Search billions of records on
Website logo - Click to go to Home page

Wakefield Trinity RLFC

(Now Wildcats)

(formerly Dreadnoughts)

Wakefield was formed in 1873 as a sporting arm of the Holy Trinity Church Young Men's Society.

Pictures of the medal awarded to E Alfred Clough 1873-4 can be seen here.
Clough's medal
Please contact me if you have an interest in this medal.

In 1895, on the 29th August, delegates from 9 Lancashire and 12 Yorkshire rugby union clubs met in Hudderfield and formally broke away from the Rugby Union to form a new, independent body, the Northern Union, over the issue of 'broken time' payments to players (remuneration for lost wages when time was taken off work to play rugby - the Rugby Union was opposed to this).

The first ever season of the Northern Rugby Football League kicked off on September 9th, and the surviving founder member clubs from that day are Batley, Hull, Wakefield Trinity, Wigan, Leigh, Leeds, Halifax, Widnes, St Helens, Rochdale Hornets, Warrington and Hunslet.

In 1922 the 'Northern Union' renamed itself the 'Rugby Football League'.

Challenge Cup

Wakefield were Challenge Cup winners in the following seasons: 1908-09 (Beat Hull 17 - 0), 1945-46 (Beat Wigan 13 - 12 ), 1959-60 (Beat Hull 38 - 5), 1961-62 (Beat Huddersfield 12 - 6), 1962-63 (Beat Wigan 25 - 10), 1965-66 ()

The Lance Todd trophy is awarded to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final. The following are winners from Wakefield Trinity
1946 Billy Stott (Wakefield Trinity v Wigan)
1960 Tommy Harris (Hull v Wakefield Trinity)
1962 Neil Fox (Wakefield Trinity v Huddersfield)
1963 Harold Poynton (Wakefield Trinity v Wigan)
1968 Don Fox (Wakefield Trinity v Leeds)
1979 David Topliss (Wakefield Trinity v Widnes)

Yorkshire League Championships

Wakefield won the Yorkshire League Championships in the following seasons: 1909-10, 1910-11, 1945-46, 1958-59, 1959-60, 1961-62, 1962-63

Yorkshire Cup

They were Yorkshire Cup winners in the following seasons: 1910-11 (Beat Huddersfield 8 - 2), 1924-25 (Beat Batley 9 - 8), 1946-47 (Beat Hull 10 - 0), 1947-48 (Beat Leeds 7 -7 & 8 - 7), 1951-52 (Beat Keighley 17 - 3), 1956-57 (Beat Hunslet 23 - 5), 1960-61 (Beat Huddersfield 16 - 10), 1961-62 (Beat Leeds 19 - 9), 1964-65 (Beat Leeds 18 - 2), 1992-93 (Beat Sheffield Eagles 29 - 16)


They managed to win the Championship in 1966-67 and 1998

Attendance at matches

The largest attendance for a home game was 28,254 at Wakefield v Wigan on 24th March 1962

Greatest victory

The greatest victory was a score of 90-12 at Wakefield v Highfield in 1992-93

Worst defeat

The worst defeat was 0-86 at Wakefield v Castleford on 17/04/95

More recent progress
1996: Division One: Sixth
1997: Division One: Fifth
1998: Division One: Winners, Grand Final winners
1999: Super League: Eleventh
2000: Super League: Tenth
2001: Super League: Eleventh
2002: Super League: Eleventh
2003: Super League: Eleventh


Here are links to lists of past players
1880's teams
1940's teams
1950's teams
1960's teams
1970's teams
1980's teams
1990's teams

JGC Logo Valid HTML5 Logo HTML5 Logo Valid CSS3 Logo JGC Logo
Copyright logo
This page (index.html) was last modified on Tuesday 24/04/2012