Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   
Website logo - Click to go to Home page




Links Page

Useful Links to online information and e-commerce

I have compiled a comprehensive list of useful links to other sites on the Internet. Click on the links to access the listed service.

I have tested the links as much as possible, and also reviewed the source of the sites listed, however I do not endorse or otherwise offer any guarantees in respect of content found. Should you find any errors or want to be listed please contact me.

Wakefield Forum A forum for Wakefield

UK Community Website Directory Find a local community.

The 1901 Census - Online - Access the full census here.

Wakefield Family History Sharing Web Site - Plenty of local information here.

Postcards of Old Wakefield on Wakefield FHS Web Site

Outwood Community Video -A Local Community Web site.

Commonwealth War Graves Commission - Find out where victims of the British Forces are buried abroad.

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet.

LDS database - Search for your family history.

Pub History Society - A site encouraging research into the public house, the people who worked in them, and their importance to society as a whole.

Local History Magazine - The UK's only independent national magazine for anyone with an interest in local history. It also has links to many interesting sites.

International Movie Database - Find information about any film or actor

Willow Island Web site - Brilliant Web site with sketches by local wildlife artist Richard Bell

Wakefield University of the 3rd Age. - U3A Website

Horbury Scouts - 8th Wakefield Website

Yorkshire Dialect Verse - Examples of Yorkshire Dialect.

NHS Web site - First contact for Health problems.

I am Dyslexic A web site written by a 13 year old dyslexic

Wakefield Camra A web site dedicated to the Real Ale drinker in Wakefield

Wakefield Carers Wakefield Carers offer a free confidential information and support service to Carers who live in the Wakefield Metropolitan District Council area.


Other National links

ACAS - Abritration and Advisory Services www.acas.org.uk
ADAS - Agricultural Advisory Service www.adas.co.uk
Aer Lingus www.aerlingus.ie
Alliance & Leicester www.alliance-leicester.co.uk/home/index.aspx
Amazon UK Books, Music & Videos www.amazon.co.uk
AOL - America Online - fee based ISP www.aol.co.uk
Argos Catalogue Store www.argos.co.uk
Army www.army.mod.uk
Arriva Buses www.arrivabus.co.uk
Ask Jeeves - new "intuitive" style search engine uk.ask.com
Atlapedia Online www.atlapedia.com
Audit Bureau of Circulations www.abc.org.uk
Audit Commission www.audit-commission.gov.uk
Bank of England www.bankofengland.co.uk
Bank of Scotland www.bankofscotland.co.uk
Banking Ombudsman www.obo.org.uk
Barclays Bank On-line www.barclays.co.uk
BBC Learning www.bbc.co.uk/learning
BBC News -UK & World News http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/
BBC Online www.bbc.co.uk
Beat Crime - Check the crimes in your area of UK www.beatcrime.info
Biography www.biography.com
Birmingham International Airport www.bhx.co.uk
BizWeb www.bizweb.com
Bluebadge Scheme in UK bluebadge.direct.gov.uk
Bloomberg - Financial News www.bloomberg.com
Breast Cancer Care www.breastcancercare.org.uk
Breathe - free access provider www.timetobreathe.net
British Airways www.britishairways.com
British Chambers of Commerce www.britishchambers.org.uk
British Institute for Brain Injured Children (BIBIC) www.bibic.org.uk
British Library www.bl.uk
British Midland http://www.flybmi.com/bmi/splash.aspx
British Standards Institute http://www.bsigroup.com/
British Tourist Authority www.visitbritain.com
Brittany Ferries - Portsmouth www.brittany-ferries.co.uk
BT Click - free ISP www.btclick.com
BT Directory Enquiries http://www.thephonebook.bt.com/publisha.content/en/search/residential/search.publisha
BT Internet - fee based ISP www.btinternet.com
Bullying - Govt info http://www.education.gov.uk/schools/pupilsupport/behaviour/bullying
Bullying - Information www.bullying.co.uk
Bullying - Scotland www.antibullying.net
Bullying - NSPCC www.nspcc.org.uk/
Business Link www.businesslink.gov.uk/
Business Seek www.businesseek.com
Business Studies Updates www.updates.co.uk
Business Week - Financial News www.businessweek.com
Business Wire www.businesswire.com
Business Zone - SME News www.businesszone.co.uk
Business, Stocks and Bonds News www.bloomberg.com/
Buy your car on the continent www.carlink.nl/?pageid=1
Cabinet Office www.cabinetoffice.gov.uk
Campaign Against a Federal Europe: www.cafe.org.uk
Central Intelligence Agency www.cia.gov
Centre for Legislative Studies, Hull www.hull.ac.uk/cls/
Centre for Political Studies www.cps.org.uk
Charity Commission www.charity-commission.gov.uk
Churchill Society www.churchill-society-london.org.uk
CIX www.cixonline.com/
Clara Net - fee based ISP http://www.claranet.co.uk/
Classic England Mall www.classicengland.co.uk
CNN World News www.cnn.com
CNNfn - Financial News money.cnn.com
Commonwealth www.thecommonwealth.org
Commonwealth War Graves Commission www.cwgc.org
Companies House www.companies-house.gov.uk
Companies House www.companieshouse.gov.uk
Confederation of British Industry www.cbi.org.uk/
Congestion Charge in London www.tfl.gov.uk/roadusers/congestioncharging/
Connexions - advice for 13-19 year olds www.connexions-direct.com/index.cfm
Conservative Party www.conservatives.com/
Constitution Unit, University College, London www.ucl.ac.uk/constitution-unit/
Consumer Direct - advice about trading complaints http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Governmentcitizensandrights/Consumerrights/index.htm
Co-operative Bank http://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/servlet/Satellite/1193206375355,CFSweb/Page/Bank
Cost Reduction Partnership www.buy.co.uk
Countryside Access www.countrysideaccess.gov.uk
Countryside Alliance www.countryside-alliance.org
Crown Prosecution Service www.cps.gov.uk
Customs & Excise www.hmrc.gov.uk/
Cybase Internet www.cybase.co.uk/
Daily Mirror www.mirror.co.uk
Daily Record www.dailyrecord.co.uk/
Daily Telegraph www.telegraph.co.uk
Debt advice www.nationaldebtline.co.uk
Demon - fee based ISP www.demon.net
Dept of Education http://www.education.gov.uk/
Dept of Trade & Industry www.dti.gov.uk
Design Council www.designcouncil.org.uk
Disability Rights Commission - advice and support www.drc-gb.org
Dixons Plc http://www.dixons.co.uk/gbuk/index.html
DUP (NI) www.dup.org.uk
East Coast Railway http://www.eastcoast.co.uk/
easyJet www.easyjet.com
Easynet www.easynet.net
Encyberpedia www.encyberpedia.com/ency.htm
Encyclopaedia Britannica www.britannica.com
Encyclopedia.com www.encyclopedia.com
English Golf Union www.englishgolfunion.org
Entanet - business oriented fee based ISP www.enta.net
European Commission (multi-language) europa.eu
European Commission - UK representation ec.europa.eu/unitedkingdom/
EuroStar www.eurostar.com/dynamic/index.jsp
Evening Standard http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/arts/
Exchange and Mart - Online Ads & Auction www.exchangeandmart.co.uk
Excite - UK service of Webcrawler www.excite.co.uk
Export Credit Guarantee Dept www.ecgd.gov.uk
Federal Bureau of Investigation www.fbi.gov
Federation of Small Business www.fsb.co.uk
Federation of Small Businesses www.fsb.org.uk
Financial Times www.ft.com
First Choice Holidays www.firstchoice.co.uk/index.html
First Direct Online Banking http://www2.firstdirect.com/1/2/
Firstnet www.firstnet.co.uk
Foreign & Commonwealth Office www.fco.gov.uk/
Fortnum & Mason www.fortnumandmason.com
Forum of Private Business www.fpb.org
Four Seasons Travel www.four-seasons-travel.co.uk
Global Travel www.globalholidays.co.uk
Go www.go-fly.com
Going Places (Thomas Cook Group) http://www.thomascook.com/going-places
Google - intuitive caching search engine www.google.co.uk
Government Information Service www.direct.gov.uk/Homepage/fs/en
Guardian www.guardian.co.uk
Halifax Plc http://www.halifax.co.uk/home/home.asp
HandBag - aimed at women www.handbag.com
Hansard www.publications.parliament.uk
Health & Safety Executive HSE www.hse.gov.uk
Herald http://www.heraldscotland.com/
Higher Education Funding Council: www.hefce.ac.uk
Highways Agency www.highways.gov.uk
HM Treasury www.hm-treasury.gov.uk
HotBot - general www.hotbot.com
Houses of Parliament www.parliament.uk
Independent www.independent.co.uk
Individual News www.individual.com/login.php
Information Please www.infoplease.com
Inland Revenue www.hmrc.gov.uk/
Institute of Directors www.iod.co.uk
Insurance Ombudsman www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/
INTERact www.jags.co.uk
International Democratic Union www.idu.org
International Monetary Fund http://www.imf.org/external/index.htm
Interpol www.interpol.int
Jet2.com flights.jet2.com
Keep the Pound campaign www.keepthepound.org.uk
KLM UK http://www.klm.com/travel/gb_en/index.htm
Kuoni www.kuoni.co.uk
Labour Party www.labour.org.uk/home
Liberal Democrats www.libdems.org.uk
Library of Congress www.loc.gov/index.html
Lifelong Learning www.lifelonglearning.co.uk
Lloyds TSB Bank Plc www.lloydstsb.com
Local Government Association http://www.local.gov.uk/
London Underground www.tfl.gov.uk/
London weather http://weather.yahoo.com/england/greater-london/london-44418/
London's Olympics 2012 www.london2012.com
Looksmart -Directory based searches search.looksmart.com/
Ludwig von Mises Foundation mises.org
Lufthansa www.lufthansa.com/online/portal/lh/uk?ctest=36727963521
Lycos www.lycos.com
Lycos UK www.lycos.co.uk
Maps of UK to street level www.bing.com/maps
Market News & Share Prices https://www.fidelity.co.uk/investor/default.page
Marketing, Communications, Training www.minutecircle.co.uk
Met Office www.metoffice.gov.uk/
Metacrawler - uses HTML Meta keys www.metacrawler.com
Metropolitan Police http://content.met.police.uk/Home
MINTEL Market Research www.mintel.com/
Monarch Airlines http://www.monarch.co.uk/
MSN UK uk.msn.com
NASDAQ www.nasdaq.com
National Association of Estate Agents www.naea.co.uk
National Audit Office www.nao.org.uk
National Cycle Network www.sustrans.org.uk/
National Enterprise Network http://www.nationalenterprisenetwork.org/
National Express http://www.nationalexpress.com/home.aspx
National Health Service www.nhs.uk
National Media Museum www.nationalmediamuseum.org.uk
National Parent Partnership Network www.parentpartnership.org.uk
National Trust www.nationaltrust.org.uk
NatWest Bank Plc http://www.natwest.com/personal.ashx
NATO www.nato.int
Nature Conservancy www.nature.org
Network Rail http://www.networkrail.co.uk/
New Statesman http://www.newstatesman.com/
New York Stock Exchange www.nyse.com
New York Times www.nytimes.com
News Link - Online Guide www.newslink.org
News Now - continuous feed www.newsnow.co.uk/h
NHS www.nhs.uk
Nobel Prizes http://www.nobelprize.org/
North Western www.nwt.co.uk
Northern Ireland Assembly www.ni-assembly.gov.uk
Northern Ireland Office www.nio.gov.uk
Northern Light - general www.northernlight.com
Number 10: http://www.number10.gov.uk
Nu-Venture www.nu-venture.co.uk
OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development) www.oecd.org/home/
Office for National Statistics http://www.ons.gov.uk/ons/index.html
Office of Fair Trading www.oft.gov.uk
Office of Gas & Electric Markets www.ofgem.gov.uk
Office of National Statistics www.ons.gov.uk
Office of Telecommunications www.oftel.gov.uk
OneSeek www.oneseek.com
Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD) www.oecd.org
P & O Ferries http://www.poferries.com/
Parliament www.parliament.uk
Parliamentary Ombudsman www.ombudsman.org.uk
Passport Agency http://www.homeoffice.gov.uk/agencies-public-bodies/ips/
Patent Office www.ipo.gov.uk/
Politics, various www.tagish.co.uk
Premier Holidays www.premierholidays.co.uk
Press Association http://www.pressassociation.com/
Prince Michael www.princemichael.org.uk
Prince of Wales www.princeofwales.gov.uk
Princess Royal Trust for carers www.carers.org
Prostate Cancer Charity - Info and advice www.prostate-cancer.org.uk
Rail complaints www.passengerfocus.org.uk/
Rail enquiries www.nationalrail.co.uk
Rail tickets: http://www.thetrainline.com/buytickets/?
Reuters www.reuters.com
Royal Air Force www.raf.mod.uk
Royal Bank of Scotland www.rbs.co.uk
Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors www.rics.org
Royal Mail www.royalmail.com
Royalty general: www.royal.gov.uk
Ryanair www.ryanair.com
Saga Holidays - for the over 50's www.saga.co.uk
Sainsburys www.sainsburys.co.uk
Sainsburys Bank www.sainsburysbank.co.uk
Saint John Ambulance http://www.sja.org.uk/sja/default.aspx
SAS Scandinavian Air Services www.flysas.com/
SCOPE - Cerebral Palsy help www.scope.org.uk
Scot Airways -Luton based Regional www.scotairways.co.uk
Scotsman www.scotsman.com
Scottish Executive www.scotland.gov.uk
Scottish Parliament www.scottish.parliament.uk
SDLP (NI) www.sdlp.ie
Sea France Dover www.seafrance.com
Skynet - Free ISP from Sky Television www.skynet.co.uk
Smile - Co-op's internet only bank www.smile.co.uk
SNP www.snp.org
Social Market Foundation www.smf.co.uk
South West Trains http://www.southwesttrains.co.uk/
Stairlift Advisor www.stairliftadvisor.co.uk/
Stationery Office www.parliament.the-stationery-office.co.uk
Statistics http://www.ons.gov.uk/ons/index.html
Tagish's Directory of UK Central Government www.tagish.co.uk/tagish/links/centgov.htm
Tesco Net - ISP www.tesco.net
Tesco www.tesco.com
Thameslink www.thameslink.co.uk
The British Council www.britishcouncil.org/new/
The Daily Telegraph www.telegraph.co.uk
The Estate Agents Ombudsman http://www.tpos.co.uk/
The Princes' Trust www.princes-trust.org.uk
The Trainline - Online bookings http://www.thetrainline.com/buytickets/?
Tokyo Stock Exchange www.tse.or.jp
Trade and Industry DTI www.dti.gov.uk
Transport Direct - by bus, car, train or walk http://www.transportdirect.info/Web2/Home.aspx?&repeatingloop=Y
Travel Vogue www.travel-vogue.co.uk
Travelocity - online flights & holidays www.travelocity.com/resolve/uk
Treasury www.hm-treasury.gov.uk
UK Online www.ukonline.net
UK Travelline Data http://travelinedata.org.uk/
UK Trade Fairs & Exhibitions www.exhibitions.co.uk
Ulster Unionist Party www.uup.org
United Nations http://www.un.org/en/index.shtml
University of the 3rd age (U3A) www.u3a.org.uk
US - The White House www.whitehouse.gov
UUP (NI) www.uup.org.uk
Victim Support www.victimsupport.org.uk
Viking Office Supplies www.viking.co.uk
Virgin Atlantic https://www.fidelity.co.uk/investor/default.page
Virgin Holidays www.virginholidays.co.uk
Virgin Trains www.virgintrains.co.uk
Virgin www.virginmedia.com
W H Smith Online www.whsmith.co.uk/
War Graves Commission www.cwgc.org
Waterstones - Books http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/
Webcrawler - general search engine www.webcrawler.com
Welsh Assembly new.wales.gov.uk/splash
World Book www.worldbook.com
World Encyclopedia www.countryreports.org/
World Health Organisation www.who.int/en/
Xtranet www.xtranet.co.uk
Yahoo - directory listings uk.yahoo.com
Yellow Pages www.yell.com

JGC Logo Valid HTML5 Logo HTML5 Logo Valid CSS3 Logo JGC Logo
Copyright logo
This page (links.html) was last modified on Sunday 27/01/2013