Search billions of records on
Website logo - Click to go to Home page

British Prime Ministers

Name Party Took Office
Sir Robert Walpole Whig 1721
Earl of Wilmington Whig 1742
Henry Pelham Whig 1743
Duke of Newcastle Whig 1754
Duke of Devonshire Whig 1756
Duke of Newcastle Whig 1757
Earl of Bute Tory 1762
George Grenville Whig 1763
Marquess of Rockingham Whig 1765
William Pitt, Earl of Chatham Whig 1766
Duke of Grafton Whig 1768
Lord North Tory 1770
Marquess of Rockingham Whig 1782
Earl of Shelburne Whig 1782
Duke of Portland Coalition 1783
William Pitt, the Younger Tory 1783
Henry Addington Tory 1801
William Pitt, the Younger Tory 1804
Lord Grenville Whig 1806
Duke of Portland Tory 1807
Spencer Perceval Tory 1809
Earl of Liverpool Tory 1812
George Canning Tory 1827
Viscount Goderich Tory 1827
Duke of Wellington Tory 1828
Earl Grey Whig 1830
Viscount Melbourne Whig 1834
Duke of Wellington Tory 1834
Sir Robert Peel Tory 1834
Viscount Melbourne Whig 1835
Sir Robert Peel Tory 1841
Lord John Russell Whig 1846
Earl of Derby Tory 1852
Earl of Aberdeen Peelite 1852
Viscount Palmerston Liberal 1855
Earl of Derby Conservative 1858
Viscount Palmerstonv Liberal 1859
Earl Russell (John Russell) Liberal 1865
Earl of Derby Conservative 1866
Benjamin Disraeli Conservative 1868
W. E. Gladstone Liberal 1868
Benjamin Disraeli Conservative 1874
W. E. Gladstone Liberal 1880
Marquess of Salisbury Conservative 1885
W. E. Gladstone Liberal 1886
Marquess of Salisbury Conservative 1886
W. E. Gladstone Liberal 1892
Earl of Rosebery Liberal 1894
Marquess of Salisbury Conservative 1895
A. J. Balfour Conservative 1902
Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman Liberal 1905
H. H. Asquith Liberal 1908
H. H. Asquith Coalition 1915
David Lloyd George Coalition 1916
Andrew Bonar Law Conservative 1922
Stanley Baldwin Conservative 1923
James Ramsay MacDonald Labour 1924
Stanley Baldwin Conservative 1924
James Ramsay MacDonald Labour 1929
James Ramsay MacDonald Coalition 1931
Stanley Baldwin Coalition 1935
Neville Chamberlain Coalition 1937
Winston S. Churchill Coalition 1940
Winston S. Churchill Conservative 1945
Clement Attlee Labour 1945
Winston S. Churchill Conservative 1951
Sir Anthony Eden Conservative 1955
Harold Macmillan Conservative 1957
Sir Alec Douglas-Home Conservative 1963
Harold Wilson Labour 1964
Edward Heath Conservative 1970
Harold Wilson Labour 1974
James Callaghan Labour 1976
Margaret Thatcher Conservative 1979
John Major Conservative 1990
Tony Blair Labour 1997
Gordon Brown Labour 2007
David Cameron Conservative 2010

JGC Logo Valid HTML5 Logo HTML5 Logo Valid CSS3 Logo JGC Logo
Copyright logo
This page (pminister.html) was last modified on Sunday 27/01/2013