 74th year, Mr. James Hardy, of Hethersett.  He served the office of Sheriff of Norwich in 1800.

6.—Messrs. Caldwell, Waterhouses, and Co., advertised the establishment of a service of “new light caravans upon springs.”  The conveyances left Norwich every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning at eight o’clock, and arrived at the Swan-with-two-Necks, Lad Lane, London, on the following morning at six o’clock.  They were despatched from London every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday evening at five o’clock, and arrived in Norwich the next afternoon at three o’clock.  The rate of carriage from London to Norwich was 9s. per cwt., and from Norwich to London 11s. per cwt.

p. 15315.—A three days’ cocking match commenced at the White Swan, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, between the gentlemen of Norfolk and the gentlemen of Suffolk.  A main of 31 cocks was won by Norfolk six battles ahead, and a match of 11 chickens by Norfolk one battle ahead.  The byes, of which 14 were fought, were even.  Stakes: £10 a battle and £200 the odd; chickens, £5 a battle and £50 the odd; byes £10 per battle.  Feeders: Lamb for Norfolk, Nash for Suffolk.

16.—A prize fight took place on Bungay Common between Sutton, the Black, and Ned Painter, who was accompanied from Norwich by a large number of his supporters.  Fifteen rounds were fought in one hour forty-two minutes for a purse of £100, £80 for the winner and £20 for the loser.  Painter, “the best man of the day with Norfolk training,” won.  “Several well-dressed women were present at the fight.”

20.—The Fakenham and London post coach, the Patriot, was advertised to run from Fakenham on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  The proprietors were Robert Leamon, Fakenham; T. W. Woer, Swaffham; Thos. Golding, Newmarket; George Barton, Cambridge; and John Eames, London.

—Joseph Penny, of Yarmouth, who impersonated Neptune at the Peace festival at Yarmouth on April 21, 1814, was drowned with his son whilst sailing a small boat in stormy weather.

27.*—“The commissions executed and presents sent from this land of turkies greatly exceeded any former year.  It is calculated that upwards of 4,000 have been despatched by different conveyances from Norwich during the past week, which, averaged at nine pounds each, at 10d. per pound, amounted to £1,500.”

1818.

JANUARY.

3.—Shore’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

5.—The Norwich Court of Guardians determined to proceed with the valuation of property in the city and hamlets.  Messrs. Rooks, Athow, and Stannard were appointed to make the valuation at the remuneration of £850.

6.—Twelfth Day was observed in Norwich, “when the confectioners made a grand display of their frosted and ornamented cakes.  Mr. Turner, of the Gentleman’s Walk, had one weighing 220 pounds and measuring three yards in circumference.  It was sawn to pieces next day.”  Mr. and Mrs. Patteson gave a Twelfth Night ball and supper at their residence in Surrey Street, at which 140 guests were present.

8.—At a meeting, presided over by Mr. T. O. Springfield, at the Swan Inn, Norwich, resolutions were moved by Mr. Edward Taylor, and a subscription raised to testify “the estimation in which they hold the extraordinary and intrepid exertions of Mr. Hone, in defence p. 154of the liberty of the Press, and to assist to defray the expenses of his repeated prosecutions.”

—Died, aged 100 years, Ashton Goodyer, formerly keeper of the workhouse at Tilney.

13.—At a county meeting held at the Shirehall, under the presidency of the High Sheriff (Mr. H. N. Burroughes), addresses of condolence with the Prince Regent and Prince Leopold on the death of the Princess Charlotte, were moved by Lord Walpole and seconded by the Hon. Col. Wodehouse.  The Ven. Archdeacon Bathurst opposed the addresses on account of the omission of the name of the Princess of Wales, and moved as an amendment “That any addresses to the Prince Regent and Prince Leopold, unaccompanied by an address to the Princess of Wales, would operate as an insulting neglect to one of the first characters in the Royal Family, and as a disrespect to the memory of her who was the pride and hope of the British people.”  The amendment was seconded by Mr. N. Palmer, of Yarmouth.  The High Sheriff objected to put the amendment, as the name of the Princess of Wales had not been included in the requisition.  The addresses were then adopted.  Archdeacon Bathurst alone dissenting.

15.—Lord and Lady Castlereagh and Prince Esterhazy, the Austrian ambassador, passed through Norwich on their return to London after a visit to Lord Suffield at Blickling.

16.—Died at Old Windsor, aged 71, the Right Hon. Lord Walsingham, of Merton Hall.  He was the only son of Sir William de Grey, several years Lord Chief Justice of Common Pleas.  In 1787 he was appointed joint Postmaster-General, and to within two years of his death had been chairman of the Committees of Privileges, &c., in the House of Lords.

19.—At a meeting of the inhabitants of Yarmouth, held at the New Hall, upwards of £6,000 was subscribed for aiding a plan to extend the navigation of the river Waveney from Bungay to Diss.  The sum of £5,000 was raised in the latter town.  At a meeting held at Bungay on February 5th the scheme was opposed by the landowners through whose property the projected canal was to pass.  On February 13th the inhabitants of Thetford met to oppose the undertaking, as it was likely to be injurious to the tolls of the Lesser Ouse.  It was announced on February 28th that £20,000 had been subscribed, and that the expense of carrying the scheme into execution would be £36,931.  A meeting was held at Yarmouth on March 10th, at which it was decided “out of respect to Mr. Adair and the rest of the proprietors to defer application to Parliament until the ensuing Session.”  Ultimately the scheme was abandoned.  In the course of the discussions on the project, “it was thrown out in a highly respectable quarter that the end in view might be answered and all objections obviated by the substitution of an iron railway for a canal.”  (This is the first instance in which a “railway” is mentioned in the Norfolk Chronicle.)

—Mr. Sinclair, from Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, as Orlando (“The Cabinet”), Apollo (in the burletta of “Midas”), and Henry Bertram (“Guy Mannering”).

26.—The stacks of Mr. John Balls, farmer, Lessingham, were destroyed by fire, his calves suspended by their necks from a beam in p. 155an outhouse, and other outrages committed.  At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford in the month of March, James Thompson was indicted for firing the stacks, and, after a trial lasting five hours, was acquitted.

31.—Miss Davison, of Drury Lane, commenced an engagement at Norwich Theatre, during which she appeared as Lady Teazle, Priscilla Tomboy (“The Romp”), Lady Bell (“Know your own Mind”), Roxalana (“The Sultan”), and Lady Racket (“Three Weeks after Marriage”).

FEBRUARY.

4.—Died, at Hethersett, aged 70, Mr. John Buckle, one of the aldermen of the Great Ward of Mancroft, Norwich.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1787, and of Mayor in 1793.

16.—Mr. Emery, of Covent Garden, made his first appearance at Norwich Theatre, as Tyke (“The School of Reform”).  His other characters included Robin Roughead (“Fortune’s Frolic”), Zekiel Homespun (“Heir at Law”), and Sheepface (“The Village Lawyer”).

21.—Died, aged 88, Mr. William Utten, of the Lower Close, Norwich, formerly chapter clerk to the Dean and Chapter, and secretary to the Lord Bishop of Norwich.

28.*—“Mr. D. Fisher, whose performance of the arduous characters of Hamlet, Macbeth, and Richard III. at Drury Lane were so excellent as to induce the managers to engage him at a liberal salary from the commencement of next season, has been engaged to perform those characters at Norwich, and will make his first appearance this evening in the part of Hamlet.”  Mr. Fisher was a son of the manager of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians.

MARCH.

2.—The Carrow Bridge toll bar, at Norwich, was let for three years at the annual rent of £224.

4.—During a severe gale from the south-east great damage was done to shipping on the Norfolk coast, and several vessels were driven ashore.  At the church of Pulham St. Mary the Virgin the chancel window, 20 feet by 11 feet, was almost demolished, and another window on the south side was entirely blown out with the stone work.  Four large sheets of lead were blown off the roof of East Bilney Church.

—It having been represented to the Norwich Court of Mayoralty that “the annual Fair on Tombland hath for several years past been continued to an unreasonable time of the night, not only to the disturbance and inconvenience of the inhabitants, but so as to prevent the decent observance of next day, being Good Friday,” it was ordered “that the ensuing Fair on Maunday Thursday shall end at eleven o’clock in the evening of that day, when all persons resorting to the same are to repair to their respective houses, and all those who shall have goods, stalls, and shows are directed to cease their several trades and occupations at the said hour of eleven, and immediately to remove and carry their goods and effects from the said fairstead.”  The Fair p. 156was held on March 19, when “there were few exhibitions on Tombland, the show caravans, which were more numerous than usual, being judiciously arranged on the Castle Meadow.”

9.—The election of Common Councilmen for the four wards of Norwich, commenced on this date.  “The ascendency of the Purple and Orange or of the Blue and White party in the Corporation is supposed to have some influence at a General Election, and as that event is considered to be at no great distance, neither money nor exertions were spared to obtain a majority in the Long Ward.”  The expenses were estimated at some thousands of pounds, from £15 to £40 was paid for votes, and the freemen were brought in carriages from the country to vote as at a Parliamentary Election.

10.—Married at Benacre, by the Rev. Richard Gooch, Capt. G. W. Manby, barrack master, Yarmouth, to Sophia, daughter of Sir Thomas Gooch, Bart., of Benacre Hall, and sister of Mr. Sherlock Gooch, M.P., for Suffolk.

16.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford, the crim. con. action, Muskett v. Gurney, in which the damages were laid at £10,000, was tried before a special jury.  Verdict for the defendant.

19.—The first Norwich Sick Poor Repository was held at Mr. Noverre’s room, St. Michael-at-Plea, on Tombland Fair day.  “The room was crowded by the beauty and fashion of our town and its vicinity, and the counters were completely cleared at three o’clock, when the receipts amounted to £115.”

24.—Died at Hare Street, Romford, Mr. Humphrey Repton, the celebrated landscape gardener.  He was buried at Aylsham.

26.—The organ at Swaffham church was opened by Mr. Beckwith, of Norwich.  Selections of sacred music were rendered at the church, and in the evening a miscellaneous concert was given in the Assembly-room.  The principal vocalists were Mrs. Card, Miss Williams, Mr. C. Fisher (tenor), and the choristers from Norwich Cathedral.

31.—Married, at Redenhall Church, by the Ven. Archdeacon Oldershaw, Mr. Gurney Barclay, of Tavistock Square, London, to Miss Freshfield, of Harleston.  “On the bride’s return the horses were taken from her carriage, and, amid the cheering of the delighted people, she was drawn, attended by a band of music, through the town.”

APRIL.

5.—The London mail by way of Bury and Newmarket was discontinued, and two light four-inside coaches, called the Mercury, substituted, starting from the Angel Inn, Norwich, at 4.45 p.m., and from the Golden Cross, Charing Cross, London, at six p.m., Sundays excepted.  The proprietors of the Expedition post coach substituted two light post coaches which ran from the Swan Inn, Norwich, every afternoon at four o’clock, and from the White Horse, Fetter Lane, London, at 4.30.  The mail by Bury and Newmarket had been established 33 years, and was discontinued from lack of public support.  The Norwich and London mail by Ipswich and Colchester continued to run as before.

8.—The Eau Brink Drainage Bill was read a third time in the House of Commons, and the Act was subsequently passed for increasing p. 157the fund for carrying into execution the several previous Acts for improving the drainage of the fens, and the navigation of the several Norfolk rivers communicating with the river Ouse.

11.—Six prisoners escaped from the Norwich City Gaol by breaking through an 18-inch brick wall, whence they entered the snuff manufactory of Messrs. Waite and Cozens, and with their irons on made their way to the Market Place.  With one exception they were speedily recaptured.

—*“According to the returns of the Tax Office to March 25, 1817, the Norfolk Land-tax amounted to £63,471 10s. 7d.; redeemed, £18,526 16s. 2d.”

14.—The Norwich Paving Commissioners, in consequence of complaints regarding the imperfect lighting and watching of the streets, appointed a committee of fourteen of their members, and co-opted other persons, to superintend the placing of the watchmen.  The committee were requested to “occasionally perambulate the city, and to observe the state of the lamps and the conduct of the watchmen.”

18.*—(Advt.)  “To be fought at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, on Monday, April 20th, 1818, and two following days, three double days play of cocks for 10 guineas a battle, and 200 guineas the odd, between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridge.  Feeders: Lamb for Norwich, Thompson for Cambridge.”

—*(Advt.)  “The London and Norwich mail coach by Colchester and Ipswich.  The Postmaster-General having thought proper to discontinue the mail coach by Newmarket, which had been established 33 years, from the public not having latterly given it that support which its usefulness demanded, the contractors for the remaining mail by Ipswich and Colchester, which will in future be the conveyance of the Norwich letters, hope that so useful a carriage in this commercial city and county will have such success as to promote its future encouragement and continuance.”

23.—St. George’s Day was observed in Norwich as the festival of the tutelar saint of England and as the appointed date for the celebration of the birthday of the Prince Regent.  St. Peter’s bells were rung, and at night a ball was given at Chapel Field House.

24.—A meeting, presided over by Mr. J. J. Gurney, was held at the Lancasterian School, Norwich, to encourage the establishment of Sunday schools.

26.—Died at Norwich, aged 47, the Rev. Augustus Beevor, M.A.  “He was educated at Bennet College, Cambridge, where he early distinguished himself, and as a reward of his literary merits, received many college prizes.  He was rector of Berghapton, Norfolk, and of Otley, Suffolk.”

27.—After the interval of 15 years the boundaries of the county of the city of Norwich were perambulated by the Mayor (Mr. Crisp Brown), attended by the Sheriffs, several of the aldermen, city officers, and others on horseback, and by a great number of persons on foot.  Much beer was drunk en route, and at Earlham the chief personages were entertained by Mr. J. J. Gurney, and 400 men and boys received each a pint of beer and a piece of cake.  A man swam the river at Earlham, another crossed it at Hellesdon.  “When proceeding in the direction of Sprowston they were met on the road, leading from p. 158Norwich to Crostwick, by Mr. James Cozens, who formally declared his intention to protest against the establishment of the line of boundary which they were taking, and pointed out a boundary mark nearer Norwich, which on inspection proved to be that of St. Clement’s parish.”

MAY.

1.—A two days’ poll commenced for the election of Mayor at Norwich.  The poll was declared on the 2nd as follows:—Ald. Marsh, 821; Ald. Leman, 820; Ald. Thurtell, 474; Ald. Back, 412.  Mr. Leman was on the 3rd elected, by the Court of Aldermen, Mayor for the second time.

3.—At a meeting of the Norwich Corporation it was agreed to present congratulatory addresses to the Prince Regent and to the Princess Elizabeth on her marriage with the Hereditary Prince of Hesse Homburgh.  On a ballot in the common council-room there were 24 for and 24 against the addresses.  The Speaker (Mr. Samuel Stone) gave his casting vote in favour of the addresses, which accordingly became acts of assembly.

6.—The birthday of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., was celebrated at Harleston, Wells, Wymondham, and other places by public dinners.

12.—A prize fight took place on a field near Thorpe Asylum between William Cox, blacksmith, and John Camplin, a Norwich weaver.  “Among the spectators were a great number of females.”  Camplin was seconded by Ned Painter, and Cox by Wharton.  Twenty-nine rounds were fought in 42 minutes for £5 a side.  Cox won.  Another fight between Pegg and Short, “who milled each other for more than an hour,” resulted in the victory of the latter.

13.—A new gallery erected in North Walsham church was opened with a grand selection of sacred music from the works of Handel, under the direction of Messrs. Fish and Card, of Norwich.  The principal vocal performers were Mrs. Card, Mr. Frewer, and Mr. Barron, and the choruses were supported by performers from the Norwich concerts, and by the Cathedral choristers.

16.—Died at Lynn, Ann Crawforth, aged 104, supposed to be the oldest member of the Methodist Society.

18.—Miss Brunton, granddaughter of Mr. John Brunton, the former manager, appeared at Norwich Theatre as Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”).  Her other characters during the engagement were Miss Hardcastle, Rosalind, and Lady Elizabeth (“The Day after the Wedding”).

19.—A new peal of six bells, cast and hung by William Dobson, of Downham Market, was opened at Northwold.  Prizes of ten guineas and five guineas were offered to competing companies who performed the best and next best peals of 720 complete changes.  The New Buckenham and Hopton ringers were adjudged equal.

—At the Norwich Consistory Court, sentence of suspension for two years was passed by the Rev. William Young, Chancellor, on the Rev. Edward Leathes, rector of Reedham with Freethorpe, for neglecting to perform his ministerial duties in those churches for about eight months in the course of the years 1816 and 1817.

p. 15920.—Bull-baiting took place on Carrow Hills, Norwich.  “The game old bull resisted every effort of the well-seasoned dogs, and remained master of the ring.  A young bull was afterwards brought in, who is to be trained up to exercise the rising generation of the canine species, and for the amusement of the lovers of this fine art.”

—A rowing match between two four-oared boats, the Swift and the Adriadne, took place from Carrow to Whitlingham.  The Swift, “rowed by four brothers of the name of Lanham, well known on the stream,” won.  “The match was for each other’s boat, valued complete at £14 or £15.”  (This is the first instance in which the names of the rowers are given.)

28.—The annual dinner in commemoration of Pitt’s birthday was held at the Assembly Rooms, Norwich, under the presidency of the Hon. Col. Wodehouse.

—Tenders were invited for taking down the existing and building the new bridge, at Hellesdon, either of timber or iron.  The Corporation on June 30 accepted the tender of Mr. Frost to build an iron bridge for £1,140.

30.—Miss Byrne began a short engagement at Norwich Theatre, during which she appeared in favourite comic operas and musical entertainments.  Her impersonations included Adela (“The Haunted Tower”) and Rosina.

—*(Advt.)  “A match of cocks will be fought at the Angel Inn, St. Stephen’s, Norwich, on June 15th and 16th, between the gentlemen of Norfolk and the gentlemen of Norwich, to show fifteen mains and five byes.  To fight for £5 a battle and £20 the odd.  Feeders: Stafford for Norfolk, Lamb for Norwich.”

31.—Died at Wakefield, Mr. Fitzgerald, manager of the Leeds, Lincoln, Sheffield, and Hull Theatres, and many years a favourite performer in the Norwich Company.

JUNE.

1.—Mr. Charles Harvey, M.P., issued an address to the electors of Norwich, in which he announced his intention of declining to offer himself for re-election.

2.—Died at Coltishall, Mr. William Warrant, aged 100 years.

4.—The 81st birthday of George III. was celebrated in Norwich.  The Mayor and Corporation, preceded by a band of music, went in state to the Cathedral.

8.—A camping match, Norfolk against Suffolk, took place at Kirby Cane for £10 a side, and, after a spirited contest, Norfolk won.  “This is the first thorough boxing camping match which has taken place for these last 35 years, and considering that not five out of the twenty individuals who played had ever before been engaged in any pugilistic contest, it was astonishing to observe the spirit of gallantry which animated both parties.  The spectators amounted to some thousands, among whom were many gentlemen of rank and fortune.”

9.—Parliament having been dissolved and the writ for the election received, Mr. W. Smith and Mr. R. H. Gurney, the “Blue and White” candidates, made their public entry into Norwich.  The Hon. Edward Harbord, the “Orange and Purple” candidate, was met at Mile End p. 160on the 11th.  His barouche was drawn into the city by the crowd, and a large cavalcade of freeholders and freemen was in attendance.  Thence until the day of election there was an active canvass in the city, and party feeling ran high.

15.—Seaman’s Museum of Natural History was exhibited on Orford Hill, Norwich.

16.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Many members of the freemen’s clubs, with blue and white favours in their hats, and with party flags flying, marched into the Market Place in order to attend the new Mayor to the Cathedral.  Alderman Herring protested against such a display of party feeling on this day.  Mr. Smith, the Parliamentary candidate, addressed the people from a window in the Market Place, saying that anything like party appeared to be indecorous on such an occasion, and he for one should put his colours into his pocket.  His example, however, was not generally followed.  After service at the Cathedral Mr. Barnabas Leman was sworn in as Mayor, and the guild feast, given in St. Andrew’s Hall, was attended by 300 guests.

17.—Norwich Election began on this day, and the poll closed on the day following at 1.30 p.m., with the following result:—W. Smith, 2,089; R. H. Gurney, 2,032; the Hon. Edward Harbord, 1,475.  The two first-named were returned.

—Thetford Election: Lord C. Fitzroy and Mr. N. R. Colbourne were returned without a contest, on the withdrawal of Mr. Webster.

—Castle Rising Election: Lord Rocksavage and the Hon. F. Greville Howard were returned unopposed.

18.—Lynn Election: Lord Walpole and Sir M. B. ffolkes were returned unopposed.

19.—Yarmouth Election: The Hon. George Anson, 780; C. E. Rumbold, 760; E. K. Lacon, 651; General Loftus, 612.  The two first-named were elected.

23.—Norfolk Election: Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. E. Wodehouse were returned unopposed.  Mr. Philip Hamond, of Westacre, opened a canvass in opposition to Mr. Wodehouse, but relinquished it on the eve of the election.  After the chairing Mr. Coke and his friends dined at the Swan Inn, Norwich, and Mr. Wodehouse and his supporters at the Angel Inn.  At night the members attended the ball at Chapel Field House, where the dancing was opened by Mr. Coke and Mrs. Micklethwaite and by Mr. Wodehouse and Mrs. N. Bacon.

Dr. C. Brown, of Margaretta Farm, and Mr. T. B. Plestow, of Watlington Hall, received, this month, the honour of knighthood.

JULY.

4.—Spring, Scroggins, Purcell, and other celebrated pugilists, gave a boxing display at the Swan Inn, Norwich.

6.—Died, aged 78, Mr. Richard Beatniffe, many years a well-known bookseller in Norwich.

—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  The only new implements exhibited were a manure drill, by Mr. Frost, of Saham, and a self-sowing dibbling machine, by Mr. Woodward, of Norwich.

p. 16112.—A severe drought of nine weeks’ duration was ended on this day by a “joyful rain.”

—A new light post coach, called “The Day,” carrying four insides and ten outsides, commenced running from the Angel Inn, Market Place, Norwich, to the Crown and Anchor Tavern, the Quay, Yarmouth.  The journey occupied three hours each way, and the coach was owned by T. S. Coldwell and Co.

13.—Races for hackneys, hunters, and ponies, took place at Wells-next-the-Sea, upon “a fine level width of firm beach sand.”  An immense concourse of spectators attended.

15.—Died at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, aged 72, Capt. James Murray, adjutant of the 2nd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry, and formerly captain in the 9th Regiment of Foot.  He served with distinction during the whole of the American War.

16.—The first stone of a new bridge at Letheringsett was laid by Mrs. Best, of Bayfield Hall.  The company, after being entertained to breakfast by Mr. William Hardy, proceeded through his gardens to a deep excavation in the bed of the river, where the stone was placed in position amid the cheers of the spectators and the firing of guns.

20.—The performances of Mr. David Fisher’s company in “the elegant little theatre” at East Dereham, terminated on this date, “when the performers assembled on the stage and drank a parting glass and bade farewell of the crowded audience amid shouts of applause.”

22.—A grand cricket match played on Newmarket Heath for 330 guineas a side, between the Holt and Newmarket clubs.  It concluded on the 23rd, when the score was as follows:—Newmarket, 84-101; Holt, 114-74.

23.—A silver cup was rowed for by three boats at Norwich, and won by the Apollo (Bacon).  Distance, five miles; time, 38½ minutes.

—A troop of the 15th Light Dragoons (King’s Hussars), commanded by Major Cochrane, marched into Norwich to relieve the 5th Dragoon Guards, who the same day set out for York.

25.*—“Mr. Case, a respectable farmer, at Stratton Strawless, lately sustained a loss of 30 young turkies and 11 goslings, all which a voracious fat sow devoured after a hearty breakfast.”

27.—Mr. Blanchard, of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre as General Heartall (“The Soldier’s Daughter”).  Among the other characters impersonated by him during his engagement were Crack (“The Turnpike Gate”), Lazarillo (“Two Strings to your Bow”), Abednego (“Jew and Doctor”), Caleb Quotem (“The Wags of Windsor”), and Dr. Ollapod (“The Poor Gentleman”).

—At a meeting of the merchants of the city, held at the Angel Inn, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. Crisp Brown, it was agreed to open up a trade from Gainsborough to Yarmouth, and to employ four vessels to sail alternately from both places.

31.—Died at his house in St. James’s Square, London, Viscount Anson.  He married in 1794 Ann Margaret, second daughter of Mr. T. W. Coke, of Holkham, and was succeeded in his title and estates by the Hon. Thomas William Anson, M.P. for Yarmouth.

p. 162AUGUST.

12.—Two gentlemen “angling on that beautiful river at Buckenham, belonging to Sir Thomas Beauchamp Proctor,” caught 210 pounds of fish, the greater part of which were bream.  This was described as “a circumstance unprecedented in this or any other part of the country.”

15.—The whaler Enterprize from Greenland, Capt. Sanderson, arrived at her berth at South Lynn, with eleven “fish” on board, “which it is supposed will produce about 160 tons of oil, estimated to be worth £6,000, exclusive of whalebone, &c.”

28.—A cricket match was played at Bungay between the Holt and Bungay clubs, for stakes amounting to £132.  Scores: Holt, 89-130; Bungay, 54-28.  The return match was fixed for September 7th, but Bungay paid forfeit.  In the first match, owing to men being objected to on both sides, “it was played with only ten batsmen, but with the usual numbers in the field.”

SEPTEMBER.

1.—Robert Skipper, the Norwich pedestrian, began a walk of 1,000 miles in 20 successive days.  He started from St. Stephen’s Gates at five o’clock a.m. and returned from the twenty-fifth milestone on the Thetford road at nine p.m.  He relinquished the task on the ninth day in consequence of lameness.

8.—Miss O’Neil commenced a five nights’ engagement at Norwich Theatre.  She appeared in the characters of Belvidera (“Venice Preserved”), Juliet, Mrs. Haller (“The Stranger”), Mrs. Beverley (“The Gamester”), and Mrs. Oakley (“The Jealous Wife”).  “The box office was literally besieged every morning, and the spirit of politeness and gallantry maintained only a very feeble influence over the conduct of the assembled multitude.  No law prevailed but that of the strongest; nothing was to be heard but shrieks, reproaches, and lamentations—nothing to be seen but bonnets cramped up, hats squeezed flat, torn gowns and coat flaps, and a motley mob in the highest state of exasperation, fermentation, and desperation.  On the nights of the performance the house was crowded in every part.  Families of the highest respectability, both of the town and from the country, were to be seen contenting themselves, many of them with inconvenient situations.  Even the orchestra was occupied by the audience.”  The receipts averaged £200 a night, and Miss O’Neil, including her benefit, received £700.

—A public meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, at which it was decided to apply to Parliament for leave to bring in a Bill for widening and deepening the Norwich river so as to render it navigable by vessels of burden from Norwich to the sea.  The Mayor presided, and the project, which afterwards gave rise to the famous agitation “Norwich, a Port,” was introduced by Mr. Crisp Brown.

—Buonaparte’s military coach was exhibited by Mr. Bullock, of the London Museum, at Mr. Smith’s coach manufactory, Swan Yard, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.

p. 16326.—The Phenomena day coach was advertised to run from the Angel Inn, Norwich, and the One Bull Inn, Bury, to the Bull Inn, Aldgate, London, in fourteen hours.  It set out from Norwich at a quarter to six.  The proprietors, William Pawson, T. Bridgeman, George Archer, and Ann Nelson, Son, and Co., prohibited racing on the part of their coachman.  The rival coach, the Norwich and London Original day coach, started from the Norfolk Hotel every morning at a quarter to seven and ran to the Spread Eagle, Gracechurch Street, and the Swan with Two Necks, Lad Lane, through Bury, Sudbury, Chelmsford, and Romford.  Racing was prohibited by the proprietors, namely, R. Gurney, T. Boyce, Chapman, S. Bright, J. Boldero, J. Tomlinson, Elizabeth Boyce and Son, and W. Waterhouse.

28.—Died, the Rev. St. John Priest, A.M., master of Scarning Free School, rector of Reepham with Kerdiston and of Billingford, and vicar of Parham with Hacheston, Suffolk.  He was secretary of the Norfolk Agricultural Society from its institution in 1800.

OCTOBER.

1.—Married, at York, Upper Canada, Mr. Samuel Peters Jarvis, barrister, and son of the late secretary of that province, to Mary Boyles, youngest daughter of the Hon. W. D. Powell, Chief Justice of Upper Canada, and granddaughter of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.

3.—Sir Edmund Lacon, Kt., of Great Yarmouth, Mr. Thomas Hare, of Stow Hall, and Mr. Edward Stracey, of Rackheath Hall, were created baronets.

12.—Died at St. George’s Colegate, Norwich, aged 50, Mr. Thomas Allday Kerrison, who was Sheriff in 1798, Alderman in 1803, and Mayor in 1806.

13.—A sailing match, which took place at Thorpe for a silver cup, was won by the Dreadnought (Stone), which beat the Albion (Ganning), and the Argo (Harvey).

—A trial took place at midnight of a gasometer with complete apparatus erected by Messrs. John and Philip Taylor, of London, at the factory of Messrs. Joseph Oxley and Sons, of Norwich.  They were the first to introduce gaslight into a Norwich factory.

21.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, Mark Woodcock appealed against a conviction for taking toll at a turnpike gate off soldiers when on duty.  The 15th Light Dragoons, stationed at Lynn, were being “taken out for an airing” and on passing through Gaywood gate the appellant demanded toll of them, to the amount of 4s. 4½d.  He alleged that the soldiers were not on duty, and that they passed through the gate wantonly and unnecessarily, and in order to give him trouble.  The court confirmed the conviction.

24.—Messrs. T. S. Coldwell and William Horne, proprietors of the Mercury coach, from the Maid’s Head, Norwich, through Wymondham, Attleborough, and Thetford, to the Golden Cross, Charing Cross, London, advertised “reduced fares at what you please.”  The coach ran every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.

—Adams’ Equestrian Troupe commenced a season at the Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, where a stage was provided for the production of pantomime and burletta.

p. 16425.—The premises and stock of Mr. Griffiths, plane and tool maker, near St. Gregory’s Church, Norwich, were destroyed by fire.

31.—Died of apoplexy, at Holt, Mr. William Stokes, Clerk of the Peace for Norfolk.  He was 66 years of age, and had held the office 19 years.  His eldest son died at Fakenham on the following day.  Mr. Robert Copeman, of Aylsham, was appointed to the vacant clerkship.

—Four boys were whipped in Norwich Market Place, pursuant to sentence passed upon them at the Quarter Sessions.

NOVEMBER.

1.—The Expedition coach from Norwich to London, carrying only four insides, with car added to carry six insides, started running on this date from the White Swan, Norwich.  Fares, four insides, 18s. each; the car, six insides, 14s. each; outsides, 10s. 6d. each.  The proprietors were Thomas Bryant and John Eames and Co.

2.—Thiodon’s “mechanical and picturesque theatre of arts” (automata) was opened at Norwich Theatre.

4.—Married at Gissing, W. Newby, of Burston, to Susanna Fleet, of the former place, widow.  “Their united ages amounted to upwards of 140 years.  Nearly 40 years ago she married John Fleet, her first husband, who, after living with her several years, set out on his travels and visited the most distant parts of the world.  The only report that ever reached her was the news of his death, when, having given what she considered a decent time to his memory and his loss, she again entered into the state of matrimony.  After living several years with her second husband the first returned and claimed her, and his death which lately happened gave her the second opportunity of being legally united to the man of her heart, which actually took place, and she was a second time married to the same person.”

5.—At a meeting of the Navigation Committee, held at the Guildhall, Norwich, a letter was received from the Mayor of Yarmouth, in which he expressed the fear that the projected scheme for widening and deepening the Norwich river would prove injurious to Yarmouth harbour.  It was pointed out that there was an alternative plan of making a cut about a mile lone: across Thurlton marshes to join the Waveney about a mile below St. Olave’s Bridge, and thence proceeding to Oulton and Lothing Broads and entering the sea at Lowestoft.  The meeting considered the alternative scheme the more eligible one, and Mr. Cubitt, engineer, was ordered to make a survey and prepare an estimate of the expense.

9.—At Holkham eight guns killed 516 head of game in one day, namely, eight partridges, 40 pheasants, 237 hares, 216 rabbits, 14 woodcock, and one snipe.  In seven days 2,574 head were killed.

18.—On the official account being received of the death of the Queen at Kew Palace, the great bell of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, and the bells of the other churches in the city were tolled for two hours.  On Sunday, the 22nd, the pulpits in the churches were draped with black, and on December 2nd, the day of interment, the shops were closed, and the bells tolled from six to eight o’clock in the p. 165evening.  The Corporation attended service at the Cathedral.  At Yarmouth and Lynn the day was observed in a similar manner.  Addresses of condolence were afterwards passed by each Corporation.

20.—Mr. William Bell, of Norwich, while shooting with a party at Sprowston, “killed at one shot five and a half brace of that rare bird called the golden plover, a shot not to be paralleled in the annals of sporting notoriety.”

DECEMBER.

3.—Mr. Edward K. Lacon, who had canvassed Yarmouth as a candidate for the Parliamentary election consequent upon the elevation to the peerage of the Hon. T. W. Anson, announced in an address to the electors his intention to retire from the candidature on the ground that “the prejudices so unjustly excited against him were not yet fully allayed.”  The Hon. George Anson was returned without opposition on February 11th, 1819.

5.—Landed at Cromer from the Earl of Leicester packet, from Holland, Mr. Horsley, of Islington, and his little son.  The boy had been kidnapped by Charles Rennett, a cousin of Mrs. Horsley, who had entered into litigation respecting some property to which the child was entitled.  Rennett carried him to France, whence he was traced to Braker, near Bremen.  The boy was recovered unharmed and handed over to his father, and Rennett, on his arrest, was tried in London on May 28th, 1819, and sentenced to seven years’ transportation.

12.—Wombwell’s Menagerie was exhibited on Castle Hill, Norwich.

24.—A tradesman at Beeston next Mileham made a wager that he would carry twelve stone of flour a distance of ten miles in six hours, “which Herculean task he performed in five hours and a quarter.  The odds at the start were three to one against him.”

26.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, to consider the propriety of presenting an address of condolence to the Prince Regent on the death of the Queen.  Col. Wodehouse was about to move an address, when Mr. Nathaniel Palmer, jun., of Yarmouth, anticipated him by moving one of his own framing, the last paragraph of which contained an allusion to the criminal code.  It was seconded by Mr. Clarke, of Berghapton, and supported by Archdeacon Bathurst.  Col. Wodehouse then moved his address, which was seconded by Mr. T. Cubitt, and supported by Mr. M. Elwin and Mr. C. Harvey.  Much altercation and confusion ensued, and the High Sheriff (Mr. Edward Lombe), who presided, adjourned the meeting sine die.  Those who approved the address proposed by Col. Wodehouse adjourned to the grand jury room and signed it.  It was subsequently presented to the Prince Regent.

—Died in Little Charlotte Street, London, aged 29, Mrs. Fisher, wife of Mr. David Fisher, of Drury Lane Theatre.  She left a family of three children.

Remarkably mild weather was experienced during this month.  The cuckoo was heard at the beginning, and vegetation advanced till the middle of the month.

p. 1661819.

JANUARY.

12.—A new peal of six bells hung in St. Gregory’s Church by Mr. Hurry, of Norwich, was opened by the St. Peter Mancroft ringers, and a dinner in commemoration of the event took place at the Old Goat, Goat Lane.

13.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions was tried the appeal Burrows v. J. Stracey.  The appellant was the keeper of the Norfolk and Norwich Arms public-house at Sprowston, and was convicted by the respondent under 26th George III., for selling beer without a licence, when in reality he then had a licence authorising him to do so from the Supervisor of Excise for Norwich under certificate from the magistrates of that city.  He appealed against the conviction on the ground that the county magistrates had not the power to grant him such licence, his house being situated in the county of the city of Norwich, and not within the county of Norfolk as contended by the respondent.  Counsel for the appellant produced the Charter made in the reign of Philip and Mary, whereby various lands lying in the county were granted to the Corporation of Norwich, amongst which was that part of Sprowston where the appellant’s house stood.  The Town Clerk of Norwich was called for the respondent, and said he never remembered the magistrates of the city having exercised acts of jurisdiction over the locality in question, nor had it ever paid rates to the city.  The court confirmed the conviction.

14.—Died at his apartments in Drury Lane, London, Mr. E. H. Seymour, formerly of Norwich Theatre.  He was author of a work dedicated to Sheridan—“Remarks Critical, Conjectural, and Explanatory on the Works of Shakespeare.”

23.—Madame Tussaud’s collection of “composition figures representing ninety public characters” was exhibited at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

25.—The Fox birthday dinner, held at the Norwich Assembly Rooms, was presided over by the Earl of Albemarle, who was supported by Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., Viscount Bury, the High Sheriff, and Mr. W. Smith, M.P.

29.—The Rev. Levi Walton was elected headmaster of the Free School, Scarning, in place of the Rev. St. John Priest, whose predecessor was the Rev. Robert Potter, Prebendary of Norwich Cathedral.

It was announced this month that Mr. Thomas Clabburn, of All Saints, Norwich, had left the following bequests: To the parishes of St. John Timberhill, St. Michael-at-Thorn, St. Michael-at-Coslany, and St. John Sepulchre, £200 each; and to All Saints’ and St. Paul’s, £400 each; the interest to be given in bread and coals the first Monday in February each year.  To the parish of Tasburgh, £400; and to Tharston, Flordon, and Newton Flotman, £200 each; the p. 167interest to be applied in like manner.  To the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, £800; to the Treasurer of Cook’s Hospital, £800; and the like sum to the Hospital, on trust, “that the poor women therein might receive one shilling each every Monday for ever”; to the Bethel, £200; and a like sum to seven of the benevolent institutions in Norwich.

FEBRUARY.

2.—The petition of the Norwich Grand Jury at the last Summer Assizes, praying for two general gaol deliveries in the year, was presented to the House of Commons by Mr. W. Smith.  Mr. Colborne, member for Thetford, presented another petition from the Mayor and Corporation of that borough, praying that there should be no change in the existing arrangements.  On the 24th the Corporation of Norwich petitioned Parliament in favour of Assizes being held twice a year in the city.

—At a general Court of Guardians held at Norwich, Dr. Rigby reported that small-pox had made its appearance in several parishes in the city, and an order was made that the city surgeons vaccinate all poor persons desirous of availing themselves of their assistance.

3.—Mr. J. W. H. Payne, a native of Norwich, where he was formerly a printer and bookseller, “being reduced in circumstances was allowed to appear at the Theatre in the character of Hamlet.  He succeeded in exciting the risibility of the other performers, and the loud laughter of the audience.”

Impromptu on Mr. Payne’s Performance as Hamlet.

“Let mortal man his grief and care give o’er,
   Nor crave the aid of potion or of pill;
For Payne now makes our sides with laughter sore,
   And, tho’ he threatens, yet—neglects to kill.”

8.—Mr. Mathews appeared at Norwich Theatre as Solomon Gundy (“Who Wants a Guinea?”).  His impersonations on succeeding evenings included Scrub (“The Beaux’ Stratagem”) and Goldfinch (“The Road to Ruin”).  He also gave his entertainments, “A Trip to Paris,” “At Home,” and “The Actor of All Work.”

9.—At a general meeting of the Norwich Paving Act Commissioners a plan submitted by Mr. Gostling, of Birmingham, for lighting the city with gas was taken into consideration, and on the motion of Mr. P. M. Martineau it was agreed, by 26 votes to 17, that “it is expedient to light such parts of the city with gas on the plan suggested and that the necessary steps be taken to carry the plan into effect.”  A committee was also appointed to further the project.  On September 30th a meeting was held at the Guildhall for the purpose of receiving information relative to the proposed introduction of oil gas.  The meeting was adjourned until the 25th, when the Mayor was invited to call a public meeting.  The Paving Commissioners met on October 12th, when permission was given to break up the streets to lay down pipes, provided that such breaches were repaired to the satisfaction of the City Surveyor at the expense of the promoters.  A public meeting was held on October 26th, at which it was recommended that a company be formed for the purpose of lighting the city with oil gas, and that p. 168not less than £2,500 be raised in shares of £25 each for carrying the resolution into effect.  Two separate bodies appear to have come into existence, the one known as the Oil Gas Company, and the other as the Oil Gas Community.  These bodies adjusted their differences, and on December 1st Mr. Charles Harvey obtained leave in the House of Commons to bring in a Bill for lighting with gas the city and county of the city of Norwich.  The Bill was read a second time on December 21st, and in due course became law.  On January 31st, 1820, the first of the iron gas pipes were laid in the Market Place; and on May 10th, 1820, the street lamps and burners in several shops were lighted with gas for the first time.  “In the Market Place it produced a strong and steady light as far as it extended, and before Messrs. Bignold’s house and office in Surrey Street, where there were three lamps, the effect was brilliant.”

12.—A salmon measuring 48 inches in length, 23 inches in girth, and weighing 33 lbs., was caught at the New Mills, Norwich.  “These fish, which are frequently taken in the same place, are mistaken by some for trouts or salmon trouts.”

15.—Miss Booth, of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre as Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”).  Her other impersonations included Little Pickle (“The Spoiled Child”), Helen Worret (“Man and Wife”), Priscilla Tomboy (“The Romp”), Angela (“The Castle Spectre”), Amanthus (“Child of Nature”), and Mary (“The Innkeeper’s Daughter”).

16.—Miss Fanny Brunton made her début at Lynn Theatre as Una (“The Wood Demon”).  Mr. Brunton spoke an introductory address.  At the close of the Lynn season, Mr. Brunton and his company proceeded to Birmingham, where he had engaged the Theatre on his own account.

18.—Died in London, Sir Thomas Berners Plestow, Kt., of Watlington Hall, aged 70.

20.—Elizabeth Wells, wife of Robert Wells, of Gressenhall, gave birth to four living children—three boys and a girl.

24.—The honorary freedom of the city was conferred upon Mr. R. H. Gurney, M.P., for Norwich.

—The portrait, by Clover, of Mr. B. Leman, Alderman of Norwich, was ordered to be placed in St. Andrew’s Hall.

—The Corporation of Norwich petitioned Parliament praying that the punishment of death for the crime of forgery be commuted for one less severe, and for a general revision of the penal laws.

27.—One John Larkin was apprehended at Norwich “on a strong suspicion of being the person who stole a bag containing £4,739 in notes belonging to the Fakenham bank, on August 13th, 1817, from the messenger’s gig, which was conveying it from Messrs. Gurney’s bank in Norwich.”  (There is no further reference to this case.)

Died, this month, aged 100, Thomas Goodings, carpenter, of Lammas.

MARCH.

7.—Died, in her 89th year, Mrs. Mary Murray, widow of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.  “Possessing a disposition congenial with that p. 169of her late excellent husband, her long life was distinguished by the practice of benevolence and of every Christian virtue.”

8.—A new tragedy, entitled “Bertha,” written by Mr. Edward Ball, of Norwich, was produced for the first time at Norwich Theatre.

—A public meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, at which a subscription was raised for the relief of the distressed inhabitants of the Scilly Islands.  It amounted to £315.

9.—The Hon. Edward Harbord, the unsuccessful candidate for Norwich at the previous General Election, arrived in the city and dined with the King and Constitution Club at the Maid’s Head Inn.  He was elected a member of the club.

—At a meeting of merchants, manufacturers, and tradesmen, held at the Guildhall, Norwich, it was resolved to petition Parliament to amend and alter the Acts for the Relief of Insolvent Debtors in England.

15.—Capt. Manby exhibited before the Mayor and Corporation of Yarmouth “a light fire cart, provided with the necessary apparatus ready on the alarm of fire, to be applied by one man.”

—Mrs. Faucett, formerly a permanent member of the Norwich Company, and afterwards of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre as Widow Cheerly (“The Soldier’s Daughter”).  During her engagement she also impersonated Clara (“Matrimony”), Florinda (“The Apostate”), Mrs. Haller (“The Stranger”), Lady Contest (“The Wedding Day”), and Ellen Rosenberg.

16.—The foundation stone of Prince’s Street Chapel, Norwich, was laid by the Rev. John Alexander.  A brass plate was placed in the stone with the following inscription:—“This plate was deposited on the 16th day of March, 1819, and in the 59th year of the reign of George III., in the foundation stone of the Protestant Dissenting Chapel, erected on a piece of freehold ground in the city of Norwich, and in the parishes of St. Michael-at-Plea and St. Peter Hungate, by the congregation attending the ministry of the Rev. John Alexander.”  The building was opened for service as the Independent Chapel on December 1st, 1819, when sermons were preached by the Rev. Thomas Raffles, A.M., Liverpool, and the Rev. John Leifchild, of Kensington.

20.*—“We understand that the cooping of freemen preparatory to election of nominees for the Long Ward, Norwich, on the 31st inst., commenced more than a fortnight ago.  This practice has hitherto been treated with much indifference, but as it is likely to be annually resorted to, every sincere friend of the purity of election and of the real interests of the poor men who are thereby taken from their families and from their ordinary occupations, must view it in a very serious light.”  The election of common councilmen commenced in the week beginning March 28th.  “The consequence of this year’s struggle has been to continue the ascendancy of the ‘Blue and White’ interest in the Common Council.  Both parties succeeded in creating a superabundance of noise and confusion and in putting themselves to a vast deal of trouble, vexation, and expense.  In length of purse the ‘Blues and Whites’ appear to possess a decided advantage over their ‘Purple and Orange’ opponents, and cooping, bribing, and corrupting were freely and openly practised.”

p. 17029.—Mr. Richard Mingay, a well-known member of the orchestra at Norwich Theatre, appeared upon the stage as Crack in the farce of “The Turnpike Gate.”

APRIL.

1.—A prize fight for a subscription purse of £50, given by the amateurs of Norwich, took place on Rumburgh Green, near Bungay, between Purcell and Warkley, of Norwich, a pupil of Oliver.  The former was seconded by Ned Painter and Fuller, and the latter by Oliver and Scroggins.  Forty-five rounds were fought in two hours three minutes, and the battle ended in favour of Purcell.

3.—A grand boxing entertainment took place at the White Swan, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, at which Oliver, Fuller, Turner, and Scroggins appeared.

5.—Died at St. George’s Colegate, Norwich, aged 67, Mr. John Aldis, who served the office of Sheriff in 1813.

10.—Died, aged 101, Charles Grimmer, of Norwich.

—Died, Mr. George Cobb, of Diss, aged 100.

—James Belcham was executed on Castle Hill, Norwich, for committing a burglary in an outhouse at Castleacre.  He was 34 years old, and “left an aged mother, a wife in her last stage of pregnancy, and two children.”  The execution was witnessed by many well-dressed women.  The culprit was buried in Castleacre churchyard, and on the Sunday following the execution “a funeral sermon was preached by the Rev. Mr. Gibbs to a congregation amounting to 1,000 persons.”

15.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, at which it was decided to petition Parliament against the duty of 6s. 6d. per chaldron on coals.

17.*—“We are informed that three cargoes of foreign barley have arrived this week at Yarmouth, which were purchased in London, and that the greater part is already brought to this city (Norwich), where it will be malted.  It is a novel circumstance to have barley in the London markets at such low prices as to induce the Norfolk maltsters to bring it into this great barley county to be manufactured into malt.”

—*“Several of those machines denominated Pedestrian Hobby Horses have been exhibited here this week.  The principle of this invention is taken from the art of skating, and consists in the simple idea of a seat upon two wheels propelled by the feet acting upon the ground.  The riding seat or saddle is fixed on a perch upon two double shod wheels, running after each other, so that they can go upon the footways.  To preserve a balance a small board covered and stuffed is placed before on which the arms are laid, and in front of which is a little guiding pole, which is held in the hand to direct the route.  The swiftness with which a person can travel is almost beyond belief—eight, nine, or even ten miles an hour may be done on good level ground.”

18.—In response to a circular letter issued by the Bishop of Norwich to the clergy of the diocese, sermons were preached at the Cathedral, and at most of the churches in the city and county in aid of the funds p. 171of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts.  The effort was made chiefly with the view of assisting the Bishop of Calcutta (the Right Rev. Dr. Middleton, formerly of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich), in his benevolent plans to establish Christianity in the East Indies.  The collections, subscriptions, and benefactions exceeded £1,800.

19.—A three “double day play of cocks” commenced at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridge, for 10 guineas a battle and 200 guineas the odd.  Norwich won by a single battle.  Feeders: Lamb for Norwich, Thompson for Cambridge.

24.—Master Sewell, the Lincolnshire gigantic youth, 13 years of age, and weighing 18 stone, and Miss Elenor Fitzjohn, Queen of the Dwarfs, 19 years old, 30 inches high, and weighing 27 lbs., were exhibited at the Two-Necked Swan, Market Place, Norwich.

—Died at St. Stephen’s, Norwich, aged 60, Mr. James Wade, butcher.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1810.

26.—James Bigmore, aged 20, left Sudbury at 12.30 noon with the Phenomenon coach by the side of which he ran the whole way thence to Norwich, where he arrived at five minutes to seven o’clock.  “To keep up with the coach he was obliged to run eleven miles in the first hour.  On arriving at places where the coach stopped he did not take refreshment or repose, but assisted in putting the horses to at every change.  He was not at all distressed on reaching Norwich.”

MAY.

1.—At a meeting held at the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, it was determined to call a general meeting of the farmers to consider the propriety of establishing an agricultural association to co-operate with the London General Association for the Protection of the Rights and Interests of Agriculture.  At the meeting which took place on the 15th the Norfolk Association of Agriculturists was duly formed, and on the 29th Mr. Utting, of Ashwellthorpe, was appointed president.

3.—George Bidder, only 12½ years of age, demonstrated in the Old Library Room, St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, his extraordinary powers of mental calculation.  He made a return visit in August.

6.—The Grand Jury at the City Sessions made a presentment to the effect that the Norwich gaol was not capable of being converted into an efficient prison for the purpose of the classification of prisoners.

13.—Died, aged 100, Mrs. Hannah Scott, of Holt.

21.—A meeting was held at the Assembly Room, East Dereham, to take into consideration the best means of obtaining navigation between that town and Norwich.  A subscription was opened.

22.—Thomas Jennings, pedestrian, ran 18 miles on the turnpike road between Downham Market and Denver in two hours three minutes.

24.—The 24th Regiment of Light Dragoons, commanded by General Loftus, and chiefly composed of Norfolk men enlisted in Norwich, was disbanded at Chatham.  The regiment left England in 1796, and was actively employed in India, under Lord Lake, during the Marhatta campaigns, for which service, among other distinctions, it received an p. 172honorary standard.  In general orders issued on the departure of the regiment from India on October 8th, 1818, its services were very highly spoken of.

26.—A silver candelabrum, valued 200 guineas, was presented to Mr. John Patteson, at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, by members of the Norwich Fire and Life Societies, in recognition of the services rendered by him to the institutions.  Mr. Patteson’s collection of pictures by English, Italian, and Flemish artists was this month sold by auction by Mr. Christie, and realised the sum of £2,349.

28.—Pitt’s birthday was celebrated by a dinner at the Assembly Rooms, Norwich.  Mr. J. Patteson presided.

JUNE.

1.—Died suddenly at Yarmouth, Mr. Thomas Sutton, aged 66.  He was surveyor to the Corporation of that borough, and was also surveyor of the works in connection with the erection of the Nelson monument.  Mr. Sutton was on the summit of the pillar when he complained of dizziness, and instantly expired.

—Mr. John Watson, of Chapel Field, Norwich, proprietor of the Royal Ipswich Mail coach, issued the following notice:—“As I have been unexpectedly turned out of my coach office in the Angel yard, and have been the proprietor of the Ipswich mail 35 years, I trust you will continue to give that long established City Coach your accustomed protection, and I hope my residence amongst you for seventy-four years will plead so much in my favour, that you will be induced to desire your parcels for the city to be sent to the Maid’s Head, St. Simon’s, or to Mr. J. M. Murry’s, No. 9½, Davey Place.”

4.—The birthday of George III. was celebrated for the last time in Norwich, Yarmouth, Lynn, East Dereham, and other towns in the county.

5.—“Flying Actæons” were exhibited at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich, by Messrs. Brously and Stratford.  “The machine consists of a chair fixed on to a four-wheeled carriage, in which the rider sits and guides the fore wheels, turning corners in a similar manner to the velocipedes.  One hand only, however, is necessary, the other being at liberty to hold an umbrella.  The hind wheels, which force the machine along, are put in motion with the feet of the rider by means of two foot-boards moved up and down alternately.  With the assistance of the hand bars in going up steep hills this carriage will travel at the rate of eight miles an hour, and may easily be made for two persons to sit abreast.  It is equally convenient for both males and females.”

9.—Mr. Kean commenced a short engagement at Norwich Theatre, during which he appeared as Brutus, Sir Giles Overreach, Rolla, and Hamlet.

13.—Died at Cheltenham, aged 63, Thomas Holl, formerly of Norwich, and many years proprietor of the “Worcester Herald.”

17.—A grave was opened under peculiar circumstances in St. Julian’s churchyard, Norwich.  A woman had died of small-pox, and was buried within 48 hours of her death.  It was suspected that she had been p. 173buried alive, and the rumour was circulated that groans had been heard proceeding from the grave.  On the body being exhumed a medical man pronounced life to be extinct.

18.—Died at his house on Castle Meadow, Norwich, aged 53, Mr. William Stevenson, veterinary surgeon.  “He was an excellent operator, and stood alone and unrivalled in comparative anatomy and pathology.”

—A piece of plate, valued at 100 guineas, was presented at the Half Moon Tavern, Yarmouth, to Mr. N. B. Palmer, in recognition of his services in securing the return to Parliament of the Hon. George Anson and Mr. Rumbold.

19.—The Norwich and London caravans were advertised to perform the journey in 24 hours.  They set out from the Angel Inn at six a.m. on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and from the Swan-with-Two-Necks, Lad Lane, London, on Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday evening.  Goods were conveyed from London to Norwich at 7s. per cwt., and from Norwich to London at 9s. per cwt.

22.—Mr. Nathaniel Bolingbroke was sworn into office as Mayor of Norwich.  There was no guild feast, but 80 of the Mayor’s friends dined at the Assembly Rooms in honour of the day.

JULY.

4.—A severe thunderstorm occurred, accompanied by a tremendous hailstorm and a heavy rain.  Hundreds of acres of turnips were washed away in various parts of the county.  Upwards of £600 worth of damage was done to the wheat and barley crops of Mr. William Ungless, of Whitwell, near Reepham.

5.—Holkham Sheep Shearing commenced.  In a speech at the dinner Sir John Sinclair confessed that he came to Holkham prejudiced in favour of the broad-cast system of agriculture, but after what he had seen and heard during his visit he was now convinced that the drill system was superior.

8.—Many deaths having occurred from small-pox in Norwich the Mayor, in accordance with a requisition, called a public meeting at the Guildhall, and resolutions were passed in favour of general vaccination.  From January 6th to the September ensuing 519 deaths were recorded.  “There has not been a single death from small-pox in those parishes where vaccination has most prevailed.”

9.—Work was completed at the Nelson Monument, Yarmouth, and the scaffolding on the top removed.

12.—The Duke of Gloucester and Princess Mary, with other distinguished personages, paid a visit to Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., at Holkham.

14.—Died at his house in Union Place, Norwich, aged 39, Mr. William Saint, “whose extraordinary mathematical talents advanced him to the honourable situation of professor of that science in the Royal Institution at Woolwich.”  In the latter part of his life he was employed in teaching mathematics in Norwich.  His widow was appointed matron of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

p. 17420.—A cricket match for £500 was played at Newmarket, between the Holt and Cambridge clubs.  Holt, 93-56; Cambridge, 65-34.

27.—A meeting, presided over by the Mayor, was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, for the purpose of “taking into consideration the state of mendicity in the city.”  The meeting was adjourned until October 22nd, when, on the motion of the Hon. Edward Harbord, it was unanimously resolved to establish a Society for the Suppression of Mendicity in Norwich.  At the first annual meeting, held on October 9th, 1820, it was reported that 437 vagrants had been dealt with by the society, and had been relieved with food and lodgings at small expense, and others had been handled over to the magistrates as notorious impostors.

28.—The first anniversary of the King and Constitution Club was celebrated by a dinner at the Maid’s Head Inn, Norwich.  Mr. Thomas Starling Day was president, and Mr. Skipper, vice-president.

AUGUST.

1.—Mr. Thomas Amyot, formerly private secretary to the Right Hon. William Windham, deceased, and a resident in Norwich, was appointed Registrar under the Act for establishing a Registry of Colonial Slaves in Great Britain.

3.—Two troops of the 9th Lancers, commanded by Capt. Daly, arrived in Norwich to replace the 15th Light Dragoons ordered to Manchester.

4.—A prize fight took place in Kirby Park between Cox, the Norwich blacksmith, and Christopher Barlee, the Berghapton Groom.  Seventy-two rounds were fought, and Cox won.  Upwards of 5,000 persona were present.

10.—At the reception of his Majesty’s Judges of Assize at Norwich the coach of the High Sheriff of Norfolk (Sir W. W. Dalling) was drawn by a team of six piebald horses, “preceded by a full retinue”; and the City Sheriffs rode in a coach drawn by four greys, and attended by their servants.

—Married, at Quidenham Church, by the Lord Bishop of the Diocese, Mr. James Macdonald, M.P., only son of Sir Archibald Macdonald, Lord Chief Baron of the Exchequer, to the Right Hon. Lady Sophia Keppel, eldest daughter of the Earl of Albemarle.  A grand entertainment was given to the gentry, yeomanry, and poor of the neighbourhood in tents erected in the park; sports were held, and among the banners displayed were those taken at the Havanna by the late earl.

11.—At the Norfolk Assizes, which commenced at Norwich on this date, John Pycraft, of Westwick, was charged before Mr. Justice Burrough, with administering arsenic to his infant child, in consequence of which it died.  The prisoner, who made no defence, was, after a trial of six hours, found guilty and sentenced to death, “his body to be delivered to the surgeons to be anatomised.”  The execution took place on the Castle Hill on the 16th.  “The culprit had a diminutive form and decrepid figure; when the platform fell his chest expanded at intervals during the space of seven or eight minutes, p. 175although every precaution was taken to shorten his sufferings by the addition of some heavy appendages.  After dissection had been performed the body was exposed to public view at the Shirehouse for one hour.”

12.—Married at Holkham, by the Rev. Charles Anson, Archdeacon of Carlisle, the Earl of Rosebery to the Hon. Anne Margaret Anson, eldest daughter of Viscount Anson, deceased.

14.—Messrs. R. Goose, Goldings, and Co., advertised that the “Real Telegraph” coach which ran from the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, at seven in the morning and arrived in London at eight in the evening, had “no concern whatever with the coach starting from the Angel, and called ‘The Telegraph.’”  The fares were:—Inside, £1 4s.; outside, 14s.

—The Norwich Society of Artists announced its 15th annual exhibition of pictures at its room in Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.  This year there was no rival exhibition.

23.—The Duke of Sussex, as Grand Master of England, installed Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., as Provincial Grand Master at a Masonic gathering which took place in Norwich.

—The proprietors of the Expedition coach commenced running the Defence day coach, from the White Swan Yard, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, to the Angel Inn at the back of St. Clement’s Church, Strand.  The up journey was performed on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and the down on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.  Fares.—inside, 21s.; outside, 12s.  The Expedition night coach ran as usual.

28.—Edward Fisher, convicted at the previous Norfolk Assizes of stabbing William Harrison, was executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich.  “After receiving the sacrament he long held the cup and bread with the wildest expression of agony in his eyes and features.  He left a wife and seven children to lament the unhappy end of a husband and father.  He was of a reserved, sullen, and gloomy temper, in his religious profession a Methodist, and to a certain degree of unsound mind.”

SEPTEMBER.

2.—A cricket match between Holt and Bungay was played on Bungay Common.  “The Bungay players, although allowed Fennex, had smuggled into their side two more professed Marylebone players.”  Much wrangling took place on the 3rd, when Bungay refused to go on with the game, and the match was claimed by Holt.  The return match was played at Holt on the 13th; Bungay had Fennex, Sparks, and Razell on their side.  Scores: Holt, 120-73; Bungay, 73-104.  “Mr. Pilch, of the Holt club, made 57.”  The following notice was appended to the report of the match:—“The Holt club take this opportunity of publicly declaring their determination to decline any further contest or connection whatever with the Bungay club.”

11.—Mr. Young, who had previously appeared at Yarmouth, commenced an engagement at Norwich Theatre.  His characters included Hamlet, Macbeth, Penruddock (“The Wheel of Fortune”), King Lear, and Zanga (“The Revenge”).

p. 17613.—The corner-stone of the new pump-room and baths at the Thetford chalybeate spring was laid with appropriate ceremony by the Duke of Grafton.  His Grace and the Duchess drank of the water of the spring, dinner was served at the Guildhall, and a ball took place in the evening.

15.—A prize fight took place on Tasburgh Common, between Barlee, the Berghapton Groom, and Belasco.  Between 8,000 and 10,000 persons were present.  Hundreds of women attended, “some of very dashing and many more of respectable appearance to be spectatresses of bloody noses and cross buttocks.”  Forty-one rounds were fought, and the contest ended in favour of Belasco.

16.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, “in order to take into consideration the late disastrous transactions at Manchester on August 16th.  The Mayor presided, and resolutions were passed asserting the right of the subject to petition the King.  The legality of the Manchester meeting was affirmed, the conduct of the magistrates and Yeomanry Cavalry censured, and a subscription was opened for the relief of the sufferers.  An address was also proposed for presentation to the Prince Regent, in which his Royal Highness was asked to remove certain ministers from his presence and councils.  The address was afterwards presented to the Prince at Carleton House by the members for the city.  A counter declaration was also circulated in Norwich, and received 1,608 signatures.  In due course it was presented to the Prince Regent.

20.—A meeting, presided over by the Mayor, was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, to take into consideration the best means to be adopted to carry into effect a plan for making a new street, and for erecting a bridge over the river Wensum at Duke’s Palace.  The meeting was adjourned till October 18th, when a resolution in favour of the plan was rejected by a considerable majority.  A meeting of the supporters of the undertaking was held on November 29th, under the presidency of Mr. George Morse, when it was reported that £7,000 of the £9,000 proposed to be raised by shares of £25 each had been subscribed.  A Bill was afterwards introduced into Parliament, and was read a second time on December 17th.  On February 26th it was announced that the Bill had not been passed in Committee of the House of Commons owing to the interference of the petitioners, and that the promoters would have to commence fresh proceedings in the new Parliament.  On July 8th, 1820, it was stated that the Bill had passed both Houses.  The foundation-stone of the bridge was laid on August 28th, 1821, by Mr. Alderman T. S. Day.

24.—The Mayor and Corporation of Yarmouth voted a loyal address to the Prince Regent, expressive of their “detestation of the wicked and atrocious attempts of seditious and disaffected subjects in various parts of the kingdom, now openly and avowedly meditating the subversion of the laws and Government, the annihilation at once of all distinctions of rank, and the sacred rights of property.”

OCTOBER.

1.—A squadron of the 14th Light Dragoons, under the command of Capt. Anderson, arrived at Norwich to replace the 9th Lancers.  Detachments were sent to Yarmouth and Holt.

p. 1775.—Died, aged 32, Mr. John Charles Beckwith, organist of the Cathedral and of St. Peter Mancroft church, Norwich.  His remains were interred on the 11th in a grave beside that of his late father beneath the organ loft of St. Peter’s church.  Mr. Z. A. Buck was, on the 9th, appointed Cathedral organist and master of the choristers, and on the 13th Mr. Alfred Pettet was elected organist by the parishioners of St. Peter Mancroft.

16.—The East Dereham and London Telegraph coach was advertised by John Leverett and Co.  It started from the Cherry Tree Inn every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday at 6.30 a.m., and travelled by Shipdham and Watton to the King’s Head, Thetford, to meet the Norwich Telegraph.  The Dereham Telegraph then proceeded to the Woolpack Inn and the Angel Inn at Bury St. Edmund’s, whence it returned to Thetford on the following day and met the Norwich Telegraph on its return from London, and arrived at Dereham the same evening at nine o’clock.  On Saturday the Dereham Telegraph ran to Norwich and back.

25.—The Duke of Wellington passed through Norwich on his way to Blickling Hall.  On changing horses at the Angel Inn he was warmly cheered by the crowd.

29.—Pursuant to requisition a county meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, on adjournment from the Shirehouse in consequence of the excessive crowd, to “take into consideration the transactions which unfortunately took place at Manchester on August 16th.”  The High Sheriff (Sir William Windham Dalling) presided, and resolutions were passed asserting the right of Englishmen to meet for the purpose of petitioning, and demanding a Parliamentary inquiry into the transactions.  It was also decided to present an address to the Prince Regent.  A declaration, previously published, was signed by the Lord Lieutenant and upwards of 1,000 other noblemen, gentlemen, clergy, and freeholders, expressing their reasons for dissenting from the meeting as tending to prejudice the public mind against the magistrates and military.

NOVEMBER.

1.—A peal of five bells, cast at the Whitechapel foundry, and hung by Hurry, of Norwich, was opened at Wroxham church.  Five hats were offered as a prize to the company who rang the best of three peals.  The South Walsham ringers won.

—Sir Edward James Smith, of Norwich, President of the Linnæan Society, was elected Honorary Professor of Botany at the Royal Institution, London.

6.—The Norwich and Yarmouth Telegraph post coach was announced to run daily from the Angel Inn, Norwich, to the King’s Head Inn, Yarmouth, in two and a half hours.  Fares: Inside, 5s.; outside, 3s.

13.*—“Capt. Borrow has retired from the adjutancy of the First or West Norfolk Regiment of Militia after 42 years’ service.”

24.—A meeting of the inhabitants interested in the woollen manufactures of Norwich was held at the Guildhall, for the purpose of taking into consideration the propriety of applying to Parliament for a repeal of the duty imposed upon the importation of foreign wool.

p. 178DECEMBER.

7.—Died at St. Giles’, Norwich, at a very advanced age, Mrs. Mary Fisher, mother of Mr. David Fisher, comedian.

1820.

JANUARY.

1.*—(Advt.)  “Ned Painter begs to inform his friends and the public that he has taken the Sun and Anchor Tavern, Lobster Lane, Norwich, where he will have for their accommodation the best ales, London porter, spirits, wine, &c., and he hopes by strict attention to merit patronage and support.  N. P. begs to inform the Amateurs of Norwich and Norfolk that he intends to give private lessons in sparring in the most scientific style and at reasonable terms at all hours of the day.”

13.—Died at Catton, aged 68, Mr. Robert Harvey, an Alderman of Norwich, and a magistrate for the county.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1784, and of Mayor in 1787.

15.—Very severe weather set in.  The thermometer fell to seven degrees.  A rapid thaw took place on the 18th, and a flood ensued.

17.—Lord and Lady Castlereagh, accompanied by the Marquis of Ancram, arrived in Norwich on their way to visit Lord Suffield at Gunton.  Whilst the horses were being changed at the Angel, a mob hooted and hissed the visitors, and one of the ringleaders was seized by Mr. Crisp Brown.

18.—Died in London, aged 92, Mrs. Linley, widow of Mr. Linley, formerly proprietor of Drury Lane Theatre, who was father of the first Mrs. Sheridan, and of the Rev. O. T. Linley, of Norwich.

20.—The Duke of Wellington passed through Norwich on his way to Gunton.  His grace returned to the city on the 27th on his journey back to town.

21.—Died, John Nash, of Hempnall.  He was clerk of the parish 56 years, keeper of the Swan Inn 35 years, and at the age of 40 weighed 24 stone.

23.—Died at Ludham, aged 79, Thomas Smith, shoemaker.  “By his particular request he was carried to the grave by six men of his own trade, each with his leather apron tied round him, and stirrups with hand leathers attached slung across their shoulders.”

24.—Fox’s birthday was commemorated by a dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, at which 460 noblemen and gentlemen were present.  The company included H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, the Duke of Norfolk, the Earl of Albemarle (who presided), Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., &c.

25.—Intelligence was received in Norwich of the death of H.R.H. the Duke of Kent.

p. 17927.—The Castle Corporation at Norwich celebrated their 55th anniversary.

29.—Mr. Harley, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced an engagement at Norwich Theatre.  The performances were interrupted by the intelligence of the death of George III., and were resumed on February 17th.  His characters included Marplot (“The Busybody”), Tristran Fickle (“The Weathercock”), Popolino (“The Sleeping Draught”), Risk (“Love Laughs at Locksmiths”), Caleb Quotem (“The Wags of Windsor”), Peter Fidget (“The Boarding House”), Phantom (“Frightened to Death”), and Somno (“The Sleep Walker”).

30.—A messenger from London brought to Lord and Lady Castlereagh, who were staying at Gunton Hall, intelligence of the death of George III., which was announced in Norwich on the morning of the 31st.  Most of the shops were immediately closed, and the bells of the parish churches were tolled for three hours.

FEBRUARY.

2.—The accession of George IV. was proclaimed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, by Sir William Windham Dalling, Bart., High Sheriff of the county of Norfolk, who was accompanied by Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, M.P., and other gentlemen, who gave three cheers for his Majesty.  In accordance with a writ addressed to the Mayor and Sheriffs of Norwich on the 1st inst., the proclamation was made in the city with due formality on the 2nd.  The Corporation assembled at the Guildhall, and the 14th Light Dragoons paraded in the Market Place.  From the leads of the Guildhall, after a flourish of trumpets, the Town Clerk (Mr. Elisha de Hague) read the proclamation amid loud cheers.  A procession was afterwards formed and passed through the city, the proclamation being read at various points.  “At the upper gate of the Close the Under Chamberlain advanced and demanded the gates to be opened in pursuance of the King’s writ.  Mr. J. Kitson, the Chapter clerk, then answered from within, ‘In obedience to his Majesty’s commands the gates shall be opened.’”  After the proclamation had been made in the Close the procession returned to the Guildhall, where refreshments were served.  The proclamation was made in similar form at Yarmouth, Lynn, and Thetford.

16.—This being the day of the funeral of the late King, all the shops in Norwich were closed, and almost every person appeared in deep mourning.  The Mayor, members, and officials of the Corporation, wearing black scarfs over their robes, went in solemn procession to the Cathedral, where a sermon was preached by the Rev. Prebendary Thurlow.  At the different churches and chapels throughout the city proper Psalms and lessons were read, and in the evening muffled peals were rung.

21.—Died in the Council Chamber at the Guildhall, Norwich, Mr. Thomas Back, aged 52.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1802, was elected alderman of the Great Ward of Mancroft in 1808, and Mayor in 1809; and shortly before his death was appointed a deputy lieutenant for the county of Norfolk.

24.—Mr. Young appeared at Norwich Theatre as Othello.  On subsequent evenings he sustained the characters of Brutus, The p. 180Stranger, Sir Edward Mortimer (“The Iron Chest”), King John, Petruchio, and Coriolanus.

MARCH.

1.—A severe storm and high flood occurred in the Lynn district.  A large number of vessels were stranded on the Norfolk coast.

2.—Died at Norwich, aged 85, Mr. Starling Day, who served the office of Sheriff in 1775, was elected alderman in 1777, and Mayor in 1782-1812.

6.—Miss Brunton appeared at Norwich Theatre as Rosalind.  She also played the parts of Lady Contest (“The Wedding Day”), and Lady Teazle (to the Charles Surface of Mr. Brunton).  In a piece, entitled “An Actress of all Work,” she sustained seven different characters.

7.—Parliament having been dissolved by proclamation on February 28th, consequent upon the death of the late King, the Norwich election was fixed for this date.  The sitting representatives, Mr. William Smith and Mr. R. H. Gurney, were returned without opposition.  The circumstance of a Norwich election passing off without a contest had not occurred since 1774, when Sir Harbord Harbord, Bart., and Mr. Edward Bacon were elected.

10.—Yarmouth election, which began on the 7th, concluded on this date.  The result was declared as follows:—The Hon. George Anson, 753; Mr. E. E. Rumbold, 750; Lieut.-General Michel, 612; Mr. Josias H. Stracey, 612.  The two first-named were elected.

13.—Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse were re-elected without opposition to represent Norfolk.  Among the other local elections which took place were the following:—Thetford, Lord C. Fitzroy and Mr. N. W. R. Colbourne, returned unopposed; Castle Rising, the Earl of Rocksavage and Col. F. G. Howard, unopposed.

15.—Died in St. Andrew’s, Norwich, aged 64, Mr. John Lovick, common councilman for the Great Ward of Wymer.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1817.

16.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich an address of condolence on the death of his late Majesty and of the Duke of Kent was unanimously passed, and afterwards presented to the King by the members for the city.

20.—At the Lent Assizes held at Thetford, the Grand Jury made a presentment to the effect that Norwich Castle was inefficient, as then constructed, for the purposes of a county prison.

24.—Died at Catton, aged 66, Mr. Jeremiah Ives, an acting magistrate for the county, and alderman for the Great Wymer Ward.  He was Sheriff in 1782, and Mayor in 1786-1801.

25.*—“Cleansing week, at Norwich, has resulted in the restoration of the ascendancy of the ‘Purple and Orange’ party in the Corporation of the city.”

APRIL.

3.—A prize fight took place in a field at West Burlingham between p. 181Rushmore, a blacksmith, of Limpenhoe, and Layden, the Cantley carpenter.  The match was for £100, subscribed by the fathers of the combatants.  Rushmore was attended by Ned Painter, and Layden by Potter, of Yarmouth.  “There were 44 rounds of hard milling without science or skill, and Rushmore won.”

—Mr. Kean appeared at Lynn Theatre for a short season as King Richard III., Othello, Shylock, &c.

6.—A prize fight took place at St. Faith’s between Cox, the blacksmith, of Norwich, and Teasdale, “the noted prize fighter from London, who had been brought to Norwich and passed off as a countryman under the feigned name of Johnson.”  More than 5,000 persons were present.  Ned Painter and Purcell attended on Teasdale, and Warkley and Hurry on Cox.  The battle lasted one hour thirteen minutes, and 65 desperate rounds were fought.  “Cox faced his man and fought with great resolution, and drove his adversary over the ropes eleven times.  In the end, however, superior science prevailed, and in the 65th round Cox received several violent blows on the left eye, which had been cut on one of the stakes in a fall in the second round, and victory was declared in favour of Teasdale.  After the battle the imposition was discovered, and a hand bill circulated, declaring all bets void.  The friends of Teasdale denied any deception, and said his name was really Johnson.”—Another battle took place for a subscription purse of £5 on the same ground, between Dan, a stonemason, of Norwich, and Sparks, a blacksmith, of Norton.  Dan won after 25 rounds had been fought.

13.—Mr. Edward Ball’s new melodrama, “Giraldi” (founded on Mrs. Opie’s popular tale, “The Russian Boy”), was performed for the first time at Norwich Theatre, and received with great applause.

15.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, the High Sheriff (Mr. G. S. Kett) presiding, at which an address of condolence on the death of the late King was adopted, and afterwards presented to his Majesty by the High Sheriff.

24.—This day was appointed for the celebration of his Majesty’s birthday.  At Norwich the Union flag was hoisted on the steeple of St. Peter Mancroft, and the bells were rung.  The 14th Light Dragoons fired a feu de joie in the barrack square, and the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers a salute on the Castle Meadow.  The several troops of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry paraded in review order.

28.—A grand fête was given in Heydon Park in celebration of the majority of Mr. William Earle Lytton Bulwer.  The inhabitants of Heydon and of the neighbouring villages went in procession to the park, where dinner was served at 155 tables.  A performance was given by a troupe of equestrians, and “28 barrels of strong ale were placed in different positions in the park.”

MAY.

1.—A contested election for the office of Mayor of Norwich commenced this day and ended on the 2nd, when the result was declared as follows:—Alderman Burt, 1,173; Alderman Marsh, 1,077; Alderman Thurtell, 1,018.  Mr. Burt was afterwards chosen Mayor by the aldermen.

p. 1822.—Died, in his 89th year, Mr. William Calthorpe, the oldest inhabitant of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  “He generally commenced his morning walk about four o’clock during the summer season, and gradually later as the days became shorter.  He almost constantly attended daily prayers at St. Peter’s Church.”

3.—At a quarterly assembly of the Norwich Corporation, Mr. A. A. H. Beckwith was elected Speaker of the Common Council.

5.—Four prisoners made their escape from the city gaol at Norwich.  Each prisoner was wearing his leg irons, and their escape was observed.  One was apprehended immediately, another was captured at Wymondham, a third at St. Augustine’s gates, and the fourth surrendered.

10.—Died at Cheltenham, aged 57, Major-General Sir Haylett Framingham, K.C.B., colonel of the Royal Horse Artillery and commanding officer of Royal Artillery in Ireland.  He was the eldest son of Mr. C. Framingham, of Swaffham, and served under Wellington in the Peninsula.

14.—The Bishop of Norwich commenced his Ordinary Visitation at Thetford, where he confirmed 1,500 persons.  The numbers confirmed in other centres in the diocese were:—At Newmarket, 2,900; Sudbury, 2,400; Bury St. Edmund’s, 4,320; Stowmarket, 2,200; Ipswich, 2,300; Woodbridge, 1,400; Framlingham, 1,900; Halesworth, 1,300; Lowestoft, 600; Beccles, 700; North Walsham, 1,370; Holt, 1,200; Fakenham, 2,000; Lynn, 2,000; Downham, 1,300; Swaffham, 1,600; and Dereham, 1,230.  The Visitation concluded on July 1st, and was said to have “redounded highly to the honour of the clergy of this extensive diocese, as the number of persons confirmed greatly exceeded all former visitations.”

—Died at King Street, Norwich, in her 104th year, Mrs. Laney, widow of the Rev. Benjamin Laney, formerly rector of Mulbarton.

20.*—“The depredations on the river Yare during the last five years have amounted to £25,000.”

24.—At a meeting of the clergy of the county of Norfolk and of the diocese of Norwich, held at the Swan Inn, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, under the presidency of Archdeacon Bathurst, it was decided to petition Parliament against the claims of “the Roman Catholic persuasion.”

29.—Pitt’s birthday was celebrated by a public dinner at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, at which 350 noblemen and gentlemen were present.  Lord Bayning presided.

JUNE.

1.—A detachment of the 10th Light Dragoons, commanded by Major Stapleton, arrived at Norwich to relieve the 14th Light Dragoons, who on the same day left on their route to Canterbury.

4.—Died at his house in the Close, Norwich, Mr. Thomas Tawell, aged 57, “who, having been deprived of his sight for some years, founded the Hospital and School for the Indigent Blind in Norwich, in 1806.”

p. 18313.—Died, aged 84, at her house in Surrey Street, Norwich, Mrs. Holland, “formerly and for many years a respectable actress in the Norwich company.”

14.—Died at the Great Hospital, Bishopgate Street, Norwich, aged 70, John Dale, “who for many years travelled the circuit with the Norwich company as dresser to the actresses, and whose skill and ingenuity in that capacity stood unrivalled, for the taste and excellence which he manifested in his profession.  By his industry he was enabled to support his father and mother in their extreme old age.”

19.—Mr. Booth appeared on the Norwich stage as Richard III.  His other characters were King Lear, Octavian, Sir Giles Overreach, and Jerry Sneak (“The Mayor of Garrat”).

20.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Corporation attended service at the Cathedral, and Mr. William Burt was sworn in as Mayor at the Guildhall.  He afterwards entertained 600 guests at the guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall, and in the evening gave a ball at Chapel Field House.

22.—A fire engine, constructed by Mr. Jordan for the Norwich Union Fire Office, “was tried on the society’s house in Surrey Street.  It discharged three barrels of water a minute, and its price is £78—cheaper by £50 than the more cumbrous engines.”

26.—The First or West Norfolk Militia, commanded by the Earl of Orford, assembled on the Castle Hill, Norwich, for 28 days’ training.  “The next morning the men paraded in their new scarlet coats and blue pantaloons.”  The regiment was paid off on July 23rd, when “the Earl of Orford made each of the non-commissioned officers a handsome present for their exertions.”

28.—A dinner was given at the Feathers Hotel, Holt, in honour of Mr. W. E. L. Bulwer, on his accession to the Heydon estate.  Mr. R. Brereton presided over 320 guests.

30.—A meeting of the owners and occupiers of lands and tenements in the hamlets of the city was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. J. Harvey, when resolutions were moved against the new and increased assessment of the hamlets to the poor rates, according to the valuation of property made by order of the Court of Guardians, and a subscription was started for defraying the expenses of appealing against the mulct and of any other legal proceedings.

JULY.

3.—Holkham Sheep Shearing, which commenced on this date, was attended by a very large company.  “Perhaps we cannot give our readers a better idea of the utility of the system of agriculture practised at Holkham, than to inform them that it and the adjoining country for many miles around were fifty years ago a barren waste where scarcely a rabbit could find subsistence, and that it is now the garden of England, covered with most luxuriant crops of every description.”  H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, and the Russian Princes Potemkin and Trabetzkoy, were present this year.  Mr. Morton, of Leith, showed a small cast-iron plough, performing five different operations; a revolving harrow, and a weed extirpator.

p. 1843.—A prize fight took place on Tharston Common between Dan, the stonemason, and Gales, the butcher.  The stakes amounted to £20, and 120 rounds were fought in one hour twenty-one minutes.  Gales was the winner.

8.*—“We congratulate the county on the election of a Norfolk man, Dr. Hyde Wollaston, to the president’s chair of the Royal Society.  It is a curious circumstance that the presidents of three very distinguished and scientific bodies, and two of the principal officers of two others are natives of this county, namely, Dr. Wollaston, president of the Royal Society; Sir James Edward Smith, president of the Linnæan Society; Dr. Astley Cooper, president of the Medical Chirurgical Society; Mr. Richard Taylor, secretary of the Linnæan Society; and Mr. John Taylor, treasurer of the Geological Society.”

17.—The great prize fight between Painter and Oliver, commemorated by Borrow in “Lavengro,” took place near North Walsham.  The stakes were £100 a side, and the amateurs of Norwich gave £20 towards the training expenses of Oliver, on condition that he fought within reasonable distance of Norwich.  The battle was contested upon a platform.  A staging about 100 yards in length was erected for the accommodation of spectators, for whom, also, sixty waggons were formed in a circle round the outer ring; £50 was collected at the gate, and the sums charged for admission to the seats on the staging produced £80.  The greatest order prevailed among the 20,000 persons present, the ring being kept by Shelton, Randall, Turner, Scroggins, Eales, Josh Hudson, Harmer, Purcell, and other noted pugilists.  Oliver was seconded by Cribb and Belcher, and Painter by Spring (his former opponent) and Paul.  The odds were five and a half to four on Painter.  Twelve rounds were fought, and Painter won.  His colours (yellow) were hoisted upon a waggon, and he was everywhere greeted with loud cheering.  Many of the London contingent lost heavily over the fight.—A second battle took place between Sampson, the Birmingham youth, and Martin, the baker (the Master of the Rolls).  The former was seconded by Turner and Paul, and the latter by Cribb and Spring.  The odds were six to four on Martin, who won after 29 rounds, fought in 38 minutes.  It was during this fight that the thunderstorm, so vividly described by Borrow, occurred.  At a dinner given at North Walsham the same evening Painter announced that this was his last appearance in the prize ring.  Other “festivities” took place the same week.  On the 19th there was a “turn up” between Josh Hudson and Belasco on Gurney’s bowling-green, Norwich, the former of whom was seconded by Spring and a Norwich amateur, and his opponent by Martin.  Thirty-three rounds were fought, in the course of which Hudson dislocated his shoulder and lost.  The sum of £10 was collected round the ring.  On Saturday, 22nd, a benefit was given for Painter in the large room at the Swan Inn, at which most of the above-named pugilists appeared.  “The amateurs could not separate without giving a chance to West Country Dick, who was matched against George Redgrave.”  The fight was decided in the room.  Dick won after a contest of eleven rounds occupying sixteen minutes.

—The great main of cocks annually fought between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridgeshire this year fell through.  A match was accordingly arranged with the gentlemen of London.  It commenced on this date at the Swan Inn, Norwich, for p. 185£10 a battle and £100 the odd, and ended on the 19th, when the local sportsmen won by four battles.  Feeders: Nash, sen., for London, Lamb for Norwich.

19.—Married at St. Luke’s Chapel, Norwich Cathedral, by the Lord Bishop, the Rev. Heaton C. de Crespigny, second son of Sir W. de Crespigny, Bart., M.P., to Miss Caroline Bathurst, third daughter of his lordship.

AUGUST.

1.—Died in St. John Maddermarket, Norwich, the Rev. Edward Beaumont, “who for 62 years had exercised the functions of a Catholic priest in this city.”  He took up his residence in Norwich on August 1st, 1758.  His remains were interred on August 8th in St. Giles’ church after the funeral service had been performed in his own chapel according to the rites of the Roman Catholic Church.

2.—A meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, for the purpose of passing resolutions expressive of sympathy with her Majesty Queen Caroline.  The Mayor (Mr. W. Burt) declined to preside and left the Hall, and Mr. Alderman Leman then took the chair.  The resolutions were adopted.  The only person who expressed disapproval was Mr. Kerrison Harvey, who narrowly escaped rough handling.  An address of congratulation was also adopted, and was presented to the Queen by Mr. N. Bolingbroke and Mr. Edward Taylor.

11.—Died in St. Margaret’s, Norwich, aged 46, Capt. Robert Tinkler, R.N.  “He signalised himself by his intrepid bravery in several engagements, in which he had received twenty-one wounds.  Capt. Tinkler was cabin boy on board his Majesty’s ship Bounty (Capt. Blyth) at the time the crew of that ship mutinied in the South Seas in 1789, and was one of the twelve persons who with the captain were turned adrift in a boat by the mutineers.  Capt. Blyth and his companions, after a voyage of 1,200 leagues, during which the only sustenance they had was one ounce of bread and a quarter of a pint of water each per day, had the good fortune to arrive at the Dutch settlement of Cupan, in the island of Timor.”

14.—Jennings, the pedestrian, undertook to walk 100 miles in twenty-two hours at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich.  He covered 90 miles in twenty hours eight minutes, “and would have finished with ease, but a misunderstanding having taken place between the timekeepers he thought proper to give up.”

19.—A detachment of the 9th Lancers marched into Norwich from Nottingham, under the command of Capt. D’Este.

—The Norfolk Society celebrated the 50th year of its establishment by a dinner at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich.  Mr. T. Cubitt, Father of the Society, presided, and Major Payne was vice-chairman.  (This was a non-political society.)

—A county meeting was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, when resolutions protesting against the mood of proceeding by Bill of Pains and Penalties against her Majesty, Queen Caroline, were adopted.  A petition for presentation to the House of Commons against the Bill was also agreed to.  The resolutions were moved by the Hon. George Walpole, seconded by the Ven. Archdeacon Bathurst, and supported p. 186by Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P.  The High Sheriff (Mr. S. Kett) declined to preside, and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, M.P., dissented from the proceedings as impolitic and unnecessary.

29.—This being the anniversary of the Decollation of St. John an assembly was held at the Church Hall, Yarmouth, at which the Mayor and Corporation were present, for the purpose of electing a Mayor, chamberlain, churchwardens, and other officers of the borough for the year ensuing.  “The inquest was balloted for and locked up on Tuesday afternoon, and kept without fire, candle, meat, or drink till ten o’clock on Thursday morning, when they returned the following gentlemen as being elected to fill the respective offices:—Mr. John Goat Fisher, Mayor; Mr. William Barth, chamberlain; Mr. T. Bateman and Mr. John Preston, churchwardens.”

—A contest for freemen’s Sheriff took place at Norwich.  Mr. E. T. Booth was elected with 929 votes, against 478 recorded for Mr. Peter Finch.

SEPTEMBER.

1.—Mr. Robert Hamond, shooting in West Norfolk, killed to one brace of pointers, and “without cleaning his gun,” 53 brace of partridges, a hare, and a landrail.  He missed eight shots, lost only one brace of birds, and had only one double shot.  The gun was by Scarlett, of Swaffham.

5.—A prize fight took place on Ashby Common, near Thurton, between Cox, the Norwich blacksmith, and Barlee, the Berghapton Groom, for a purse of £25.  Walkley and Payne seconded Cox, and Ned Painter and Teasdale waited upon Barlee.  “The odds were greatly in favour of Cox till the 30th round, when Barlee planted some severe blows, and in the 47th round floored his opponent.  In the 53rd round Cox made a desperate effort and beat, or rather ran down, his opponent in every round till the 80th.  The betting was now seven to four in favour of Cox.  Barlee again exerted himself, and in the next six rounds planted several desperate hits on his adversary’s face, and in the 88th round brought Cox to the ground by a tremendous blow under the jaw, and won the fight in one hour twenty-three minutes.  Cox’s head and face presented a frightful spectacle, and not a feature of his countenance could be distinguished.”

—Died at the house of Mr. Robert Marsham, at Stratton, Sir Edmund Bacon, premier baronet, of Raveningham.  He was in his 71st year, and his death was occasioned by a fall from his carriage on August 30th.  “Sir Edmund was director of the Loddon and Clavering Incorporation, and chairman of the committee of the Norfolk Lunatic Asylum.  He had made unremitting exertions to improve the public roads.  It was one of his fixed opinions that the roads might be kept in a good state of repair by the fair performance of the Statute duty without the imposition of tolls, and he practically evinced the truth of the opinion which he had formed.  In the attainment of this important object he had to encounter the prejudices of the ignorant and the complaints of the interested, but he steadily pursued his course regardless of the unpopularity which he thus caused, and at length had the gratification of making converts of his most decided opponents.”

p. 18712.—Miss Macauley, from the King’s Concert Room, London, gave her literary and musical entertainment, La Petit Souper, at Norwich Theatre.  On the 14th she gave a dramatic reading at the New Concert Room, St. George’s.

18.—A fire broke out on the premises of Mr. Neale, coach maker, St. Giles’ Gates.  The whole range of workshops was consumed, and damage done to the amount of £2,000.

24.—Died at his seat at Nackington, Kent, Mr. Richard Milles, of North Elmham, aged 85.

25.—Cossey bells, rehung by Messrs. T. and J. Hurry, of Norwich, were re-opened.  “Five good hats” were offered for competition.

29.—Mr. Henry Francis and Mr. E. T. Booth, Sheriffs of Norwich, gave a dinner to 130 guests at Chapel Field House.  “A turtle, weighing 130 lbs., was dressed by Mr. Snow, and so highly relished that not a fragment remained.”

Rear-Admiral Philip Wilkinson assumed this month the surname and the arms of Stephens, in compliance with the request contained in the will of his maternal great uncle, Sir Philip Stephens, Bart., for many years Secretary to the Admiralty.

OCTOBER.

1.—Died, aged 47, at Dunkirk, Mr. Charles William Jerningham, second son of Sir William Jerningham, of Costessey.  “Mr. Jerningham had served eight camps in the Austrian Army with distinguished valour, being engaged in the great battles of Jemappe and Fleurus, and was several times wounded.”  His remains were interred at Costessey on October 23rd.

7.*—“It is with mingled feelings of shame and disgust that we state no less than four pugilistic battles were fought on Sunday morning last on Mousehold Heath, near Norwich, and that many hundreds of persons were present to witness the unchristianlike scene.”

16.—At a dinner held at the King’s Arms Inn, North Walsham, under the presidency of Capt. Simpson, Capt. Cooper was presented with a piece of plate by the inhabitants of the town and neighbourhood as a testimony of their high esteem for his public conduct and private worth.

19.—At the opening concert of the Harmonic Society, Mr. and Miss Mori made their first appearance in Norwich.  Mr. Mori is stated to have been “well known as one of the first violin performers of the present day.”

21.—The Rev. Edward Bankes, LL.B., was installed a Prebendary of Norwich Cathedral, in place of the Rev. George Anguish, A.M., resigned.

—*“Died at her father’s house in Gun Lane, in this city, aged 19, Miss Smith, daughter of Mr. Smith, of Norwich Theatre.”

NOVEMBER.

3.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 70, Sir Edmund Lacon, Bart., senior p. 188alderman of the borough.  He four times served the office of Mayor.  He was succeeded by Mr. Edmund Knowles Lacon, of Ormsby.

11.—Soon after the arrival at Norwich of the coaches with the intelligence of the abandonment of the Bill of Pains and Penalties after its third reading in the House of Lords, the bells of “one or two of the minor parishes” were rung, a few houses illuminated, and parties paraded the streets with flambeaux, crying “Light up for the Queen.”  An attempt to make a bonfire on the Castle ditches was prevented by the magistrates, many of the torches were put out, and eight of the torch bearers taken to the watch-house.  In view of a disturbance 1,000 special constables were sworn in on the 13th, on which evening a procession was formed on Tombland.  In passing through the city the mob groaned outside houses which were not illuminated, and an iron ball was hurled through the window of Dr. Reeve’s house in St. Giles’.  On the 23rd a public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, presided over by the Mayor, when congratulatory resolutions and an address to the Queen were adopted.  (The address was subsequently presented to her Majesty at Bradenburgh House by Mr. N. Bolingbroke, who was accompanied by Mr. W. Smith, M.P., and Mr. Edward Taylor.)  After the meeting a bonfire was lighted in the Market Place.  “We understand that an impression of the Norfolk Chronicle (surely not dishonoured by being obnoxious to such a crew) was committed to the flames.”  Demonstrations took place at Yarmouth, Lynn, and other towns.

13.—The Olympic Circus was opened by Mr. T. Cooke at the Pantheon, Norwich.

19.—Died in St. Andrew’s, Norwich, aged 81, an eccentric person named Charles Archer.  “It was his constant practice to be at his post every morning at four o’clock with his kettle of hot cocoa and saloop.  His station was near the Two-Necked-Swan, and he was allowed half a pint of porter each morning for calling up the landlord at six, which custom continuing 14 years he drank at that house 2,556 half pints, or something more than 319 gallons.  He had formerly been in the 12th Regiment of Foot, and lost a leg in the memorable siege of Gibraltar, for which he was granted a pension which he received 39 years.  But what most affected his mind next to the misfortune of having his leg shot away was to see a hog, a circumstance related by himself, snatch it up in his mouth and run away with it without his being able to prevent it.”

28.—Died, in his 82nd year, at the Great Hospital, Bishopgate Street, Norwich, Robert Davey, “who for several years was leader of the nocturnal band of musicians vulgarly called ‘mumpers,’ though their performances justly entitled them to a more respectable appellation.  He personated Orpheus in the grand procession which took place in Norwich in honour of Bishop Blaize on March 24th, 1783.”

29.—H.R.H. the Duke of York passed through Norwich on his way to Gunton Hall, the seat of Lord Suffield.  On the duke’s approach to St. Stephen’s Gates the horses were taken from his carriage, and it was dragged through St. Stephen’s Street and Rampant Horse Street to the Market Place.  After changing horses at the Angel Inn, his Royal Highness proceeded on his journey.  On the following day p. 189the Duke of Wellington passed through the city on his way to Gunton.

30.—Died, aged 102, Mr. John Walden, of Wells-next-the-Sea.

DECEMBER.

1.—A special assembly of the Norwich Corporation was held at which a loyal address to his Majesty was adopted.  Similar addresses were passed by the Corporations of Yarmouth and Lynn.

2.—At a special assembly of the Corporation it was resolved to grant the honorary freedom of Norwich to the Duke of York and the Duke of Wellington.  These illustrious personages arrived unexpectedly in the city on their return from Gunton on the following day (Sunday, 3rd).  After attending service at the Cathedral they proceeded to the Angel Inn, where the Mayor (Mr. William Burt), the Sheriffs, and other civic officials waited upon them.  The Steward (Mr. Robert Alderson) read the address passed on the previous day, and the admission to the freedom of the city was completed in due form.  His Royal Highness and the Duke of Wellington returned thanks, and afterwards invited the company to luncheon.  On their departure from Norwich the same afternoon they were enthusiastically cheered.

9.—The Duke of Gloucester visited Col. Dixon at Rainham, and afterwards proceeded to Holkham as the guest of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P.

10.—Died at Hethel, aged 68, Sir Thomas Beevor, Bart., D.L., one of the chairmen of Norfolk Quarter Sessions.

13.—A meeting of the owners, occupiers, and inhabitants of the hamlets was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, to take into consideration the expediency of establishing an effective police for the district.  Resolutions were passed asking the assistance of the city magistrates.  In consequence of the numerous highway robberies and burglaries, and other depredations committed in city and county, public meetings were held and resolutions passed granting a reward of £5 to watchmen who apprehended offenders.  It was stated that more burglaries had been committed within the three preceding months than in the former twenty years.

25.—The Hon. George John Watson, of North Elmham, second son of the Right Hon. Baron Sondes, deceased, assumed the surname and arms of Milles, in compliance with the will of his maternal grandfather, Mr. Richard Milles, of North Elmham, and of Nackington, Kent.

27.—A meeting, presided over by Mr. John Morse, Father of the City, was held at the Angel Inn, Norwich, at which resolutions expressive of attachment to his Majesty’s person and Government, and to the established constitution in Church and State were passed, and a loyal address to the King adopted.  The address, which received 1,634 signatures, was presented to his Majesty in the following January by Mr. Charles Harvey, M.P., Mr. John Harvey, alderman, and Sir Robert John Harvey.  Similar addresses were adopted by the Corporations of Yarmouth and Lynn.

p. 1901821.

JANUARY.

2.—A meeting of the dyers, dressers, and manufacturers was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. John Harvey, chairman of the manufacturing interest, to consider “the most effectual means of checking the violation of the Sabbath, which has of late arisen to a most shameful height, in consequence of the recent increase in the trade of the city”; and the notice “on the part of the dyers and dressers of bombazines announcing to the manufacturers the conditions on which alone they had agreed to conduct their business, namely that of holding goods which they may have in hand at the time of any bankruptcy or failure as a lien for any balance due to them on their accounts.”  The meeting was adjourned sine die.

6.*—“The Rev. Alfred Inigo Fox, of Woodton Hall, has assumed the surname of Suckling only, with the arms of Suckling, quarterly, with his own, pursuant to the will of the late Robert Suckling, of Woodton Hall.”

9.—Mr. Mathews appeared at Norwich Theatre in his entertainments, “At Home,” “A Trip to Paris,” and “Country Cousins.”

—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, Sarah Powell, keeper of a boarding school, was sentenced to three months’ imprisonment for cruelly ill-treating and wounding Mary Ann Phillips, aged 6½ years.

13.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, the case of the King on the prosecution of Robert Leamon, the younger, against Edmund Heagren Gibbs for assault, was tried.  The defendant, an opulent farmer living at Quarles, pleaded guilty to the charge.  The offence was committed in Fakenham Market Place, and it was alleged that the defendant several times struck the plaintiff with a jockey whip.  He was fined £300.

22.—Mr. Dowton appeared at Norwich Theatre as Sir Peter Teazle and Restive (“Turn Out”).  On succeeding evenings he took the parts of Job Thornberry, Sir Anthony Absolute, Barnaby Brittle, Old Drugget (“Three Weeks after Marriage”), Sheva (“The Jew”), &c.

27.*—(Advt.)  “£100 Reward.  Whereas at about nine o’clock on the evening of the 22nd inst., Mr. John Thurtell was attacked in Chapel Field, Norwich, by three men, knocked down, and robbed of a pocket book containing £1,508 in notes, thirteen of which were of the Bank of England, value £100 each, and the name of John Thurtell is endorsed on them.  Notice is hereby given that whoever will give information which might lead to the apprehension and conviction of the persons concerned in this robbery, shall be paid the above reward on applying to Mr. Thurtell; and any person concerned in the robbery who will give information of his accomplices will receive the reward and a free pardon.  Norwich, January 23rd, 1821.”  (In the following week it was announced that a commission of bankruptcy had issued against John Thurtell and John Giddens, bombazine manufacturers, dealers, and chapmen.  Soon afterwards Thurtell absconded.)

p. 19129.—The first anniversary of the King’s Accession to the Throne was celebrated in Norwich by peals on the bells of St. Peter Mancroft, and of several of the minor parishes of the city.  At Methwold a lad named T. Coates, aged 11, rang second in a peal of single bob major, and “the company challenged England for his equal.”

FEBRUARY.

3.—At a meeting held at the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, the Norfolk Agricultural Association adopted a form of petition to be presented to the House of Commons upon “the present deplorable condition of Agriculture.”

10.*—“The remains of two bodies (no doubt those of Roman soldiers) were lately dug up in a field opposite the west front of the Roman camp at Caister, near Norwich.  Nothing was entire of them except several teeth and a metal brooch in excellent preservation, although they cannot have been interred less than 1,400 years.  Eleven or twelve human skeletons, supposed to have been buried after some battle, were also discovered on a farm at Longham, near Mileham, close at the foot of an antient ditch, which Parkin supposes gives name to the Hundred of Launditch.  Eight or ten years ago, in removing a tumulus in the same parish, some urns were discovered.”

10.—Bloggs’ London caravan was advertised to run from the Rampant Horse coach office, Norwich, to London in 24 hours.  It started on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at four o’clock, and returned on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.  The Norwich and London Fly vans ran from the Star Inn, Norwich, to the Bull Inn, Aldgate.

—Dr. Lewis Evans was elected physician to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital on the resignation of Dr. Alderson, to whom a vote of thanks was accorded by the governors for his professional services of 50 years.

12.—Miss Macaulay commenced at Norwich Theatre an engagement of four nights, during which she appeared as Lady Randolph (“Douglas”), Violante (“The Wonder”), Jane Shore, Rosabello (“Rugantino”), Lady Townley (“The Provoked Husband”), and Phœbe (“Rosina”).

15.—By the careless driving of the coachman the Morning Star, Yarmouth coach, was overturned at Scole Inn, and of the three inside and nine outside passengers, one, Mr. Butterfield, of Leeds, was seriously injured, and died on April 14th.  At the Norfolk Assizes in March, 1822, an action was brought by Butterfield’s employers against the owners of the coach for the recovery of damages sustained by them by the loss of their servant.  The jury found for the plaintiffs, damages, £100; expenses, £258; and costs, 40s.

17.—The perfectly new house of Mr. John Cator, at Woodbastwick, was destroyed by fire.  “The interior of the building was consumed, the walls alone left standing.”

24.—Mr. J. M. Murry, of Davey Place, Norwich, advertised himself as “sole agent for the sale of Bridgman’s patent iron coffins as security to the deceased persons.”

p. 19226.—Mrs. Davison appeared at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in the character of Letitia Hardy.  On subsequent evenings she performed Priscilla Tomboy, Hypolita (“She Wou’d and She Wou’d Not”), and Kathleen (“The Poor Soldier”).

28.—An unusually large supply of white herring was received from Yarmouth at Norwich.  The fish were sold at a penny a dozen at Fye Bridge staith, and afforded great relief to the poor.

MARCH.

3.*—“Died lately at Reepham Moor, St. John Hunt, who was buried by his desire in his best suit of clothes, great coat, hat, &c.  A tobacco box, short pipe, and walking stick were also deposited by his side in the coffin.”

—Mr. Richard Taylor, of Norwich, published his well-known work, the “Index Monasticus.”

—Died at his house in Queen Street, Norwich, Mr. William Foster, an alderman of the Wymer Ward.

5.—Died, at Versailles, in her 70th year, Miss Hannah Brand, formerly of Norwich.

7.—Three prisoners confined in the city gaol, Norwich, and charged with capital offences, effected their escape by making a hole through the wall of their cell.  They were recaptured.

—Mr. Edward Temple Booth, Sheriff of Norwich, was elected an alderman of the Great Ward of Wymer, in place of Mr. Foster, deceased.  The other candidate was Mr. Richard Shaw, who served the office in 1818.

8.—A new tragedy, entitled “Antigone,” written by Mr. Edward Ball, of Duke’s Palace House, Norwich, was produced at Norwich Theatre for the first time.

13.—Mr. E. Wodehouse presented to the House of Commons petitions from the owners and occupiers of land in the vicinity of Norwich, Yarmouth, and North Walsham, on the depressed state of agriculture, praying for a repeal of the last duty on malt, and for the substitution of a modified tax on property.  At this date wheat was making 25s. to 31s.; barley, 9s. to 12s. 6d.; oats, 9s. to 10s.; and malt, 34s. per coomb.

22.—A performance took place for the benefit of the Theatrical Fund, established for the relief of aged and decayed actors of the Norwich company.  The Freemasons gave their patronage, and, in full regalia, attended the Theatre, where the pieces produced were the comedy “Secrets worth Knowing,” and the musical farce “The Padlock.”  The proceeds amounted to £117 2s. 6d.

26.—Mrs. Bartley commenced at Norwich Theatre an engagement, during which she appeared in the characters of Bianca (“Fazio”), Jane Shaw, Madame Chermont (“Adrian and Orrila”), Mary Stuart, and Catherine (“The Taming of the Shrew”).

31.—The freedom of the city of Norwich was presented to Capt. William Edward Parry, R.N., prior to his departure for the Arctic Seas to ascertain the existence of a north-west passage.  He was a nephew p. 193of Dr. Rigby, of Norwich.  The parchment was presented in an oak box, made of a piece of the wood of the Hecla, the ship commanded by him in his voyage of discovery towards the North Pole in 1819–20.

APRIL.

2.—A new peal of bells, hung by Messrs. Hurry, of Norwich, was opened at Ditchingham.

3.—Died, aged 92, Thomas Burton, “father of the St. Peter’s company of ringers, Norwich.”

—Died in St. George Colegate, Norwich, aged 88, Mrs. Goulty, widow of Mr. John Goulty, and aunt to Admiral Lord Nelson.

—Mr. R. Morlege, many years confidential clerk to Messrs. W. and S. Bircham, of Reepham, “left that place with his family, a wife, and seven children, one an infant, in a covered van for Liverpool, there to embark for Baltimore, and from thence to proceed in his van, which he takes on board with him, about 400 miles up the country, and to settle on the banks of the Ohio.”

5.—Died in St. Swithin’s, Norwich, aged 84, the Rev. James Lane, for 32 years Roman Catholic priest in the city.

7.—A “new and elegant” light post coach, “The Times,” was announced to set out from the Angel Inn, Norwich, to the Swan-with-Two-Necks, Lad Lane, London, on Sunday, Wednesday, and Friday morning at six o’clock, by way of Scole, Bury, Sudbury, and Halstead.  It returned on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.  The proprietors, W. Start, J. Thorogood and Co., regretted “the circumstance which rendered the dissolution of partnership between them and Mrs. Nelson indispensable, in consequence of which they had no connection with the Phenomena coach.”  Thorogood himself drove the coach both to and from London.

9.—Mr. J. Brunton, the former manager, and his daughter, Miss Fanny Brunton, performed at Norwich Theatre.  They appeared respectively as Othello and Desdemona on the opening night, and on subsequent evenings as Horatius and Horatia (“The Roman Father”), and Wildlove and Zephyrina (“The Lady and the Devil”).  “Miss Brunton, though not 19 years of age, has made great progress towards histrionic excellence.”

10.—At a public meeting held at the Town Hall, Yarmouth, under the presidency of the Mayor (Mr. Fisher), a committee was appointed and a subscription opened for the formation of a fund from which to reward boatmen for rescuing persons from shipwreck.

14.—The Wellington coach ran from Norwich on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday to Stamford, where it effected a connection with coaches to the Midlands and the North.

15.—Wombwell’s Menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Meadow, Norwich.

17.—The erection of a new jetty was commenced at Cromer.  It was finished in the summer of 1822.  “Erected on massy iron frames by Mr. Hase, of Saxthorpe, it exhibits a magnificent proof of the skill of the engineer, and of his honourable attention to his contract.”

p. 19422.—Died in St. George’s Colegate, Norwich, after a few days’ illness, John Crome, the elder.  He was president of the Norwich Society of Artists, and an artist of considerable repute.  His remains were interred on the 27th in a vault in St. George’s church.

23.—St. George’s Day being the day appointed for the celebration of his Majesty’s birthday, the Corporation of Norwich attended service at the Cathedral, and the 9th Lancers and the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers fired three volleys with their pistols in the Market Place.  The Mayor gave a dinner at his house, Major Harvey and the officers and men of the Light Horse dined at the White Lion Inn, St. Benedict’s, and several members of the Common Council met for dinner at the Castle Inn.  The Loyal Heroes or Sons of Pitt, and several other societies dined at their respective club houses.

—Miss Rosalie Corri appeared at Norwich Theatre as Polly (“The Beggars’ Opera”).  Her other characters included Louison (“Henri Quatre”), Zerlina (“The Libertine”), &c.

25.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, for the promotion of vaccination amongst the poor, it was stated that in 1819, when about 500 persons died of small-pox, “the figures of persons liable to take the disease was on an average of five years not less than 1,000 annually.”  Since that year vaccination had again languished, and in 1820 not 100 of the poor were vaccinated.  The meeting directed that a census be immediately taken for the purpose of ascertaining how many persons remained unvaccinated, and what would be the extent of the danger attending the introduction of small-pox.

26.—A smuggling boat was captured at Yarmouth between the Nelson monument and the old jetty, by boats of the Revenue cutter Ranger, Capt. Sayer.  The smuggler had on board about 400 tubs of Geneva, and a quantity of dry goods, and her crew escaped by jumping overboard and swimming ashore.

28.*—“Died last week at Swaffham, the widow Turner, aged 96, formerly a midwife.  Mrs. Turner had a perfect remembrance of the girl who was burnt at Lynn on April 1st, 1731, for aiding and assisting in the murder of her mistress, and was taken by her friends to visit her in prison a few days before the execution of that dreadful sentence.”

—Gurney’s Original day coach was advertised to leave the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, for the Spread Eagle, Gracechurch Street, and the Black Bear, Piccadilly.  The proprietor referred to the liberal patronage he had received “amidst the powerful ruinous competition among other parties concerned in the Norwich and London coaches.”

30.—At the White Swan Inn, Norwich, commenced a three double days’ play of cocks, for 10 guineas a battle and 200 guineas the odd, between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Cambridgeshire.  Feeders: Lamb for Norwich, Burn for Cambridge.  Norwich won by seven battles ahead in the mains, and two in the byes.

MAY.

1.—There was a contest this year for the Mayoralty of Norwich.  At the close of the poll the numbers were declared as follow:—Alderman Rackham, 986; Alderman Hawkes, 950; Alderman Marsh, 630; p. 195Alderman Yallop, 631.  The two first-named were returned to the Court of Aldermen, who elected Mr. Rackham to serve the office.

2.—Died at his ancestral seat at Great Ormesby, aged 68, Mr. James Symonds, who was descended from one of the oldest families in Norfolk.

8.—At a meeting of the merchants, manufacturers, dyers, &c., held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by Mr. John Harvey, it was resolved to petition Parliament for a repeal of the tax on imported foreign wool.

12.—A foot race of 30 miles was run at New Buckenham, between two men named Tuttle and Beales.  The former won easily in five hours nine minutes.

13.—Died at his house in Surrey Street, Norwich, aged 72, Mr. William Stevenson, upwards of 35 years proprietor of the Norfolk Chronicle.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1799.

—Died at Lyng, Christopher Allcock, aged 91.  “He served in the first draft of the Norfolk Militia when called out in the glorious year, 1759, and such was his attachment to the military service that he made a reserve of his coat that it might serve him for a shroud.”

18.—Died at Norwich, aged 53, Robert Chesnut, leader of the St. Peter’s ringers.

19.—The “safety” coach from the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, commenced running to London on Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday evenings by way of Thetford, Bury, and Newmarket.

23.—At a special court of the Norwich Guardians it was agreed to petition the House of Commons against the Bill introduced into Parliament by Mr. Scarlett, for amending the laws relating to the relief of the poor in England.

28.—The principal inhabitants, with many other parishioners, perambulated the parish of St. Clement’s, Norwich, and afterwards dined at the Bull Inn, Magdalen Street.

30.—A glass bottle was thrown from the gallery on to the stage of Norwich Theatre by a youth named Wheeler, son of a former member of the Norwich company.  He was apprehended by Mr. Smith, the manager, taken before the Mayor, and sentenced to one month’s imprisonment in the Bridewell.

JUNE.

12.—Costessey Guild was held, and the “Mayor” sworn in with great formality.  Several “splendid equipages” appeared in the subsequent procession.

—The festivities connected with Necton Guild were carried out on a scale of much splendour in a field adjoining the residence of Major Mason, of Necton Hall, the patron of this annual gathering.

—The Census was completed on this day at Norwich.  The city, with its hamlets and the Close, contained 10,833 houses and 50,173 souls, namely, 22,732 males and 27,441 females.  In comparison with the returns at the previous Census these figures showed an increase of 2,300 houses and of 12,917 persons.

p. 19618.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. William Rackham was sworn in Mayor, and entertained 650 guests at the guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall.

—Died, aged 52, Charles Hague, Mus. Doc., professor of music at the University of Cambridge.

—At an assembly of the Norwich Corporation, the Tonnage Committee was ordered to obtain plans and estimates for the improvement of the south side of St. Andrew’s Hall, and of the plain and gardens.  The proposed work included the taking down of the old Library Room and the Court of Conscience, which formed part of the entrance to the Hall, and completely obscured and disgraced the structure; the erection of a Gothic porch on part of their site to correspond with the architecture of the original building, and the laying open of the whole south side of the Hall, “by taking down the present garden walls, so as to form a square in front of the hall.”  It was also proposed that the building be no longer used as a corn exchange.

—About twenty of the Waterloo men resident in Norwich were entertained to dinner at the Coach and Horses, Red Lion Lane, in celebration of the anniversary of the battle.

23.*—“The curious antique pump in St. Lawrence, in this city (Norwich), erected by Robert Gybson in 1576, has been lately put into repair, and the singular inscription and ornaments thereon repainted by the present proprietor, Quarter-Master Betts, of the West Norfolk Regiment.”

28.—The Marshland free bridge, built by Messrs. Jolliffe and Bank, under the direction of the engineer, Mr. Rennie, and forming a direct means of communication between the eastern and northern districts, was opened on this date.  A procession of carriages, preceded by a band of music and banners, with 7,000 pedestrians, passed over the bridge at one o’clock.  The carriage of Mr. Thomas Hoseason led the van.  Among the vehicles was the Lynn and London coach, drawn by four bays decorated with ribbands and flowers.

JULY.

2.—Twelve smacks were despatched from Wells to a newly discovered oyster bed at Happisburgh, whence they returned on the following day with from 100 to 121 tubs each.

—*“Notwithstanding the clouds which lower on the landed interest, the sun of Holkham’s prosperity has shone forth with undiminished splendour,” was the comment which prefaced this year’s report of the Holkham Sheep Shearing.  The business of the meeting commenced with an inspection in front of the hall “of the various processes in the manufacture (by the labourers’ children and the parish poor) of part of the crop of flax and hemp grown upon Holkham Park Farm in the last year.  The several operations of breaking, heckling, and spinning were gone through by females of various ages with ease and facility.”  Some of the sacks and sheeting manufactured from the materials were also shown.  The gathering was attended by H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, the Duke of Bedford, the Earl of Albemarle, Lord Erskine, Lord Crewe, Sir F. Burdett, Mr. Hume, &c.  “The p. 197magnificent hospitality of these meetings congregated men from all parts of the civilized world.  None but agricultural subjects were discussed.  On these the most conflicting opinions were freely given and as freely canvassed, but anything political was excluded.  And thus, although the political opinions of Mr. Coke and most of his personal friends were not only very decided, but for a great period, and that the most brilliant era of the Holkham meetings, unpopular with the great majority of those connected with the landed interest, yet men of every shade of political opinion were heartily welcome . . . and although they might hear some favourite theory of farming ridiculed they never would find anything hurtful to their political feelings advanced.  The Sheep Shearing of 1821, indeed, was an exception.  Political topics were then introduced.  It was a bad omen.  This Sheep Shearing was the last.”—“Journal of the Royal Agricultural Society,” Vol. XIV., part 1.

7.—Miss Biffin paid a return visit to Norwich, and was exhibited at St. Peter’s Steps, the Market Place.

19.—Norwich, in common with the cities and towns of the kingdom generally, celebrated the Coronation day of King George IV.  The Mayor and Corporation went in procession to the Cathedral, preceded by a troop of the 9th Lancers, commanded by Capt. Campbell, sixty-four Waterloo men wearing their medals, and by the loyal and constitutional clubs with their flags.  The procession was closed in by the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers.  After service a roasted bullock, weighing 60 stones, was distributed in the Market Place, with 2,880 penny loaves, and several barrels of beer.  There was a similar distribution in Ber Street.  A dinner took place at St. Andrew’s Hall, under the presidency of the Mayor, and at night a display of fireworks was given on a staging erected on the south side of the Market Place.  A very elaborate triumphal arch, erected near the Guildhall, was brilliantly illuminated.  There were like demonstrations at Yarmouth, Lynn, and other towns in the county.

29.—Died at St. John Timberhill, Norwich, John Smith, schoolmaster, aged 54, “the author of several scholastic works and an English grammar.”

30.—A grand cricket match between the Holt and Nottingham clubs commenced at Holt, and was continued on the two following days.  It terminated in favour of Nottingham, with ten wickets to spare—Nottingham, 150-154; Holt, 80-73.  The Holt team included R. J. Brereton, Garwood, N. Pilch, William Pilch, F. Pilch, W. Englebright, R. Englebright, Frost, Brunton, Carmichael, and Goggs.

31.—The new river or Cut from King’s Lynn to Eau Brink was opened.  At 8.30 a steam barge passed beneath the new bridge into the Cut, followed by a great number of boats.  After the commissioners had viewed the work the steamboat returned to Lynn, where dinner was served at the Town Hall, under the presidency of Lord William Bentinck.

AUGUST.

1.—Died at his house in Charles Street, Berkeley Square, the Right Hon. Lord Suffield, his Majesty’s Lieutenant of Norfolk.  His lordship, p. 198who was in his 54th year, dying without issue, he was succeeded in his title and estates by his brother, the Hon. Edward Harbord, M.P. for Shaftesbury.  The remains of his lordship arrived at Aylsham, and lay in state at the Black Boys Inn on August 12th, and the funeral took place at Gunton on the 13th.

4.*—“In the recent creation of baronets are Major-General Sir Edward Kerrison and Mr. Astley Paston Cooper, surgeon to his Majesty’s person.”

6.—The Norwich Assurance Company and the Norwich Union Society combined their establishments under the style of the Norwich Union Fire Insurance Society, with a capital of £550,000.

9.—Official intelligence was received in Norwich of the death of Queen Caroline.  Her Majesty died at Bradenburgh House, Hammersmith, on the 7th.

10.—The organ in Loddon church, the gift of Mr. Thomas Reynolds, of Chedgrave, was opened with a performance of sacred music by Messrs. Pettet and Woolman.  The principal vocalists were Miss Gaskill, of Norwich Theatre, Mrs. Card, and Mr. French; and the instrumental band was composed of Norwich and Yarmouth amateurs.  “Tickets: middle aisle, 3s.; side aisle, 2s.”

11.*—“A troop of the 4th Dragoons arrived here last week to replace the troop of 9th Lancers, who have gone to Canterbury.”

—*“Died, last week, at Surlingham, Mrs. Elizabeth Utting, in her 104th year.”

14.—Mr. Justice Richardson, in charging the Grand Jury at the Norwich Summer Assizes, made reference to the large number of street robberies and burglaries that had taken place in the city.  “Several persons had their pockets picked in court; one man was detected in the act, and was committed to Bridewell.”

17.—Among the civil actions tried at the Norwich Assizes, before Sir Robert Dallas, Chief Justice of the Court of Common Pleas, was that of Crawcour v. Smith.  It was for the recovery of the cost of a suit of clothes, &c., bought by the plaintiff in consequence of having received from the defendant a fictitious card of invitation to dine at the Guild feast in 1820.  The defendant, who admitted the sending of the card, was heard to remark that “he would rather undergo transportation than not see the plaintiff (a Jew dentist) at the door of the Guildhall in his pomps and opera hat.”  Counsel for the defendant endeavoured to show that the order for the apparel was given subsequent to the plaintiff receiving notice of the fictitiousness of the card; and he argued that even if he had gone to the feast he could not have partaken of it without incurring the censure of the higher orders of his religion.  Mr. Sergeant Blossett, for the plaintiff, replied that “of the 600 covers placed on the tables on Guild Day there were several of which Mr. Crawcour might partake without injury either of his soul or his stomach.”  The jury found for the plaintiff—damages 1s.  (Mr. Crawcour on September 23rd met with a terrible accident on Tombland.  The horse, which he was driving, ran away, and he was thrown from the vehicle.  His leg was fractured in so shocking a manner that immediate amputation was rendered necessary.)

18.—Col. the Hon. John Wodehouse, M.P., was appointed his p. 199Majesty’s Lieutenant, Vice-Admiral of the county, and Custos Rotulorum, in place of the late Lord Suffield.

20.—A fire took place on the premises of Mr. Cross, Lower Earlham, by which his barns and outhouses, hay, corn, and straw stacks were destroyed.  The damage was estimated at £1,000.

21.—Belzoni, the celebrated traveller and discoverer of Egyptian antiquities, visited Norwich, and stayed with Mr. Jeremiah Ives, at his residence, St. Catherine’s Hill, where several gentlemen of the city were invited to meet him.

22.—Died, aged 72, Mrs. Mary Mountain, of Norwich.  “On the first establishment of the Institution for the Indigent Blind in this city she tendered her gratuitous services as matron, and for 16 years filled that situation.”

28.—A contest for freemen’s Sheriff took place at Norwich.  Mr. Joseph Gibson, 680; Mr. T. O. Springfield, 442.  A scrutiny was afterwards demanded and granted, but was abandoned.

SEPTEMBER.

1.*—“The Easton Lodge estate, the property of the late Mr. W. Foster, has been purchased by Mr. Thomas Trench Berney, of Morton Hall, for 30,000 guineas.”

—*“The tower of the antient church of St. John of Maddermarket, Norwich, which has long been in a state of dilapidation, is now taking down to be reduced by 14 feet, so as just to leave room for the bells.”

—A panorama of Waterloo was exhibited at Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich.

6.—The freemen of the “Blue and White” interest presented to Mr. Alderman James Marsh a silver vase, weighing upwards of 100 ozs.  The presentation was made at the Angel Inn, Norwich, by Mr. Edward Taylor.

—Workmen digging at the bottom of Bethel Street, Norwich, discovered a human skeleton “laid exactly in the crossway of the roads; it was thought to be the body of a criminal who died in prison and was buried there.”

8.*—“That highly esteemed performer, Mr. Vining, has formed a very advantageous engagement with the proprietor of the Bath Theatre, and will leave the Norwich company at the termination of Bury Fair.”  (He was succeeded by his brother, Mr. J. Vining, who ultimately became a great favourite on the Norwich stage.)

10.—Miss Dance, of Covent Garden Theatre, appeared at Norwich Theatre in the character of Belvedera (“Venice Preserved”).  Her other impersonations included Lady Teazle, Juliet, Widow Cheerly (“The Soldier’s Daughter”), Mrs. Haller, Maria (“The Citizen”), &c.

16.—Died at Downham Market, at a very advanced age, William Howlett.  “He was for many years employed as a labourer on the premises of Mr. E. R. Pratt, at Ryston.  About 30 years ago he sold his wife, and delivered her to the fortunate purchaser in a halter in the Market Place at Downham, with whom she has ever since lived, and it is supposed they will now marry.”

p. 20021.—At a quarterly meeting of the Corporation of Norwich, a committee was appointed to take into consideration Mr. Cubitt’s plan for connecting the city with the sea by way of Lowestoft.

26.—The foundation-stone of the Unitarian Chapel in Park Field, Diss, was laid by Mr. Meadows Taylor and Mr. Thomas Dyson.

28.—Experiments with a life-saving rocket on Tregrouse’s principle were made on Yarmouth beach by Rear-Admiral Spranger.  The rocket carried a line from the ship to the shore, and running rigging was then brought into use.

OCTOBER.

4.—Died in London, aged 64, the celebrated engineer, Mr. John Rennie, who a few weeks previously had attended the opening of the Eau Brink cut.

6.*—(Advt.)  “Distressing case of long imprisonment.  Christopher Wood, formerly of Lynn, bricklayer, committed in 1813 to Norwich Castle for contempt of the Court of Chancery, incurred by his inability through poverty to put in an answer to a bill filed against him to foreclose a mortgage on an estate of which, unfortunately for him, he became owner.  He has been in prison eight years, and has hitherto been supported by his labour beyond the prison allowance of bread, but having lately nearly lost his sight he must in future depend entirely on the latter.  The expense of putting in his answer will amount to £18, and being totally unable to raise that sum must end his days in prison unless the benevolent shall extend their bounty towards him by putting in his answer to obtain his discharge, the Act for the Relief of Insolvent Debtors not extending to persons in custody for contempts.”

10.—Robert Skipper, the Norwich pedestrian, commenced the task of walking 1,000 miles in twenty successive days at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich.  He had completed 100 miles on the evening of the 11th, and at the 390th mile was compelled to give up in consequence of magisterial interference.

27.*—“Lady Beevor, widow of the late Sir Thomas Beevor, has taken the surname of Hare out of respect to the memory of her late father.”

—Died, aged 74, Mr. Edward Rigby, M.D., of Norwich.  He received his medical education under Mr. Martineau, and first began practice in 1769, when he distinguished himself as an accoucheur, and was the author of a treatise on subjects connected with that branch of his profession.  In 1814 he took his degree in physic.  Dr. Rigby in 1786 established the Benevolent Medical Society for the relief of the widows and orphans of medical men; and in 1789 became a member of the Corporation of Surgeons and of the Medical Society in London.  He was assistant surgeon of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital on its establishment in 1771, surgeon in 1790, and physician in 1814.  For many years he kept a private lunatic asylum; and made constant and unremitted exertions in the cause of vaccination.  He wrote several treatises on agricultural subjects, and was in 1820 elected an hon. member of the Philadelphia Society for Promoting Agriculture.  He was also a member of the Linnæan Society.  Dr. Rigby p. 201was elected an alderman in 1802, Sheriff in 1803, and Mayor in 1805.  His remains were interred at Framingham, near Norwich, on November 5th.

28.—The county magistrates adopted a plan prepared by Mr. Wilkins for the erection of a new county gaol on the Castle Hill, Norwich, “so far as the sum of £26,000 would carry it into effect.”  This plan included the removal of the then Shirehouse and inconvenient courts of justice.  In order that the whole of the expense of the work should not fall upon occupiers it was arranged that half only be paid by them, and the other half by the owners of estates.—On December 1st a meeting of the county magistrates was held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, to remonstrate against the selection of the Castle Hill as the site for the new gaol.  At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions in January, 1822, the subject was reconsidered, and it was finally decided by 30 to 24 votes to adhere to the Castle Hill site.—On July 29th the workmen began to prepare the ground for the foundations of the Shirehall, and on September 9th the foundation-stone was laid with “Masonic ceremony.”  Current coins were deposited in the cavity, and upon the stone was a Latin inscription composed by the Rev. F. Howes.—The demolition of the old debtors’ court commenced on May 7th, 1823, previous to which the prisoners committed on criminal charges were removed to the different bridewells and houses of correction in the county, the debtors only remaining in the Castle keep.—On July 11th some workmen employed on the building were raising a large stone, which fell and injured four of them, and one, Nicholas Mase, died next day in hospital.  The new Shirehall was completed in time to admit of the Quarter Sessions being held therein on October 15th, 1823, which was the first occasion on which the building was used.  “As to the prison buildings the ancient Saxon castle with Bigod’s tower is left entire in its pristine state.  The hill is now surrounded with a castellated wall of Aberdeen granite 20 feet high, leaving, however, in general a space of nearly 20 feet for a public promenade on the summit of the hill.”  The Castle ditches and meadow had previously been improved at considerable expense by the city.  These works completed the first part of the extensive scheme undertaken by the county.

—Lord Suffield was elected one of the chairmen of Norfolk Quarter Sessions, in the room of the late Sir Thomas Beevor, Bart.

31.—There were two candidates for the vacancy occasioned upon the Norwich aldermanic bench by the death of Dr. Rigby—namely, Mr. Jeremiah Ives and Mr. Thomas Osborne Springfield.  Both political parties paraded the streets with bands of music, flags, &c.  The poll was declared as follows:—Springfield, 430; Ives, 268.  “The major part of the electors of the Great Northern Ward received a couple of guineas each for their free and independent votes.”

NOVEMBER.

3.—An accelerated mail service was introduced between London and Norwich by the Postmaster-General.  By this arrangement the Norwich and Ipswich mail coach performed the journey in one hour less time than previously.  On December 8th, however, it was announced that in consequence of the Ipswich mail not having kept to the prescribed p. 202rate of travelling the Post Office authorities had been obliged to return to the former times of departure and arrival in respect to the London mail.  On the 17th a new contract was entered into, by which the London mail to Norwich was conveyed viâ Newmarket.  The coach reached the city at ten o’clock am. and departed at five p.m.

4.—A great gale occurred on the Norfolk coast, many vessels were driven ashore between Yarmouth and Wells, and several foundered at sea.

10.*—“Mr. Charles Thurtell, son of Mr. Thomas Thurtell, of Lakenham, has obtained a lieutenancy on board the Rochefort, now in the Mediterranean.”

13.—Died at Biddeford, Devonshire, aged 63, Major Charles Berkeley Money, Royal Marines.  “He had retired from the service some years on account of a severe wound received when captain on board the Royal Sovereign on the glorious 1st of June.  He was a native and freeman of Norwich.”

16.—A severe storm took place.  The roads were in many parts of the county rendered impassable by the heavy rains, and the marshes and low grounds were flooded.

18.—Died at the house of his son-in-law, Mr. William Mason, of Necton, the Rev. Paul Colombine, D.D., rector of Little Plumstead with Witton and Brundall, perpetual curate of Hardley, and rector of Chilton, Suffolk.  He was presented to the living of Thurlton by the Mayor and Corporation of Norwich in 1757.  He was in his 92nd year.

23.—Died, aged 62, Mr. William Burrows, alderman of the Great Northern Ward, and Sheriff of Norwich in 1817.

24.—Dr. Yelloly was elected physician to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, in place of Dr. Rigby, deceased.

26.—Mr. Peter Finch was elected an alderman of the Great Northern Ward, Norwich, in place of Mr. William Burrows, deceased.

DECEMBER.

1.—A troop of the 4th Light Dragoons, under the command of Capt. Pratt, left Norwich for Romford.

3.—A coursing party at Horsford “started a fine stout fox which was instantly pursued by a brace of fleet greyhounds.  He kept before them for more than half a mile when the dogs turned him.  After beating them off for more than an hour he was taken alive.  Soon after Sir George Brograve’s huntsman and hounds came up, when the coursing party, who had joined in the chase, offered to unbag the fox for another run, but he was found too exhausted and injured for the purpose, and it became necessary to give him the coup de grace, and his head and brush were carried off in triumph.”

7.—Mr. R. Hamond turned off a deer at Swaffham which led the field a chase of nearly 30 miles.  “It crossed the river twice, and what is most extraordinary Mr. A. Hamond, who is in his 81st year, partook of the whole chase, and was at the spot when the deer was taken near Lynn.”

p. 2038.*—“Died last week at Ramsgate, at an advanced age, the Rev. Samuel Vince, M.A., F.R.S., Plumian Professor of Astronomy in the University of Cambridge, and Archdeacon of Bedford.  He was also rector of Kirby Bedon and vicar of South Creake.”

11.—Died at his house in Mansfield Street, Sir Martin Browne ffolkes, Bart, of Hillington Hall, M.P., F.R.S.  He was created baronet in 1774, served the office of High Sheriff in 1783, and in 1790 was elected member of Parliament for King’s Lynn, and continued to represent the borough without intermission until the time of his death.

—An inquest was held at Lynn by Mr. Samuel Hadley, one of the coroners of the borough, on the body of Robert Roberson, who was shot by Mr. Henry Pond, a linen draper in High Street, whilst in the act of breaking into his shop.  The jury returned a verdict of justifiable homicide.

15.*—“Robberies and depredations upon the public having been made to an extent hitherto unknown, it is the determination of the justices in certain Hundreds to form an establishment that will give vigour and effect to the exertions of the magistrates in preventing robberies, burglaries, larcenies, poaching, and felonies of various descriptions.”

17.—Cooke’s Company of Equestrians commenced a season’s engagement at the Norwich Pantheon.

18.—A deputation waited upon Mr. Alderman Crisp Brown, of Norwich, to acquaint him that 300 citizens had subscribed for his full-length portrait, as a mark of “the respect and esteem entertained towards him for his manly and loyal conduct upon all occasions, and for the strenuous exertions which he made during his mayoralty to promote the better observance of the Lord’s day.”  The portrait, by Clover, was hung in St. Andrew’s Hall in October, 1822.

22.*—“Mr. Alexander Baring has purchased the mansion and domains of the Hon. Mr. Petre in Norfolk, it is said for £300,000.  The estate is situate near Thetford, and there are 26,000 acres of land.”

—*“An experiment has been tried for the bettering of the condition of the labourers in agriculture, and for reducing the poor rates in the parish of Terrington by the apportionment of parcels of land from one to five roods, which has been found, after three years’ trial, to be productive of the happiest effects.”

23.—During a violent gale from the N.N.W. a new East Indiaman, the Indian, of 400 tons, from Hull to London, was wrecked off Yarmouth.  The crew of 20 hands and a small part of her stores were saved.  The value of the ship and cargo was estimated at £10,000.

25.—Service was held at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, when “the lighting of the church was strikingly beautiful, and had a very imposing effect by the admission of some additional lamps, which were very judiciously arranged, giving to the altar and the communion plate upon the table a very brilliant and splendid appearance.”

28.—A prize fight took place at Testerton Park, the residence of Major Case, between Barlee, the Berghapton Groom, and Gales, the Norwich butcher.  The former was attended by Ned Painter and Hervey, and the latter by Josh Hudson and Cullington.  Seventy-eight rounds were fought in one hour three minutes, and the battle was won by Barlee.  “Barlee, on being declared victor, immediately p. 204planted an oak in the ring in the presence of about 5,000 spectators in front of Testerton Hall.  The two young pugilists were, by order of Major Case, taken under his hospitable roof and put to bed, where everything needful was generously offered them.  A large party of the Fancy had the honour of dining with the major.”

1822.

JANUARY.

2.—A party of thieves, known as the “Cossey gang,” committed great depredations in the neighbourhood of Norwich.  On the night of the 2nd they broke into the Half Moon public-house, Stone Hills, and stole sixteen gallons of spirits and other property.  “Tired of committing depredations on foot, about ten o’clock at night, as soon as they find those who keep horses are gone to bed, they resort to the stables and take out what horses they want, ride to the spot of depredation, whether for game, poultry, sheep, &c., and when done return the horses almost jaded and harassed to death.”  (See August 2nd, 1822.)

9.—The Marquis of Titchfield was elected without opposition as member of Parliament for King’s Lynn, in place of Sir Martin Browne ffolkes, deceased.

12.—The poor of Norwich and its neighbourhood were informed by advertisement that medical and surgical advice was given free at the Infirmary for Diseases of the Eye, St Benedict’s, Norwich (late Messrs. Day’s bank), by Mr. L. Evans, M.D., physician, and Messrs. Robert Hull and T. Martineau, jun., surgeons.  At a public meeting held on July 11th, under the presidency of Sir Robert J. Harvey, it was resolved that “the Norfolk and Norwich Infirmary for Diseases of the Eye, instituted and supported by Dr. Evans, Mr. Hull, and Mr. T. Martineau, has already been productive of great advantage, and is deserving of public support.”

—A meeting of the proprietors and occupiers of land was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, “for the purpose of taking into consideration the present most truly alarming state of agriculture.”  The High Sheriff (Sir Jacob Astley) presided.  Resolutions were adopted urging the diminution of taxation by means of rigid economy, the repeal of one half of the Malt Tax, and the removal of the heavy imposts upon candles, salt, leather, &c.  A petition embodying these views was ordered to be presented to the House of Commons.  After this date many similar meetings were held in the principal towns and villages in the Hundreds of the county, ostensibly for the purpose of suggesting remedies for agricultural distress and of promoting Parliamentary reform.  It was alleged that many of these gatherings were of a party character, and on May 18th, the Norfolk Chronicle observed: “The discussion of agricultural distress was last week suspended, and the mask of Parliamentary Reform entirely thrown off by those p. 205who for the last four months have displayed so much violence against the Government in pursuing the one, and casting so much obloquy upon Parliament in assuming the other.”

24.—The annual dinner held at Norwich in celebration of the birthday of Fox was attended by H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, the Duke of Norfolk, the Earl of Albemarle (who presided), Mr. T. W. Coke, and many other representatives of the Whig nobility and gentry of the county.

28.—Two Corsican stags, presented by Lord Maynard to Mr. Robert Hamond, gave the Westacre Hunt good sport this season.  “The first was turned off at Rougham on the 28th, and gave them a severe chase of nearly three hours, from the effects of which two horses died.  They are very superior to the red deer of this country from their capability to endure extreme fatigue and to take the most extraordinary leaps.”

31.—Norwich Theatre was opened for the season with the grand spectacle of “The Coronation.”

FEBRUARY.

1.—Lord Henry Cholmondeley was elected Member of Parliament for the borough of Castle Rising, in the room of the Earl of Rocksavage, created a peer by the title of Baron Newburgh.

11.—The Papyruseum, an exhibition of models formed of paper by Mrs. Aberdein, was opened at the White Swan Inn, Norwich.

14.—A smuggling boat landed 80 tubs of gin and brandy on Snettisham beach.  The crew of the preventive boat seized the cargo, a portion of which with their boat was rescued by the smugglers, who had the assistance of about 100 persons, some of whom were armed with bludgeons and fowling pieces.  Twenty or thirty horses and carts were in waiting to remove the contraband goods.  Two of the smugglers were wounded in the affray.

18.—Lynn Theatre was opened under the management of Mr. T. Marsters.

19.—Skipper, the Norwich pedestrian, walked 50 miles in a few minutes under eleven hours at Lynn.

23.*—“We understand that the manufactory of bombazines and crapes in Norwich is likely to be affected from the circumstance of those articles being now made in considerable quantities in various parts of Lancashire at a much lower rate of wages for the weaving than that which is paid here.”

26.—Married, by special licence, at the house of the Earl of Albemarle, St. James’s Square, London, by the Lord Bishop of Norwich, Mr. Thomas William Coke, M.P., of Holkham, to Lady Anne Keppel, second daughter of the earl.

27.—The machine breaking riots commenced in Norfolk.  Upwards of a hundred labourers assembled at Kenninghall, and seized the threshing machine of Mr. Bailey, a farmer.  The Rev. J. Surtees, of Banham, a county justice, at once proceeded to a neighbouring farm where an auction was being held, and, in the King’s name, requested the auctioneer and the farmers present to assist him in quelling the disturbance.  The whole party rode over to Kenninghall, and after p. 206the Riot Act had been read the mob dispersed.  On March 4th there were further riotous assemblies at Attleborough, Shropham, Buckenham, Banham, &c.  The Eye troop of Yeomanry Cavalry were called out, and of the 30 rioters secured eight who were regarded as ringleaders, and they were sent to Norwich Castle under cavalry escort.  The Yeomanry after lodging the prisoners in gaol were assailed by a Norwich mob, who stoned them in the streets, and attacked the Trowel and Hammer public-house, St. Stephen’s, where they had halted to bait their horses.  The troopers returned to headquarters at East Harling after a march of eighty miles in twenty hours.  Many prisoners were also committed to the Castle from other districts, and several cases of incendiarism were reported.  At the adjourned Quarter Sessions for the county, held at Norwich on the 6th, the rioters were tried and sentenced to various terms of imprisonment in the Bridewells and houses of correction in the county.  A guard of the West Norfolk Militia was stationed at the Castle, and a squadron of the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers did duty at the Cavalry Barracks until relieved by the 16th Lancers.  The Lancers and Light Horse afterwards acted as escorts to the vans by which the prisoners were conveyed to the different prisons.  On the march the military were repeatedly stoned by the mobs.  Detachments of the 7th Dragoon Guards were stationed at Hingham and Attleborough, and remained at those places until the lawless disposition manifested by the rural population had subsided.

MARCH.

9.—Wombwell exhibited his menagerie on the Castle Meadow, Norwich.

16.—Mr. Blanchard appeared at Norwich Theatre as Toby Allspice (“The Way to Get Married”) and Crack (“The Turnpike Gate”).  Among the other characters impersonated during his engagement were Dr. Ollapod, Sir Abel Handy, Mungo, Job Thornberry (“John Bull”), Capt. Meadows (“The Deaf Lover”), &c.

28.—At the Norfolk Assizes held at Thetford, before Mr. Justice Richards, William Hardiment and Benjamin Neal, who were concerned with James Johnson in the murder of Mr. Baker at Wells-next-the-Sea on October 11th, 1817, were put upon their trial.  Hardiment had evaded apprehension, and at the Spring Assizes in 1818 the bill charging Neal as an accessory was thrown out by the Grand Jury.  Several witnesses now deposed to having seen Johnson and Hardiment in company at about the time of the murder, and two persons confined in Aylsham bridewell at the same time that Hardiment and Neal were prisoners there gave evidence as to hearing conversations between the two when planning the murder.  One of these witnesses (Thomas Robinson), on December 24th, 1821, met Hardiment at Beverley, in Yorkshire, and gave information which led to his arrest.  The jury found Hardiment guilty, and acquitted Neal.  Hardiment was executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, at noon on April 1st in the presence of an immense crowd of spectators.  “Not more than three yards from the gallows a boy was knocked down by a gentleman who detected him picking his pockets.”

—At the same Assizes, before Mr. Justice Richards, the cause Lock, D.D., v. the Bishop of Norwich was tried.  In consequence of p. 207simony alleged to have been committed by the Rev. Dr. Lock, the patron of the advowson of Hilgay, the Crown had seized the living and presented the Rev. Dr. Hewlett thereto on April 6th, 1819.  This action of quare impedit was instituted by the plaintiff to try the right of the Crown to such presentation.  The defendant raised three pleas: (1) that the Rev. John Royle being seized of the living of Hilgay it was corruptly agreed that Lock should resign the living of Compton Martin, in Somersetshire, and cause him (Royle) to be presented to it, and also that Lock should pay Royle the sum of £12,900 for the advowson of Hilgay, and that in consideration of the promises Royle should resign the living and cause Lock to be presented to it.  (2) That Lock being seized of the living of Hilgay did corruptly agree with one James Craddock, that in consideration of the said Craddock paying to him the sum of £25,000 he (Lock) should convey to Craddock the advowson of Hilgay, and also resign the living and cause him (Craddock) to be presented to it.  (3) That Lock, being seized of Hilgay, having presented Craddock, did corruptly agree that, in consideration of Lock abandoning certain proceedings in an action for debt against Craddock, he should forego proceedings upon a bill of indictment for perjury preferred by Lock against Craddock, but Lock corruptly prevailed upon Craddock to resign the living in order that he (Lock) might present himself to it.  The jury gave a verdict for the Crown generally upon all pleas.  The Judge: A very proper verdict.  It is very disgraceful dealing, gentlemen.

30.*—(Advt.)  “To be fought at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, on Monday, April 15th, 1822, and two following days, three double-days’ play of cocks for ten guineas a battle and 200 guineas the odd, between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Northampton.  Feeders: Stafford for Norwich, Nash for Northampton.”

APRIL.

6.*—“A fish of the whale species was killed in shallow water on Cromer beach last week.  Its dimensions were 57 feet long, breadth of tail, 13 feet; pectoral fin, six feet; from the eye to the end of the jaw, 13 feet; length of jaw bones, 14 feet; length of tongue, nine feet; breadth, four feet.  It answers the description of the under-jawed whale.”

13.—Noah Peak and George Fortis were executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, for setting fire to three stacks on February 25th.  Both men had been soldiers.  Peak was present at Busaco, Albuera, and Waterloo; and Fortis was also in the last-named battle.  “It is not three years since Peak came to Norwich and conveyed home for burial the body of Edward Fisher, his fellow parishioner, who was executed on the Hill in August, 1819, for stabbing William Harrison.”

20.—Among the passengers who perished in the ship Albion, wrecked upon the coast of Ireland, was Miss Powell, eldest daughter of the Hon. W. D. Powell, Chief Justice of Upper Canada, and granddaughter of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.

MAY.

1.—Four candidates were nominated for the Mayoralty of Norwich, p. 208and the poll was declared as follows:—Alderman Hawkes, 957; Alderman Patteson, 908; Alderman Thurtell, 364; Alderman Yallop, 318.  The Court of Aldermen unanimously returned Mr. Robert Hawkes as Mayor.

4.*—“Last week two gentlemen on searching the burial ground belonging to the Roman camp at Caister discovered the remains of a kiln with several urns upon it as they were placed for burning.  Antiquaries having doubted whether urns found at Caister were burnt in a fire or only dried in the sun, the discovery of this kiln may be decisive of the question.”

11.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehouse, Norwich, “for the purpose of taking into consideration the propriety of presenting a petition to Parliament for a reform in the representation of the people.”  There was a crowded gathering, and much confusion prevailed until the High Sheriff (Sir R. P. Jodrell) adjourned the meeting to the Castle Hill, where the speeches were delivered from waggons.  Sir Thomas Beevor moved a series of resolutions, the sixth of which stated “that a petition be presented to the House of Commons praying that the House will forthwith give to the people a real representation in place of that corrupt and defective one which now exists.”  Mr. S. T. Southwell seconded the resolutions, which were put seriatim and carried nem. con.  Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, M.P., spoke from their respective waggons, and each surrounded by his partisans, left the Hill amid much cheering.

20.—A meeting was held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, to decide upon the rules of a society for enabling traders to oppose the discharge of fraudulent debtors under the Insolvent Acts.

25.—An immense number of persons assembled at the Eau Brink Cut at Lynn to witness the performance of “Zachariah Witmore, of Philadelphia” upon a “water velocipede.”  It was a hoax.

30.—A meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, the Mayor (Mr. W. Rackham) presiding, at which a fund was inaugurated for the relief of the distress in Ireland.  Sermons were also preached in the churches and chapels in city and county in aid of the same object.  The amount raised in Norwich and Norfolk was upwards of £3,000.

JUNE.

3.—The Leicester and Yarmouth Royal Mail coach commenced running.  It started from Yarmouth at 1.45 p.m. and travelled by way of Norwich, Dereham, Swaffham, Lynn, Wisbech, Peterborough, Stamford, and Melton Mowbray.  At Stamford and Leicester it was in connection with coaches to the north and west.

5.—Died at his house in Bolton Row, London, Mr. Edward Jerningham, youngest son of Sir William Jerningham, Bart.  The remains were removed from London to Costessey, where they were interred beneath the altar in the private chapel.  Mrs. Edward Jerningham died on June 24th.

10.—A camping match took place at Ranworth between ten men of that parish, and a like number from neighbouring parishes.  “After half an hour’s excellent sport, which produced some good set-tos and a few bloody noses, victory was declared in favour of Ranworth.”

p. 20914.—Died at his house in Cavendish Square, London, the Right Hon. Horatio Walpole, Earl of Orford, Baron Walpole of Wolverton, and Baron Walpole of Walpole, High Steward of the Borough of King’s Lynn, and colonel of the West Norfolk Regiment of Militia.  The deceased nobleman, who was in his 70th year and was buried on the 25th at Wickmere, was succeeded in his title and estates by the Right Hon. Horatio Lord Walpole, Member of Parliament for Lynn.

18.—The Guild Day festivities at Norwich were carried out with great splendour by the Mayor-elect, Mr. Robert Hawkes.  After returning from service at the Cathedral, the Corporation listened to the Latin oration delivered at the Free School porch by the head boy, Peter Hansell, and after the customary ceremonies at the Guildhall, 700 guests assembled at the feast at St. Andrew’s Hall.  In Bethel Street, where the Mayor resided, were two triumphal arches, and on the summit of one a band played selections of music.

23.—The tower of Happisburgh church was considerably damaged by lightning during a severe thunderstorm, which occasioned much loss throughout the county.

27.—The election to fill the vacancy in the representation of Lynn caused by the elevation to the peerage of Lord Walpole commenced.  The candidates were Col. the Hon. John Walpole, brother of the late member, and Sir William Browne ffolkes.  Considerable disturbance prevailed throughout the contest.  About 40 voters had polled for each candidate, when the mob demolished Col. Walpole’s polling booth, set fire to the materials, and stoned the poll clerks.  They then proceeded to the Duke’s Head Inn, smashed the windows, tore the Corporation flag to pieces, and committed other acts of violence.  The polling was adjourned until the 28th, when the disturbances were renewed, and a further postponement was rendered necessary, the numbers then standing: Walpole, 137; ffolkes, 72.  About three o’clock in the afternoon a detachment of the 7th Dragoon Guards arrived from Norwich, under the command of Lieut. Everard.  One of the ringleaders of the mob was captured and sent under escort to Swaffham Bridewell.  The polling was resumed on the 29th, and at noon, when every vote appeared to have been recorded, the Town Clerk announced the numbers as follow: Walpole, 156; ffolkes, 92.  The former was then declared duly elected.  At the Norfolk Assizes held at Norwich on July 31st, before Mr. Justice Best, William Chandler was indicted for taking part in the riot at Lynn, and was ordered to enter into his recognisances to come up for judgment when called upon.  Thomas Johnson and other persons were at the Lent Assizes at Thetford in March, 1823, sentenced by Mr. Justice Garrow to various terms of imprisonment for participating in the disturbances.

JULY.

4.—Died, at the age of 101, Mrs. Aldborough, of Trowse.

5.—A meeting of the manufacturers was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, “to consider the present prices paid for weaving.”  It was agreed to adopt a reduced scale of payment.  Meetings of the men were called, and the employers were requested to reconsider the question.  Another meeting was accordingly held on the 9th, when p. 210Mr. Beloe urged that the proposals of the employers were ill-advised.  On the other hand it was stated that goods were being manufactured in Yorkshire in large quantities at much lower rates than in Norwich.  It was contended by the weavers that greatly increased demands had been made upon them for house rent and coals, and that it was impossible for them to live on reduced wages.  A further statement was made to the effect that the lowering of prices would tend to inferior workmanship.  A mob assembled outside the Guildhall and cheered or hooted the different manufacturers whom they deemed friendly or adverse to their claims.  One gentleman, Mr. William Bosley, was very roughly handled, and his hat, coat, and shoes were taken from him and torn to pieces.  It was considered necessary to summon the assistance of the 7th Dragoon Guards, but the mob dispersed after the announcement had been made from the leads of the Guildhall that the manufacturers had consented to return to the old prices.  The weavers spent the 10th in festivity and rejoicing.

6.—Died, William Coward, aged 85, for 54 years parish clerk at St. Margaret’s, Lynn.  “He was borne to the grave by six grave-diggers, and the pall was supported by six parish clerks.”

8.—Died at Calcutta, the Right Rev. Thomas Fanshaw Middleton, D.D., Bishop of Calcutta, and formerly vicar of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.

—A camping match took place at Ranworth, in the presence of 6,000 spectators, between men of the Blofield and of the Tunstead and Happing Hundreds.  “So closely were the men (ten a side) matched for strength, courage, skill, and activity that the ball was nearly in the centre of the ground when time was called and play stopped.  At the conclusion of the camp, Turner, of Witton, and Riches, of Upton, had a pugilistic trial of manhood.  A well-fought battle of thirty-two rounds of hard milling, with little or no science, ended in favour of Riches.”

19.—Mr. T. Filby, of Elsing, fell down dead in the Sessions Court at the Shirehouse, Norwich, when in the act of entering the jury box.

20.—Puxley and Nelson’s “New Fly Vans” were advertised to run between the Star Inn, Norwich, and the Bull Inn, Aldgate, every day.  The journey was accomplished in twenty-four hours.

—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, Giuliano Mantova, an Italian boy, who travelled the country with pictures for one Dominico Crostea, of Norwich, was indicted for maliciously and fraudulently taking by force from William Hill, employed by Messrs. Copeman and Petworth, solicitors, Aylsham, a child named Susan Hoffrath.  The prisoner denied that he had enticed the child away, and his master gave him a good character; but the jury found him guilty, and he was sentenced to two years’ imprisonment in Norwich Castle.

21.—Died at his house, Tombland, Norwich, aged 76, Mr. Charles Kitson, one of the Chapter Registrars of the diocese of Norwich.

29.—Norwich Theatre was opened for the Assize week.  “Since the period of its leaving Norwich the company has been subject to almost an entire change, and it is now equal to any provincial establishment of the histrionic kind in the kingdom.”  The new members included Miss Wensley, Mrs. Dowton, Mr. Osbaldiston, and Mr. Ford White.  Mrs. Dowton was a favourite actress in the Norfolk and Suffolk p. 211Company of Comedians, under the management of Mr. Fisher, and afterwards married Mr. Sloman, the low comedian of the Norwich Company.

AUGUST.

2.—At Norwich Theatre a new tragedy, entitled “The Persian Heroine,” written by Mr. Richard Paul Jodrell, was performed under the patronage of the High Sheriff and Lady Jodrell.

—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich, before Mr. Justice Best, James Smith was indicted for breaking into the house of William Balls, the Half Moon, Stone Hills, near Norwich, and stealing on January 2nd 16 gallons of liquors in bottles, a purse containing £8 in notes and cash, a quantity of copper coin, &c.  He was found guilty and sentenced to death.  (Although it was not stated at the trial, the prisoner was evidently one of the “Cossey gang” referred to under date January 2nd, 1822.)  At the Norwich Assizes, Henry Carter was sentenced to death for entering the dwelling-house of John Clarke, of St. Paul’s, and stealing therein several articles.  The execution of these men was carried out under revolting circumstances on August 24th.  From an early hour in the morning they were incessantly appealed to by the chaplain of the gaol and a Wesleyan minister to acknowledge the justice of their sentence.  The procession from the gaol in St Giles’ Street to the scaffold was headed by the Under Sheriffs on horseback; the Sheriffs accompanied by the chaplain and the minister came next in a mourning coach, “followed by a cart covered with black cloth on which sat the two malefactors each with arms pinioned, neck bare, and head uncovered, each sitting on the coffin destined to receive his lifeless body.”  Smith was well behaved, but Carter acted with great levity during the progress of the procession through the Market Place to the scaffold erected near the weighing machine on the Castle Meadow, and on the very drop itself “he seemed to evince perfect indifference to the fate which awaited him.”  After hanging for an hour “the bodies were carried by twelve bearers to the house of Carter’s parents in St. Margaret’s, and were buried on the 26th in the churchyard of that parish.”

3.*—“Mr. Yarrington, of this city, plumber and glazier, has presented the Dean and Chapter of Norwich with a valuable piece of stained glass, a portrait of the Virgin, which has been placed in the west window of the Cathedral.”

6.—A great cocking match lasting two days commenced at Yarmouth, between the gentlemen of that town and of Norwich.  Yarmouth won eleven mains and five byes, and Norwich nine mains and seven byes.  “The feeder for Norwich (Nash) proved the excellence of his management.  On Wednesday evening the Norwich cock was pounded and taken by Nash, and from the superiority of his condition afterwards won the battle.  In the second pit the same evening one of the Norwich cocks had his thigh broken in the first part of the battle, and afterwards fought two hours, and at one time brought the odds from ten to one against him to the same odds in his favour.  He, however, eventually lost.  This battle would have been withdrawn, but as the money depended upon it they were induced to continue it.”

p. 2127.—Mr. Heber, “the very eminent book collector and M.P. for the University of Oxford,” dined with the Bishop of Norwich at the Palace, and on the following morning proceeded to Blickling to inspect the library at the hall.

8.—A cricket match between eleven members of the Holt club and the first eleven of the Nottingham club, commenced at Nottingham, and owing to unfavourable weather was protracted to the 11th.  Scores: Nottingham, 109-91; Holt, 52-43.  “Bets to the amount of several thousand pounds were dependent upon the match.”

11.—His Majesty the King passed off Yarmouth on his voyage to Scotland.  “About half past five o’clock two steam tugs were seen with the Royal yacht in tow, and thousands of persons crowded to the jetty and beach.”  The vessels steered a course outside the Roads; but the Perseverance yawl put off with thirty persons on board, “and had the good fortune to fall in with the yacht as it was weathering the Newarp floating light.  The company in the boat gave four cheers for the King, who came on board and returned the salutation.”  On his return voyage on Saturday, August 31st, his Majesty passed through the Roads, and the yacht came close in shore.  “His Majesty was greatly disappointed in not receiving a supply of fresh provisions which had been previously ordered to be ready for him on his arrival off the town.  The letter arrived two hours after the King had passed.”

12.—Marshland free bridge and causeway were opened for the use of the public.  A procession, led by the carriage of Mr. Thomas Hoseason, and followed by those of Sir Thomas Hare, Mr. Anthony Hamond, and others started from the South Gates, Lynn, preceded by a band of music.  On the arrival of the procession at the foot of the bridge the horses were taken out of Mr. Hoseason’s carriage and men who had been employed on the works dragged it over the bridge and causeway.  After a congratulatory speech by Mr. Hoseason, luncheon was provided for 200 guests at the expense of the directors.  In the evening a dinner was given at the Freemasons’ Tavern, and on the marshes belonging to Mr. W. Goddard, at West Lynn, a fair for stock was held for the first time, a sheep roasted, and several barrels of beer given away.

17.*—“Thorogood, one of the proprietors of the Times coach from Norwich to London, has actually driven the whole distance, 116 miles, and been in both those cities every day for more than a twelvemonth, an instance of laborious perseverance altogether unparalleled.”

19.—Lee Sugg, the ventriloquist, who had been before the public for half a century as a performer, gave his entertainment at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich.

29.—This being the anniversary of the Decollation of St. John the usual formalities were observed at the election of the Mayor, chamberlain, and churchwardens of Yarmouth.  The inquest was locked up at twelve noon, and did not come to a decision until next morning at 7.30, when the following officers were returned: Mayor, Mr. Isaac Preston; churchwardens, Messrs. Robert Cory and Danby Palmer; chamberlain, Mr. James Lawes.

SEPTEMBER.

9.—At Thorpe Water Frolic a match was sailed by nine boats for p. 213a silver cup, gave by Mr. Harvey.  Rowing matches followed, and “the banks of the Yare were thronged beyond all precedency with genteel company.”

12.—A meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, for the purpose of furthering the scheme for making Norwich a port, in accordance with the plans prepared by Mr. William Cubitt, C.E.  On the motion of Mr. Crisp Brown, seconded by Mr. Joseph Geldart, it was agreed to open a subscription for carrying the plans into effect, and formal notice was given of the introduction of the Bill into Parliament.  (See December 21st, 1822.)

14.*—“Died last week in Norwich, well stricken in years, Mr. James Paston, a comedian of considerable talent, many years a performer in the Norfolk and Suffolk Company, and was much admired in that circuit as an actor.”

25.—A camping match took place at Worstead between ten men of the Blofield Hundred and ten of the Tunstead and Happing Hundred.  It terminated in favour of the former.  “A poor old man, who had repaired thither to see the sport, fell down and expired on the spot.”

27.—A deputation of journeyman weavers presented Mr. John Harvey with a silver vase, subscribed for by 2,300 persons, “in testimony of the high esteem in which they regarded him as a liberal patron and spirited promoter of the manufactures of his native city of Norwich, and as a small tribute of gratitude for the many acts of kindness he had manifested towards them on various occasions.”

30.—Mr. David Fisher’s season terminated at Swaffham Theatre.  “With the close of the season has ended the use of the present Theatre, which is to be pulled down and a new one on a more extended and improved scale erected.”

—A dinner was given at the Town Hall, Lynn, by the Mayor-elect, Mr. Edward Everard.  The company present included, among others, Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., the Marquis of Tichfield, M.P., Col. Walpole, M.P., &c.  “Some pointed remarks fell from both parties, and Mr. Coke made some remarks which called forth some observations from Mr. Wodehouse.”  Alderman Blencowe proposed “the health of Lady Anne,” and Mr. Coke, in reply, said “it was extremely natural that he should wish for a son and heir to the Holkham estate, but declared that rather than his son should prove a Tory he should wish not to have a son at all.”

—A serious accident occurred at Yarmouth on the occasion of the dinner given by the Mayor-elect.  As the company were entering the Town Hall a salute was fired from some “swivels” laid on the Quay, one of which burst and severely wounded seven or eight lads.  From the effects of the terrible injuries he received, one of the lads died next day.

OCTOBER.

1.—H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex arrived at Lynn on his way to Holkham Hall.  A meeting of the Corporation was held, at which his Royal Highness was enrolled a free burgess of the borough.  Luncheon was served at the Town Hall, and “the Mayor presented that exquisite relic of antiquity, King John’s cup, filled with wine, of which his Royal Highness partook.”

p. 2141.—Died, in his 81st year, at Westacre High House, Mr. Anthony Hamond.  “He lived a life of extraordinary activity, and rode the foremost in the coursing as well as in the hunting field on the most spirited horses, even to a few weeks of his death.  He was born at South Woodton, near Lynn, and succeeded his uncle, Mr. Richard Hamond, in possession of his extensive landed property.  By the female line he was related to the Duke and Princess Sophia of Gloucester, the late Earl of Orford, and the present Marquis Cholmondeley, his grandmother being sister of Sir Robert Walpole.  He was the only surviving original member of the Swaffham Coursing Society, established in 1779.  He served the office of Sheriff of Norfolk in 1792, and leaves surviving three sons and two daughters.”

2.—M. Chalon, the famous French conjurer, performed at the Norwich Theatre.

8.—The Norfolk and Norwich Literary Institution was founded at a meeting held at the Guildhall.  The rooms of the institution were at a house in the Haymarket.

12.*—“A short time since as two gentlemen of Norwich were fishing at Halvergate, they caught a pike which weighed twenty-two ounces and measured twenty-three inches in length; in the body of which they found a weasel in a perfect state, which weighed six ounces and measured twelve inches in length.”

13.—During a terrible gale the Revenue cutter Ranger, Capt. John Sayers, was lost off Happisburgh with 30 of her crew.  Capt. Sayer was appointed to the command of the Lapwing cutter in 1807, and of the Ranger in 1809.  The latter vessel was wrecked within 50 yards of the spot where another Revenue cutter, the Hunter, was lost some years previously.  Allegations, the truth of which was denied, were made that the inhabitants of Happisburgh shamefully neglected the signals of distress made by the Ranger.  “The shrieks of the crew,” it was said, “were heard distinctly on the shore, yet no attempt was made to rescue.”

15.—A “grand music meeting” commenced in Norwich, and concluded on the 18th.  Evening concerts were given at the Theatre, and morning performances in the Hall Concert Room, St. George’s.  The managers were Messrs. A. and E. Pettet, and the principal vocal performers M. Sapio, Mr. Beale, and Madame Camporese.

18.—Died, aged 51, Daniel Coppin, of St. Catherine’s Plain, Norwich.  He was a member of the Norwich Society of Artists, and was principally known for his highly creditable studies from Opie.

28.—Two men named Grint, a dyer, and Purdy, a weaver, “neither of whom had any pretensions to pugilistic science,” fought for an hour near Bishop Bridge, Norwich, until Purdy became insensible, and three days afterwards died.  Grint was committed for trial, and at the Norwich Summer Assizes, in 1823, was found guilty, and sentenced by Mr. Justice Blossett to three months’ imprisonment.

31.—The chandling office of Messrs. Staff and Chamberlin, St. Martin-at-Palace, Norwich, was destroyed by fire.  “Several hogsheads of tallow and a large quantity of candles were melted and ran down the streets in a stream into the river, from the surface of which more than ten cwt. was skimmed off by persons in boats.”

p. 215NOVEMBER.

4.—Mr. Harvey was presented by the Corporation with a massive silver candelabrum in recognition of his impartial and honourable conduct as Steward and Recorder of Norwich during the period of 40 years, and of his zeal on all occasions for the interests of the city.

5.—Mutton of the best quality was sold in Lynn Market at 3d. per pound.  On the 6th Mr. Martin, butcher, sold mutton at 2½d. per pound.

9.*—“Lately was launched from Mr. Bottomley’s yard in South Lynn a ship of 600 tons burden with figure-head and quarter galleries, built for the Jamaica trade.  She was called the Marlborough.”

—The Phœnix new night coach from the Star Inn, Market Place, Norwich, left on Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday, at four o’clock and arrived at the Bull Inn, Aldgate, at eight in the morning.  It was advertised on this date as the property of Ann Nelson and Sons and Thomas Ridley and Co.

—Died at Coltishall, aged 77, Mr. William Palgrave, an alderman of Yarmouth, who served the office of Mayor of that borough in 1782 and 1805.

26.—A grand moving panorama of the battle of Genappe, St. Helena, &c., was opened in Mr. Noverre’s room, St. Michael-at-Plea, Norwich.

28.—Died at Doughty’s Hospital, in his 63rd year, John Swan, for many years an inhabitant of St. Peter Mancroft.  “In the former part of his life he acted as watchman and parish constable.  Being of athletic make, of a stern countenance, and possessing a sonorous, rough voice he excited terror and commanded obedience to his authority.  He was several years one of the appointed trumpeters for sounding before the judges in the Assize week, and also for attending at Thetford on the same occasion.”

29.—An inquest was held at Loddon by Mr. Pilgrim, coroner, on the body of James Dale, who was killed the preceding day by a patient in the private lunatic asylum kept by Mr. Jollye, surgeon.  The deceased, a keeper, incautiously laid down the carving knife which he was using at the dinner table, when the patient snatched it up and stabbed him in the left breast, killing him instantly.

30.—Lloyd’s Equestrian Troupe commenced a season’s engagement at the Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich.

DECEMBER.

1.—H.R.H. the Duke of York passed through Norwich on returning from a visit to Houghton Hall.

—Died at Downham Market, Mrs. Pidgeon.  “This venerable person was 89 years of age, and what is remarkable she never had any other place of residence than the one she died in, and expired upon the same bed on which she was born.”

6.—Sir Jacob Astley’s hounds drew at Ringstead and chased a fox to within a mile of Fakenham, a distance of 16 miles, when the hounds p. 216became at fault.  “Reynard was spied upon the tiles of a cottage, when a general cry was raised to spare him.  The huntsman dismounted and caught him as he slipped off the tiles by the cottage door, and drove him in, when he was secured and saved and taken home in a sack for another day’s sport.”

7.—A panorama illustrating Lord Exmouth’s victory over the Algerines was exhibited in a wooden building specially erected on the Castle ditches, Norwich.  It was described as “the peristrephic or moving panorama,” and was invented by the exhibitors, Messrs. Marshall.

12.—Died at Hampstead Park, Berkshire, the seat of the Earl of Craven, Mr. John Brunton, aged 82.  “He was father of the late Mrs. Merry, of the present Lady Craven, and of Mr. John Brunton, manager of the West London Theatre.  He was a native of Norwich, and for many years patentee and manager of the Norwich Theatre, in which situation he was highly esteemed for his judicious and liberal conduct.  He was a superior actor, and in the characters of Lear, Iago, Evander, and The Stranger but few excelled him.”

21.*—“We understand that Mr. Telford, successor to the late Mr. Rennie, has delivered a report on the proposed plan for making Norwich a port, in which he bears ample testimony to the satisfactory nature of Mr. Cubitt’s professional investigations and remarks.”  Mr. John Harvey, chairman of the committee for carrying the project into execution, forwarded to the Mayor of Yarmouth a copy of Mr. Telford’s report, and received in reply an assurance that the Corporation of Yarmouth would do everything in its power to oppose an undertaking “which was pregnant with the most ruinous consequences to the navigation of that port and to the trading interests of the town and neighbourhood.”  (See January 21st, 1823.)

26.—Lady Anne Coke gave birth to a son and heir at Holkham.  The infant was christened at the town house of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., Hanover Square, on June 21st, 1823, when their Royal Highnesses the Dukes of Sussex and Gloucester stood sponsors, and Lady Andover godmother.  The ceremony was performed by the Lord Bishop of Norwich.

1823.

JANUARY.

1.—At the Norwich Adjourned Quarter Sessions, the magistrates decided to build a new gaol on a piece of ground outside St. Giles’ Gates.  On February 23rd the Corporation granted to the justices a lease of the site, five acres in extent, for 500 years, at the annual rent of £50.  At a full assembly of the magistrates on August 26th the tenders of Messrs. Mears and Blyth for building the new gaol in accordance with plans prepared by Mr. Barnes, for the sum of £17,395, were accepted.

p. 2172.—The coming of age of Mr. Henry Jerningham, eldest son of Sir George and Lady Jerningham, was celebrated at Costessey Park with great rejoicings.

3.—Pursuant to requisition signed by 540 occupiers of land, &c., in the county the High Sheriff of Norfolk (Sir R. P. Jodrell), convened a meeting at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, “for the purpose of taking into consideration the severe and unprecedented distresses of agriculture and the best means of relieving them.”  The High Sheriff presided, supported by the county members, Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse.  Mr. Cobbett was in the body of the Hall, and great confusion prevailed at intervals.  Mr. Alderman Thurtell moved a string of resolutions in favour of the reduction of taxation and the abolition of needless and, therefore, useless places, pensions, and sinecures, such a reduction of the National Debt as was required; and the total repeal of the Malt and Beer taxes, which would relieve heavy burdens and encourage the growth of barley.  Mr. George Watson seconded the resolutions.  Mr. Cobbett, amid great uproar, then moved, as an amendment to Mr. Thurtell’s resolutions, that a petition be presented to Parliament containing among other suggestions the following: the appropriation of part of the public property, commonly called Church property, to be applied to the liquidation of the National Debt; the abolition of the standing army; the total abolition of sinecure pensions, grants, and emoluments; the sale of numerous public estates commonly called Crown lands, and the application of the money towards the liquidation of the public debt; to suspend by law for one year all distraints for rents; to suspend all processes for tithes for the same period, and all processes arising out of mortgages effected on houses or land; and to repeal the taxes on malt, hops, leather, soap, and candles.  Not three-fourths of the audience were able to hear the reading of the petition, but it was adopted, and the resolutions moved by Mr. Thurtell negatived by at least twenty to one.  Mr. Cobbett, at the close of the meeting, stood forward and said this was the greatest triumph he had ever had; it was their triumph also—the triumph of truth and sound principles.  Subsequently meetings were held in the various Hundreds of the county “to disavow the Norwich proceedings of the 3rd,” and “to express abhorrence and detestation of the revolutionary doctrines promulgated, and the measures of fraud and spoliation recommended for legislative adoption.”  On March 8th the Norfolk Chronicle published the following paragraph: “Norfolk Petition.  Serious loss.  We understand the county has been so unfortunate as to be deprived of its Petition by some daring depredator who had the audacity to steal it from the coach by which it was sent to London about a fortnight ago.  The most diligent search has been made for this important document, but without success.”

4.*—“We have been called upon by several gentlemen who were witnesses of the circumstance to notice the very reprehensible conduct of the persons who drove the Day and Times coaches into this city on Tuesday evening.  These coaches had been racing on the road, and proceeded at such a rapid rate that they reached Norwich at a quarter before five o’clock, having performed the journey from London, 112 miles, in less than eleven hours.”

11.—Master Hubbard, “the scissor artist,” exhibited his proficiency in cutting out profiles in paper at Norwich.

p. 21811.—At a fire which occurred at Blackthorn Farm, Diss, in the occupation of Mr. John Elsey, a chimney fell and killed John Gardiner and William Tipple.  Two other persons were severely injured.

16.—Married at Lakenham church, by the Rev. George Carter, Mr. George Thurtell, son of Mr. Alderman Thurtell, to Miss Edwards.

—Married at North Walsham, by the Rev. W. F. Wilkinson, Mr. George Fisher, of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians, to Miss Marianne Nickless, niece of Mrs. Saul, of that place.

20.—A coach commenced running from the Crown Tavern, Lynn, every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning by Swaffham and Dereham to Norwich.  It returned from Norwich viâ Hingham, Watton, and Swaffham.  Another coach set out from the White Swan, Norwich, every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday morning at eleven o’clock, and travelled by Dereham and Swaffham to meet the Stamford coach at Lynn.  It returned after the arrival of the Stamford coach, by Swaffham, Watton, and Hingham.

21.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by the Mayor (Mr. Robert Hawkes), it was resolved, on the motion of Mr. John Harvey seconded by Mr. Crisp Brown, and unanimously agreed, that direct and improved communication with the sea was an object of the first importance to the future prosperity of the city; that the plan for an open harbour at Lowestoft be approved; that application be made to Parliament for carrying the undertaking into execution; and that a subscription for the purpose based on shares of £100 each be immediately opened.  On February 8th a letter from the fishing masters, boatmen, and pilots to Mr. Harvey, expressing the hope that the proposed plan would be of the greatest benefit to the city of Norwich as well as to the town of Lowestoft, was published.

24.—Capt. Hayes, “the Father of the British Army,” was entertained at the Star Inn, Norwich, on the anniversary of his entrance into the service.  He had served 62 years.

25.—It was announced that Messrs. W. and M. Stark, manufacturers, of Norwich, had completed an establishment for carrying into operation the patent of Mr. J. F. Smith, of Dunston Hall, Chesterfield, in the method of finishing bombazines and other silk and worstead goods.

FEBRUARY.

1.—Died, Mrs. Browne, formerly of the Theatre Royal, Norwich, and mother of Mrs. J. Brunton.

—A new drama, entitled “The Fortunes of Nigel, or King James the First and his Times,” founded upon Mr. Scott’s novel, and written by Mr. Edward Ball, formerly of Norwich, was produced at Norwich Theatre for the first time.

—An action “of an entirely novel description to Norfolk” was tried in the Sheriffs’ court at Norwich, “Jonathan Wrench v. the men inhabiting the Hundred of Holt in Norfolk.”  It was brought for the purpose of ascertaining the amount of damage the plaintiff had sustained by having a stack of corn destroyed by fire through the act of an incendiary.  It was enacted by 9th George I. c 22, that the owner of property so injured was entitled to recover an amount not p. 219exceeding £200 from the inhabitants of the Hundred in which the property was situate on complying with the requirements of the Act, namely by giving notice within two days after the commission of the offence “to some of the inhabitants near unto the place where any such act shall be committed, and within four days after such notice that statement be made before a justice of the peace.”  It was admitted that the requirements of the Act had been complied with, and a verdict was given for the plaintiff—damages £143 15s.

2.—A congregation of about 120 persons, “of the sect commonly called Ranters,” were assembled for worship in a room adjoining the City of Norwich public-house, St. Stephen’s, Norwich, when the floor gave way and the whole were precipitated into a cellar nine feet deep.  Twenty-five received material injury and were conveyed to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.  Four were suffering from fractured limbs, and one person had his leg amputated.

10.—A trotting match took place between a brown mare, the property of Mr. William Day, of St. Stephen’s, and a mare owned by Mr. J. Harper, auctioneer,—stakes £10, distance two miles.  Ned Painter rode Mr. Harper’s mare and the brown had her owner up.  “They started from Earlham toll-gate, and within a short distance of the starting post Mr. Day’s mare broke into a gallop, and she had to turn back.  By this circumstance she was dead beat.”

15.—Owing to the frequency with which a number of trunks, measuring 28 inches long, 13 inches wide, and 12 inches deep, had been sent from the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, by the Telegraph coach to London, suspicion was aroused at the coach office, and directions were given that the porter bringing the next be detained and the parcel examined.  This was done on the 15th, when it was found that the package contained the dead and naked body of an old man.  The Rev. George Carter, vicar of Lakenham, identified the body as that of a man named Brundall whom he had buried a few days previously.  Brundall’s grave was examined and it was found that only the coffin and the shroud remained.  From information given by the porter, two men named Collins and Crowe were apprehended and committed for trial at the Quarter Sessions.  On July 15th they were tried, found guilty, and sentenced to three months’ imprisonment, and to pay a fine of £50.

MARCH.

8.—Messrs. Marshall’s panorama of the battle of Trafalgar and the death of Nelson was exhibited at Norwich.

31.—“A serio-comic Mill-Dramatic Farcical, Moral Burletta, called ‘The Tread Mill, or Tom and Jerry at Brixton,’” was produced at Norwich Theatre.  “An exact representation of a tread mill with culprits at work made a goodly show in the lower circle, crowded the gallery, and filled the pit to the excess of squeezing.”

APRIL.

2.*—(Advt.)  “It having been represented that there are well-founded grounds of apprehension that some mad dogs have made p. 220their appearance in different parts of the city and neighbourhood of Norwich by whom several other dogs have been bitten, the Mayor hereby recommends all of the inhabitants who have dogs immediately to cause them to be tied up or otherwise confined, as in case of their continuing to suffer them to be in the streets, an order will be issued for their being killed” (sic).

5.—The Rev. Chancellor Yonge, as one of the Visiting Justices of Swaffham Bridewell, reported to the Home Secretary, in reply to inquiries made respecting the use of the tread-wheel, “it has been in use here about four months, and during that time no injurious effects whatever have been experienced to the health of the prisoners.  There have been in general a large number of prisoners and they have been very healthy, which may in some measure be owing to the regular exercise on the tread-wheel.  The exercise of the tread-wheel is very salutary.”

—*(Advt.)  “The annual great main of cocks between the gentlemen of Norwich and Northamptonshire for £5 a battle and £200 the odd, will be fought at the White Swan Inn, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, on Tuesday, April 22nd, and two following days.  A silver tankard will be fought for by 16 subscribers.  No cock to exceed four pounds ten ounces.  The above to be fought in fair silver spurs, and to commence fighting each day at twelve o’clock.  Feeders: Nash for Northampton, Skipper for Norwich.”

—At noon William Bray, aged 20, was executed at the foot of the bridge, Castle Hill, Norwich, for a burglary at Shouldham.  “Almost continually night and day he was crying out to God for mercy in so lamentable a manner as to leave little room for religious impressions.  His parents were too poor to send for his remains, which were interred the same day in St. Michael-at-Thorn churchyard.”

11.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, the county justices appointed a committee to consider the best means of procuring the holding of the Lent Assizes at Norwich instead of at Thetford.  On April 14th the Norwich Corporation petitioned his Majesty in favour of two gaol deliveries each year.  (The Norfolk Chronicle contained the following editorial note: “The holding of the Lent Assizes for Norfolk at Thetford has been long and justly complained of as a serious grievance.  It is high time to put an end to the disgraceful scene annually exhibited of a body of criminals being exposed in open waggons from Norwich to Thetford, and there congregated for a week without regard to age or crime.”)

16.—Died at Great Malvern, Mrs. Bathurst, wife of the Lord Bishop of Norwich.

23.—On the occasion of the celebration of the King’s birthday, the members of the Norwich Light Horse Volunteers presented to Lieut.-Col. Harvey “a valuable scymetar, in recognition of his services during the 26 years that he had commanded the corps.”

25.—Pursuant to requisition a meeting was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by the Mayor, “to take into consideration the state of the British West Indian Colonies with the view to the gradual and complete abolition of slavery.”  Resolutions were passed in favour of the movement.

p. 22130.—A man who sold sand about the streets of Norwich drove his cart and pair of horses up the flight of ten steps, leading from Davey Place to the Castle ditches.  “The horses did it with much ease and without receiving any injury, to the astonishment of the spectators.”

—A singular case came before the Mayor of Norwich.  A man named Stebbings had sold his wife to a person named Turner for £6 10s., who, having paid down £4 on account, took home his “bargain” and brutally turned his lawful wife out of doors.  On Mrs. Turner applying to the court for relief, the parties were summoned before the Mayor, who obliged Turner to relinquish his bargain and Stebbings to support his own wife.

MAY.

1.—Four candidates were nominated for the Mayoralty of Norwich, and the polling resulted as follows: Alderman Patteson, 835; Alderman Francis, 774; Alderman Leman, 101; Alderman Yallop, 94.  Mr. Patteson was returned by the Court of Aldermen on May 3rd.

3.—At a quarterly assembly of the Norwich Corporation, it was resolved that a former order for taking toll for cattle standing for sale on the Castle Meadow be rescinded.

5.—A great main of cocks was fought at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, on this and the three following days between the gentlemen of Norfolk and the gentlemen of Herefordshire.  The stakes were five guineas a battle and 200 guineas the odd battle.  The feeders were Burn for Herefordshire, Lamb for Norfolk.  Herefordshire won by ten in the main and three in the byes.

12.—Messrs. Stannard, Athow, De Carle, Wright, and Coleman, of Norwich, became the purchasers of Wanstead House, Essex, which was sold by auction on this date.  The amount given was £10,000, and one of the conditions of sale was that the purchaser or purchasers should clear everything away even to the foundation by Lady Day, 1825.  The purchasers “absolutely sold a pair of marble chimney pieces for 300 guineas before they left the room.  Thus is sacrificed on the shrine of extravagance and gambling, a mansion which cost in its erection more than £360,000, and which has no equal in the county of Essex.”

13.—The first annual dinner of the Norfolk Society in London was held at the City of London Tavern.  The objects of the society were: to afford means of social intercourse between persons connected with the county residing in London; to promote by mutual co-operation the general interests of its members; and to form a fund for the relief, education, or apprenticeship of such objects of charity as the society considered suitable.

22.—Died, aged 55, Mr. Thomas Coldwell, postmaster of Norwich, and a common councilman of the Great Mancroft Ward.

23.—A cricket match was played at Hockwold-cum-Wilton between 11 married and 11 single females for eleven pairs of gloves.  The match terminated in favour of the former.  “The parties were dressed in jackets and trousers tastefully decorated with blue ribbands.”

27.—Married at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, by the Rev. John p. 222Bowman, Mr. James Vining, of Norwich Theatre, to Miss Caroline Holmes, daughter of Mr. George Holmes, of Burstall Hall, Suffolk.

29.—In celebration of the Restoration of Charles II. the Mayor and Corporation of Yarmouth attended service at St Nicholas’ Church, the ships in the harbour were “dressed,” and a salute was fired from the fort at noon.

JUNE.

2.—A curious incident occurred at the Fighting Cocks Inn, Winfarthing.  “A large cock, of the true fighting breed, attacked a beautiful child, of a year and a half old, belonging to the family of the landlord, and wounded him in several places in the head and face, and if timely assistance had not been at hand there is little doubt that he would have repeated his attacks till he had deprived him of his sight, if not his life.  The cock was killed immediately.”

4.—A new melo-drama, entitled “Eugenio, or the Secrets of the Abbey,” written by Mr. J. Bambridge, a native of the city, was performed at Norwich Theatre for the first time.

5.—Mr. Marker Graze was appointed Postmaster of Norwich, in place of Mr. Thomas Coldwell, deceased.

11.—The theatrical season ended at Norwich.  The benefit receipts were as follow: Mr. Smith (manager), £146; Mr. Thorne, £54; Mr. Vining, £118; Mr. Clifford, £87; Mr. G. Smith, £72; Mrs. Jones, £105; Messrs. Wharton and Hamerton, £35; Miss Brunton, £70; Miss Wensley, £72; Mr. Beacham, £79; Mr. and Mrs. Sloman, £130; Mr. Harrison, £62; Mr. Henderson, £53; Mr. Bennett, £111; Miss Glover, £45; Mr. Benson £56; Mr. and Mrs. Osbaldiston, £134; Mr. Hunt, £86; Miss Tubby, £111; Messrs. Wharton and Hamerton (second benefit in consequence of wet weather on the previous occasion), £75; Mr. Simpson and Miss Adcock, £35.  Total, £1,738; average, £82 15s.

16.—A prize fight took place near Wymondham for £5 a side between Gales and Dann.  “After a hard milling contest of more than an hour, during which 70 rounds were fought without the least display of skill or science, Dann was obliged to give in.”

17.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Recorder, Aldermen, and Sheriffs went in their carriages to the mansion of the Mayor-elect (Mr. J. S. Patteson) in Magdalen Street, and partook of “an elegant dejeune”; they next proceeded to the house of the Mayor (Mr. R. Hawkes), “with whom they took some refreshment,” and then to the Cathedral, where the Mayor’s Chaplain, the Rev. William Frederick Patteson, preached.  George Steward, second son of Mr. Alderman Steward, delivered the Latin oration at the Free School porch.  After the ceremony at the Guildhall Mr. Patteson entertained 650 guests at the Guild feast, and 500 at the ball at Chapel Field House.

20.—The House of Commons in Committee of Supply granted £2,000 to Capt. Manby for his services in saving the lives of shipwrecked seamen.

24.—Died at Thetford, aged 70, Mr. Shelford Bidwell, who had served many times as Mayor of the borough, and was a great benefactor of the poor.

p. 22329.—Died at Acle, aged 59, Samuel Morris.  “He was generally known as ‘Old Sam.’  For many years he delivered letters from the post office there, and he must have travelled some thousands of miles on foot.  On various occasions when he might have made the delivery on horseback he invariably walked, and being furnished with a red guard’s coat he was frequently dignified with the appellation of the ‘Scarlet Runner.’”

30.—Died in St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, aged 60, Matthew Joy.  “This poor man was known by the appellation of ‘The Walking Baker,’ and for the last eleven years of his life used to carry a large basket of bread, about eight stones weight, upon his shoulders to several villages, walking no less than 20 miles per day.  He walked in all about 68,440 miles.”

JULY.

1.—At a meeting held at the Swan Inn, Norwich, at which Mr. Dalrymple presided, resolutions were passed condemning the French invasion of Spain.  A subscription was opened “in aid of the suffering and heroic people of that country.”

11.—Died at Stiffkey, Col. Henry Loftus, of the Coldstream Guards, eldest son of General Loftus.  His remains were interred in the chancel of Rainham Church.

12.*—“The antient pastime of heron hawking is still carried on in this county.  Ten cast of hawks and four falconers, natives of Germany, to which country they repair annually in the autumn to catch a supply of hawks for the ensuing season, are kept at Didlington Hall, the seat of Major Wilson, near to which place is an extensive heronry.”

16.—Died at North Walsham, where he had some time resided for the benefit of his health, the Rev. Marmaduke Revell, aged 56.  “He was 23 years minister in the Methodist connexion, among whom he was a useful and zealous preacher of the Gospel, which he adorned by strict conformity to its precepts.”

19.—Mr. John Cross was elected assistant surgeon of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

22.—The Norfolk Rangers, under the command of Major Lord James Townshend, were inspected at Fakenham by Col. the Hon. John Wodehouse, his Majesty’s Lieutenant for the county.

24.—A troop of the 15th Hussars arrived at Norwich to relieve the troop of the 1st Royal Dragoons, who marched for York.

26.—A machine exemplifying perpetual motion was advertised to be exhibited at Mrs. Chesnut’s, St. Giles’, Norwich.  “This grand machine,” it was stated, “has been going ever since it was invented, now upwards of seven years, and will continue to go without any assistance whatever by power of its own balance and pivots, or, in other words, if the materials it is made of would last for ever.”  The Mayor made inquiries which proved the exhibition to be a deception, and prohibited its further stay in the city.

28.—Died, at the age of 110, Mr. John Lock, of Larling.  “He left behind him 130 children and grandchildren.”

p. 224AUGUST.

1.—The Norwich weavers held a demonstration in celebration of the success of their Spitalfields brethren in obtaining the decision of both Houses of Parliament upon the Spitalfields Act.  The clubs met in Chapel Field, and afterwards went in procession through the streets.

2.*—“Mr. Mueller, from the Haymarket Theatre, has succeeded Mr. Phillips as leader of the orchestra at the Theatre Royal, Norwich.”

—Died at Winchester, the Right Hon. Charles Frederick Powlett Townshend, Lord Bayning, of Honingham, aged 38.  His remains were conveyed to the King’s Head Inn, Wymondham, on the 12th, and were interred at Honingham on the 13th.  His lordship was succeeded by his only brother, the Hon. and Rev. Henry Townshend, Baron Bayning.

6.—Married, by special licence, by the Lord Bishop of Norwich, at the parish church, Costessey, Thomas Alexander Fraser, of Lovat and Strichen, to Charlotte Georgina, eldest daughter of Sir George Jerningham, Bart., Costessey Hall.  The marriage ceremony was previously performed in the chapel at the Hall, according to the rites of the Roman Catholic Church, by the Rev. Frederick Husenbeth, domestic chaplain to Sir George.  Soon after the service the bride and bridegroom left Costessey in their travelling barouche and four for Beaufort Castle, Inverness.

—In the presence of Lord Suffield, Col. Wodehouse, Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., Mr. Wodehouse, M.P., and other gentlemen, experiments were made on Mundesley beach with a new life-saving apparatus invented by Capt. Manby.  It consisted of “an airtight tin case encompassing the body beneath the armpits.”

12.—Mr. R. C. Harvey, an eminent agriculturist at Alburgh, near Harleston, held his first annual show and sale of stock.  Mr. Spelman, of Norwich, was the auctioneer, and the company, numbering 2,000, included the Marquis of Blandford, Lord Huntingfield, and some of the most distinguished agriculturists of the county.

—The Corporation of Norwich conferred the honorary freedom of the city on Col. the Hon. John Wodehouse, Lieutenant of the county.

16.*—“Died, lately, at Sheerness, Mr. Edward Quin, many years connected with the public press of the Metropolis, and formerly a member of the Common Council.  He was previously a respectable performer in the Norwich Company, under the theatrical name of Stanley.  He was the author of a tragedy called “Elmira,” which he published at Norwich, with some other works.  He was a native of Ireland.  The cause of his death was a stroke of apoplexy.  His body was found resting upon the wall from Sheerness to Queensborough long after he had ceased to breathe.”

23.—Mons. Alexandre appeared at Norwich Theatre in his ventriloquial entertainment, “The Rogueries of Nicholas.”

—*“Died, last week in London, Mr. Robert Mildenhall, comedian and freeman of Norwich, formerly of the Norwich Theatre.  He pursued his profession nearly to the end of his life, was happy in a great variety of characters, and a strictly honest man.”

p. 22525.—Thorpe Water Frolic, “instituted two years ago by Lieut.-Col. Harvey,” took place.  Ten thousand persons were present.

—Died at Hardingham, Mr. Hamond Alpe, aged 80.  He was Lieutenant-Colonel of the 2nd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry.

SEPTEMBER.

10.—The Yarmouth Court of Gaol Delivery was proclaimed to be held for the trial of two persons charged with robbery from a vessel upon the high seas within the Admiralty jurisdiction of that borough.  On such occasions the Mayor, Recorder, and Steward of Norwich were associated with the borough magistrates in forming the court.  The Mayor of Norwich and the Mayor of Yarmouth, with Mr. Robert Alderson, who was both Recorder of Yarmouth and Steward of Norwich, “in full legal dress,” with the magistrates and members of the Corporation, attended service, and afterwards proceeded to the Toll House, where the trial was conducted in due form.  “A similar instance of holding an Admiralty court for the trial of pirates and robbers has not occurred here since the reign of Charles I.”

13.*—“The Norwich Company of Comedians is about to lose one of its oldest and most efficient members.  Mr. Bennett quits the theatrical profession.  Having become proprietor of the Star Inn, Yarmouth, this able performer and respectable individual will doubtless on the stage of real life exercise that happy zeal, and we hope with equal success that happy art of pleasing which rendered him in the mimic scene so truly and deservedly a public favourite.”

20.—A mineral spring was reported to have been discovered on the estate of Mr. F. Wheatley at Mundesley.  The spring was situate about 600 yards from the edge of the cliff.

23.—A prize fight took place on Yarmouth Denes between two young men named Tennant and Pile.  The contest lasted about 45 minutes, when Pile received a blow which rendered him unconscious, and from the effects of which he died two days after.  At the Quarter Sessions in April, 1824, Tennant was sentenced to five months’, and the seconds, Christopher Parker and Bennet Paul, to one month’s imprisonment.

29.—The foundation-stone of the Rehobeth chapel, Union Place, Norwich, was laid by the Rev. R. G. Lemare.  The chapel was opened for divine service on December 25th.

OCTOBER.

4.—A shooting match between Mr. William Coke and Lord Kennedy for 200 sovereigns a side, play or pay, “who shoots and bags the greatest number of partridges in two days’ sport on September 26th and October 4th,” was decided.  Mr. Coke shot over his uncle’s manors in Norfolk, and Lord Kennedy over Sir William Maxwell’s lands at Monteith.  Mr. Coke on the first day bagged 80½ brace, and on the second day 90 brace.  Lord Kennedy on the first day killed 50 brace, and on the second day 82 brace.

p. 22611.—William Burton Peeling, a prisoner in Swaffham gaol, was endeavouring to hold a conversation with another prisoner in the adjoining division of the tread-mill, when he accidentally placed his head in the wheel, which drew him in and crushed him to death.

17.—The 8th King’s Royal Irish Hussars, commanded by Lieut.-Col. Westenra, were inspected at Norwich by Lord Edward Somerset, Inspector-General of Cavalry.

18.*—“Mr. Bellamy, well known as a favourite actor on the Norwich boards and late manager of the Theatre, is about to resume his professional career at Bath after a short retirement from the stage.”

22.—The first annual meeting of the Norfolk and Norwich Literary Institution was held in the society’s rooms in the Haymarket, Norwich, Lieut.-Col. Harvey, the president, in the chair.

25.*—“In consequence of directions given at the end of last year by the Hon. Fulke Greville Howard, one of the members for the most antient borough of Castle Rising, and who is also lord of the manor, the rubbish which had accumulated for ages in the great hall, where the court leet is held in the inward part of the castle or keep, having been cleared away, the bases of two pillars, which apparently supported an arch, were discovered, and likewise a well between these columns, 63 feet deep, in a very perfect state.  Many hundred cart loads of the ruins which had fallen in from above were removed before these interesting remains were laid open to view.”

26.—Died, Dr. W. B. Carter, assistant surgeon in the 8th King’s Royal Irish Hussars, whose remains were buried with military honours at St. Peter Mancroft church, Norwich, on the 30th.  The grave was dug at the lower extremity of the middle aisle, and the customary volleys were fired by a party of hussars stationed in the roadway between the great west door of the church and the entrance to the Swan Inn.

27.—The Norwich Pantheon was opened under the management of Mr. Kinloch, with his company from the Royal Amphitheatre, London.  “A real fox chase, with dogs, horses, fox, and hounds,” was the principal attraction.

31.—By virtue of a writ of mandamus granted by the Court of King’s Bench, the Norwich Court of Quarter Sessions was compelled to hear the appeal “the Churchwardens and Overseers of the Poor of the Hamlet of Lakenham, appellants, v. the Governor, Deputy-Governor, and others of the Court of Guardians of the City of Norwich, respondents.”  The appellants contended that the assessment made upon stock was not in accordance with the Act of Parliament, by virtue whereof the rate for the maintenance of the poor of Norwich was raised, and was unfair and inequitable.  It was stated in the course of the trial that the real estate of the city was valued at £54,041, that of the hamlets at £15,028; the personal property in the former was estimated at £99,800, and in the latter at £5,700.  The court confirmed the certificate, and dismissed the appeal.

—One of the most violent storms ever remembered occurred on this date, and resulted in many disasters on sea and land.  The whole of the coast of Norfolk was strewn with wrecks, many lives were lost, and much misery prevailed.  At Cromer the brig, Duchess of Cumberland, came ashore near the lighthouse, and notwithstanding p. 227the brave exertions of Mr. Buxton, Mr. Samuel Hoare, Mr. William Lukin, Mr. Windham, and other gentlemen, to effect their rescue the crew of sixteen perished.  Among the most remarkable of the incidents on land was the subsidence of a cottage at Corpusty.  The occupier, Robert Faircloth, and two women felt the house in motion, rushed out, and a few seconds afterwards “saw it sink out of sight into the bowels of the earth, leaving a vacuum of several feet deep above it which presently filled with water.”

NOVEMBER.

1.*—“Died very recently in London, aged 62, Mr. William Perowne, formerly an actor in the Phœnix Company.  He was a truly honest and industrious man.”

8.—Died at Yarmouth, Mr. Luke Waller, in the 105th year of his age.

22.—A meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, under the presidency of the Hon. John Wodehouse, Vice-Admiral of the county, at which it was decided to form a society for saving the lives of shipwrecked mariners on the coast of Norfolk.  At an adjourned meeting on December 13th it was agreed to place lifeboats immediately at Yarmouth, Winterton, Blakeney, &c.

30.—Married, at Walcot church, Bath, Mr. Frederick Henry Yates, of Charlotte Street, London, to Miss Brunton, daughter of Mr. John Brunton, of Norwich.

DECEMBER.

1.—The “extravaganzic burletta” entitled “Tom and Jerry” was produced at the Pantheon, Norwich.  It was described as “an animated picture deprived through the filtering stone of the proprietor’s character and career, of all that might offend even the most fastidious imagination.”

6.—Messrs. J. and W. Wiggens advertised their Phenomena coach to run from the Angel Inn, Norwich, every morning at a quarter to six and to arrive at the Bull Inn, Aldgate, at seven o’clock the same evening.

9.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, presided over by the Mayor (Mr. J. S. Patteson), it was resolved to petition the House of Commons for the repeal of the duty on coals carried coastwise.

20.*—“The portrait of Mr. William Hankes, Mayor of Norwich in 1817, painted by Mr. Clint, has lately been placed in St. Andrew’s Hall.”

—Drake, a showman, advertised the exhibition “in a commodious theatre upon the Castle ditches, Norwich,” of a performing elephant, a boa constrictor, and a sea serpent alive, “which was discovered when they were in search of the great one, and is supposed by the most moderate calculation to measure more than 300 feet in length.  It is asserted by the Linnean Society that this is of the same breed as the large one.”

p. 22830.—Some remarkable vaults—the disused workings of ancient chalk pits—were discovered on the property of Mr. Sendall, near St. Giles’ Gates, Norwich.  They were 35 feet beneath the surface, and extended in various directions.  The vaults were thrown open for public inspection and illuminated with coloured lamps.

1824.

JANUARY.

1.—At a public meeting, held at Calvert Street chapel, it was decided to erect a second Wesleyan Methodist chapel in Norwich.  A subscription was opened, and £600 contributed.  The foundation-stone of the new (Lady Lane) chapel was laid on April 14th by the Rev. William Gilpin, superintendent of the Norwich circuit; and the building was opened for worship on October 21st by the Rev. R. Newton, president of the Methodist Conference, the Rev. John Anderson, of London, and the Rev. Mr. Farrar, of Leeds.

2.—Persistent efforts were made this year to obtain the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich.  At a meeting of the county magistrates on January 2nd, it was decided to present an address to the Lord Chancellor and Mr. Secretary Peel, representing the inconvenience and ill consequences resulting from the then existing arrangement.  At a quarterly assembly of the Corporation of Norwich on February 24th, a committee was appointed to co-operate with the county justices, and a petition to the House of Commons and a memorial to the Lord Chancellor were prepared.  On June 5th the city petition received the seal of the Mayor, and on June 11th Lord Suffield, in the House of Lords, presented the petition from the Norfolk magistrates.  It stated that the prisoners were carried in open carts through the towns and villages, guarded by soldiers, and “it was not long since that they were exhibited as sights, one shilling being charged to see convicts of the second and third degree, and two shillings or more for condemned felons.”  There was a dungeon at Thetford, thirteen feet below the surface of the ground, measuring eighteen feet by nine feet, and eight and a half feet in height, and in this cell upon one occasion no less than seventeen persons were placed to sleep.  The Lord Chancellor intimated that the subject was under consideration, and the petition was ordered to be printed.  On August 7th the announcement was made that the Lieutenant of the county had received a letter from the Lord Chancellor, stating that the twelve Judges had unanimously decided against the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford.  At the Summer Assizes on August 11th, the Grand Jury for the county presented an address to the Judges expressing regret at their decision, and pointing out that the chief benefits contemplated by the recent Act of Parliament for the regulation of gaols must be in a great degree frustrated by a continuance of the then state of things in Norfolk.  “The late city calendar,” p. 229said the Norfolk Chronicle, “furnishes no less than three cases of exceptional long confinement before trial; namely, one person for more than twelve months, who has been acquitted, and two others in custody upwards of eleven months against whom no true bills were found.”

16.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions at Norwich, the magistrates agreed that the whole of Mr. Wilkin’s plan for erecting a new gaol at Norwich Castle be carried into execution.  It was understood that the entire cost of the Shirehall and prison would not exceed £46,000.

24.—Great sensation was caused in Norwich by the trial and execution at Hertford of John Thurtell for the murder of Mr. Wear on October 24th, 1823.  The execution took place on January 9th, and on the 24th was published in the Norfolk Chronicle a letter received by Mr. Alderman Thomas Thurtell, of Norwich, the father of the culprit, from Mr. Robert Sutton, High Sheriff of Hertfordshire, in which the writer commiserated with him in his great affliction.  In the same paper was another letter addressed by Mr. N. Bolingbroke, of Norwich, to the High Sheriff of Hertfordshire, in which he wrote: “It may appear to some that he (the father) has not acted with sufficient kindness of feeling towards his unhappy son; but you may be assured, Sir, that there was no part of his conduct which could not be satisfactorily explained.  He has generally acted under the advice of Mr. Unthank, a respectable solicitor in this city, my own, and others.  There are many actions in a man’s life of which no correct opinion can be formed without a knowledge of the motives by which such have been influenced.”

29.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of Lieut.-Col. Harvey, supported by Mr. E. Wodehouse, M.P., and Mr. T. F. Buxton, M.P., it was agreed to petition Parliament to carry into effect the resolutions passed in the previous Session of the House of Commons on the subject of colonial slavery.

FEBRUARY.

2.—A fine ship called the Colville, built for the India trade, was launched from the shipyard of Mr. William Bottomley, at Lynn.

4.—Thirty-two half ankers of Geneva, sixteen casks of tobacco, and six casks of tea were discovered in a vault in a plantation belonging to Lord Suffield by the coastguard stationed at Mundesley.

7.*—“In Norfolk the number of miles of turnpike road is 271.  The income per mile is £38; the expenditure per mile, £26; excess of income over expenditure, £12.”

—*“The following notice appeared in a Norwich paper about 60 years ago and affords a curious instance of the then stage coach celerity: ‘A wain will set off on Thursday from Norwich early in the morning and be in London on Saturday evening.’  Our coaches now perform the journey in 14 hours, and our fly waggons in 24 hours!”

19.—The eight bells of St. Margaret’s church, Lynn, hung by Messrs. T. and J. Hurry, of Norwich, were opened.

24.—To effect improvements in Willow Lane, Norwich, and to lay open to view the churchyard of St. Giles’, a lease was granted by p. 230the Corporation to Mr. Edward Browne, Messrs. Fountain and Cattermoul, Mr. William De Carle, and Mr. J. Wright, of certain premises in that lane, for a term of 99 years at the yearly rental of £42, they covenanting to lay out from £3,000 to £4,000 on the erection of suitable buildings under the direction of the Corporation Surveyor.

28.*—“Died, lately, in St. Giles’, Norwich, aged 78, Mr. Benjamin Guyton, who for many years followed what may justly be called the first of occupations—a gardener and horticulturist.  His skill in the knowledge and properties of plants and vegetables could only be equalled by his ingenuity in delineating with his pencil the curious productions of nature, particularly those of the insect tribe.  Some few specimens of his art, in the various species of papilio, are in the possession of some gentlemen in this city, who knew how to appreciate merit though found in an obscure individual moving in a humble sphere of life.”

—Died, “greatly and justly esteemed by all his old comrades and friends,” Capt. John Borrow, many years adjutant of the First or West Norfolk Regiment of Militia.

MARCH.

3.—At a meeting of manufacturers and others at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. John Harvey, resolutions were adopted expressing satisfaction with the proposal of the Government to reduce the duties on raw and thrown silks as well as on foreign wools; but they viewed with surprise and alarm the proposal to allow the free exportation of British wool, “as a consequence of supplying foreigners with the raw material must be to throw out of employment many thousands of the labouring poor.”

6.—Intelligence was received at Lynn of the death, which occurred on the 5th, of the Marquis of Titchfield, M.P.  A writ for the election of a new member was moved for in the House of Commons on the 9th, and two candidates, Lord John C. Bentinck, eldest brother of the deceased marquis, and successor to the title, and Sir William Browne ffolkes, Bart., immediately issued addresses.  The election took place on March 19th.  “Sir William ffolkes, after leaving the hustings, was carried in a chair round the Market Place and down High Street, he addressed the crowd from the window of his committee-room, and threw amongst them a large quantity of silver coin, which was eagerly scrambled for.”  The result of the polling was declared as follows: Marquis of Titchfield; 177; Sir William ffolkes, 89.

11.—A meeting of the manufacturers, merchants, and others interested in the silk trade was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. Alderman Roberts, to take into consideration the resolutions passed by the House of Commons relative to alterations in the silk duties.  A resolution was moved to the effect that the meeting viewed with satisfaction the measures proposed for the extension of the silk manufactory, “but the object could not fully be attained by the proposed immediate remission of so great a proportion of the duties on raw and thrown silks.”  It was advocated that endeavours be made to obtain compensation for the loss sustained upon stocks of manufactured goods, and a petition to Parliament p. 231embodying that view was adopted.  On April 5th “an unusual scene was witnessed in Norwich, that being the last day on which manufacturers of the city warehoused their raw and foreign silk in order to obtain the drawback according to the late decision of Parliament.  The number of pieces of bombazines and crapes bonded was about 40,000, which may be averaged at 7s. 6d. each, and the total amount of the drawback will be £30,000.  Such of the goods as are for exportation are already returned to the owners, and an order is expected in a few days for the delivery of those intended for the home trade.  By this arrangement, which was recommended to Government by a gentleman deputed from Norwich, little time will be lost, and the manufacturer will obtain the relief which, but for its adoption, would, under the late alteration of the law, have proved highly injurious to many of our fellow citizens.”  On June 23rd a dinner was given at the Rampant Horse Inn by the merchants and manufacturers to Mr. John Harvey, Mr. E. T. Booth, and Mr. T. O. Springfield, “for the zeal and ability with which they promoted the interests of the trade, and for their successful exertions in obtaining the drawback.”

11.—Died at his house in Chapel Field, Norwich, in his 71st year, Mr. John Clayton Hindes, many years manager of the Norwich Theatre.  “His loss is sincerely deplored by his relatives and friends and many others whose necessities have been relieved by his benevolent hand.”

—Died at Uxbridge, Mrs. F. E. Horne, widow of the Right Rev. George Horne, D.D., formerly Bishop of Norwich.

17.—The Norwich Penny Library “having after 12 months’ experience proved its worth,” it was resolved at a general meeting of subscribers, presided over by Mr. William Youngman, that it be placed on a permanent footing by public subscription.  The library room was at Mr. Daines’s, St. Michael-at-Coslany.

APRIL.

2.—At a public meeting held at Lynn, the Mayor presiding, it was resolved that a gas company be formed.  The shares were fixed at £20 each, and Mr. John James Coulton appointed secretary and agent.

3.—Died at the house of his son-in-law (Mr. H. Dowson, of Geldeston), aged 65, the Rev. Pendlebury Houghton.  “He received his education at Warrington at the time Dr. Atkin was the classical teacher there, and after the completion of his studies continued there one year as assistant classical tutor.  He first settled as minister at Dob Lane, near Manchester, whence he removed to Shrewsbury, and in 1787 was chosen a pastor, with Dr. Enfield, of the Unitarian congregation in Norwich.  On the death of Dr. Enfield in 1797 he became sole minister.  In 1808 he succeeded Mr. Jervis at Prince’s Street, Westminster, and in 1811 returned to Norwich.  In 1812 his was invited to become joint pastor with Mr. Yates, of the congregation in Paradise Street, Liverpool, where he continued till 1823, when he retired from his ministerial labours.”

7.—At a meeting held at Norwich, it was agreed “that the Rosary burial-ground having been duly entered at the office of the Bishop of the Diocese, and therein designated a general burial-ground for the use of persons of all sects and denominations, shall be invested p. 232in trustees on behalf of those who may become the holders of shares, to be limited to 500.”

8.—A performance was given at Norwich Theatre by the Stagorians.  “The stage exhibited the appearance of the interior of a Stagorian lodge, and presented a spectacle at once novel and striking.  In accordance with the principles of the assembled brethren the ceremony opened with ‘God save the King,’ and closed with the last verse of that same loyal strain.  The whole was conducted and well supported by Mr. Hudson, treasurer of the lodge No. 2, Independent, who sang a song in so good a style that the audience testified their approbation by loud and repeated cheerings.”

9.—Died, suddenly, in the Fleet Prison, the Rev. John Cross Morphew, rector of Cley and of Walpole St. Peter.

10.*—(Advt.)  “Mr. Edward Painter informs his friends and the public that his horse, the celebrated Tam o’ Shanter, will be shown upon Norwich Hill this day, and every Saturday during the season, at 12 o’clock.  His trotting and other paces the proprietor leaves for the public at large to be their own judges, as puffing is quite out of the question.  N.B.—Tam o’ Shanter will be found at the White Hart, St. Peter’s, Norwich.”

—*“Miss Bathurst, daughter of the late Mr. Benjamin Bathurst, and granddaughter of the Lord Bishop of the Diocese, was riding in Rome on horseback, accompanied by Lord and Lady Aylmer and the Duc de Montmorency, when her horse slipped down the steep bank into the Tiber, and with its rider was washed away, and never seen again.”  The body of Miss Bathurst was recovered on September 26th.

—The proprietors of the Expedition coach started new coaches, called the Magnet, which ran from the Swan Inn and Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, each afternoon at four o’clock and arrived in London at seven in the morning.  The return coach left the Golden Cross, Charing Cross, at six p.m., called at the White Horse, Fetter Lane, at 6.20, the Cross Keys, Wood Street, at 6.30, “cleared” from the Flower Pot and Bull Inns at seven o’clock, and arrived at Norwich at nine the next morning.

—The following malefactors were executed at Thetford: James Reeve for rape; Miles Wiseman for shooting at and wounding William Everett, gamekeeper, at Rackheath; and Robert Gibson for sheep stealing.  “The body of Wiseman was buried at Hardingham churchyard, whence it was stolen by resurrection men, who had been observed lurking about the chief part of the previous day.”

15.—Wombwell’s National Menagerie was exhibited at Tombland Fair, Norwich.  It was described as “the greatest variety of living animals ever collected together since the days of Noah.”

16.—Died at Caister, near Norwich, Francis Neale, in the 100th year of his age.

21.—Died at Harley Street, Cavendish Square, aged 71, Mr. John Dixon, of Rainham Hall, Norwich, and of Gledhow, Yorkshire, Colonel of the West York Militia.

25.—The organ at North Walsham church was opened with a recital given by Mr. E. Pettet, of Norwich.

29.—The members of the three Church of England Societies, namely p. 233for the Education of the Poor, for Promoting Christian Knowledge, and for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, had their “first united anniversary” dinner at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich.  The Deputy Mayor, Mr. Robert Hawkes, presided.

MAY.

1.—Mr. Henry Francis was elected Mayor of Norwich.

5.—Died at an advanced age, Mrs. Windham, widow of the Right Hon. William Windham, of Felbrigg.

6.—The second anniversary dinner of the Swaffham Rat Society was held at the George Inn, in that town.  The report stated: “From the time the ferrets re-commenced their operations in October, 1823, assisted by the terriers, the total number of rats killed up to May 6th was 1,140, which added to last year’s return makes 2,947 rats exterminated in the course of twelve months.”

8.*—“The King has granted William Lukin, Esq., Rear-Admiral of the White Squadron of his Majesty’s Fleet, to take, use, and bear the arms of Windham, in memory of his uncle, the Right Hon. William Windham, of Felbrigg Hall.”  (By the death of Mrs. Windham Admiral Windham came into possession of the estates of his late uncle.)

—*“We understand that there are at this time persons stationed upon the road between Norwich and London for the purpose of giving information against the proprietors of coaches carrying more than the number of passengers allowed by Act of Parliament, or any waggon or van carrying passengers without being duly licensed.”

10.—A prize fight took place near Arminghall between Nicholls and Thompson, of Norwich.  “The battle lasted upwards of two hours, and both men displayed better bottom than science.”

—For the benefit of the manager of Norwich Theatre (Mr. Smith), his younger son, Mr. J. Smith, appeared as Selico in “The Africans.”

15.*—“A gentleman from Lynn for a wager shot 20 dozen rooks with an air gun, which he loaded himself, in the course of a day.  He commenced shooting at half-past six in the morning, and finished his task in a masterly manner at four o’clock in the afternoon, in the rookery belonging to Mr. John Lloyd, of Pentney.”

—*(Advt.)  “Cocking.  To be fought at the White Swan Inn, Norwich, on May 31st and two following days, three double days’ play of cocks for £5 a battle and £100 the odd, between the gentlemen of Norwich and the gentlemen of Yarmouth.  Feeders: Stafford for Norwich, Anson for Yarmouth.”

—The Magnet coach from London to Norwich had just crossed the bridge at Chesterford, Essex, when, owing to the swollen state of the river, the arch burst with a tremendous crash.  Another coach was approaching, and received a lantern warning from the guard of the Magnet.  The up Magnet coach from Norwich crossed the bridge shortly before its demolition but got off the road into a swamp.  The passengers had to climb out upon the roof and remained there while the water flowed through the windows.  The coach was dragged out by a strong team of cart horses.  A public subscription was started in Norwich to reward the guard of the Magnet.

p. 23422.—Townshend, the pedestrian, commenced a walk of 64 miles per day of sixteen hours for six successive days.  He started from Swaffham at 4.30 a.m., passed through Watton at 6.30, through Dereham at 8.30, and arrived at Swaffham at noon, and completed the same journey in the afternoon.  (No further record.)

27.—Died, Mrs. M. Jones, of the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in her 61st year, “after long and patient suffering under one of the most tormenting of human disorders.”  She was a daughter of the Rev. Nathaniel Gerard, rector of Waxham and vicar of Palling, and of Whepstead Rectory, Suffolk.

28.—Six officers of the 8th Hussars rowed in Capt. Cartwright’s six-oared boat from Norwich to Yarmouth in four hours against the tide, and returned in four and a half hours with a strong stream against them.

29.—The Ottawa, 320 tons, intended as a passage vessel from London to Quebec, was launched from the yard of Messrs. John and Thomas Douglas, at Yarmouth.

31.—The Mayor of Norwich (Mr. J. S. Patteson), with the Sheriffs, magistrates, and aldermen went in procession from the Guildhall to the site of the new gaol outside St. Giles’ Gates, and laid the foundation-stone.  Several gold, silver, and copper coins were deposited in the stone, “and the whole was cemented with mortar and fastened with lead poured in boiling hot.”  The proceedings were witnessed by hundreds of spectators, one of whom, “a person of respectability, had his pocket picked of a gold watch, chain, and seals.”

JUNE.

3.—Died, on his return from Madeira, aged 29, Dr. Thomas Martineau.

4.—The 3rd Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry was inspected at Sprowston at the conclusion of permanent duty at Norwich.

7.—The Yarmouth Yeomanry Cavalry, commanded by Sir E. K. Lacon, Bart., were inspected by Major Deare, 8th Hussars, after permanent duty.

—Townshend, the pedestrian, “undertook to pick up with his mouth, on Monday last, from the ground in Finches’ Gardens, 300 stones placed one yard apart and to deposit the same in a basket in eleven successive hours, being a distance of 51 miles 540 yards.”  The feat was performed sixteen minutes within the time.  On June 14th he undertook to walk 40 miles backwards in ten hours at the same Gardens, but failed owing to the unfavourable state of the weather.

8.—The commissioners appointed under the Norwich Paving Act determined to apply to Parliament for leave to bring in a Bill for amending the Act and for raising additional funds.

—A prize fight took place at Poringland between Fenn and Camplin, of Norwich.  Three thousand persons were present, and 76 rounds fought.  The contest terminated in favour of Fenn.

9.—McMullon, a youth of sixteen, at the Prussia Gardens, Norwich, walked 12½ miles in two hours; and on the 14th walked forty miles in eight hours.

p. 23516.—Died at Gissing, aged 86, Mr. J. Hunt, surgeon, and founder of the Ebenezer Chapel in Ber Street, Norwich.  “He was a man of extraordinary piety and extensive benevolence, who was singularly infatuated by a diversity of religious opinions as to render his character in the highest degree eccentric.  Having successively embraced the profession of Presbyterian, Independent, Anabaptist, Swedenborgian, Unitarian, and Methodist, he recently founded and endowed a chapel at Gissing to a profession made up of a heterogeneous mixture of doctrines.  That nothing might be wanting to complete his religious character he was a constant attendant on the worship of the parish church, keeping his meeting closed on those occasions, and a regular communicant with the minister of the parish till a short time before his death, when his advanced age and increasing infirmities precluded the possibility of his attendance.”

17.—A trotting match took place on St. Stephen’s Road, Norwich, the best two of three one mile heats, between a pony belonging to Mr. Durrant, of the Norfolk Hotel, and a pony the property of Mr. Davey, horse dealer.  The former won easily.

—The 8th Hussars marched from Norwich Barracks for Ipswich.

19.*—“One day last week Messrs. James Stannard, T. Turner, Samuel Poll, and Alfred Stannard, four oars, rowed from Norwich to Yarmouth and back in eight hours, notwithstanding wind and tide were full against them in crossing Breydon.”

—The season’s benefits at Norwich Theatre were announced to have been as follow: Mr. Smith, £125; Mr. Chippendale, £39; Mr. Vining, £114; Mr. Beacham, £89; Miss Pindar, £40; Mr. G. Smith, £70; Mr. Harrison, £46; Mr. Clifford, £67; Mr. and Mrs. Sloman, £156; Mr. Benson, £69; the Misses Glover, £91; Mr. Crook, £63; Miss Wensley, £72; Miss Mason, £74; Mr. and Mrs. Hamerton, £51; Mr. Brundall, £45; Mr. Wharton, £41; Mr. Mueller, £62; Mr. Thorne, £28; Miss Tubby, £99; Mr. Hunt, £78; Mr. Chippendale (second benefit), £57.  The total amount was £1,556; average, £70 14s. 9¾d.

22.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The Mayor-elect, Mr. Henry Francis, entertained 806 guests at the guild feast, and the ball at Chapel Field House was fully attended.  The streets in the parish of St. Stephen’s, where the Mayor resided, were decorated.

29.—Great rejoicings took place at Costessey in celebration of the elevation to the peerage of Sir George Jerningham, Bart., by the title of Baron Stafford, of Stafford Castle, in Staffordshire, of Shiffnall in Shropshire, and of Costessey in Norfolk.  A large cavalcade attended by a band of music proceeded to Easton, where Lord and Lady Stafford and their daughters were received with enthusiastic cheering and escorted to Costessey Hall.  Sheep were roasted, 500 loaves of bread distributed, and many barrels of beer consumed.

JULY.

7.—At a meeting, presided over by Dr. Yelloly, at the Rampant Horse Inn, Norwich, the medical men of the city decided “to form a union between the two previously existing societies in order to render more efficient the circulation of medical books, and the establishment of a medical library in Norwich.”

p. 23612.—Meetings of Loyal Orange Societies, No. 50, held at the Waggon and Horses, Tombland, and No. 213 at the Waterloo Tavern, St. Stephen’s, Norwich, celebrated the anniversary of the battle of the Boyne.

14.—A severe thunderstorm occurred at Norwich after a period of very sultry weather.  “Almost immediately after the tempest a cloud of immense magnitude and extreme density, having the appearance of a mass of snow, passed over the city.  Drifting with a strong westerly wind it was so low as to envelope a considerable portion of the Cathedral spire.  Its passage was attended with a very curious phenomenon.  The current of the river, which had previously been sluggish, suddenly became very rapid, as if propelled by the irruption of some mighty flood.  This acceleration lasted about ten minutes, the cloud having once passed over, the stream gradually resumed its former rate of progression.”

15.—Died at his residence, Catton Place, aged 58, Mr. Joseph Fitch, who served the office of Sheriff of Norwich in 1808.

16.—A troop of the 2nd Queen’s Dragoon Guards, commanded by Capt. Kearney, marched into Norwich Barracks, and were followed by three other troops.  “This fine regiment, whose uniform is free from modern finery, and has a truly British appearance, is commanded by Lieut.-Col. Kearney.  They were the first regiment who occupied the Norwich Barracks after their erection in the year 1793.”

22.—The new Union steamboat intended for passenger traffic between Lynn and Cambridge made her first voyage.  “She is 72 feet long, 12 wide, carries 100 passengers, and is propelled by two engines.  Her paddles are in the stern; they communicate with the boiler and engine by means of long rods through more than half the length of the vessel.”

30.—Died at her house in the Close, Norwich, aged 65, Mrs. Dickens, wife of Mr. W. H. Dickens.  “She was the widow of the late Mr. William Crowe, of Lakenham, who on his death bed enjoined her to marry Capt. Dickens immediately after his (Mr. Crowe’s) decease.”

31.*—(Advt.)  “To the corn growers of the county of Norfolk.  Gentlemen, the merchants of Norwich having honoured me by accepting the Pantheon, in which to hold their corn market, permit me to acquaint you the same will be held at the Pantheon, Ranelagh Gardens, during their pleasure.—W. Finch.”  The removal of the corn market to the Pantheon was rendered necessary by the alterations in progress at the Hall in preparation for the first Triennial Musical Festival.  On August 14th a meeting of millers, merchants, and corn growers was held at the Norfolk Hotel, “for the purpose of taking into consideration the best means of erecting a Corn Exchange.”  Mr. J. Culley presided, and resolutions were adopted in favour of the proposal, the required amount to be raised in £100 shares.  A committee was appointed to ask the county magistrates to grant a site “within the iron railing on the north side of the Castle Hill, in the intermediate space between the road leading from Messrs. Gurney’s Bank on the right to the opening from Davey Steps on the left.”  A further meeting was held on October 23rd, at which it was reported that the magistrates p. 237declined to accede to the request, but that the Corporation of Norwich had agreed “that a piece of ground on the Castle Meadow, in length 130 feet and in breadth 70 feet, be granted to the corn merchants for a term of 99 years at the yearly rent of £10, for the purpose of building thereon a corn exchange.”  A meeting was held on November 1st, at which it was decided to accept the offer, and to issue shares of £50 each to the amount of £2,000.  (See February 24th, 1825.)

AUGUST.

4.—In consequence of a requisition the Mayor of Norwich convened a meeting at the Guildhall to consider the subject of establishing a botanical garden in the neighbourhood of Norwich.  Resolutions were adopted in favour of the scheme, which was introduced by Dr. Yelloly.

—Died at Norwich, aged 72, Mr. John Funnell Goldsmith Atkinson, solicitor.  “He was devotedly attached to the constitution in Church and State, and was in reality the character which has often been drawn of Honest John Bull.”

11.—At the Norfolk Assizes at Norwich, before Sir William Alexander, Chief Baron of the Exchequer, came on the action Howard v. Howes.  The plaintiff sought to substantiate his right to the exclusive enjoyment of a pew in the parish church of Fundenhall.  He and his father had occupied it since 1787 until disturbed in such occupation by the defendant on November 2nd, 1823.  Verdict for the plaintiff, damages 1s.—At the same Assizes, a similar action, Reader v. Bloom, was tried, and damages claimed for assault.  The declaration set forth that the defendant on August 31st, 1823, at Wells, “did grievously with his hands and feet assault the plaintiff,” a maiden lady, in the same town, to whom had been bequeathed a house, which, it was supposed, entitled her to the use of a certain pew in the parish church.  Defendant contested the right, locked the pew, and nailed over the door a piece of wood to prevent entry thereto.  When plaintiff endeavoured to effect an entrance Mr. Bloom kicked her legs and nipped her arm.  The defence was that the plaintiff first “clapperclawed” the defendant.  The jury returned a verdict for plaintiff, damages 1s.

31.—An election took place at Norwich for the office of freemen’s Sheriff.  Mr. Charles Turner was nominated in the “Purple and Orange,” and Mr. T. O. Springfield in the “Blue and White” interest.  “About an hour after the poll had commenced it was announced to Mr. Turner’s committee that the ‘Blue and Whites’ were giving 5s. for each vote.  This information caused the ‘Purple and Orange’ party also to unloose their purse strings, and the cash was paid down on both sides to all who would receive it.”  Result of the poll: Turner, 1,165; Springfield, 929.

SEPTEMBER.

5.—Died, aged 73, Mrs. Death, widow of Mr. Thomas Death, of the Theatre Royal, Norwich, and of Covent Garden, London.

11.—St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, was for the first time lighted with gas in preparation for the Musical Festival.  “The pure bright flame p. 238that issued from the numerous gas burners communicated a lustre to every part of the edifice more evident, perhaps, than what it receives from the light of day.”

17.—Married at St. Martin’s-in-the-Fields, London, Mr. William Henry Brundall to Miss Priscilla Mason, both formerly of the Theatre Royal, Norwich.

19.—Died at Chelsea, Mr. Henry Cooper, barrister, aged 39.  The son of an eminent Norwich barrister, he went to sea with Nelson, and as a boy was present at the battle of the Nile.  He early quitted the naval profession for that of the law, and was afterwards appointed Attorney-General of the Bermudas.  On the appointment of Mr. Sergeant Blosset to the Chief Justiceship of Bengal, Mr. Cooper, who was then rapidly rising on the Norfolk circuit, became one of the leaders.

21.—The first Triennial Musical Festival, “for the benefit of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital,” commenced on this date.  On the evenings of the 21st, 22nd, and 23rd a miscellaneous concert was given at St. Andrew’s Hall; on the mornings of the 22nd, 23rd, and 24th oratorios were performed in the same building; and on the evening of the 24th a ball took place.  The principal vocal performers were Mrs. Salmon, Miss Stephens, Miss Carew, Madame Renzi De Begnes, Mr. Vaughan, M. Sapio, Mr. Bellamy, Mr. Edward Taylor, of Norwich (in place of Mr. F. Novello, absent through family bereavement), Mr. Terrail, Master Kempton, and Signor De Begnes.  Sir George Smart was the conductor.  The Festival was attended by H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, who was the guest of the Bishop of Norwich.  The receipts amounted to £6,695, and the amount given to the Hospital was £2,411 4s. 2d.  At a quarterly assembly of the Corporation on September 27th, the freedom of the city was voted to Sir George Smart, “for the eminent services rendered by him to the city and county as conductor of the late Musical Festival”; and the Corporation further agreed to purchase the organ erected for the occasion in St. Andrew’s Hall by Mr. Grey, for the sum of 280 guineas.

29.—Races were held at East Dereham, and were well attended by “beauty and fashion.”

OCTOBER.

14.—The premises of Mr. Ling, upholsterer and cabinet maker, Bridewell Alley, Norwich, were destroyed by fire.  The terrified prisoners were removed from their cells in the Bridewell adjoining and conveyed to the City Gaol, and all the property that could be saved from the burning premises was taken into St. Andrew’s church.  The 2nd Dragoon Guards were called out to preserve order, and the staff of the West Norfolk Militia assembled under arms.  “Owing to the goods being stored in St. Andrew’s church it was impossible to hold service there on Sunday.”

15.—Died, in his 88th year, Mr. Robert Priest, of St. James’ Street, Norwich.  He was for many years treasurer to the Charity Schools, and in 1786 paid the fine on declining the office of Sheriff.

21.—Died of consumption, in his 24th year, at Little Baddow, p. 239Essex, the Rev. Stephen Morell, “pastor of the Christian Society at the Old Meeting House, Norwich.”

26.—Mrs. Sloman, formerly of the Norwich Company, made her first appearance at Covent Garden as Belvedera in “Venice Preserved.”  The “Times” described the performance as “more than respectable—in many parts excellent”; and the “Morning Herald” stated that “it was the most promising tragic début since the days of Miss O’Neil, and the applause at the dropping of the curtain was long, loud, and universal.”  Mrs. Sloman was subsequently engaged by the managers of Covent Garden for three years at a high salary.

NOVEMBER.

7.—William Brownsell, many years in the service of Mr. William Mason, of Necton, was accidentally shot in his master’s plantation by a spring gun.  He lay in dreadful agony all night and died soon after being found next morning.

15.—A private watch instituted and maintained by the inhabitants of St. Stephen’s, Norwich, commenced its duties.

—A prize fight took place near Mattishall between Mike Fenn and John Short, of Norwich.  “After 14 rounds Fenn was so dreadfully beaten that he was carried off the ground in a state of insensibility.”  Two thousand persons were present.

20.*—“Died at East Dereham last week a poor woman of the name of Rumble, aged 103 years.  She retained her faculties till within a month of her decease.”

DECEMBER.

3.—At a meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of the Mayor, it was resolved to establish a law library in the city.

11.—The prospectus of a plan for establishing a “Museum of Natural History, Antiquity, &c.”  in Norwich was issued in accordance with a resolution passed at a meeting held a short time previously under the chairmanship of Mr. John Harvey.

14.—The London, Yarmouth, and Norwich Steampacket Company announced the completion of a new vessel, called the City of Norwich, for the London and Yarmouth trade.  A considerable portion of the stock of this company was raised in Norwich and Yarmouth.

15.—Married at East Dereham, by the Rev. C. H. Wollaston, Mr. Fisher, jun., of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians, to Sarah, third daughter of Mr. William Howard.

—A meeting was held at the King’s Arms Inn, North Walsham, at which it was resolved to carry into immediate execution the Act of Parliament for the construction of the North Walsham and Dilham Canal.

17.—Concerts were given on the 17th and 18th at Norwich Theatre under the management of Messrs. Pettet.  The performers included Signor and Madame Renzi De Begnes and Miss Paton.

p. 24020.—Signor Antonio, “generally called Il Diavolo Antonio,” commenced an engagement at the Norwich Assembly Room in an entertainment consisting of gymnastic exercises, feats of strength, juggling, and fantoccini.

—Died at his house in St. Giles’, Norwich, the Rev. Thomas Deeker, M.A., 66 years vicar of Bawdsey, Suffolk, rector of St. Simon and Jude, Norwich, perpetual curate of St. Margaret and St. Swithin, and chaplain of the county gaol.

23.—Married at Norwich, by the Rev. George Carter, M.A., Mr. James Archibald Murray, solicitor, under secretary to the Master of the Rolls, and second son of Mr. Charles Murray, of John Street, Bedford Row, London, to Elizabeth Powell, youngest daughter of Capt. R Browne, of the Precincts, Norwich Cathedral.

29.—A new Masonic Hall was “dedicated” at Yarmouth by Deputy Provincial Grand Master Ives and the officers of the Grand Lodge of the Province.

1825.

JANUARY.

1.—The “Norfolk and Suffolk Railway Company” advertised its prospectus.  It was proposed to raise a capital of one million sterling in 10,000 shares of £100 each.  The prospectus stated: “The trade from London to Norwich in bombazeen and crape is at once extensive and permanent, yet the conveyance of goods is dilatory, expensive, and troublesome.  The mode of conveyance of fish is insufficient on the one hand, and extravagant on the other.”  It was proposed to construct the railway from London to Norwich through Chelmsford and Colchester, with a branch to Harwich; to Ipswich with a branch to Bury St. Edmund’s; and to Norwich with branches to Lynn and Yarmouth.  The cost of the undertaking was estimated at £980,000, and there were to be twelve country and twelve London directors.  Among the former were Messrs. E. T. Booth, W. Foster, Joseph Geldart, R. Hawkes, and J. Ives, of Norwich; and Sir E. K. Lacon, of Yarmouth.

5.—At a public meeting held at the Guildhall, Norwich, under the presidency of the Mayor, it was decided to establish a Mechanics’ Institution, “similar to those already formed in London.”  Nearly 100 members joined at the conclusion of the meeting.

12.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, the justices ordered that the houses of correction at Aylsham and Wymondham be abolished on the completion of the county gaol.

22.—A new roadway made through the city wall at the west end of Pottergate Street, Norwich, was completed on this date, and opened for vehicular traffic on the 24th.  “This great improvement was effected by Mr. Alderman T. S. Day, aided by the exertions of Mr. Blyth, who, in company with Mrs. Blyth, was the first who rode through the new way.”

p. 24124.—Died at Lynn, aged 78, William Hall, auctioneer and bookseller.  “He was generally known by the appellation Antiquarian Hall, having for many years been in the habit of dealing in works of black letter lore, of which, at one time, he had a good collection.  He was a man quite uneducated, but of strong natural abilities, and had read a great deal on subjects of antiquity.  Though a man of very eccentric habits, he was universally respected for his industry and integrity.”

—The exhibition commenced at the Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, of a “grand model of the Holy Sepulchre at Jerusalem.”

25.—The Castle Corporation at Norwich celebrated its 60th anniversary.

29.*—“Died last week, at Holt, Mary Ann Edge, at the advanced age of 103.”

31.—Norwich Theatre re-opened for the season.  The new members of the company included Mr. Balls, comedian; Mr. Baker, comedian; Mr. Warren, “walking gentleman”; Miss Scruton, Mrs. Sheppard (formerly Miss Diddear), Mrs. Balls, and Mrs. Watkinson.

FEBRUARY.

2.—The body of an old man, buried in Hethersett churchyard, was stolen by resurrection men.  A similar outrage took place in Thorpe churchyard on the same date.

5.*—“Sir Edmund Bacon (one of the three gentlemen nominated to serve the office of Sheriff of this county) is gone to London to prefer some antient claim of exemption from it on account of his being the premier baronet of England.  Such claim had been successfully made on a similar occasion by his late father.”  Exemption was granted; but on November 11th, in the Court of Exchequer, the Lord Chief Justice of the Court of King’s Bench stated that the authorities, after duly investigating the claim, had decided to disallow it.

—*“The governors of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital have presented a silver waiter, of the value of 50 guineas, to Mr. Edward Taylor for his eminent services in promoting, arranging, and assisting at the grand Musical Festival.”

10.—An exceptionally high tide occurred at Yarmouth.  The river overflowed and flooded cellars, stables, granaries, and other buildings on the Quay; and the Southtown Road from the Bear Inn, near the bridge, to Gorleston was completely under water, in places to the depth of three feet.  At Cromer great damage was done to the cliffs.

11.—A petition for leave to bring in a Bill to amend the Norwich Paving Act was presented in the House of Commons by Mr. William Smith.—At a meeting held at the Duke’s Palace Inn, Norwich, on March 1st, it was decided to oppose the Bill because the Paving Commissioners by clause 8 sought to obtain authority to levy an additional due of 8d. per ton on all goods brought by vessels up the river higher than Thorpe Old Hall.—The Bill was read a first time on March 4th, but in consequence of the opposition to clause 8 Mr. Smith withdrew the measure and suffered the second reading to pass as a dropped order.—On March 28th Mr. Smith moved the p. 242second reading on the understanding that the objectionable clause would be withdrawn in Committee.  The Bill was then read a second time.—It passed its third reading on May 3rd; received the Royal Assent in the House of Lords on May 20th; and the first meeting of the Commissioners under the new Act was held at Norwich on June 14th.

15.—The prospectus of the Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Company was adopted at a meeting held at Gray’s Inn Coffee House, London, presided over by Col. Harvey, High Sheriff of Norfolk.  The principal object for which the company was formed was that of making Norwich a port for seaborne vessels not exceeding ten feet draught, by opening the best and most direct line of communication between that city and the sea.  In addition to the old list of shares, amounting to £27,000, it was decided to raise £120,000 in shares of £50 each, and to apply to Parliament in the ensuing Session for leave to bring in a Bill.—The first general meeting of the shareholders was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, on June 1st, and on July 2nd a meeting of proprietors of land adjoining the proposed canal between the Yare and the Waveney resolved to oppose the Bill on account of threatened danger to their property.—The proprietors of the North Walsham and Dilham Canal, and of the Coltishall and Aylsham Canal also decided to oppose the measure because it would divert the traffic from Yarmouth to Lowestoft, would lead to the neglect of Breydon, and consequently to the injury of the navigation of the Bure and Ant.

19.*—“Died last week in Bishopgate Hospital, Norwich, Mr. John Green, aged 101.”

24.—In the House of Commons Col. Wodehouse moved that petitions from the magistrates of Norfolk and from the Mayor and Corporation of Thetford in reference to the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich be referred to a Select Committee.  The motion was defeated by 72 votes against 21.

—The Corporation of Norwich rescinded the resolution by which they had offered the corn merchants a site for a Corn Exchange, and appointed a committee to report on the propriety of the Corporation erecting a building of their own for the sale of corn and other agricultural produce.  The committee, on March 15th, reported in favour of the proposal, the Under-Chamberlain was directed to mark out a site 150 feet by 70 feet on the Castle Meadow, and on May 3rd it was resolved to advertise for plans and estimates.—The corn merchants held a meeting at the Norfolk Hotel on July 25th, and finally agreed to erect an exchange “on part of the present site of Sir Benjamin Wrenche’s Court.”  It was announced “a new street is to be made to communicate with the Market Place from St. Andrew’s Street, to enter it at the upper end of Cockey Lane.”  A proposal was made to erect in the Exchange galleries for the accommodation of the Norwich Society of Artists, who would be deprived of their rooms in the Court.—At a special meeting of the Corporation on August 10th “the further consideration of the erection of a Corn Exchange” was indefinitely deferred.

28.—A peal of six bells, cast by William Dobson, of Downham Market, was opened at Marham by the Aylsham company of ringers.

p. 24328.—Mr. David Fisher, “a flower of our own garden, a native of our own county,” made his first appearance at Lynn Theatre in the character of Richard III.  He afterwards appeared as Macbeth.

MARCH.

2.—Died at Bolton Row, London, Lady Jerningham, widow of Sir William Jerningham.  Her ladyship was a daughter of the 11th Viscount Dillon.  Her remains were interred at Costessey on March 11th.

—Died at Holkham Hall, aged 45, the Rev. Richard Odell, B.A., Fellow of Christ’s College, Oxford, curate of Burnham Overy and of Holkham, and chaplain to his Royal Highness the Duke of Sussex.

3.—Died at his house in St. Giles’, Norwich, aged 75, Mr. John Christopher Hampp, a native of Germany, many years an eminent merchant in the city, and a liberal benefactor of the poor.

6.—Died at Tenby, aged 43, Col. Francis Manners Sutton, second son of the Archbishop of Canterbury.

—Died at Hatton, Warwickshire, aged 80, the Rev. Samuel Parr, LL.D., Prebendary of St. Paul’s, and rector of Graffham, Huntingdonshire, and formerly head-master of Norwich Free Grammar School.

7.—Died, aged 69, Mr. John Banks, proprietor and manager of the Theatres Royal at Liverpool and Manchester, and formerly of Norwich.

8.—Mr. Denny, of Egmere, was presented with a silver cup by the members of the Walsingham Coursing Club, “as a mark of their esteem and gratitude to him for the handsome, liberal, and friendly manner with which he has at all times come forward in support of the meeting.”

25.—The contract was completed for the purchase of the works of the Norwich Gas Company by the British Gas Light Company.  “The latter company have bought a piece of land in the World’s End Lane, near St. Martin-at-Palace, on which they intend to erect a building and construct works for supplying the city with coal gas.”—The Paving Commissioners on September 13th consented to an application being made to Parliament for a Bill to enlarge and amend the Act for lighting with gas the city of Norwich, “and of the extension of the capital of the British Gas Company and of the monies appropriated to their own use provided it meet all such capital to the extent of 12½ per cent. per annum.”

26.*—“Died lately, at Shelfanger, James Catchpole, labourer, in his 105th year.  Within the last year of his life he was willing and able to do a day’s work in husbandry.”

—*(Advt.)  “Miss Phillis Glover, being obliged by the early opening of the Haymarket Theatre, where she is engaged, to leave the Norwich Company before the close of the season, begs permission to take this, her only opportunity, of returning thanks to the inhabitants of Norwich for the kind indulgence afforded to her professional exertions, and of bidding them most respectfully farewell.”  (Miss Glover, whose place in the Norwich Company was filled by p. 244the engagement of Miss Goward, was married on November 19th, 1827, at the church of St Clement Danes, London, to Mr. J. C. Evans, solicitor, of Liverpool.)

29.—Mr. Dewing’s hounds met at West Bradenham, where a fine buck was turned off, and ran through Bradenham and Saham, skirted Ashill to Holme Hale, crossed Necton Common, ran through Necton by Fransham to Dunham, Palgrave, and Sporle, and thence to Castleacre, where he was taken after a severe run of 21 miles over the stiffest country in Norfolk.

APRIL.

2.—Shore’s menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Ditches, Norwich.

—*“Died at Yarmouth, Mrs. Elizabeth Campling, in her 101st year.”

3.—Died at North Walsham, Mary Cook, aged 101.

5.—One hundred “bankers” from Bedfordshire arrived at North Walsham and commenced digging the North Walsham and Dilham Canal.  “The first spade of earth was taken out by Mr. William Youard, the band striking up ‘God save the King.’”

—A prize fight took place between Camplin and Murrell, of Norwich, on a meadow near Thorpe, for £10 aside.  Murrell was the winner.

7.—The Archdeacon of Norwich convened a meeting of clergy at the Maid’s Head Inn, Norwich, at which a petition to the House of Commons was adopted stating that the signatories were not in agreement with their brethren who had petitioned Parliament in opposition to Roman Catholic claims.  Seventy signatures were appended.  The other petition against the Bill for conceding the claims of the Roman Catholics was signed by the Bishop of Norwich and 200 clergy.  A similar petition was adopted by the Corporation on May 3rd by thirty-three votes against six.—The intelligence that the Emancipation Bill had been rejected by the House of Lords was received in Norwich on May 19th with the ringing of the bells of St. Peter Mancroft and of the other churches in the city.

16.—Died at Ryslip, near Uxbridge, the Right Hon. Lady Wodehouse, aged 77.  She was the only surviving daughter of the Hon. Charles Berkeley, of Bruton Abbey, Somersetshire, niece of Lord Berkeley of Stratton, and the last of that branch of the Berkeley family.  Her ladyship’s remains were interred at Kimberley on May 27th, when the funeral procession was headed by fifty mounted tenants on the estate.

18.—A meeting of the citizens was held at St Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, by requisition, at which resolutions were adopted asking the legislature “to undertake at the earliest opportunity such a revision of the Corn Laws as may secure cultivators of the soil from a recurrence of those ruinous fluctuations in price which the present system has occasioned, and at the same time complete that liberal commercial policy in which progress has already been made.”  A petition based on the resolution was prepared and presented to Parliament.  It received 14,385 signatures.

p. 24521.—Married at St. Giles’ Church, Norwich, by the Rev. C. J. Chapman, Lieut. Charles Thurtell, R.N., third son of Mr. Thomas Thurtell, alderman of Norwich, to Mrs. Dunham, of Chapel Field.

23.*—“Died at Lynn, the Widow Oldershaw, aged 107.”

MAY.

1.—Four candidates were nominated at the Mayoral Election at Norwich.  A poll was demanded, and the result was declared on the same day (Sunday) as follows:—Alderman Day, 679; Alderman Booth, 579; Alderman Leman, 152; Alderman Burt, 150.  “It is somewhat singular that the father of the Mayor-elect was also chosen on a Sunday, May Day so falling in 1808.”

9.—The Norwich Museum was opened at a house in the Upper Haymarket.

14.*—“The work of constructing the new Theatre was commenced, at Norwich, last week.  Mr. Wilkins is the architect and patentee, and the site is nearly adjoining to the ground on which the present Theatre stands, and at the back of the green rooms.”

29.—At Yarmouth Quarter Sessions, before the Recorder (Mr. Robert Alderson), Mary Neal, aged 42, Susan Neal (21), her daughter, and William Neal (18), son, were charged with attempting to murder the family of Mr. Hales, cordwainer, of Howard Street, Yarmouth, by poisoning them.  It was alleged that the female prisoners persuaded William Neal, an apprentice of the prosecutor, to place arsenic in the food of his master’s family to avenge some fancied grievance.  Mr. and Mrs. Hales and their children narrowly escaped death.  Sentence of death, afterwards commuted to transportation, was recorded.

30.—The members of a newly established club, called the Norwich Loyal Society, held their first anniversary dinner at the Wheat Sheaf Inn, Bethel Street, in commemoration of the birthday of Pitt.

JUNE.

6.—The 2nd Dragoon Guards marched from Norwich for Hampton Court Barracks.

15.—A cricket match was played at Litcham “with the six Alexanders, of Hingham, and the five Cushions, of Shipdham, on the one side, against the town of Litcham on the other.”  The stakes, 22 sovereigns a-side, were won by the “families” by one wicket.  The families, 55-88; Litcham, 82-60.

18.—The last performances took place at the old Norwich Theatre.  The pieces were “The Provoked Husband” and the farce “A Roland for an Oliver.”  The concluding season had proved very productive to the patentee and the performers.  The total amount accruing from the twenty benefits was £1,732, an average of £86 12s. exclusive of “ticket nights.”

20.—A special meeting of the Yarmouth Corporation was held for the purpose of promoting the erection of a new church in the town.  p. 246The sum of £1,500 was voted in aid of the fund, and a piece of land given as an eligible site.

21.—Guild Day at Norwich.  The aldermen, Sheriffs, and Town Clerk had breakfast with the Mayor-elect, Mr. T. S. Day, and afterwards went to the house of the Mayor (Mr. H. Francis), “their carriages passing through the newly-made opening in the city wall at the end of Pottergate Street, where an arch had been formed with boughs.”  The subsequent procession to the Cathedral was headed by two bands of musicians and “Snap.”  The guests at the Guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall numbered 450, and “the proceedings, from the excellence of the wines, were protracted till about eleven o’clock, when the worthy donor of the feast retired from the chair.”

30.—Died at his house in Surrey Street, Norwich, Mr. William Manning, of Ormesby, in his 94th year.  “This gentleman was the Father of the Magistracy of Norfolk, and had been 65 years on the commission.”

JULY.

2.—The steam packet Lowther started from Yarmouth on a pleasure excursion to Rotterdam, and arrived at its destination at six o’clock on the evening of the 3rd.  The vessel returned to Yarmouth on the 10th after a passage of 27 hours.

4.—Madame Tussaud’s exhibition opened at the Assembly Rooms, Norwich.

—The company of ringers at St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, presented to Mr. Samuel Thurston “an elegant silver gilt jewel for his eminent services in composing the peal of 5,016 of Norwich Court, 12 in, and ringing the tenor in a superior style.”

11.—Four troops of the Scots Greys (2nd North British Dragoons) marched into Norwich.  “Their veteran colonel, Sir Thomas Pate Hankin, rode at the head of this very fine body of men and horses.  Their excellent regimental band, including keyed bugles and kettledrums, played before them from their entrance at St Stephen’s Gates to the Cavalry Barracks.”

12.—Mr. Thorogood, coachman and part proprietor, “completed his fourth year of driving the Times coach to London and back again to Norwich the next day without missing one single day.  The total number of miles in four years, up and down—163,520.”

23.—Direct conveyance from Norwich to Boston by the Independence new coach was announced.

28.—Eleven hundred persons were confirmed at Norwich Cathedral by the Bishop of the Diocese.

—The peal of bells at St. Andrew’s Church, Norwich, increased from eight to ten, and re-hung by T. Hurry, was re-opened by ten of St. Peter Mancroft ringers.

30.*—(Advt.)  “The annual main between the gentlemen of Norwich and Yarmouth will be fought at the Two-Necked Swan, Market Place, Yarmouth, on the race days, for £5 a battle and £25 the odd; to show 25 mains and six byes.  Feeders: Lamb for Norwich; Steward p. 247for Yarmouth.  The first pit will begin fighting at ten o’clock each morning before the racing.”

30.—Died at Cowes, the Right Hon. the Earl of Craven, Lord Lieutenant of the county of Berks., Recorder of Coventry, and a lieutenant-general in the Army.  His lordship, who was in his 55th year, married on December 12th, 1807, Miss Brunton, of Covent Garden Theatre, and formerly of the Norwich Company, and left issue Viscount Uffington, another son, and a daughter.

AUGUST.

1.—Lord Chief Justice Abbott and Lord Chief Baron Alexander, Judges of Assize, were received at Harford Bridge, Norwich, by the High Sheriff of Norfolk (Col. Harvey).  “Being a member of the Corporation, the Mayor and his brethren determined to accompany him with the city Sheriffs, and a procession was formed in the following order:—Two blue coats on horseback; justices and aldermen of Norwich in their carriages; city Sheriffs’ officers on horseback; the Under Sheriff’s ditto; the Sheriffs in a carriage and four; two blue coats, with the castles, on horseback; two mace bearers, ditto; the Under-Chamberlain with small mace, ditto; the Mayor in his carriage with the Town Clerk and sword bearer; the High Sheriff’s trumpeters on horseback; his marshalmen, ditto; 24 javelin men, ditto, in dark blue liveries with orange cockades; the Under-Sheriff of Norfolk; the High Sheriff in his elegant carriage drawn by six fine brown horses, the coachman, postillions, and footmen in livery, with his chaplain, the Rev. Edward Bellman; servants on horseback; Sir Robert John Harvey and Mr. George Harvey, the High Sheriff’s sons, in a chariot.  It is said that a similar procession has not taken place here for the last 100 years.”

2.—At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Norwich before Lord Chief Justice Abbott, the action Fellowes v. Steward, clerk, was tried, with the object of deciding whether the plaintiff had set out his tithe in a manner warranted by law.  The plaintiff’s men cut the tithe wheat on seven acres of land, each man taking a strip or rig of land, and after cutting each strip returned and put his sheaves into shocks of ten each.  The plaintiff’s bailiff set out the tithe by taking every tenth sheaf from the shock and placing it a yard or two from the rest.  He then put a bough on every sheaf so laid apart, and replaced it in the shock whence he had taken it.  The next day the sheaves, except those marked as tithe, were carted.  Mr. Alderman Steward, of Norwich, who was acting as agent for his son, the rector of Saxlingham, stated that the corn should be tithed in sheaves before it was shocked.  Mr. Fellowes endeavoured to prove that the corn had been set out according to the custom of the place.  The Judge censured the plaintiff for adopting the method of separating the tithe corn from the other corn and mixing it with the shock again, as it opened the door to the practice of all kinds of fraud.  The plaintiff was non-suited.

5.—At the Norwich Assizes, before Lord Chief Justice Abbott, the qui tam action Woodewis v. J. S. Patteson came on for trial.  It was brought to recover a penalty of £100 under 3rd George IV., chap. 77, p. 248by which persons trading in excisable liquors were precluded from taking part, as magistrates, in licensing proceedings.  It was alleged that Mr. Patteson interfered, on the application of the plaintiff, to have a house licensed for the sale of home-brewed beer and London porter in Fishgate Street, Norwich, nearly opposite one belonging to himself.  The answer was that this was an attempt to fix a stigma on the character of Mr. Patteson.  The Judge said the jury could find a verdict for the plaintiff without impeaching the character of the defendant.  The jury returned the following verdict: “We give the plaintiff £100 damages; at the same time we entertain a very high opinion of the high honour and good faith of Alderman Patteson and the other gentlemen of the Corporation.”

6.—Died at Ryde, Isle of Wight, Mr. John Lens, “his Majesty’s ancient Sergeant at Law,” aged 69.  He was a native of Norwich, and was educated at the Free Grammar School.

—Mr. Graham made a balloon ascent from Richmond Hill Gardens, Norwich, at 6.5 and descended at Beighton at 6.30 p.m.  He made a second ascent on August 30th and descended at Earlham.  He was advertised to ascend on September 6th in company with the High Sheriff, but the balloon was inadequate in lifting power.  A second attempt was made on the 7th.  Mr. Graham had to resign his place to Mrs. Graham, who successfully made the ascent with Col. Harvey, and descended in safety at Bradeston, near Brundall.

13.—The governors of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital received from his Majesty the King a copy of Arnold’s edition of Handel’s works in 49 volumes “for the use of those engaged at the Musical Festival connected with the charity.”

22.—At a rent audit dinner held at Woodbastwick the tenants presented to Mr. John Cator a silver vase, of the value of £120, as “a token of regard and respect for his liberal abatement of rent during four years of unprecedented depreciation of agricultural produce, by which means they were able to continue in the occupation of their farms during the wreck and ruin of thousands, and now times are altered for the better, hope to be enabled to pay their rents and meet their landlord as before with money in their pockets, cheerful countenances, and grateful hearts.”

30.—Election of freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich.  The candidates were—Mr. James Brooks, jun., 865 votes; Mr. Alderman Springfield, 501; Mr. William Scott (“nominated with the view of dividing Mr. Brooks’s interest”), 0.

SEPTEMBER.

1.—Mr. William Simpson, Chamberlain of the city of Norwich, was presented by the Corporation with a piece of plate, of the value of 100 guineas, in recognition of the able discharge of his official duties.

3*—“Died at Yarmouth, Mary, the wife of Mr. Clifford, of the Norwich Theatre, in her 55th year.”

10.—The Swaffham and London new post coach was advertised to run from the Crown Inn, Swaffham, on Monday, Wednesday, and p. 249Friday mornings at seven o’clock, and to return from the Three Nuns Inn, Aldgate, on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday mornings at the same hour.  It performed the journey in twelve hours.

14.—A piece of plate, of the value of £120, was presented to Mr. William Palgrave, of Yarmouth, by the manufacturers and merchants of Norwich, “to express their sense of his official conduct in regulating the drawback granted to them by the Government on the repeal of the duties on silk.”

23.—The Duke and Duchess of Clarence passed through Norwich.  Their Royal Highnesses had luncheon at the Rampant Horse Inn, and afterwards proceeded on their way to Newmarket and London.

OCTOBER.

2.—Died, Mrs. Hannah Want, of Ditchingham, aged 106.  “She was born August 20th, 1720.  Till the day of her death she was not confined to her bed, and on the anniversary of her 105th birthday entertained a party of her relatives, who visited her to celebrate it.  She lived to see a numerous progeny of the fifth generation, and at her death there were living children, grandchildren, great grandchildren, and great great grandchildren to the number of 121.”

4.—Mr. Daniel Woods, surgeon to the Gressenhall House of Industry, and to sixteen of the surrounding parishes, was presented with a piece of plate by the Guardians of the Mitford and Launditch Hundred in recognition of his efficient services during the period of 36 years.

8.—The Defiance Swaffham and London day coach was advertised to run to the Flower Pot Inn, Bishopsgate Street, every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday in twelve hours.

11.—A shooting match for 200 sovereigns commenced at Holkham between Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., and Capt. Ross.  Conditions: to shoot partridges; to toss for choice of ground on first day and exchange grounds on the second day; to load own guns and bag own game; and to have no other beaters than the dogs.  On the first day Mr. Coke killed 54 and Capt. Ross 40 brace.  The second day’s shooting took place on the 14th, when Capt. Ross had men to mark, beat, and pick up game.  At the first day’s shooting, it was alleged, Mr. Coke inadvertently broke the rules of the match.  Explanations followed, and bets were declared off.

17.—The Rev. T. D. Atkinson, St. Mary’s, Thetford, was presented with a piece of plate by the parishioners, churchwardens, and others in recognition of his unwearied zeal as “a most exemplary parish priest.”

20.—Messrs. Pettet’s Session Week Concerts at Norwich Theatre and the Hall Concert Room, St. George’s, commenced on this date.  The principal vocalists were Mr. Phillips and Madame Caradori; leader of the band, Mr. Mori.

—Died at his house, St. Clement’s, Norwich, aged 83, Dr. James Alderson.  The funeral took place on October 27 in the Gildencroft burial-ground belonging to the Society of Friends.

p. 25020.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, under the presidency of the High Sheriff, at which it was decided to petition Parliament “for the immediate mitigation of slavery throughout the British Colonies, and for its extinction at the earliest safe and practicable period in compliance with the resolutions of the House of Commons in May, 1823.”—The petition, which was presented in the House of Commons by Mr. Edmond Wodehouse on March 1st, 1826, received 17,125 signatures, and was 82 yards in length.

22.—Mr. James Vining, formerly of the Norwich Company, appeared at the Haymarket Theatre in the character of Octavian (“The Mountaineers”), and was favourably received.

23.—The Baron Von Bülan gave an address at the Old Meeting House, Norwich, as agent for a Continental society “for the distribution of Bibles and Christian instruction where Popery and infidelity prevail.”

25.—The Magnet coach from London to Norwich was accidentally overturned in passing through the Eldon gate at Thetford, and one of the passengers, a widow from Hargham, was crushed to death by the vehicle falling upon her.

26.—Died at the Cavalry Barracks, Norwich, aged 59, Lieut.-Col. Sir Thomas Pate Hankin, commanding the Scots Greys.  He joined the regiment as cornet, July 21st, 1795; was promoted lieutenant, August 13th, 1796; captain, October 18th, 1798; major, April 4th, 1808; lieutenant-colonel in the Army, June 4th, 1814; and lieutenant-colonel commanding the regiment, October 11th, 1821.  He was with that distinguished corps at the battle of Waterloo, when he received a severe wound in the knee.  Previous to entering the Army he was a surgeon at Upwell in this county, and afterwards captain of the grenadier company of the Middlesex Militia.  Sir Thomas was buried with military honours in the north transept of Norwich Cathedral on November 2nd.

NOVEMBER.

3.—Thorogood, the driver of “The Times” coach, gave up the reins on this date, having held them since July 14th, 1822, “during which time he drove the coach every day to and from the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, and the Swan with Two Necks, Lad Lane, London, a distance of 116 miles without any accident of consequence, a task which we believe was never before performed by any man.  In the above space of time he travelled 182,352 miles, independent of the distance he regularly walked, which could not have been less than a mile each day, as he always slept at the Blue Boar, Aldgate, when in London, and at the Bell, Orford Hill, when in Norwich.”  Thorogood married on November 8th Miss M. Westall, of London.

4.—H.R.H. the Duke of Sussex, who was staying with Admiral Windham at Felbrigg, visited Cromer, when the inhabitants removed the horses from his carriage and dragged it through the town.

7.—According to annual custom, a grand battue took place at Holkham, when upwards of 700 head of game were shot.  “Game p. 251has not been found so plentiful as in former seasons.  The deficiency was in hares, of which not more than 220 have been shot in one day.  In previous years upwards of 500 hares have been killed in the park in one day.”

12.—The Norwich Society “for promoting the immediate mitigation and final abolition of slavery” was established at a meeting held at St. Andrew’s Hall, under the presidency of the Mayor (Mr. T. S. Day).

14.—Married at Minto, Roxburghshire, Mr. J. P. Boileau, jun., eldest son of Mr. J. P. Boileau, of Mortlake, and of Tacolneston Hall, to Lady Catherine Elliott, daughter of the Earl of Minto.

—Swaffham Coursing Meeting commenced with a very small attendance.  “We have to regret the retirement of Lord Rivers, whose advanced age and infirm state of health have obliged him to relinquish his favourite pursuits.  The superior greyhounds his lordship used to bring secured him the victory in almost every match he made—indeed, he was allowed to possess the best breed of greyhounds in the kingdom.  The noble lord, during has coursing career, has been the winner of fourteen cups, and is the only member since the establishment of the Swaffham Coursing Meeting in 1779 who has won five cups at Swaffham, and this during the last eleven years, his lordship first entering in 1813.  His greyhounds sold at Tattersall’s in May last for 1,029 guineas; with seven horses and two dog carts the amount was brought up to 1,339½ guineas, which sum his lordship generously presented to his servants.  One dog, Rex, who has never been beaten, and also a bitch, as companion to this nonpariel, are retained by Lord Rivers as a memento of his celebrated kennel.”

21.—A meeting of the Norwich and Norfolk Law Library was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, at which were adopted the rules and regulations drawn up by a committee appointed on December 3rd, 1824.  The books were ordered to be deposited in a room in Institution Court, Upper Haymarket.

23.—The Norwich Association for Assisting in the Detection and Prosecution of Criminal Offenders was instituted at a meeting held at the Guildhall.

26.—A meeting was held at the Angel Inn, Norwich, at which an association was formed for the protection of agriculture.  It was known as the East Norfolk Agricultural Society, and Mr. Jehosaphat Postle was elected president.

—A corn market was re-established at Wells-next-the-Sea.

28.—The first annual meeting of subscribers to the Norfolk and Norwich Museum was held at the Guildhall, under the presidency of Sir James E. Smith.  Rules for the management of the institution were adopted.

30.—St. Andrew’s Day was celebrated by the Scots Greys at the Cavalry Barracks, Norwich.  A soldier dressed as St. Andrew was escorted from the city boundary to the barracks by a party of forty troopers in Highland dress, who called at the house of the Mayor, in Pottergate Street, and danced a reel.  The festival was afterwards kept in a convivial manner at the barracks.

p. 252DECEMBER.

9.—Mr. De Hague’s portrait, painted by Sir William Beechey, was hung in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.

12.—Died, aged 83, Mr. Burks, one of the proprietors of the “Norwich Mercury.”

16.—Messrs. T. H. and W. Day, of the Norwich and Swaffham Bank, announced that they were compelled to suspend their payments.  On the 17th it was made known that a docket had been struck preparatory to a commission of bankruptcy being issued against the firm.—Messrs. Fincham’s Bank at Diss stopped payment at about the same date owing to the sudden death of Mr. Benjamin Fincham on November 19th, but was re-opened on January 9th, 1826.

20.—The Rev. Robert Forby, rector of Fincham, was found drowned in his bath.  It was supposed that he was seized with sudden faintness while bathing.

27.—Died at Tittleshall parsonage, the Rev. Dixon Hoste, aged 76, for many years an acting magistrate in the Hundred of Launditch.

28.—A public meeting at Lynn approved a plan for constructing a bridge and embankment over the Cross Keys Wash, in order to establish direct communication between the whole of Norfolk and part of Suffolk with Lincolnshire and the north of England.

31.—Wombwell exhibited his menagerie on the Castle Hill, Norwich, and advertised as an attraction “the two unequalled lions, Nero and Wallace, the same who fought and conquered the dogs at Warwick.”

1826.

JANUARY.

7.—In consequence of continued applications for relief by the unemployed weavers, &c., the Norwich Court of Guardians increased the mulct for the ensuing quarter £3,000—an addition to the rates of 2s. in the pound.—On January 12th a Crape Ball, at which the lady patronesses wore white Norwich crape, other ladies scarlet geranium-coloured Norwich crapes, and gentlemen waistcoats of plain white shawl with shawl pattern border as part of their evening dress, was held at the Assembly Room for the purpose of promoting a fund for the relief of the poor, and produced a clear profit of £79.  The fund was formally inaugurated at a public meeting held at the Guildhall on January 16th, and upwards of £5,000 was afterwards subscribed.—The Paving Act Commissioners on January 24th decided to macadamise Ber Street in order to afford relief work, and in March the manufacturers, with the same object, commenced making bombazetts and twilled stuffs, articles that were entirely new to Norwich.  On March 10th the governors of the Bank of England granted to the manufacturers the loan of £80,000 for four months at the rate of p. 253five per cent. per annum; and on May 15th application was made to the committee in London for the relief of distressed manufactures, who granted £600 to the unemployed weavers, still numbering several thousands.—The Court of Guardians on July 4th increased the mulct for the ensuing quarter to £15,000; and in August offered to obtain employment for a considerable number of distressed weavers if they would consent to a slight reduction of wages.  The men declined the offer because the manufacturers refused to guarantee that they would not send work into the country.  During the remaining portion of the year employment continued to be scarce.

14.*—“Mr. W. E. L. Bulwer, of Heydon Hall, has lately been presented by his tenants with a piece of plate, of the value of 500 guineas, as a testimony of their respect and esteem for his general good conduct, and especially as a mark of gratitude for his disinterested generosity during the late agricultural distresses.”

18.—Died at Yarmouth, John Joy, for 30 years guard of the mail coach to London.  “He has left three sons, two of whom, since the death of Serres, are said to be the first marine painters in the kingdom.”

26.—A great skating match at Wisbech, in which all the principal fen skaters took part, was won by Farrow, of Nordelph.

31.—A large number of weavers caused a riot in Norwich, and destroyed a carrier’s cart which was conveying into the country materials for manufacturing purposes.  On February 1st the mob stopped all country carts and seized what manufacturing articles were found upon them, broke the windows of several factories, and became so aggressive that the Scots Greys were called out to quell the disturbance.  The rioting was resumed on February 13th, when many citizens were sworn in as special constables, and after the Riot Act had been read the cavalry cleared the streets.

FEBRUARY.

4.*—“Died at a rustic and old habitation on Kettlestone Common, at the age of 99, Robert Pamell, an honest husbandman, who, until he was 93, never took relief from the parish.  He had frequently said he never recollected having taken physic in his life.”

9.—The Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Bill was introduced into the House of Commons and read a first time; it passed its second reading on February 17th, and on February 27th petitions were presented against the measure from the Corporation of Yarmouth and the owners of estates, and in its favour from the inhabitants of Lowestoft and the Port Reeve and inhabitants of Beccles.  On April 10th a Committee of the House proceeded to take evidence, and after a sitting of 18 days 20 votes were given for the Bill and 25 against.  The result of the Parliamentary proceedings gave rise to great rejoicings at Yarmouth, where, on May 18th, a dinner was held to celebrate the defeat of the Bill.—On August 8th the Haven and Pier Commissioners received a deputation from the Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Committee, and a conference was held.  Further discussion was deferred until September 5th.—On August 26th the county p. 254magistrates held a meeting at the Norwich Shirehall, and resolved that it was desirable that Norwich be made a port through Yarmouth, and requested the Haven and Pier Commissioners to continue negociations with the Norwich Joint Stock Company.—At the adjourned meeting on September 5th the negociations fell through owing to the strong opposition manifested by the traders and merchants of Yarmouth.  The Navigation Company, on September 29th, decided to revive the Lowestoft scheme, to execute the work for a sum not exceeding £100,000, and to apply for a Bill in the next Session of Parliament.  On November 22nd a petition was presented in the House of Commons for leave to bring in the Bill, and was referred to Committee.  At a public meeting at Yarmouth on November 28th, it was resolved to exercise every influence to bring about the defeat of the measure.—The Bill was read a first time in the House of Commons on November 29th.

12.—Died at his house in St. Giles’, the Rev. Charles John Chapman, B.D., upper minister of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  He was educated at the Norwich Free Grammar School, under the Rev. Dr. Parr, and at the University of Cambridge, and was some time fellow of Corpus Christi College.

13.—Capt. Parry, R.N., was presented with the freedom of Lynn “in testimony of his meritorious and enterprising conduct in his several voyages of discovery.”  On the 15th the Corporation gave a dinner in his honour at the Town Hall.

14.—Died, Mrs. Mary Seaman, of Norwich, aged 100.

23.—The Scots Greys marched from Norwich for Liverpool.

MARCH.

3.—The 1st Dragoon Guards marched into Norwich.

9.—At a meeting of the county magistrates, held at the Shirehall, Norwich, a letter from the Secretary of State was read on the subject of the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich.  It was agreed to answer the various objections it contained, and to strongly urge the removal of the Assizes.—The Grand Jury at Norwich Assizes on July 22nd made a presentment of the grievance from which the city suffered in the absence of a second gaol delivery in the course of the year.

18.*—“Died lately in London, aged 62, Mr. Henry Smith, of Ellingham Hall, who for 29 years held the situation of solicitor to the East India Dock Company, and clerk of the Drapers’ Company.  Mr. Smith some time ago represented the borough of Colne in Parliament.”

25.—Between 60 and 70 friends of Mr. Cobbett dined at the Bowling Green Inn, Norwich, under the presidency of Sir Thomas Beevor.  Mr. Cobbett was present, and replied to the toast of “Our Guest,” proposed by Sir Thomas.

27.—The new Theatre at Norwich was opened with the performance of “The School for Scandal” and of the farce “Youth, Love, and Folly.”  The proceedings commenced with the singing of the National Anthem by the whole of the company, after which the leading actor, p. 255Mr. Osbaldiston, delivered an address, “written by a young lady of this city for the occasion.”  On the previous Saturday evening (March 25th) the patentee, Mr. Wilkins, entertained a party of 150 ladies and gentlemen in the green room of the Theatre.  The High Sheriff (Col. Harvey) proposed “Success to the new Theatre,” “which the guests readily pledged in glasses of sparkling champagne,” and the evening concluded with a dance upon the stage.

APRIL.

11.—Died at her house, Rue Neuve du Luxembourg, Paris, Madame De Bardelin, wife of Monsieur le Chevalier Laget De Bardelin, Officier Supérieur, Lieutenant des Gardes du Corps du Roy.  “Madame De Bardelin was well known and highly respected by many distinguished families in Norwich and Norfolk, where, when she was Miss Sutton, she resided for a considerable time.”

14.—A squadron of 1st King’s Dragoon Guards left Norwich for Leeds, and on the same day the depot of the 40th (2nd Somersetshire) Regiment of Foot arrived in the city and occupied the Cavalry Barracks.

20.—Mr. Osbaldiston took leave of the Norwich stage in the part of Virginius, and proceeded to the Haymarket Theatre, London.

30.—The large east window of Norwich Cathedral was exposed to view after restoration.  “The central light formerly comprised the Transfiguration, after Raphael, painted by the lady of the late Dean Lloyd, with varnished colours, but these not having been burnt in were after a time entirely dissipated.  The same subject has now been re-executed in vitrified colours from the picture by Julio Romano, in the possession of Mr. W. Wilkins.  To that ingenious artist, Mr. Zobel (in the employment of Mr. Yarrington, of Norwich), we offer our congratulations on the success of his undertaking.”

MAY.

1.—Mr. Barton, from the Bristol Theatre, who succeeded Mr. Osbaldiston as the tragedian of the Norwich Company, made his first appearance in the part of Hamlet.  “The thanks of the pure lovers of the stage are due to Mr. Chippendale for not playing the grave-digger in the traditionary number of waistcoats.”

4.—Major Jonathan Peel, son of Sir Robert Peel, and brother of the Right Hon. Robert Peel, Secretary of State for the Home Department, issued his address as candidate for Norwich in the “Purple and Orange” interest.

17.—Mr. William Smith issued his address as candidate for Norwich in the “Blue and White” interest.  “I regret,” he wrote, “that practices exist against which I have frequently and earnestly remonstrated; not only in private, but before thousands of you assembled I have openly protested against the right of any man to call for a reform in Parliament who accepted any reward for his own vote.”

18.—Died at his lodging at Yarmouth, aged 86, Mr. Roger Hays, of Norwich, formerly captain in the 11th Light Dragoons, and many p. 256years adjutant of the 3rd or East Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry.  He entered the Army in 1760, and was on duty with the Household troops at the coronation of George III.

19.—The several troops of the 3rd Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry, commanded by Lieut.-Col. Harvey, completed 28 days’ permanent duty at Norwich, and were inspected at Mile End by Major Rutledge, 6th Carabineers.

JUNE.

9.—Mr. William Smith, the former member, and Major Peel were returned unopposed for Norwich.  A Mr. Morrison had been invited to contest the seat as a third candidate, but excused himself on the ground that he was already nominated for Great Marlow.  It was by the extreme section of the “Blue and White” party that Mr. Morrison’s services were sought.  Failing in this they nominated Mr. R. H. Gurney, but it being represented to the Sheriff that he would not consent, the nomination was withdrawn.

—Yarmouth Election: the Hon. George Anson, 645; Mr. C. E. Rumbold, 649; Sir E. K. Lacon, 250.

10.—Lynn Election: The Hon. John Walpole, 199; Lord William Bentinck, 174; Sir W. B. ffolkes, 104.

—*“Died a few days since at Hampstead, in Berkshire, Mrs. Brunton, widow of the late Mr. John Brunton, of Norwich.”

12.—Lord Charles Fitz Roy and Mr. William Bingham Baring were returned unopposed for Thetford.

—Lord H. Cholmondeley and Col. the Hon. F. G. Howard were returned unopposed for Castle Rising.

—The portrait of Mr. J. S. Patteson, by Beechey, and of Mr. William Simpson, Chamberlain of the city and Treasurer of the county, by Phillips, R.A., were hung in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich.

14.—The Wesleyan Methodists of Norwich presented to the Rev. William Gilpin, superintendent of the Norwich circuit, a pair of silver cups as a token of gratitude and esteem.  The inscriptions were surmounted by engraved representations of Calvert Street and St. Peter’s Chapels, both of which were erected under Mr. Gilpin’s superintendence, the former in 1819 and the latter in 1824.

—The first laden wherries proceeded along the North Walsham and Dilham Canal from Wayford Bridge to Mr. Cubitt’s mill at North Walsham, with music playing and flags flying.  “Thousands of spectators assembled to witness this interesting scene, and the day finished with a plentiful treat to the workmen of Mr. Sharpe’s strong ale and Barclay’s brown stout.”

19.—Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse were returned unopposed for Norfolk.  “At Mr. Walter’s house on the Gentleman’s Walk, Lady Anne Coke, with her two lovely children, presented herself at the windows, and was greeted with loud acclaims by Mr. Coke’s friends.  When the hon. member himself passed the spot our venerable Lord Bishop was holding the young heir of Holkham in his arms, and each time that his father was triumphantly thrown up in his chair the plaudits were renewed with an enthusiasm which must have been truly grateful to his parental feelings.”

p. 25720.—Guild Day at Norwich was observed with the customary formalities.  Mr. Ed.  Temple Booth having been sworn in as Mayor, the Right Hon. Robert Peel, Secretary of State for the Home Department, and his brother, Major Peel, M.P., took the oath as freemen of the city.  The Guild feast, given at St. Andrew’s Hall, was attended by 650 guests, and the ball at Chapel Field House by 300.

21.—Messrs. Charles and George Green ascended in their balloon from the gasworks at Lynn in the presence of 15,000 spectators, and descended at Southery, near Downham Market.

JULY.

4.—A meeting of the “Blue and White” freemen was held at the Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. William Smith, M.P., at which was formed the Norwich Union Independent Society.  Its object was “to promote the purity of election.”

8.—Died at Dublin, aged 24, Lieut. Henry Francis Bell, 58th Regiment of Foot, grandson of Mr. Henry Bell, of Wallington.  He was accidentally shot by a recruit while at practice with ball cartridge.

10.—Great rejoicings took place at Cromer on the coming of age of the heir of Felbrigg.  The horses were removed from Mr. Windham’s carriage, which was dragged through the streets of the town.  “Fourteen barrels of strong ale and porter having been placed on a pleasant eminence on the road to Felbrigg, thirteen were broached and distributed among the company, and the remaining barrel was given to the poor of Cromer.  A ball was held at Felbrigg Hall in the evening.”

13.—In the Rolls Court Lord Gifford delivered judgment in the tithe case Bayley v. Sewell.  The plaintiff was the lessee of the impropriate rectory of Wymondham, and the defendant the occupier of certain farms called the Great Park Farm and the Little Park Farm, which had been purchased upwards of 200 years previously by Sir Henry Hobart, the then Lord Chief Justice of Common Pleas, as tithe free, subject only to the demand of a modus of £1 6s. 8d. in respect of the Great Park and of 13s. 4d. in respect of the Little Park.  This suit was instituted for the purpose of compelling payment of tithes in respect of both farms; and at the Norfolk Summer Assizes in 1825 the jury found for the plaintiff.  Lord Gifford, in his judgment, established the two ancient moduses which exempted the properties from the payment of tithes.

15.—The discontinuance of Magdalen Fair, Norwich, was announced in the following official notice:—“Sprowston, July 15th, 1826.  Whereas it has been represented to the executors and trustees of the estate of the late Thomas Woodruffe Smith, Esq., lord of the manor of Sprowston and lord of the fair called Mary Magdalene Fair, yearly held at Sprowston in the Hundred of Taverham in the county of Norfolk, that divers tumults and riotous proceedings have taken place at the above fair to the terror and fear of the lives of the peaceable inhabitants of the said parish, and great nuisances and depredations have been committed on their property, notice is hereby given to all dealers and chapmen and all persons whatever who have usually p. 258resorted thereto, that no fair will be held this year on the 2nd day of August or any subsequent day at Sprowston aforesaid, nor again in future, and any person or persons who may, after this notice, be found trespassing on the lands where the fair has been usually held, or on any other lands adjoining, or obstructing the public roads in Sprowston aforesaid, will be dealt with according to law.  By order of the said Trustees, Lords of the Manor of Sprowston.—Thomas Sayer, Bailiff.”

15.—A fine vessel called the Rapid, upwards of 160 tons, was launched from Mr. Preston’s yard at Yarmouth.

22.—A historical play entitled “Viriatus, the Lusitanian Hero,” written by Mr. Thwaites, jun., of Norwich, a member of the Norwich Company, was produced at the Theatre for the first time, and “was received with great approbation.”

30.—A singular phenomenon was witnessed at Cromer.  “The lighthouse hill and adjacent heights were literally covered with myriads of the insect called Lady Bird of an unusually large sort.”

AUGUST.

7.—The prisoners at the old City Gaol at Norwich were removed to the new Gaol at St. Giles’ Gates.

28.—Ten thousand persons were attracted to the neighbourhood of St. James’s Hill, Norwich, to witness the performances of “Signor Carlo Cram Villecrop, the celebrated Swiss Mountain Flyer from Geneva and Mont Blanc,” who was to exhibit “with the Tyrolese pole, 50 feet long, the most astonishing gymnastic flights never before witnessed in this country.”  It was a hoax.

29.—The election of the freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich was attended with great excitement.  The candidates were Mr. J. Bennett and Mr. T. O. Springfield.  “Complimentary half-crowns were paid to the ‘friends of independence,’” and it was mentioned as a circumstance highly creditable to the poor freemen of the “Purple and Orange” interest, that “they contented themselves with a fee of 5s. each from their own party.”  The poll was declared as follows: Bennett, 1,164; Springfield, 1,079.

—The North Walsham and Dilham Canal was formally opened by a grand procession of vessels which started from Wayford Bridge accompanied by a band of music and filled with company, among whom were Lord Suffield and many of the principal residents in the district.  At Antingham the company landed, formed in procession, and marched to North Walsham, where a dinner was held at the King’s Arms Inn, under the presidency of Col. the Hon. John Wodehouse.

SEPTEMBER.

4.—The Ven. Archdeacon Oldershaw preached at Pulham Market church on the occasion of the opening of the newly-erected organ, built by Mr. Bullen, “an ingenious mechanic of that place.”

p. 2599.*—“The aged inhabitants residing in the alms-houses in St. Gregory’s, bequeathed by Alderman Thomas Pye to the poor people belonging to St. Giles’, were removed this week into their newly-erected and comfortable dwellings in West Pottergate Street.”

13.—A man named Gibson, for a wager of £50, undertook to walk from Norwich to Yarmouth in seven and a half hours carrying £4 worth of copper coins, weighing four stones four pounds.  He started from Bishop Bridge at five o’clock in the morning, accomplished the first twelve miles in three hours, and arrived at Yarmouth half an hour within the stipulated time.

18.—A prize fight, “one of those revolting scenes, which are equally an outrage on every feeling of humanity as well as a scandal to civilised society,” took place at Bramerton.  The combatants were prevented by a magistrate from bringing off the affair at Surlingham; and the parish constable at Bramerton on attempting to stop the fight was almost killed in the execution of his duty.

OCTOBER.

5.—Joseph Wiggins, driver of the Norwich Phenomena coach, was fined at Ixworth in the mitigated penalty of £90 for having 36 head of partridges in his possession, contrary to the statute 5 Anne c. 14, s. 2.

11.—Died in Goat Lane, Norwich, aged 75, Mr. John Reynolds, who served the office of Sheriff in 1796.

17.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions a committee of justices reported that the Bridewell was “insufficient, inconvenient, and inadequate to give effect to the rules and regulations enforced in recent legislation, and it was necessary from the increased number of commitments to such Bridewell that some other and more commodious building should be erected or substituted.”

19.—A meeting was held at the Angel Inn, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. Unthank, at which was passed a resolution to the effect “that by the present mode of electing Guardians the great body of the payers of the poor-rates are entirely unrepresented, that the extraordinary increase in the poor-rates of the city within the last six months has caused the greatest alarm and demands the strictest scrutiny, and that it is desirable a Bill should be brought in to amend the present Court of Guardians Act so far as to the choosing members of the Court.”  A petition embodying the principle of this resolution was ordered to be presented to the House of Commons.

21.—Died, Mr. John Ansell, plumber and glazier, St. John Maddermarket, who served the offer of Sheriff of Norwich in 1806.

—At about this date large numbers of people assembled nightly on Orford Hill, Norwich, to watch for a “ghost” which was said to haunt the premises of a Mr. Hart.  Martin, a police officer, examined some unoccupied premises adjoining, and discovered a hiding-place which had evidently been used by the person who had annoyed Mr. Hart’s family.

—Mr. Stone, the County Surveyor, was reported to have “discovered rooms and passages within the walls of the Keep of Norwich p. 260Castle which have been unknown since it has become a county gaol, a period of nearly 500 years.”

22.—The Friends’ Meeting House in Goat Lane, Norwich, erected on the site of the old Meeting House demolished in 1825, was opened for public worship.  The architect was Mr. Patience, and the builder, Mr. John Bensley.

28.—At the adjourned Quarter Sessions at Norwich, Mr. Alderman Crisp Brown made serious allegations as to the way in which the contractors for the new Gaol had done their work.  The court appointed Mr. Nicholls, of London, to survey the work.  Vestry meetings were held in St. Giles’, St. Peter Mancroft, St. Andrew’s, and St. Julian’s, at which resolutions were adopted expressing approval of Mr. Brown’s action.  On May 12th, 1827, it was announced that Mr. Nicholls had awarded the sum of £1,552 to the contractors over and above the balance previously due to them.

NOVEMBER.

5.—A great part of the premises erected on the site of the old alms-houses, adjoining the Friends’ Meeting House, Goat Lane, Norwich, fell with a tremendous crash.

11.*—“Mr. W. Wilkins has received another testimony to his ability as an architect in the preference given to his design for the London University.”

—Died at Brundall, aged 72, Mr. Elisha De Hague, Town Clerk of Norwich, to which office he was elected on August 8th, 1792, on the death of his father.

18.*—“An intelligent mercantile gentleman from Russia, who landed at Yarmouth, with whom we had some conversation on the subject of the free admission of foreign corn into this country, gave it as his opinion that the fears entertained here by the landed interest of excessive importations, at least for some time to come, are quite groundless.  He admitted, however, that in eight or ten years, from the encouragement we shall have given to the foreign grower by our free trade system, if it should be extended to corn, abundant supplies may be expected.  What will then be the state of the agriculture of this country by no means too flourishing now may be easily imagined.”

21.—At a special assembly of the Corporation of Norwich, Mr. William Simpson, for 34 years Chamberlain, was elected Town Clerk and Clerk of the Peace, and steward of the several manors belonging to the Corporation, in the room of Mr. Elisha De Hague, deceased.

25.—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, for the twofold purpose of opposing the Bill presented to Parliament for the appointment of district surveyors of highways, and of expressing dissent from the practice which prevailed at the Shirehall of conducting county business with closed doors.  With regard to the first subject a resolution was passed stating that the county-rate had increased from £7,200 to £20,400 in twenty years, and that it was undesirable to increase it by making the proposed appointments.  It was decided to take counsel’s opinion upon the other matter.  (See January 12th, 1827.)

p. 26127.—The Rev. William Whitear, rector of Starston, met with his death under singular circumstances.  He had gone out with a party to apprehend poachers; the party divided themselves into two bodies, and on proceeding to the place where it had been agreed upon to reassemble, Mr. Whitear was mistaken for a poacher and shot in the right side by another of the party, a young man named Thomas Pallant.  He died from the effects of the wound on December 10th, and Pallant was committed for trial on the charge of manslaughter.  The case was tried at the Norfolk Assizes at Thetford before Mr. Justice Gaselee, on March 26th, 1827, when the accused was acquitted.  “He was so seriously affected during the trial that before its conclusion he became quite insensible, and was taken home in that state.”

DECEMBER.

2.*—[Advt.]  “Whereas a report was very generally circulated last week, and in a great measure obtained credit, that the body of William Tounshend, which was buried at Lakenham, on Sunday, November 19th, had been disinterred and taken away, we, the undersigned, have investigated the matter and certify the following statement to be correct:—The relatives of the deceased being much affected at such a report and naturally anxious to ascertain the truth of it, made application to have the grave examined.  After due deliberation upon the subject permission was granted for that purpose.  The grave was opened on Saturday last in the presence of them, together with us, when it was discovered that the body reposed in its peaceful abode undisturbed.  We consider it to be our duty to give this public contradiction to so groundless and scandalous a report, in order thereby to satisfy the minds of the parishioners and the public at large.—George Carter, vicar; Hunton Jackson, William Norman, churchwardens; Lakenham Vestry, November 26th.”

6.—At a meeting of the Norwich Corporation, Mr. Robert Alderson was elected Recorder in place of Mr. C. S. Onley, resigned.  “Mr. Alderson, though only what is technically termed an ‘utter barrister,’ is now the Recorder of three Corporations, namely, Norwich, Yarmouth, and Ipswich.  An ‘utter barrister’ (according to Bailey) is a young lawyer admitted to plead at the Bar, or a person well schooled in the common law who is called from contemplation to practice.”

8.—At a special court of the Corporation of Guardians, Norwich, Mr. Roger Kerrison, solicitor, was elected clerk in the room of Mr. William Simpson, resigned.

—Died at Holkham, aged 90, William Jones, for upwards of 50 years huntsman and principal stable servant in the Coke family.  “On his death-bed he was seen by Mr. Coke, who took with him the young heir of Holkham, to shake his faithful old servant by the hand.  Lady Anne Coke, Lady Anson, and all the family at Holkham showed every possible kindness and attention to the venerable and much-respected old man.”

11.—A serious poaching affray took place in Heydon Woods between a band of 25 poachers and about 20 keepers and watchers.  The Hon. George Edwards (a son of Lord Kensington), who accompanied the p. 262keepers, was knocked down by a stone, and shot while upon the ground.  At the Norfolk Assizes, held at Thetford on March 26th, 1827, before Mr. Justice Gaselee, 13 persons were indicted in connection with the affair.  Sentences of death passed upon them were commuted to terms of transportation.

12.—Mr. Isaac Preston was elected Steward of Norwich in room of Mr. Robert Alderson, appointed Recorder.

14.—A meeting of the Hundred of Eynsford was held at the Swan Inn, Reepham, at which it was decided to petition Parliament against any alteration in the Corn Laws.  Similar petitions were adopted by almost every Hundred in the county.

17.—The depôt of the 40th Regiment of Foot marched from Norwich for Bradford.

1827.

JANUARY.

6.—Mons. Louis, a native of Lorraine, 26 years of age, seven feet six inches in height, was exhibited at the Angel Inn, Norwich.

7.—Intelligence was received in Norwich of the death of H.R.H. the Duke of York, and the great bell of St. Peter Mancroft, and the bells of other churches in the city, were tolled for two hours.  On Saturday, the 13th, the day of the funeral, “all the shops in Norwich were kept as closely shut as on the Sabbath”; the Mayor and Corporation attended service at the Cathedral; and funeral sermons were preached at many of the parish churches and city chapels.

11.—A meeting of the Norfolk Cricket Club was held at Norwich, when rules were adopted.  It was agreed to play four matches during the year, one on each of the four grounds to be established by the club in the neighbourhood of Norwich, Yarmouth, Swaffham, and Gunton.  Rule 20 provided that members, clergymen excepted, should wear at the annual meetings the uniform dress—“a dark blue coat with buttons lettered ‘N.C.C.,’ with white waistcoat, &c.”  Mr. Philip Gurdon, of Letton, was elected treasurer.

12.—A bull driven along St. Martin’s Street, Norwich, entered the Bess of Bedlam public-house, and rushing upstairs made its way into a room where a musical party was held.  The animal was dislodged with great difficulty.

—At a meeting of the county magistrates the question of the conduct of business was discussed.  Several magistrates resisted the idea that the public had a right to claim admission, and it was agreed that the proceedings be read in the lower court at the close of each meeting, and “such of them as appeared advisable be advertised in the newspapers.”

13.—Very severe weather was experienced in Norfolk.  The thermometer on this date registered 14 degrees below freezing point.  p. 263A heavy fall of snow on the 15th impeded coach traffic in the neighbourhood of Swaffham.  “Many hundreds of rabbits perished in the Thetford and Brandon districts through being out in search of food and unable to find their burrows again.”

26.—A severe storm occurred on the Norfolk coast.  Four vessels drove from their anchors and stranded on Yarmouth beach; and a brig was wrecked on Happisburgh sands.  The whole of her crew perished.

29.—On November 28th, 1826, three candidates were nominated for the office of City Chamberlain at Norwich, of whom Mr. James Goodwin had the majority in the Court of Aldermen and Mr. Beckwith in the Common Council.  The assembly broke up without electing the Chamberlain.  On January 29th a special meeting of the Corporation was held in consequence of the Mayor having received notice that a rule of the Court of King’s Bench would be applied for requiring them to shew cause why a writ of mandamus should not issue commanding them to admit and swear Mr. Goodwin into the office of Chamberlain and other offices.  It was ordered that cause be shown.  On February 10th the Court of King’s Bench discharged the rule nisi.  At a special meeting of the Corporation on March 9th, the Town Clerk reported on the result of the motion, and Mr. A. A. H. Beckwith was then unanimously elected Chamberlain, and Mr. John Skipper Speaker of the Common Council, in place of Mr. Beckwith.  A new Council was elected in April, and at a special assembly on May 16th, Mr. Beckwith was requested to leave the room.  The Speaker, Mr. J. S. Parkinson (who had been elected in place of Mr. Skipper), declined to recognise Mr. Beckwith as Chamberlain.  Mr. Goodwin was then proposed, and elected to the office.  At a Council meeting on June 7th, Mr. Beckwith took his seat as Chamberlain, and was asked to retire; he refused, and the beadle was called in.  Mr. Beckwith, addressing that officer, said, “I give you notice, if you lay your hands on me you do so at your peril.”  One of the members remarked that if the beadle did not turn him out they would.  Mr. Beckwith was then led out by the beadle, and the incident terminated.

FEBRUARY.

2.—A fine specimen of the sea eagle (falco ossifragus) was shot near Fritton Decoy.  It measured from tip to tip of its wings seven feet nine inches, and was presented to the Norwich Museum.

5.—Four thousand weavers met at Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, and passed resolutions protesting against the action of certain manufacturers in reducing the rate of wages without consulting other employers, and requesting the Mayor to summon a meeting of the masters to shew cause why the reduction had been made.  On the 12th a procession of 600 operatives, headed by a man carrying a loaf of bread draped in black crape, passed through the streets of the city.  A petition to Parliament was prepared, in favour of an Act to regulate the price of labour.  The petition was presented in the House of Commons on May 30th, by Mr. William Smith.

12.—The last stage of the agitation for making Norwich a port was commenced on this date, when Major Peel presented a petition in p. 264the House of Commons from the Mayor, Aldermen, and inhabitants of Norwich in favour of the Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Bill.  The Bill having been read a second time, entered the Committee stage on February 21st, when Mr. Alderson opened the case on behalf of the promoters; the examination of their witnesses concluded on Feb. 27th.  The case for the opposition was commenced on the same day, and the evidence concluded on March 7th.  In the division on the question “that the preamble of this Bill is proved,” there were 25 ayes and 5 noes.  Peals were rung on the church bells at Norwich when intelligence was received, on March 8th, that the Bill had passed through Committee, and Mr. Crisp Brown, on his return from London, on the 9th, was met at St. Stephen’s Gates by a large number of citizens, who, headed by a band of music, drew his carriage to his residence in King Street.  On March 11th the Bill was reported to the House, and on the 22nd it was read a third time and passed.  On the same evening it was read a first time in the House of Lords; it passed its second reading on March 26th, and was referred to Committee, who took evidence on May 7th, and on the 22nd it was read a third time and carried without opposition.  The news of the final success of the measure was received in Norwich with great rejoicing.  On the 23rd a procession was organized to meet the promoters on their arrival from town.  The Times coach, by which they travelled, was met at Harford Bridges, and at St. Stephen’s Gates the horses were removed from the vehicle, which was dragged in triumph through the city, preceded by bands of music and by men carrying models of ships and naval emblems.  At night a bonfire was lighted in the centre of the Market Place, and was fed with wooden spouts, palings, and watch-boxes.  Some of the ringleaders were lodged in clink, but their comrades rescued them and threw the clink doors upon the bonfire.  Sheep were roasted in Ber Street and Bishop Street.  The Bill received the Royal assent on May 28th.  The first meeting of the proprietors of the Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Company was held at the Guildhall, on July 3rd, when Col. Harvey presided.  Mr. Edmund Newton was appointed clerk, Mr. Cubitt engineer, and Messrs. Harvey and Hudson treasurers.  The work of excavation was begun in the Lowestoft section on September 4th, when Mr. Crisp Brown dug the first spadeful of earth, and a dinner and aquatic sports were held to celebrate the event.

17.—Died at Wymondham, aged 69, Mr. Thomas Troughton, who was Sheriff of Norwich in 1810.

19.—Mr. William Smith, in the House of Commons, presented a petition from the inhabitants praying leave to bring in a Bill to regulate the state of the poor in Norwich.  The Norwich Court of Guardians Amendment Bill was brought in and read a first time on March 1st.  On March 24th it was stated that the promoters of the measure had effected a compromise with the Court of Guardians as to the proportion of representation; persons assessed £10 and upwards were to have two votes, and those above £5 one vote; the Recorder, Steward, and Aldermen not to be Guardians; the hamlets not to be assessed on stock, but the proportion of assessment between them and the city to be five-sixths—i.e., when the city was assessed 1s. the hamlets were to be assessed 10d.  The Bill went through Committee of the House on the 26th, and was reported on the 28th.  It was read a first and second time in the House of Lords in April, finally passed on May 4th, p. 265and received the Royal assent on May 28th.  The first election under the new Act took place on June 11th, and the first meeting of the new Court was held on June 20th, when Mr. Anthony Hudson was elected Governor, and Mr. Joseph Geldart Deputy-Governor.

19.—The Crim. Con. case, Sir Jacob Astley, Bart., v. Capt. Garth, was tried in the Court of Common Pleas, when a verdict was given for the plaintiff, damages one shilling.

20.—A cricket match was played on the ice at Diss Mere.  It commenced at 10 a.m., and was well contested until dusk, in the presence of about 1,500 spectators.

24.*—“Died last week, at Kenninghall, aged 105, Mrs. Sarah Barham.”

—“Died at Yarmouth Mr. Nathan Fenn, in his 101st year.”

—A detachment of the 12th (Prince of Wales’) Royal Lancers marched into Norwich Barracks from Hounslow, under the command of Capt. Cunnyngham.

25.—Died at Norwich, aged 101, Thomas Greenfield, gardener.

26.—Major Peel presented in the House of Commons a petition from the Chancellor and Prebendaries of Norwich Cathedral, and from the Archdeacon and clergy of Norfolk, against further concessions to the claims of Roman Catholics.

MARCH.

3.—Died at Costessey Hall, the Rev. Lawrence Strongitharm, aged 31, formerly of the Roman Catholic church, St. John Maddermarket, Norwich.  “To great learning and a highly gifted mind, to the most elegant and refined manners, and to the most powerful and commanding eloquence he added a most fervent and unaffected piety and undying zeal for the furtherance of religion.”  His remains were interred on the 9th, before the altar in the chapel of St. John Maddermarket.

8.—“Two celebrated amateurs of fashion,” the Hon. W. Berkeley and the other “a military man,” appeared in the parts of Othello and Roderigo at Norwich Theatre.  They afterwards appeared as Romeo and Mercutio, and in other characters.

9.—Died Adam Burrell, many years carrier between Flitcham and Lynn.  “The deceased was rather an eccentric character, and often designated as ‘Adam Slow,’ as he usually occupied six or seven hours going from Flitcham to Lynn, a distance of about 10 miles.  He was, however, a very honest and inoffensive man.”

10.—Particulars were published on this date of the Norfolk and Norwich Joint Stock Banking Company, of which Mr. Samuel Bignold was managing director.  The capital was advertised as £200,000, and the bank had branches at Lynn, Swaffham, Dereham, Foulsham, and Harling.

17.*—[Advt.]  “Marshland Shales.  The well-known trotting stallion, Marshland Shales, will be sold by auction on Tombland Fair-day, unless previously disposed of by private contract.  This is the horse which on August 3rd, 1810, trotted 17 miles in 56 minutes, carrying 12 st. 2 lb., and was then sold by auction for 305 gs.  For particulars p. 266apply, if by letter post-paid, to Mr. Moneyment, veterinary surgeon, Norwich.”

19.—A large portion of the city wall at Richmond Hill Gardens, Norwich, fell into the Bracondale Road, from the effects of a violent gale on the 17th.

—Died, aged 59, Mr. Edward Dewing, of Guist.  He was out hunting with his hounds when he was seized with a fit of apoplexy and dropped from his horse.  During a second attack he expired.

22.—Sixty-five prisoners for trial at the Lent Assizes at Thetford were escorted from Norwich Castle to that place by men of the Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry.

31.*—“Lately died at Wicklewood, Mrs. Mary Spraggs, aged 100.”

—*“Died lately, Mrs. Catherine Mann, aged 102.”

APRIL.

1.—A newly-erected malthouse, belonging to Mr. W. Hardy, at Letheringsett, was destroyed by fire.  The building was 150 feet by 40 feet, and contained 90 last of malt, a considerable quantity of wool, barley, and empty casks.  “The engine from Holt did not arrive until after the roof fell in, the people supposing the alarm of fire to be only an April hoax.”

2.—The annual election of Common Councilmen commenced at Norwich.  “For several years ‘cleansing week’ has passed off without any serious contests, and the ‘Purple and Orange’ party has held uninterrupted ascendency in three of the great wards since 1820.  All at once, however, the ‘Blue and Whites’ have roused themselves from their inaction, and again entering the field of party warfare, have succeeded in displacing their opponents.  It is useless to deny that the week’s proceedings have been marked by undisguised bribery and corruption, and that the object of the triumphant party has mainly been achieved by superior weight of metal—by dint of money.”

10.—Died at his residence in London, aged 78, the Marquis of Cholmondeley, of Houghton Hall, Lord Steward of his Majesty’s Household, &c.

13.—Died, aged 82, Mr. Daniel Clark, of Norwich.  “He was in the commercial establishment of Messrs. Ives for nearly 70 years and was justly esteemed in nautical and musical communities.  To the last his song was cheerful and his convivial good humour unabated, and many a head must lie as low as his before the name of ‘Admiral’ Clark will be forgotten, or his memory ceased to be cherished with respect.”

14.—The Norwich Cricket Club announced that a lease had been taken of a field at Lakenham, “without Ber Street Gates, and nearly opposite Lakenham Terrace,” and that the ground had been “laid down with fine turf by Mr. Bentley, of Lords.”  The secretary of the club was Mr. Henry Hobart, solicitor, of Bethel Street.

22.—Died at Harleston, aged 66, Mr. Robert Paul, formerly of Starston, “well known to agriculturists for several ingenious inventions and for his inquiries into the nature, history, and habitudes of the turnip fly and wireworm.”

p. 267MAY.

1.—Four candidates were nominated for the Mayoralty of Norwich, namely, Alderman Peter Finch, who received 918 votes; Alderman Yallop, 867; Alderman J. S. Patteson, 566; and Alderman C. Brown, 565.  At the Court of Aldermen on the 3rd Mr. Finch was elected Mayor.

3.—Newspaper reporters were for the first time admitted to the assembly of the Norwich Corporation.

9.—Died at Margaretta Farm, Clenchwarton, aged 83, Dr. Charles Browne, for many years physician to the King of Prussia.  On his return to England his Majesty conferred upon him the Order of the Red Eagle as a mark of his esteem.  Dr. Browne was a man of high literary attainments.

24.—The bounds of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich, were perambulated.  “It gave rise to those scenes of vulgar mirth for which occasions of this kind are used as an excuse for indulging in with impunity.  We never remember the ducking system carried to such lengths.  The Rev. J. Bowman, in the early stage of the proceedings, was on Hay Hill drenched from head to foot.  The pail which a fellow had in his hand (and which had been filled with water from an adjoining pump) being dropped at his feet, he accidentally fell over, but fortunately escaped without any serious injury.  The company afterwards met for dinner at the Angel Inn.”

29.—The Bishop of Chichester, acting on behalf of the Bishop of Norwich, held a visitation at Lynn and confirmed 1,400 persons at St. Margaret’s church, and 620 at St. Nicholas’ chapel.  The number confirmed at Holt was 1,120; at Fakenham, 1,800; at East Dereham, 1,100; and at Hingham, 803.

JUNE.

4.—Mr. Bolton, formerly coach proprietor and landlord of the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, was driving between Melton Mowbray and Stamford when his horse ran away and overturned the vehicle.  Mr. Bolton received severe injuries, from which he died on the 10th.

12.—A serious riot occurred at Norwich.  A party of Wymondham weavers, who had damaged looms and destroyed silk to the value of £1,000, at Ashwellthorpe, had been conveyed to Norwich Castle for examination.  The witnesses were brought to the city in hackney coaches, escorted by a detachment of the 12th Lancers.  The Norwich weavers, who had barricaded the Golden Ball Lane entrance to Castle Meadow with a waggon, and placed a similar obstruction near the Castle Bridge, received the military with a volley of stones.  The witnesses were then conveyed by way of Timberhill to Orford Hill, and while a large body of special constables displaced the waggon at the bridge, a second detachment of Lancers came from the Barracks, charged the mob at full gallop, and dispersed them in all directions.  An attempted rally was frustrated by a second charge.  The Militia staff were under arms on the Castle Hill, and the streets were patrolled by the Norwich light Horse Volunteers.  At the Norwich Assizes, on August 11th, several of the rioters were indicted before Mr. Baron p. 268Garrow for assaults, and were discharged on entering into their recognisances.  David Seeker, Henry Rix, and William Thurston were charged with the capital offence of riotously assembling together to the disturbance of the public peace.  Mr. Cooper, for the defence, objected to the wording of the indictment.  The words of the King’s proclamation read at the time of the disturbance were “chargeth and commandeth all persons,” &c.; the indictment said “chargeth and command”; and instead of directing the people to “depart to their lawful habitations or to their lawful homes,” the indictment said “and to their lawful homes.”  The learned Judge pronounced the objection to be valid, and expressed the hope that the prisoners “would go home sensible of the blessings of Providence in having shielded them that day, and saved them from an ignominious death.”  The Ashwellthorpe rioters were bound over in the sum of £50 each.

19.—Breakfast à la fourchette with the Mayor-elect (Mr. Peter Finch) and luncheon with the Mayor (Mr. E. T. Booth), prepared the Sheriffs, Aldermen, &c., for the Guild Day proceedings at Norwich.  The customary ceremonies were observed at the Guildhall, service was attended at the Cathedral, and 600 guests dined at St Andrew’s Hall.

23.—The Surrey Gardens, Thorpe Road, Norwich, were advertised as a resort “for the reception of respectable families and invalids,” where “pure air, unbounded prospects of land and water, refreshing fruits and odoriferous flowers” could be obtained.  A military band played on Sunday evenings, from five to seven o’clock.

27.—The Bishop of Norwich confirmed at North Walsham church 1,280 persons.  On one day in the previous week his lordship confirmed in Norwich Cathedral 1,100 persons.

30.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 87, Mr. Jacob Preston, senior magistrate of the borough.  He was Mayor in 1793, 1801, and 1813.

—Mr. Yates gave his entertainment, “Portraits and Sketches,” at Norwich Theatre.  On subsequent evenings he was assisted by Mr. Brunton and Mrs. Yates (formerly Miss Brunton).

JULY.

25.—A well-contested prize fight took place at Bessingham, between Rix and Sharpens, for £5 aside.  The former beat his opponent, after fighting 78 rounds in 45 minutes.

AUGUST.

5.—A duel took place on Yarmouth Denes “between J--- B---, Esq., and W. M---, Esq., in consequence of a dispute the previous day at the Bath Rooms.  Both were to fire at the same time, but on the signal being given Mr. M.’s ball did not take effect, and Mr. B.’s pistol missed fire.  The seconds then interfered, and the affair was adjusted without much difficulty.”

6.—Norwich Theatre was re-opened for the Assize week.  “The return of Mr. Osbaldiston gave rise to scenes of disturbance which p. 269interrupted the progress of the performance for several evenings.  A kind of set appears to have been made against him, but he has been warmly applauded by the respectable part of the audience.”

6.—The Norfolk Cricket Club played the first of a series of matches which took place during the Norwich Assize week.  The annual dinner was held at the Rampant Horse Inn on the 10th, under the presidency of Lord Suffield, and in the evening a ball was given at Chapel Field Rooms.  The patronesses were the Countess of Albemarle, Lady Anne Coke, Lady Stafford, Lady Suffield, the Hon. Mrs. Wodehouse, Lady Lacon, and Mrs. Gurdon.  “The waltz was introduced for the first time in the course of the evening, but a very select few appeared inclined to join in that rotatory movement.”

28.—The election of freemen’s Sheriff took place at Norwich; the candidates were Alderman T. O. Springfield and Lieut. Fred White, R.N.  “As soon as the polling commenced, a ticket was given by the ‘Blue and White’ party, entitling the voter who chose to accept it to half-a-crown.  Nothing was given on the side of the ‘Purple and Orange,’ Lieut. White having merely come forward in consequence of a requisition sent to him by the poor freemen and signed by upwards of 300 names.”  The poll was thus declared: Springfield, 1,210; White, 474.  Lieut. White, in his subsequent address, wrote: “I consider my failure more honourable than to have gained the day by bribery and corruption.  The 474 votes I obtained will at least rescue the character of a considerable portion of our fellow-citizens from the reproach of selling themselves to the highest bidder.”

SEPTEMBER.

5.—The first stone of the new Roman Catholic chapel in St. Giles’ parish, Norwich, was laid by the Hon. and Rev. Edward Clifford.

8.—Died, aged 74, at his house in St. Faith’s Lane, Norwich, Mr. William Herring, 32 years an alderman of the city.  He was the second son of the Very Rev. William Herring, D.D., Dean of St. Asaph.

12.—The election of an alderman to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Mr. Herring took place at Norwich.  The candidates were Mr. Angell, “Purple and Orange,” and Mr. Marshall, “Blue and White.”  Great excitement prevailed throughout the contest.  “The ‘Purple and Orange’ party were informed in the course of the day that some of their friends had been carried off and were detained in a warehouse in St. Clement’s.  A magistrates’ warrant was applied for and the captives set at liberty.”  At the close of the day the voting stood as follows: Angell, 215; Marshall, 195.  The friends of the latter demanded that the poll be continued on the 13th, “because seven of Mr. Marshall’s friends were detained at Ranworth against their will.”  The other side retaliated that eleven of their voters had been forcibly carried away by the “Blue and Whites.”  The Mayor deprecated the system that had been put in force, and adjourned the poll till 10 o’clock the following morning.  The poll was finally declared as follows: Angell, 218; Marshall, 196.  (See September 24th.)

18.—A Musical Festival for the benefit of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital commenced at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, and concluded with p. 270a ball in the same building on the 21st.  The principals engaged for the oratorios and concerts were Madame Pasta, Miss Stephens, Miss Bacon, Miss Farrar, Madame Caradori Allan, Mr. Braham, Mr. Vaughan, Mr. Terrail, Mr. Edward Taylor, and Signor Zuchelli.  Sir George Smart conducted.  The total receipts amounted to about £6,400, of which £1,672 12s. 1d. was handed to the Hospital.

24.—An inquest was held by Mr. Bell, the Norwich Coroner, on the body of James Bailey, one of the persons who was forcibly carried away to prevent his voting at the Alderman’s election on the 12th.  “On the 10th he was taken away by the ‘Blues and Whites’ to Wroxham Castle public-house, the next morning removed to Horning Swan, afterwards taken to Smallburgh, and on the same night removed to Ridlington Plough.  They wanted nothing for eating and drinking, but Bailey being very ill, suffered very much from being moved about.”  On his return to Norwich he was engaged to sell programmes at the Musical Festival, where he was in attendance from the 18th to the 20th.  On the 22nd he broke a blood vessel and died.  “His attendance at the Festival took the onus off his captors, and the jury returned a verdict of ‘Died from the visitation of God.’”

28.—Mr. Samuel Stone was elected Speaker of the Common Council of Norwich, in the room of Mr. J. S. Parkinson, deceased.

29.*—[Advt.]  “£100 Reward, and his Majesty’s Pardon.  Eight horses belonging to Mr. William Slack, of Norwich, died between the 25th August last and the 10th September, six soon after their return from Attleborough (one of the depôts for horses drawing the London vans) to Norwich, one at Attleborough, and the other at Newmarket, and upon being opened it has been ascertained that they died by mineral poisoning, supposed to have been administered in water or in some liquid form.  The Government offer the above reward.”

—*“The week before last Mr. Meyer Levi, gold and silver smith, a converted Jew, together with Mrs. Hannah Levi, a converted Jewess, received the rite of Christian baptism at the hands of the vicar in the parish church of St. Stephen’s, Norwich, when the Christian names of John and Hannah were given to the above parties, and at the same time they adopted the surname of Herbert.”

OCTOBER.

6.—A number of silver coins, some of them bearing date 1577, were dug up by a gardener at Thorpe, who sold them for £30.

13.—The portrait of Mr. Henry Francis, Mayor of Norwich in 1824, was hung in St. Andrew’s Hall.  The artist was Mr. Lane, of Greek Street, Soho.

18.—Died at Costessey, Mrs. Anne Maria Teresa Vere, aged 100, sister of Mr. Charles Gosnold, formerly of Norwich.

20.—Killed at the battle of Navarino, aged 24, Lieut. George William Howe FitzRoy, R.N., of H.M.S. Dartmouth, second son of Lieut.-General the Hon. William FitzRoy, of Kempston Lodge.

p. 271NOVEMBER.

3.*—“At the auction mart last week Mr. Hoggart sold the well-known estate called St. Andrew’s Hall, Old Buckenham, a fine mansion house, and 532 acres of land, at £29,300.”

10.—It was announced that Mr. Smith, manager of Norwich Theatre, had taken of the patentee, Mr. Wilkins, a seven years’ lease of that and the other houses in the circuit.

—Mr. Mathews commenced a three nights’ engagement at the Assembly Rooms, Norwich.

17.*—“The expense of erecting the house of industry at Wicklewood in 1777 was defrayed by a tontine called the ‘Forehoe Tontine,’ consisting of 110 shares at £100 each, bearing an interest of £5 per cent.  Fifty years have now elapsed, and in 1827 there are still 50 survivors out of the original number.”

25.—Died at Prospect Place, Gorleston, aged 65, Mr. F. F. Hope, for 30 years paymaster of the East Norfolk Militia.  “Previously he was an officer of the line, saw much service during the great American War, was at the siege of Yorktown in Virginia in 1781, and there taken prisoner by the combined Armies of France and America, with the whole of the British Army under Lord Cornwallis.”

DECEMBER.

16.—The small organ in East Dereham church, mentioned by Dr. Burney in his “History of Music” as a curiosity, which was built by the famous Schmidt, in 1666, for the Hon. Roger North, of Rougham Hall, and purchased for the parish in 1786 for the small sum of £30, was, after enlargement under the direction of the Rev. R. F. Elwin, of Norwich, opened before a congregation of 1,600 persons, by Mr. Last, of Orford.  The builder, Mr. Joseph Hart, of Redgrave, found that Schmidt’s pipes were as sound as on the day they were finished.

—A boy of 13, named William Moore, was brutally murdered in a field at Brisley, by John Kenney, a lunatic, aged 24.  The body was horribly mutilated.  The prisoner was committed for trial on the Coroner’s warrant, on the charge of wilful murder, and at the Lent Assizes, held at Thetford on March 21st, before Mr. Baron Garrow, the jury returned a verdict of not guilty, on the ground of the insanity of the accused.

22.*—[Advt.]  “A main of cocks will be fought at the White Hart Inn, Swaffham, on Thursday, the 27th of December, 1827, for 50 guineas, between Mr. J. Farrer, of Necton, and Mr. G. Gould, of Swaffham.  A very superior day’s play is expected, as there are several other matches besides.”

—*“Died lately, at Northrepps, Hannah Storey, in her 101st year.”

—Lieut.-Col. Harvey, commanding the 3rd Regiment of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry, addressed a letter to the Marquis of Lansdowne, Secretary of State for War, detailing the services rendered by the regiment in quelling disturbances, &c., and expressing the hope that p. 272the Government would not order the disbandment of the corps.  His lordship replied that he had not lost sight of the valuable services of the Yeomanry, but that the Barracks at Norwich were then, and were likely to continue, a station for regular cavalry, and consequently he was unable to accede to the request to continue the pay and allowance to the regiment.

24.—Died at Lynn, Samuel Pearson, a journeyman cabinetmaker, “who, in the intervals of his labour, acquired a deep knowledge of mathematics, and possessed the faculty of communicating his knowledge to others.  He established a mathematical academy, which had every prospect of success.”

29.—Miss C. Morgan’s Menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Hill, Norwich.

—Great excitement was caused in Yarmouth by the discovery that upwards of twenty recently interred bodies had been removed from the churchyard by resurrection men.  “The churchyard was quickly crowded by the population.  Wives were searching for the remains of their deceased husbands, husbands for those of their wives, and parents for their children.”  Three men, Thomas Smith, alias Vaughan, William Barber, and Robert Barber, were apprehended, and committed for trial at Yarmouth Quarter Sessions, whence, on April 1st, 1828, the indictment was removed by writ of certiorari to the Court of King’s Bench.  The case was tried at Norwich Assizes, before Lord Chief Baron Alexander, on August 11th, 1828, when only Vaughan (or Smith) was proceeded against.  Robert Barker turned King’s evidence, and described the method by which the graves were robbed, and how the bodies were sent to London by the wain.  A verdict of guilty was returned, and on November 14th, 1828, the prisoner was brought up for sentence in the Court of King’s Bench.  He urged that he was driven by poverty to the commission of the offence, and was sentenced by Mr. Justice Bayley to six months’ imprisonment in the house of correction at Norwich.

31.—Miss Clark, a native of the city, commenced an engagement with her equestrian company at the Pantheon, Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich.

1828.

JANUARY.

4.—A grand concert, given at Wells Theatre, was attended by Earl Rosebery, Lord and Lady Bury, Lord Dalmeney, Viscountess Andover, Admiral Digby, Lady H. Primrose, the Hon. Misses Anson, the Hon. B. Primrose, &c.  The programme opened with Haydn’s “Surprise Sinfonia,” and the artistes engaged included M. Venna, Master Sporle, Madame Baur, and Mr. Barron.  “Gentlemen amateurs” sang glees, and at the close of the concert a ball took place, at which 200 were present.

p. 27318.—A resurrection-man was shot in Bacton churchyard by a party of grave watchers.  He was in the act of disinterring the body of one James Howlett, who was accidentally killed a few days previously.  The resurrectionist, although badly wounded, effected his escape in the darkness.

23.—Norwich Theatre opened for the season with Mr. Smith as manager and lessee.

24.—Died, Mr. Martin Fountain, who was Sheriff of Norwich in 1812.

26.—Atkins’ Menagerie was exhibited on the Castle Hill, Norwich.

31.—Lord William Bentinck addressed a circular letter to his constituents at Lynn, announcing his resignation as one of the members for the borough, in consequence of his appointment as Governor-General of India.

FEBRUARY.

4.—Lord George Bentinck was elected without opposition a member for King’s Lynn.  “No colours were worn, agreeable to the regulations of Lord John Russell’s most sapient Act, and for which the ribbon-makers must feel highly indebted to him in depriving them of a source of consumption for an important branch of British manufacture of no inconsiderable extent.”

5.—At a meeting of the Norwich Court of Guardians, a report was adopted in favour of altering the mulcts of the assessable property in each of the parishes and hamlets of the city.  In the parishes the old valuation was £61,302; the new, £89,080; increase, £27,778—45 per cent.  In the hamlets the old valuation was £19,722; the new, £21,487; increase, £1,765—about 9 per cent.  At the vestry meetings in several parishes the new assessment was rejected—(1) on the ground of increased local and public burdens to which the citizens would be exposed by increased rent on such valuation; and (2) because of the disproportion of the assessment of the hamlets as compared with the assessment of the city at large.  At a meeting of the Guardians on April 1st, a resolution was adopted declaring the mulct to be unequal, and advising that steps be taken to place it upon a fair and equitable basis.

8.—A “trial of speed” took place between the Westacre and Melton Constable hounds.  “A noble stag stood before the hounds an hour and ten minutes, but from the numerous field, amounting at least to 400, the greater part of whom were shamefully riding the roads and heading the stag at every point, the sport was not brilliant.  Through the greater part of the day the Westacre hounds took the lead, carried the best head, and did all the work; but from the jockeyship of Sir Jacob Astley’s huntsman in continually lifting his hounds, and numerous horsemen pressing on them in the lanes and woods, so completely frightened the Westacre hounds, which are more timid and less accustomed to such crowds than the Melton, that most of them were thrown out and could not again recover their ground.”  The match took place in the neighbourhood of East Dereham.

12.—In the Court of King’s Bench, Sir James Scarlett moved for a rule to show cause why a quo warranto information should not be filed p. 274against Mr. Angell, of Norwich, for exercising the office of alderman without being properly elected thereto.  “A very ancient custom,” he said, “prevailed at Norwich on the election of aldermen, which he was sure would not, from its antiquity, receive their lordships’ sanction.  It was called the cooping of voters, and consisted of taking the voters by force in a body, bribing them, giving them drink, and keeping them locked up until they consented to vote for the party on whose side they had been taken.”  It was alleged that several of the supporters of Mr. Angell’s opponent (Mr. Marshall) were waylaid, carried away by force in a coach, put on board a boat on the broads, and had persons placed over them as guards.  If these persons had had their liberty, Mr. Marshall, it was contended, would have been elected.  Lord Tenterden granted a rule to show cause.  It was abandoned, however, on April 28th, and “the bells of St. Peter rang a triumphant peal on the result being known.”

13.—A squadron of the 6th Dragoons arrived at Norwich Barracks, to replace the depôt of the 12th Lancers.

23.—A man named Bailey did penance in the chancel of Yarmouth parish church for applying an opprobrious epithet to a Mrs. Jenner.  “It being a very great novelty, there was a large assemblage of persons to witness the performance of the ceremony and to hear Bailey repeat his recantations, which continued for some time, but he did not, as generally supposed, stand in a white sheet.”

MARCH.

5.—The election of a County Coroner took place at Norwich, consequent upon the resignation of Mr. C. Bringloe.  Mr. E. Press, of Hingham, the successful candidate, polled 1,073 votes, as against 766 obtained by his opponent, Mr. Henry Hobart, Norwich.

17.—Died at his house in Surrey Street, Norwich, aged 68, Sir James Edward Smith, M.D., F.R.S., President of the Linnæan Society.  He was born in Norwich December 2nd, 1759, proceeded to Edinburgh University in 1780, and completed his medical studies in London.  In 1792 he had the honour of instructing her Majesty the Queen and the Royal Princesses in botany at Windsor.  He married, in 1796, a daughter of Mr. Robert Reeve, of Lowestoft, and in 1810 received the distinction of knighthood.  He was the author of “English Botany,” and other works.

18.—Mr. Macready appeared at Norwich Theatre in the part of Virginius.  On subsequent evenings he performed the characters of Macbeth and William Tell.

22.*—“Died at Canton, in China, by falling overboard, Henry, son of Mr. Alderman Thurtell, of Norwich, master-at-arms of the Atlas Indiaman.”

—*“Died at Yarmouth, Mr. David Service, aged 52, the well-known author of the ‘Caledonian Herd-boy’ and many other poetical productions of considerable merit.”

24.—The ward elections commenced at Norwich on this date.  “Five shillings a man had been given on each side from the commencement; but about eleven o’clock a placard was put out from the window of the p. 275‘Blue and White’ (the Reformers’) room, bearing the words, ‘The Blues pay gold.’  This alteration in the market was followed, about an hour afterwards, by a similar declaration from the ‘Orange and Purples.’  From this moment stock looked up; the price for the freemen altered from five shillings to half a sovereign, and a whole sovereign, and so on to sums of which we are not prepared to limit the extent.  A whole club, consisting of 20 members, calling themselves ‘the Independent Club,’ was purchased in the lump by one of the ‘Blue and White’ candidates.  The price first demanded was 5 guineas a man, but others allow they were knocked down at the price of 50 gs.”

APRIL.

2.—Died, aged 106, Thomas Scrape.  “He was the father of Mrs. Lovell, of the Lobster Inn, St. John Maddermerket, Norwich, and was born at Stalham in 1722, in the 9th year of the reign of George I.  He had been often heard to speak of remembering as a child the illuminations on the occasion of the accession of George II.  At the age of 105 this extraordinary old man presided at a large convivial party at his residence.  His pipe was his constant companion, and he was often to be seen smoking and enjoying it at his daughter’s house, where his latter days were rendered comfortable.”

3.—Tombland Fair, Norwich, was ushered in by a severe snowstorm.  “The Banisters, the Samwells, the Chipperfields, the Adamses, and a host of other ornaments of the vagrant stage for daylight gauds and the practical wit of buffoons displayed themselves in imposing array.”  The only “rational” exhibition at the fair was Atkins’ Menagerie.

5.—A vessel, named the Lord William Bentinck, was launched from the shipyard of Mr. Frederick Preston, at Yarmouth.  She was nearly 500 tons burden, and the largest ship, with one exception, ever built at the port.

7.—Ching Lau Lauro, “the celebrated posture master and buffo from Drury Lane,” appeared at Norwich Theatre.  On the 10th he performed in a harlequinade, entitled, “The Man in the Moon.”  “No viler tissue of nonsensical stuff could be foisted on the patience of an insulted audience.  It had more revolting coarseness, and infinitely less ingenuity than ever characterised the worst puppet shows’ clumsiest performers.  ‘Harlequin in the Shades’ descended to the lowest vault of the Capulets, amidst universal hisses which such execrable trash deservedly called forth, in spite of Ching Lau Lauro swallowing his own head.”

19.—The Norfolk County Cricket Club announced the completion of a new cricket ground at East Dereham, described as one of the best in the provinces.

25.—A remarkable whirlwind occurred at Gresham.  “It came suddenly as in a moment from the south-west, accompanied by a roar like thunder, and taking a north-easterly direction towards Cromer, spent itself at sea.  The extreme force of the whirlwind lasted scarcely three minutes, but in that time it completely ruined one William Watts, by rending the sails and stocks from his mill, lifting the whole fabric from off the post, and crushing the beams and inside works to pieces, together with the roof and walls of the round-house.”

p. 27627.—Died at his house, Vauxhall, Lambeth, Mr. Thomas H. Hull, aged 74, “a gentleman well-known in Norwich and Norfolk for a great number of years, and where many of his beautifully-executed pictures remain as specimens of his superior talent in the miniature department of portrait painting.”

MAY.

1.—Mr. Angell and Mr. Patteson were nominated for the Mayoralty of Norwich.  Mr. W. Wilde nominated Mr. Alderman Thurtell, the senior alderman below the chair; and Mr. Alderman Yallop was also proposed.  A poll was demanded, and the result was declared as follows: Thurtell, 1,144; Yallop, 1,148; Angell, 1,042; Patteson, 979.  Application was made by Messrs. Angell and Patteson for the reopening of the books on the following morning, when the voting was: Thurtell, 1,210; Yallop, 1,212; Angell, 1,097; Patteson, 1,020.  The Court of Aldermen subsequently elected Mr. Thurtell.

5.—A public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, under the presidency of the Mayor (Mr. Finch), at which resolutions were passed affirming that it was objectionable to continue bounties on the export of sugar and prohibitory duties on the produce of Colonial free labour, by which slavery was supported at the expense of the British public.  It was also decided to petition Parliament to repeal such bounties and duties, and to take measures to ensure the immediate alleviation and the ultimate extinction of British Colonial slavery.  The petition, which was signed by 10,125 persons, measured 150 feet in length, and was presented in the House of Commons by Mr. William Smith.

6.—A new theatre was opened at North Walsham by Mr. Fisher, with the performance of the comic opera, “Sweethearts and Wives,” and the musical farce of “The Turnpike Gate.”

8.—Died at Tittleshall, Mr. Thomas Riches, farmer, aged 69.  “In his early life he for many years, by being pressed from Lynn, served his country at sea, and was in many distinguished actions.  He was at Gibraltar, at the Chesapeak with Hood, in the same ship with our present Lord High Admiral, then a boy; and was in the Formidable (flagship) with Sir George, afterwards Lord Rodney, in the memorable battle of 1782, when M. De Grasse was taken.  On his discharge and his return to his native county, he embraced farming for a livelihood, and always retained many of the peculiarities and superstitions of a sailor’s life.”

27.—The first seaborne vessel from London to Norwich port direct, the Thames steam packet, Capt. John Morley, arrived at Carrow Bridge.  She was of 120 tons burden, 82 feet in length, and handsomely fitted up for the accommodation of passengers.  The duration of her voyage was 28 hours.

—The Norwich Corporation decided to rebuild Fye Bridge of iron, in accordance with the plans of Mr. Stone.  The foundation-stone of the new bridge was laid by the Mayor (Mr. Thurtell) on June 2nd, 1829.

p. 277JUNE.

9.—Mr. Kean, jun., made his first appearance at Norwich Theatre in the character of Romeo.  During his engagement he appeared also as Jaffier (“Venice Preserved”) and Felix (“Hunter of the Alps”).  “It is difficult, indeed, to imagine,” says the critic, “what besides an irresistible penchant for the stage and an hereditary attachment for the most elevated dramatic work, could have induced this gentleman to choose the profession of a tragedian.  Of a stature rather below the middle size, and with a countenance that forms no index of the heroic mind, the younger Kean seems studious of displaying all those peculiarities of attitude, action, and intonation which we have been accustomed to regard rather as defects than as excellencies in his justly celebrated father.  The genius of the elder Kean does not shine forth in his son.”

—A prize-fight took place between Warren and Cocks, light weights, for £50 a side.  The gathering, which was at Mattishall, was attended by many of the principal gentry in the county, and by several members of the London ring, including Phil Sampson (conqueror of Big Brown), Dick Curtis, Tom Oliver, Frank Redmond, Ned Stockman, and Frosty-Faced Fogo, “the Poet Laureate of the Ring.”  The combatants met in a meadow belonging to Mr. Petchell, but a magistrate interfered, and a move was made to Elsing Common, where the fight was brought off.  Cocks was attended by Ned Painter and Ben Gale, and Warren by Curtis and Redmond.  Forty-one rounds were fought in 56 minutes.  Cocks, who won, threw his man 23 times in the first 25 rounds.

17.—Guild Day was celebrated in Norwich.  Mr. Alderman Thurtell, on being sworn in as Mayor, stated that he stood in rotation for the office in 1818, and to his utter astonishment the late Mr. Back was put in nomination and elected.  “I thank God,” he added, “I have had nerve enough to break all connection with a set of men who have acted with so much duplicity and injustice towards me.”  The Guild feast at St. Andrew’s Hall was attended by 460 guests.

24.—Died, Captain John Murray Browne, of the 75th Regiment, aged 36, only son of the Rev. M. Browne, Minor Canon of Norwich Cathedral, and grandson of Dr. John Murray.  Capt. Browne, who was drowned while fishing on a Lake near Mullingar, had been in the Army from his youth, and served throughout the Peninsular War.  He was the author of a work entitled, “The State of Portugal, by an eyewitness.”

26.—Died at Hingham, suddenly, Charles Alexander, aged 23, “an excellent cricketer, and the fastest length bowler in the county.”

JULY.

4.—A severe storm occurred in the Dereham, Fakenham, and Cromer districts.  Unsettled weather prevailed until the 13th, when the lower parts of Norwich and the meadows and marshes above and below the city were flooded.  Much meadow hay was swept away, and the grain crops beaten down.

p. 2788.—Twenty-three mackerel luggers contested for a subscription purse of £100, at Yarmouth.  The race, which took place in the Roads, was won by the Brothers (Capt. John Ayres), owned by Messrs. R. and B. Fenn.

9.—An inter-county cricket match, Norfolk v. Lincolnshire, was commenced at East Dereham.  Scores: Lincoln, 110; Norfolk, 74-30.  At the conclusion of the first day’s play, a dinner, presided over by Lord Suffield, and attended by eighty-six ladies and gentlemen, was given at the Assembly Rooms; and on the 10th a grand ball took place in the evening.

12.—The following statement was published of the number of benefits, with the gross receipts, at Norwich Theatre during the period of 22 years, ending 1828:—

 

Number of benefits.

Gross receipts.

1807

15

£1090

1808

17

1870

1809

18

1540

1810

20

1610

1811

21

1890

1812

23

2140

1813

23

1970

1814

25

1940

1815

23

1890

1816

19

1250

1817

15

1050

1818

14

1360

1819

14

1320

1820

17

1410

1821

20

1670

1822

21

1620

1823

22

1720

1824

23

1690

1825

22

1900

1826

25

1760

1827

21

1450

1828

23

1430

 

441

£85070

16.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., gave notice that at the ensuing October Sessions he would move “that reporters for the newspapers be admitted into the Grand Jury Chamber when the magistrates assemble there at Quarter Sessions for the despatch of the business of the county.”  The motion was discussed on October 17th, when, after three hours’ debate, the Court divided, with the following result: For the motion, 46; against, 45.

22.—Died at Stalham, aged 103, Isabella Perowne.

25.—A Jews’ Synagogue was opened in the parish of St. George, Tombland, Norwich.

26.—The announcement was made that the Norwich Cricket Club had “engrafted an archery branch” on their own “excellent establishment.”  The members of the Archery Club were permitted the use of the Norwich Cricket Ground on certain days.

AUGUST.

4.—Died at the Deanery, in his 83rd year, the Very Rev. James Turner, D.D., F.S.A., Dean of Norwich, Master of Pembroke Hall, Cambridge, and rector of Sudbourne and Orford, Suffolk.  He was installed Dean of Norwich on June 24th, 1790.  His remains were interred in the Cathedral on August 12th.  Dean Turner was succeeded by the Hon. and Rev. George Pellew, Prebendary of Canterbury and of York, and third son of Lord Viscount Exmouth.  Dean Pellew was installed on December 13th.

p. 27911.—A libel action, Maitland v. Kinnebrook, was tried at the Norwich Assizes, before Lord Chief Baron Alexander.  The plaintiff was an attorney living at North Walsham, and the defendant one of the proprietors of the “Norwich Mercury.”  The libel, which the defendant admitted, was contained in a letter published in the “Mercury.”  The plaintiff had provoked and carried on a newspaper correspondence, and because the defendant published the replies of adversaries of the plaintiff’s own creation, the plaintiff sued him for damages, which the jury assessed at one farthing.

—Exchange Street, Norwich, was first opened to the public.  There was no communication, however, with St. Andrew’s Street, and it was not until April, 1829, that operations were commenced for the removal of the old buildings at the north end of the new thoroughfare.  That portion of the street was opened to the public on May 21st, 1832; and public business was for the first time transacted in the Post Office erected there, on June 25th, 1832.

—The members of the Norfolk and Suffolk Institution, the new title by which the Norwich Society of Artists established in 1805 was known, celebrated the opening of their new gallery in Exchange Street by dining at the Norfolk Hotel, under the presidency of Mr. J. B. Crome, with Mr. Stark in the vice-chair.  The first exhibition in the new gallery was opened on the 13th, and was visited in state by the Mayor, Sheriffs, and Aldermen.

26.—Mr. George Grout was elected freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich.

SEPTEMBER.

1.—Mr. William Martin, a native of Norwich, and the painter of the two large pictures in St. Andrew’s Hall—“The death of Lady Jane Grey” and “Queen Eleanor, Consort to Edward I.,” was lodging in indigent circumstances at the Trowel and Hammer public-house, St. Stephen’s, whence he issued a circular on this date, asking for subscriptions for two engravings—“Interior of an English Cottage Home” and “Children going to bed.”  The Corporation, on February 24th, 1829, voted him a grant of 100 guineas.

12.—Died at his seat at Terrington, near Lynn, in his 91st year, Sir Andrew Snape Hamond, Bart., a post-captain in the Royal Navy, formerly Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Nova Scotia, and subsequently Commodore and Commander-in-Chief in the River Medway.  He was many years Comptroller of the Navy, twice member of Parliament for Ipswich, and one of the Brethren of the Trinity House.

29.—The ceremony of swearing in the Sheriffs of Norwich was performed at the Guildhall, amid a scene of great disorder.  The windows of the lower court had been screwed down, to prevent persons entering by that way before the arrival of the magistrates.  The court was crowded, the heat intolerable, and the Mayor (Mr. Thurtell) ordered the windows to be broken.  Upon the Sheriffs-elect, Mr. Stevenson and Mr. Grout, presenting themselves, the latter was objected to, on the ground that he was not a freeman; and Mr. Stevenson declined to serve unless he received legal indemnity from his colleague.  The Recorder (Mr. Alderson) disposed of the legal difficulty in Mr. Stevenson’s p. 280case, but the uproar was so great that an adjournment had to be made to the Aldermen’s Chamber, where the Town Clerk administered the oath to Mr. Grout, notwithstanding a protest by Col. Harvey.  At a meeting of the Common Council, on October 2nd, a notice signed by eight of the “Purple and Orange” Aldermen was read, intimating that any act done by the Council would not be valid, as one of the Sheriffs was improperly elected.  They therefore declined to attend the meeting.  The Mayor complained that he was being set at defiance, and threatened to appeal to a higher power.  On November 8th a motion was made in the Court of King’s Bench, to show cause why an information in the nature of a quo warranto should not be filed against Mr. Grout, to show by what authority he exercised the office of Sheriff; the Court granted a rule nisi.  On February 24th the Corporation unanimously conferred on Mr. Grout the freedom of the city.  The case, after being several times before the Court, was finally disposed of on June 28th, 1830, when Mr. Justice Bailey delivered judgment, and said that the Court were of opinion that it was essential to the validity of election to the office of Sheriff that the individual chosen should be a freeman.  Judgment of ouster was therefore entered.  Retaliatory proceedings were taken in the Court of King’s Bench by the other political party against Mr. Alderman Patteson for holding the office of Treasurer of the city, and against Mr. Alderman T. S. Day, for acting as Corn Inspector.  A rule nisi was obtained against Mr. Patteson on May 30th, 1829, and was made absolute on July 4th, after that gentleman had resigned the treasurership.

29.—The 6th Inniskilling Dragoons marched from Norwich for Chesterfield and Manchester.

OCTOBER.

6.—A troop of the 12th Lancers arrived at Norwich, from Canterbury.

7.—Died, aged 72, at New York, Mr. John B. Murray, eldest son of Dr. John Murray.

9.—Died, aged 74, at his residence, in Carlow, Major John Beevor, formerly of the 9th Dragoons, and for 30 years inspecting-officer of Yeomanry Cavalry in the districts of Waterford and Wexford.  He was second son of Sir Thomas Beevor, of Hethel.

11.—The Norwich Corn Exchange, “one of the finest edifices of its kind in Europe,” was opened to the public.  “Mr. Riches, merchant, of Norwich, bought of Mr. Riches, of Thorpe, the first sample of corn (barley) in the new building, for which he gave 18s. 6d. per coomb.”  A commemorative dinner was held in the Exchange on November 28th, at which Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., presided, supported by the High Sheriff (Sir W. B. ffolkes), Lord Lyndock, Lord Neville, Lord Suffield, Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, M.P., and other prominent personages.

18.*—“The proprietors of the Norwich Cloth Establishment have taken a contract for supplying the two battalions of Portuguese troops lately formed at Plymouth out of the refugees from that distracted country with jackets and trousers.  These troops are intended to accompany the young Queen of Portugal, whither she will shortly proceed to claim the Crown.”

p. 28125.*—“The portrait of Mr. Alderman Francis, painted by Lane, was hung in St. Andrew’s Hall, Norwich, this week.”

—*“Died lately at Wimbotsham, near Downham Market, aged 52, Mr. William Henry Ware, many years composer of music, and director of the orchestra at Covent Garden Theatre, and one of the masters of the Royal Academy, Woolwich.”

29.—Died, at his son’s house, in Southampton Street, Bloomsbury, aged 79, Mr. Luke Hansard, many years printer of the Journals, private Bills, &c., of the House of Commons.  “He was born at Watton, served his apprenticeship with Mr. White, printer, of Norwich, was afterwards an assistant of the late Mr. John Crouse, who originally established the Norfolk Chronicle in the year 1761, and had ever since been a much attached and valued friend of all his successors.”

NOVEMBER.

3.—The following curious incident was recorded as having taken place at Tunstead on this date.  A Chelsea pensioner was about to be married to a widow, and “early in the morning the parties, accompanied by three witnesses, repaired to the cross-ways in the road a short distance from the village, where the intended bride crossed the road in puris naturalibus, and was received on the opposite side by the bridegroom, who entertains the idea that by the due performance of this ceremony he is discharged from all liability of paying the debts of the former husband.”

4.—Lord Neville, rector of Berghapton, sent a letter to the Norfolk Chronicle, denying a statement made by Mr. Cobbett, at a dinner at Maidstone, that he (Lord Neville) was “rector of a parish in Norfolk and at the same time enjoyed half-pay as a captain of Dragoons.”  His lordship wrote: “I admit being rector of a parish in Norfolk, but I assure you upon my word that a considerable time before I took orders I resigned my commission, and consequently ceased from that time to enjoy either half or full pay.”

9.—The King’s letter, “authorising collections to be made for the building and enlarging of churches and chapels (instead of by briefs, as formerly),” was read in the churches in the city and county.

15.—A hamper conveyed by Messrs. Marsh and Swan’s London van from King’s Lynn, was found to contain the dead body of a young woman, supposed to have been taken from a grave at Lynn.

—*“Mr. Suckling’s beautiful yacht, the Marmion, has lately arrived at Buckenham Ferry, to be laid up for the winter.  In December last she was laid down and built upon his estate at Woodton, under his immediate plans and directions, and in May last dragged from thence upon a sledge to the water’s edge at Carrow Bridge, to the surprise of the natives, who assembled in great number.  She dropped down the river and boldly cleared out to sea, on her passage to London, which voyage, though blowing very fresh, she performed much to the satisfaction of those on board.  She afterwards went to Calais, made two journeys to Holland, and sailed many times up the canals.”

p. 28229.—Mr. B. H. Norgate was elected assistant-surgeon of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, in the room of Mr. Henry Carter, previously elected surgeon, on the resignation of Mr. Martineau.

—Died at his house in St. Giles’ Street, Norwich, aged 72, Mr. John Hammond Cole, an Alderman of the Great Ward of Mancroft.  He was Sheriff in 1797; Mayor in 1811; Receiver of Stamp Duties, Treasurer of the Boys’ and Girls’ Hospital, and of the Norwich Dispensary, and Treasurer and Secretary of the Norfolk and Norwich Savings Bank.

DECEMBER.

1.—Died at New York, aged 64, Mr. James Valentine Murray, third son of Dr. John Murray, of Norwich.

4.—The Norwich Brunswick Constitutional Club, “for preserving the integrity of the Protestant Constitution, and upholding the principles which placed the House of Brunswick upon the Throne of these realms,” was formed at a meeting held at the Norfolk Hotel.

6.—Died, aged 48 years, Capt. Sir William Hoste, Bart, R.N., K.C.B., eldest son of the Rev. Dixon Hoste, of Godwick Hall.  “He was among the many brave youths from this county on board the Admiral’s flagship, the Vanguard, at the memorable battle of the Nile.”

8.—Master W. R. Grossmith, “the celebrated young Roscius, 9½ years old,” gave, in the Concert Room, St. George’s, Norwich, his entertainment, “consisting of rapid transitions of dress and characters.”

19.—Died at Yarmouth, aged 79, Mr. John Watson, Mayor of that borough in 1785.  In 1799 he was elected Town Clerk, and resigned the office in 1822.

20.*—“Died, last week, at Lakenham, aged 45, Mr. Roger Jean, an eminent miniature painter, leaving a wife and seven children to lament his loss.  Although Mr. Jean possessed very superior abilities as a miniature painter, owing to his long-continued illness his latter days were embittered by most distressing privations, and his wife, a well-educated woman, is left in very destitute circumstances.”

24.—The weather on Christmas Eve was described as “very close and warm.”  The whole month was remarkable for its unusual mildness.

26.—Mons. Batty opened his Circus at the Pantheon, Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich.

30.—A “grand match of cocks” was fought at the New Inn, Aylsham, between gentlemen of that town and of North Walsham.  The sport was continued on the 31st.  North Walsham won 9 battles out of 12.  The winning cocks were “fed” by Stafford, of Norwich.

1829.

JANUARY.

1.—Died, aged 76, Mr. Philip Meadows Martineau, one of the surgeons of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital from its foundation in p. 2831772.  “Pre-eminently successful as an operator, and most intimately acquainted with the theory of his profession, Mr. Martineau was celebrated in every part of England and throughout Europe.  He directed his attention to cases of lithotomy with distinguished success.”  He was buried at Thorpe, on January 9th.

10.—Cockey Lane, Norwich, was for the first time accorded its new designation, “London Street.”

14.—At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, it was ordered that the east end of Norwich Castle, including the south end buttress, be put into proper repair, at an expense not exceeding the sum of £600.

17.*—“The sales at Garraway’s and the Auction Mart of landed estates in Norfolk last year exceed £110,000.  The principal Norfolk estates sold in London during the last 12 months were as follow:—Wellington Hall, 1,724 acres, with house, gardens, &c., £41,000; Clippesby Hall 1,100 acres, with house, &c., £48,110; Mr. Watson’s estate at Saxlingham, 137 acres, with house, &c., £7,000.”

21.—A meeting of the medical practitioners of the city and county was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, “to petition the Legislature upon the increasing difficulties of pursuing anatomical studies in the public schools.”

31.—Mr. Alexander Thurtell, nephew of the Mayor of Norwich, was returned fourth wrangler at Cambridge.  He was of Caius College, and was educated by Mr. Bowles (formerly of Norwich Theatre), at the Academy, Yarmouth.

—Norwich Theatre was opened for the season.  Mons. Decour, a “strong man,” exhibited feats of strength and juggling.

—A disastrous fire occurred on the premises of Messrs. Trivett and Cozens, ironmongers, Exchange Street, Norwich.  The 12th Lancers rendered efficient service in saving adjoining property.  The Norfolk Chronicle Office narrowly escaped destruction.

FEBRUARY.

7.*—“So great is the panic in Lynn in the minds of the credulous with reference to the resurrectionists, that an individual who was consigned to the grave had round his coffin 13 iron hoops, and in the lid 50 screws.”

9.—A brig of 100 tons burden was “raised” at Mr. T. Batley’s staith at Carrow, Norwich.  Upon the stem of the vessel was the inscription: “This is the first seaborne vessel that was ever built in Norwich.  Began January, 1829, by Thomas Batley, and the first bolt was driven by C. Brown, Esq., Alderman of this city.”  The vessel, which was named the Spring (Capt. Brook), was launched on May 28th.  She had two masts, brig-rigged fore and schooner-rigged aft, and was intended for the general trade.

11.—Downham Theatre was opened by Mr. Smedley, in consequence of Mr. Fisher declining that portion of the circuit.  “The painting of the ceiling, together with the panelling and ornaments in front of the boxes and gallery, have a very lively effect, and give it the appearance of a neat and modern theatre.”

p. 28414.—Heigham House, Norwich, was opened under the management of Mr. Jollye, formerly of Loddon, as a retreat for insane persons.

—An extraordinary marriage took place at Yarmouth.  A boy, 15 years of age, the son of a respectable tradesman, absconded from his home and married a Mrs. Bull, a widow, aged 43, the mother of five children.  “The fact was ascertained by application to the Rev. Thomas Browne, D.D., at Gorleston.”

15.—Lieut.-Col. Harvey conveyed to London a petition signed by 8,920 of the inhabitants of Norwich against the claims of the Roman Catholics.  It was presented in due course in the House of Commons.  On the 17th the Mayor and Aldermen, and the members of the Common Council of Norwich, adopted petitions in favour of the Roman Catholic claims.

21.—The “African Roscius” (known also by the name of Keene) appeared at Norwich Theatre as Othello.  On subsequent evenings he performed the parts of Mungo (“The Padlock”), Oroonoko, Bajazet (“Tamerlane”), Rolla (“Pizzaro”), Alambra (“Paul and Virginia”), and Sambo (“Live when you can”).

28.*—“In the Court of Exchequer, last week, an information was filed against Robert Hudson, a paper manufacturer, of Norwich, for arrears of duty on a quantity of paper removed from a mill at Lyng without bearing the Excise mark.  A verdict was returned for the Crown—damages, £300.  The defendant is now in prison on a former conviction for penalties to the amount of £1,000.”

MARCH.

5.—The Westacre Staghounds had a remarkable run.  The meet was at Watton, where the stag was turned off, and led a field of between 60 and 70 to Ovington, Shipdham, Whinbergh, over Reymerston Common, touching Southbergh, to Carbrooke, crossing Griston Common, to Thompson Heath.  Here there was a short check, which was hit off in good style, and away they went for Tottington, on to Wretham, leaving the decoy on the left, thence to Kilverstone and Brettenham Heaths, to the left of Croxton, and to the River Ouze, which was crossed between Santon Downham and Thetford.  Only nine horsemen forded the river; they dashed away across the open in the direction of Barton Mills, where another check occurred.  They then passed over Wangford Warren to Lakenheath Common, straight for Bramber Hall, and the stag was killed in the plantations of Mr. Edward Bliss, after a run of three hours and three-quarters.  (The hounds were advertised to be sold at the first Newmarket meeting, April 22nd.)

22.—Died at Diss, aged 105 years 6 months, Mrs. Philip Bacon.

23.—A prize-fight took place at Thurton, between Garratt, the Suffolk champion, and Mendham, the Norfolk Youth, for £10 a side.  They were also backed for £25.  Mendham was seconded by Ned Painter, and Garratt by Wigg.  Thirty-five rounds were fought in 1 hour 25 mins.  Garratt was the winner.  “The crowd to view the fight was very large, and consisted of a due mixture of the sexes.”

p. 285APRIL.

8.—Died at Shotesham, Mr. Robert Fellowes, aged 87.  He was for many years an active magistrate of the county, and represented Norwich in Parliament from 1802 to 1806.

13.—Two troops of the 7th Dragoon Guards, under the command of Capt. Nugent, arrived at Norwich, to replace the 12th Lancers, ordered to York.

18.—The execution took place on Castle Hill, Norwich, of John Wood (41) and Thomas Butler (29), for sheep stealing, and of Richard Everett (28), for horse stealing.  “The number of women present amounted to at least two to one man, and, what was yet more remarkable, crowds of women brought young children with them.”

20.—Miss Foote, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced an engagement at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, where she appeared as Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”), Variella (“The Weathercock”), Rosalind, Zephyrina (“The Lady and the Devil”), Violante (“The Wonder”), Arinette (“The Little Jockey”), Beatrice, and Maria Darlington (“A Roland for an Oliver”).

21.—A vessel of 313 tons was launched from the yard of Messrs. H. Fellows and Co., Yarmouth.

23.—A new suspension bridge, erected over the Bure at Yarmouth, by Mr. Robert Cory, jun., was opened with much ceremony.  The contractor was Mr. Godfrey Goddard.  (See May 2nd, 1845.)

MAY.

1.—Mr. T. O. Springfield was elected Mayor of Norwich.

3.—The freedom of Norwich was conferred upon Mr. Edward Hall Alderson, barrister-at-law, eldest son of Mr. Robert Alderson, Recorder of the city.

—The Norwich Corporation voted a grant of £100 to the Norfolk and Suffolk Artists’ Society, “to assist in enabling them to enlarge their premises and to purchase casts and models, with the view to the further promotion of the fine arts in this part of the country.”

—An illuminated clock was ordered to be placed “on the top of the Guildhall, next the Market Place.”

14.—The body of a woman named Gooderham was found murdered in Broome Lane, Diss.  After an inquiry lasting six days, during which 41 witnesses were examined, the Coroner’s jury returned a verdict of “Wilful murder against some person or persons unknown.”

20.—Died, aged 71, Mr. John Dawson Downes, of Lowestoft (formerly of Yarmouth), “a gentleman well known to the sporting world, and in this county as the only constant follower of that noble diversion, hawking.”

23.*—[Advt.]  “Cocking: A double-day’s play of cocking will be fought between the gentlemen of Swaffham and Wisbech, on Wednesday, May 27th, at the Coffee Pot Inn, Downham, for £10 a battle and £50 the odd.  Feeders: Leech for Swaffham; Foster for Wisbech.”

p. 28628.—The bounds were beaten at Lynn by the clergyman, churchwardens, and officers of the parish, accompanied by 236 boys from the Free School.  “The place of rendezvous was St. Margaret’s church, where, on entering, each boy was supplied with a long white-wand.  At ten o’clock the procession set out for the shore of the harbour, and at the expiration of two hours returned again to the same place, having performed the usual evolutions of ducking, tubbing, and other ceremonies peculiar to such occasions.  The boundaries of this place appear to terminate in some very singular points, as the parties had to enter several houses by the door and make their exit through the window.  At the close of the circuit, the boys were all seated in the Crown Yard and regaled with a large plum bun and half a pint of beer each, and the elders dined at the Crown Tavern.”

31.—At Norwich Theatre was performed, for the first time, a tragedy written by Mr. J. Smith, entitled, “Ralph de Bigod, Earl of Norwich.”

JUNE.

3.—The old City Gaol, situate opposite the Guildhall, with a frontage of 70 feet and a depth of 156 feet, was sold by auction to Messrs. De Caux, Son, and Pratt, for £1,570; and the old Bridewell, in St. Andrew’s, with a frontage of 64 feet and a depth of 100 feet, was purchased on the same date by Mr. J. Curr, for £1,140.

9.—Miss Paton appeared at Norwich Theatre as Rosetta (“Love in a Village”).  Her other impersonations during her engagement included Rosina (“The Barber of Seville”), Susanna (“The Marriage of Figaro”), Mary Copp (“Charles the Second”), Roxalana (“The Sultan”).  Miss Paton cleared £140 at her benefit performance.

15.—At an assembly of the Norwich Corporation, the retiring Mayor (Mr. Thurtell), in replying to the customary vote of thanks, complained that he had been repeatedly insulted during his year of office.  “I have been attacked by a bulldog,” he said, “and the yap has been continually barking at my heels, and language has been applied to me that would disgrace Billingsgate itself.”

16.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. T. O. Springfield was sworn in as Mayor.  Great confusion was caused by an altercation between Mr. Thurtell and Mr. Crisp Brown.  The Guild feast was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, and a ball took place at the Assembly Rooms.

18.—The Rev. H. R. Bowles (formerly of Norwich Theatre), master of the Yarmouth Academy, was entertained at luncheon at the Black Lion Tavern in that town, and presented by his former pupils with a silver salver weighing 84 ozs.  In his reply, he said that far different pursuits had occupied his earlier years, but for twenty years he had never been absent a day from his school-room for pleasure.

29.—The annual cattle fair held at Shipdham, on St. Peter’s-day, in accordance with the terms of a charter granted by Henry III., was this year revived.

JULY.

1.—Died at his house in Surrey Street, Mr. Hammond Fisk, aged 70, Sheriff of Norwich in 1823.

p. 28711.*—“Died lately, at Keel Hall, Staffordshire, aged 78, Mr. Walter Sneyd, formerly M.P. for the borough of Castle Rising, and many years Colonel of the Stafford Militia.”

—Died at Hanworth, Mr. J. Hicks, formerly of his Majesty’s Navy, and Provost-Marshal-General of England, aged 69.

13.—A two days’ cricket match commenced on the Norwich ground, between Norfolk and Suffolk, for £50 aside.  Fuller Pilch played for Suffolk, and William and Nathaniel Pilch for Norfolk.  Norfolk, 53—82.  Suffolk, 59—59.  The return match commenced at Bury on July 23rd.  Suffolk, 102—16.  Norfolk, 91—26.

15.—At Norwich Quarter Sessions, Mr. William Day was elected Treasurer of the city, on the resignation of Mr. J. Patteson.

—A public dinner was given to Mr. Alderman Thurtell, by his political friends, “in testimony of their appreciation of his honourable, impartial, and upright conduct in the discharge of the duties of the office of Mayor during the past year.”

18.—Madame Vestris appeared at Norwich Theatre for the first time, in the part of Madame Germance (“Home, sweet Home”), and Justine (“The Rencontre”).  She afterwards assumed the characters of Elizabeth (“Sublime and Beautiful”), Victoire (“The Invincibles”), Lady Bell (“Know your own Mind”), Apollo (burletta of “Midas”), Laura (“Sweethearts and Wives”), Phœbe (“Paul Pry”), Letitia Hardy (“The Belle’s Stratagem”), and Don Giovanni.

27.—Great discontent was manifested by the Norwich weavers.  At a meeting held at the Ranelagh Gardens on this date, the operatives petitioned the Mayor to use his influence to prevent manufacturers giving out work at reduced prices to persons in the country.  On September 1st the weavers stopped the carriers’ carts and searched for country-made goods.  Men in disguise entered houses and took work from the looms, under pretence that it had been done below the scale prices.  At a meeting at Ranelagh Gardens on October 5th, the manufacturers and operatives drew up a form of agreement, in which the prices were scheduled.  At the end of the month many unemployed weavers paraded the streets, headed by a muffled drum and a shuttle bound in crope.  The Court of Guardians on December 1st appointed a committee to advise as to the best means of alleviating the wants of the people.  During the week commencing December 14th there were numerous meetings of operatives, and an attack was made on Mr. Athow’s house.  Detachments of the 7th Dragoon Guards patrolled the streets.  On December 17th a number of Norwich weavers visited Saxlingham and destroyed a great quantity of silk and materials; and in the following week several disguised men broke into the house of William Springhall, Boatswain’s Call Yard, St. Augustine’s, cut work from his looms, and shot at him with a pistol.  He received severe wounds in the body, and a reward of £100 was offered by the Corporation for the apprehension of his assailants.

AUGUST.

6.—A cricket match, between the Marylebone and the Norfolk Clubs, commenced on the Dereham ground.  “Lord Suffield, president of the p. 288county club, with Lady Suffield, was present, and 20 or 30 gentlemen’s carriages were on the ground, whilst hundreds of spectators were gathered around.”  Scores: Marylebone, 64-78; Norfolk, 95-48.

10.—Miss Paton re-appeared at Norwich Theatre for one night, as Agnes (“Der Freischutz”) and Diana Vernon (“Rob Roy”).

11.—Died, Mr. Richard Gurney, of the Bowling Green Inn, Norwich, aged 48.  (The “retired coachman, with one leg,” in “Lavengro.”)

13.—At the Norfolk Assizes, at Norwich, before Mr. Baron Garrow, Ireland Watts and Robert Watts were charged on an information filed by the Attorney-General, with obstructing Custom-house officers in the discharge of their duty.  Capt. De Lafosse, the officer at Mundesley, traced contraband goods to the house of the defendants at Antingham.  Having obtained a writ of assistance, he proceeded to the house with Lieut. Lee, several of the coastguard, and a peace officer.  Admittance was demanded, and the defendants offered resistance.  The captain then drew his pistol and threatened to fire, when Robert Watts bared his breast, exclaiming, “Fire, and be d---d.”  Capt. De Lafosse, fearing he could not enter the house without bloodshed, withdrew his men.  Mr. Kelly, for the defence, submitted that the captain’s authority did not permit him to search the house, but the special jury returned a verdict of guilty.  In the Court of King’s Bench, in November, Mr. Kelly moved for a rule to show why there should not be a new trial, on the ground of the invalidity of the officer’s writ.  Lord Tenterden held that this might be a question of great importance on public grounds, although in the individual case it was of little consequence.  Rule granted.  (There is no further record of this case.)

14.—At the Norwich Assizes, before Mr. Justice Parke, John Stratford (42) was found guilty of the murder of John Burgess, an inmate of Norwich Workhouse, by poisoning him with arsenic, on March 2nd.  The execution took place on the roof of the new Gaol, on August 17th.  After hanging an hour, the body was removed to the lower court at the Guildhall, where it was publicly exposed for two hours.  Thence it was conveyed to the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, where Mazzotti, the modeller, took a cast of the head; and on the 18th Mr. Crosse commenced a series of anatomical lectures at the dissection of the body.  A public subscription was started for the widow and family of the culprit.

25.—Mr. Charles Middleton and Mr. Samuel Shalders Beare were nominated for the office of freemen’s Sheriff.  At the poll “the partizans of Mr. Beare announced upon their cards that they gave one shilling, but as soon as they found that their opponents were giving 2s. 6d., they outbid the ‘Purples’ by offering 2s. 6d. and a pot of beer.  At three o’clock the ‘Purple and Orange’ party headed their opponents by 64.  The ‘Blues’ went to work in purse and person, and placed themselves in a majority.  The ‘Purples,’ finding they could not regain the advantage, at 5.30 informed the Mayor they did not wish to put their opponents to any further expense.  Beare, 1,200; Middleton, 1,023.”

—A singular wedding took place at Fakenham.  The bridegroom was Thomas Hudson, aged 79, and the bride Martha Frary, aged 21.  They were followed to church by an unfortunate cripple, driving his curricle of dogs.  Immediately after the hymeneal knot was tied, the p. 289bridegroom was torn from his fainting partner, thrown into an open cart, decorated with ram’s horns, and drawn through the principal streets of the town, amidst the firing of guns and the shouts and ridicule of the people.

29.—The Corporation of Lynn, according to custom, assembled at the Guildhall on St. John’s-day, and went to St. Margaret’s Church.  “Groups of persons assembled at an early hour to witness the bearing of the branch to the house of the Mayor-elect, Mr. William Bagge.”

SEPTEMBER.

2.—The new Roman Catholic church of All Saints, Norwich, was opened by the Right Rev. Dr. Weld, Bishop of Amyclœ.  “The ringing of the bells of St. Giles’ church on the occasion has been made the subject of a great deal more exultation on the one hand, and more lamentation and indignation on the other, than it really merits.  The truth is that the bells were set out by the ringers upon speculation, and they were afterwards handsomely rewarded by the Catholics for their liberalism, the venality of which is disgusting enough.”

4.—The body of a woman, named Ann Coe, buried two days previously, in Fincham churchyard, was disinterred and stolen.  “The churchyard is very near the turnpike road.  The coffin, containing the shroud, was found in the churchyard, superficially covered with mold.”

8.—The Corporation of Yarmouth voted £1,000 towards the building of a church in that borough.

11.—An auxiliary of the “British Society for Promoting the Principles of the Reformation” was formed in Norwich.  Under its auspices a great meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, on October 21st, at which some disturbance took place.

21.—The Rev. Edward Valpy, D.D., resigned the appointment of headmaster of the Norwich Free Grammar School, which he had held since 1811.

23.—Mary McMullen, aged 61, walked 76 miles in 24 hours, on a measured half-mile of the Gaywood Road near Lynn.  She performed the like feat at the Ranelagh Gardens, Norwich, on October 12th, and at North Walsham on March 8th, 1830.  At the Ranelagh Gardens, on April 26th, 1830, she walked 100 miles in 24 successive hours.

OCTOBER.

8.—At Swaffham Races, Mr. Shearman “made a match to trot his noted bull a mile in 4½ minutes the day before the fair, and Mr. Gould is in treaty to purchase him to run over a short stage in the Stamford coach from Swaffham to Narborough.  Mr. Farrer made a match with Mr. Cooke that he will produce a pair of working oxen that will beat any pair of horses he can produce to plough an acre of land, to take place the day before Swaffham fair.”

11.—Died in Union Place, Norwich, aged 102, Mr. Charles Kingaby.  He left a widow, aged 98, and a daughter in her 70th year.

p. 29014.—The election of an Alderman to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Mr. Alderman Steward, on October 11th, resulted in the return of Mr. Marshall, who received 246 votes, against 207 recorded for Mr. Turner.  “Both sides bought votes as fast as possible.  From 30s. to £10 and £15 was given.”

—A severe gale occurred on the Norfolk coast, and several lives were lost.  At Brancaster the preventive service picked up 291 casks of brandy and Geneva.

20.—A new vessel, the Indian Maid, was launched from the South Gates Dockyard, Lynn, and christened by Miss Ayre, daughter of one of the owners.

22.—The Norfolk and Norwich Horticultural Society was formed at a meeting held in the old Library Room, Norwich, under the presidency of Mr. Edward Lombe, of Great Melton.  Mr. Lombe was elected president, Mr. R. Crawshay vice-president, Mr. John Kitson treasurer, and Mr. Elias Norgate secretary.  The first show took place at the Swan Inn, on November 25th.

30.—A fire which occurred at Messrs. Squire, Hills, and Sons’ distillery, Norwich, did damage to the amount of £2,000.

31.—Mr. Thomas Cubitt, of Honing Hall, was presented by the yeomanry of the Tunstead and Happing Hundred with a silver vase, in recognition of his 45 years’ active service as a magistrate.

NOVEMBER.

9.—Died at Aldborough, aged 95, Mrs. E. Dyball, a remarkable woman, “who practised as midwife at Thurgarton near 50 years, and left 148 children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, and great-great-grandchildren, besides 42 who have died” (sic).

17.—A 400-ton vessel, called the Duke of Cumberland, was launched from the dockyard of Mr. F. Preston, at Yarmouth.

18.—A gang of convicts, when travelling by coach from Lynn to London, made a desperate effort to escape.  During the greater part of the journey the keepers stood over them with cocked pistols.  On the coach arriving in town a London mob endeavoured to rescue the prisoners, “but the keepers presented so formidable an appearance that they were able to lodge the convicts in Newgate previous to their removal to the hulks.”

20.—Mr. Silvers, tide surveyor at Yarmouth, after a chase of five miles, captured on Breydon a 39 ft. smuggling galley, manned by a crew of nine hands.  The smugglers effected their escape, but left behind them 283 half ankers of proof brandy, and about 6,000 lbs. of tobacco.

23.—The centre and south wing of Cromer Hall, the seat of Mr. Geo. Windham, was destroyed by fire.  The damage was estimated at £12,000.

24.—During a severe gale off Yarmouth, a vessel foundered, and eight hands perished.

28.—The Rev. Thomas Kidd, M.A., Trinity College, Cambridge, was elected by the Court of Aldermen head master of the Free Grammar School, Norwich.

p. 291DECEMBER.

13.—Died at East Dereham, aged 85, Mr. James Philo, who had filled the office of parish clerk for fifty years.  (“The dignified High Church clerk” in “Lavengro.”)

21.—The Crim. Con. action, Muskett v. Gurney, tried at the Thetford Assizes in 1818, was re-opened in the Court of King’s Bench, when further evidence was adduced on behalf of the plaintiff, to whom the jury awarded £2,000 damages.  (May 17th, 1830: “Married, at St. Mary’s, Marylebone, Richard Hanbury Gurney, to Mary, only daughter of Mr. William Jary, of Burlingham.”)

—A meeting of 200 insurers in the Norwich Equitable Insurance Office was held at the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, “for the purpose of taking into consideration the conduct and management of the funds of the society, and of dissolving the institution, with the view of the just redistribution of the funds, the formation of a new society under a more protective management and control.”  Mr. Skipper was elected registrar and secretary of the new society.

26.—The pantomime, “Punch’s Festival, or Harlequin Christmas-box,” was produced at Norwich Theatre, under the superintendence of Mr. T. Hill, of Drury Lane Theatre.  Mr. Thorne painted “a grand moving panorama, commencing with a view of the intended Port of Norwich (ships lying in the basin), leading through the valley of Thorpe, embracing Col. Harvey’s house (Thorpe Hall), Hinsby’s Gardens, and intermediate scenery to Lake Lothing, and concluded with the grand junction lock at Lowestoft in its present state.”  The last scene, “Norwich a Port,” concluded with “a grand display of fireworks by Chevalier Southby, of the Royal Gardens, Vauxhall, and the London theatres.”

28.—Died at Lynn, Mr. Benjamin Smith, aged 93.  “He was a man of rather eccentric habits.  His gravestone had been placed in the churchyard of St. Margaret’s nearly ten years before his death, having only a blank for his age and day of decease.  In his personal habits he was frugal almost to parsimony, but his benevolence was only bound by his means.  He entirely rebuilt St. James’s almshouses for 12 widows, and an abode for the Reader; and erected and partly endowed another almshouse (called the Wesleyan almshouse) for six poor women.”

1830.

JANUARY.

1.—Died at Yarmouth, the Rev. H. R. Bowles, one of the ministers of the Unitarian chapel in that town.  He was master of the Yarmouth Academy, and formerly an actor on the Norwich stage.

5.—Died at his house in St, Stephen’s, aged 86, Mr. James Keymer, city surgeon, and for upwards of fifty years surgeon and apothecary to the Norwich Bethel.  He was known as “the father” of the Norfolk p. 292and Norwich Benevolent Medical Society (established in 1786), and “in his capacity of accoucheur introduced no less than 8,000 children into the world, and repeatedly attended three and four generations in succession.”

5.—At the Norwich Consistory Court, the suit, Meachen v. Carter, was tried.  The parties lived at East Dereham, and the dispute arose about the use of a pew in the church.  The defendant was proceeded against for “quarrelling, chiding, and brawling in church,” and the court, in giving judgment, declared him excommunicate, directed him to be imprisoned for three days, and condemned him in costs.

10.—During a severe storm from the N.N.E., the streets of Cley-next-the-Sea were inundated in places to the depth of six or eight feet, and several families were rescued from the upper windows of the houses.  Many vessels were wrecked along the coast.

11.—The Relief Committee of the Norwich Court of Guardians determined to erect two looms in the Workhouse for the employment of persons who might apply for relief on the ground of not being able to obtain work.  From these looms, at a subsequent date, work was deliberately cut and destroyed.  On the 12th the riotous conduct of the weavers necessitated the calling out of the 7th Dragoon Guards; and on the 13th Mr. John Wright, one of the principal master manufacturers, had vitriol thrown into his face in St. Faith’s Lane.  Mr. Wright, who was dreadfully injured, discharged a pistol at his assailant, who escaped.  The Corporation offered a reward for the apprehension and conviction of the miscreant.  Richard Nockolds, who was executed for arson on April 9th, 1831, confessed to the perpetration of the outrage.  The distress continued throughout the winter, and on February 6th a meeting was held at the Guildhall, at which a relief fund was started, and nearly £3,000 raised.  At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, on March 10th, Lord Suffield, in his charge to the Grand Jury, suggested means for the alleviation of public distress.  Mr. Cobbett came down to Norwich and lectured at Ranelagh Gardens on March 12th and 13th, on “The State of the Country.”  Half-a-crown admission was charged, and “he pocketed about £50, which, all things considered, was about as much as he could well expect.”  A common hall was held on March 17th, “to consider the unprecedently distressed situation of the country,” and Parliament was petitioned on the subject.  Mr. W. J. Utten Browne, in the course of the proceedings, described Mr. Cobbett as “one whose name it was pollution to pronounce, and who had crawled up from the very dregs of the people to a slimy popularity.”  In the report of this meeting the term “Liberal,” as used in a political sense, appeared for the first time.  On May 15th the welcome announcement was made that some of the principal houses in Norwich had brought gros de Naples and other silks to such a state of perfection that they had a decided preference in the market, and that so numerous were the orders that scarcely a loom in this important branch of the weaving trade was unemployed.

16.—A great meeting of freeholders of the county was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, presided over by the High Sheriff (Mr. Andrew Fountaine), at which a petition was adopted for presentation to Parliament, praying for the repeal of the malt duties.  (Meetings for the same end were held in all parts of the county.)

19.—A prize-fight took place at Thurton, between T. Riches, 11 st., and John Clarke, 15 st., for a purse of £10.  The former was seconded p. 293by Ned Painter and Loveday, and the latter by Gale and Mike Fenn.  Seventy-two rounds were fought in 1 hour 26 minutes.  Riches won.  “Hundreds of persons from Norwich padded it through the snow to witness this exhibition of science.”

19.—Mr. Marsham Elwin resigned the chairmanship of the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, and was thanked by the magistrates for the important services he had long rendered to the county.  At the April Sessions Mr. John Weyland was elected in his place.

22.—A great fall of snow occurred in the Lynn district.  The London coach ran into a drift at Tottenhill.  The snow was almost up to the lamp-irons, and the vehicle was hauled out by teams of agricultural horses.

25.—Miss S. Booth appeared at Norwich Theatre as Widow Cheerley (“The Soldier’s Daughter”).  Her other impersonations included Little Pickle (“The Spoilt Child”), Sally Scraggs (“The Englishman in India”); Mary (“The Innkeeper’s Daughter”), Aurelia Fairlove (“The Young Widow”); Lady Elizabeth (“The Day after the Wedding”), Priscilla Tomboy (“The Romp”), and Carline (“The Noyades, or the Maid of Venice”).

FEBRUARY.

8.—The roads in various parts of the county were rendered impassable by deep snow.  The Fakenham coach was three days on its journey from London.

16.—Died, Dr. Robert Gooch, of Berners Street, London, librarian to the King.  Dr. Gooch, who was in his 45th year, was born at Yarmouth, and married the eldest daughter of Mr. N. Bolingbroke, of Norwich.

26.—At three o’clock in the morning, John Brooks and William Brooks, awaiting trial in Norwich Castle for a highway robbery at Middleton, attempted to escape.  They were confined in Bigod’s Tower, from the summit of which William Brooks endeavoured to lower himself by means of his blanket and rug.  The improvised rope gave way, and Brooks fell a distance of 70 feet.  His thigh, pelvis, left arm, and the whole of the ribs on his left side were broken, and a large tumour subsequently formed at the back of his head.  Notwithstanding his terrible injuries, Brooks recovered, and at the Summer Assizes at Norwich was borne into court on the back of a warder to take his trial.  It was stated that he was permanently crippled and quite disabled, but Mr. Justice Parke sentenced him to transportation for life.

27.*—“Private Flood, 7th Dragoon Guard’s, who was tried by court-martial for sleeping at his post at Norwich, was sentenced to receive 300 lashes, but his Majesty was graciously pleased, in consideration of the long imprisonment he had undergone, to remit the infliction of the punishment.”

MARCH.

20.*—[Advt.]  “Dr. Johnson’s Hotel and Tavern, Bolt Court, Fleet Street.  Anthony Beck, late of West Lexham, has taken the above house, and begs leave to inform his Norfolk friends and the public in p. 294general that he has used every exertion to render it worthy their support and patronage, and to assure them that he has paid due attention to that grand desideratum of Norfolk gentlemen, wines and spirits of the best quality, and good and well-aired beds.  N.B.—Within 10 minutes’ walk of Smithfield Market and the Theatres.”

20.*—“We are informed that it is in contemplation to establish a pack of foxhounds in the western part of Norfolk, and that the kennel is to be at Litcham.  In consequence thereof, the largest of the Kempstone hounds will be disposed of, but the Kempstone pack will not be given up.  They will return to their original standard of small beagles, which are better adapted for elderly sportsmen, and will not hunt the same day as the foxhounds do.”

22.—A public meeting was held at Yarmouth, to protest against the determination of his Majesty’s Commissioners for Building Churches to erect a church there in opposition to the desire of the inhabitants.  The imposition already in force of 2s. in the pound on houses and grounds, and a duty of 2s. a chaldron on coals consumed in the town, for the support of the church and chapel, was considered oppressive.

29.—The Common Council elections, which commenced at Norwich on this date, gave the ‘Orange and Purple’ party the ascendancy.  “The trade in votes was unblushingly pursued on both sides, and the prices that were given towards the close of each day’s polling were of a heavy amount.”

30.—A steeplechase took place for a silver cup valued at 30 gs., from Fritton Church to Gorleston Church, a distance of four miles.  Horses were run by Mr. Hector Munro, Mr. J. Fowler, Mr. S. Palmer, and Mr. Moore.  The race was won by Mr. Munro’s entry.  In the evening “the gentlemen of Mr. Munro’s hunt dined at the Bear Inn, and the company were much gratified with an excellent local and appropriate song, the production of Mr. Burton, of the Norwich Theatre Royal, and repeated by that gentleman in the course of the evening with increased effect.”

APRIL.

3.—At a meeting held at the King’s Arms Inn, East Dereham, it was decided to establish a pack of foxhounds in that part of the county, and to solicit landowners to preserve foxes.

—*“Last month a number of persons left North and South Lopham in waggons, on their way to embark at Liverpool for the United States of America.  Between 100 and 200 persons are emigrating from these parishes, a considerable sum of money having been borrowed on security of the rates to defray the expenses of their passage (about £6 10s. per head), and to furnish each family with the clear sum of £5 on their landing at New York.”—[Advt.]  “Emigrants to North America.  The Preston, A.I., Thomas Woodthorp master, burden 300 tons, being well fitted with berths between decks, and having excellent accommodation for cabin and steerage passengers, will sail from Yarmouth, on the 15th inst., for Quebec.  For passage or freight apply at the Counting-house of Isaac Preston, Esq.”

5.—At the Sheriffs’ Guildhall Court, Norwich, the only jury available were so long engaged in considering a verdict that nine solicitors in p. 295court volunteered to form a jury to try the next cause.  Those sworn were Messrs. J. B. Daveney, H. Miller, G. Dye, R. Fickling, C. S. Gilman, Colman, Lawter, and Marston.  Three laymen made up the requisite number.  “The swearing of the jury of legal gentlemen caused much laughter, and what appeared most singular, after hearing evidence on both sides, they could not agree to a verdict, but recommended the withdrawal of a juror, which was done accordingly.  Such a jury was never heard of before in Norwich.”

10.—John Simmons, aged 31, and William Lovet, 20, convicted at Thetford Assizes of burglaries at Thorpe, were executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich.  Calcraft was the executioner.  “After the execution the bodies were laid out in the mill-yard, and the different classes of prisoners were marched past.”

—*“A few weeks since a pike was caught in the North River, near St. Benet’s Abbey, which weighed 35 lbs., the extreme length of which was 49 inches.  It measured 25 inches in girth.  This astonishing fish, the largest ever caught in this county, was presented to his Majesty by Mr. H. N. Burroughes, of Burlingham.”

12.—Mr. Power, of Covent Garden Theatre, commenced a short engagement at Norwich Theatre, in the part of Dennis Brulgruddery.  His other impersonations were Teddy the Tiler, Larry (“More Blunders than One”), Dr. O’Toole, Alessandro Massaroni (“The Brigand”), and Teague (“Honest Thieves”).

13.—At a meeting of the Norwich Paving Act Commissioners, a report was received from the Lighting and Watching Committee on the proposals of the agents of the Norwich Gas-Light Company for extending their works through the principal streets of the city.  There were then four miles of main and service pipes supplied with oil gas; it was proposed to extend the pipes to twelve miles, and to supply “purified coal gas.”  It was explained that the adoption of the proposal would result in the abolition of 900 old oil lamps and the substitution of gas lamps, at an increased annual charge of £500.  At an adjourned meeting on April 30th, the scheme was adopted, and tenders were invited for carrying it into effect.  In May the Norwich Gas Company purchased five acres of land near Bishop Bridge, on which to erect works for supplying the whole city with coal gas.

19.—Three troops of the 1st Royal Dragoons, under the command of Major Martin, arrived in Norwich, to replace the 7th Dragoon Guards.  The headquarters of the regiment marched in on May 15th, from Manchester.

21.—Mrs. W. West, of Drury Lane, appeared at Norwich Theatre, as Portia.  Her other parts included Edmond (“The Blind Boy”), Juliana (“The Honeymoon”), Mrs. Beverley, Ellen Enfield (“Falls of Clyde”), and Therese.

23.—The Norfolk Quarter Sessions petitioned the Lord Chancellor to order the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich.  On May 3rd the Corporation of Norwich adopted a similar petition.

—The birthday of King George IV. was celebrated for the last time.

MAY.

1.—Mr. John Angell was elected Mayor of Norwich.

p. 2963.—The Corporation of Norwich petitioned the House of Commons to introduce legislation for remitting the punishment of death “in all cases except murder, arson, burglary, highway robbery, and offences attended with violence.”

13.—The foundation-stone of the new Market House at Lynn was laid by the Mayor (Mr. William Bagge).

15.—William King was publicly whipped in Norwich Market Place for stealing a pewter pot.

—Died at his house, in Chapel Field, Norwich, aged 48, Mr. Joseph Gibson, jun., who served the office of Sheriff in 1821.

17.—A portion of the roof over the pit of the old Theatre Royal, Norwich, fell in with a tremendous crash.  The workmen who had been employed there during the day had just left the building.

22.—The Rev. William Yonge, Vicar of Swaffham and Chancellor of the Diocese of Norwich, was presented by his parishioners with a piece of plate, of the value of £100, in recognition of his services as their resident minister during the period of 50 years.

JUNE.

2.—Mr. Burton, comedian at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, on the occasion of his benefit, “delivered Liston’s celebrated address, riding on the back of a real donkey.”

—Died, Mr. Jeremiah Lorkin, aged 77, “well known some years since to the then antiquaries of Norwich, an excellent classical scholar, and conversant with the science of numismatics.”

12.—A writ of mandamus was issued by the Court of King’s Bench, directing the Mayor and Corporation of Norwich, in compliance with the Act of Parliament, to elect twenty persons to be Guardians of the Poor.  The Mayor (Mr. T. O. Springfield) had absented himself from the quarterly assembly of the Corporation on May 3rd.  The transaction of public business was, in consequence, prevented, and at a special assembly a strong vote of censure was passed upon his worship for his conduct.

—A grey eagle was shot in Holkham Park.  It weighed 9¾ lbs., measured 2½ inches round the smallest part of the leg, 3 ft from the point of the beak to the tip of the tail, and 7 ft. 2 in. from the tip of one wing to the tip of the other.

22.—Guild Day was observed in Norwich.  It was stated that at the Cathedral the civic procession “passed along the rush-strewed pavement into the choir.”  In consequence of the serious illness of the King, it was doubtful whether the Guild feast would be held.  Mr. Angell, the Mayor-elect, issued 600 invitations, and until the guests actually assembled there was every probability of the abandonment of the feast.

27.—Intelligence was received in Norwich of the death of George IV.  The news came six hours in advance of the mails, by an express despatched from the “Sun” newspaper office in London to the proprietors of the Norfolk Chronicle.  The great bell of St. Peter Mancroft Church was tolled.  On the 29th the High Sheriff (the Hon. p. 297George Milles) proceeded on horseback from the Norfolk Hotel, accompanied by a marshal and javelin-men, and other officials, to the Shirehall, where the accession of King William IV. to the Crown of these realms was proclaimed, and three cheers given.  The King was proclaimed by the city authorities on the 30th, from the leads of the Guildhall.  The procession round the city was headed by the band and kettledrums of the 1st Royal Dragoons, and five troops of the regiment, under the command of Lieut.-Colonel Somerset.  “The Colonel politely declined the Mayor’s invitation to himself and his officers to take refreshments at the Guildhall after the ceremony, and the offer on the part of the Corporation to present the non-commissioned officers and men of the Royals with 10 guineas with which to drink his Majesty’s health was also declined, on the ground that the troops, in attending the civil authorities, had only performed a duty.”  There were similar observances at Yarmouth and Lynn.

JULY.

5.—Mr. William Smith, M.P. for Norwich, in an address on this date, intimated to the electors that, in consequence of advancing years, he would not offer himself for re-election.  He had represented the city twenty-eight years.

—A grand main of cocks (three double-days’ play) commenced at the Maid’s Head Inn, Norwich, between the gentlemen of Norfolk (Stafford, feeder) and the gentlemen of Suffolk (Nash, feeder), for £10 a battle and £100 the odd.  Norfolk won by two battles a head on the main.

6.—A cricket match was played at Lord’s, between the Marylebone and the Norfolk clubs.  The latter won by 24 runs.  Marylebone, 43-78; Norfolk, 87-58.  The return match was played on the Dereham ground, on August 19th and 20th, when Norfolk won by eight wickets.  Marylebone, 62-44; Norfolk, 85-22.

15.—The funeral of the late King took place on this date.  The day was observed in Norwich “with the complete features of the Sabbath.”  The Corporation attended service at the Cathedral, services were held in other places of worship, and the great bell of St. Peter Mancroft tolled from eight o’clock till midnight.

24.—At the General Election which took place consequent upon the death of the King, Mr. Richard Hanbury Gurney, acceding to the urgent appeals of the “Blue and White” party in Norwich, consented to contest the city, in conjunction with Mr. Robert Grant.  On this date he and his colleague made their public entry.  Col. Peel, who sought re-election, and Vice-Admiral Sir Charles Ogle, Bart., the other “Orange and Purple” candidate, arrived on the 26th.  The nomination took place on the 29th, and the polling commenced immediately afterwards.  Throughout the election great excitement prevailed, and there was much rioting.  The poll was declared on the 30th, as follows: Gurney, 2,363; Grant, 2,279; Peel, 1,912; Ogle, 1,762.

30.—The election at Yarmouth commenced, and, after a sharp contest, the poll was declared, on the 31st, as follows: The Hon. George Anson, 944; Rumbold, 944; Preston, 751; Campbell, 754.

31.—Lynn election took place, and resulted in the return of Lord p. 298George Bentinck and Col. Walpole, with 78 and 73 votes respectively.  The unsuccessful candidate, Sir W. B. ffolkes, polled 8 votes.

AUGUST.

3.—Mr. T. W. Coke and Mr. Edmond Wodehouse, the outgoing members, offered themselves for re-election by the county.  Mr. Coke issued an address on this date, asking the electors to support Sir William ffolkes, who stood as a third candidate.  Mr. Wodehouse withdrew his candidature rather than involve himself and his supporters in a protracted contest, and the two first-named gentlemen were returned unopposed on the 6th.

7.—An inquest upon the body of a man accidentally killed was held in the porch of Earlham church by Mr. William Bell, Coroner.

9.—Mr. Samuel Bignold was elected one of the Sheriffs of Norwich.

—At an inquest held at Norwich on the body of John Morse, aged 38, who, during the city election was violently struck by a stone, and received such injuries that he died on August 6th, a verdict of wilful murder against some person or persons unknown, was returned, and the Court of Mayoralty offered a reward of £50 for a conviction.

—Mr. Kean appeared at Norwich Theatre in the character of Richard III., previous to leaving England for America, and to his final retirement from the stage.  His other impersonations included Shylock, Othello, Sir Edward Mortimer, Sir Giles Overreach, and King Lear.

20.—Died at sea, on board the Lyra Government packet, in his 63rd year, Mr. Crisp Brown, Alderman of Norwich, who served as Sheriff in 1814, and Mayor in 1817.  He had taken a voyage across the Atlantic for the benefit of his health, “but unhappily sank under the weight of affliction which oppressed his mind.”

21.—The King’s birthday was celebrated in Norwich.

25.—Died at his house on Tombland, Norwich, Mr. Henry Carter, aged 40, one of the surgeons of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital.

31.—The election of freemen’s Sheriff at Norwich resulted in the return of Mr. Isaac Wiseman, with 1,124 votes, against 794 polled by Mr. Charles Middleton.

SEPTEMBER.

13.—The foundation-stone of a new episcopal chapel at Yarmouth, erected by voluntary subscriptions, from designs by Mr. Scoles, was laid by Mr. Barth, acting for the Bishop of Norwich.

21.—The Norwich Musical Festival opened with a grand concert, given at St. Andrew’s Hall.  On the morning of the 22nd, sacred selections were given, and in the evening Mr. Mori conducted a concert.  The “Messiah” was performed on the morning of the 23rd, and a concert took place in the evening.  On Friday, 24th, selections of sacred music were given in the morning, and a fancy dress ball was held in the evening.  The principal performers at the Festival were Madame Malibran, Madame Stockhausen, Master Phillips, Mrs. William Knyvett, p. 299Mr. Braham, Mr. Vaughn, Mr. Terrail, Mr. E. Taylor, and Signor De Begnes.  Sir George Smart was conductor.

24.—A dinner was held at the Corn Exchange, Norwich, to celebrate the return of Mr. T. W. Coke, M.P., and Sir William, ffolkes, M.P.

25.—Mr. Braham appeared at Norwich Theatre as Henry Bartram (“Guy Mannering”).

OCTOBER.

2.—Malibran appeared at Norwich Theatre, in the character of Susanna (“The Marriage of Figaro”).

4.—A twin packet was launched from the shipyard of Mr. John Lubbock, at Wells-next-the-Sea.  “She may justly be called a twin steamer, having two stems and two stern posts, with a tunnel passing through the middle ingeniously constructed so as to make her very stiff and of an easy draught of water.  The vessel was built for the Aire and Calder Navigation Company.”

9.—A specimen of the Ossifragus, or small eagle, was shot at Barton Turf.

11.—The new Beer Bill came into operation.  At Lynn “the day was kept as a jubilee by all the devotees of Sir John Barleycorn.  Nearly 50 new houses were opened for the sale of beer, and drunkenness, rioting, and fighting were prevalent in many of the streets.”

23.—Mr. J. G. Johnson was elected assistant-surgeon at the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital, in place of Mr. B. H. Norgate, appointed one of the surgeons.

—A county meeting was held at the Shirehall, Norwich, at which it was decided to petition Parliament for the repeal of the duty on malt.  Great disorder was occasioned by an operative in the gallery exhibiting a placard bearing the words, “Englishmen, remember the expensive and bloody reign of George III.”

NOVEMBER.

2.—A common hall was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, for the purpose of petitioning the Legislature for the repeal of the duty on coals.  The requisition had been signed wholly by persons of the “Purple and Orange” party, much opposition resulted, and the meeting dissolved in confusion.

10.—Mr. Edward Hall Alderson, son of the Recorder of Norwich, and Mr. John Patteson, son of the Rev. Henry Patteson, of Drinkstone, Suffolk, and nephew of Mr. Alderman Patteson, of Norwich, were appointed Judges of the High Court.

—On this date began the machine-breaking riots and stack firing, which gradually extended over the greater part of the county.  The first fire occurred on the farm of Mr. J. Hill, of Briston, and a reward of £1,000 was offered by Sir Jacob Astley for the discovery of the offenders.  On the 16th a mob destroyed the agricultural machinery belonging to Mr. John Girling, of Paston.  The outrages became so numerous that the principal agriculturists got rid of their threshing-machines, p. 300and Col. Wodehouse, the Lieutenant of the County, issued a circular to the magistrates, requesting them to swear in special constables in every parish.  At Melton Constable, on the 22nd, it was feared that an attack would be made upon the Hall, but the gentlemen in the neighbourhood went to the assistance of Sir Jacob Astley, and, meeting the rioters at Hindolvestone, seized the ringleaders and conveyed them to Walsingham Bridewell.  Another mob assembled on the 23rd, and further arrests were made.  The High Sheriff (the Hon. G. J. Milles), anticipating a further attack, despatched a messenger to Elmham Park, requesting the assistance of the gentlemen of the Norfolk Hunt, who had a meet there that day.  The summons was immediately obeyed, and the horsemen, on arriving at Melton Constable, dispersed the rioters and made several arrests.  The same day detachments of the 1st Royal Dragoons were sent from Norwich to do duty in the disturbed districts.  At Norwich, on the 29th, the mob destroyed the sawmills of Mr. Calver, at New Catton, and the looms at Messrs. Willett’s factory in St. Martin’s, and broke the windows of the silk factory.  The Sheriffs and the magistrates were in daily and nightly attendance at the Guildhall, and the Chelsea pensioners in the city, to the number of 200, were called out to assist in preserving the peace.  On December 4th the county of Norfolk was included in his Majesty’s proclamation, offering a reward of £50 in respect of every person convicted of any outrage upon property.  At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, held on December 18th, two Committees were appointed, one for East and the other for West Norfolk, “to arrange and put the constabulary force on the most efficient footing to preserve the peace and protect the persons and property of the inhabitants of the county.”  The thanks of the Court were given to the 1st Royals for their services, and to the Mayor and magistrates of Norwich for their cordial co-operation with the county authorities in the suppression of the disturbances.

20.—A whale, which had stranded upon a sandbank four miles below the harbour, was landed on the common staith at King’s Lynn.  “It was placed on two trucks, dragged by six horses, and measured 21 ft. 3 in. in length, and 13 ft. 6 in. in circumference.”

25.—Mr. Robert Grant, one of the members for Norwich, having accepted the office of Judge Advocate under the new Administration, a fresh election was rendered necessary, and the writ was received on this date.  The right hon. gentleman was returned unopposed on November 30th.  He was afterwards appointed a Government Commissioner for the affairs of India.

DECEMBER.

6.—Died at his house, St. Giles’ Terrace, Norwich, Joseph Stannard, artist.

11*.—“On Sunday, November 7th, were deposited in Lakenham churchyard the remains of Elizabeth Watts, aged 24 years; and on the 28th of the same month a brother of the deceased died.  He expressed the wish to be buried in the same grave with his sister.  It was found that the grave had been opened and the body of the sister taken away.  The shroud remained.”

p. 30111.—Died, in consequence of a fall from his horse, the Very Rev. Edward Mellish, M.A., formerly of Trinity College, Cambridge, rector of East Tuddenham, vicar of Honingham, and Dean of Hereford.

16.—Died at Costessey, Captain William Bolton, R.N., eldest son of the Rev. William Bolton, “and one of the few surviving Norfolk heroes who accompanied Nelson in his deeds of fame.”

18.—It was announced that Mr. Robert Alderson had resigned the Recordership of Norwich.  Mr. Isaac Preston, Steward of the city, was, on the 23rd, appointed to fill the vacancy.  Mr. Fitzroy Kelly was appointed Steward on February 3rd, and presented with the freedom of the city on April 29th, 1831.

—Official notification was given of the completion of the Gas Works at Bishop Bridge, Norwich, and of the extended service of gas in the city.

24.—A frost commenced on Christmas-eve, and became so intense that in the course of forty-eight hours the mill-streams and rivers were frozen over, and navigation between Norwich and Yarmouth was obstructed by ice.  On the night of the 26th the thermometer fell to zero, “a degree of cold never before observed in this country.”  On the 27th there was a sudden change, and on the 31st the thermometer stood at 48 degrees.

25.—Died at Lakenham Grove, aged 74, Mr. Joseph Gurney, banker, of Norwich.  At the funeral in the Gildencroft burial-ground, “Mr. J. J. Gurney and Mrs. Fry offered up impressive prayers.”

1831.

JANUARY.

1.—The non-commissioned officers and privates of the 1st Royal Dragoons were entertained by public subscription at dinner at the Assembly Rooms, East Dereham, in recognition of their services during the recent disturbances.

5.—Died at Hilborough Hall, aged 54, Mr. Ralph Caldwell.  “He was among the first promoters of the Norfolk Foxhunting Society.”

—The calendar of the Norfolk Quarter Sessions contained the names of 205 prisoners, of whom 108 were indicted for taking part in the machine-breaking riots during November and December, 1830.  The trials, which took place before Mr. Serjeant Frere, Lord Suffield, and other magistrates, concluded on the 12th.  Sixty-seven of the rioters were found guilty of machine-breaking, and 41 were acquitted or otherwise discharged.  One was sentenced to 14 years’ transportation; 8 to seven years; 1 to two years’ imprisonment; 1 to fifteen months; 4 to one year; 5 to nine months; 10 to six months; 6 to four months; 14 to three months; 8 to two months; 4 to one month, and 1 to fourteen days.  Fifty were charged with rioting and other outrages.  Of these, 18 were discharged on their own recognisances; p. 3029 were acquitted, and 23 convicted.  One was sentenced to imprisonment for two and a half years; 2 for two years; 3 for eighteen months; 4 for one year; 2 for six months; 3 for four months; 4 for three months; 2 for one month; 1 for three weeks; and 1 for one week.  There were reserved for a higher tribunal three capital offences of machine-breaking, and five or six cases of arson.

17.—At the Norwich Quarter Sessions, an indictment was preferred against one William Lamb, for receiving a bribe at the election of Mr. Alderman Steward.  The Grand Jury made a presentment that the bill of indictment should have included Mr. Charles Turner and Mr. Samuel Woodcock Mealing, as there was conclusive evidence that they had bribed the defendant.  The Recorder (Mr. Preston) adjourned the case until January 31st.  A further adjournment was made till February 1st, when the Recorder, after a long legal argument with counsel, decided that the case could not proceed.  A rule absolute was obtained in the Court of King’s Bench against Mr. Mealing, and the case came on for trial before Lord Lyndhurst at the Norwich Assizes on July 29th, when the jury found the defendant guilty, and recommended him to mercy.  In the Court of King’s Bench, on November 8th, an unsuccessful motion was made for arrest of judgment.  Finally the defendant appeared before that Court on November 23rd, and was sentenced by Mr. Justice Parke to pay a fine of £100.

19.—The honorary freedom of the city was conferred upon the Right Hon. Lord Viscount Sidmouth, on the occasion of a visit to his son-in-law, the Hon. and Very Rev. the Dean of Norwich.

—The agitation for Parliamentary Reform began at Norwich, this year, with a meeting held at St. Andrew’s Hall, when resolutions were passed in favour of the measure.  On March 19th the Right Hon. Robert Grant, member for Norwich, presented in the House of Commons a petition signed by 7,000 citizens in support of the Bill, and Sir William ffolkes presented similar petitions from the inhabitants of the several Hundreds in the county.  A great meeting took place at St Andrew’s Hall on September 29th, at which it was decided to petition the House of Lords on behalf of the Bill, on the ground “that the tranquillity and happiness of this kingdom depend on the complete passing of this great national measure.”  The Bill having been thrown out by the Peers, a requisition was presented to the Mayor of Norwich for a Common Hall, which was held at St. Andrew’s Hall on October 18th.  A procession, headed by bands of music, started from the Castle Ditches at ten o’clock, and, after parading the streets of the city, arrived at the Hall at noon.  About 5,000 persons were present, and the Mayor presided.  Mr. Thomas Bignold, jun., one of the principal speakers, moved a series of resolutions expressive of the “ardent hope that such constitutional measures as may be completely effectual for the attainment of this most important object will be forthwith adopted by his Majesty, under the advice and with the assistance of his Ministers.”  An address founded on the resolutions was ordered to be presented to the King.  A county meeting took place at the Shirehall on November 19th, under the presidency of Mr. Anthony Hamond, “for the purpose of expressing confidence in his Majesty’s Ministers, and of adopting such proceedings as may be deemed expedient to forward the great measure of Reform.”  On the 26th was issued for signature “the Norfolk Declaration” which expressed “alarm at the p. 303extensive innovations proposed by the late Reform Bill,” and gratitude to the House of Lords for “generously exercising the prerogative power vested in them for the good of the people, and for refusing to concur in so dangerous an experiment.”  The year’s agitation closed with the issue, on December 3rd, of another Declaration, “founded on a constitutional basis and manifesting a conciliatory spirit.”  This movement was known as “the Conservative Reform.”  (The word “Conservative,” in the political sense, was, on this occasion, used locally for the first time.)

21.—At the county magistrates’ meeting, Mr. John Stracey reintroduced the subject of the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich, and announced that Lord Chancellor Brougham had addressed to the Lieutenant of the County a letter, in which he promised to advise the Secretary of State to cause the Assizes to be held in future at Norwich.  On February 1st the Corporation of Norwich petitioned the Lord Chancellor in favour of the removal.  On March 9th the Home Office intimated that the Judges of Assize for the Norfolk Circuit proposed to hold an adjourned Assizes for the trial of eight prisoners at Norwich on March 24th.  The Assizes were held accordingly on that date by adjournment from Thetford.

26.—Died at his house in Portland Place, London, aged 86, Mr. Richard Paul Jodrell, F.R.S., F.A.S., D.C.L., formerly member of Parliament for the borough of Seaford.  “It may be regarded as an almost unprecedented instance, that Mr. Jodrell had lived to be in possession of his paternal estates 80 years, his father having died at an early age in 1751.”  He was distinguished as a scholar, and as author of “The Illustrations of Euripides” and other literary works.  Mr. Jodrell was the last surviving member of Dr. Johnson’s Club.

FEBRUARY.

12.—Died at St. George Colegate, Norwich, James Horth, aged 42.  “He was a journeyman dyer, but devoted his leisure hours to the highest branches of mathematical science; his knowledge of astronomy was profound; he was deeply read in the modern analysis of the French, and possessed the esteem of some of the most celebrated mathematicians of this country.”

13.—Died at Bath, Sir Edward Berry, Bart., K.C.B., Rear-Admiral of the Red.  He was born in 1768, and was fourth son of a London merchant.  On December 12th, 1797, he married Louisa, eldest daughter of the Rev. Samuel Forster, D.D., then head-master of the Norwich Free Grammar School.  At the restoration of peace, in 1814, Sir Edward returned to Norfolk, and took up his residence at Catton, where he remained some years.  Thence he proceeded to Bath, for the benefit of his health.  He was buried at Walcot Church, Bath, on February 22nd.

14.—Died, aged 74, Mr. William Betts, Lieutenant and Quartermaster in the West Norfolk Militia.  He entered the service as a private on April 29th, 1778; was appointed Corporal, July 18th, 1780; Sergeant, June 10th, 1790; Quarter-master, April 23rd, 1803, and held the appointment till June 24th, 1829, after a total service of 51 years 57 days.

p. 30419.*—[Advt.]  “The annual grand main of cocks, between the gentlemen of Norfolk and the gentlemen of Suffolk, will be fought at the Maid’s Head Inn, St. Simon’s, Norwich, on Tuesday, March 8th, and two following days (three double-days’ play), for £10 a battle and £100 the main.  To commence fighting each day in the morning at 12 o’clock, in the evening at seven.  Feeders: Stafford for Norfolk; Nash for Suffolk.”

23.—Died at his house, at Thorpe, Mr. Michael Stark, aged 83.  “Mr. Stark was a native of Scotland, and descended from an ancient and honourable family in the county of Fife.  He was apprenticed to a dyer, and, having been engaged in London, was induced to come to Norwich.  To Mr. Stark Norwich was indebted for the introduction of many valuable discoveries and improvements which tended considerably to the success of its manufactures.”

27.—Died at the Royal Military College, Bagshot, Captain Charles Stone, paymaster at that institution, aged 84.  He was a native of Norwich, and served in the 16th Light Dragoons, which he accompanied to America in 1775, and was personally concerned in the taking of General Lee.  On his passage home from America, in 1781, he was captured in the British Channel by a French privateer, and carried to France, where he was detained a prisoner 12 months.  In 1784 he was appointed Adjutant of the 16th, and in due time attained the rank of Captain.  He was appointed paymaster of the College in 1802, and resigned in 1827.

MARCH.

2.—The freedom of the city was presented to the Hon. and Very Rev. G. Pellew, D.D., Dean of Norwich.

6.—Died at Dulwich College, aged 66, the Rev. Ozias Thurston Linley, A.B., a junior fellow of that institution, and formerly a Minor Canon of Norwich Cathedral.  He was the eldest son of Mr. Thomas Linley, patentee of Drury Lane Theatre, and brother of Mrs. Sheridan, the first wife of Richard Brinsley Sheridan.

21.—The elections for the Common Council commenced at Norwich.  “They were conducted upon correct principles, the voters were left free from the temptation of corruption, and the result was the renewed ascendancy of the ‘Orange and Purple’ party, who won the representation of three wards out of four.”

24.—The grave was discovered, in the south aisle of St. Stephen’s Church, of Robert Browne, a former Mayor of Norwich.  Nothing remained but some pieces of bones.  Upon a stone was the inscription: “Of your charitie praye for the soule of Robert Browne, Esquire, some time Mayor of this city, who died 1534.”

—The Norfolk Lent Assizes (adjourned from Thetford) were held at Norwich for the first time.  Mr. Justice Alderson, an honorary freeman of the city, was one of the judges.

25.—At the Norfolk Lent Assizes, at Norwich, before Mr. Justice Alderson, Richard Nockolds was indicted for setting fire to stacks, the property of William Blake, at Swanton Abbott, and Robert Hunt, Josiah Davidson, and David Davidson were charged as accessaries.  p. 305The jury found the prisoners not guilty.  On the 26th they were indicted for setting fire to a stack the property of Richard Ducker, of the same place.  Nockolds was found guilty, and sentenced to death; Josiah Davidson was convicted of being an accessary before the fact, recommended to mercy, and afterwards respited; Hunt and David Davidson were acquitted.  Nockolds was executed on the Castle Hill, Norwich, on April 9th.  His body was subsequently exhibited at his cottage opposite the Barrack gates, Pockthorpe, “and a considerable sum of money was in this way raised for the widow.”

26.—A Bill “for the better management of the Poor in the several parishes and hamlets of the city of Norwich,” had, it was announced on this date, been presented in the House of Commons.  The principal object of the measure was to abolish the right of the Corporation to elect Guardians.  It was read a first time in April, passed through its remaining stages during the first Session of the new Parliament, and the first meeting of the Court of Guardians elected under the new Act was held at the Guildhall on October 4th.

APRIL.

5.—Lynn Market Cross was sold by auction for £160.  It had long been dilapidated.  “The Market Place in its present state, covered with vegetation sufficient to graze sheep, presents a most melancholy appearance.”

8.—Mr. Henry Dover was elected a chairman of Norfolk Quarter Sessions, in the room of Sir E. H. Alderson, appointed one of his Majesty’s Judges.

11.—Miss Smithson appeared at Norwich Theatre in the character of Juliet; and on three subsequent evenings as Mrs. Simpson (“Simpson and Co.”), Belvidera, Mrs. Oakley (“The Jealous Wife”), and Theresa (“The Orphan of Geneva”).

13.—The new road from Acle to Yarmouth, saving a distance of three miles five furlongs, was opened for public inspection, and was shortly afterwards used for traffic.

14.—A ballot for filling up the peace establishment of the East Norfolk Militia was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, before Mr. Isaac Preston, D.L.  “Substitutes were easily obtained from £2 to £3 per man.”

29.—The nomination of Parliamentary candidates for Norwich took place.  Mr. R. H. Gurney and the Right Hon. Robert Grant were proposed by the “Blue and White” party, and Sir Charles Wetherell and Mr. Michael Thomas Sadler by the “Purple and Orange” party.  A poll was demanded, and opened on April 30th.  The polling-booths closed on May 3rd, when the result was declared as follows:—Gurney, 2,158; Grant, 2,163; Wetherell, 977; Sadler, 964.

—Yarmouth election commenced on this date, and the poll closed on the 30th.  Result:—Col. Anson, 904; Mr. Rumbold, 903; Mr. Colville, 549; Mr. Bliss, 543.

30.—Lord H. Cholmondeley and the Hon. F. G. Howard were re-elected members of Parliament for Castle Rising.

p. 306MAY.

1.—This day (Sunday) Mr. Alderman Leman and Mr. Alderman Yallop were elected to be returned to the Court of Aldermen for appointment to the office of Mayor of Norwich.  Mr. Yallop was chosen Mayor on the 3rd.

2.—Lord George Bentinck and Lord William Lennox were elected without opposition members of Parliament for King’s Lynn.

3.—The use of the ballot box at meetings of the Norwich Corporation was discontinued, on the motion of Mr. W. J. Utten Browne, who characterised it as “a sneaking mode of proceeding.”

4.—Died in Harley Street, London, aged 69, the Viscountess Nelson and Duchess of Bronte, “widow of the immortal hero of Trafalgar.”  The funeral took place at Littleham, near Exmouth.

6.—Mr. T. W. Coke and Sir W. B. ffolkes were returned unopposed members of Parliament for the county of Norfolk.  Mr. Coke announced that he would not again seek re-election.

28.*—“Last week a lobster was taken out alive from one of the branches of the river Waveney, at Frenze, in this county.  The river is intersected by several locks, and the place where it was taken is nearly 40 miles from the sea.”

JUNE.

1.—Died at Thorpe, aged 47, Mr. Marsham Elwin, of Thurning, formerly one of the chairmen of Norfolk Quarter Sessions.

6.—A vessel named the Carrow, of 80 tons burden, was launched from the timber-yard of Mr. Batley, at Carrow.

—A two days’ cricket match commenced on Lord’s ground, between Norwich and Marylebone.  Norwich, 115-142.  Marylebone, 145-67.  Betting at the start was 6 to 4 on Marylebone, and at the end of the first day’s play the odds were 7 and 8 to 1 in favour of Norwich.

11.*—“The census which has just been taken shows that the inhabitants of Norwich number 60,998, an increase in ten years of 10,700.  The population of the county, exclusive of Norwich, but including other boroughs, is 331,014, an increase of 36,934.”

20.—Mr. Alderman Patteson resigned his seat after fifty years’ membership of the Norwich Corporation.  Mr. Samuel Bignold was elected to fill the vacancy thus created in the Great Mancroft Ward.

—A meeting, presided over by Mr. J. J. Gurney, was held at the Guildhall, Norwich, for the purpose of promoting a subscription for the relief of sufferers from the Irish famine.

21.—Guild Day at Norwich.  Mr. J. H. Yallop was, for the second time, sworn in as Mayor, and afterwards entertained 800 guests at the Guild feast.

22.—Mr. Charles Green made a balloon ascent from Richmond Hill Gardens, Norwich, in company with Mr. Richard Crawshay, and in p. 3071 hour 10 minutes descended upon a marsh at Oby near Acle.  He made a second ascent from the same gardens on July 2nd, accompanied by Mr. Alderman Marshall, and descended at Blofield.  Mr. Crawshay accompanied the aeronaut in the ascent at the opening of London Bridge by the King on August 1st.  Owing to a strong wind, the ascent was made with great difficulty; the aeronauts barely escaped with their lives, and on descending at Charlwood were severely bruised and shaken.

JULY.

7.—The first stone of a new church at Yarmouth, dedicated to St. Peter, and erected on a site granted by the Corporation, was laid by the Mayor (Mr. Edmund Preston).  Mr. Scoles was the architect.  The church was consecrated on August 16th, 1833, by the Bishop of Winchester, on behalf of the Bishop of Norwich.

23.—The interment took place at Rainham church of the remains of General Loftus.  He entered the Army in 1770, and in 1775 embarked with the 17th Light Dragoons for America.  He was in the action of Bunker’s Hill, at the battle of Bedford, at the taking of New York, at the battles of Pelham Manor and the White Plains, and led the Hessian Grenadiers across the river Brunx, where he was wounded.  He was wounded again in the attack on the lines at King’s Bridge.  In 1794 he raised the 24th Light Dragoons, largely composed of Norfolk men; in 1796 was made Major-General and appointed to the English staff, and in 1797 was transferred to the Irish staff, and commanded a brigade at the battle of Vinegar Hill.  He commanded the Eastern District in 1809, and at the time of his death was Lieutenant of the Tower and Colonel of the 2nd Dragoon Guards.  General Loftus for several Sessions represented in Parliament the borough of Great Yarmouth.

25.—At the Norfolk Assizes held at Norwich, before Lord Lyndhurst, an indictment was preferred against several farmers and labourers living at Edingthorpe, for having conspired to compel the rector, the Rev. Richard Adams, to take less in tithe than he was entitled to by law.  The great and small tithes together averaged 6s. per acre; under intimidation Mr. Adams signed a document by which he agreed to accept 4s. per acre during his life.  At the suggestion of his lordship, a settlement was arrived at.  He intimated, however, that a clergyman had a right to his tithes, and the parishioners had no authority to dictate to him.

26.—At the same Assizes, an action was brought against the Rev. Dean Wood, vicar of Middleton, by Mr. Howes, a farmer in the same parish, for a libel contained in a pamphlet published by the defendant, entitled, “A Defence of the Clergy, founded upon facts.”  The jury returned a verdict for the plaintiff, damages £100.

28.—Paganini performed at a concert given under the management of Mr. Pettet, at the Corn Exchange, Norwich.  He appeared again on the 29th, and on the 30th was engaged at the Theatre.  He was described as “the fascinating, but by no means fair-dealing, foreigner.”

p. 308AUGUST.

1.—Mr. Wallack, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced a short engagement at the Theatre Royal, Norwich, in the character of Rolla (“Pizarro”).  His other impersonations included Don Felix (“The Wonder”), Sir Edward Mortimer, Alessandro Massaroni (“The Brigand”), and Dashall (“My Aunt”).

8.—A cricket match, lasting two days, between Marylebone and Norwich, commenced on the Norwich ground.  Marylebone, 96-109.  Norwich, 69-94.  Lillywhite and Sir St. Vincent Cotton played for the former, and Fuller Pilch, W. Pilch, and N. Pilch for the latter club.

10.—The 1st Royal Dragoons were inspected on Mousehold Heath, Norwich, by General Sir Charles Dalbiac.  “This fine regiment, several of whose officers are sons of Norfolk families, has been lately augmented by the enlistment of a large number of Norfolk men.”

18.—A two-days’ cricket match commenced on the Dereham ground, between Marylebone and Norfolk.  Marylebone, 44-67.  Norfolk, 11-38.  “Both at Norwich and at Dereham the Norfolk men were evidently beaten by the system of bowling.”

30.—At the election of freemen’s Sheriff, at Norwich, the candidates were Mr. John Cozens (1,086 votes) and Mr. W. J. Utten Browne (506 votes).

31.—A camping match took place on Norwich Cricket Ground, between Norwich and Blofield.  The latter gave up.  “Neither the camping nor the subsequent wrestling were either of them well contested.”

SEPTEMBER.

5.—Died at Heigham, Norwich, aged 75, Mr. J. Watson, one of the original contractors of the Norwich mail coaches established in 1785.

8.—The Coronation of William IV. and Queen Adelaide was celebrated in Norwich.  The Corporation attended service at the Cathedral, and the 1st Royal Dragoons fired a feu de joie in the Market Place.  “This day was fixed upon to pay the freemen who voted for Messrs. Gurney and Grant their sovereigns, which they received at different public-houses, pursuant to notice circulated by handbills.”  A dinner, attended principally by the “Blue and White” party, took place at St. Andrew’s Hall; and the “Purple and Orange” freemen were entertained at the York Gardens, Pockthorpe.  Celebrations were held in different parts of the county.

10.—Mr. Richard Forby, a well-known farmer at Tittleshall, was gored to death by a bull.

19.—Died, James Twiddy, parish clerk of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  “He had a taste for poetry, and occasionally wrote in verse.  His prose compositions displayed considerable talent, and his leisure hours were chiefly employed in reading and improving his mind.”

—Three troops of Norfolk Yeomanry Cavalry, raised in the western part of the county, consisting of the 1st or Melton troop, Capt. Sir Jacob Astley; the 2nd, or West Raynham troop, Capt. Lord Townshend, and the 3rd or Elmham troop, Major the Hon. George John p. 309Milles, assembled at Lenwade Bridge and marched to Norwich, on their way to Yarmouth for six days’ training.  The band of the 1st Royals played them into the city, where they were billeted for the night.  The uniform of the regiment consisted of a scarlet jacket, dark trousers, and black helmet.

27.—Died at Harold’s Cross, near Dublin, aged 85, the Rev. Philip Taylor, upwards of 60 years minister of the Unitarian congregation in Eustace Street in that city.  Mr. Taylor was a native of Norwich, and grandson of Dr. John Taylor, formerly minister at the Octagon chapel.

OCTOBER.

1.—At this date there were four coaches running daily on the road between Lynn and Norwich.

12.—The Cross Keys Bridge and embankment, opened on this date, afforded direct communication between Norfolk and Lincolnshire and the North of England.  By these works nearly 18,000 acres of land were recovered from the sea.  The opening ceremony commenced with a procession of carriages over the bridge and embankment, and concluded with a dinner in a marquee erected near the works.  Three hundred guests were present, and Sir William ffolkes, M.P., presided.

NOVEMBER.

12.—In accordance with regulations passed by the Court of Mayoralty, the Aldermen of the small wards in Norwich, accompanied by the parochial officials, perambulated their respective wards, for the purpose of reporting upon their sanitary condition.  In view of the cholera outbreak in other parts of the country, the medical men of Norwich divided the city into four districts, and apportioned a certain number of their body to each.

20.—Services were resumed in Norwich Cathedral, after extensive repairs to the fabric.

DECEMBER.

3.—At a general meeting of the county magistrates, a committee was appointed to receive communications from the justices in the different divisions and Hundreds, and to give their aid and assistance for the detection and apprehension of incendiaries.  Committees were formed in every Hundred in the county.

24.*—“The trade for turkeys was dull this Christmas, owing, no doubt, to the depressed state of trade, but principally to the operation of the late Act, which, by throwing a large quantity of game into the market, has proved a losing game to our excellent farmers’ wives, and prevented them obtaining anything like remunerative prices.”

25.—The Mayor of Norwich (Mr. J. H. Yallop), who had sent from the city a swan specially fattened for the Royal table, received from his Majesty, through the Duke of Sussex, a letter thanking him for his “dutiful attention.”

p. 3101832.

JANUARY.

6.—The Norfolk Court of Quarter Sessions made renewed efforts to procure the removal of the Lent Assizes from Thetford to Norwich.  The Norwich Court of Mayoralty, on the 14th, addressed a memorial to the Lord Chancellor on the same subject; and it was officially announced on March 3rd that the Assizes would be adjourned from Thetford to Norwich, as in the previous year.  On March 8th the Corporation conferred the honorary freedom of the city upon Mr. John Stracey, of Sprowston, “in testimony of the sense they entertain of that gentleman’s most valuable services in bringing under the notice of the Lord Chancellor the question of the removal of the Lent Assizes to this city.”  In the House of Commons, on the 15th, Mr. Grant gave notice of his intention to bring in the Norwich Assize Bill, and on April 3rd the Bill was read a first time.  The second reading was carried by 44 to 13 on May 23rd; and on June 4th, in the face of strong opposition, it was read a third time and passed.  The Bill was read a first time in the House of Lords on the 5th, a second time on the 14th, and a third time on the 18th.  The Royal assent was given to the measure on the 22nd, and on the 23rd the intelligence was received in Norwich with the ringing of St. Peter’s bells.  “It is worthy of remark that the Lent Assizes for this county, jointly with those of Suffolk, were held at Thetford so early as the reign of Henry II., and that the first application for their removal to Norwich was made as far back as the year 1649.  Applications have been frequently and unsuccessfully repeated at intervals until the present year.”

17.—A Bill for extending the time for completing the works undertaken by the Norwich and Lowestoft Navigation Company was read a second time in the House of Commons.  It afterwards passed through all its stages in both Houses.  On June 4th juries were empanelled for the purpose of hearing and determining claims in the purchase of some of the land required by the company in making the cut for connecting the rivers Yare and Waveney.  The directors, on July 7th, accepted the tender of Mr. Thomas Townshend, of Birmingham, to make the cut and to complete it by December 1st.

18.—Died at the age of 102, Mrs. Twiddy, of Snailwell, near Newmarket, mother of Mr. James Twiddy, formerly parish clerk of St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich.  She was a native of Attleborough.  Within a short time of her death she frequently walked six miles a day.

23.—Norwich Theatre was re-opened for the season.  Mr. Power commenced a short engagement, during which he appeared in a round of Irish characters.

28.*—[Advt.]  “A great main of cocks will be fought at the Black Boys Inn, Aylsham, on February 14th and 15th, between the gentlemen of Norwich and Norfolk, for £5 a battle and £100 the odd.  On Tuesday evening a turn-out for £10; and on Thursday a grand Welch main by 16 subscribers for a silver tankard.  All to be fought in silver spurs.  Feeders: Steward for Norwich; Overton for Norfolk.”

p. 31131.—Mr. Dowton, of Drury Lane Theatre, commenced a four nights’ engagement at Norwich Theatre, as Sir John Falstaff.  His other characters included Dr. Cantwell (“The Hypocrite”), Adam Brock (“Charles the Twelfth”), Sir Anthony Absolute, and Abednego (“The Jew and the Doctor”).  He afterwards performed at Lynn Theatre.

FEBRUARY.

4.—The Norwich Court of Mayoralty memorialised the Committee of Buying of the East India Company not to suspend their “usual and constant order for camlets for the China market,” as a numerous class of the manufacturing population of the city derived their chief subsistence from this source.  On March 21st the East India Company invited tenders for the manufacture of 5,000 pieces.

18.—Mr. Thomas Foyson, aged 53, was accidentally drowned at Norwich by falling into a vat of vinegar which he was in the act of gauging.

22.—At a Levée held at St. James’s Palace, the King conferred the honour of knighthood upon Mr. John Harrison Yallop, Mayor of Norwich, on his presenting to his Majesty the address adopted at a Common Hall held in Norwich in the previous October, on the subject of the Reform Bill.

MARCH.

2.—The funeral took place at Scole of Ann Chapman, aged 92.  “Her head was placed contrary to the usual way, agreeably to her desire, which she had made known to the sexton.  She was 47 years old when she married, and her husband only 17.  She had 18 children, 13 sons and five daughters, all of whom arrived to the age of maturity.  Five of the sons served in the Army.  This remarkable woman seldom took more than two or three hours’ sleep of the twenty-four.  She could see to thread the finest needle, and she retained her faculties to the latest period of her existence.”

6.—At a ploughing match at Roughton, John Colman, aged 92, beat all competitors, and was awarded the prize.

13.—Married, at St. Cuthbert’s, Thetford, Mr. Bussey, schoolmaster, aged 29, to Mrs. Judith Millen, aged 78.  “A party of heroines attended the happy couple, and performed their melodious chorus upon saucepans and kettles, and to complete the band a watchman’s rattle was added.”

14.—Beard, the guard of the Red Rover coach, “made an attempt” to play Crack (“The Turnpike Gate”), at Lynn Theatre.  “The best advice we can give him is to stick to his own stage in future.  His comic singing, however, was good.”

20.—Three troops of the 7th Hussars, commanded by Lieut.-Colonel Keane, marched into Norwich from Birmingham.

21.—This day being appointed by Royal proclamation for fasting and humiliation, the Mayor and Corporation of Norwich attended service at the Cathedral, and collections were made at the doors for p. 312charitable uses.  Services were held at the parish churches, and alms were given for the poor.  The day was similarly observed at Yarmouth.

23.—At the Lent Assizes at Thetford (held there for the last time), before Mr. Baron Vaughan, the libel action, Hunter v. Platten, was tried by a special jury.  Defendant was steward to Sir Thomas Hare, and sent to the Norfolk Chronicle and “Norwich Mercury,” for publication, a paragraph in which he described the plaintiff as “a person who has been for many years a notorious game buyer and a disgrace to the name of gentleman.”  The Chronicle modified the expressions contained in the paragraph; the “Mercury” published it as sent.  Witnesses for the defence proved that they had seen 15 or 20 head of game on the plaintiff’s premises at one time, and that he had stated “he would buy game as long as money would purchase it, as the gentry round that part of the country were mean humbugs.”  The jury returned a verdict for plaintiff, damages one farthing, and costs.

24.—The 1st Royal Dragoons marched from Norwich for Canterbury.

—*“Died lately at Loddon, aged 86, Thomas Reynolds.  He presented to the inhabitants and caused to be erected, at his sole expense, in 1821, a finely-toned organ by which the church of Loddon is ornamented.”

26.—Mr. T. P. Cooke made his first appearance at Norwich Theatre, in the character of Martin Heywood (“The Rent Day”).  His other impersonations included William (“Black-eyed Susan”), Long Tom Coffin (“The Pilot”), the Demon (“The Fate of Frankinstein”), Sir Roderick Dhu (“Lady of the Lake”), and poses plastique.

30.—A jury empanelled to try a civil action at the Lent Assizes at Thetford had a remarkable experience.  The trial commenced at four o’clock in the afternoon of the 30th, and terminated at eight o’clock on the evening of the 31st, when the jury retired to consider their verdict.  They were locked up all night, and did not find a verdict until 11 o’clock on the morning of April 1st.  The case came before the Court of King’s Bench on April 19th, when application was made for a new trial, on the ground that refreshments had been given to one of the jurors!

31.—The thanks of the Norwich Court of Mayoralty were unanimously voted to Lieut.-Col. Somerset and officers of the 1st Royal Dragoons, “for the highly satisfactory manner in which they had conducted themselves whale stationed in the city, and for aiding in the suppression of riotous and tumultuous assemblies,” and to the non-commissioned officers and privates “for the way in which they had discharged their duty as connected with the peace of the city.”

APRIL.

2.—A steeplechase took place from a field near Wheatacre White House to Thurlton Church (distance between four and five miles), between a bay mare, the property of Mr. Charles Duppa, of Kent (owner up), and a chestnut horse belonging to Mr. John Carr, of Beales (ridden by his whipper-in, R. Warner).  The mare won easily.  Protest entered.  On the same day another steeplechase was ridden from Gissing Church to Thurlton Church, between “the celebrated little grey horse,” the property of Mr. Charles Ellis, of Shelfanger Hall, and p. 313a “grey mare of hunting celebrity,” belonging to Mr. Williams, of Diss.  The horse won.

5.—The first outbreak of cholera in Norfolk occurred at Stow Bridge, and in two months 33 cases were reported, of which 13 terminated fatally.  The disease made its appearance at Cawston on May 25th; and in Crown Court, St. Peter Hungate, Norwich, on August 15th.  The Board of Health directed the bodies of all persons who had died of cholera to be interred within twenty-four hours, the clothes and bedding of the deceased to be destroyed, and surviving friends to be indemnified by the Corporation of Guardians.  The medical men of the city gratuitously superintended the parishes allotted to each.  On September 12th several cases were reported at the Bethel, and eight inmates died.  The last official return was made on October 18th, when it was stated that the total number of cases in Norwich was 320, and the deaths 128.  Thanksgiving services were held at the Cathedral and parish churches on November 11th, on the termination of the outbreak.

9.—A sloop of 60 tons burden, intended for the coasting trade, was launched from Mr. Thomas Bailey’s yard, at Carrow.

12.—A new building, known as the Royal Norfolk and Norwich Bazaar, in St. Andrew’s Street, Norwich, was opened.  It was erected for the encouragement of “female and domestic industry.”  Counters were let at small rents to “respectable females recommended by the lady patronesses.”

14.—Died at Earl’s Terrace, Kensington, aged 25, the Lady Henrietta Ann, wife of Mr. Charles Knight Murray, and sister of the Earl of Rothes.

15.—Died at his house, at Southtown, Yarmouth, aged 69, the Rev. Edward Valpy, B.D., for many years head master of the Norwich Free Grammar School.  He was rector of Thwaite All Saints and vicar of South Walsham St. Mary the Virgin.

16.—Married at the Hotel of the British Ambassador, Paris, by the Rev. Thomas Sayers, Mr. Isaac Preston, Recorder of Norwich, to Frances, daughter of the Rev. J. Jephson, Prebendary of Armagh, and brother of Sir Richard Jephson, Bart.

23.—Mr. and Mrs. Wood (formerly Miss Paton) appeared at Norwich Theatre as Hawthorn and Rosetta (“Love in a Village”).  On subsequent evenings they played the parts of Tom Tug and Wilelmina (“The Waterman”), Malcolm and Zelinda (“The Slave”), Steady and Gillian (“The Quaker”), Henry Bertram and Julia Mannering (“Guy Mannering”), and Masaniello and Princess Elvira (“Masaniello”).

MAY.

1.—Mr. S. W. Stevenson, one of the proprietors of the Norfolk Chronicle, was elected Mayor of Norwich.

3.—At a meeting of the Common Council at Norwich, Mr. W. J. Utten Browne moved that a petition be presented to the House of Lords against the Reform Bill, which he described as “a tissue of fraud, folly, and injustice, hideous in its anomalies, and displaying more profound ignorance of sound constitutional law than any other p. 314production he had ever witnessed.”  The motion was adopted by 40 votes against 9.  An address to the King was circulated in Norwich on May 12th, acknowledging “the patriotic course adopted by his Majesty in rejecting the pernicious and unconstitutional counsel of Ministers completely to overwhelm the free deliberations of the House of Peers by creating a large addition to that body pledged to carry through the measure, in opposition to the recorded sentiments of the large majority of that right honourable House.”  The address and signatures were inscribed in three closely-written columns on thirteen yards of parchment.  On the 14th a public meeting was held at St. Andrew’s Hall, “for the purpose of adopting such measures as may be deemed expedient at the present momentous crisis for securing to all classes of the people the benefit of the Reform Bill brought before Parliament by Earl Grey and members of the late Administration.”  A “Norfolk Address” to the King was circulated, acknowledging “the recent proofs of his Majesty’s desire to maintain the rights and privileges of the House of Lords.”  The intelligence of the passing of the Bill by the House of Lords was received at Lynn and other places on June 5th with great rejoicing.  The celebration at Norwich was deferred to July 5th, when a procession of about 2,400 persons, decorated with blue and white favours, marched from the Castle Ditches to the Cricket Ground.  A cavalcade of 95 horsemen was headed by Mr. R. H. Gurney, M.P., accompanied by Mr. W. W. Windham, Mr. Anthony Hudson, Mr. W. Foster, and Mr. Peter Finch.  Dinner was served for 2,000 in a marquee which extended the length of the field.  The greatest order and regularity were observed throughout the day.

5.—His Majesty issued a writ, upon the report and recommendations of the Committee of Privileges of the House of Lords, certifying that Col. Wilson, of Didlington Hall, had made out his claim as the oldest co-heir to the Barony of Berners.

12.—The Norwich and Newark Union Coach commenced to run daily (Sundays excepted), from the Norfolk Hotel, Norwich, through Dereham, Swaffham, Lynn, Boston, and Sleaford, to Newark, where connection was effected with the northern coaches.

27.—One of the large buildings comprised in Messrs. Grout, Baylis, and Co.’s factory in Barrack Yard, Yarmouth, was destroyed by fire.  The building was five storeys high, 105 ft. long, and 55 ft. wide, and its erection, in 1818, cost about £7,000.  Between 400 and 500 girls employed by the firm were thrown out of work, and the loss sustained was estimated at from £12,000 to £15,000.

28.—The Rev. Arthur Iveson, of South Lynn, was murdered by a pistol shot fired by his son, the Rev. Thomas Iveson, a person of unsound mind.  The deceased was rector of East Bradenham and perpetual curate of Shouldham and Shouldham Thorpe, and Tottenhill.  At Lynn Quarter Sessions, on July 9th, Thomas Iveson was placed on his trial for the murder of his father.  The jury found that he was insane at the time the crime was committed, and he was ordered to be detained in custody.  He remained in Lynn Gaol until September 3rd, when he was removed to “the lunatic asylum, in St. Lawrence,” Norwich.

JUNE.

16.—Dr. Yelloly resigned his office as a physician of the Norfolk p. 315and Norwich.  Hospital.  Dr. Edward Lubbock was elected to fill the vacancy on July 7th.

16.—The case of the King v. the Mayor and Recorder of Thetford came before the Court of King’s Bench.  The defendants were required to show why they should not hold a weekly Court of Pleas at the Guildhall, according to the charter of Queen Elizabeth, which directed that the Court should proceed according to the rules and customs of a similar Court at Norwich.  It was objected that the affidavits did not show the existence of the Norwich Court at the date of the Thetford charter, but only that a certain Court of Pleas was granted to that city by a charter of Charles II.  On the other side it was alleged that the Thetford Court had actually been held within fifty years.  Lord Tenterden: The charter of Charles II. may have confirmed a previous grant.  We think the objection has been answered.  The rule must be absolute.

18.—Robert Woodrow, gamekeeper to Col. Peel, was summoned before the magistrates at Thetford for seizing the rods of two persons fishing in the river of that town.  It was contended that Col. Peel merely hired the manor of Mr. A. Baring, and that he could not show a right to the fishing, the river being navigable, and, as such, prima facie public to the inhabitants, who had immemorially enjoyed the right.  The magistrates decided to the contrary on both points, and dismissed the complaint.

19.—Guild Day was observed at Norwich as usual.  The Mayor-elect (Mr. S. W. Stevenson) entertained 830 guests at the Guild feast, and gave a ball at the Assembly Rooms in the evening.

26.—An address, congratulating the King “on his happy escape from the late atrocious attack on his Royal person at Ascot,” was presented to his Majesty at a Levée at St. James’s Palace by the Mayor (Mr. S. W. Stevenson), the Deputy-Mayor (Sir J. H. Yallop), and Lieut.-Col. Harvey, on behalf of the Corporation of Norwich.

30.—The electors of the division of East Norfolk, constituted under the provisions of the new Reform Act, met at Norwich for the purpose of adopting candidates.  The friends of Mr. Peach, M.P., and Lord Henry Cholmondeley, M.P., the Tory candidates, met at the Rampant Horse Inn, and the supporters of Mr. William W. Windham and Major Keppel, the Whig candidates, at the Angel Inn.

JULY.

7.—Intelligence was received at Norwich that the Right Hon. Robert Grant, M.P., “at about the time his constituents were remembering him in their flowing cups at the Reform dinner,” had issued an address to the electors of Finsbury.  On the 13th Lord Stormont and Sir James Scarlett were adopted Conservative candidates, and on the 14th it was announced that Mr. R. H. Gurney would have as his colleague Mr. H. Bellenden Ker.  A third candidate, Mr. William Eagle, entered the field, but his principles were doubtful.  At a meeting held at the Bowling Green Inn, on August 7th, he stated that he belonged to neither party, for “he looked upon the Tory as a highwayman and the Whig as a pickpocket.”  Mr. Eagle retired before the nomination took place.  The Conservative candidates made their first public appearance p. 316at a dinner held at St. Andrew’s Hall, under the presidency of Mr. J. S. Patteson, on July 17th, and from that date onwards prosecuted a vigorous canvass.  (See December 10th.)

16.—Died at Binham, aged 98, Mrs. Elizabeth Leake, who “for upwards of fifty years travelled as daily post from Binham to Wells, from which employment she had retired about 14 years.”

23.—Died at Hardingham Rectory, aged 74, the Rev. Walter Whiter, M.A., formerly Fellow of Clare Hall, Cambridge.  He was instituted to the rectory in 1797, and was the author of some ingenious works on literature and criticism, and more particularly of the ‘Etymologicon Universale,’ a work of the greatest labour and research, and replete with new and ingenious views of the origin and affinity of languages.”

28.*—“Died in London, of cholera, last week, Mr. William Willement, manufacturer, of Colchester.  The deceased went to London on the Saturday previous, was taken ill on the Sunday, and died and was buried on Monday.  He served the office of Sheriff of Norwich in 1816.”

30.—Norwich Theatre re-opened for the Assize week.  Mr. Gill, a comic actor, who afterwards became a great favourite on the Norwich stage, made his first appearance here.  Mr. Braham on this date commenced a five nights’ engagement, and appeared in a round of his principal characters.

AUGUST.

6.—George Borrow, writing to the Norfolk Chronicle on this date, suggested the derivation of the word “Tory.”  “Tory,” he wrote, “is composed of three Irish words, and doubtless originated amongst the Irish adherents of Charles II. at the time they were suffering under the sway of Cromwell and were sighing for the Restoration.  The words are Tar a Ri, and their pronunciation is the same as that of ‘Tory,’ or if there be any difference, it consists in a scarcely distinguishable drawl.  Their meaning is, ‘Come, O King.’”

—Died at East Dereham, aged 73, Mr. Fisher, many years manager of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company of Comedians.  “Mr. Fisher made his first appearance as an amateur at Norwich Theatre, in the character of Lubin (‘The Quaker’).  Mr. Barrett, who was then manager, was so much gratified with the performance that he persuaded him to make the stage his profession, and offered him a liberal engagement, which he accepted, and remained with the company some years.  As manager of the Norfolk and Suffolk Company, he raised it to a degree of respectability equal to any provincial theatre in the kingdom.  As a manager he was esteemed, and by his indefatigable industry he has been enabled to leave his sons eleven theatres, many of which have been recently built and elegantly decorated.  As an actor he displayed much talent.  He was an affectionate parent and warm friend, and in the strictest sense an honest, just, and upright man.”

14.—Messrs. Bell and Deane, divers, engaged in exploring the Guernsey Lily transport, lost off Yarmouth in the year 1799, recovered one of the brass guns, which they fired in token of success.  The Guernsey Lily was returning from Holland with a large and valuable freight of military stores, when she got upon the Cross Sand and foundered in Yarmouth Roads, as nearly as possible three miles due p. 317east of the jetty.  Many of her stores were recovered, little the worse for an immersion of 33 years.

28.—A sharp contest took place at Norwich on the election of the freemen’s Sheriff.  Mr. William Foster was the “Blue and White,” and Mr. Alderman Steward the “Purple and Orange” candidate.  “Bribery to a vast amount was resorted to, and the last few votes cost a heavy sum.”  Result: Foster, 1,282; Steward, 1,275.  A scrutiny was demanded by both sides, and was commenced by the Mayor on September 8th.  After an enquiry lasting twelve days, Mr. Foster was declared elected.

30.—Died at Cringleford, aged 50, Mr. John Staniforth Patteson.  He was eldest son of Mr. John Patteson, of St. Helen’s, served the office of Sheriff of Norwich in 1811, was elected Alderman for the Great Ward of Mancroft in 1830, and was Mayor in 1823–4.  He was also a magistrate, and a deputy-lieutenant for the county of Norfolk, and held the Lieut.-Colonelcy of the East Norfolk Militia.  His remains were buried at St. Peter Mancroft church, on September 4th.

SEPTEMBER.

1.*—“At a meeting of the inhabitants of Diss, held last week, it was resolved that the present peal of eight bells should be recast, with an additional weight of metal.  A subscription was opened which, in three days, amounted to all the money needful, without any charge upon the church rate of the parish.”  The work was done at the Downham Market Foundry.  The bells were met on their way to Diss by a large concourse of the inhabitants, who assembled at Roydon White Hart, and, forming in procession with the Diss band and the handbell ringers at their head, escorted the trucks to the town.  The treble, sixth, seventh, and tenor were “maiden”; the others needed but slight alteration.  The tenor weighed 23 cwt., and the total weight of the peal was 98 cwt. 2 qrs. 10 lbs.—more than 40 cwt. heavier than the former peal.  The bells were “opened” on January 7th, 1833, by the St. Peter Mancroft Company, Norwich, and by other companies; public dinners were held at the different inns, in celebration of the event, and a silver-mounted snuff-box, made out of the polished oak of the old frame, was presented to the rector, the Rev. William Manning.

2.—Died at Norwich, aged 67, the Rev. Joseph Kinghorn, 44 years minister of the Baptist congregation at St. Mary’s.  “His literary qualities were unwearied diligence and deep and erudite enquiry, especially into all subjects connected with theology and moral philosophy.”

4.—Mr. Charles Turner was elected an Alderman for the Great Ward of Mancroft, Norwich, in place of Mr. J. S. Patteson, deceased.

11.—A curious incident was witnessed at the marriage, at Guestwick, by the Rev. J. Blake, of Mr. Samuel Goldsmith, miller, of Corpusty, to Miss Mary Goldsmith, of the former place.  “The ceremony being over and the clergyman about to retire, the gentleman who gave away the bride, Mr. George Barton, of Wood Dalling, unexpectedly took another licence from his pocket and called out, ‘Stay, sir, and marry me.’  The ceremony was again repeated, and Mr. Barton was united p. 318to the bridesmaid, Miss Hannah Goldsmith, the sister of the other bride, Mr. and Mrs. Goldsmith performing in their turn the necessary offices for this couple.  The village bells rang gaily, and a great deal of merry-making followed these nuptials.”

OCTOBER.

6.—Died at his house, St. Giles’, Norwich, aged 73, Mr. William Burt.  He served the office of Sheriff in 1814, was elected Alderman of the Great Ward of Mancroft in 1815, and was Mayor in 1820.  Mr. Edmund Newton was elected Alderman in his place.

8.—The Norwich Eldon Club held its first anniversary dinner at the Waggon and Horses Inn, Tombland.

11.—Died at Hindolvestone, Mr. Thomas Gardner, groom of the Great Chamber to the King.  “He had the honour to serve in that capacity during the whole of the late reign, and also in the reign of George III., having held the appointment upwards of thirty-three years.”

17.—The first revision of voters’ lists, under the Act of 2 William IV., c. 45, commenced in the Eastern division of the county at Long Stratton; the revising barristers for the Western division commenced their circuit at Thetford on the 25th.  The revision of the Norwich lists commenced on the 22nd.  It was described “as the vexatious and irritating process introduced by the Reform Bill”; and it resulted in the removal from the city lists of the names of between 300 and 400 persons who had hitherto been accustomed to vote.

23.—Mr. Cozens, of London, while shooting on the estate of Mr. Hardy, at Letheringsett, was killed by a gunshot wound accidentally inflicted by one of the party.

—A general court-martial, of which General Sir Robert Macfarlane, K.C.B., G.C.H., was president, commenced an inquiry at the Cavalry Barracks, Norwich, into charges preferred against certain privates for disobeying the lawful commands of the Colonel of the 7th Hussars.  At a parade of the regiment for ball practice on September 27th, Col. Keane gave the word “Attention,” when, to his surprise, not a man obeyed the command.  Seizing one of the men, Private Philip Pitman, he marched him to the officers’ quarters, and had him tried by court-martial for insubordination.  He was sentenced to receive 200 lashes, which were administered immediately, in the presence of the whole regiment.  All the men were armed with their weapons, and carried ball cartridge.  This action on the part of the Colonel restored discipline and obedience to orders.  Each prisoner made a long written defence.  Their principal complaint was that the regiment was overworked.  Colonel Keane replied that what had been ordered